• 534 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 94%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Disreputable company

    • By K Beasley,
    • Colorado,
    • Jul 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They are unresponsive, wait times to speak with a person to even request service is on average an hour. They have minimal contractors on their list even for emergencies, they have no direct contact number once you have had a bad experience and generally do not care if your issue is handled in a timely fashion.

    I had some sort of leak ongoing, and after 1.5 hours on hold to speak with someone, they told me they had hours and hours to even locate a service professional who then had greater than 24 hours to respond. They refused to authorize my hiring of an outside contractor with subsequent reimbursement. The ongoing issue has caused further issues including electrical and drywall that they refuse to cover calling them "secondary damage."

    They told me they do not care if they have bad reviews and offered no apologies or reasonable solutions whatsoever.

    This is the most disreputable company I have ever dealt with. DO NOT use them for any reason!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They never take care of their mistakes

    Overall Experience:

    Here we are going into month seven of having a late service fee due from early January. It still hasn't been taken care of like I have been told on numerous occasions by many different associates and supervisors. Why is it so difficult to fix someone's account? I don't think I will renew my contract in October since this company doesn't seem to care about their customers. I have never had such an issue with a company, and this is absolutely ridiculous.

    I will never refer anyone to this company, as a matter of fact, I will tell them to definitely go somewhere else and not even bother looking into this company. I sure hope this company gets its act in gear and do the right thing. How would you feel if this was done to you?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible home warranty experience

    • By Kurt Becker,
    • Minnesota,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first, the AHS (American Home Shield) experience started out good, and we got what we needed in a short amount of time. Our dishwasher was delivered, however, this is where the wheels fell off. If I install the dishwasher, it could invalidate the warranty. But I can't get the local company that AHS contracts with to install the dishwasher in a timely manner. Four phone calls to AHS result in a 25-30 minute hold to talk to someone. I have been very unimpressed with the whole process. We are now into our second week of no dishwasher installed, yet a brand new dishwasher is still sitting in a box. AHS does not seem concerned that they have incredibly long wait times, and their customers are not getting what they paid for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC Evaporator Claim

    Overall Experience:

    Pushed around from pillar to post and wanted to charge me $80 per pound of freon. Disgusting customer service and I feel that this company is a total scam. Still waiting for a response regarding payment to me for evaporator repair needed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't use this company

    • By Ed Zintgraff,
    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They sent a plumber out who did NO work but charged me $75. He said he would return but NEVER did. He verified just what I said, "Yea, you got a leak." I knew that and paid $75 to have it repaired, but Amerian Home Shield closed the case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 34 days without a heat pump in 120-degree heat

    Overall Experience:

    5/22/2017: Notified American Home Warranty our heat pump wasn’t cooling.

    5/23/2017: ARGO came to repair.

    5/23-5/28: Multiple service calls by ARGO. ARGO replaced several parts, each time saying the latest part would correct our cooling problem. We still don’t have cooling. They finally said it was the compressor that was still under warranty. It would take a week to get a new compressor.

    5/31 – 6/13: We went on a previously scheduled vacation. ARGO said they would install the new compressor while we were gone. Once the compressor was installed, they would use the key we left out for them and enter our home to be sure the unit was cooling properly. I called Carla at ARGO to let her know where the key would be located. She said she was too busy to write the information down but would call me the day before they installed the new compressor and get the key location. She did not call.

    6/2/2017: The new compressor was installed. The technician that installed the compressor did not go in the house to be sure the unit was cooling properly.

    6/5/2017: We called ARGO, and they would not return our calls so we called American Home Warranty to see when the new compressor would be installed. We were informed the new compressor was installed on 6/2.

    6/12/2017: Late evening I get a phone message from Carla. She wants to close our contract on our no cooling complaint. I return her call and tell her not to close the contract.

    6/13/2017: 4 AM we arrive home to a house that was over 100 degrees inside. The heat pump is not cooling and was running non-stop. We estimated it had been running for 11 days non-stop because it wasn’t cooling!

    6/14/2017: Shawn checks our unit. He says it is either low on Freon or the compressor is bad. The next morning he returns with more Freon. The unit still does not cool. Shawn says it needs another new compressor.

    6/19/2017: Carla says the new compressor will be in 6/21 and they will install it 6/22 in the morning.

    6/22/2017: ARGO did not call and did not show up for their appointment. I tried numerous times to contact them and left messages. Late afternoon they finally answer their phone and tell us the new delivery date is 6/23 and they will install the compressor 6/24 between 7 and 9 in the morning.

    6/24/2017: ARGO did not call and did not show up for their appointment.

    6/24/2017: (10 AM) I contact American Home Warranty. I explain what has happened and I am told they will contact ARGO and call me back. We did not receive a return call from American Home Warranty.

    6/24/2017: My husband calls American Home Warranty and is told the work order was closed on 6/19/2017, so we could not have gone 34 days without cooling! He is also told that ARGO did not fail to show for two appointments. In other words, they were calling us liars. We had no idea the work order was closed. How could they close the work order without notifying us?

    6/24/2017: I get a second opinion from another air conditioning contractor and find our unit has been turned off and it was trashed. It wouldn’t be cost effective to try to repair it with no compressor there, damaged copper tubing and oil and Freon spilled all over it. We get an estimate to install a new unit because obviously, ARGO is not able to repair our two-year, two-month-old unit.

    6/26/2017: A new unit is installed, and we have cooling for the first time in 36 days!

    7/4/2017: Not only is American Home Warranty charging us the $100 deductible for the service call to repair our heat pump that was never repaired, but today they notify us they are charging us an additional $30 for canceling our warranty with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really BAD experience

    Overall Experience:

    Take some advice from someone who was taken advantage of: DO NOT buy a home warranty. Set up your own monthly savings plan for $40 per month. I paid American Home Shield $41 every month for almost a decade, but when the time came to replace my 25-year old central A/C, all they paid for was about $350 for a new coil and "some" of the freon. I paid TWICE for my new A/C unit; once to replace it in my house, and then another $4,000 over ten years to simply improve AHS profits.

    I fought with them for a year. They have an excuse for everything. They were NOT there for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Used to be happy with them

    Overall Experience:

    I have had this warranty for a little over two years for my property and my rental property. I have had several claims and was always satisfied until now. I submitted a claim that was denied, and I accepted that, but made a complaint about it after I was contacted by email asking me to review my experience. Within a few hours, I received an email telling me that my warranty has been canceled. In other words, if you complain or express your dissatisfaction, they drop you like a hot potato.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unknowledgeable customer service

    Overall Experience:

    On June 26th I contacted AHS who sent S and L Plumbing to my home. I had explained to the AHS customer service person that I had a plumbing problem that showed up as water near my front door near the cut-off valve. I asked if it would be covered because I didn't want to pay a service fee for something that would not be covered. I was told it probably would be covered. Well, the plumber came and told me that if it were a leak, it would not be covered. He also said that the problem was because of the amount of rain we have gotten. That could NOT be the case! I still have the problem and have drained the area a few times only to see it refill! Angry!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pathetic service

    • By Renee Decuir,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been waiting for two months to get everything fixed that was suppose to be fixed in my house. They sent some "fly by night" company out here that did more harm than good. Then they sent Sears out here, and they did a great job, so should have sent them the first time.

    But now I have a new dishwasher that's been sitting in my garage for a month, and they can't get together to decide who's going to install it. They don't know from one person to the next who's doing what. It's worst than Who's on First. They use to be a great company, but now I don't know what happened. They're pathetic. I wouldn't recommend them to my dog's house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst company

    • By Bryan Wilson,
    • New Mexico,
    • Jun 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the WORST company I've ever dealt with. They are beyond worthless. Please do NOT waste your money or time trying to deal with them. I had a water heater fail. After waiting two days after contacting AHS, a plumber finally showed up, came to the door, and basically told us it would take 5 to 7 business days to get approval from AHS to repair it. They expected us to take cold showers in the winter for over a week before they could even begin repairs. I told them to forget it and fixed it myself.

    I was charged $75 by both the plumber and AHS for NOTHING. I've tried to cancel my contract and get a refund but so far, months later, I'm still getting the runaround.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use American Home Shield

    • By Lynn Brindle,
    • California,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Nothing but bad experiences with this company. My first service call last year was for a dishwasher that wouldn't clean. Tech said it was fine. I went out and finally bought a new dishwasher, and it works perfectly.

    Today is the icing on the cake. We have no hot water. I tried calling and was left on hold for 45 minutes and never did get to talk to a human. I then ordered a service request over the phone. The tech can't come out for two days. This is NOT okay! It is 104 degrees here, and nobody can shower, wash dishes, etc.

    Thanks AHS. And, just saying, my husband is a real estate broker, so you lost all of his referrals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service

    • By Tim Williams,
    • Birmingham, Alabama,
    • Jun 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a service done by AHS, and they did not tell me they changed their policy on paying the $100.00 for service. I paid the people cash and AHS still drafted my account and their incompetent customer service agent tried to tell me I checked the wrong box, which was not an option they give. They were trying something new, and it has been causing problems. I've been waiting almost a month to get my money back, and they have not processed my $46.99 refund either.

    Customer service has denied me to speak to management multiple times, and they can't tell me when I will get my money back, and they tried to draft my account again after I cancel service. DO NOT use this place, they are rude and do not know customer service at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS communications

    • By Jim Bar,
    • Calabasas, CA,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have three properties with American Home Shield (AHS) that I am canceling contracts for due to lack of and poor communications with AHS. There are no means to send an email to AHS to discuss issues such as vendors not showing or payment of service charge, etc. Each time I call AHS, the hold time is a minimum of 35 minutes, only to find out they transfer the call to a different department for another 35-minute hold. I called for "billing," and after a 40-minute hold, "service" answered and transferred me to "billing" for another 35-minute hold.

    AHS owed me $130 for a service they could not provide. They agreed to send me a check. After five months of not receiving the check, I called to discover they changed their statement and said service was provided. I asked if they could provide the Work Order showing work completed and they could not. But, I ate the loss of service and paid another repairman directly. This was common with AHS to lie. Not such a big deal, but I hate their lies and arguments to avoid making any repairs. They will fight and attempt to intimidate to avoid warranty claims.

    I have two other properties with Fidelity, and they are not the best but much better than AHS. I hope you save your frustrations and time by not using AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pool pump

    • By Michael,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am not sure where to start or exactly sure why a company like this is allowed to practice business. I have never filed a complaint or ever thought legal actions against a company and hope I never will. My initial request was for a pool filter issue, which is covered. American Home Shield contracted with a company called "Premium Contractors," which took over a month to resolve the issue, which included multiple visits from some of the rudest individuals/contractors I have met.

    The second request was to American Home Shield for my pool pump, which is covered and is 15 years old. They sent a contractor to the house who refused to call or text me after diagnosing it, since I wasn't present during his inspection. Later that night, I get a voice message from American Home Shield saying the contractor reported the pump motor stopped working because of secondary damage, leak, and rust, and he even took the liberty to tell them it wasn't due to wear and tear.

    After an hour with the American Home Shield authorization department trying to explain that I have never touched the pool pump, there was no leak or rust, and that it was working fine to the day before I called them when it started humming, but to no avail. I asked if the contractor had sent pictures of what he thought was the leak or rust, and I was told he hasn't because he sent a detailed diagnosis. When I asked for the detailed diagnosis, I was given the one liner I mentioned above. I also asked if he didn't take any pictures, wouldn't that raise concern to them that he made a concrete diagnosis which led them to deny the claim just on his word? I told her that I can send pictures to prove otherwise, and the reply was that it didn't matter and I quote, "at this point, it’s your word against his, and the claim has been denied, and there is nothing that can be done about it."

    Now, I am not naive enough to think that these contractors are hired for their ability to fix problems for consumers, or for their higher level of competency and moral aptitude. They work for the insurance company American Home Shield and their driver is to save them money by whatever means, so American Home Shield does not have to pay for things they should contractually be obligated to cover to secure future work orders.

    I requested a second look, which I'll need to pay the insurance for. I am still unsure why I am left in this position, trying to fight this in the first place. But this predatory behavior needs to be promptly addressed by the BBB. And while I do hope my issue gets resolved, I would plead with the BBB to PLEASE address this and HOLD this company liable/accountable for this behavior and similar ones, and not to overlook these consumer complaints.

    I work in the medical field, and if someone had used such manipulative and unethical practices and tactics, they would immediately lose their license and even be thrown in jail. Why is American Home Shield and similar companies not held to that standard and is able to prey on its customers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    Overall Experience:

    Buyer beware! Have your lawyer read the fine print because there is a lot that the warranties do NOT cover. We paid the service fee and then they wanted almost $500 more! Wow, nice warranty, right?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Class action lawsuit

    Overall Experience:

    I called American Home Shield on May 1, 2017, about my air conditioner not working. I am still without air conditioner five weeks later. When I've asked when it will be fixed, I was offered $500 to walk away from the claim. Bait and switch. Enough is enough. A class action lawsuit is what's needed against this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company, avoid at all costs.

    • By Josh Salas,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The first time was like pulling teeth to get my AC fixed. It obviously had a leak, and they did not want to troubleshoot it. They just wanted to fill it with Freon (of which they only cover $10 a pound).

    I had to spend three days arguing with them to get it leak checked. They found an obvious leak in the coil and a second leak in the compressor. After much argument and over $600 additional (above and beyond the service call fee and warranty cost), they fixed it.

    The second time I called, they told me their computers were down and they could not setup a service call. They had no ETA on having their systems back up. As I had water flowing everywhere, I asked if I could just hire someone, pay them and be reimbursed. They said no, I had to just wait. That cost me $300.

    Lastly, last week our main house AC went out. We realized this on Friday when we got home. The house was 91 degrees. We put in a service ticket, and the contractor called and told us that they would not be out for 72 hours. I explained we had expected temps of 97 degrees over the next three days, and they informed me AHS would not pay for after hours or weekend calls. So once again I got my own AC person and paid out of pocket to fix it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total liars

    • By Frank Mularz,
    • Enterprise, AL,
    • May 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer for over eight years and in the last three weeks have been lied to three times. I was told no contractors were in my are, although I have had them before.

    Next, I was told that they would issue a check for the service so I could use someone locally. The check would arrive in 7 to 10 days. I called today and was told the check was never processed and it would be two more weeks to get it handled.

    It has now been four weeks.

    Stay away from these people. Their customer service can hardly be called that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They will rip you off

    • By Gene Born,
    • Arizona,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The worst customer service and sketchy technicians. I placed a claim for my A/C and the tech said it was a valve and I needed to order it from the internet. It took a week to return, (90 degrees inside the house for a week). It worked for 10 minutes, gave them the invoice for $750 for freon, and they said it is not covered anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service! Beware.

    • By Khach Do,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • May 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought an investment property in October of 2016. My realtor bought the American Home Shield plan for 10/16 thru 10/17 and put it in the closing settlement with the amount of $495. I thought I'd need it, so I didn't dispute during closing.

    Then I called American Home Shield in December of 2016 to request the contract that they hadn't sent to me yet. The rep tried to upsell saying that if I decided to pay through October of 2018 with $485 more, I would have many more benefits including full coverage for everything in the house and having the service call fee waived. And that I would only pay the $75 trade fee just for an emergency service that occurs during the PM hours and would have it fixed within 24 hours.

    A couple of weeks ago, I ordered a service for the doorbell that stopped working. Had I known of the scam, I would not have called them. Their contractor came out without any communication with me as I expected and as we spoke on the phone not to deal with my tenant. However, he came and asked the tenant to let him in, and within five minutes he already left. He didn't call me the entire time. I thought he was still coming so I called him and found out he already did the service, and I had to pay for the part and the installation.

    Today, after two weeks, I got a notice from American Home Shield saying there was a delinquency on my account of $75. I demanded a cancellation. They demanded to bring the account up to date for them to proceed the cancellation. Then they did the calculation and said I would get back only $300 something out of the $980 that I paid. I said "the rep who tried to upgrade my plan in December of 2016 lied to me about all the benefits that I would get and that I compared the two contracts of the one-year and the two-year, they were identical page to page and word to word, so explain to me where are all the benefits that I was promised for the upgrade. Just show me the difference!"

    She indeed forced me into paying for an extra year with almost the same price. So I at least should get back the $485 because I have not started the 2018 contract yet plus the remaining of the $495 after the eight months in use of 2017. I threatened to go to court with them and ask the court to obtain the recording so that my lawyer would compare it to the two versions of the contract that I have in my hand. Also, their contract terms say that after 30 days, they must give back a pro-rated refund. Instead, they said whatever of 2017 which I still have left from May through October of 2017 is gone and they would deduct a $80 admin fee plus a contracted deduction of $485 from 2018 and I would get back only $300 something.

    I read them the refund terms and that they must give me back the remaining balance based on the prorate calculation so I should get back at least $600. After so much verbal fight with them, they put me on hold and came back saying they would give me back $635 as I expected. I am going to call my credit card company to stop the payment of the trade fee of $75 now.

    What a terrible company! I would never recommend American Home Shield to anyone of my circle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Maria Chacon,
    • Newark, Delaware,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We recently purchased a home and were guaranteed everything worked well by the seller. When the gas company came out to do a safety inspection on the gas and also turn on the heater's "flame," they placed a red sticker on it because they said a part was wrong with it and it needed to be repaired before it could be turned on.

    We reached out to American Home Shield and had to call about five times in between work and school before a representative got on the phone with us, plus their phone calls were very backed up and they had us on hold for over 20 minutes every single time. When I spoke with the representative, we were able to request two contractors to come out, one for the electricity and one for the heater. 24 hours after that we received a call from the heating company to schedule an appointment, and we were able to schedule it for the next business day, which was great.

    Today the contractor came out and inspected the heater and said he would order the part that needed repair, which we pointed to him because we were told which part it was by the gas company that came out to evaluate it previously, and who had alerted us of the issue. Within hours the contractor informed me American Home Shield had denied the coverage because they said the homeowners (us) were already informed of the damage before we purchased the coverage, and he referred me to American Home Shield for further insight.

    I reached out to their customer service and waited on hold for a period of 30 minutes before speaking with a representative (no surprise there). She informed me that the contractor/technician informed their department that we had prior knowledge of the damage before purchasing the coverage. I let her know the technician let me know that's what they had told HIM and I wanted to know where they had obtained the information to make that assumption, and the representative let me know it was the technician and that she couldn't provide me with further details. I reached back out to the technician, who informed me he had not told them that, that he had only mentioned that we had pointed out to him the damage and that there was already a red sticker on there signaling the damage.

    He said he did not know how to further help me and basically didn't provide any direction on how I could solve this situation. I asked that he reach back out to American Home Shield and let them know he did not say we knew about the damage before the purchase of the coverage. I am planning to reach back out tomorrow, so hopefully he will have clarified the issue by then.

    I am disappointed by the service we have been provided and am amazed by the miscommunication and lack of information the representatives of American Home Shield have shown. I do not understand how they can come to the conclusion of denying a claim and not provide me with the details, and instead ask me to reach out to other people. I am not sure how this will be resolved, but I do not recommend their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Canceled policy after claims

    • By Raymond Roman,
    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We were canceled without stated reason, presumably because of claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing, saves us tons of money

    • By Kari,
    • Colorado,
    • Apr 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have had this whole home warranty for almost one year. We have used it for ceiling fans, faucets, and a furnace. They always fix or replace what needs it. It has saved us THOUSANDS of dollars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible Company

    Overall Experience:

    This company has been nothing but a headache since day 1. The seller purchased the warranty on our home and we had no say in the coverage chosen. When we learned that it was the bare minimum of coverage and wanted to pay to upgrade it, American Home Shield would not allow us to upgrade the service. They said our only option would be to refund the seller her $500 and for us to buy our own coverage for $680. We have had to use our warranty for our AC that was supposed to be under warranty but got to spend $300 on refrigerant because they don't cover that.

    After our contract is up with this terrible company, I will definitely be shopping around for a company that cares about customer satisfaction. American Home Shield is NOT the company to go with!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A garbabel company

    • By Xin Li,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you want to waste your money, go ahead. They only work with cheap repair companies so that they can pay less money. These cheap companies will not do good repair. They just show up and pretend to repair it for you. After 30 days or an even shorter period, I guarantee that your faucet will leak again, and your refrigerator will break again.

    Don't waste your time and money. After two bad experiences with American Home Shield and their unprofessional repair company, I decide to take a chance without coverage and pay more money to fire a professional repair company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't deal with American Home Shield

    • By Jameson Myers,
    • Van Buren, Arkansas,
    • Mar 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield is a scam. I purchased a home warranty a year ago and opted to purchase a warranty with an upgraded coverage to cover the pool and hot tub because I had concerns about issues that might arise in the future with these items.

    At closing, I received a paper documenting the purchase of the warranty and a promise from American Home Shield to send me my full contract package in the coming days which would detail my coverage. That way, if I ever had an issue with any equipment or appliances with the house or pool or hot tub, I would know and understand my coverage.

    Here it is, two weeks before my warranty is to expire and I have an issue with my pool light (electrical). I called American Home Shield and submitted a service request, and the contractor came out and diagnosed the problem. He said that it should not be an issue at all for American Home Shield to cover it since they do these all the time for them. Later on that day, I received a voicemail from American Home Shield saying they denied the claim. I'm out a $75 service fee for the contractor for nothing.

    The contractor is irate with American Home Shield because they're saying the pool light is not a part of the pool. How absurd is that! Pool equipment it is a part of the pool. I called back to American Home Shield and asked to speak with a manager, and the lady said that an email request had to be submitted to have a manager give you a callback. I said, "no, I will speak to a manager, or I will not get off the phone." So finally, a lady named Portia got on the phone, and I'm almost positive she was not a legitimate manager because she was not professional and just kept saying there is nothing we can do, and that we did send you a contract on April 26th when we didn't even close on our house until after that date.

    The bottom line is that American Home Shield doesn't care if they send you a contract, they would prefer if you didn't know what is covered or not. They just want you to purchase the warranty, and then they start subjectively deciding whether they want to cover your appliance or home items or not. There is currently 7,990 complaints that have been closed by American Home Shield in the last three years. I say closed because who really knows if the customer was really satisfied with the result of their complaint.

    I will tell everyone I know to not ever purchase a home warranty from American Home Shield. It's very telling in business when you have to keep changing your name. American Home Shield has been known by at least five other names. Please save yourself time, energy, and money and don't deal with this scam of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 487-513 of 534

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield