Read 440 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 15)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  414
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 155-165 of 440
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called about no heat coming out the room registers from my heat pump. They sent out an incompetent repair person who claimed rodents had eaten part of the ductwork. AHS refused to replace the 25 feet of flex duct. I challenged them to come to my home and look anywhere and show me a sign of even a single rodent and they still refused. I am canceling my contract and will never do business with them again. Other reviews about poor repairs and inferior replacement items you see here are also true. They had to replace my dishwasher two years ago and put in the cheapest one they could find and not with comparable options my old dishwasher had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor service

    • Washington DC,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their customer service is unreachable, and even if you get through after two hours, upon reaching an English speaking live body, you encounter someone who just wants to get rid of you and has no clue what needs to be done.

    After all of this, if you are successful, the technicians they provide are inept and unfamiliar with the job they are supposed to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The repairman sent out to fix the washer, said he needed parts will order. The repairman never comes back. American Home Shield sends another repairman, he says the washer now is completely broken, initial repairman did not know what he was doing. Another month to offer a replacement or cash out amount. The replacement offered the cheapest available, now have to prove cost of machine destroyed by the American Home Shield repairman. Offered cash out for comparable washer, but will refuse to reimburse because I bought a new washer dryer set and they don't know the individual cost of washer. I am still trying to get cash out amount, it has been over three months. The torture never ends, waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible costumer service

    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The most non-existent and horrible customer service of any company that I have ever dealt with in my life. I see others have complained about contractors, I have not had that problem, as a matter of fact, if not for the contractor we would know absolutely nothing about what is going on. Please people, DO NOT spend your money with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Watch out cancel contract and they still charge

    • Florida,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had AHS contract for 17 years with minimal issues. We sold our home on 12/28/18. I called on 12/24/18 and told them I would need to cancel on 12/28/18 and was told to call back on 12/28 after closing. I did and canceled the contract. On 12/31 AHS charged my account again providing coverage until 1/27/19. WHY? I called AHS, spoke to two agents, asked for a supervisor, was told there was no one working, and I could not receive a refund. I have been a customer for the current property and a previous property for 20+ years. I will never do business with them again. I am still trying to get my money returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your money!

    • Conroe, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I just moved to Texas and for the first time purchased a home warranty. From the very first time we used them, it has been a complete disaster.

    - The first contractor came and asked us to pay him, so we did. We didn’t know better at the time. That was in June 2018. We just made phone call number five and were on hold for 2.25 hours, to try and get them to quit billing us for the $75. Every single time they say it will be taken care of and guess what, another bill comes. Every time we call, waiting forever on hold. Only last month, December, the bill went up to $150. Once again, tonight we were told it would be taken care of. We asked for a supervisor to please give us a call. I highly doubt that will happen.

    - In the meantime, we’ve needed to call them for the same problem with our septic and gave up because of the hold time. We have actually been on hold with them, called the plumber on another phone and the plumber got here before being able to speak to someone.

    I would not waste one cent of your money with this company. We’ve actually considered just paying the $75 to make them go away and never call them again, but then it really bothers us to think they are probably doing this to a lot of people. So we’re in for the long haul. This is the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with, and I’m 55. They have no idea what "customer service" is. Shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam!

    • Strawberry, AZ,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We requested service for a burst water pipe in our kitchen in an inside wall. The representative over the phone gathered all necessary information and proceeded to collect a $125 service fee, which I thought was strange because in my past experience with other home warranty companies, that was not collected until the contractor showed up. A plumber was scheduled two days later, which was a Friday at 1 pm. The plumber calls us asking if he can come at 8 am instead. Unfortunately, we could not change time due to work schedule. The plumber shows up and states that it is a non-covered service.

    After reading my contract, I do not understand why this was not covered being that it was an interior wall and we had already pulled cabinets and sink away from the wall so he had easy access, and we already provided all the information to the rep on the phone when requesting service. We personally think being it was a Friday afternoon he did not want to do the job.

    We also requested service on our wall heater and for some reason, we were told by the rep on the phone that it is not covered because it is a wall heater. Again I reviewed my contract and it states wall heaters ARE covered, but in this instance at least we were told on the phone prior to collecting another $125 service fee just to be told by the contractor that it is not covered. I am done with this company!

    They are good at collecting your monthly premiums and a so-called "service fee" but not providing service when you really need it. I feel they are a scam! After explaining our experience to friends and neighbors (which a few are realtors), I am being told to stay far away from AHS. We are going back to Old Republic!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bottom rung contractors

    • Grass Valley, CA,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Impossible customer service with their own various departments unable to communicate coherently even amongst themselves. Sent me the absolute worst Yelp rated vendors to come and botch up my repairs. For instance, one contractor had 167 Yelp reviews generating a rating of 1 star. I canceled after a year of miserable results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Stay away; charging auto-pay for homes I sold, refuse to refund

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has shady business tactics. Refusing to refund me for overcharging. I relocated for a job selling two homes in Nevada and bought in Texas. My new home came with a one-year warranty by a realtor. So I canceled the policy on the two homes I sold and when it came to shop one year later...I find out American Home Shield has been charging my business account for two premiums on the homes I don't own for 12 months the now! Even after I threatened to call the authorities and file a formal complaint to the Dept of Insurance...they just did it again! I had to close out my business ex's account I've had for 25 years to stop it! Now I have to spend hours calling legit business and resetting up auto-pays for legit companies I do business with. These people are crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money and don’t buy this warranty. I tried to use them twice and all they did is deny the claim and get out of making the needed repairs. The service company they also sent over was very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Extremely bad service

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For over one year, we had a problem with our cooktop. More than five times I took a day off and the contractor did not come, or brought a wrong part. I contacted AHS, talked to Tonya, who is one of the supervisors, seven weeks ago. She promised to change our cooktop and as of today, she has not contacted us. I talked to Moana, one of the customer service reps 10 days ago and again no responses. Extremely the worse possible service from AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 155-165 of 440

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review