• 506 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Mountain of laundry

    • By Tim L.,
    • Pocomoke City, MD,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The laundry is piling up so badly and American Home Shield tells me with each phone call that they need to reach out to the device guy and if they don’t get the part they will give it 3 business days. I never heard back. Each time I call I’m given the same story.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service. Don't recommend!

    • By Penny B.,
    • Ohio,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The furnace has been out for 2 days and I was told a service technician would be out on Monday, but after finally getting a hold of the company that was supposed to be out, I was told the next available appointment would be 3 days later, and by then you're looking at 5 days without heat. Totally a waste of money. I am planning on canceling my contract. If I have something broken I need it fixed in a timely manner. And plan on being on hold when contacting American Home Shield for about 45 minutes. Totally a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield - NOT CUSTOMER CENTRIC!

    • By David S.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible. I had a water heater go out, it took two weeks to get someone out. The contractor added replacement parts and labor not needed, and of course, not part of the contact (I believe this was done by design and intent). It cost an extra $500.00. I had to do this or wait another week without hot water. I had another claim for a frig, paid the $100 for a contractor to come out, they did. This was in September, three months ago. Nothing was done, no follow-up, I called several times and had to wait 45 minutes before talking to someone who did not help at all. I will try again tomorrow, as the only remedy is to schedule and pay another $100. Terrible customer service, not an advocate for the homeowner, not American! Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • All is good until you need to speak to a representative

    • By Patricia S.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Trying to speak with a representative twice, I connected to a representative and twice I was disconnected. Also, the company they referred me to couldn't get to my home. Mind you, after being on hold for 40 minutes to repair my central air until Friday, three days away, "hello, this is Florida, are you kidding"?

    Maybe if she hired some employees to answer the phone, I could get another company that AHS deals with, and get my central air repaired in a timely matter.

    Seriously questioning myself if it is worth it to have AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service

    • By Harold M.,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unfortunately, I did not read these reviews before purchasing our insurance. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had in my life! Our water heater went out and began leaking and flooding our garage. I was away at work, so I was unable to help. My 8-month pregnant wife calls the service line and was told she would not be able to help for 48 hours and there was no one who could help her. When she explained she was PREGNANT and has suffered complications, therefore she would be unable to do anything physically, the representative responded "tough" and ended the call.

    After my wife explained the situation, I called back to get clarity as to why it would take 48 hours and to see if there was anything I could do to have it expedited as this is an emergency and a circumstance that requires immediate assistance. I explained my wife was pregnant and disabled due to pregnancy complications and asked politely could he direct me to a manager. He responded, "no." I explained to him maybe I was not conveying correctly the severity of the situation. Before I could finish my explanation, he cut me off and said: "Sir, I completely understand your situation, I've been there before and this is the best I can do." Baffled and insulted by his comment, I asked him his name (John) and gender (male) and how could he possibly be in my disabled 8-month pregnant wife's shoes and if he wasn't referring to her, he did not know our situation so how could he make such an insensitive comment. He responded "you gave me the highlights, I know what's going on and I won't help you any more than I have," and when I asked several times to speak to a manager, he hung up. This is the ABSOLUTE WORST experience I have ever had with any human being on this earth! The insincerity, lack of empathy, lack of emotional intelligence, and just plain rudeness of this is UNPARALLELED AND DISGRACEFUL.

    To add insult to injury, no one ever showed. Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this company or any of its affiliates. They clearly have no intent on helping their customers, they just take their money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By David J.,
    • Georgetown, TX,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    11/4/2018: Finally, Mariah D from AHS reached out to me. She said that she couldn't refund any portion of the premium paid but would look into reimbursing me for the service fees overcharged by AHS and the amount paid to a vendor we had to hire to fix the problem. She claimed that our repair was not covered.

    I thought I asked simple enough questions, but I guess not:

    D., Mariah

    To: DJ

    Oct 31 at 5:48 PM

    The initial service cost paid to American Home Shield.

    From: DJ

    Sent: Wednesday, October 31, 2018 5:31:42 PM

    To: D., Mariah

    What does that mean? How much will you refund? Where in the contract does it mention circuit breakers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 19, 2018

    The worst home warranty company around

    I provided details on my experience, the company's social media expert asked for more information (I don't know why social media either, I don't have a problem with their website, Facebook, etc., it's their actual service that's an issue).

    Anyway, we had a pool electric issue, the guy came out, fixed a portion of the problem and said he needed a light for some of it and we needed a regular electrical guy to fix the rest of it, and we had to put it another service request. He would be back in a week for the light. I found out that the pool light wasn't covered, which is fine, we would just pay the guy.

    A week later, the pool guy shows up, asks us what he was supposed to do as it wasn't written down, we tell him pool light, and he says they don't replace pool lights. Did he not know that a week earlier? In the meantime, we put a service request in for the electrical issues. An electrician came out, said he didn't have the part needed and would come back (why would a company waste a service call and not reach out to the homeowner is beyond me). Also, AHS' website doesn't allow for comments about the issue, only to request a specific trade (plumbing, electrical, etc.).

    Days later no electrician came back or called, AND AHS charged us for the deductible for work not even started. We ended up getting a more reputable vendor as it was the only way to get the work done. Really, I'm not making this up! Now the dishwasher isn't working, which we think is related to the electrical issue that happened weeks ago. We are afraid to request service through AHS Warranty for fear of more deductible charges for work not completed and more unresolved issues. Honestly, I have never had to use a home warranty service so much on any home I've purchased, but sometimes you need to.

    At this point, it would be best to get a full refund of all deductible amounts paid and the premium fee and be done with all these issues. All companies will have customer service issues, what separates good companies from bad ones is how they handle the issues. I'll keep you posted as to what happens next. AHS, please respond with a name and number of a manager that can handle this. I don't have the patience to deal with their customer service reps any longer (see previous reviews on that issue).

    (read moreread less...)

  • A/C unit

    • By Phil L.,
    • Arizona,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called to set an appointment because my air conditioner was making weird sounds. AHS sent their rep and the problem was I needed a compressor. After rep left, they told me AHS will get ahold of me and let me know when the compressor would be ordered and what the charge would be for the freon. AHS only covers 10%. Which would end up costing $800. I called (no follow-up), was on hold for an hour, and the rep said AHS will get with the rep and get back with me 3 to 5 days later. Nine days later, I heard nothing, so I called. Total phone time was 3 hours. No part was ordered. They told me the price it would be and if I would like to dispute these charges (hinting like I should, or I wanted to). I told them let's get it done, I need it. So 9 days to fix my AC in Arizona with no, none, nothing, zippo, zilch communication or follow-up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't do it!

    • By Hector M.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save your money! Self-insure...this company will rob you!

    When I reported an AC unit issue on 10/13/18, a contractor came out and said that my issue was dirty coils. They said that the coil would need to be pulled out and cleaned and that it was too late to do it that afternoon of 10/13. They scheduled to come back out on 10/15 and they did. They came out, pulled out the coil, and cleaned it. After they left, my issue persisted. When I contacted AHS because the issue was not resolved, they said that they would come back out on 10/17/18. On 10/17/18 they never came and when I called to inquire as to why they did call, they THEN said that the coil was damaged that they would forward that issue to AHS. I contacted AHS that same day (10/17/18) and these guys said that they would send someone out for a second opinion.

    They came out and confirmed damage to the coils. The issue I have here is that my AC is still having issues and AHS doesn't want to repair it. Saying that the first and second opinion were the same and that the COIL was already damaged. The first opinion was that the coil was dirty. They took it out and cleaned it and said all was good. Heck, the first guy that came out said that my AC should last me another 10 years. Then when that didn't fix it, they changed their tune/story. As far as im concerned, the coil was fine and the contractor damaged it when they took it out to clean it.

    I paid AHS for 10 months ($42.99) + $100 for them to come out. The first time I needed help/service, they are denying it. Horrible company, DON'T DO IT. Self-insure. They are just taking peoples' hard-earned dollars. It's a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a nightmare company

    • By Rod G.,
    • Arizona,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield is the worst company I ever had dealt with. When my A/C broke in the middle of June's heat in Arizona, they left me and my family in brutal Arizona temperatures above 105 degrees, three day's waiting before they sent their "expert" A/C company. When their so-called "tech" arrived, first he made sure that he got his $125 service fee covered. Then, he hardly took time to check the A/C unit before telling me that he needs to order a part and it will take anywhere between 10 - 15 business days before he can come back with the part to install it and have the unit fixed. Of course, I told him that I did not want to have any business with him or with AHS anymore.

    My friendly advice to you is to do yourselves a favor and forget about American Home Shield and give your business elsewhere, to some serious professionals who will care about you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service - contractors are not good

    • By Sarah M.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just purchased a home and the seller purchased AHS for us so we can replace the furnace. The first contractor they sent did NOT do anything. The gas company said he didn't even clean the chambers or test anything, otherwise, he would have seen a gas leak.

    I called AHS again and requested to get a new furnace. They contacted the same CONTRACTORS after I said DO NOT contact them! Then the contractors said they ordered the parts WITHOUT my consent! I called AHS and they canceled the service request. They then contacted another contractor and the NEW contractor NEVER called us to set up an appointment.

    I called AHS, sat on hold for 3 hours! I asked for a supervisor, and they hung up on me. They will NOT cancel the service order. I am going to cancel it myself.

    This company is a SCAM, and I DO NOT RECOMMEND anyone getting this type of warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Insurance scam

    • By Donald P.,
    • Maggie Valley, NC,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    AHS is an insurance scam. They trick people with brochures that list appliances like self-contained ice makers as being covered but your real contract is only available online, and basically, nothing is covered that would cost them more than a few dollars. I paid them $813 to cover everything in the home we purchased and so far all they have done is refuse to pay for anything. We have three major problems with appliances that are supposed to be covered based on their original sales paperwork, but they have denied coverage for all. Don't waste your money. You have to pay a contractor $80 for each problem, and then AHS will refuse your claim saying the item is not covered or they will also use the Act of God excuse. They have many ways to cheat their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing!

    • By Lou B.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a disappointment. Being in the military, I was stationed all over the country, which I carried American Home Shield for many of the homes we lived in. I always paid my dues on time and never caused any issues. Now that I’m retired, after 23 years, a few months ago we moved to Florida and bought a home with a pool. The heater on my pool went out. I called AHS for service and paid my deductible. Turns out I need a full replacement, which is about 2 to 3 thousand dollars. They denied me because they said it was chemical related. which goes against the hazardous material clause on their contract. I told them of course it’s chemical related because it’s a pool and the water has chlorine. I guess chlorine falls under hazardous material. Then why allow me to add a pool to a warranty?

    The person they sent to check my pool crushed the pipes leading to the heater, and now I can’t operate my pool. AHS says it’s not their problem and the pool guy they sent won’t fix what he broke. I called several AHS reps and explained my situation. I told them I’m not only a loyal customer of many years, but I’m also a wartime Army Veteran with tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. They didn’t care and said they won’t help me.

    Now I’m out of options and have to not only fix the original problem, but also pay to fix the problem from the technician AHS sent. Customer care is big to me. The fact they used chlorine as an excuse for the hazardous material clause of the contract shows they’ll find loopholes to save from paying 2 to 3 thousand dollars. I’m sad for their lack of ethics and their lack of customer care.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete waste of money paying for American Home Shield warranty

    • By Cheryl C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield has the absolute worst customer service. I called to get more information on a service call to check my gas furnace and air conditioner. I paid $125.00 for the tech to come out. He checked the AC and added Freon. I understood it was not covered. They also checked the furnace and found the drain pain had rusted and was leaking water. The HVAC system was working when they came out. Mr. Reid of K&W heating and air said he would return because he needed two people to replace the drain pan. He stated this would cost $695. I paid him and two men returned on Saturday and replaced the drain pan and installed a sediment trap door. The system stopped working and I called him back. He came out and said the circuit board in the furnace blew out. I have spoken to experts and they stated the power should've been turned off while they worked on the furnace. K&W didn't admit to shorting it out, but added the circuit board and I didn't find an additional charge.

    I called American Home Shield several times to ask if the labor was approved. Each time I called I had to wait at least 30 minutes in order to speak to a representative. I was told three times that they were waiting to get additional info from the tech. I couldn't believe it took two weeks to speak to the tech.

    I was finally told that none of the cost was approved. I understood the parts were not covered, but the last person I spoke with finally said the labor was not covered. Really? I'm canceling this rip-off, TODAY! Save your money and take care of your own expenses. This company WILL NOT take care of anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ice maker, hot water faucet and air conditioner service

    • By Rob R.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed the AHS contract in February 2018 for $975.00. So far I have paid AHS about $600 in service fees at $75 per service request, and two of the items have been worked on 3-4 times each without being fixed, and each time I have been charged $75 although the item was not fixed. Yet, the contractor in each case was only paid for the initial service charge by AHS.

    In addition, AHS did not have a service provider in my region t service my air conditioner, they told me to find one, and they gave me an outside authorization number to use for the HVAC service. The HVAC person tried calling AHS and was put on hold for extended periods. I paid $2425.74 to the HVAC provider and did not get reimbursed by AHS. They said I did not have prior authorization and refused to pay.

    So, I've paid $4000 for services and have only gotten my air conditioner fixed, which I paid for directly to the provider.

    I think AHS is a scam and commits fraud by their operation of not taking calls and not providing service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience, HORRIBLE

    • By Adriene B.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In my experience, the WORST company EVER!

    So, two months ago, oven not heating, sent a guy, he yelled at me in front of my daughter, and then, my husband! The oven never did get fixed. The dryer broke, they were going to send same company, I said HELL NO, so they sent a different company. The guy BLEW UP our dryer and our electric circuit. Blamed it on our electricity. SO, they sent an electrician, he fixed it. It blew again, the electrician came again, fixed it, looked and said the dryer is melted inside and that it is burned up and the electric is not the problem and that the dryer has a short in it.

    I called the owner back and told him the guy he sent ruined the dryer and blew up circuit breaker. The OWNER came and "fixed" the dryer. I did a load of laundry and it BURNED my husbands expensive work clothes. I called the owner, said I was going to call Home Shield. He said I was lucky to have him because someone else would take a minimum of two to three weeks, maybe more, before they would be able to look at my dryer. I told him I was concerned about his guy blowing up my dryer (by the way he didn't know his employee's name, he said he goes through them a lot). A guy at my husband's work said if it had so much electric going through it that the circuit breaker broke and it was melted inside, it would never be the same. So, he "fixed" it again. I did another load of laundry and it BURNED my husband's other expensive work clothes.

    NOW, the appliance guy told American Home Shield that he never found any problem with the dryer?! Really?! So, their first guy, over the oven yells at me in my home in front of my daughter and the second guy, who blew up my, still not working dryer, it has now been about a month, said he found nothing wrong with the dryer?! Who are these people they are sending to my house? CRIMINALS? Apparently.

    THEIR electrician said it was the dryer. NOW, after calling them for a month, having a shady people in my house, they want to have someone else come to my house. I said I really think after everything you have put me through I should have a NEW DRYER, because your guy BLEW mine up and it WASN'T blown up before! AND for ALL of his HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE inconvenience (just got of phone now having ANOTHER guy come to my house)! This has really added a lot of unneeded stress to my life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield Is the WORST! Do not buy!

    • By Leonard K.,
    • Naples, FL,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had this warranty for two years. I started to have some AC problems, not blowing cold. I contacted them, three days later the company came out and found a leak. The Freon is not covered, so with the deductible it cost me, another $700. A few months later, the same thing now.

    I have been on hold for 54 minutes this call, 26 the last, and got hung up on. I finally got to talk to someone and she said I have to call another number. I am on hold again.

    I am canceling my contract today.

    Do NOT waste your money on this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away

    • By Garrett M.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like other home warranty companies, these guys are scam artists. I had a simple leak from my washer and dryer, and they denied into the exhaust vent. After 7 phone calls and being on hold for six hours (I am not kidding, six hours), they denied our request even though in the contract it says they fix ductwork and washer and dryers (including ductwork). The people I called were rude and unhelpful. If I were you, I would run away from this company. They are awful!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC repair

    • By Rob L.,
    • Naples, FL,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you live in South West Florida, do not get this coverage. They use a company called integrtAir out of Fort Myers that is terrible in every way! They use incompetent service people, do not call back or do work in a timely fashion and are only interested in getting work for third-party companies like American Home Shield!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • And I thought First American was bad!

    • By Laura R.,
    • Maineville, OH,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We switched home warranty companies from First American to American Home Shield on our three properties several months ago due to poor service and lack of contractors in our area. We looked at several home warranty companies and determined that American Home Shield, though more expensive, was the best. Boy were we wrong! The same poor service, more expensive and not only do they no fix things, but they break things that weren't broken and then tell you that they aren't covered under your policy to repair!

    We had a contractor come out to repair our refrigerator/icemaker (Day's Appliances), which was freezing up inside. He had to order parts and turned the water off to the refrigerator pending replacement. It took two weeks, with me following up daily, to get him back out to replace the parts. When he turned the water back on we had a flood in the house! He turned the water back off and hightailed it, telling us that we need a plumber. AHS was "kind enough" not to charge us for a second service call, however, when the "plumber" showed up (Soul-ultions, Inc.), he told me that he could not repair or replace the line as it was behind the cabinets (understandably). AHS will not cover any repair or replacement that requires going through walls/cabinets, removing cabinets, countertops, etc. I'm not sure what they thought, but why would a water line be easily accessed? Our previously warranty company included anything involved in fixing the problem, and since their contractor caused it, you certainly wouldn't think that it would be an issue.

    We don't want the countertops removed, just a new line run behind the cabinet drawers. This would only require small holes in order to fit the line.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Plumbing leak

    • By Charles B.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife and I called AHS to make a claim. We sat on hold for almost an hour before calling the sales department, which answered the phone immediately. After releasing my frustration of their lack of customer service, I finally got her to send someone out. The plumber came out and gave me an enormous bid on fixing the issue and said he will send it into AHS and that they would be in touch. That was three months ago, and I haven't heard from them yet. After checking my account online, I noticed they closed the claim, saying the status of the claim was complete, but yet no one has performed any work or made any follow-up calls. This company is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC woes

    • By Ann G.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with AHS since 2001. I've had a few MINOR repairs (dryer, dishwasher, freon) done since I purchased the warranty in 2001. When my A/C unit needed servicing in the spring of 2016, I contacted AHS. I waited for an extended period of time before someone answered the line. A vendor was sent to my resident only to inform me that they do not work on Apollo A/C units. Of course, the vendor collected the service fee. Another vendor came out only to tell me the exact same thing, they do not service Apollo systems. AHS provided me an authorization to purchase a window unit until the A/C was repaired. This went on until the fall of 2016 and my A/C unit was still not repaired.

    Once winter arrived and I was no longer using the air conditioner, I stopped calling AHS.

    In the spring of 2017, I contacted AHS again regarding the same A/C unit. I had to pay another service fee due to their 60/90 day time frame of no contact. Since the Spring of 2016 until today, my A/C unit is still not repaired. Approximately 8 different vendors have been to my residence, and not one of them works on Apollo A/C units.

    Finally, after contacting AHS numerous times venting my frustration, I was notified that I was approved to find an independent contractor because they have contacted all the vendors within their radius and could not locate anyone to repair my A/C. I informed them that I did not want to call/contact anyone because I purchased a home warranty so I would not have to worry about trying to find someone to do repairs. I was basically given an ultimatum, either find a contractor to repair my A/C or there is nothing further AHS could do.

    Please note, when contacting an independent contractor, the CUSTOMER is responsible for paying the service fee to the company, and the fee is NON-REFUNDABLE. Also, the CUSTOMER must pay for the repairs and AHS states that you will be reimbursed but only for a portion of the fee. So now, I've paid a service fee to AHS, and another service fee to another company and my A/C is still NOT repaired.

    As of today, the independent contractor that I contacted came to the residence and informed me that the A/C unit needed replacing. They provided AHS with the repair diagnosis and estimation to resolve this issue. The vendor is still awaiting authorization from AHS to complete the work.

    It has been two years in the deep south and I have been enduring the summer heat with A/C issues due to the poor service received from AHS. I am dissatisfied with this company and would advise anyone to not use them.

    AHS only collects service fees and neglects to provide adequate service to their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artist American Home Shield

    • By Ray M.,
    • Midlothian, TX,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I filed a claim for toilet reservoir being cracked. I explained in detail to the plumber before he came what the problem was. The first thing he said was this won't be covered. This is after charging the $100 for coming and being explained. American Home Shield's response is "not covered." They take your money then find ways not to pay.

    Terrible experince. Terrible customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It shouldn't be this hard...

    • By Anthony O.,
    • Wesley Chapel, FL,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The pool maintenance company I use said the filter for my pool was the wrong size...it was too small. Instead of paying them over $100 for the correct one, I called AHS to see if it was covered and it would only cost me the service call of $75. I asked the customer service agent at AHS if the pool filter was covered...she said "yes."

    They gave my appointment to a local pool repair company to service. That company reported to me that the filter cartridge was changed out and AHS charged me the $75. Shortly after that, the pool maintenance company told me that the old cartridge is still there. So, AHS charged me a fee for work I never received. I called them for a refund. They said they would refund me half (I pointed out it was their rep who should've gotten the proper info from me, they didn't care). They said they still have to charge me for sending out the pool repair company. I reluctantly agreed, but when the rep said to hold on so she can transfer me to the person who will handle the partial refund, the call dropped off. I called back and it dropped off again.

    I am now currently on hold again...15 minutes and counting. I finally got a live rep who assured me that my refund would come within two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Been fairly satisfied until today

    • By Jami G.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Today I came home to my smoke alarms going off. When I unplugged them to change the battery and reconnected the wiring back to the ceiling, the detectors still went off. Long story short, I spend 45 minutes on hold to make a service call. When I asked to speak to a supervisor to share my concern about the wait time, I was put on hold, and after approximately 20 minutes was disconnected.

    I made a second attempt and after 30+ minutes was finally answered and transferred to a supervisor again, only to be disconnected. After my third attempt and getting a supervisor, George, after hearing my crankiness, hung up on me. I WAS pretty cranky, but apologized for the mood, but wanted assurances that this will not be happening again. His solution was to go online to schedule a repair. I told him that if it was a dishwasher, I would have, but smoke detectors were a concern that I possibly needed urgent service for.

    I will be happy to provide phone records to prove the time I spent waiting for a service that I pay too much for. Also, when there is a disconnect on the line, I don't understand why representatives don't call back. THAT would be good customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst home warranty service and customer care

    • By L S.,
    • Frisco, TX,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    1. The longest customer service call waiting time - about an hour to get someone to speak to.

    2. Charged for services that they haven't provided.

    3. Contracted with low experienced and unprofessional service subcontracting companies.

    4. Long wait time for services.

    5. Many follow-ups required for any service call.

    6. Terrible customer service.

    7. No details on payments charged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never answer the phone

    • By Mathews V.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was on hold for over one hour for an A/C issue multiple times, they never answer the phone. Don't waste your money on this company. It's a big scam. Whenever there is an issue, they will charge $100, plus the service agent will charge their amount too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No communication

    • By William C.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They will charge you with no problem but will not do the work. They will send someone to misdiagnose the issue and then disappear with your service fee. Do not trust this company as they are a huge scam. I have been trying to track them down for a month now, and they fail to answer my questions. Horrible company. Scam, run the other way!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 244-270 of 506

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield