• 520 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 94%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • AC/Heating Unit

    • By Lynette,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer of American Home Shield for several years. For the last three years I have been calling in service calls to have my heating/ac unit fixed. They have replaced several parts that have went out causing all of my coolant to run out of the unit. Well, I am totally frustrated at this point because every time this happens, it costs me another $600/700 to fill back up the unit because AHS does not cover coolant. I understand the annual maintenance, but what about fixing the problem. If he coolant is running out because of a valve or something isn't putting the coolant back, then it should be fixed. The companies are putting a bandage on the problem as far as fixing and I have to suck up the biggest cost. Then I call back in to speak to a supervisor and the rep that I spoke to on the phone is completely rude and tells me that someone will call me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Alan,
    • Woodstock GA,
    • Jun 16, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Called AHS about a main water line issue and was told by operator that most likely it was not a covered item. They asked me a few more questions and then talked to a supervisor who told them it 'might' be covered and to send a technician. I told them to NOT send a technician if they were pretty sure it would not be covered. When the tech arrived I told him the situation and he said it definitely would not be covered and that they should not have even sent him. He said he was NOT going to charge me for the visit. Later AHS billed me $75 for the tech visit. I sent them the invoice showing NO CHARGE but they still insist I pay them the $75 or my coverage will be terminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible Service

    • By Carla,
    • Fort Myers, Florida ,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you are approached by AHS, run as soon as you can. I like to state facts, so I will keep this one simple…

    FACT 1: Dishwasher leaking and request placed online 3/21/2016.

    FACT 2: Technician from GE arrives, turns on nozzle. States nothing was wrong with the dishwasher.

    FACT 3: Ran the dishwasher on 3/27/2016 leak turns into a flood.

    FACT 4: Placed another request over the phone on 3/27/2016. I was told that a technician would not arrive until the following week.

    FACT 5: On 3/28/2016 kitchen is completely flooded – Service request ticket now placed in “escalation” status by AHS.

    FACT 6: Technician #2 from different vendor arrives on 3/29/2016, says cost to repair too high, and the dishwasher should be replaced.

    FACT 7: Technician #2 turns nozzle on to dishwasher, cabinet and kitchen flooded again.

    FACT 8: Called American Home Shield on 3/31/2016, they have not received any information from the technician.

    FACT 9: On 4/1/2016 given another number from AHS to call to order a new dishwasher. Was told while I was at work that I MUST be home to provide them with the dimensions of the old dishwasher before they could order the new dishwasher. They stated that they could not use the dimension provided by the GE technician or the second vendor they sent out.

    FACT 10: Measured dishwasher, and was told my dimensions were incorrect. My dimensions were sent to another department and someone would call me back at a later time.

    FACT 11: Received a call on 4/4/2016 from a GE technician #2 that said he fixed my dishwasher. LOL!

    FACT 12: Received a call from technician #2 on 4/4/2016 stating that they had a replacement but could not give me a date or time for the install.

    FACT 13: After several emails, several phone calls, and several days missed of work, my dishwasher was finally installed on 4/5/2016.

    These are the steps AHS uses to repair your appliances. If you choose this company BEWARE. You will lose time from work, forced to make multiple phone calls, and send many emails before your issue is resolved. I have canceled my contract after one month of using this company, and switched to another company. Like the saying goes: “Cheaper is not always better.”

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS is a total rip off

    • By Sreelu,
    • May 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield never fix the issues at first step. They try to earn the money before they could fix. I was with AHS for 3 years now and my A/C had the issue and it took 3 years for them to actually fix it. Every time they send the technician, he fills it up with freon, which is good for 3 months, their warranty is 60 days. You pay for freon up to $100/lb and they pay $10/lb. You pay $75 service fee. Finally after a lot of debate, they accepted to fix the leakage. If I go through their contractor I need to pay $800, as they cover only the coil and they said it would cost them about $900 for the coil. When I asked about a buy-out option, the offered $501, saying that's what they give. I found someone who was able to do all the service for that money. (So far freon didn't leak.)

    Find an independent contractor, they give better and honest service and at a reasonable price. Don't believe AHS. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Unresponsive Contractor

    • By Sandra Glover,
    • Upper Marlboro, MD,
    • Aug 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Placed a request through AHS for a leak (bath tub), contractor came out on a Tuesday, broke tub faucet because he couldn't figure out how to get it off, said he would be able to repair tomorrow (Wednesday), I didn't hear from him again.

    I telephoned AHS and was on hold for 22 minutes; hung up. Telephoned AHS a second time a couple of days later, spoke with Damon, who telephoned the contractor, voice message gave a second number, which was the office. Damon telephoned them and told me they were not familiar with my request, but Damon did see a note that contractor would be back to me home on Wednesday 8/10/16.

    I took off from work on 8/10/16, telephoned AHS that morning, only to have a rep call the contractor and he told her he would call me today and schedule to come out on Saturday. This is ridiculous and AHS is just so comfortable with this type of service. AHS does not seem to care that its customers are being inconvenienced and these contractors do as they please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Billed for work not completed

    • By Will,
    • Northern California,
    • Sep 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with American Home Shield for just over a year. I have called in repair requests with little to no problems until now. In November my pool pump went out. I called and requested a repair to be done. The contractor they sent out tried to fix the pump and limped it along for a short time. $100 dollars gone.

    A few months later the pump quit and I called them again. The same guy responded and replaced the pump and with that another $100 dollars. A few months passed and I began noticing the pump was making a lot of noise and was leaking badly. I called a third time in less than a year and due to it being out of their warranty time 88 days, I would have to pay an additional $100 dollars for a service call.

    I was very disappointed and stated I did not under any circumstance want the same company to come out and do the work. I was told he was the only pool contractor in my area. Obviously, I did not want to have this same guy come out and work on my equipment. AHS stated they would attempt to find someone else.

    A few days went by and I got a call from my new contractor. It was the same guy! I told him I did not want him responding due to his shabby work. The next thing I know I'm getting hit with a late notice for you guessed it, $100 dollars. Now I'm fuming. I called AHS and spoke with customer service who stated they could not reverse the charges even though he did not come to my house.

    He told them the appointment had been set and I canceled him when he could have taken on another job. I told my customer service rep that I live in a gated community and would be more than happy to give her a log of who came in the gate that day and her contractor was not one of them. This went back and forth until I finally told her to just cancel my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cunning and unreliable

    • By Ram,
    • Coppell, TX,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had my refrigerator service call 3 times in 3 years and it was never fixed and the service technician takes the money and the American Home Shield charges me and tells me to collect money from the technician. Now, they double charged me using the wielding the stick "if you don't pay, no more service calls".

    Their Technicians never fixed anything the first time. The service rep won't take complaints accurately, and you end up taking 2 days off because the wrong technician was sent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Two Months of Refrigerator Repairs and Still No Resolution

    • By Kent Murphy,
    • Harrisburg, PA,
    • Nov 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield has sent numerous technicians out to our home to repair our newer LG Refrigerator. The Sears Technicians have been to our home many times and replaced key components in a repetitive fashion.

    The last visit, they decided that the refrigerator could not be repaired. AHS will not honor Sears recommendation and still have no refrigerator after two months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It is a SCAM, not legit.

    • By Ugurcan,
    • Plano, TX,
    • Dec 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a house 1 month ago, my agent bought a home warranty from this company. When I moved into the house, everything was working fine.

    I've recently created a plumbing service request, my toilet tank has a little leak. The plumbing guys came and said we need to change the flange. But American Home Shield company does not give them a permission to change it. I called them they said you didn't "diagnose" your toilet properly before moving into the home and the problem was there more than 6 months.

    This horrible company read me the contract Section D:

    Additional limitations and exclusions Number 3, saying AHS is not responsible or liable for mold, mildew, bio-organic growth, rot, fungus, any similar issues, or pest damage, of any nature or kind, including but not limited to: a. Damages of any kind resulting from such causes; b. Diagnosis, inspection, notification, removal, or remediation."

    Do you see anything about 6 months restriction about flange replacement? And do you know what "Diagnosis" mean?

    This company is a very BIG SCAM. I wanted to cancel my contract and their authorization service only works business hours, so don't believe 7 days 24 hours trickery. The number to get authentication is 1-877-489-8320. I called them for cancellation and still waiting for the last 45 minutes. If you've it, good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    Overall Experience:

    I've been trying to convince my husband for at least 12 years to cancel this contract with this current experience I am getting my way. Our washer broke 11/16. On 11/17 we paid $75 to learn the machine was not worth fixing. We went out of the country on 11/18, and on returning expected a check in the mail toward a replacement washer. Instead, we had an email stating AHS needed a second opinion. Another service company came out 11/30. Same diagnosis. On 12/2 after business hours, received an email with a generic list attached, requesting that we respond with some general info about our washer. I called Saturday, 12/3, and waited to speak with someone for 20 minutes and was told the email request was so they could source a replacement washer -- brand, color, dimensions not guaranteed -- and at the option of AHS, they may just issue us a check. No estimated date of delivery. I feel this is a stall tactic. It cost me $40 to do 2 weeks worth of laundry; afraid I will have to do it again. My husband is finally convinced we could have replaced every appliance in the house with what we have paid in monthly premiums and "copays". I have no complaints about the quality of the two service companies that came out on this job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is garbage, I would rather take my chances without insurance

    • By Tim,
    • Manchester, MD,
    • Jan 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We got American Home Shield insurance when we bought the home, thinking new home, things may break, let's pay the $600 and have a piece of mind. Well, it didn't turn out quite that way.

    To put it simply, they will be quick to take your premium, however, when actual problems arise, they will look for every single possible excuse NOT to cover the claim or think of a way where you would have to pay most of the bill. Save your money and hire repairmen yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what you expect

    • By Lena,
    • Canoga Park, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They have sketchy contractors who avoid doing their job just collecting their fees. They are like the stackable washer and dryer, and they will not separate to do their work. It's like you have to remove the bolts so a tire can be changed. They will do anything to avoid doing their job, saying the problem is NOT covered and trying to make you pay separate fees directly to the contractors.

    For example, Friant is NOT covered, and mold and mildew on the drum of washer NOT covered. The contractors seem to know exactly what is NOT covered and push you to pay for what is NOT covered separately. Good LUCK!

    Here's a recommendation: whatever company they send out, look up their review before agreeing for them to come out. Ask for another company. These are NOT reputable Contractors. Sketchy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this company!

    • By Max Harris,
    • Beavercreek, OH,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've got a water pipe that is leaking in my basement. The leak is from the kitchen sink and dishwasher line and it is leaking into the unfinished portion of the basement. When I first discovered the leak, I called American Home Sheild and told them I needed a duct person because it looked like the water was dripping from a duct. The duct guy came and let me know that water is coming from a water line that is running above the duct. For my untrained eye, I didn't know that.

    The duct guy calls American Home Shield and tells them to get a plumber out to the house. The plumber comes and says he needs the duct guy to come and take down the duct so he can repair it. Once it is repaired, the duct guy can hang the ducting back up. American Home Shield will not pay for the duct guy to come and remove the ducting, but they will pay if they had to tear down the drywall, concrete, or ceiling to get to leaking pipe!

    Someone please help me understand why they would pay to destroy building materials, but not temp remove a duct?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hot water heater issue

    • By Mary Daniel,
    • Virginia,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These people are not a good company. They are rude and they send repair people out to patch up things which then stop working. They want you to keep paying service call fees of $75 for their mistakes.

    My hot water heater is not working, so I called them on the 12/20/2016. Someone came out on 12/21/2016 to fix the problem, but on 12/27/2016 the problem got worse. I still don't have hot water, and they're telling me that they didn't send the company that came to fix it. I called that company, and they assured me the American Home Shield sent them. Now they want me to pay $75 more to send someone else out.

    I don't think this is fair, and this company is horrible. They refuse to give you numbers to a supervisor or even give you their names. Something needs to be done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst service I've ever had.

    Overall Experience:

    Every single time you call them, it's at least over an hour! I'm literally on hold while I write this. This is the 6th time I've called. We have been trying to get our plumbing fixed for over six months now, and still, not a single person has come to our house. They send you to cheap contractors, and if you contact them, they say they never have a request or don't have time to service you. Don't waste time or money on this ridiculous warranty. Go ANYWHERE else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use American Home Shield

    • By Sam Quinn,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is always a long 20 to 30-minute wait to reach an overworked, rude customer service person. I was just on hold for 20 minutes and got a busy noise and a hang-up. The website does not work, for I tried to log on and it shows that I do not have a contract, even though I have been paying for one for over two years.

    Do not waste your time or money with this wart of a company. Also, be aware that the Consumer Affairs website showing reviews is American Home Shield's own site. I tried leaving a negative review on that site, and it was deleted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money!

    • By Brian,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The $42-per-month fee seems like a deal for the peace of mind, but you're way better setting that money aside in savings and handling repairs using qualified professionals.

    I had the plan for almost a year when my oven broke. I called American Home Shield, and they sent a technician out (there is a 7-hour window, so I had to work from home that day) and when I explained the issue, he collected his "service fee," and then set about "inspecting" my oven. For 30 minutes he tried to get the oven door off and finally had to look it up online on his phone. He then left and said he'd be back with me in 3-5 days.

    Two weeks passed, and I didn't hear from anyone, so I called American Home Shield, and they told me that my repair has been denied. They told me that the repair guy reported that I was "missing a part" and when I called BS, they sent another technician out. When the second guy arrived, I told him the story, and he asked me if I happened to have a video of the stove breaking. WHAT?

    I invited him to leave my property immediately and set about the long voyage of trying to cancel this awful contract. I sat on hold for 45 minutes longer than the usual 45-60 minute call, to be connected to someone in their "retention" office. This woman's attitude was awful, and she took a clear satisfaction in trying to avert my cancellation by assessing me an early cancellation fee.

    This is a racket and a fleecing operation, to put it kindly. Stay far, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A waste of money

    • By Dave,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After paying over a decade of premiums my heater broke. After three months of no heat, it became clear to me that they were just stringing me along and would not make the repair. Every time you call, be prepared to wait an incredibly long time on hold. I ended up buying the heater out of my pocket for $4,700. They never denied the coverage; they just string you along until you give up to avoid making a costly repair. I would never recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't deal with American Home Shield

    • By Jameson Myers,
    • Van Buren, Arkansas,
    • Mar 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield is a scam. I purchased a home warranty a year ago and opted to purchase a warranty with an upgraded coverage to cover the pool and hot tub because I had concerns about issues that might arise in the future with these items.

    At closing, I received a paper documenting the purchase of the warranty and a promise from American Home Shield to send me my full contract package in the coming days which would detail my coverage. That way, if I ever had an issue with any equipment or appliances with the house or pool or hot tub, I would know and understand my coverage.

    Here it is, two weeks before my warranty is to expire and I have an issue with my pool light (electrical). I called American Home Shield and submitted a service request, and the contractor came out and diagnosed the problem. He said that it should not be an issue at all for American Home Shield to cover it since they do these all the time for them. Later on that day, I received a voicemail from American Home Shield saying they denied the claim. I'm out a $75 service fee for the contractor for nothing.

    The contractor is irate with American Home Shield because they're saying the pool light is not a part of the pool. How absurd is that! Pool equipment it is a part of the pool. I called back to American Home Shield and asked to speak with a manager, and the lady said that an email request had to be submitted to have a manager give you a callback. I said, "no, I will speak to a manager, or I will not get off the phone." So finally, a lady named Portia got on the phone, and I'm almost positive she was not a legitimate manager because she was not professional and just kept saying there is nothing we can do, and that we did send you a contract on April 26th when we didn't even close on our house until after that date.

    The bottom line is that American Home Shield doesn't care if they send you a contract, they would prefer if you didn't know what is covered or not. They just want you to purchase the warranty, and then they start subjectively deciding whether they want to cover your appliance or home items or not. There is currently 7,990 complaints that have been closed by American Home Shield in the last three years. I say closed because who really knows if the customer was really satisfied with the result of their complaint.

    I will tell everyone I know to not ever purchase a home warranty from American Home Shield. It's very telling in business when you have to keep changing your name. American Home Shield has been known by at least five other names. Please save yourself time, energy, and money and don't deal with this scam of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A garbabel company

    • By Xin Li,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you want to waste your money, go ahead. They only work with cheap repair companies so that they can pay less money. These cheap companies will not do good repair. They just show up and pretend to repair it for you. After 30 days or an even shorter period, I guarantee that your faucet will leak again, and your refrigerator will break again.

    Don't waste your time and money. After two bad experiences with American Home Shield and their unprofessional repair company, I decide to take a chance without coverage and pay more money to fire a professional repair company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible Company

    Overall Experience:

    This company has been nothing but a headache since day 1. The seller purchased the warranty on our home and we had no say in the coverage chosen. When we learned that it was the bare minimum of coverage and wanted to pay to upgrade it, American Home Shield would not allow us to upgrade the service. They said our only option would be to refund the seller her $500 and for us to buy our own coverage for $680. We have had to use our warranty for our AC that was supposed to be under warranty but got to spend $300 on refrigerant because they don't cover that.

    After our contract is up with this terrible company, I will definitely be shopping around for a company that cares about customer satisfaction. American Home Shield is NOT the company to go with!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Canceled policy after claims

    • By Raymond Roman,
    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We were canceled without stated reason, presumably because of claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Maria Chacon,
    • Newark, Delaware,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We recently purchased a home and were guaranteed everything worked well by the seller. When the gas company came out to do a safety inspection on the gas and also turn on the heater's "flame," they placed a red sticker on it because they said a part was wrong with it and it needed to be repaired before it could be turned on.

    We reached out to American Home Shield and had to call about five times in between work and school before a representative got on the phone with us, plus their phone calls were very backed up and they had us on hold for over 20 minutes every single time. When I spoke with the representative, we were able to request two contractors to come out, one for the electricity and one for the heater. 24 hours after that we received a call from the heating company to schedule an appointment, and we were able to schedule it for the next business day, which was great.

    Today the contractor came out and inspected the heater and said he would order the part that needed repair, which we pointed to him because we were told which part it was by the gas company that came out to evaluate it previously, and who had alerted us of the issue. Within hours the contractor informed me American Home Shield had denied the coverage because they said the homeowners (us) were already informed of the damage before we purchased the coverage, and he referred me to American Home Shield for further insight.

    I reached out to their customer service and waited on hold for a period of 30 minutes before speaking with a representative (no surprise there). She informed me that the contractor/technician informed their department that we had prior knowledge of the damage before purchasing the coverage. I let her know the technician let me know that's what they had told HIM and I wanted to know where they had obtained the information to make that assumption, and the representative let me know it was the technician and that she couldn't provide me with further details. I reached back out to the technician, who informed me he had not told them that, that he had only mentioned that we had pointed out to him the damage and that there was already a red sticker on there signaling the damage.

    He said he did not know how to further help me and basically didn't provide any direction on how I could solve this situation. I asked that he reach back out to American Home Shield and let them know he did not say we knew about the damage before the purchase of the coverage. I am planning to reach back out tomorrow, so hopefully he will have clarified the issue by then.

    I am disappointed by the service we have been provided and am amazed by the miscommunication and lack of information the representatives of American Home Shield have shown. I do not understand how they can come to the conclusion of denying a claim and not provide me with the details, and instead ask me to reach out to other people. I am not sure how this will be resolved, but I do not recommend their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service! Beware.

    • By Khach Do,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • May 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought an investment property in October of 2016. My realtor bought the American Home Shield plan for 10/16 thru 10/17 and put it in the closing settlement with the amount of $495. I thought I'd need it, so I didn't dispute during closing.

    Then I called American Home Shield in December of 2016 to request the contract that they hadn't sent to me yet. The rep tried to upsell saying that if I decided to pay through October of 2018 with $485 more, I would have many more benefits including full coverage for everything in the house and having the service call fee waived. And that I would only pay the $75 trade fee just for an emergency service that occurs during the PM hours and would have it fixed within 24 hours.

    A couple of weeks ago, I ordered a service for the doorbell that stopped working. Had I known of the scam, I would not have called them. Their contractor came out without any communication with me as I expected and as we spoke on the phone not to deal with my tenant. However, he came and asked the tenant to let him in, and within five minutes he already left. He didn't call me the entire time. I thought he was still coming so I called him and found out he already did the service, and I had to pay for the part and the installation.

    Today, after two weeks, I got a notice from American Home Shield saying there was a delinquency on my account of $75. I demanded a cancellation. They demanded to bring the account up to date for them to proceed the cancellation. Then they did the calculation and said I would get back only $300 something out of the $980 that I paid. I said "the rep who tried to upgrade my plan in December of 2016 lied to me about all the benefits that I would get and that I compared the two contracts of the one-year and the two-year, they were identical page to page and word to word, so explain to me where are all the benefits that I was promised for the upgrade. Just show me the difference!"

    She indeed forced me into paying for an extra year with almost the same price. So I at least should get back the $485 because I have not started the 2018 contract yet plus the remaining of the $495 after the eight months in use of 2017. I threatened to go to court with them and ask the court to obtain the recording so that my lawyer would compare it to the two versions of the contract that I have in my hand. Also, their contract terms say that after 30 days, they must give back a pro-rated refund. Instead, they said whatever of 2017 which I still have left from May through October of 2017 is gone and they would deduct a $80 admin fee plus a contracted deduction of $485 from 2018 and I would get back only $300 something.

    I read them the refund terms and that they must give me back the remaining balance based on the prorate calculation so I should get back at least $600. After so much verbal fight with them, they put me on hold and came back saying they would give me back $635 as I expected. I am going to call my credit card company to stop the payment of the trade fee of $75 now.

    What a terrible company! I would never recommend American Home Shield to anyone of my circle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They will rip you off

    • By Gene Born,
    • Arizona,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The worst customer service and sketchy technicians. I placed a claim for my A/C and the tech said it was a valve and I needed to order it from the internet. It took a week to return, (90 degrees inside the house for a week). It worked for 10 minutes, gave them the invoice for $750 for freon, and they said it is not covered anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total liars

    • By Frank Mularz,
    • Enterprise, AL,
    • May 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer for over eight years and in the last three weeks have been lied to three times. I was told no contractors were in my are, although I have had them before.

    Next, I was told that they would issue a check for the service so I could use someone locally. The check would arrive in 7 to 10 days. I called today and was told the check was never processed and it would be two more weeks to get it handled.

    It has now been four weeks.

    Stay away from these people. Their customer service can hardly be called that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company, avoid at all costs.

    • By Josh Salas,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The first time was like pulling teeth to get my AC fixed. It obviously had a leak, and they did not want to troubleshoot it. They just wanted to fill it with Freon (of which they only cover $10 a pound).

    I had to spend three days arguing with them to get it leak checked. They found an obvious leak in the coil and a second leak in the compressor. After much argument and over $600 additional (above and beyond the service call fee and warranty cost), they fixed it.

    The second time I called, they told me their computers were down and they could not setup a service call. They had no ETA on having their systems back up. As I had water flowing everywhere, I asked if I could just hire someone, pay them and be reimbursed. They said no, I had to just wait. That cost me $300.

    Lastly, last week our main house AC went out. We realized this on Friday when we got home. The house was 91 degrees. We put in a service ticket, and the contractor called and told us that they would not be out for 72 hours. I explained we had expected temps of 97 degrees over the next three days, and they informed me AHS would not pay for after hours or weekend calls. So once again I got my own AC person and paid out of pocket to fix it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 520

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield