• 546 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • The worst home warranty I've ever have

    Overall Experience:

    I paid $491.88 just to cover the major appliances at my home, and the consequence is I got ripped off badly. During the two years of the program, I made only one call for my bathroom faucet repair. AHS local office dispatched a contractor, which was AM-PM, for the repair job. Can you imagine that the job cost me $625 just for replacing a faucet, and I provided the parts! I disputed it with AHS but they told me the warrant is not an insurance, a warrant is a warrant! The guy from AM-PM did not even give me a receipt after the $625 job! I ended up canceling the warranty, but it was such a pain to get to the right department to do that. I was routed three times on the phone, and each wait time was more than 15 minutes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Believe the negative reviews

    Overall Experience:

    I am in the second year of my contract with this bogus company. Every negative review about this company is true.

    They've taken my money every month for 16 months, and I've attempted to file two claims. It became so frustrating to deal with AHS that I paid out of pocket for the repairs. It should be illegal for them to operate. I've been on hold 46 minutes trying to cancel my contract. The customer service representative said they don't have any cancellation forms so she'll have to do it online. What, are you serious? How complicated can it be to cancel a contract? Oh, I know, as complicated as it is to get service from this company. Makes complete sense now.

    Please, don't deal with this company. They are a 100 percent scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They were good in 1997

    Overall Experience:

    In 1996, I moved my father into a new home near me so I could care for him. I got AHS for him. They were great at fulfilling a few claims. A broken garage door opener and two different toilets. After my father's death, I had stopped the service.

    I was thinking of signing up with them again, but the massive complaints I see has changed my mind. I'm not going to pay them money if, in the end, I have to take care of it myself at a greater expense.

    When I see they are taking care of their customers, I'll come back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    Overall Experience:

    Please remember that you are paying a monthly cost, for example, $60.00, and if you ever have to use them, you will pay a $75.00 fee. If you have a major appliance break and they are unable to fix it, they will try everything before they replace it. That’s fair, but if you are using a laundromat because they have been trying to fix washer for 3 weeks, or ice chest for milk for 2 weeks, or have no Air Conditioner for weeks; if you can live with that, great. If not, this is not the service you need.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They do not cover new claims

    • By Jason Katz,
    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I made a claim for my central vacuum that had failed literally one day after the contract took place (and after the 30-day waiting period after I gave them my credit card info). Originally they accepted the claim but sent out an electrician who said it was not an electrical issue and left.

    After days of hearing nothing I called, and they said I had to call the new contractor to set up an appointment. I did, and the contractor told me he was waiting on American Home Shield. After more days of waiting I called back, and American Home Shield said the "new" contractor would not be going out. I was then told they would find someone new to fix my issue within 24 hours.

    After 48 hours I called and was then told to contact my own contractor and to call after diagnosis and for authorization. I did and then was told that my claim was denied because my contract was only one day old. No other explanation and not a care in the world.

    So they take my monthly fee, my deductible, and I'm also out of the ACTUAL repairs. Just outrageous. Another example of an insurance company taking advantage of a customer simply because they don't want to pay for a covered claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nothing but a scam!

    • By Marat,
    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Feb 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The American Home Shield technician came to my house to fix a leakage on November 5, 2017. He discovered that leakage was caused by a faucet. He confirmed that it's covered by AHS home warranty, but decided not to fix it for an unknown reason and left. He gave me advice on how I can fix it myself, telling me that it's very easy. I followed that advise and ripped off the faucet with parts of piping, leading the situation to a much bigger issue.

    On November 23, 2017, they've sent me a technician for recall, he came, confirmed that he will fix it, took my old parts and disappeared. No calls, no warnings, nothing. Parts were never returned and practically stolen.

    After that, I called to AHS about 10 times, where they'd promised to take care of the issue, investigate, escalate, etc., but never came back to me, leaving me without water for more then a month, simply because they kept promising me to fix it and I was waiting and hoping. They didn't provide me any documentation, never returned my promised calls of investigation and kept only over the phone communication to hide any evidence of their awful job, fearing lawsuits.

    An extremely frustrating and disappointing experience. It looks like they will do everything just not to fix the issue, but also make it worse so that it would not be covered anymore. To fix the ripped off faucet would cost around $500.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS scam

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased my home in July of 2017, and the realtor recommended American Home Shield for the one year warranty. We experienced a furnace breakdown during off hours, and with single degree temperatures needed to get a repairman quickly to prevent freezing of pipes. We contacted AHS to request reimbursement and was told by the unprofessional customer service person no reimbursement as we did not wait to call them.

    I am working with my lawyer to appeal the case or cancel the warranty and get reimbursed for warranty costs. This company is shifty, to say the least. For those considering home warranty, review their history first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thermostat

    Overall Experience:

    Online service requests does not allow space for a detailed issue description; therefore, right away there is a gray area.

    Service representative did his job to inspect and saw the issue, called the company to advise/request a part to repair. The company denied the request.

    After repeated attempts to speak with the company representative, the response was not satisfactory, so I requested to speak with a supervisor to call. The supervisor eventually did call and left a voicemail leaving the same general call-in phone number. The incoming call from supervisor did not show the company name; rather an unknown number. The system is not customer friendly, and customer service requires enormous patience on hold.

    This was our first experience with American Home Shield, and also our last experience. The monthly fee is less than a competitor that we used for several homes we owned. Our claims with the competitor were handled efficiently and fairly. When customers have to jump through hoops to get a response, it is time to get off the train.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refusing to pay for plumbing issue

    • By Mariusz,
    • Holly, MI,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am writing this regarding American Home Shield Corporation because I am very dissatisfied with the outcome of my plumbing issue my resistance. I purchased my house in April of 2017, and in May 2017 I purchased the American Home Shield House Warranty to protect myself from any unforeseen problems with my new house.

    Recently, I was smelling sewage at my residence; it took me about one month to identify where the smell was coming from. Two utility drain downstairs were emitting the sewer smell. Immediately I contacted American Home Shield warranty to help me with this serious problem. I paid my $100 deductible for the plumber. The plumber arrived at my house on 12/11/17 to identify the root cause of the sewer smell. The plumber indicated that the two utility drains are missing drain traps and the drains are connected directly to main house sewer line. He also indicated that the repairs should be completed ASAP since Methane gas is present in the living environments (copy of the plumbing write up attached).

    After a few days of not getting any feedback from the plumber or American Home Shield, I decided to call American Home Shield myself. I was quickly notified that my claim was rejected. I was trying to understand why, but the only answer I received is that I don’t have any drains in my house and my warranty does not cover that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst technicians

    • By Ron Brazil,
    • San Juan Capistrano, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We just had a claim with our washing machine. The guy came out, opened it up, and in 5 minutes he was off. Didn't say a word. Didn't do any work. We paid $100.0 to have him come out. He claims there were rodent droppings and AHS denied the claim. So we had a technician come out from town. He looked at the washer and said a bearing was out and it was an expensive repair.

    Really, they just ducked responsibility. There was no damage from rodents the repair guy from town claimed who assessed what was wrong. On our contract or denial letter, it says if it is something other than what they are claiming they will fix it. All except the part where they do. This is the third claim in which they have denied responsibility or service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Four calls, no service

    • By Sharen Hyde,
    • Crystal Rivet, FL,
    • Feb 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My first service request for a leaking garbage disposal went splendidly. On my second request, I submitted a service request for a range with a malfunctioning burner to AHS using their online system. The assigned contractor was Sears Appliance Repair out of Ocala.

    I never received confirmation from Sears. I phoned Sears the day prior to the scheduled appointment. Sears had no record. I contacted AHS. After being on hold for 15 minutes, I explained the issue. AHS allegedly contacted Sears again. I was told to expect Sears the next day, between 8 am and noon. Again, no confirmation is received from Sears. I call Sears, and sure enough, I am not on their schedule.

    I call AHS again. 45-minute hold. Go through the same process. AGAIN, nothing from Sears. A repeat call to Sears, again, and I am not on their schedule. I CALL AHS again. Another 45 minute wait. The process is repeated. NO confirmation from Seats and sure enough, there is no service call on the scheduled date.

    At this point, I give up and call to cancel the service request and demand reimbursement for the $75 "no service" service fee. I am trying to cancel my policy, but that is also met with long hold times that go nowhere. How this company is allowed to operate is a mystery. The only thing they seem to be good at is long wait times and billing for a service I did not receive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Three calls for repairs in 3 months, quick and efficient online request and immediate reply.

    • By Jeff,
    • Indiana,
    • Jan 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have used American Home Shield in the past, and I have had to be very direct and write a BBB complaint that they have been responsive and fair.

    You MUST read your contract and ensure the appliance is NOT working (making noise, rust, looking bad), because if it is working and you will pay your fee for nothing.

    I have had a $3000 refrigerator replaced because after the 3rd try they could not get it to stop freezing up the drinking water.

    I had a power vent that failed, and the cost of the vent was $300 for the part my cost $125 deductible, and it was fixed in one working day by a professional company.

    I have another (different house) refrigerator freezing my drinking water, and they came out and are waiting for a new door and will replace it. $125 bucks for $400 service call and parts.

    Now I have my Jenn Air Oven on the frits. I just got online, put in my service request, got a test, and they I will get a call in the morning and schedule a service call. Last time the company came out the same day they called.

    Read your service contract like any you have, terms and conditions you accepted, and you should be aware exactly what is covered and how it should be reported and presented to the service provider to get it covered.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Covered? Probably not.

    Overall Experience:

    What a scam. I purchase an older home last February along with the American Home Shield (AHS) plan. Over the past year, I have contacted AHS for four difference claims; a dishwasher that doesn't clean or dry at all, a refrigerator with a rusted out freezer making a constant load noise, termites, and faulty exterior electrical outlet.

    The termites weren't covered, which I found out after about an hour on hold. Technicians came out for the appliances and said that they still function, even though very poorly, so not covered. Last week I booked an electrician to deal with the faulty exterior outlet. The service called immediately, asked the nature of the job (which I told them an outdoor outlet) and booked the appointment. I paid the $75 to AHS. The technicians arrived on time, but IMMEDIATELY told me it wasn't covered by my policy since it was outside. They charged me another $55 to replace the broken outlet.

    I checked my policy AGAIN and the exclusions were listed, but nothing about the exterior. I called both AHS and the electrical company to re-cope the lost money and was basically told too bad. In speaking with the 'we aren't going to help you' AHS associate on the phone, she pointed out the small print in another area of the contract that mentioned "confinement of home" language, not outlined in the Electrical Coverage area.

    So very frustrating. AHS keeps sending me notices to renew my policy, at a $200 increase on top of that. Ha. I'm saving my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's cheaper to do it yourself than use the insurance

    Overall Experience:

    My water heater, located in the garage, started leaking from the tank. I was glad that the home came with a homeowners policy when I bought 6 months earlier.

    I called the company, and they sent out a repairman on the second day. My first indication of trouble was when the repairman showed up without a water heater with him. He told me that they had to make sure what the problem was before they ordered parts.

    The repairman said he would report his findings to the insurance company and they would get back to me.

    When they got back to me my price to use the insurance and have this contractor replace the water heater was within about $50 of the price that I would have paid if I had just gone to Home Depot and picked up a heater and fixed it myself! The price was filled with bogus charges like changing the catch pan for $95. The catch pan that was there was fine, but the company stated that for customer safety they always had to put in a new catch pan. This $95 catch pan can be purchased at your local hardware store for $35 retail.

    I went ballistic when I saw the charges. I was broke after putting all my money into the home and really needed this repair covered.

    I did finally get the company to send me a check for just under $500 and I fixed it myself. What a scam. Never purchase Home Warranty's ever again. They are not worth the paper they are written on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Please save your money!

    • By David Ruben,
    • Weston, FL,
    • Jan 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had two contracts over the past 10 years for a property in Florida and Colorado. Terrible service, as they play the waiting game to force you to hire your own technician locally unless having your AC, Heating, Clothes Dryer, Disposal, or Electrical problems repaired or replaced on a timely basis is important. They play this APPROVAL game, which only delays their authorizing to make repairs or replace. If you are approved for replacement, it could take weeks. Hire locally, pay a reasonable fee, as American Home Shield does not attract the best and brightest technicians.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Slow repair service and nonexistent customer support

    Overall Experience:

    I requested repair for my Jenn Air Cooktop the third week of December, and as of today, January 8th, I do not have news as to when they might fix my cooktop. I think I need to cancel this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service

    Overall Experience:

    This review is for American Home Shield.

    I'm in the midst of my first experience with American Home Shield. Our furnace began making a loud bang when it turned on, so I called to have it looked at. On January 2nd, I was assigned a contractor whom I spoke with that day (Tuesday). He said he would come Wednesday or Thursday, which was fine, since we did not feel this was an emergency but definitely something we should have checked out.

    He called me Wednesday and said he wouldn't be able to come until Friday. Would 10 am to 12 pm be OK? I said no because my husband would like to be here and he had a doctor's appointment at 10. He said he would be here between 12 pm and 1 pm, which I said would be fine. When it got to be after 1 pm, I called him, and he said he said he had an emergency earlier this morning and wouldn't be able to come. He asked if tomorrow would be all right. I said no because he had already changed the day twice and we couldn't just sit around every day waiting for him to come. He said he wouldn't be talked to that way and I should find someone else.

    What way? Because I wasn't going along with him? I tried to call American Home Shield and, after being on hold for 23 minutes, the call was disconnected.

    Warning: not a good start and would currently not recommend. If my feelings change, I will write another review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lesson learned: Save up yourself for home repairs.

    Overall Experience:

    Based on my own experience and those of many others online, I'm not sure how American Home Shield (AHS) is still in business. It's mostly a scam!

    I called them last Thursday because I had a serious plumbing leak that was soaking through my garage wall and exterior brick facade in the front of the house. The contractor came, tore three medium-sized holes in my wall, charged me an extra $55 over my $75 deductible to cut through cabinetry, mind you, all just to tell me something I already knew, which is that I had a serious plumbing issue (slab leak), and rolled out after collecting the cash. The contractor now wants $3,700 to fix the leak, of which AHS will only pay $1,000.

    I called my home insurance company, who will pay up to $2,500 for most of the repairs. Now, I've been trying to reach AHS to cash out so I can get the $1,000 they promised to put towards hiring my own contractor, but trying to get back in touch with someone in claims has become another headache I can do without, considering what I'm already going through with this slab leak. So, what exactly am I paying 53 bucks a month to AHS for and a $75 deductible when I need service (that turned into $130)? I'm paying basically to have a contractor come tear my house up further, and then they still want me to pay thousands out of pocket for a major repair, and on top of that, I can't get even halfway mediocre service when I most need it? Seems I'd be better off saving that $53 a month and deductible in a bank account for serious repairs.

    Based on my own experience and those of others, I think AHS and the contractors are in bed together to scam homeowners. On another note, it's totally not acceptable that I have to wait over an hour to receive help with my claim when I can select their sales or new home buyer options when calling, and most times get a pick up on the first ring. Higher call volume my butt!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service

    • By B J Twersky,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They must be SO understaffed, and so slow to attend to phone calls. I was on hold for one and a half hours to speak to a representative. Not everything can be dealt with using their online service request.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poorly rated contractors

    • By Vonda,
    • Richmond, VA,
    • Jan 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First day of the new year, upon my return home I noticed water damage on my ceiling from a frozen HVAC. I called American Home Shield (AHS) because I have coverage with them. They send out ATR. The negative reviews outweighed the positive reviews, but I read that you can't say who you want or don't want when in contract.

    ATR came for the appointment. Nice techs, however, was not able to fix the issue. Left quite briefly. I've been trying to contact their office directly, and no one answers. I left a message. I called 5 more times. Someone picked up and said something in a different language, and then there was silence.

    I want to know why AHS would send someone out that has a D+ rating. I have spent give or take 6 hours on hold for a rep at AHS today. Two hours this morning and the rep picks up, and then the phone hangs up. One and a half hours midday, then I had to hang up because I am employed. I call again after an hour on hold, and the rep's computer is down (just hers). I'm on hold again for another hour. What the heck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fridge and dishwasher broken for two months without repair!

    Overall Experience:

    The first year was GREAT. The second year I hardly called. This year has been a NIGHTMARE! My fridge has been working but broken for OVER TWO MONTHS. A diagnosis was made, and it seems Amercian Home Shield would not pay them, so they got me a second, and now a third company is next, BUT none assigned. The fridge is on the verge of shutting down. The airplane-like noise has stopped, which likely means the fan is now broken. There is ice on the back wall, and the temp is often low, and food has to be thrown out. I have NO idea if this will EVER be fixed! I will contact the media next.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dishwasher

    Overall Experience:

    Horrible service. My dishwasher is broken for two months and no signs of getting this repaired soon. Not sure what they are doing. They come, inspect, order a part, which arrives after a week, and within 10 days the dishwasher stops working. We had to cancel our Thanksgiving party and now are suffering during Christmas.

    The worst part is while the technicians were working, they flooded my entire wooden flooring. We all rushed to clean up the floor as quickly as possible, but I see that flooring is cracking up. When I called customer service, they say they have no idea when the parts arrive, and they do not take any responsibility for secondary damage.

    I advise everyone not to become a victim of this horrible company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refrigerator

    • By Anne Cerone,
    • Easton, PA,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Refrigerator broke. Their repairman told me he cannot get parts. American Home Shield said they will replace or reimburse for the refrigerator. They offered me a refrigerator that was too tall for my kitchen. Then I was advised to buy one and they would reimburse me up to $1100. It has been over two months. A runaround story about a check that does not arrive. Lousey liars company.

    NEVER EVER use them! You will be sorry if you do! The company needs to be closed down. Wait time on the phone is 90 minutes too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run away! Worst company ever.

    • By Josh,
    • Metairie, LA,
    • Dec 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has been over 3 months, and I'm still sitting here with a broken refrigerator.

    They are impossible to get on the phone, over 60 minutes is typical. Even when you get them on the phone, they can do nothing to help you. Once you pay the $75 fee, you are at the whim of the bottom of the barrel contractors. The service techs have NO idea how to troubleshoot anything, in fact, they don't even try.

    I will never ever give my money to this company again, and if I can save anyone else the headache, please listen to my review and all the others. American Home Shield is worthless, and you will be much better off dealing with a reputable contractor that you hire yourself. This warranty offers zero value!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Abysmal customer service

    • By J S,
    • My Pleasant, SC,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The reviews here are spot on. Repairs average 6-8 weeks. Each time I call American Home Shield (AHS) customer service, it’s a 60-90 minute hold time. Once I finally get a representative on the phone, all they can do is put me on another hold while they attempt to contact the contractor. When the contractor doesn’t answer, which is a frequent occurrence, AHS is unable to update me on the repair status. AHS takes the service request, forwards it to the contractor and doesn’t follow up or advocate for their customer. The contractors are permitted to accomplish the repair completely at their convenience without being held to a reasonable timeline.

    I’m writing this review while on hold, currently at 75 minutes, just to get a status update. My washer has been broken for 62 days and I was told parts were ordered 30 days ago. Completely unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a joke!

    • By David R,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If anybody is thinking about getting this company to ensure their home, run far away. Their technicians are a joke and they only put bandaids on for temporary fixes. You can never get ahold of these people when you call them, and it’s just one excuse after another. They only want your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • One of the worst companies I have ever dealt with

    • By Mike Ringer,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These poor reviews are right on. I am usually on hold with them for over an hour and frequently get disconnected. My refrigerator took over 4 months to get repaired, and when I wanted to change repairmen to get one who knew what he was doing, I was told it would be another separate service charge of $75. They are one of the worst companies I have ever dealt with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 433-459 of 546

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield