• 520 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 94%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Save your money

    • By Job J.,
    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save your money and don’t buy this warranty. I tried to use them twice and all they did is deny the claim and get out of making the needed repairs. The service company they also sent over was very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely bad service

    • By Bob N.,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    For over one year, we had a problem with our cooktop. More than five times I took a day off and the contractor did not come, or brought a wrong part. I contacted AHS, talked to Tonya, who is one of the supervisors, seven weeks ago. She promised to change our cooktop and as of today, she has not contacted us. I talked to Moana, one of the customer service reps 10 days ago and again no responses. Extremely the worse possible service from AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unsatisfactory service

    • By James C.,
    • California,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Starting around December 4th, I requested plumbing assistance. Two days later a plumber showed up and said to call him back after line drained. The line never drained, so I had no satisfactory solution. The long and short of it was I emailed AHS and told them to cancel service. By December 6th, I see a charge of $75.00 appear on my bank statement. I have asked to have that refunded. I also asked to have my contract canceled and refunded.

    AHS service is not what it used to be. I was on hold for over two hours one day. When I do get someone, they talk too fast and are garbled, even my CapTel phone cannot understand. Wait time is totally unacceptable. I have notified my bank not to pay the $75.00 charge and questioned the three charges totaling $578.00 if the refund does not come through. I have had AHS for better than 10 years. I now consider them to be the worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company

    • By Jesse J.,
    • Colorado,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible company. Allow me to count the ways in which they are terrible.

    1) Erroneous charges - they continue to attempt to bill us for services that were never rendered (side note, the services weren't rendered because their contractors never showed up as promised).

    2) Customer service and communications with clients are broken - answers to questions change depending on who you talk to in customer service. It seems they have outsourced their call center to people who are disconnected to what's actually happening on the ground.

    3) They rarely hit their promised service windows and attempt to reschedule.

    4) Poorly chosen contractors of low quality. The plumber they sent wasn't helpful at all; basically shared "tips" that you could Google on the internet. The oven repairman gave us wrong information that contradicted what the manufacturer recommended.

    5) Not much is covered by this "warranty" at the end of the day. Save yourself the headache and hire your contractors directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unexpected charges for non coverages

    • By Dave B.,
    • Modesto, CA,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called in for a repair request. Sat on hold for 45 minutes just to submit the request. The plumber came out the same day. I knew the water heater needed to be replaced because it was leaking. They covered the hot water heater, but I still get charged $1155 because the plumber stated that the current water lines wouldn’t match up with the new hot water heater. The only excuse AHS had was it was in the contract they don’t cover any modifications. Their commercials are very misleading. I used to feel confident having them as a relief if something would happen everything would be covered. I have the best plan they offer, and I’m still stuck with an $1155 bill. I wouldn’t recommend AHS to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tech didn't even pull tools and I still paid...

    • By Eric F.,
    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm having an ongoing plumbing issue. I originally called out a plumber (NOT through AHS) who cleared the main sewer line. He explained that there was still a partial blockage. The toilet was fine for a few days then backed up again. He explained that further investigating (pipe camera) was needed along with a probably acidic cleaning and pressure wash.

    I experienced the issue again a few days later and contacted AHS. A plumber was dispatched a day and a half later. He came, flushed my toilet a few times and looked at the drain clean out. By this time the line had been sitting for a few days, so it softened up the toilet paper, so some things were able to get through. The toilet even backed up while he was there, but eventually flushed. He then proclaimed that since there wasn't a full blockage, there was nothing he could do. He didn't even pull his tools off the truck. I asked him to snake from the bottom toilet out. He said he didn't get paid to remove the toilet to access the line. He also reiterated that since there wasn't a full blockage, he couldn't do anything.

    I called AHS and told them that I wasn't going to pay the $75 deductible. I was told "too bad" and they weren't going to refund my money.

    Nothing but a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I don't think they even like their customers

    • By Michelle U.,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the AHS Home Warranty for many years and no one understands this company more than I do. This is really the worst financial decision I have ever made. I could tell you many stories about the pathetic customer service this company offers, but on this review, I will spare you.

    I feel like I am going to have a heart attack every time I have to call them. In my opinion, you make a huge mistake getting any home warranty. My advice is to put the cost of the warranty (i.e., $650+) in a separate home maintenance account and add one service call charge (i.e., an extra $75) year after year and in my estimation, 99% of the time you will always have enough in that account to pay for what may (probably not) have been a covered repair. And, in doing so, you would get the technician of your choice rather than one of their choosing.

    Anyway, I called last weekend and was on hold for 52 minutes. Finally had to hang up. Next day same thing so I hung up, called back and pushed the button for "sales." Shocker. They answered in five seconds. When I complained, they said that everyone has to wait these days for everything. Busy time of year and all that. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, she hung up on me.

    Anyway, they have plenty of people answering the phone for sales, but for a customer of over a decade? 52 minutes and no apology. Why would you pay $650 of your hard earned money for the privilege of holding on the line for almost an hour and then pay another $75+ for a service charge for something that may or may not be covered once the technician is out to your house?

    Oh, and they give you a five-hour window whereas if you had your own plumber or appliance guy or whatever, they would probably give you an appointed time or maybe a two-hour window. It's your money, but if you like to spend it wisely, please do your research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Save your money

    • By Kirk C.,
    • Alabama,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save your money. We have been "customers" of American Home Shield (AHS) three times now. Our first two experiences were just alright. We decided a year ago to sign up for a home warranty as we had some appliance issues and just wanted peace of mind. That peace of mind was quickly taken away when we filed a service request on our furnace.

    A contractor came to repair the unit and damaged it worse. A second contractor came out and we did not hear back from him for two weeks, so we called AHS. When calling into AHS, expect a hold time of 30 minutes to 2 hours depending on the day. The second contractor "ordered the part twice," but it never came in. We never heard back from AHS, so we filed a complaint with the BBB. We learned the part is on back order for 8 weeks. Eight weeks from when? And why did we have to find out in an official response from AHS and not on one of the many times I held on the phone for over an hour to get a status update? We have been chasing contractors and AHS for almost 6 weeks. We have not had heat since October 26th.

    Here is what we learned:

    1. AHS is not responsible for damage to anything done by a contractor, Section G.8. of your contract

    2. There is a maximum they will pay for the warranty of specific items. For HVAC it is $1,500, so if it can't be repaired, you foot the bill for the rest. Section E of the contract.

    3. You must agree to arbitration, and they choose the arbitrator. Section K2 of their contract.

    4. Their customer service center takes forever to answer the phone and was not able to resolve any calls we made. I was told on three separate occasions with "someone would call us back."

    5. All of the contractors that were sent have a rating of F on the BBB website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Danny A.,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It took them five tries to fix a dishwasher for a total of 6 weeks. They use sub-standard contractors and each time they have to wait one week for the part as opposed to driving to the appliance parts shop to pick it up. I would say save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Price increase

    • By Deborah W.,
    • Alabama,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The customer service sucks. They went up on my price, did not try to negotiate with me or anything, and I've been with them for over 4 years. Also, when I did have a problem, they canceled the order contract over the internet and did not notify me. The customer service people are rude, the keep you on the phone for over 35 minutes, and I recommended no one use them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I hate this company - horrible customer service.

    • By Mikell L.,
    • California,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I want a refund. I hate this company. It took two phone calls, waiting 45 minutes or more to get thru to get someone to come out. I finally had to arrange an appointment online. Had I spoken to someone maybe I would have found out I would have to pay a $75 service fee even if the repair wasn't covered. Then once the plumber came out, he found every reason why the problem was a preexisting condition and made no attempt to fix the problem but told me I still had to pay him $75 for him to show up. He still had to call into the office see if he could fix anything, which was going to take hours/days because he too had been calling in and couldn't get through. I had to have another plumber come out to fix the problem, which ended up being a broken cartridge not a water heater problem or water flow problem as I was told that was preexisting by the 1st plumber from the insurance company.

    Then when the insurance company called me back to tell me it wasn't covered, I told her they misdiagnosed the issue, and she said well, I would have needed to call for a second opinion using their plumber. Come on, who has time for that? I already had to wait four days to get the first guy to arrive.

    This is scam. No one wants to actually do the work, it is easier to figure out why it is not covered and leave but still collect the service fee. So, now on top of paying for the real repair, I had to wait extra days to deal with this goofball company and pay extra money. Who wants to do that? And, I paid for the whole year! I want my money back. Oh, and the girl I spoke to had the worst customer service ever. I don't want to deal with this company ever again. I requested to have a manager call me back, and she kept being rude and refusing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Liars

    • By Greg J.,
    • Apollo Beach, FL,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased their most expensive plan to cover it all on two homes since 1998. I have never made a claim and had paid AHS over $14k in 20 and 1/2 years. I filed my first claim in 20+ years and I’ve gotten nothing but the run around for 5 weeks. Three different companies have been to my home to service my cooktop and all three companies have reported back to AHS with the same report or "code" that says the cooktop needs to be replaced and cannot be fixed. Since then I’ve been lied to by three supervisors and have spent over 8 hours on the phone, most of it on hold. The good thing is I’m retired and I can put the phone down while their hideous music plays. Four ticket numbers with all BS from each supervisor. I even had a supervisor tell me they called the appliance company and they told she spoke to them "ten minutes ago." I called them on the other line and the same appliance company said that was a flat out lie. They reported the replacement 3 and 1/2 weeks ago. Lie lie lie lie lie.

    Next is my BBB complaint. I hope their corporate office listens to these lies and all 8 hours of my phone calls to listen to their people flat out lie to their customers. TWENTY PLUS YEARS with NOT ONE CLAIM. My first one and I get this BS. What a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Read carefully

    • By Jason M.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Read the contract carefully - especially Section L4 (cancelation). They say "cancel anytime," but if you cancel your contract early, you will pay a 1-month penalty. What's more, if you cancel your service AFTER getting service from AHS, you will have to pay the difference in cost between what AHS paid for the service and what you've paid for the contract. AHS is essentially a loan that you're paying for monthly whether you use it or not!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Denied coverage of AC and furnace

    • By Roy S.,
    • Alvin, TX,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My central AC went out during the past summer due to leak in the evaporator and they denied coverage. My furnace has now gone out and they have denied coverage again. I have been unable to reach the company, and they won't return my phone calls. The service company says AHS denied the coverage, but they don't know why.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Mountain of laundry

    • By Tim L.,
    • Pocomoke City, MD,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The laundry is piling up so badly and American Home Shield tells me with each phone call that they need to reach out to the device guy and if they don’t get the part they will give it 3 business days. I never heard back. Each time I call I’m given the same story.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service. Don't recommend!

    • By Penny B.,
    • Ohio,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The furnace has been out for 2 days and I was told a service technician would be out on Monday, but after finally getting a hold of the company that was supposed to be out, I was told the next available appointment would be 3 days later, and by then you're looking at 5 days without heat. Totally a waste of money. I am planning on canceling my contract. If I have something broken I need it fixed in a timely manner. And plan on being on hold when contacting American Home Shield for about 45 minutes. Totally a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield - NOT CUSTOMER CENTRIC!

    • By David S.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible. I had a water heater go out, it took two weeks to get someone out. The contractor added replacement parts and labor not needed, and of course, not part of the contact (I believe this was done by design and intent). It cost an extra $500.00. I had to do this or wait another week without hot water. I had another claim for a frig, paid the $100 for a contractor to come out, they did. This was in September, three months ago. Nothing was done, no follow-up, I called several times and had to wait 45 minutes before talking to someone who did not help at all. I will try again tomorrow, as the only remedy is to schedule and pay another $100. Terrible customer service, not an advocate for the homeowner, not American! Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • All is good until you need to speak to a representative

    • By Patricia S.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Trying to speak with a representative twice, I connected to a representative and twice I was disconnected. Also, the company they referred me to couldn't get to my home. Mind you, after being on hold for 40 minutes to repair my central air until Friday, three days away, "hello, this is Florida, are you kidding"?

    Maybe if she hired some employees to answer the phone, I could get another company that AHS deals with, and get my central air repaired in a timely matter.

    Seriously questioning myself if it is worth it to have AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service

    • By Harold M.,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unfortunately, I did not read these reviews before purchasing our insurance. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had in my life! Our water heater went out and began leaking and flooding our garage. I was away at work, so I was unable to help. My 8-month pregnant wife calls the service line and was told she would not be able to help for 48 hours and there was no one who could help her. When she explained she was PREGNANT and has suffered complications, therefore she would be unable to do anything physically, the representative responded "tough" and ended the call.

    After my wife explained the situation, I called back to get clarity as to why it would take 48 hours and to see if there was anything I could do to have it expedited as this is an emergency and a circumstance that requires immediate assistance. I explained my wife was pregnant and disabled due to pregnancy complications and asked politely could he direct me to a manager. He responded, "no." I explained to him maybe I was not conveying correctly the severity of the situation. Before I could finish my explanation, he cut me off and said: "Sir, I completely understand your situation, I've been there before and this is the best I can do." Baffled and insulted by his comment, I asked him his name (John) and gender (male) and how could he possibly be in my disabled 8-month pregnant wife's shoes and if he wasn't referring to her, he did not know our situation so how could he make such an insensitive comment. He responded "you gave me the highlights, I know what's going on and I won't help you any more than I have," and when I asked several times to speak to a manager, he hung up. This is the ABSOLUTE WORST experience I have ever had with any human being on this earth! The insincerity, lack of empathy, lack of emotional intelligence, and just plain rudeness of this is UNPARALLELED AND DISGRACEFUL.

    To add insult to injury, no one ever showed. Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this company or any of its affiliates. They clearly have no intent on helping their customers, they just take their money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By David J.,
    • Georgetown, TX,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    11/4/2018: Finally, Mariah D from AHS reached out to me. She said that she couldn't refund any portion of the premium paid but would look into reimbursing me for the service fees overcharged by AHS and the amount paid to a vendor we had to hire to fix the problem. She claimed that our repair was not covered.

    I thought I asked simple enough questions, but I guess not:

    D., Mariah

    To: DJ

    Oct 31 at 5:48 PM

    The initial service cost paid to American Home Shield.

    From: DJ

    Sent: Wednesday, October 31, 2018 5:31:42 PM

    To: D., Mariah

    What does that mean? How much will you refund? Where in the contract does it mention circuit breakers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 19, 2018

    The worst home warranty company around

    I provided details on my experience, the company's social media expert asked for more information (I don't know why social media either, I don't have a problem with their website, Facebook, etc., it's their actual service that's an issue).

    Anyway, we had a pool electric issue, the guy came out, fixed a portion of the problem and said he needed a light for some of it and we needed a regular electrical guy to fix the rest of it, and we had to put it another service request. He would be back in a week for the light. I found out that the pool light wasn't covered, which is fine, we would just pay the guy.

    A week later, the pool guy shows up, asks us what he was supposed to do as it wasn't written down, we tell him pool light, and he says they don't replace pool lights. Did he not know that a week earlier? In the meantime, we put a service request in for the electrical issues. An electrician came out, said he didn't have the part needed and would come back (why would a company waste a service call and not reach out to the homeowner is beyond me). Also, AHS' website doesn't allow for comments about the issue, only to request a specific trade (plumbing, electrical, etc.).

    Days later no electrician came back or called, AND AHS charged us for the deductible for work not even started. We ended up getting a more reputable vendor as it was the only way to get the work done. Really, I'm not making this up! Now the dishwasher isn't working, which we think is related to the electrical issue that happened weeks ago. We are afraid to request service through AHS Warranty for fear of more deductible charges for work not completed and more unresolved issues. Honestly, I have never had to use a home warranty service so much on any home I've purchased, but sometimes you need to.

    At this point, it would be best to get a full refund of all deductible amounts paid and the premium fee and be done with all these issues. All companies will have customer service issues, what separates good companies from bad ones is how they handle the issues. I'll keep you posted as to what happens next. AHS, please respond with a name and number of a manager that can handle this. I don't have the patience to deal with their customer service reps any longer (see previous reviews on that issue).

    (read moreread less...)

  • A/C unit

    • By Phil L.,
    • Arizona,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called to set an appointment because my air conditioner was making weird sounds. AHS sent their rep and the problem was I needed a compressor. After rep left, they told me AHS will get ahold of me and let me know when the compressor would be ordered and what the charge would be for the freon. AHS only covers 10%. Which would end up costing $800. I called (no follow-up), was on hold for an hour, and the rep said AHS will get with the rep and get back with me 3 to 5 days later. Nine days later, I heard nothing, so I called. Total phone time was 3 hours. No part was ordered. They told me the price it would be and if I would like to dispute these charges (hinting like I should, or I wanted to). I told them let's get it done, I need it. So 9 days to fix my AC in Arizona with no, none, nothing, zippo, zilch communication or follow-up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't do it!

    • By Hector M.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save your money! Self-insure...this company will rob you!

    When I reported an AC unit issue on 10/13/18, a contractor came out and said that my issue was dirty coils. They said that the coil would need to be pulled out and cleaned and that it was too late to do it that afternoon of 10/13. They scheduled to come back out on 10/15 and they did. They came out, pulled out the coil, and cleaned it. After they left, my issue persisted. When I contacted AHS because the issue was not resolved, they said that they would come back out on 10/17/18. On 10/17/18 they never came and when I called to inquire as to why they did call, they THEN said that the coil was damaged that they would forward that issue to AHS. I contacted AHS that same day (10/17/18) and these guys said that they would send someone out for a second opinion.

    They came out and confirmed damage to the coils. The issue I have here is that my AC is still having issues and AHS doesn't want to repair it. Saying that the first and second opinion were the same and that the COIL was already damaged. The first opinion was that the coil was dirty. They took it out and cleaned it and said all was good. Heck, the first guy that came out said that my AC should last me another 10 years. Then when that didn't fix it, they changed their tune/story. As far as im concerned, the coil was fine and the contractor damaged it when they took it out to clean it.

    I paid AHS for 10 months ($42.99) + $100 for them to come out. The first time I needed help/service, they are denying it. Horrible company, DON'T DO IT. Self-insure. They are just taking peoples' hard-earned dollars. It's a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a nightmare company

    • By Rod G.,
    • Arizona,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield is the worst company I ever had dealt with. When my A/C broke in the middle of June's heat in Arizona, they left me and my family in brutal Arizona temperatures above 105 degrees, three day's waiting before they sent their "expert" A/C company. When their so-called "tech" arrived, first he made sure that he got his $125 service fee covered. Then, he hardly took time to check the A/C unit before telling me that he needs to order a part and it will take anywhere between 10 - 15 business days before he can come back with the part to install it and have the unit fixed. Of course, I told him that I did not want to have any business with him or with AHS anymore.

    My friendly advice to you is to do yourselves a favor and forget about American Home Shield and give your business elsewhere, to some serious professionals who will care about you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service - contractors are not good

    • By Sarah M.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just purchased a home and the seller purchased AHS for us so we can replace the furnace. The first contractor they sent did NOT do anything. The gas company said he didn't even clean the chambers or test anything, otherwise, he would have seen a gas leak.

    I called AHS again and requested to get a new furnace. They contacted the same CONTRACTORS after I said DO NOT contact them! Then the contractors said they ordered the parts WITHOUT my consent! I called AHS and they canceled the service request. They then contacted another contractor and the NEW contractor NEVER called us to set up an appointment.

    I called AHS, sat on hold for 3 hours! I asked for a supervisor, and they hung up on me. They will NOT cancel the service order. I am going to cancel it myself.

    This company is a SCAM, and I DO NOT RECOMMEND anyone getting this type of warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Insurance scam

    • By Donald P.,
    • Maggie Valley, NC,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    AHS is an insurance scam. They trick people with brochures that list appliances like self-contained ice makers as being covered but your real contract is only available online, and basically, nothing is covered that would cost them more than a few dollars. I paid them $813 to cover everything in the home we purchased and so far all they have done is refuse to pay for anything. We have three major problems with appliances that are supposed to be covered based on their original sales paperwork, but they have denied coverage for all. Don't waste your money. You have to pay a contractor $80 for each problem, and then AHS will refuse your claim saying the item is not covered or they will also use the Act of God excuse. They have many ways to cheat their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing!

    • By Lou B.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a disappointment. Being in the military, I was stationed all over the country, which I carried American Home Shield for many of the homes we lived in. I always paid my dues on time and never caused any issues. Now that I’m retired, after 23 years, a few months ago we moved to Florida and bought a home with a pool. The heater on my pool went out. I called AHS for service and paid my deductible. Turns out I need a full replacement, which is about 2 to 3 thousand dollars. They denied me because they said it was chemical related. which goes against the hazardous material clause on their contract. I told them of course it’s chemical related because it’s a pool and the water has chlorine. I guess chlorine falls under hazardous material. Then why allow me to add a pool to a warranty?

    The person they sent to check my pool crushed the pipes leading to the heater, and now I can’t operate my pool. AHS says it’s not their problem and the pool guy they sent won’t fix what he broke. I called several AHS reps and explained my situation. I told them I’m not only a loyal customer of many years, but I’m also a wartime Army Veteran with tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. They didn’t care and said they won’t help me.

    Now I’m out of options and have to not only fix the original problem, but also pay to fix the problem from the technician AHS sent. Customer care is big to me. The fact they used chlorine as an excuse for the hazardous material clause of the contract shows they’ll find loopholes to save from paying 2 to 3 thousand dollars. I’m sad for their lack of ethics and their lack of customer care.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete waste of money paying for American Home Shield warranty

    • By Cheryl C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield has the absolute worst customer service. I called to get more information on a service call to check my gas furnace and air conditioner. I paid $125.00 for the tech to come out. He checked the AC and added Freon. I understood it was not covered. They also checked the furnace and found the drain pain had rusted and was leaking water. The HVAC system was working when they came out. Mr. Reid of K&W heating and air said he would return because he needed two people to replace the drain pan. He stated this would cost $695. I paid him and two men returned on Saturday and replaced the drain pan and installed a sediment trap door. The system stopped working and I called him back. He came out and said the circuit board in the furnace blew out. I have spoken to experts and they stated the power should've been turned off while they worked on the furnace. K&W didn't admit to shorting it out, but added the circuit board and I didn't find an additional charge.

    I called American Home Shield several times to ask if the labor was approved. Each time I called I had to wait at least 30 minutes in order to speak to a representative. I was told three times that they were waiting to get additional info from the tech. I couldn't believe it took two weeks to speak to the tech.

    I was finally told that none of the cost was approved. I understood the parts were not covered, but the last person I spoke with finally said the labor was not covered. Really? I'm canceling this rip-off, TODAY! Save your money and take care of your own expenses. This company WILL NOT take care of anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 244-270 of 520

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield