• 546 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Never use this company!

    Overall Experience:

    Let me start out by saying that I had a home warranty on all our home appliances. I went through the home warranty company (which I would not recommend!), and they set up the service with this provider.

    The tech came out and I explained that my washer would not go into high spin. I had a high-end front load washer. He told me that he would look at it and told me to go ahead and do what I was doing around the house. Afterwards, he told me to look at the pic that he had taken. He stated that there are two reasons for my motor to be "blown and the wires to be fried." I either had a power surge (which was excluded under the warranty), or I overloaded my washer. I told him that I had this washer for over 7 years and that I knew how to load my washer.

    Well, after about 6 hours, I received a call from the warranty company. They told me that the tech, who was at my home, told them that "when he arrived at my house, my washer was overfilled with clothes" and therefore this is "abuse" and it isn't covered under my warranty.

    First off, I did NOT have any clothes in the washer when he came to my home. Secondly, he NEVER checked the bearings on the washer, which will cause a motor to burn up. He just showed me these pictures and said: "this wire is supposed to be here, this wire is supposed to there and the ground wire is on the floor." He again told me that the only two things that would cause this is a power surge or I overfilled my washer.

    Since the warranty company denied the claim as "abuse" and the power surge was excluded under the policy, I guess the tech and the business knew what was going to be excluded. The warranty company told me that I could not have my own tech come out for a second opinion. I had to use their "network" tech to do the second opinion.

    Needless to say, I canceled the home warranty, and I will not do business with this repair shop again as they lied about the repair. I would not recommend this shop, nor would I recommend a home warranty company. They find ways to get out of the warranty, and their "network" service people know that as well!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Longer than usual to answer

    Overall Experience:

    On 11/07/2017, a technician for AC unit came to my home to do a job on my AC unit because the heating element was not working. After working for almost 2 hours, I find out that the heating strip for this unit was corroded due the climate effects in Florida and the very little use we have for it. But now we are anticipating this coming winter, and this element is not working.

    I have spent one hour yesterday and one hour today for somebody to pick up the line and be able to discuss this problem, however, when I dialed the number to get a new contract before I finish with the last word, I have someone on the phone trying to sell me one contract from Home Shield. This means they have quick service for a new contract and a terrible waiting time when there is a claim. Very unfair for a paying customer with a problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lousy diagnosis explanations

    Overall Experience:

    I have had multiple non-repair charges for normal or improper installations. Also noisy AC two different situations. One deemed normal or may not be repaired due to inherent product normal noise and insufficient ducting for a multi-stage fan, as determined by there technician, then provided with a $2300 estimate from same non-repairing AC company to install an AC duct?

    I have been called three times to renew and asked for service to call me, but got no call back. I am currently on the phone on hold, stated that it may be one hour? I'm at 29:35 so far and started a chat two times only to have no one available or being timed out as they lose internet service. You cannot get a hold of anyone unless service is requested and paid for $75, or you try and purchase or renew. I just want to talk to a supervisor and get my issues attended to by a different contractor.

    They have actually repaired under the warranty one of five items requested so far, and my contract will expire in 23 days. Of course, they will call again next week to renew, and I will tell them I need a customer service agent and never get a call as they are not the same division or cannot transfer me. You cannot email, chat or get anyone on the phone. I have now been holding for 35 minutes and live chat still not working (contract #203763122). And they quoted a much higher renewal price when asked.

    I will happily change this review if ever contacted. I resorted to this as a final opportunity to talk to a live representative.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad service, rip off company

    Overall Experience:

    They charge you every month. When you call for service, they charge for a service call even before the technician come out.

    Twice the Tec came and never did anything. They said that they would return to do the repairs. They never showed up. Over a month now.

    American Home Shield says I have to pay another $75 for service if they are going to send a different tech to look at the refrigerator and the toilet.

    I call and was on hold for over an hour, trying to talk to a real person.

    VERY UNFAIR COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst service ever

    • By Lori Novak,
    • California,
    • Nov 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hold times are for over one hour. This is my third time calling to try to find out why my plumber wants to install two different faucets on the same vanity and charge me if I want him to make them match. Also, waiting on the pool repair for a heater that according to them cannot be fixed but I still have not heard what the warranty will cover or not.

    I think they are running a scam and I will continue to report their suspicious business to other reporting agencies. And yes, I am writing this while I am still on hold.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scammers

    • By Sandy Adams,
    • Richmond, KY,
    • Nov 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield loves your money but gave excuse, after excuse, after excuse when it came to fixing my dishwasher. Their repairman was always going to get ahold of us but never did, not by phone and not by email. Time after time. Lies, lies, and more lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Runaround with AHS

    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield Home Warranty, DON’T waste your time and money!

    I’ve been a customer for 4 years with no claims. On September 20th I filed a claim because my refrigerator was not cooling or freezing. Standard is they hire someone to come out and service. That contractor has 24 hours to contact you and set the appointment.

    Contractor’s first availability was the following week, they diagnosed it, and they needed to order a part. The following week’s scheduled appointment deemed the part defective and had to reorder. I asked THEN for a 2nd opinion, and AHS said it would be out of pocket. The following week the part came in and once again had to get on a schedule for repair. That part also didn't work, and after 3 hours of further diagnosis, AHS now wants a 2nd opinion. This is after 3 individuals have been to my home and diagnosed the problem, and said refrigerator needed to be replaced.

    In the background over the past 5 weeks (now starting my 6th), I have been trying to communicate with AHS. They have a 1.5 hour hold time PER call and PER person you need to speak to. So, if you need customer service and they need to transfer you, expect a 3-4 hour call minimum.

    DO NOT ask for a supervisor, you’ll be told they are unavailable and you will be called back in 72 hours, and that call never comes. DO NOT request them to listen to the recorded calls to support your inquiries; they won’t.

    I have been told they are “a service repair company” not an insurance. There is nothing they can do to expedite service calls, customer service conveniently disconnects with the request for a supervisor. They promised my deductible would be waived but still charged my credit card.

    Escalations promised I qualified for cash in lieu only to have another rep tell me that person didn't have the authority to do such. Customer service supervisor told me the fridge could be replaced only to be told a week later that the supervisor didn't know what she was saying. Consistently being told promises, making me believe they are helping me to only document untrue statements to CYA of the extreme opposite in their notes.

    I have taken 3 days off of work to accommodate their repair people. I have been eating out for the past 6 weeks. By now I could have bought a new fridge and be money ahead! Instead, I’m still waiting…on endless hold...for no answers.

    The WORST customer service. They make it as difficult as possible to get the coverage you've paid for and will not put the customer first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t waste your money

    Overall Experience:

    If you're like me, you don’t have time to read another story about how this company is a crock. I’ll just say I’ve been without a fridge for six weeks now because this company absolutely sucks. Just don’t.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a ripoff

    Overall Experience:

    I have had a home warranty with American Home Shield (AHS) for 10 years. The main reason I have the warranty was to cover my air conditioner. I have struggled for four weeks with this company, waiting over one hour on the phone several times only to have to tell my story again and again.

    The A/C started leaking into the house, and then it quit completely. AHS sent substandard contractors who did not repair anything and lied about what needed to be done to AHS. Two reputable contractors said the unit needed to be replaced as it was severely corroded after sitting atop a roof in super hot Phoenix, Arizona for 36 years. AHS wanted to pay me $300 to replace a pan when it costs $4300 to replace the unit.

    I finally had to go ahead and pay for it myself. I pay almost $70 a month and have had it for 10 years. It is a useless "warranty." They do not follow up on my calls and have repeatedly ignored me and my pleas for help. They are a completely disreputable company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They avoid doing repairs at all costs

    • By Pebob b Baba,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a sham company. They will make up any excuse not to make valid repairs. Save yourself some money and just hire legit repair companies when you need repairs rather than invest money each year on a warranty company that charges you service visit fees but makes up any excuse imaginable to avoid spending money on replacement parts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible and corrupt

    Overall Experience:

    Never use American Home Shield!

    Once again, I have to pull up my contract and read to them the clause that shows I am covered! Every time I use AHS, it is a fight to get them to cover what the contract says they should cover. I have multiple contracts, and I have many properties. I have two other home warranty companies Choice Home Warranty and America's 1st Choice Home Warranty, and I never have this problem with either of these companies.

    Also, when the tech that AHS finally shows up (which is never when it is originally scheduled), they always claim that the repair isn't covered and will require me to pay an exorbitant amount of money. Yet when I refuse and request they send a second tech from a different company, it is approved by this tech, and I am told the first tech was lying!

    But don't take my word for it; on BBB they have 956 bad reviews out of 958 total reviews and 9223 BBB complaints!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst!

    • By Allison,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had 12 techs out to my home, and no one is able to find the source of my ice maker malfunction. They keep replacing the same parts over and over. When I call American Home Shield, they say they have to send someone else out. Don't they think that after 5 months there is a trend that maybe the unit isn't repairable?

    Also, 80 minutes on hold to talk to someone and then they are rude every time. And no supervisors will get on the phone to discuss your issues. Shameful! Frustrating! Train your people in empathy, critical thinking, and problem solving!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst service!

    • By Kari Ardalan,
    • Washington DC,
    • Sep 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The worst company ever to deal with. I waited on hold over an hour to discuss my account for the second time. I decided to cancel since their service is terrible and despite saying you can cancel anytime, I was charged $120 to cancel both accounts.

    I will NEVER be returning and will post this everywhere to ensure people know what they are getting into. Longest hold times of any company, poor contractors that come to the house, several times where they charged me double for service visits and having to wait on hold to get those rectified as waiting 90 days to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Exceptional service

    Overall Experience:

    I called American Home Shield to request a plumber, and everything went well and they sent out Home Source Corp. from Melvindale, Michigan, and the plumbers were very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. They did an excellent job with the repairs and explained everything in detail. Matt Martin was one of the plumbers that came to my house, and he was totally awesome! I love it when I have service technicians come to my house that are friendly and approachable, and the plumber that was with him was also very approachable and friendly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Impossible to deal with!

    Overall Experience:

    The fact that the people you FINALLY get to talk to after more than 30 minutes on hold are usually polite, courteous and try to be helpful, the FACTS are that fewer and less reliable resources as services are available to us subscribers!

    But most aggravating, I wish their help would contact YOU quickly with follow-up concerns! AND not have to endure multiple 1/2 an hour or more times on hold!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company!

    Overall Experience:

    This warranty came with the house when we bought it. My washer stopped working on August 24th and I opened a work request early on August 25th, and the repairman didn't show up until August 29th. The repairman said the part he needed could be bought locally but AHS had to ship the part, so it would be at least a week. On September 8th the repairman installed a new part but found out a different part was needed. The repairman said he again would have to wait on the part from AHS.

    I called AHS the afternoon of September 8th and explained the situation and that I had already spent $60 at the laundry mat. The AHS rep was very friendly and understanding, he said he would call the repair company, expedite the part and see about getting my money back for the laundry mat. Guess what? He never called me back!

    Today, September 12th, I called AHS again (actually had to call several times to finally get through due to long wait times). The rep seemed to not really care and sounded like she was eating while we spoke. The rep said she didn't see a record of me calling on Friday and nothing could be done to speed up the part. I said "So the other rep from Friday blew me off?" but she wouldn't answer. I then told her I wanted to speak with a supervisor and what a surprise, one wasn't available. Supposedly, a supervisor will call me, but I'm not holding my breath.

    If you want a home warranty and you're going to pay for it, do some research, there has to be a better company out there!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst service I've ever had.

    Overall Experience:

    Every single time you call them, it's at least over an hour! I'm literally on hold while I write this. This is the 6th time I've called. We have been trying to get our plumbing fixed for over six months now, and still, not a single person has come to our house. They send you to cheap contractors, and if you contact them, they say they never have a request or don't have time to service you. Don't waste time or money on this ridiculous warranty. Go ANYWHERE else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this company!

    • By Taylor D.,
    • Cleburne, TX,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wouldn't even give this horrible company 1 star. I had an AC company come out, who I have paid my $125 service call fee to them the last two times they came out, and they finally came out to install a new unit for us. A few days after the service I receive an email stating that I was not supposed to pay the service company and that they will be charging my card. I was never told not to pay the company like I had been and they charged my card the $125 service call fee. I got in touch with an agent who told me she would process a credit request for my account and that I should see the credit in seven days, that was the best she could do for me apparently.

    A week goes by, and I never received a credit. I got in touch with an agent who told me she did not see a credit on my account and that it only takes three business days for a credit to show up and that I should have received it by now. She puts me on hold to get in touch with the agent to see how she processed my credit and to make sure she did not. After waiting 30 minutes on hold, I was told she got in touch with the agent that helped me previously and that the request was processed and that I should be receiving it either later that day or tomorrow morning. She also told me she would follow up with me in the morning to make sure I received my credit back on my card.

    The next day comes, and I never receive my credit or a phone call. I call that evening to speak to a lady that I demanded to speak to a supervisor. She transfers me to what sounds like the exact same lady and tells me she is the account manager. I tell her my story and she then informs me credits take 15-20 business days (this is the third new lie I have been told now!), but that she didn't even see a credit even in processing status on my account because no one has reached out to the AC company to verify that I paid them in cash! She put me on hold to call the AC company (even though it was 8 pm at night and no one was going to be in their office). She told me she left them a voicemail to contact her back to get this issue resolved and that she would also email them. She told me she would also follow up with me in the morning to verify everything. I also got her name and number in case I did not hear from her.

    The next day comes and I still never hear from anyone, and no credit has been issued on my account. I call the number that was supposedly was this agent's direct line only to be directed to a completely different agent's voicemail. I call the AC company who tell me they have been having issues with American Home Shield and their owner had already been on the line with them very upset. She told me she would call me back shortly after she looked up my invoice to verify that I paid them cash so we could go from there. She also told me she never received a voicemail from American Home Shield regarding my situation. (lie number five!).

    30 minutes go by, and the AC company calls me back to tell me they will be issuing me a check to take care of my issue because they did not want to deal with American Home Shield anymore. I told them I was very upset with them as well, and I am currently waiting for the AC company to send me a check for $125 service fee they were apparently not supposed to collect from me at the time of service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Held on phone 65 minutes to talk to someone.

    • By Judy Bauman,
    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called for a plumber on Thursday night. I called the company directly. It would be six days before they could be there. I called American Homes Shield and was held for 65 minutes before I got to talk. There were no apologies, nothing. I told them to pay my co-payment. This company does not care for you and does not give customer service. Drop them if you have them. They are too expensive!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse service ever!

    • By Debra Mitman,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company has the worse service of any company I have done business with. I have waited on hold one hour for each time I have called four times now. They tell you to file for service online, however, you cannot for certain things as they are not available online. So after you wait on hold for over an hour, they schedule a service call. I waited ten days for a callback! Then am still waiting seven more days for the company to show up to do the service, which so far they have not!

    I have called the service company three times only to be told someone was coming out Tuesday, but they have not shown three days in a row. When I called again, they said they don't know why the service tech has not shown up and they can't reach him! Still, I have no service after two weeks and paid $650 for the warranty. Terrible, go elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great contractor, too bad American Home Shield isn't as efficient

    Overall Experience:

    I filed a claim for my oven in May. I have been back and forth with them after the wonderful contractor from HINCO (Matt) completed his initial visit in a very timely manner. AHS closed the request after I refused to accept a lesser replacement. During this time I received a review on what I thought was AHS because that is how the survey was written, but come to find out AHS placed the bad review I gave them onto the CONTRACTOR.

    LET ME STATE, the review I left for AHS was NOT for HINCO. I have called AHS to have the negative review removed, but was told that the review CANNOT be deleted. Shame on you AHS! Meanwhile, the wonderful contractor from HINCO is here trying his best to repair my oven regardless of the bad review he believed I gave him! AHS has absurdly long telephone wait times, making it nearly impossible to complete a claim efficiently. I am thankful for Matt at HINCO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very poor service

    • By Sanya Bunton,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I think I'm being pretty generous to give it one star. This company provided the worst service I've ever received in my life! The wait was three days to fix a central A/C unit that goes out regularly. The unit appears to be leaking through the ceiling. In Texas summer heat (with triple digit 100+ temperatures), the wait is excessive, especially with sick people in the home.

    Unfortunately, the problem was never fixed and three days later, the issue is back. I stayed on phone with customer service for well over an hour before line dropped. Thoroughly disappointed and unsatisfied!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use AHS

    Overall Experience:

    Technicians are awful. Also, I called in for a service on a garage door, yet I came to found out that the problem (garage door springs) are not covered. We had to pay the service fee of $125, and a garage door man that came out fix the issue out of pocket. Instead of just the repair. AHS would not waive the service fee. I would not recommend AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your time

    • By Shan B,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As an American Home Shield customer, you should expect to:

    - Be on hold for 45 minutes to an hour regardless of when you call.

    - Never receive a call back when they tell you they will.

    - Receive below quality work from the companies they contract with to repair your appliances.

    - Pay upfront for services you have not received and that sometimes doesn't happen at all.

    - Be given the run around for a week to a month about major issues.

    - Be told about fine print that does not exist in your contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Air Conditioning

    • By Marian McKenna,
    • Miramar Beach, Florida,
    • Aug 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My AC broke down. I called American Home Shield. They dispatched a technician 48 hours later. He arrived at the house and said he would need to come back later that afternoon. I made an appointment with him. He canceled this to the next day. Then he canceled to the following day. Each time I tried to call American Home Shield, I was on hold for over an hour.

    The technician did not turn up again. We were now six days without AC in 90-degree weather.

    I called in another company who replaced the system. Needless to say, American Home Shield did not cover any of it. They had all kinds of excuses. This is what they do. If it can't be fixed cheaply, they don't fix it. And you always have to wait days it to get it fixed.

    Their home warranty is a total waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Embarrassing

    • By Alex S.,
    • New York,
    • Aug 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The company's customer service is embarrassing. The waiting time for someone to answer is over 45 minutes. After the conversation with representative nothing is resolved. They still send the same company to try to resolve the issue no matter how many times I will call for the same problem. And there is no access to the supervisors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Will not answer phone or respond

    Overall Experience:

    Our air conditioner broke while covered under an American Home Shield policy. It has been five weeks, and it is not fixed. Apparently, no one knows where the parts are. I can't say for certain because American Home Shield just puts us on hold, drops the phone call or promises to call back and then doesn't.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 460-486 of 546

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield