• 534 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 94%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Worst service!

    • By Kari Ardalan,
    • Washington DC,
    • Sep 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The worst company ever to deal with. I waited on hold over an hour to discuss my account for the second time. I decided to cancel since their service is terrible and despite saying you can cancel anytime, I was charged $120 to cancel both accounts.

    I will NEVER be returning and will post this everywhere to ensure people know what they are getting into. Longest hold times of any company, poor contractors that come to the house, several times where they charged me double for service visits and having to wait on hold to get those rectified as waiting 90 days to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Exceptional service

    Overall Experience:

    I called American Home Shield to request a plumber, and everything went well and they sent out Home Source Corp. from Melvindale, Michigan, and the plumbers were very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. They did an excellent job with the repairs and explained everything in detail. Matt Martin was one of the plumbers that came to my house, and he was totally awesome! I love it when I have service technicians come to my house that are friendly and approachable, and the plumber that was with him was also very approachable and friendly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Impossible to deal with!

    Overall Experience:

    The fact that the people you FINALLY get to talk to after more than 30 minutes on hold are usually polite, courteous and try to be helpful, the FACTS are that fewer and less reliable resources as services are available to us subscribers!

    But most aggravating, I wish their help would contact YOU quickly with follow-up concerns! AND not have to endure multiple 1/2 an hour or more times on hold!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company!

    Overall Experience:

    This warranty came with the house when we bought it. My washer stopped working on August 24th and I opened a work request early on August 25th, and the repairman didn't show up until August 29th. The repairman said the part he needed could be bought locally but AHS had to ship the part, so it would be at least a week. On September 8th the repairman installed a new part but found out a different part was needed. The repairman said he again would have to wait on the part from AHS.

    I called AHS the afternoon of September 8th and explained the situation and that I had already spent $60 at the laundry mat. The AHS rep was very friendly and understanding, he said he would call the repair company, expedite the part and see about getting my money back for the laundry mat. Guess what? He never called me back!

    Today, September 12th, I called AHS again (actually had to call several times to finally get through due to long wait times). The rep seemed to not really care and sounded like she was eating while we spoke. The rep said she didn't see a record of me calling on Friday and nothing could be done to speed up the part. I said "So the other rep from Friday blew me off?" but she wouldn't answer. I then told her I wanted to speak with a supervisor and what a surprise, one wasn't available. Supposedly, a supervisor will call me, but I'm not holding my breath.

    If you want a home warranty and you're going to pay for it, do some research, there has to be a better company out there!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst service I've ever had.

    Overall Experience:

    Every single time you call them, it's at least over an hour! I'm literally on hold while I write this. This is the 6th time I've called. We have been trying to get our plumbing fixed for over six months now, and still, not a single person has come to our house. They send you to cheap contractors, and if you contact them, they say they never have a request or don't have time to service you. Don't waste time or money on this ridiculous warranty. Go ANYWHERE else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this company!

    • By Taylor D.,
    • Cleburne, TX,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wouldn't even give this horrible company 1 star. I had an AC company come out, who I have paid my $125 service call fee to them the last two times they came out, and they finally came out to install a new unit for us. A few days after the service I receive an email stating that I was not supposed to pay the service company and that they will be charging my card. I was never told not to pay the company like I had been and they charged my card the $125 service call fee. I got in touch with an agent who told me she would process a credit request for my account and that I should see the credit in seven days, that was the best she could do for me apparently.

    A week goes by, and I never received a credit. I got in touch with an agent who told me she did not see a credit on my account and that it only takes three business days for a credit to show up and that I should have received it by now. She puts me on hold to get in touch with the agent to see how she processed my credit and to make sure she did not. After waiting 30 minutes on hold, I was told she got in touch with the agent that helped me previously and that the request was processed and that I should be receiving it either later that day or tomorrow morning. She also told me she would follow up with me in the morning to make sure I received my credit back on my card.

    The next day comes, and I never receive my credit or a phone call. I call that evening to speak to a lady that I demanded to speak to a supervisor. She transfers me to what sounds like the exact same lady and tells me she is the account manager. I tell her my story and she then informs me credits take 15-20 business days (this is the third new lie I have been told now!), but that she didn't even see a credit even in processing status on my account because no one has reached out to the AC company to verify that I paid them in cash! She put me on hold to call the AC company (even though it was 8 pm at night and no one was going to be in their office). She told me she left them a voicemail to contact her back to get this issue resolved and that she would also email them. She told me she would also follow up with me in the morning to verify everything. I also got her name and number in case I did not hear from her.

    The next day comes and I still never hear from anyone, and no credit has been issued on my account. I call the number that was supposedly was this agent's direct line only to be directed to a completely different agent's voicemail. I call the AC company who tell me they have been having issues with American Home Shield and their owner had already been on the line with them very upset. She told me she would call me back shortly after she looked up my invoice to verify that I paid them cash so we could go from there. She also told me she never received a voicemail from American Home Shield regarding my situation. (lie number five!).

    30 minutes go by, and the AC company calls me back to tell me they will be issuing me a check to take care of my issue because they did not want to deal with American Home Shield anymore. I told them I was very upset with them as well, and I am currently waiting for the AC company to send me a check for $125 service fee they were apparently not supposed to collect from me at the time of service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Held on phone 65 minutes to talk to someone.

    • By Judy Bauman,
    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called for a plumber on Thursday night. I called the company directly. It would be six days before they could be there. I called American Homes Shield and was held for 65 minutes before I got to talk. There were no apologies, nothing. I told them to pay my co-payment. This company does not care for you and does not give customer service. Drop them if you have them. They are too expensive!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse service ever!

    • By Debra Mitman,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company has the worse service of any company I have done business with. I have waited on hold one hour for each time I have called four times now. They tell you to file for service online, however, you cannot for certain things as they are not available online. So after you wait on hold for over an hour, they schedule a service call. I waited ten days for a callback! Then am still waiting seven more days for the company to show up to do the service, which so far they have not!

    I have called the service company three times only to be told someone was coming out Tuesday, but they have not shown three days in a row. When I called again, they said they don't know why the service tech has not shown up and they can't reach him! Still, I have no service after two weeks and paid $650 for the warranty. Terrible, go elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great contractor, too bad American Home Shield isn't as efficient

    Overall Experience:

    I filed a claim for my oven in May. I have been back and forth with them after the wonderful contractor from HINCO (Matt) completed his initial visit in a very timely manner. AHS closed the request after I refused to accept a lesser replacement. During this time I received a review on what I thought was AHS because that is how the survey was written, but come to find out AHS placed the bad review I gave them onto the CONTRACTOR.

    LET ME STATE, the review I left for AHS was NOT for HINCO. I have called AHS to have the negative review removed, but was told that the review CANNOT be deleted. Shame on you AHS! Meanwhile, the wonderful contractor from HINCO is here trying his best to repair my oven regardless of the bad review he believed I gave him! AHS has absurdly long telephone wait times, making it nearly impossible to complete a claim efficiently. I am thankful for Matt at HINCO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very poor service

    • By Sanya Bunton,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I think I'm being pretty generous to give it one star. This company provided the worst service I've ever received in my life! The wait was three days to fix a central A/C unit that goes out regularly. The unit appears to be leaking through the ceiling. In Texas summer heat (with triple digit 100+ temperatures), the wait is excessive, especially with sick people in the home.

    Unfortunately, the problem was never fixed and three days later, the issue is back. I stayed on phone with customer service for well over an hour before line dropped. Thoroughly disappointed and unsatisfied!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use AHS

    Overall Experience:

    Technicians are awful. Also, I called in for a service on a garage door, yet I came to found out that the problem (garage door springs) are not covered. We had to pay the service fee of $125, and a garage door man that came out fix the issue out of pocket. Instead of just the repair. AHS would not waive the service fee. I would not recommend AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your time

    • By Shan B,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As an American Home Shield customer, you should expect to:

    - Be on hold for 45 minutes to an hour regardless of when you call.

    - Never receive a call back when they tell you they will.

    - Receive below quality work from the companies they contract with to repair your appliances.

    - Pay upfront for services you have not received and that sometimes doesn't happen at all.

    - Be given the run around for a week to a month about major issues.

    - Be told about fine print that does not exist in your contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Air Conditioning

    • By Marian McKenna,
    • Miramar Beach, Florida,
    • Aug 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My AC broke down. I called American Home Shield. They dispatched a technician 48 hours later. He arrived at the house and said he would need to come back later that afternoon. I made an appointment with him. He canceled this to the next day. Then he canceled to the following day. Each time I tried to call American Home Shield, I was on hold for over an hour.

    The technician did not turn up again. We were now six days without AC in 90-degree weather.

    I called in another company who replaced the system. Needless to say, American Home Shield did not cover any of it. They had all kinds of excuses. This is what they do. If it can't be fixed cheaply, they don't fix it. And you always have to wait days it to get it fixed.

    Their home warranty is a total waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Embarrassing

    • By Alex S.,
    • New York,
    • Aug 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The company's customer service is embarrassing. The waiting time for someone to answer is over 45 minutes. After the conversation with representative nothing is resolved. They still send the same company to try to resolve the issue no matter how many times I will call for the same problem. And there is no access to the supervisors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Will not answer phone or respond

    Overall Experience:

    Our air conditioner broke while covered under an American Home Shield policy. It has been five weeks, and it is not fixed. Apparently, no one knows where the parts are. I can't say for certain because American Home Shield just puts us on hold, drops the phone call or promises to call back and then doesn't.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful service

    Overall Experience:

    I reported that my nearly new front loading washer was no longer rotating. At first, all was well and I was scheduled immediately with a contractor. But this is also when the problems began. This particular contractor had come to repair my refrigerator over a year ago. They had me unplug the unit to defrost the freezer. The technician merely replied the unit but claimed he had performed a repair. I requested a detailed invoice of the work performed but never received one after both the contractor and American Home Shield gave me the runaround. When the unit failed shortly thereafter, American Home Shield wanted another deductible even though it was never repaired the first time.

    Now, they are dispatching the same horrid company. The first appointment? A no-call/no-show. I attempted to call the appliance company but could only leave messages for days. American Home Shield even attempted but could not reach them. American Home Shield sent them an email notice, and I had to wait 24-48 hours to allow a "fair" amount of time for them to call. 72 hours later, the contractor dispatch said he has had these complaints before and apologized and set-up another appointment. This tech came, and in less than 20 minutes after arrival determined he needed a second opinion but was sure it was the bearings.

    He left, and now the waiting begins again, no call to schedule. Finally, after asking American Home Shield to intervene again, the seasoned tech comes and in minutes without any mechanical observation tells us the two-year-old unit is irreparable and no parts are available, so American Home Shield will contact us about a replacement.

    Days later, with no contact from American Home Shield, I call AGAIN, and now get a report that the contractor ran diagnostics, and due to customer overload, the machine has been damaged, therefore making me ineligible for repair or replacement. What?! When the new front loaders sense that the load is heavy, like too many towels, it alarms, you unload it, and then the machine carries on. I have owned front loaders for over a decade, and I'm well versed on loading the machine.

    So this incompetent company submits this ridiculous report and when I request a second opinion, now they sending Sears! Sears? Sears was an option, but they sent incompetent creeps to my house when I requested they not return? The matter is not resolved, and I will now wait another six days to get an answer. This process is horrible. I highly recommend you get the extended warranty from the individual appliance vendor or manufacturer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No wonder they get sued

    Overall Experience:

    They refused to cover my AC because of a dent in the exterior of the unit. Their technician wrote up that the dent had nothing to do with the AC not working, it just died of old age. I have been without AC for two years as a result.

    With my dishwasher, they sent four (he's five) technicians out in five separate visits to repair my Bosch dishwasher. The fifth repaired it. Approximately one month later it stopped working. They sent a sixth different repairman. Number five didn't mount an electric panel properly. They charged me another $100 for number six to fix number five's mistakes.

    Regarding my washer and dryer, I paid a $100.00 deductible in advance for the washer and dryer to be looked at. They sent a second technician out the day after the first tech came out. He wrote up the washer to be replaced. The dryer started working on its own. They replaced the washer. The dryer just stopped working today less than two weeks since tech number two's visit. They want another $100.00 deductible.

    So, I guess there is a new policy or amendment to my contract I didn't sign off on where if they send three or four or ten techs to get multiple opinions on your appliance, you pay $100.00 per visit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No repair, multiple visits, double charge, still not fixed

    Overall Experience:

    Ovens weren't working, and with Google's help, I diagnosed a bad board, called American Home Shield (AHS) to report the problem and gave them the model and serial number so they could order the part.

    The first tech shows up, takes the check and says "it's your electrical box." The second tech is the electrician, checks it out, says "no, it's the oven." The third tech has a look, says "it's the board, I need to order it." Okay, it took three visits to get to where we were on my first phone call. Through text and email, we set up visits to do the install. Two missed appointments so far, hoping the third one will work out. I work full time, this is getting annoying. Oven still not fixed.

    And the kicker is that they are sending daily emails and letters saying my account is delinquent, aggressive letters and emails. This is because I haven't paid each time another one of their incompetent techs visits and does nothing, or misses the appointment altogether? I did manage to call their 800 number one time, and a very nice lady said she'd take care of it. But obviously, she didn't.

    No way to talk to anybody since, because wait times are always "over 30 minutes," I'm not even trying. I can't log on because my password doesn't work anymore (or I forgot it), but they don't send password reset emails and I'm guessing I will never get into the account. Probably no great loss anyhow because given their track record I doubt anybody looks at anything there either.

    So, terrible customer service, terrible technicians, and terrible website. Do not use this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely Far From Satisfactory Service

    • By James,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Aug 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Copy & paste the link below to view my complaint against American Home Shield to the Better Business Bureau. Although, it was resolved after seven months of going back and forth on my own and five months of help from the BBB, you will see the cat and mouse game that American Home Shield played for a year, ridiculous! I thought this transaction between myself, the BBB and American Home Shield should be in the forefront instead of being buried in the pages of the BBB to afford consumers the opportunity to make decisions. Hope this helps someone.

    https://memphis.app.bbb.org/complaint/view/40130858/c/y7443h

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use these people

    • By Sheri Curtin,
    • Bethlehem, PA,
    • Aug 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On May 26, 2017, our upstairs air conditioning unit failed. We called, and they set up a service provider. They recharged it, and it lasted for three days. We called back they came out four days later and looked at it, and they determined that the upstairs air handler and the downstairs compressor were both unfixable and needed to be replaced.

    American Home Shield argued and told us that our out-of-pocket would be $2800 to replace the condenser, which they were not covering. We went back-and-forth. I finally paid an independent service technician to come out and diagnose the entire system, who also agree that both the air handler and the condenser needed to be replaced. On June 10th we were told by American Home Shield that they approve the condenser, but our air handler was now not approved, which had previously been approved to be replaced.

    After approximately six hours on hold and talking with people at American Home Shield in one department to another who didn't know what one division said or had agreed to, we were told that we would be receiving a new unit both upstairs and downstairs for replacement on July 18th, undulating a Payne condenser and air handler delivered and installed. After 12 hours of installation, the contractor installing the units had to come to me and tell me that the downstairs outside condenser unit did not work at all. I immediately called American Home Shield and explain the situation, and they were kind enough to tell me that it was no longer their problem, that it was a manufacturing issue, at which point I explained to them that they had not yet filled their contractual obligation to provide me with a working unit, and that unit turned on and produced air. It was still their issue and their responsibility. The customer service rep refused to discuss this with me, and in turn, the installer went to the distributor the next day and explained the situation and returned with a Lenix condenser on July 21st. The condenser was turned on and it worked only to find out that the upstairs air handler did not operate, and this was not evident until we can get the condenser to work.

    I posted on Twitter of how absolutely disgusted I was and was tired of being on hold from anywhere between 59 and 83 minutes before I could talk to somebody who couldn't do anything but tell me that they would escalate this or get me a return call, which I never heard from anyone until I put something on social media then they wanted to smooth my feathers.

    I've had two service calls now trying to get this thing to work. I finally had to call an independent contractor, which was Lowry Services, which I cannot say enough nice things about. A prompt and immediate response, and they do the work they say they're going to do right then and there. That service call cost me $1100 to wire the upstairs air handler correctly because installers managed to put the air handler on the 110 circuit instead of the 220 is required to run on.

    Daryl from customer service and the media supervisor from American Home Shield calls me and now wants to do a second opinion. I've had second opinions, I've had 3rd opinions, and fourth opinions, and we have been going on with this since May 26th. My upstairs temperature during all this has been 93° and when I explain to these people that I have people coming and one of these people is on oxygen and cannot be in 93° temperatures and 90% humidity, they informed me that did not constitute a medical emergency to try to expedite this.

    Since May 26th I have been on the phone, documented for 14+ hours with American Home Shield or the supplier trying to get this resolved. I lost 12 hours of billable time, and I have had no air conditioning upstairs in my house from May 26th through July 27th. I have been unable to utilize my office for work, which is upstairs.

    My last conversation with American Home Shield was anything but pleasant, and my last statement was "see you in court." I have every intention of suing them for what I am out of pocket, and the time, energy and effort that I have had to spend to get them to abide by their own contract. Secondly, I would like to point out that they say comparable equipment replacing a Rheem air-conditioning system with a Payne air-conditioning system, which has one of the most horrific customer service reviews of failure rates and not comparable equipment.

    They also say that they will repair or have diagnostics done within 24 to 48 hours and wants the issue diagnosed, and they should have service and repair within 24 to 48 hours, and this was not the case. We have been a customer with them since June 2005 because this warranty came when we bought the house.

    From here on forward, I will tell you that if anybody asks, I will tell them first and foremost, do not use American Home Shield. Save your money and go to somebody who is reputable and actually cares about your business and will and takes care of you the way that they promised they will. And someone who when they say they will provide you with comparable service and comparable equipment will actually do so, instead of trying to get away with the lowest form of product that they can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They sell contracts well, terrible customer service

    Overall Experience:

    These people have their website all set up to sell you a contract and request a service call. That is where it ends! Their repair people are terrible. Many times have to be re-repaired. Customer Service wait time is over an hour with each call.

    They do not have enough people to service the contracts they sell! If you don't believe me, go read the posts on their Facebook page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible from start to (not) finished

    • By Valerie Rozek,
    • Chesterbrook, PA,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Where do I start? Let's just say that I called American Home Shield (AHS) on July 3rd to report that my wash machine was not working. Today is July 26th and still no washing machine.

    I'm a renter and at the mercy of this awful company that my landlord chose to avoid the responsibility of setting up service calls and maintaining his property. I've had two different service technicians look at the washer. The first one looked inside and took pictures. The second one actually did something. Now they tell me a washer has to be ordered from the manufacturer and will take another seven to ten days. All this on top of waiting on hold 20 minutes each time I call into this awful company.

    I could have ordered online from Home Depot and had it delivered and installed three weeks ago. But, because I'm a renter and have to use the company the landlord set up, I'm still waiting! The second technician was great-from Longlane Home Services. He's the only person who actually had some answers and so far, has done anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Over one hour waiting with only machine automated services

    Overall Experience:

    The repair service is okay, but the waiting time to speak with someone about an issue is up to one hour or more. Yes, you will be on hold for over an hour for help. My fairly new A/C went out after two weeks from the precious repair (leaking Schrader valve). All the service request is automated, and there's no human interaction.

    The recent automation has someone coming in two days. I have two babies, and the house is 85 degrees. I can't simply talk to a person to request another A/C company. There's no place to email anyone and the only people to pick up the phone are in sales. They nicely tell you they can only help sell policies. If you like talking to automated machines and problem-solving for days, with no human to explain the logic, this is your warranty. I feel subhuman. Get a local company quicker.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst service I have ever had

    • By Sadie Mckee,
    • California,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had this company for over ten years and when I think about the money I have spent it makes me ill. I have a dishwasher that I have had so many calls on that I could have a bought five dishwashers.

    Every time I call I am on hold forever, and then I get the runaround. It's not working again and a manager was supposed to call, and I have not heard a word. I would not ever recommend this company to anyone again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A deceptive company. Go local.

    • By David Ruben,
    • Weston, FL,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have had two houses covered by American Home Shield (AHS), and we canceled one house as they took nearly a month to replace a clothes dryer, and we eventually went and bought a new one locally which seems to be what many people do out of frustration, which is deceptive.

    Our AC unit compressor needed to be replaced and significant time in a hot house waiting for them to deliver a replacement compressor is infuriating, which only supports their deceptive practices. Had we used a local HVAC company they would have replaced the compressor within 24 hours.

    The concept of a warranty is only just that while in actuality it's a deceptive company and should be prosecuted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The absolute worst company on the planet

    • By Craig Taylor,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the misfortune of signing up with AHS (American Home Shield). They are the most inept and apathetic bunch of tards ever. The customer service reps are cretins and semi literate morons who can barely speak. When you call in for a service appointment, be prepared to wait 30 minutes on hold.

    Also, most important, this sham of a company has only one loser/contractor in an area. So the losers/contractors who do work for AHS are always booked for weeks ahead.

    I could go on for an hour but trust me, don't sign up. You've been warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Consumer beware!

    Overall Experience:

    Consumer beware. They do not value their customers and have some of the worst customer service policies, including 90-minute hold times, constant rerouting of the call, no response to other contact methods, no explanation for what services and coverage details. This company has so many contract loopholes. When they say they cover all components, that is often not the case. Make sure to look at the G1 section of your contract, it allows them to pick and chose what they will cover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 460-486 of 534

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield