• 488 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Do not use American Home Shield

    • By Sam Quinn,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is always a long 20 to 30-minute wait to reach an overworked, rude customer service person. I was just on hold for 20 minutes and got a busy noise and a hang-up. The website does not work, for I tried to log on and it shows that I do not have a contract, even though I have been paying for one for over two years.

    Do not waste your time or money with this wart of a company. Also, be aware that the Consumer Affairs website showing reviews is American Home Shield's own site. I tried leaving a negative review on that site, and it was deleted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hot water heater issue

    • By Mary Daniel,
    • Virginia,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These people are not a good company. They are rude and they send repair people out to patch up things which then stop working. They want you to keep paying service call fees of $75 for their mistakes.

    My hot water heater is not working, so I called them on the 12/20/2016. Someone came out on 12/21/2016 to fix the problem, but on 12/27/2016 the problem got worse. I still don't have hot water, and they're telling me that they didn't send the company that came to fix it. I called that company, and they assured me the American Home Shield sent them. Now they want me to pay $75 more to send someone else out.

    I don't think this is fair, and this company is horrible. They refuse to give you numbers to a supervisor or even give you their names. Something needs to be done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money!

    • By Brian,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The $42-per-month fee seems like a deal for the peace of mind, but you're way better setting that money aside in savings and handling repairs using qualified professionals.

    I had the plan for almost a year when my oven broke. I called American Home Shield, and they sent a technician out (there is a 7-hour window, so I had to work from home that day) and when I explained the issue, he collected his "service fee," and then set about "inspecting" my oven. For 30 minutes he tried to get the oven door off and finally had to look it up online on his phone. He then left and said he'd be back with me in 3-5 days.

    Two weeks passed, and I didn't hear from anyone, so I called American Home Shield, and they told me that my repair has been denied. They told me that the repair guy reported that I was "missing a part" and when I called BS, they sent another technician out. When the second guy arrived, I told him the story, and he asked me if I happened to have a video of the stove breaking. WHAT?

    I invited him to leave my property immediately and set about the long voyage of trying to cancel this awful contract. I sat on hold for 45 minutes longer than the usual 45-60 minute call, to be connected to someone in their "retention" office. This woman's attitude was awful, and she took a clear satisfaction in trying to avert my cancellation by assessing me an early cancellation fee.

    This is a racket and a fleecing operation, to put it kindly. Stay far, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use these people

    • By Sheri Curtin,
    • Bethlehem, PA,
    • Aug 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On May 26, 2017, our upstairs air conditioning unit failed. We called, and they set up a service provider. They recharged it, and it lasted for three days. We called back they came out four days later and looked at it, and they determined that the upstairs air handler and the downstairs compressor were both unfixable and needed to be replaced.

    American Home Shield argued and told us that our out-of-pocket would be $2800 to replace the condenser, which they were not covering. We went back-and-forth. I finally paid an independent service technician to come out and diagnose the entire system, who also agree that both the air handler and the condenser needed to be replaced. On June 10th we were told by American Home Shield that they approve the condenser, but our air handler was now not approved, which had previously been approved to be replaced.

    After approximately six hours on hold and talking with people at American Home Shield in one department to another who didn't know what one division said or had agreed to, we were told that we would be receiving a new unit both upstairs and downstairs for replacement on July 18th, undulating a Payne condenser and air handler delivered and installed. After 12 hours of installation, the contractor installing the units had to come to me and tell me that the downstairs outside condenser unit did not work at all. I immediately called American Home Shield and explain the situation, and they were kind enough to tell me that it was no longer their problem, that it was a manufacturing issue, at which point I explained to them that they had not yet filled their contractual obligation to provide me with a working unit, and that unit turned on and produced air. It was still their issue and their responsibility. The customer service rep refused to discuss this with me, and in turn, the installer went to the distributor the next day and explained the situation and returned with a Lenix condenser on July 21st. The condenser was turned on and it worked only to find out that the upstairs air handler did not operate, and this was not evident until we can get the condenser to work.

    I posted on Twitter of how absolutely disgusted I was and was tired of being on hold from anywhere between 59 and 83 minutes before I could talk to somebody who couldn't do anything but tell me that they would escalate this or get me a return call, which I never heard from anyone until I put something on social media then they wanted to smooth my feathers.

    I've had two service calls now trying to get this thing to work. I finally had to call an independent contractor, which was Lowry Services, which I cannot say enough nice things about. A prompt and immediate response, and they do the work they say they're going to do right then and there. That service call cost me $1100 to wire the upstairs air handler correctly because installers managed to put the air handler on the 110 circuit instead of the 220 is required to run on.

    Daryl from customer service and the media supervisor from American Home Shield calls me and now wants to do a second opinion. I've had second opinions, I've had 3rd opinions, and fourth opinions, and we have been going on with this since May 26th. My upstairs temperature during all this has been 93° and when I explain to these people that I have people coming and one of these people is on oxygen and cannot be in 93° temperatures and 90% humidity, they informed me that did not constitute a medical emergency to try to expedite this.

    Since May 26th I have been on the phone, documented for 14+ hours with American Home Shield or the supplier trying to get this resolved. I lost 12 hours of billable time, and I have had no air conditioning upstairs in my house from May 26th through July 27th. I have been unable to utilize my office for work, which is upstairs.

    My last conversation with American Home Shield was anything but pleasant, and my last statement was "see you in court." I have every intention of suing them for what I am out of pocket, and the time, energy and effort that I have had to spend to get them to abide by their own contract. Secondly, I would like to point out that they say comparable equipment replacing a Rheem air-conditioning system with a Payne air-conditioning system, which has one of the most horrific customer service reviews of failure rates and not comparable equipment.

    They also say that they will repair or have diagnostics done within 24 to 48 hours and wants the issue diagnosed, and they should have service and repair within 24 to 48 hours, and this was not the case. We have been a customer with them since June 2005 because this warranty came when we bought the house.

    From here on forward, I will tell you that if anybody asks, I will tell them first and foremost, do not use American Home Shield. Save your money and go to somebody who is reputable and actually cares about your business and will and takes care of you the way that they promised they will. And someone who when they say they will provide you with comparable service and comparable equipment will actually do so, instead of trying to get away with the lowest form of product that they can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service non existent

    • By Jerry H.,
    • Peoria, AZ,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    May 22nd our KA fridge alarms went off. Contacted KA, was told control board is dying. Called AHS on May 24th, they emailed me at least 3 or 4 contractors until one could come out the 25th. I am still without a fridge and have been on the phone almost daily with the 30-60 minute hold phone calls. AHS even closed the work order until I called and finally someone listened and put the work order back to open on my account. On two other calls 2 different supposedly supervisors said they would call back within an hour which never happened. The contractor says they closed the order AHS says they sent parts (keep in mind they told me this happened twice before with different dates same part?). I am guessing I will not get my fridge fixed by AHS or this contractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Class action lawsuit

    Overall Experience:

    I called American Home Shield on May 1, 2017, about my air conditioner not working. I am still without air conditioner five weeks later. When I've asked when it will be fixed, I was offered $500 to walk away from the claim. Bait and switch. Enough is enough. A class action lawsuit is what's needed against this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS communications

    • By Jim Bar,
    • Calabasas, CA,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have three properties with American Home Shield (AHS) that I am canceling contracts for due to lack of and poor communications with AHS. There are no means to send an email to AHS to discuss issues such as vendors not showing or payment of service charge, etc. Each time I call AHS, the hold time is a minimum of 35 minutes, only to find out they transfer the call to a different department for another 35-minute hold. I called for "billing," and after a 40-minute hold, "service" answered and transferred me to "billing" for another 35-minute hold.

    AHS owed me $130 for a service they could not provide. They agreed to send me a check. After five months of not receiving the check, I called to discover they changed their statement and said service was provided. I asked if they could provide the Work Order showing work completed and they could not. But, I ate the loss of service and paid another repairman directly. This was common with AHS to lie. Not such a big deal, but I hate their lies and arguments to avoid making any repairs. They will fight and attempt to intimidate to avoid warranty claims.

    I have two other properties with Fidelity, and they are not the best but much better than AHS. I hope you save your frustrations and time by not using AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They sell contracts well, terrible customer service

    Overall Experience:

    These people have their website all set up to sell you a contract and request a service call. That is where it ends! Their repair people are terrible. Many times have to be re-repaired. Customer Service wait time is over an hour with each call.

    They do not have enough people to service the contracts they sell! If you don't believe me, go read the posts on their Facebook page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a ripoff

    Overall Experience:

    I have had a home warranty with American Home Shield (AHS) for 10 years. The main reason I have the warranty was to cover my air conditioner. I have struggled for four weeks with this company, waiting over one hour on the phone several times only to have to tell my story again and again.

    The A/C started leaking into the house, and then it quit completely. AHS sent substandard contractors who did not repair anything and lied about what needed to be done to AHS. Two reputable contractors said the unit needed to be replaced as it was severely corroded after sitting atop a roof in super hot Phoenix, Arizona for 36 years. AHS wanted to pay me $300 to replace a pan when it costs $4300 to replace the unit.

    I finally had to go ahead and pay for it myself. I pay almost $70 a month and have had it for 10 years. It is a useless "warranty." They do not follow up on my calls and have repeatedly ignored me and my pleas for help. They are a completely disreputable company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this company!

    • By Max Harris,
    • Beavercreek, OH,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've got a water pipe that is leaking in my basement. The leak is from the kitchen sink and dishwasher line and it is leaking into the unfinished portion of the basement. When I first discovered the leak, I called American Home Sheild and told them I needed a duct person because it looked like the water was dripping from a duct. The duct guy came and let me know that water is coming from a water line that is running above the duct. For my untrained eye, I didn't know that.

    The duct guy calls American Home Shield and tells them to get a plumber out to the house. The plumber comes and says he needs the duct guy to come and take down the duct so he can repair it. Once it is repaired, the duct guy can hang the ducting back up. American Home Shield will not pay for the duct guy to come and remove the ducting, but they will pay if they had to tear down the drywall, concrete, or ceiling to get to leaking pipe!

    Someone please help me understand why they would pay to destroy building materials, but not temp remove a duct?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company, avoid at all costs.

    • By Josh Salas,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The first time was like pulling teeth to get my AC fixed. It obviously had a leak, and they did not want to troubleshoot it. They just wanted to fill it with Freon (of which they only cover $10 a pound).

    I had to spend three days arguing with them to get it leak checked. They found an obvious leak in the coil and a second leak in the compressor. After much argument and over $600 additional (above and beyond the service call fee and warranty cost), they fixed it.

    The second time I called, they told me their computers were down and they could not setup a service call. They had no ETA on having their systems back up. As I had water flowing everywhere, I asked if I could just hire someone, pay them and be reimbursed. They said no, I had to just wait. That cost me $300.

    Lastly, last week our main house AC went out. We realized this on Friday when we got home. The house was 91 degrees. We put in a service ticket, and the contractor called and told us that they would not be out for 72 hours. I explained we had expected temps of 97 degrees over the next three days, and they informed me AHS would not pay for after hours or weekend calls. So once again I got my own AC person and paid out of pocket to fix it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pool pump

    • By Michael,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am not sure where to start or exactly sure why a company like this is allowed to practice business. I have never filed a complaint or ever thought legal actions against a company and hope I never will. My initial request was for a pool filter issue, which is covered. American Home Shield contracted with a company called "Premium Contractors," which took over a month to resolve the issue, which included multiple visits from some of the rudest individuals/contractors I have met.

    The second request was to American Home Shield for my pool pump, which is covered and is 15 years old. They sent a contractor to the house who refused to call or text me after diagnosing it, since I wasn't present during his inspection. Later that night, I get a voice message from American Home Shield saying the contractor reported the pump motor stopped working because of secondary damage, leak, and rust, and he even took the liberty to tell them it wasn't due to wear and tear.

    After an hour with the American Home Shield authorization department trying to explain that I have never touched the pool pump, there was no leak or rust, and that it was working fine to the day before I called them when it started humming, but to no avail. I asked if the contractor had sent pictures of what he thought was the leak or rust, and I was told he hasn't because he sent a detailed diagnosis. When I asked for the detailed diagnosis, I was given the one liner I mentioned above. I also asked if he didn't take any pictures, wouldn't that raise concern to them that he made a concrete diagnosis which led them to deny the claim just on his word? I told her that I can send pictures to prove otherwise, and the reply was that it didn't matter and I quote, "at this point, it’s your word against his, and the claim has been denied, and there is nothing that can be done about it."

    Now, I am not naive enough to think that these contractors are hired for their ability to fix problems for consumers, or for their higher level of competency and moral aptitude. They work for the insurance company American Home Shield and their driver is to save them money by whatever means, so American Home Shield does not have to pay for things they should contractually be obligated to cover to secure future work orders.

    I requested a second look, which I'll need to pay the insurance for. I am still unsure why I am left in this position, trying to fight this in the first place. But this predatory behavior needs to be promptly addressed by the BBB. And while I do hope my issue gets resolved, I would plead with the BBB to PLEASE address this and HOLD this company liable/accountable for this behavior and similar ones, and not to overlook these consumer complaints.

    I work in the medical field, and if someone had used such manipulative and unethical practices and tactics, they would immediately lose their license and even be thrown in jail. Why is American Home Shield and similar companies not held to that standard and is able to prey on its customers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch

    • By Lynn S.,
    • Colorado,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Our washing machine broke so I went online and ordered service through AHS. Within 24 hours I was contacted for an appointment for the repair guy to come out. He came out a few days later. He came in, I showed him where the washing machine was, I told him that I didn't realize it wasn't working until I went to take the clothes out and they were wet even though the cycle was finished. He was here about 5 minutes or less told me it would be too much to fix, he would let them know. About a week later I receive a call from AHS informing me that his report was that I overloaded the washing machine or I put an object in it causing it to break and therefore, it would not be covered because it was not normal wear and tear.

    First of all, I have done laundry for 40 years. I have never "overloaded" a washing machine. I would never fraudulently put an object in it to break it. The home warranty was when something breaks they come out and fix it or replace it if it can't be fixed. Not only was my character attacked I was pretty much called a liar. I am a realtor and have recommended this warranty company to my clients for years. In fact, my client just bought one a few months ago. I WILL NEVER recommend them again. I feel like my character was attacked and I have never or would ever be fraudulent in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service for AC

    • By K I.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was with AHS since June 2007 and in May of 2016 my AC stopped cooling the house. I finally get a chance to see if AHS will honor all they say they will about if they can’t fix something they will replace it.

    Long story short, my AC unit needed to be replaced and I was told they will only cover but I had to pay the contractor $1500 to repair the AC instead of replacing.

    I was furious. I told AHE to pay me the cost to replace the unit my self. They cut me a check for $297 after I provided a receipt that I had paid for a brand new AC unit out of pocket. So after being with them for 9 years and all I got was $297 towards AC replacement was a total rip off.

    Stay away from this company. They do not value long term customers or any customer from other reviews I read.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what you expect

    • By Lena,
    • Canoga Park, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They have sketchy contractors who avoid doing their job just collecting their fees. They are like the stackable washer and dryer, and they will not separate to do their work. It's like you have to remove the bolts so a tire can be changed. They will do anything to avoid doing their job, saying the problem is NOT covered and trying to make you pay separate fees directly to the contractors.

    For example, Friant is NOT covered, and mold and mildew on the drum of washer NOT covered. The contractors seem to know exactly what is NOT covered and push you to pay for what is NOT covered separately. Good LUCK!

    Here's a recommendation: whatever company they send out, look up their review before agreeing for them to come out. Ask for another company. These are NOT reputable Contractors. Sketchy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A waste of money

    • By Dave,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After paying over a decade of premiums my heater broke. After three months of no heat, it became clear to me that they were just stringing me along and would not make the repair. Every time you call, be prepared to wait an incredibly long time on hold. I ended up buying the heater out of my pocket for $4,700. They never denied the coverage; they just string you along until you give up to avoid making a costly repair. I would never recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Maria Chacon,
    • Newark, Delaware,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We recently purchased a home and were guaranteed everything worked well by the seller. When the gas company came out to do a safety inspection on the gas and also turn on the heater's "flame," they placed a red sticker on it because they said a part was wrong with it and it needed to be repaired before it could be turned on.

    We reached out to American Home Shield and had to call about five times in between work and school before a representative got on the phone with us, plus their phone calls were very backed up and they had us on hold for over 20 minutes every single time. When I spoke with the representative, we were able to request two contractors to come out, one for the electricity and one for the heater. 24 hours after that we received a call from the heating company to schedule an appointment, and we were able to schedule it for the next business day, which was great.

    Today the contractor came out and inspected the heater and said he would order the part that needed repair, which we pointed to him because we were told which part it was by the gas company that came out to evaluate it previously, and who had alerted us of the issue. Within hours the contractor informed me American Home Shield had denied the coverage because they said the homeowners (us) were already informed of the damage before we purchased the coverage, and he referred me to American Home Shield for further insight.

    I reached out to their customer service and waited on hold for a period of 30 minutes before speaking with a representative (no surprise there). She informed me that the contractor/technician informed their department that we had prior knowledge of the damage before purchasing the coverage. I let her know the technician let me know that's what they had told HIM and I wanted to know where they had obtained the information to make that assumption, and the representative let me know it was the technician and that she couldn't provide me with further details. I reached back out to the technician, who informed me he had not told them that, that he had only mentioned that we had pointed out to him the damage and that there was already a red sticker on there signaling the damage.

    He said he did not know how to further help me and basically didn't provide any direction on how I could solve this situation. I asked that he reach back out to American Home Shield and let them know he did not say we knew about the damage before the purchase of the coverage. I am planning to reach back out tomorrow, so hopefully he will have clarified the issue by then.

    I am disappointed by the service we have been provided and am amazed by the miscommunication and lack of information the representatives of American Home Shield have shown. I do not understand how they can come to the conclusion of denying a claim and not provide me with the details, and instead ask me to reach out to other people. I am not sure how this will be resolved, but I do not recommend their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total liars

    • By Frank Mularz,
    • Enterprise, AL,
    • May 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer for over eight years and in the last three weeks have been lied to three times. I was told no contractors were in my are, although I have had them before.

    Next, I was told that they would issue a check for the service so I could use someone locally. The check would arrive in 7 to 10 days. I called today and was told the check was never processed and it would be two more weeks to get it handled.

    It has now been four weeks.

    Stay away from these people. Their customer service can hardly be called that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible and corrupt

    Overall Experience:

    Never use American Home Shield!

    Once again, I have to pull up my contract and read to them the clause that shows I am covered! Every time I use AHS, it is a fight to get them to cover what the contract says they should cover. I have multiple contracts, and I have many properties. I have two other home warranty companies Choice Home Warranty and America's 1st Choice Home Warranty, and I never have this problem with either of these companies.

    Also, when the tech that AHS finally shows up (which is never when it is originally scheduled), they always claim that the repair isn't covered and will require me to pay an exorbitant amount of money. Yet when I refuse and request they send a second tech from a different company, it is approved by this tech, and I am told the first tech was lying!

    But don't take my word for it; on BBB they have 956 bad reviews out of 958 total reviews and 9223 BBB complaints!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They avoid doing repairs at all costs

    • By Pebob b Baba,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a sham company. They will make up any excuse not to make valid repairs. Save yourself some money and just hire legit repair companies when you need repairs rather than invest money each year on a warranty company that charges you service visit fees but makes up any excuse imaginable to avoid spending money on replacement parts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Organized fraud!

    • By Reza M.,
    • California,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    FRAUD ALERT! American Home Shield and its network of service companies are conducting an organized fraud! My furnace made a sound suddenly Friday night and stopped blowing hot air! I called the American Home Shield as my home warranty and submit a service request the next day. They assigned me Metropolitan Heating and Air Conditioning to come and check, once they been assigned, I looked them up on Google and saw all the bad reviews! I got worried and I decided to call AHS first thing on Monday to ask for another company. But to my surprise, Metropolitan called the same day and said they had an opening and could come over to take a look at the furnace in an hour! I thought wow, that was fast and sounds great! Because it was really cold and I didn't want to spend the weekend with no heater! So I agreed and I thought maybe those couple of 5 stars are true!

    He came in, acted very friendly and nice, opened the closet door to furnace, took a picture, closed the door and wrote on a paper that the unit needs to be replaced and gave me a copy and said he will submit it to the warranty company and it might take 7-10 days for replacing the unit, and he left, the whole thing was under 5 minutes! He DID NOT EVEN TRY to turn on the unit and see if it was working or not or what was the problem! I got really worried, but then I fooled myself, maybe he is very experienced! And sure enough, as everybody else mentioned on those bad reviews, I got a call from AHS saying your claim was rejected because the technician believes the problem was pre-existing! WHAT? I asked, "Based on what evidence? Do you mean that we've been in freezing cold weather with no heater for months? NONSENSE!" She had no answer and simply said that this is what the technician reported and we will go with that! She then said we can send another company for a second opinion, but if they say the same thing, that there is another $100 service fee, I asked her who would be the other company because I want to Google them before having them come in, she gave me another name and when I searched, guess what? Same reviews! I asked for another company, the same thing!

    She gave me 5 different names and they all had the same bad reviews about people paid the service fee for nothing! That is where I realized it's an organized fraud! They are just looking for the $100 service fee! $100 for 5 minutes doing basically NOTHING! That is good money! After that, I called Metropolitan to simply ask based on what he concluded that it was pre-existing? And sure enough, he did not answer and never returned my calls! I told the story to a friend of mine; he referred me to another technician that he knew, the guy came in and in 20 minutes fixed the furnace by replacing some wires for $180! My furnace is working even better than before now!

    I called them to cancel the contract, they give you a number to call to cancel and no one answers that phone!

    As the other reviewer suggested, I'm going to file with the state for this fraud as well! And I recommend everyone to do the same so we can stop these guys from rubbing people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Directly lied to...

    • By M Joseph T.,
    • Mobile, AL,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Willow S. Fri, 06/14/19 11:42:23 am America/Chicago

    Hello. How may I help you?

    Are you still there?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:43:53 am

    hi yes

    I would like to cancel my insurance contract

    Willow S. 11:44:18 am

    Hi! I'm happy to assist! One moment please while I access your account.

    May I ask the reason you would like to cancel your warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:46:09 am

    We are cancelling because we weren't impressed with the services we received... also, the salesman who originally sold me the policy said that i could choose my own contractor but would have to be reimbursed. When the time came... I wasn't allowed to use a company of my choosing.

    Willow S. 11:47:53 am

    I apologize that were misinformed. The only time AHS will authorize an outside technician is when there are no AHS Network Contractors available to accept a given service request. I can offer a trade service fee coupon which can be redeemed on your next service request if you would like to retain the warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:49:21 am

    Also.. my wife and 5 year old son were hot for two weeks while waiting for the issue to be resolved. As for the above... it's not what i was originally told.. I was lied to. I would never have purchased the warrant had i known the truth. I would like to cancel.

    warranty*

    Willow S. 11:50:30 am

    I understand, one moment while I process you request.

    There is an Administration Fee of $53.82 due to process the cancellation. Would you like to use payment method we have on file for this transaction?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:52:50 am

    Your going to charge me a fee to cancel?? After hearing about my horrible experience with YOUR company!?!

    You need to get this fee waived before I post my experiences to all major social media, google reviews, BBB Etc...

    Willow S. 11:55:25 am

    The administration fee cannot be waived. If you are unwilling to pay the fee I can submit your request rather than process it now to our retentions team. They will reach out to you to discuss your cancellation within 3-5 business days and to process your cancellation request.

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:56:00 am

    Process it now.. Charge the fee.

    I hope all of the bad publicity is worth $53 to AHS

    Willow S. 11:56:50 am

    Your request has been processed and your warranty is now cancelled.

    Is there anything else I can assist you with at this time?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:57:00 am

    No

    Worst. Company. Ever.

    You rated our customer service as bad

    11:57:19 am

    Willow S. 11:57:55 am

    Thank you for contacting AHS via chat! Have a great day! You may close the chat session at your convince.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS is a total rip off

    • By Sreelu,
    • May 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield never fix the issues at first step. They try to earn the money before they could fix. I was with AHS for 3 years now and my A/C had the issue and it took 3 years for them to actually fix it. Every time they send the technician, he fills it up with freon, which is good for 3 months, their warranty is 60 days. You pay for freon up to $100/lb and they pay $10/lb. You pay $75 service fee. Finally after a lot of debate, they accepted to fix the leakage. If I go through their contractor I need to pay $800, as they cover only the coil and they said it would cost them about $900 for the coil. When I asked about a buy-out option, the offered $501, saying that's what they give. I found someone who was able to do all the service for that money. (So far freon didn't leak.)

    Find an independent contractor, they give better and honest service and at a reasonable price. Don't believe AHS. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Never use American Home Shield

    • By Lynn Brindle,
    • California,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Nothing but bad experiences with this company. My first service call last year was for a dishwasher that wouldn't clean. Tech said it was fine. I went out and finally bought a new dishwasher, and it works perfectly.

    Today is the icing on the cake. We have no hot water. I tried calling and was left on hold for 45 minutes and never did get to talk to a human. I then ordered a service request over the phone. The tech can't come out for two days. This is NOT okay! It is 104 degrees here, and nobody can shower, wash dishes, etc.

    Thanks AHS. And, just saying, my husband is a real estate broker, so you lost all of his referrals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use this company!

    Overall Experience:

    Let me start out by saying that I had a home warranty on all our home appliances. I went through the home warranty company (which I would not recommend!), and they set up the service with this provider.

    The tech came out and I explained that my washer would not go into high spin. I had a high-end front load washer. He told me that he would look at it and told me to go ahead and do what I was doing around the house. Afterwards, he told me to look at the pic that he had taken. He stated that there are two reasons for my motor to be "blown and the wires to be fried." I either had a power surge (which was excluded under the warranty), or I overloaded my washer. I told him that I had this washer for over 7 years and that I knew how to load my washer.

    Well, after about 6 hours, I received a call from the warranty company. They told me that the tech, who was at my home, told them that "when he arrived at my house, my washer was overfilled with clothes" and therefore this is "abuse" and it isn't covered under my warranty.

    First off, I did NOT have any clothes in the washer when he came to my home. Secondly, he NEVER checked the bearings on the washer, which will cause a motor to burn up. He just showed me these pictures and said: "this wire is supposed to be here, this wire is supposed to there and the ground wire is on the floor." He again told me that the only two things that would cause this is a power surge or I overfilled my washer.

    Since the warranty company denied the claim as "abuse" and the power surge was excluded under the policy, I guess the tech and the business knew what was going to be excluded. The warranty company told me that I could not have my own tech come out for a second opinion. I had to use their "network" tech to do the second opinion.

    Needless to say, I canceled the home warranty, and I will not do business with this repair shop again as they lied about the repair. I would not recommend this shop, nor would I recommend a home warranty company. They find ways to get out of the warranty, and their "network" service people know that as well!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a joke!

    • By David R,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If anybody is thinking about getting this company to ensure their home, run far away. Their technicians are a joke and they only put bandaids on for temporary fixes. You can never get ahold of these people when you call them, and it’s just one excuse after another. They only want your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away!

    • By Alana Bograd,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Apr 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a long list of reasons why this company is a problem. They sent a technician to fix an issue we were having with our heater. They changed a coil for the piping and left us with a heater that stopped working. The vendor would not come back to fix the heater that stopped working after he left the same day. I am a forgiving person, but I have an infant in the house, and we are experiencing winter temperatures here. They refused to come back.

    I called American Home Shield, and they were not at all sympathetic in any way. The customer service is as atrocious as the service techs they send out. They wanted to send a company with horrible reviews out to us the next day. Totally missing the fact that we have a baby and no heat. Mind you it was the early afternoon when everything was being reported.

    Fast forward to my conversations with other customer service people regarding the cancelation of our account, and they kept telling us that their supervisors were not around for us to talk to and that they'd be calling us back. No calls. I've been calling every day for three days to talk with a supervisor. i finally spoke with Retention, who canceled our account but had absolutely zero sympathies. He was talking over me the entire time and would not let me talk. It was a joke. More like Soviet Home Shield. I never thought that an American company could have such abysmal service. Do NOT give them your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 488

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield