About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Read 436 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  410
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 436
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    AC/Heating Unit

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I have been a customer of American Home Shield for several years. For the last three years I have been calling in service calls to have my heating/ac unit fixed. They have replaced several parts that have went out causing all of my coolant to run out of the unit. Well, I am totally frustrated at this point because every time this happens, it costs me another $600/700 to fill back up the unit because AHS does not cover coolant. I understand the annual maintenance, but what about fixing the problem. If he coolant is running out because of a valve or something isn't putting the coolant back, then it should be fixed. The companies are putting a bandage on the problem as far as fixing and I have to suck up the biggest cost. Then I call back in to speak to a supervisor and the rep that I spoke to on the phone is completely rude and tells me that someone will call me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Woodstock GA,
    • Jun 16, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Called AHS about a main water line issue and was told by operator that most likely it was not a covered item. They asked me a few more questions and then talked to a supervisor who told them it 'might' be covered and to send a technician. I told them to NOT send a technician if they were pretty sure it would not be covered. When the tech arrived I told him the situation and he said it definitely would not be covered and that they should not have even sent him. He said he was NOT going to charge me for the visit. Later AHS billed me $75 for the tech visit. I sent them the invoice showing NO CHARGE but they still insist I pay them the $75 or my coverage will be terminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Service

    • Fort Myers, Florida ,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you are approached by AHS, run as soon as you can. I like to state facts, so I will keep this one simple…

    FACT 1: Dishwasher leaking and request placed online 3/21/2016.

    FACT 2: Technician from GE arrives, turns on nozzle. States nothing was wrong with the dishwasher.

    FACT 3: Ran the dishwasher on 3/27/2016 leak turns into a flood.

    FACT 4: Placed another request over the phone on 3/27/2016. I was told that a technician would not arrive until the following week.

    FACT 5: On 3/28/2016 kitchen is completely flooded – Service request ticket now placed in “escalation” status by AHS.

    FACT 6: Technician #2 from different vendor arrives on 3/29/2016, says cost to repair too high, and the dishwasher should be replaced.

    FACT 7: Technician #2 turns nozzle on to dishwasher, cabinet and kitchen flooded again.

    FACT 8: Called American Home Shield on 3/31/2016, they have not received any information from the technician.

    FACT 9: On 4/1/2016 given another number from AHS to call to order a new dishwasher. Was told while I was at work that I MUST be home to provide them with the dimensions of the old dishwasher before they could order the new dishwasher. They stated that they could not use the dimension provided by the GE technician or the second vendor they sent out.

    FACT 10: Measured dishwasher, and was told my dimensions were incorrect. My dimensions were sent to another department and someone would call me back at a later time.

    FACT 11: Received a call on 4/4/2016 from a GE technician #2 that said he fixed my dishwasher. LOL!

    FACT 12: Received a call from technician #2 on 4/4/2016 stating that they had a replacement but could not give me a date or time for the install.

    FACT 13: After several emails, several phone calls, and several days missed of work, my dishwasher was finally installed on 4/5/2016.

    These are the steps AHS uses to repair your appliances. If you choose this company BEWARE. You will lose time from work, forced to make multiple phone calls, and send many emails before your issue is resolved. I have canceled my contract after one month of using this company, and switched to another company. Like the saying goes: “Cheaper is not always better.”

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    AHS is a total rip off

    • May 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield never fix the issues at first step. They try to earn the money before they could fix. I was with AHS for 3 years now and my A/C had the issue and it took 3 years for them to actually fix it. Every time they send the technician, he fills it up with freon, which is good for 3 months, their warranty is 60 days. You pay for freon up to $100/lb and they pay $10/lb. You pay $75 service fee. Finally after a lot of debate, they accepted to fix the leakage. If I go through their contractor I need to pay $800, as they cover only the coil and they said it would cost them about $900 for the coil. When I asked about a buy-out option, the offered $501, saying that's what they give. I found someone who was able to do all the service for that money. (So far freon didn't leak.)

    Find an independent contractor, they give better and honest service and at a reasonable price. Don't believe AHS. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Unresponsive Contractor

    • Upper Marlboro, MD,
    • Aug 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Placed a request through AHS for a leak (bath tub), contractor came out on a Tuesday, broke tub faucet because he couldn't figure out how to get it off, said he would be able to repair tomorrow (Wednesday), I didn't hear from him again.

    I telephoned AHS and was on hold for 22 minutes; hung up. Telephoned AHS a second time a couple of days later, spoke with Damon, who telephoned the contractor, voice message gave a second number, which was the office. Damon telephoned them and told me they were not familiar with my request, but Damon did see a note that contractor would be back to me home on Wednesday 8/10/16.

    I took off from work on 8/10/16, telephoned AHS that morning, only to have a rep call the contractor and he told her he would call me today and schedule to come out on Saturday. This is ridiculous and AHS is just so comfortable with this type of service. AHS does not seem to care that its customers are being inconvenienced and these contractors do as they please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Billed for work not completed

    • Northern California,
    • Sep 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with American Home Shield for just over a year. I have called in repair requests with little to no problems until now. In November my pool pump went out. I called and requested a repair to be done. The contractor they sent out tried to fix the pump and limped it along for a short time. $100 dollars gone.

    A few months later the pump quit and I called them again. The same guy responded and replaced the pump and with that another $100 dollars. A few months passed and I began noticing the pump was making a lot of noise and was leaking badly. I called a third time in less than a year and due to it being out of their warranty time 88 days, I would have to pay an additional $100 dollars for a service call.

    I was very disappointed and stated I did not under any circumstance want the same company to come out and do the work. I was told he was the only pool contractor in my area. Obviously, I did not want to have this same guy come out and work on my equipment. AHS stated they would attempt to find someone else.

    A few days went by and I got a call from my new contractor. It was the same guy! I told him I did not want him responding due to his shabby work. The next thing I know I'm getting hit with a late notice for you guessed it, $100 dollars. Now I'm fuming. I called AHS and spoke with customer service who stated they could not reverse the charges even though he did not come to my house.

    He told them the appointment had been set and I canceled him when he could have taken on another job. I told my customer service rep that I live in a gated community and would be more than happy to give her a log of who came in the gate that day and her contractor was not one of them. This went back and forth until I finally told her to just cancel my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Cunning and unreliable

    • Coppell, TX,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my refrigerator service call 3 times in 3 years and it was never fixed and the service technician takes the money and the American Home Shield charges me and tells me to collect money from the technician. Now, they double charged me using the wielding the stick "if you don't pay, no more service calls".

    Their Technicians never fixed anything the first time. The service rep won't take complaints accurately, and you end up taking 2 days off because the wrong technician was sent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Two Months of Refrigerator Repairs and Still No Resolution

    • Harrisburg, PA,
    • Nov 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield has sent numerous technicians out to our home to repair our newer LG Refrigerator. The Sears Technicians have been to our home many times and replaced key components in a repetitive fashion.

    The last visit, they decided that the refrigerator could not be repaired. AHS will not honor Sears recommendation and still have no refrigerator after two months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It is a SCAM, not legit.

    • Plano, TX,
    • Dec 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a house 1 month ago, my agent bought a home warranty from this company. When I moved into the house, everything was working fine.

    I've recently created a plumbing service request, my toilet tank has a little leak. The plumbing guys came and said we need to change the flange. But American Home Shield company does not give them a permission to change it. I called them they said you didn't "diagnose" your toilet properly before moving into the home and the problem was there more than 6 months.

    This horrible company read me the contract Section D:

    Additional limitations and exclusions Number 3, saying AHS is not responsible or liable for mold, mildew, bio-organic growth, rot, fungus, any similar issues, or pest damage, of any nature or kind, including but not limited to: a. Damages of any kind resulting from such causes; b. Diagnosis, inspection, notification, removal, or remediation."

    Do you see anything about 6 months restriction about flange replacement? And do you know what "Diagnosis" mean?

    This company is a very BIG SCAM. I wanted to cancel my contract and their authorization service only works business hours, so don't believe 7 days 24 hours trickery. The number to get authentication is 1-877-489-8320. I called them for cancellation and still waiting for the last 45 minutes. If you've it, good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    I've been trying to convince my husband for at least 12 years to cancel this contract with this current experience I am getting my way. Our washer broke 11/16. On 11/17 we paid $75 to learn the machine was not worth fixing. We went out of the country on 11/18, and on returning expected a check in the mail toward a replacement washer. Instead, we had an email stating AHS needed a second opinion. Another service company came out 11/30. Same diagnosis. On 12/2 after business hours, received an email with a generic list attached, requesting that we respond with some general info about our washer. I called Saturday, 12/3, and waited to speak with someone for 20 minutes and was told the email request was so they could source a replacement washer -- brand, color, dimensions not guaranteed -- and at the option of AHS, they may just issue us a check. No estimated date of delivery. I feel this is a stall tactic. It cost me $40 to do 2 weeks worth of laundry; afraid I will have to do it again. My husband is finally convinced we could have replaced every appliance in the house with what we have paid in monthly premiums and "copays". I have no complaints about the quality of the two service companies that came out on this job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield is garbage, I would rather take my chances without insurance

    • Manchester, MD,
    • Jan 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got American Home Shield insurance when we bought the home, thinking new home, things may break, let's pay the $600 and have a piece of mind. Well, it didn't turn out quite that way.

    To put it simply, they will be quick to take your premium, however, when actual problems arise, they will look for every single possible excuse NOT to cover the claim or think of a way where you would have to pay most of the bill. Save your money and hire repairmen yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 436

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review