Read 436 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 15)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  410
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 155-165 of 436
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Watch out cancel contract and they still charge

    • Florida,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had AHS contract for 17 years with minimal issues. We sold our home on 12/28/18. I called on 12/24/18 and told them I would need to cancel on 12/28/18 and was told to call back on 12/28 after closing. I did and canceled the contract. On 12/31 AHS charged my account again providing coverage until 1/27/19. WHY? I called AHS, spoke to two agents, asked for a supervisor, was told there was no one working, and I could not receive a refund. I have been a customer for the current property and a previous property for 20+ years. I will never do business with them again. I am still trying to get my money returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your money!

    • Conroe, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I just moved to Texas and for the first time purchased a home warranty. From the very first time we used them, it has been a complete disaster.

    - The first contractor came and asked us to pay him, so we did. We didn’t know better at the time. That was in June 2018. We just made phone call number five and were on hold for 2.25 hours, to try and get them to quit billing us for the $75. Every single time they say it will be taken care of and guess what, another bill comes. Every time we call, waiting forever on hold. Only last month, December, the bill went up to $150. Once again, tonight we were told it would be taken care of. We asked for a supervisor to please give us a call. I highly doubt that will happen.

    - In the meantime, we’ve needed to call them for the same problem with our septic and gave up because of the hold time. We have actually been on hold with them, called the plumber on another phone and the plumber got here before being able to speak to someone.

    I would not waste one cent of your money with this company. We’ve actually considered just paying the $75 to make them go away and never call them again, but then it really bothers us to think they are probably doing this to a lot of people. So we’re in for the long haul. This is the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with, and I’m 55. They have no idea what "customer service" is. Shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam!

    • Strawberry, AZ,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We requested service for a burst water pipe in our kitchen in an inside wall. The representative over the phone gathered all necessary information and proceeded to collect a $125 service fee, which I thought was strange because in my past experience with other home warranty companies, that was not collected until the contractor showed up. A plumber was scheduled two days later, which was a Friday at 1 pm. The plumber calls us asking if he can come at 8 am instead. Unfortunately, we could not change time due to work schedule. The plumber shows up and states that it is a non-covered service.

    After reading my contract, I do not understand why this was not covered being that it was an interior wall and we had already pulled cabinets and sink away from the wall so he had easy access, and we already provided all the information to the rep on the phone when requesting service. We personally think being it was a Friday afternoon he did not want to do the job.

    We also requested service on our wall heater and for some reason, we were told by the rep on the phone that it is not covered because it is a wall heater. Again I reviewed my contract and it states wall heaters ARE covered, but in this instance at least we were told on the phone prior to collecting another $125 service fee just to be told by the contractor that it is not covered. I am done with this company!

    They are good at collecting your monthly premiums and a so-called "service fee" but not providing service when you really need it. I feel they are a scam! After explaining our experience to friends and neighbors (which a few are realtors), I am being told to stay far away from AHS. We are going back to Old Republic!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bottom rung contractors

    • Grass Valley, CA,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Impossible customer service with their own various departments unable to communicate coherently even amongst themselves. Sent me the absolute worst Yelp rated vendors to come and botch up my repairs. For instance, one contractor had 167 Yelp reviews generating a rating of 1 star. I canceled after a year of miserable results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Stay away; charging auto-pay for homes I sold, refuse to refund

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has shady business tactics. Refusing to refund me for overcharging. I relocated for a job selling two homes in Nevada and bought in Texas. My new home came with a one-year warranty by a realtor. So I canceled the policy on the two homes I sold and when it came to shop one year later...I find out American Home Shield has been charging my business account for two premiums on the homes I don't own for 12 months the now! Even after I threatened to call the authorities and file a formal complaint to the Dept of Insurance...they just did it again! I had to close out my business ex's account I've had for 25 years to stop it! Now I have to spend hours calling legit business and resetting up auto-pays for legit companies I do business with. These people are crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money and don’t buy this warranty. I tried to use them twice and all they did is deny the claim and get out of making the needed repairs. The service company they also sent over was very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Extremely bad service

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For over one year, we had a problem with our cooktop. More than five times I took a day off and the contractor did not come, or brought a wrong part. I contacted AHS, talked to Tonya, who is one of the supervisors, seven weeks ago. She promised to change our cooktop and as of today, she has not contacted us. I talked to Moana, one of the customer service reps 10 days ago and again no responses. Extremely the worse possible service from AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfactory service

    • California,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Starting around December 4th, I requested plumbing assistance. Two days later a plumber showed up and said to call him back after line drained. The line never drained, so I had no satisfactory solution. The long and short of it was I emailed AHS and told them to cancel service. By December 6th, I see a charge of $75.00 appear on my bank statement. I have asked to have that refunded. I also asked to have my contract canceled and refunded.

    AHS service is not what it used to be. I was on hold for over two hours one day. When I do get someone, they talk too fast and are garbled, even my CapTel phone cannot understand. Wait time is totally unacceptable. I have notified my bank not to pay the $75.00 charge and questioned the three charges totaling $578.00 if the refund does not come through. I have had AHS for better than 10 years. I now consider them to be the worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company

    • Colorado,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible company. Allow me to count the ways in which they are terrible.

    1) Erroneous charges - they continue to attempt to bill us for services that were never rendered (side note, the services weren't rendered because their contractors never showed up as promised).

    2) Customer service and communications with clients are broken - answers to questions change depending on who you talk to in customer service. It seems they have outsourced their call center to people who are disconnected to what's actually happening on the ground.

    3) They rarely hit their promised service windows and attempt to reschedule.

    4) Poorly chosen contractors of low quality. The plumber they sent wasn't helpful at all; basically shared "tips" that you could Google on the internet. The oven repairman gave us wrong information that contradicted what the manufacturer recommended.

    5) Not much is covered by this "warranty" at the end of the day. Save yourself the headache and hire your contractors directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Unexpected charges for non coverages

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in for a repair request. Sat on hold for 45 minutes just to submit the request. The plumber came out the same day. I knew the water heater needed to be replaced because it was leaking. They covered the hot water heater, but I still get charged $1155 because the plumber stated that the current water lines wouldn’t match up with the new hot water heater. The only excuse AHS had was it was in the contract they don’t cover any modifications. Their commercials are very misleading. I used to feel confident having them as a relief if something would happen everything would be covered. I have the best plan they offer, and I’m still stuck with an $1155 bill. I wouldn’t recommend AHS to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Tech didn't even pull tools and I still paid...

    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm having an ongoing plumbing issue. I originally called out a plumber (NOT through AHS) who cleared the main sewer line. He explained that there was still a partial blockage. The toilet was fine for a few days then backed up again. He explained that further investigating (pipe camera) was needed along with a probably acidic cleaning and pressure wash.

    I experienced the issue again a few days later and contacted AHS. A plumber was dispatched a day and a half later. He came, flushed my toilet a few times and looked at the drain clean out. By this time the line had been sitting for a few days, so it softened up the toilet paper, so some things were able to get through. The toilet even backed up while he was there, but eventually flushed. He then proclaimed that since there wasn't a full blockage, there was nothing he could do. He didn't even pull his tools off the truck. I asked him to snake from the bottom toilet out. He said he didn't get paid to remove the toilet to access the line. He also reiterated that since there wasn't a full blockage, he couldn't do anything.

    I called AHS and told them that I wasn't going to pay the $75 deductible. I was told "too bad" and they weren't going to refund my money.

    Nothing but a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 155-165 of 436

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review