Read 400 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 12)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  376
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 122-132 of 400
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bottom rung contractors

    • Grass Valley, CA,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Impossible customer service with their own various departments unable to communicate coherently even amongst themselves. Sent me the absolute worst Yelp rated vendors to come and botch up my repairs. For instance, one contractor had 167 Yelp reviews generating a rating of 1 star. I canceled after a year of miserable results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Stay away; charging auto-pay for homes I sold, refuse to refund

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has shady business tactics. Refusing to refund me for overcharging. I relocated for a job selling two homes in Nevada and bought in Texas. My new home came with a one-year warranty by a realtor. So I canceled the policy on the two homes I sold and when it came to shop one year later...I find out American Home Shield has been charging my business account for two premiums on the homes I don't own for 12 months the now! Even after I threatened to call the authorities and file a formal complaint to the Dept of Insurance...they just did it again! I had to close out my business ex's account I've had for 25 years to stop it! Now I have to spend hours calling legit business and resetting up auto-pays for legit companies I do business with. These people are crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money and don’t buy this warranty. I tried to use them twice and all they did is deny the claim and get out of making the needed repairs. The service company they also sent over was very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Extremely bad service

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For over one year, we had a problem with our cooktop. More than five times I took a day off and the contractor did not come, or brought a wrong part. I contacted AHS, talked to Tonya, who is one of the supervisors, seven weeks ago. She promised to change our cooktop and as of today, she has not contacted us. I talked to Moana, one of the customer service reps 10 days ago and again no responses. Extremely the worse possible service from AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfactory service

    • California,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Starting around December 4th, I requested plumbing assistance. Two days later a plumber showed up and said to call him back after line drained. The line never drained, so I had no satisfactory solution. The long and short of it was I emailed AHS and told them to cancel service. By December 6th, I see a charge of $75.00 appear on my bank statement. I have asked to have that refunded. I also asked to have my contract canceled and refunded.

    AHS service is not what it used to be. I was on hold for over two hours one day. When I do get someone, they talk too fast and are garbled, even my CapTel phone cannot understand. Wait time is totally unacceptable. I have notified my bank not to pay the $75.00 charge and questioned the three charges totaling $578.00 if the refund does not come through. I have had AHS for better than 10 years. I now consider them to be the worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company

    • Colorado,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible company. Allow me to count the ways in which they are terrible.

    1) Erroneous charges - they continue to attempt to bill us for services that were never rendered (side note, the services weren't rendered because their contractors never showed up as promised).

    2) Customer service and communications with clients are broken - answers to questions change depending on who you talk to in customer service. It seems they have outsourced their call center to people who are disconnected to what's actually happening on the ground.

    3) They rarely hit their promised service windows and attempt to reschedule.

    4) Poorly chosen contractors of low quality. The plumber they sent wasn't helpful at all; basically shared "tips" that you could Google on the internet. The oven repairman gave us wrong information that contradicted what the manufacturer recommended.

    5) Not much is covered by this "warranty" at the end of the day. Save yourself the headache and hire your contractors directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Unexpected charges for non coverages

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in for a repair request. Sat on hold for 45 minutes just to submit the request. The plumber came out the same day. I knew the water heater needed to be replaced because it was leaking. They covered the hot water heater, but I still get charged $1155 because the plumber stated that the current water lines wouldn’t match up with the new hot water heater. The only excuse AHS had was it was in the contract they don’t cover any modifications. Their commercials are very misleading. I used to feel confident having them as a relief if something would happen everything would be covered. I have the best plan they offer, and I’m still stuck with an $1155 bill. I wouldn’t recommend AHS to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Tech didn't even pull tools and I still paid...

    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm having an ongoing plumbing issue. I originally called out a plumber (NOT through AHS) who cleared the main sewer line. He explained that there was still a partial blockage. The toilet was fine for a few days then backed up again. He explained that further investigating (pipe camera) was needed along with a probably acidic cleaning and pressure wash.

    I experienced the issue again a few days later and contacted AHS. A plumber was dispatched a day and a half later. He came, flushed my toilet a few times and looked at the drain clean out. By this time the line had been sitting for a few days, so it softened up the toilet paper, so some things were able to get through. The toilet even backed up while he was there, but eventually flushed. He then proclaimed that since there wasn't a full blockage, there was nothing he could do. He didn't even pull his tools off the truck. I asked him to snake from the bottom toilet out. He said he didn't get paid to remove the toilet to access the line. He also reiterated that since there wasn't a full blockage, he couldn't do anything.

    I called AHS and told them that I wasn't going to pay the $75 deductible. I was told "too bad" and they weren't going to refund my money.

    Nothing but a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I don't think they even like their customers

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the AHS Home Warranty for many years and no one understands this company more than I do. This is really the worst financial decision I have ever made. I could tell you many stories about the pathetic customer service this company offers, but on this review, I will spare you.

    I feel like I am going to have a heart attack every time I have to call them. In my opinion, you make a huge mistake getting any home warranty. My advice is to put the cost of the warranty (i.e., $650+) in a separate home maintenance account and add one service call charge (i.e., an extra $75) year after year and in my estimation, 99% of the time you will always have enough in that account to pay for what may (probably not) have been a covered repair. And, in doing so, you would get the technician of your choice rather than one of their choosing.

    Anyway, I called last weekend and was on hold for 52 minutes. Finally had to hang up. Next day same thing so I hung up, called back and pushed the button for "sales." Shocker. They answered in five seconds. When I complained, they said that everyone has to wait these days for everything. Busy time of year and all that. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, she hung up on me.

    Anyway, they have plenty of people answering the phone for sales, but for a customer of over a decade? 52 minutes and no apology. Why would you pay $650 of your hard earned money for the privilege of holding on the line for almost an hour and then pay another $75+ for a service charge for something that may or may not be covered once the technician is out to your house?

    Oh, and they give you a five-hour window whereas if you had your own plumber or appliance guy or whatever, they would probably give you an appointed time or maybe a two-hour window. It's your money, but if you like to spend it wisely, please do your research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Alabama,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money. We have been "customers" of American Home Shield (AHS) three times now. Our first two experiences were just alright. We decided a year ago to sign up for a home warranty as we had some appliance issues and just wanted peace of mind. That peace of mind was quickly taken away when we filed a service request on our furnace.

    A contractor came to repair the unit and damaged it worse. A second contractor came out and we did not hear back from him for two weeks, so we called AHS. When calling into AHS, expect a hold time of 30 minutes to 2 hours depending on the day. The second contractor "ordered the part twice," but it never came in. We never heard back from AHS, so we filed a complaint with the BBB. We learned the part is on back order for 8 weeks. Eight weeks from when? And why did we have to find out in an official response from AHS and not on one of the many times I held on the phone for over an hour to get a status update? We have been chasing contractors and AHS for almost 6 weeks. We have not had heat since October 26th.

    Here is what we learned:

    1. AHS is not responsible for damage to anything done by a contractor, Section G.8. of your contract

    2. There is a maximum they will pay for the warranty of specific items. For HVAC it is $1,500, so if it can't be repaired, you foot the bill for the rest. Section E of the contract.

    3. You must agree to arbitration, and they choose the arbitrator. Section K2 of their contract.

    4. Their customer service center takes forever to answer the phone and was not able to resolve any calls we made. I was told on three separate occasions with "someone would call us back."

    5. All of the contractors that were sent have a rating of F on the BBB website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took them five tries to fix a dishwasher for a total of 6 weeks. They use sub-standard contractors and each time they have to wait one week for the part as opposed to driving to the appliance parts shop to pick it up. I would say save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 122-132 of 400

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review