• 520 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 94%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Ice maker, hot water faucet and air conditioner service

    • By Rob R.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed the AHS contract in February 2018 for $975.00. So far I have paid AHS about $600 in service fees at $75 per service request, and two of the items have been worked on 3-4 times each without being fixed, and each time I have been charged $75 although the item was not fixed. Yet, the contractor in each case was only paid for the initial service charge by AHS.

    In addition, AHS did not have a service provider in my region t service my air conditioner, they told me to find one, and they gave me an outside authorization number to use for the HVAC service. The HVAC person tried calling AHS and was put on hold for extended periods. I paid $2425.74 to the HVAC provider and did not get reimbursed by AHS. They said I did not have prior authorization and refused to pay.

    So, I've paid $4000 for services and have only gotten my air conditioner fixed, which I paid for directly to the provider.

    I think AHS is a scam and commits fraud by their operation of not taking calls and not providing service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience, HORRIBLE

    • By Adriene B.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In my experience, the WORST company EVER!

    So, two months ago, oven not heating, sent a guy, he yelled at me in front of my daughter, and then, my husband! The oven never did get fixed. The dryer broke, they were going to send same company, I said HELL NO, so they sent a different company. The guy BLEW UP our dryer and our electric circuit. Blamed it on our electricity. SO, they sent an electrician, he fixed it. It blew again, the electrician came again, fixed it, looked and said the dryer is melted inside and that it is burned up and the electric is not the problem and that the dryer has a short in it.

    I called the owner back and told him the guy he sent ruined the dryer and blew up circuit breaker. The OWNER came and "fixed" the dryer. I did a load of laundry and it BURNED my husbands expensive work clothes. I called the owner, said I was going to call Home Shield. He said I was lucky to have him because someone else would take a minimum of two to three weeks, maybe more, before they would be able to look at my dryer. I told him I was concerned about his guy blowing up my dryer (by the way he didn't know his employee's name, he said he goes through them a lot). A guy at my husband's work said if it had so much electric going through it that the circuit breaker broke and it was melted inside, it would never be the same. So, he "fixed" it again. I did another load of laundry and it BURNED my husband's other expensive work clothes.

    NOW, the appliance guy told American Home Shield that he never found any problem with the dryer?! Really?! So, their first guy, over the oven yells at me in my home in front of my daughter and the second guy, who blew up my, still not working dryer, it has now been about a month, said he found nothing wrong with the dryer?! Who are these people they are sending to my house? CRIMINALS? Apparently.

    THEIR electrician said it was the dryer. NOW, after calling them for a month, having a shady people in my house, they want to have someone else come to my house. I said I really think after everything you have put me through I should have a NEW DRYER, because your guy BLEW mine up and it WASN'T blown up before! AND for ALL of his HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE inconvenience (just got of phone now having ANOTHER guy come to my house)! This has really added a lot of unneeded stress to my life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield Is the WORST! Do not buy!

    • By Leonard K.,
    • Naples, FL,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had this warranty for two years. I started to have some AC problems, not blowing cold. I contacted them, three days later the company came out and found a leak. The Freon is not covered, so with the deductible it cost me, another $700. A few months later, the same thing now.

    I have been on hold for 54 minutes this call, 26 the last, and got hung up on. I finally got to talk to someone and she said I have to call another number. I am on hold again.

    I am canceling my contract today.

    Do NOT waste your money on this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away

    • By Garrett M.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like other home warranty companies, these guys are scam artists. I had a simple leak from my washer and dryer, and they denied into the exhaust vent. After 7 phone calls and being on hold for six hours (I am not kidding, six hours), they denied our request even though in the contract it says they fix ductwork and washer and dryers (including ductwork). The people I called were rude and unhelpful. If I were you, I would run away from this company. They are awful!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC repair

    • By Rob L.,
    • Naples, FL,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you live in South West Florida, do not get this coverage. They use a company called integrtAir out of Fort Myers that is terrible in every way! They use incompetent service people, do not call back or do work in a timely fashion and are only interested in getting work for third-party companies like American Home Shield!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • And I thought First American was bad!

    • By Laura R.,
    • Maineville, OH,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We switched home warranty companies from First American to American Home Shield on our three properties several months ago due to poor service and lack of contractors in our area. We looked at several home warranty companies and determined that American Home Shield, though more expensive, was the best. Boy were we wrong! The same poor service, more expensive and not only do they no fix things, but they break things that weren't broken and then tell you that they aren't covered under your policy to repair!

    We had a contractor come out to repair our refrigerator/icemaker (Day's Appliances), which was freezing up inside. He had to order parts and turned the water off to the refrigerator pending replacement. It took two weeks, with me following up daily, to get him back out to replace the parts. When he turned the water back on we had a flood in the house! He turned the water back off and hightailed it, telling us that we need a plumber. AHS was "kind enough" not to charge us for a second service call, however, when the "plumber" showed up (Soul-ultions, Inc.), he told me that he could not repair or replace the line as it was behind the cabinets (understandably). AHS will not cover any repair or replacement that requires going through walls/cabinets, removing cabinets, countertops, etc. I'm not sure what they thought, but why would a water line be easily accessed? Our previously warranty company included anything involved in fixing the problem, and since their contractor caused it, you certainly wouldn't think that it would be an issue.

    We don't want the countertops removed, just a new line run behind the cabinet drawers. This would only require small holes in order to fit the line.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Plumbing leak

    • By Charles B.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife and I called AHS to make a claim. We sat on hold for almost an hour before calling the sales department, which answered the phone immediately. After releasing my frustration of their lack of customer service, I finally got her to send someone out. The plumber came out and gave me an enormous bid on fixing the issue and said he will send it into AHS and that they would be in touch. That was three months ago, and I haven't heard from them yet. After checking my account online, I noticed they closed the claim, saying the status of the claim was complete, but yet no one has performed any work or made any follow-up calls. This company is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC woes

    • By Ann G.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with AHS since 2001. I've had a few MINOR repairs (dryer, dishwasher, freon) done since I purchased the warranty in 2001. When my A/C unit needed servicing in the spring of 2016, I contacted AHS. I waited for an extended period of time before someone answered the line. A vendor was sent to my resident only to inform me that they do not work on Apollo A/C units. Of course, the vendor collected the service fee. Another vendor came out only to tell me the exact same thing, they do not service Apollo systems. AHS provided me an authorization to purchase a window unit until the A/C was repaired. This went on until the fall of 2016 and my A/C unit was still not repaired.

    Once winter arrived and I was no longer using the air conditioner, I stopped calling AHS.

    In the spring of 2017, I contacted AHS again regarding the same A/C unit. I had to pay another service fee due to their 60/90 day time frame of no contact. Since the Spring of 2016 until today, my A/C unit is still not repaired. Approximately 8 different vendors have been to my residence, and not one of them works on Apollo A/C units.

    Finally, after contacting AHS numerous times venting my frustration, I was notified that I was approved to find an independent contractor because they have contacted all the vendors within their radius and could not locate anyone to repair my A/C. I informed them that I did not want to call/contact anyone because I purchased a home warranty so I would not have to worry about trying to find someone to do repairs. I was basically given an ultimatum, either find a contractor to repair my A/C or there is nothing further AHS could do.

    Please note, when contacting an independent contractor, the CUSTOMER is responsible for paying the service fee to the company, and the fee is NON-REFUNDABLE. Also, the CUSTOMER must pay for the repairs and AHS states that you will be reimbursed but only for a portion of the fee. So now, I've paid a service fee to AHS, and another service fee to another company and my A/C is still NOT repaired.

    As of today, the independent contractor that I contacted came to the residence and informed me that the A/C unit needed replacing. They provided AHS with the repair diagnosis and estimation to resolve this issue. The vendor is still awaiting authorization from AHS to complete the work.

    It has been two years in the deep south and I have been enduring the summer heat with A/C issues due to the poor service received from AHS. I am dissatisfied with this company and would advise anyone to not use them.

    AHS only collects service fees and neglects to provide adequate service to their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artist American Home Shield

    • By Ray M.,
    • Midlothian, TX,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I filed a claim for toilet reservoir being cracked. I explained in detail to the plumber before he came what the problem was. The first thing he said was this won't be covered. This is after charging the $100 for coming and being explained. American Home Shield's response is "not covered." They take your money then find ways not to pay.

    Terrible experince. Terrible customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It shouldn't be this hard...

    • By Anthony O.,
    • Wesley Chapel, FL,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The pool maintenance company I use said the filter for my pool was the wrong size...it was too small. Instead of paying them over $100 for the correct one, I called AHS to see if it was covered and it would only cost me the service call of $75. I asked the customer service agent at AHS if the pool filter was covered...she said "yes."

    They gave my appointment to a local pool repair company to service. That company reported to me that the filter cartridge was changed out and AHS charged me the $75. Shortly after that, the pool maintenance company told me that the old cartridge is still there. So, AHS charged me a fee for work I never received. I called them for a refund. They said they would refund me half (I pointed out it was their rep who should've gotten the proper info from me, they didn't care). They said they still have to charge me for sending out the pool repair company. I reluctantly agreed, but when the rep said to hold on so she can transfer me to the person who will handle the partial refund, the call dropped off. I called back and it dropped off again.

    I am now currently on hold again...15 minutes and counting. I finally got a live rep who assured me that my refund would come within two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Been fairly satisfied until today

    • By Jami G.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Today I came home to my smoke alarms going off. When I unplugged them to change the battery and reconnected the wiring back to the ceiling, the detectors still went off. Long story short, I spend 45 minutes on hold to make a service call. When I asked to speak to a supervisor to share my concern about the wait time, I was put on hold, and after approximately 20 minutes was disconnected.

    I made a second attempt and after 30+ minutes was finally answered and transferred to a supervisor again, only to be disconnected. After my third attempt and getting a supervisor, George, after hearing my crankiness, hung up on me. I WAS pretty cranky, but apologized for the mood, but wanted assurances that this will not be happening again. His solution was to go online to schedule a repair. I told him that if it was a dishwasher, I would have, but smoke detectors were a concern that I possibly needed urgent service for.

    I will be happy to provide phone records to prove the time I spent waiting for a service that I pay too much for. Also, when there is a disconnect on the line, I don't understand why representatives don't call back. THAT would be good customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst home warranty service and customer care

    • By L S.,
    • Frisco, TX,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    1. The longest customer service call waiting time - about an hour to get someone to speak to.

    2. Charged for services that they haven't provided.

    3. Contracted with low experienced and unprofessional service subcontracting companies.

    4. Long wait time for services.

    5. Many follow-ups required for any service call.

    6. Terrible customer service.

    7. No details on payments charged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never answer the phone

    • By Mathews V.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was on hold for over one hour for an A/C issue multiple times, they never answer the phone. Don't waste your money on this company. It's a big scam. Whenever there is an issue, they will charge $100, plus the service agent will charge their amount too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No communication

    • By William C.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They will charge you with no problem but will not do the work. They will send someone to misdiagnose the issue and then disappear with your service fee. Do not trust this company as they are a huge scam. I have been trying to track them down for a month now, and they fail to answer my questions. Horrible company. Scam, run the other way!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • So, so angry. This company is a scam.

    • By Briana M.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had the worst experience of my life with this company. They do not care. I honestly don't know how they have four stars on this page - some reviews must be fake because we are out $5,000 and they have DONE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING but offer us $500, which doesn't even pay for the cost of our contract with them. Let me be clear: We are OUT $1,000 (contract monthly rate and freon costs) + $4,000 for a new A/C unit which is mandatory in North Carolina because the parts can't be mixed up under code. American Home Warranty, essentially, stole $5000 of our hard-earned money, not to mention our TRUST. We would be better off if we had never heard of them at all.

    Here's the whole story: My name is Briana M and I'm a local Apex resident. We paid American Home Shield $600 for a warranty to cover our appliances and A/C. We specifically chose them because they cover A/C issues and replacement and we were hoping to avoid any huge costs to our bottom line - in case anything went wrong, as we have two kids and lots of bills.

    This month, we had a problem with the A/C at our home and we were so thankful we had the home warranty. We immediately called them, and they sent contractors who told us we had to first pay for Freon to "see if there was a leak," in our HVAC system. We paid $100 for them to come out and $370 for the freon because they didn't cover this cost. Well, the freon leaked out within 24 hours.

    They returned to our house to try and see what the problem was. The contractors pointed to our coil and air handler and said they weren't working. My husband asked the contractor, "How much does a coil cost?" and he said, "Around $2000 to replace, but you'll need to replace the whole system because the state of NC requires that you have all parts to code."

    We talked to the company numerous times, spending hours out of our day on the phone with their agents. Their solution? They said the part cost $500, not $2000. They would only pay the contractors (who were their choice of contractors) $500. We talked to three contractors - they ALL quotes us between $4,000-$45000 minimum.

    We were left with a $4,500 option to pay on our own - after we had already spent over $1,000 to try and fulfill "their requirements."

    They say they don't put things up to North Carolina code. We say this is a terrible way to treat a consumer who has put their trust in your warranty. Their very own contractors said they have to get the money somewhere - so that $500 doesn't cover their ACTUAL cost of $2000 for the part plus the other $2500 we will pay because we cannot just replace the part, we have to replace the whole system under North Carolina law.

    Can you help us? This company is defrauding other consumers. The worst part is, we are out more money from buying this warranty than we would be if we had never bought the warranty at all. They have provided nothing to us - we would have been better off without it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Plumbing problem, ManaBloc leaking

    • By Fran J.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My ManaBloc has been leaking and needs to be replaced. It has been a week today, and the issue is still not fixed, and no one knows what is going on. I was sent three different vendors in the course of the week, and they all said it needed to be replaced. It's a simple fix - you unscrew it and put in the new one and connect the hoses, a ten-year-old could do it. Now after being without water for a week, they want me to pay $850.00 to replace it, and I can purchase a new one for $375.00. They told me it would be 7-10 days to get the ManaBloc, however, when I called the company, they told me they can build the exact model in 2 hours and ship it out overnight. What a JOKE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolute crooks. Don’t waste your money.

    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield and the contractors are absolute crooks. They wanted me to pay $1000.00 for an oversized evaporator coil because they wouldn’t get the one from Rheem because the part would be 42% more expensive because online orders cost more. We all know online orders are always cheaper. I would have gladly paid the extra 42% extra for the part rather then pay $1000 for them to butcher my unit.

    It’s so blatant that they wanted to rob me for $1000. AHS has the audacity to say "we don’t work like that."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS does NOT answer their phones ever, and they assign you to awful companies with 1 and 2 star reviews

    • By Caroline M.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do NOT use American Home Shield!

    We bought an older home in Austin, Texas, so we thought it would be smart to get a warranty. Several things with the home went wrong, including plumbing, and the AC went out a few times. 90% of the time, AHS assigned us to a company with hundreds of 1 and 2-star reviews- very bad reviews! They will never assign you to a company with 4 or 5 stars. Several times the serviceman didn't even show up!

    Then we called AHS at 877-489-3659 to complain and get a refund. AHS claims to be open 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, but every single time you call AHS, NO ONE answers the phone. You will get a message sometimes "the wait time is 2 hours, 20 minutes" and then they play the same awful tune while you are waiting. No one will EVER answer your call!

    DO NOT USE AHS under any circumstance. No customer service at all, and they assign you to terrible companies with poor ratings.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never cover any services

    Overall Experience:

    This company is a complete scam. They make up false facts about your appliances in order to NEVER pay for any services. They told me my 5 ton AC unit was a window unit and they didn't cover window units. You wait 55 minutes on hold to speak to someone. PLEASE do not get involved in this scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware!

    • By Stephanie J.,
    • Olympia, WA,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was with American Home Shield for approximately 10 years and finally dumped them after I relocated and bought a residence in another state. In trying to get me to stay with them, the rep actually had the nerve to tell me that they hadn't had any customer complaints in a year. He must have thought I was pretty gullible to believe a statement like that.

    I had a few bad experiences with them during those years, but probably the worst was the time my hot water heater was dying/leaking and flooding the unit beneath me (I was in an upstairs condo).

    American Home Shield sent two different sketchy plumbing companies out to my residence on two different occasions to look at it, and neither one of them saw the danger right in front of them.

    I knew something was wrong with the hot water heater by the hissing noise it was making, and finally contacted my own plumber who came out, took one look at it and stated that someone had capped off a vent valve and the entire unit could have exploded at any moment, probably taking out a wall in my kitchen with it and causing extreme damage, even bodily harm if someone had been near it at the time. It was a dangerous situation and he quickly, and I mean THAT SAME DAY, replaced it with a new hot water heater.

    If you're considering purchasing a policy, I would recommend that you also factor in not only the cost of the annual premium, but also the deductible fee they charge you to send someone out, plus the wages you may lose from taking time off work to wait for the contractor at your home, who may require multiple visits, and then the situation still may not be resolved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not very good service

    • By Patricio R.,
    • Roanoke, VA,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had several contracts with AHS in two different states. All in all, not a good service. They are brokers for services. You contact them, they go to their pool of contractors whom they instead tag with the requested service. I am sure those contractors do not get the full dollar for the service as they get for someone who contacts them directly, so you go to the bottom of the list and hope to at some point get your service. You call AHS back and good luck getting someone to help you. Once they have assigned your job, they feel they have done their job.

    Their contracts are like HBO, once you sign up, it is almost impossible to get out of, except AHS does not offer you three months free. I just called them to not renew my contract, and instead of just doing it, they want me to call again the day my contract expires. So, I just waited 20 minutes (not bad for them) trying to talk to someone, and I have to do it again in a few weeks. I used to think Service America was not great, but after trying AHS (at least in Florida), I went back to Service America.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never ending nightmare

    • By Katie S.,
    • Alabama,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has been a nightmare from the word go. I called for service twice for my AC and TWICE they referred me to a company that doesn't service my area. On the third attempt, they told me they don't have an AC repair company in my area. They referred me to their "outside authorization department," which means I pay for the repairs and get reimbursed. This sounded like a great plan...

    That was three days ago and I'm still waiting on them to email me the instructions for how to do it. I've called them back numerous times and asked for a supervisor. I've been hung up on and I've been told a supervisor would call me in "24-48" business hours...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really awful

    • By Cassie A.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with American Home Shield the past eight months with my HVAC unit has been an incredible nightmare. I bought this house 18 months ago and have been living in it for about a year. I started having major problems with my HVAC unit this winter (2018). It began to make a horrible noise in the middle of the night when it was going into defrost mode. In order to prevent it from just crashing, I called American Home Shield, and they sent a service guy out. The service guy barely looked at the unit and then told me that if the unit was still working, there was nothing he could do. He left and I paid my $100 co-pay.

    Fast forward to the summer of 2018. At the end of June, both units shut down and I had no air conditioning in the whole house. Note, I have two units one for the upstairs and one for the downstairs. Once more I called American Home Shield to have them check it out. I requested a different company come out since the other company was so awful. They told me that the upstairs unit had leaked out freon and the downstairs unit had frozen up due to overworking to cool the whole upstairs. I paid $300 in freon costs plus my $100 co-pay. In both cases, the service guys that have seen my downstairs unit has announced that it is completely worn out and the coils are shot and it would not last much longer.

    Fast forward to September 2018. My downstairs unit completely dies and is not cooling. I once again call American Home Shield. They send a repair guy out again from the company that came out in June. This time they send a different serviceman than the one that came in June, and the serviceman goes outside and declares that the unit is not working because there is dog urine on it. This is the first I've heard of dog urine on my HVAC unit. I tell him that the dogs cannot fit behind the unit and the house to pee on it, however, he says that that is what the problem is and he tells this to American Home Shield. Bingo! Ancient 10-year-old system, in which the coil has been failing for months now is now declared broken, and it's broken from reasons other than normal wear and tear, and so the warranty WILL NOT cover the repair or replacement!

    FYI, no other serviceman that has come out and seen this unit has said anything about dog urine, including the guys that came out in January 2018 and June 2018. But conveniently, the minute the unit actually fails and is no longer working at all, that is what the problem is said to be. And isn't it just amazing that the warranty simply doesn't cover that problem? I have wasted so much money with American Home Shield. Paying the $100 co-pays for the service people to come out, paying my monthly dues, this company really is truly terrible. I advise anybody that is reading this comment to stay away from them. They also use selected companies who only work for them so you are not getting a fair opinion of your problem. They seem coached as to what to say and do. I have wasted so much money with this company. Very sad and upset. I still do not have cooling in my downstairs, and it has now been close to two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They always try to not make good on the contract

    • By Linda M.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My above-the-range microwave broke. They could not get the part so said they will replace it. I called the appliance department, gave all info from the book of the old unit. They told me to go online and look to see if it is ok. I said yes, it looks fine as long as it fits in space. The one they sent is huge, I would have to take out two cabinets for it to fit. I sent it back and now they hit me with a $63.50 restocking fee, plus my $100.00 deductible. So as I senior citizen, I'm out $163.50 and no microwave yet. It has been three weeks. When you call you're on hold for 40 minutes every time. The company is a ripoff. I have been a customer for two years and they won't give me a microwave. Very bad company from the reviews I read. I am ready to cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What happened to customer satisfaction?

    • By Selena D.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Their customer service sucks! If you have a question regarding your account figure it out on your own, customer service is no help. When I say no help, I mean no help. I don't know if the people that work in billing are incompetent or don't understand English. We left the conversation with no results, and we were on the phone for two hours. I was very disappointed so I just hung up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, beware

    • By Jessica W.,
    • Michigan,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a scam. They will not cover anything and allow your home to be destroyed. We had a claim on a dishwasher that was shooting water everywhere, and we had to rush it out of our home. Some lady screamed at us "A2, A2," mentally disabled I'm sure, but claimed to be a manager. (Terrible customer service). We canceled. Then we received another bill, long after cancellation. We had to cancel again, and they threatened an administrative cancellation fee. What the heck? This company does not care about hard-working customers and will scam and screw you as much as they can. Please beware, this company will scam you and will take money out of your account illegally. Just avoid! There are far better companies that do care about their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refuse to install a new furnace and AC

    • By Lynn B.,
    • Dexter, MI,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a house in December 2017 and it came with an AHS warranty. My furnace went out while I was out of state working. When I got home, the house was 47°. I scheduled an appointment online, which took about 72 hours as I got home on a Friday night. No heat, but I went and bought a couple of radiant heaters.

    The company came out and said a valve was stuck but that I needed a new furnace as it would not last forever being over 30 years old. It went out again while I was away working and they sent a different company. I told them what the other company found and they jammed a rubber tube in the valve and said it was fixed. My AC has not worked all summer, but I was away working. They sent a company out to fix it today. He said it needs to be replaced but that unless it is cracked in the relay, they won’t replace it. He ordered a new control board.

    Bottom line: I am concerned that while I am away working this winter for two months, the furnace will go out and my pipes will freeze. Are they going to pay for the damages to my home? I doubt it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 271-297 of 520

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield