• 546 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Awful service

    Overall Experience:

    I reported that my nearly new front loading washer was no longer rotating. At first, all was well and I was scheduled immediately with a contractor. But this is also when the problems began. This particular contractor had come to repair my refrigerator over a year ago. They had me unplug the unit to defrost the freezer. The technician merely replied the unit but claimed he had performed a repair. I requested a detailed invoice of the work performed but never received one after both the contractor and American Home Shield gave me the runaround. When the unit failed shortly thereafter, American Home Shield wanted another deductible even though it was never repaired the first time.

    Now, they are dispatching the same horrid company. The first appointment? A no-call/no-show. I attempted to call the appliance company but could only leave messages for days. American Home Shield even attempted but could not reach them. American Home Shield sent them an email notice, and I had to wait 24-48 hours to allow a "fair" amount of time for them to call. 72 hours later, the contractor dispatch said he has had these complaints before and apologized and set-up another appointment. This tech came, and in less than 20 minutes after arrival determined he needed a second opinion but was sure it was the bearings.

    He left, and now the waiting begins again, no call to schedule. Finally, after asking American Home Shield to intervene again, the seasoned tech comes and in minutes without any mechanical observation tells us the two-year-old unit is irreparable and no parts are available, so American Home Shield will contact us about a replacement.

    Days later, with no contact from American Home Shield, I call AGAIN, and now get a report that the contractor ran diagnostics, and due to customer overload, the machine has been damaged, therefore making me ineligible for repair or replacement. What?! When the new front loaders sense that the load is heavy, like too many towels, it alarms, you unload it, and then the machine carries on. I have owned front loaders for over a decade, and I'm well versed on loading the machine.

    So this incompetent company submits this ridiculous report and when I request a second opinion, now they sending Sears! Sears? Sears was an option, but they sent incompetent creeps to my house when I requested they not return? The matter is not resolved, and I will now wait another six days to get an answer. This process is horrible. I highly recommend you get the extended warranty from the individual appliance vendor or manufacturer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No wonder they get sued

    Overall Experience:

    They refused to cover my AC because of a dent in the exterior of the unit. Their technician wrote up that the dent had nothing to do with the AC not working, it just died of old age. I have been without AC for two years as a result.

    With my dishwasher, they sent four (he's five) technicians out in five separate visits to repair my Bosch dishwasher. The fifth repaired it. Approximately one month later it stopped working. They sent a sixth different repairman. Number five didn't mount an electric panel properly. They charged me another $100 for number six to fix number five's mistakes.

    Regarding my washer and dryer, I paid a $100.00 deductible in advance for the washer and dryer to be looked at. They sent a second technician out the day after the first tech came out. He wrote up the washer to be replaced. The dryer started working on its own. They replaced the washer. The dryer just stopped working today less than two weeks since tech number two's visit. They want another $100.00 deductible.

    So, I guess there is a new policy or amendment to my contract I didn't sign off on where if they send three or four or ten techs to get multiple opinions on your appliance, you pay $100.00 per visit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No repair, multiple visits, double charge, still not fixed

    Overall Experience:

    Ovens weren't working, and with Google's help, I diagnosed a bad board, called American Home Shield (AHS) to report the problem and gave them the model and serial number so they could order the part.

    The first tech shows up, takes the check and says "it's your electrical box." The second tech is the electrician, checks it out, says "no, it's the oven." The third tech has a look, says "it's the board, I need to order it." Okay, it took three visits to get to where we were on my first phone call. Through text and email, we set up visits to do the install. Two missed appointments so far, hoping the third one will work out. I work full time, this is getting annoying. Oven still not fixed.

    And the kicker is that they are sending daily emails and letters saying my account is delinquent, aggressive letters and emails. This is because I haven't paid each time another one of their incompetent techs visits and does nothing, or misses the appointment altogether? I did manage to call their 800 number one time, and a very nice lady said she'd take care of it. But obviously, she didn't.

    No way to talk to anybody since, because wait times are always "over 30 minutes," I'm not even trying. I can't log on because my password doesn't work anymore (or I forgot it), but they don't send password reset emails and I'm guessing I will never get into the account. Probably no great loss anyhow because given their track record I doubt anybody looks at anything there either.

    So, terrible customer service, terrible technicians, and terrible website. Do not use this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely Far From Satisfactory Service

    • By James,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Aug 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Copy & paste the link below to view my complaint against American Home Shield to the Better Business Bureau. Although, it was resolved after seven months of going back and forth on my own and five months of help from the BBB, you will see the cat and mouse game that American Home Shield played for a year, ridiculous! I thought this transaction between myself, the BBB and American Home Shield should be in the forefront instead of being buried in the pages of the BBB to afford consumers the opportunity to make decisions. Hope this helps someone.

    https://memphis.app.bbb.org/complaint/view/40130858/c/y7443h

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use these people

    • By Sheri Curtin,
    • Bethlehem, PA,
    • Aug 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On May 26, 2017, our upstairs air conditioning unit failed. We called, and they set up a service provider. They recharged it, and it lasted for three days. We called back they came out four days later and looked at it, and they determined that the upstairs air handler and the downstairs compressor were both unfixable and needed to be replaced.

    American Home Shield argued and told us that our out-of-pocket would be $2800 to replace the condenser, which they were not covering. We went back-and-forth. I finally paid an independent service technician to come out and diagnose the entire system, who also agree that both the air handler and the condenser needed to be replaced. On June 10th we were told by American Home Shield that they approve the condenser, but our air handler was now not approved, which had previously been approved to be replaced.

    After approximately six hours on hold and talking with people at American Home Shield in one department to another who didn't know what one division said or had agreed to, we were told that we would be receiving a new unit both upstairs and downstairs for replacement on July 18th, undulating a Payne condenser and air handler delivered and installed. After 12 hours of installation, the contractor installing the units had to come to me and tell me that the downstairs outside condenser unit did not work at all. I immediately called American Home Shield and explain the situation, and they were kind enough to tell me that it was no longer their problem, that it was a manufacturing issue, at which point I explained to them that they had not yet filled their contractual obligation to provide me with a working unit, and that unit turned on and produced air. It was still their issue and their responsibility. The customer service rep refused to discuss this with me, and in turn, the installer went to the distributor the next day and explained the situation and returned with a Lenix condenser on July 21st. The condenser was turned on and it worked only to find out that the upstairs air handler did not operate, and this was not evident until we can get the condenser to work.

    I posted on Twitter of how absolutely disgusted I was and was tired of being on hold from anywhere between 59 and 83 minutes before I could talk to somebody who couldn't do anything but tell me that they would escalate this or get me a return call, which I never heard from anyone until I put something on social media then they wanted to smooth my feathers.

    I've had two service calls now trying to get this thing to work. I finally had to call an independent contractor, which was Lowry Services, which I cannot say enough nice things about. A prompt and immediate response, and they do the work they say they're going to do right then and there. That service call cost me $1100 to wire the upstairs air handler correctly because installers managed to put the air handler on the 110 circuit instead of the 220 is required to run on.

    Daryl from customer service and the media supervisor from American Home Shield calls me and now wants to do a second opinion. I've had second opinions, I've had 3rd opinions, and fourth opinions, and we have been going on with this since May 26th. My upstairs temperature during all this has been 93° and when I explain to these people that I have people coming and one of these people is on oxygen and cannot be in 93° temperatures and 90% humidity, they informed me that did not constitute a medical emergency to try to expedite this.

    Since May 26th I have been on the phone, documented for 14+ hours with American Home Shield or the supplier trying to get this resolved. I lost 12 hours of billable time, and I have had no air conditioning upstairs in my house from May 26th through July 27th. I have been unable to utilize my office for work, which is upstairs.

    My last conversation with American Home Shield was anything but pleasant, and my last statement was "see you in court." I have every intention of suing them for what I am out of pocket, and the time, energy and effort that I have had to spend to get them to abide by their own contract. Secondly, I would like to point out that they say comparable equipment replacing a Rheem air-conditioning system with a Payne air-conditioning system, which has one of the most horrific customer service reviews of failure rates and not comparable equipment.

    They also say that they will repair or have diagnostics done within 24 to 48 hours and wants the issue diagnosed, and they should have service and repair within 24 to 48 hours, and this was not the case. We have been a customer with them since June 2005 because this warranty came when we bought the house.

    From here on forward, I will tell you that if anybody asks, I will tell them first and foremost, do not use American Home Shield. Save your money and go to somebody who is reputable and actually cares about your business and will and takes care of you the way that they promised they will. And someone who when they say they will provide you with comparable service and comparable equipment will actually do so, instead of trying to get away with the lowest form of product that they can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They sell contracts well, terrible customer service

    Overall Experience:

    These people have their website all set up to sell you a contract and request a service call. That is where it ends! Their repair people are terrible. Many times have to be re-repaired. Customer Service wait time is over an hour with each call.

    They do not have enough people to service the contracts they sell! If you don't believe me, go read the posts on their Facebook page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible from start to (not) finished

    • By Valerie Rozek,
    • Chesterbrook, PA,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Where do I start? Let's just say that I called American Home Shield (AHS) on July 3rd to report that my wash machine was not working. Today is July 26th and still no washing machine.

    I'm a renter and at the mercy of this awful company that my landlord chose to avoid the responsibility of setting up service calls and maintaining his property. I've had two different service technicians look at the washer. The first one looked inside and took pictures. The second one actually did something. Now they tell me a washer has to be ordered from the manufacturer and will take another seven to ten days. All this on top of waiting on hold 20 minutes each time I call into this awful company.

    I could have ordered online from Home Depot and had it delivered and installed three weeks ago. But, because I'm a renter and have to use the company the landlord set up, I'm still waiting! The second technician was great-from Longlane Home Services. He's the only person who actually had some answers and so far, has done anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Over one hour waiting with only machine automated services

    Overall Experience:

    The repair service is okay, but the waiting time to speak with someone about an issue is up to one hour or more. Yes, you will be on hold for over an hour for help. My fairly new A/C went out after two weeks from the precious repair (leaking Schrader valve). All the service request is automated, and there's no human interaction.

    The recent automation has someone coming in two days. I have two babies, and the house is 85 degrees. I can't simply talk to a person to request another A/C company. There's no place to email anyone and the only people to pick up the phone are in sales. They nicely tell you they can only help sell policies. If you like talking to automated machines and problem-solving for days, with no human to explain the logic, this is your warranty. I feel subhuman. Get a local company quicker.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst service I have ever had

    • By Sadie Mckee,
    • California,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had this company for over ten years and when I think about the money I have spent it makes me ill. I have a dishwasher that I have had so many calls on that I could have a bought five dishwashers.

    Every time I call I am on hold forever, and then I get the runaround. It's not working again and a manager was supposed to call, and I have not heard a word. I would not ever recommend this company to anyone again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A deceptive company. Go local.

    • By David Ruben,
    • Weston, FL,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have had two houses covered by American Home Shield (AHS), and we canceled one house as they took nearly a month to replace a clothes dryer, and we eventually went and bought a new one locally which seems to be what many people do out of frustration, which is deceptive.

    Our AC unit compressor needed to be replaced and significant time in a hot house waiting for them to deliver a replacement compressor is infuriating, which only supports their deceptive practices. Had we used a local HVAC company they would have replaced the compressor within 24 hours.

    The concept of a warranty is only just that while in actuality it's a deceptive company and should be prosecuted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The absolute worst company on the planet

    • By Craig Taylor,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the misfortune of signing up with AHS (American Home Shield). They are the most inept and apathetic bunch of tards ever. The customer service reps are cretins and semi literate morons who can barely speak. When you call in for a service appointment, be prepared to wait 30 minutes on hold.

    Also, most important, this sham of a company has only one loser/contractor in an area. So the losers/contractors who do work for AHS are always booked for weeks ahead.

    I could go on for an hour but trust me, don't sign up. You've been warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Consumer beware!

    Overall Experience:

    Consumer beware. They do not value their customers and have some of the worst customer service policies, including 90-minute hold times, constant rerouting of the call, no response to other contact methods, no explanation for what services and coverage details. This company has so many contract loopholes. When they say they cover all components, that is often not the case. Make sure to look at the G1 section of your contract, it allows them to pick and chose what they will cover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disreputable company

    • By K Beasley,
    • Colorado,
    • Jul 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They are unresponsive, wait times to speak with a person to even request service is on average an hour. They have minimal contractors on their list even for emergencies, they have no direct contact number once you have had a bad experience and generally do not care if your issue is handled in a timely fashion.

    I had some sort of leak ongoing, and after 1.5 hours on hold to speak with someone, they told me they had hours and hours to even locate a service professional who then had greater than 24 hours to respond. They refused to authorize my hiring of an outside contractor with subsequent reimbursement. The ongoing issue has caused further issues including electrical and drywall that they refuse to cover calling them "secondary damage."

    They told me they do not care if they have bad reviews and offered no apologies or reasonable solutions whatsoever.

    This is the most disreputable company I have ever dealt with. DO NOT use them for any reason!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They never take care of their mistakes

    Overall Experience:

    Here we are going into month seven of having a late service fee due from early January. It still hasn't been taken care of like I have been told on numerous occasions by many different associates and supervisors. Why is it so difficult to fix someone's account? I don't think I will renew my contract in October since this company doesn't seem to care about their customers. I have never had such an issue with a company, and this is absolutely ridiculous.

    I will never refer anyone to this company, as a matter of fact, I will tell them to definitely go somewhere else and not even bother looking into this company. I sure hope this company gets its act in gear and do the right thing. How would you feel if this was done to you?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible home warranty experience

    • By Kurt Becker,
    • Minnesota,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first, the AHS (American Home Shield) experience started out good, and we got what we needed in a short amount of time. Our dishwasher was delivered, however, this is where the wheels fell off. If I install the dishwasher, it could invalidate the warranty. But I can't get the local company that AHS contracts with to install the dishwasher in a timely manner. Four phone calls to AHS result in a 25-30 minute hold to talk to someone. I have been very unimpressed with the whole process. We are now into our second week of no dishwasher installed, yet a brand new dishwasher is still sitting in a box. AHS does not seem concerned that they have incredibly long wait times, and their customers are not getting what they paid for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC Evaporator Claim

    Overall Experience:

    Pushed around from pillar to post and wanted to charge me $80 per pound of freon. Disgusting customer service and I feel that this company is a total scam. Still waiting for a response regarding payment to me for evaporator repair needed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't use this company

    • By Ed Zintgraff,
    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They sent a plumber out who did NO work but charged me $75. He said he would return but NEVER did. He verified just what I said, "Yea, you got a leak." I knew that and paid $75 to have it repaired, but Amerian Home Shield closed the case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 34 days without a heat pump in 120-degree heat

    Overall Experience:

    5/22/2017: Notified American Home Warranty our heat pump wasn’t cooling.

    5/23/2017: ARGO came to repair.

    5/23-5/28: Multiple service calls by ARGO. ARGO replaced several parts, each time saying the latest part would correct our cooling problem. We still don’t have cooling. They finally said it was the compressor that was still under warranty. It would take a week to get a new compressor.

    5/31 – 6/13: We went on a previously scheduled vacation. ARGO said they would install the new compressor while we were gone. Once the compressor was installed, they would use the key we left out for them and enter our home to be sure the unit was cooling properly. I called Carla at ARGO to let her know where the key would be located. She said she was too busy to write the information down but would call me the day before they installed the new compressor and get the key location. She did not call.

    6/2/2017: The new compressor was installed. The technician that installed the compressor did not go in the house to be sure the unit was cooling properly.

    6/5/2017: We called ARGO, and they would not return our calls so we called American Home Warranty to see when the new compressor would be installed. We were informed the new compressor was installed on 6/2.

    6/12/2017: Late evening I get a phone message from Carla. She wants to close our contract on our no cooling complaint. I return her call and tell her not to close the contract.

    6/13/2017: 4 AM we arrive home to a house that was over 100 degrees inside. The heat pump is not cooling and was running non-stop. We estimated it had been running for 11 days non-stop because it wasn’t cooling!

    6/14/2017: Shawn checks our unit. He says it is either low on Freon or the compressor is bad. The next morning he returns with more Freon. The unit still does not cool. Shawn says it needs another new compressor.

    6/19/2017: Carla says the new compressor will be in 6/21 and they will install it 6/22 in the morning.

    6/22/2017: ARGO did not call and did not show up for their appointment. I tried numerous times to contact them and left messages. Late afternoon they finally answer their phone and tell us the new delivery date is 6/23 and they will install the compressor 6/24 between 7 and 9 in the morning.

    6/24/2017: ARGO did not call and did not show up for their appointment.

    6/24/2017: (10 AM) I contact American Home Warranty. I explain what has happened and I am told they will contact ARGO and call me back. We did not receive a return call from American Home Warranty.

    6/24/2017: My husband calls American Home Warranty and is told the work order was closed on 6/19/2017, so we could not have gone 34 days without cooling! He is also told that ARGO did not fail to show for two appointments. In other words, they were calling us liars. We had no idea the work order was closed. How could they close the work order without notifying us?

    6/24/2017: I get a second opinion from another air conditioning contractor and find our unit has been turned off and it was trashed. It wouldn’t be cost effective to try to repair it with no compressor there, damaged copper tubing and oil and Freon spilled all over it. We get an estimate to install a new unit because obviously, ARGO is not able to repair our two-year, two-month-old unit.

    6/26/2017: A new unit is installed, and we have cooling for the first time in 36 days!

    7/4/2017: Not only is American Home Warranty charging us the $100 deductible for the service call to repair our heat pump that was never repaired, but today they notify us they are charging us an additional $30 for canceling our warranty with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really BAD experience

    Overall Experience:

    Take some advice from someone who was taken advantage of: DO NOT buy a home warranty. Set up your own monthly savings plan for $40 per month. I paid American Home Shield $41 every month for almost a decade, but when the time came to replace my 25-year old central A/C, all they paid for was about $350 for a new coil and "some" of the freon. I paid TWICE for my new A/C unit; once to replace it in my house, and then another $4,000 over ten years to simply improve AHS profits.

    I fought with them for a year. They have an excuse for everything. They were NOT there for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Used to be happy with them

    Overall Experience:

    I have had this warranty for a little over two years for my property and my rental property. I have had several claims and was always satisfied until now. I submitted a claim that was denied, and I accepted that, but made a complaint about it after I was contacted by email asking me to review my experience. Within a few hours, I received an email telling me that my warranty has been canceled. In other words, if you complain or express your dissatisfaction, they drop you like a hot potato.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unknowledgeable customer service

    Overall Experience:

    On June 26th I contacted AHS who sent S and L Plumbing to my home. I had explained to the AHS customer service person that I had a plumbing problem that showed up as water near my front door near the cut-off valve. I asked if it would be covered because I didn't want to pay a service fee for something that would not be covered. I was told it probably would be covered. Well, the plumber came and told me that if it were a leak, it would not be covered. He also said that the problem was because of the amount of rain we have gotten. That could NOT be the case! I still have the problem and have drained the area a few times only to see it refill! Angry!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pathetic service

    • By Renee Decuir,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been waiting for two months to get everything fixed that was suppose to be fixed in my house. They sent some "fly by night" company out here that did more harm than good. Then they sent Sears out here, and they did a great job, so should have sent them the first time.

    But now I have a new dishwasher that's been sitting in my garage for a month, and they can't get together to decide who's going to install it. They don't know from one person to the next who's doing what. It's worst than Who's on First. They use to be a great company, but now I don't know what happened. They're pathetic. I wouldn't recommend them to my dog's house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst company

    • By Bryan Wilson,
    • New Mexico,
    • Jun 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the WORST company I've ever dealt with. They are beyond worthless. Please do NOT waste your money or time trying to deal with them. I had a water heater fail. After waiting two days after contacting AHS, a plumber finally showed up, came to the door, and basically told us it would take 5 to 7 business days to get approval from AHS to repair it. They expected us to take cold showers in the winter for over a week before they could even begin repairs. I told them to forget it and fixed it myself.

    I was charged $75 by both the plumber and AHS for NOTHING. I've tried to cancel my contract and get a refund but so far, months later, I'm still getting the runaround.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use American Home Shield

    • By Lynn Brindle,
    • California,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Nothing but bad experiences with this company. My first service call last year was for a dishwasher that wouldn't clean. Tech said it was fine. I went out and finally bought a new dishwasher, and it works perfectly.

    Today is the icing on the cake. We have no hot water. I tried calling and was left on hold for 45 minutes and never did get to talk to a human. I then ordered a service request over the phone. The tech can't come out for two days. This is NOT okay! It is 104 degrees here, and nobody can shower, wash dishes, etc.

    Thanks AHS. And, just saying, my husband is a real estate broker, so you lost all of his referrals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service

    • By Tim Williams,
    • Birmingham, Alabama,
    • Jun 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a service done by AHS, and they did not tell me they changed their policy on paying the $100.00 for service. I paid the people cash and AHS still drafted my account and their incompetent customer service agent tried to tell me I checked the wrong box, which was not an option they give. They were trying something new, and it has been causing problems. I've been waiting almost a month to get my money back, and they have not processed my $46.99 refund either.

    Customer service has denied me to speak to management multiple times, and they can't tell me when I will get my money back, and they tried to draft my account again after I cancel service. DO NOT use this place, they are rude and do not know customer service at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS communications

    • By Jim Bar,
    • Calabasas, CA,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have three properties with American Home Shield (AHS) that I am canceling contracts for due to lack of and poor communications with AHS. There are no means to send an email to AHS to discuss issues such as vendors not showing or payment of service charge, etc. Each time I call AHS, the hold time is a minimum of 35 minutes, only to find out they transfer the call to a different department for another 35-minute hold. I called for "billing," and after a 40-minute hold, "service" answered and transferred me to "billing" for another 35-minute hold.

    AHS owed me $130 for a service they could not provide. They agreed to send me a check. After five months of not receiving the check, I called to discover they changed their statement and said service was provided. I asked if they could provide the Work Order showing work completed and they could not. But, I ate the loss of service and paid another repairman directly. This was common with AHS to lie. Not such a big deal, but I hate their lies and arguments to avoid making any repairs. They will fight and attempt to intimidate to avoid warranty claims.

    I have two other properties with Fidelity, and they are not the best but much better than AHS. I hope you save your frustrations and time by not using AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pool pump

    • By Michael,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am not sure where to start or exactly sure why a company like this is allowed to practice business. I have never filed a complaint or ever thought legal actions against a company and hope I never will. My initial request was for a pool filter issue, which is covered. American Home Shield contracted with a company called "Premium Contractors," which took over a month to resolve the issue, which included multiple visits from some of the rudest individuals/contractors I have met.

    The second request was to American Home Shield for my pool pump, which is covered and is 15 years old. They sent a contractor to the house who refused to call or text me after diagnosing it, since I wasn't present during his inspection. Later that night, I get a voice message from American Home Shield saying the contractor reported the pump motor stopped working because of secondary damage, leak, and rust, and he even took the liberty to tell them it wasn't due to wear and tear.

    After an hour with the American Home Shield authorization department trying to explain that I have never touched the pool pump, there was no leak or rust, and that it was working fine to the day before I called them when it started humming, but to no avail. I asked if the contractor had sent pictures of what he thought was the leak or rust, and I was told he hasn't because he sent a detailed diagnosis. When I asked for the detailed diagnosis, I was given the one liner I mentioned above. I also asked if he didn't take any pictures, wouldn't that raise concern to them that he made a concrete diagnosis which led them to deny the claim just on his word? I told her that I can send pictures to prove otherwise, and the reply was that it didn't matter and I quote, "at this point, it’s your word against his, and the claim has been denied, and there is nothing that can be done about it."

    Now, I am not naive enough to think that these contractors are hired for their ability to fix problems for consumers, or for their higher level of competency and moral aptitude. They work for the insurance company American Home Shield and their driver is to save them money by whatever means, so American Home Shield does not have to pay for things they should contractually be obligated to cover to secure future work orders.

    I requested a second look, which I'll need to pay the insurance for. I am still unsure why I am left in this position, trying to fight this in the first place. But this predatory behavior needs to be promptly addressed by the BBB. And while I do hope my issue gets resolved, I would plead with the BBB to PLEASE address this and HOLD this company liable/accountable for this behavior and similar ones, and not to overlook these consumer complaints.

    I work in the medical field, and if someone had used such manipulative and unethical practices and tactics, they would immediately lose their license and even be thrown in jail. Why is American Home Shield and similar companies not held to that standard and is able to prey on its customers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 487-513 of 546

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield