Read 417 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 11 1 star:  392
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 417
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT waste your time or money!

    • Glenview, IL,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible. The service providers they send out seem trained to con you. Here is my story in September 2019 in detail for which AHS has told me they will not reimburse me for the $75 charge.

    Original problem: Both outside AC units AND inside fan are running BUT there is no air coming through the air vents in the house.

    We were given instructions to turn off the AC unit 24 hours prior to a visit from Rush Heating and Cooling and was given a window of service between 2 - 4 on Tuesday, September 10th.

    There was a problem with this service call from the beginning. Here is a summary of the issues that we faced on September 10th.

    1. Rush Heating and Air did not show at the appointed window of service nor did they communicate with me any issues concerning their tardiness.

    2. Therefore, I called Rush at 3:53 to ask when the service would be provided. I got an answering machine so left a message for them to call me as soon as possible. I followed up with a call to AHS too, but was told that the computers were down.

    3. I called Rush again at 4:41 and did get someone on the line who told me that there was a lot of traffic and that is why they were late.

    4. They finally arrived around 6, two hours after my window.

    5. They said the freon levels were at about 50% and needed approximately 2 pounds of freon gas which would cost $180

    6. They said that the unit was too small for the place and that was why the air was not circulating properly and a new unit was needed that could support the square footage of the building, yet the other 100+ townhomes in the community have the same unit.

    7. I was billed $75 for a service call which did not fix the problem.

    The AC unit was turned back on after the workers left. It did, in fact, cool the house and the airflow returned only to stop working again on Thursday, September 12th.

    As a result, I called in Azzo to assess the AC unit and here is what they found:

    1. There was ice built up around the pipes outside and that prevented the proper airflow through the house. This was due to a freon leak in the system.

    2. This would have been detected had Rush Heating and Air instructed me to turn on the AC unit one hour prior to their arrival.

    3. Freon was down by one pound, not two. Rush bold-faced lied.

    4. I was billed $100 by Azzo Air for the service call and freon, see attached.

    Thankfully, the unit is now working.

    It is my contention that due to the poor, dishonest and non-existent service offered by Rush Heating and Air, that I should not have been billed the $75 fee. Furthermore, That AHS should cover the costs of Azzo Air to fix the problem as part of the Warranty that is offered to new home buyers. After all, this is what the warranty and insurance are supposed to provide.

    I should be at a minimum refunded the $75 service charge and a check to cover my out-of-pocket expenses for Azzo Air for $100, which totals $175.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not really interested

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We recently bought a home that we were assured was "covered by a trusted home warranty." This was especially important because we were out of town buyers who would not occupy the property immediately. We were advised by our real estate agent to change the locks right after closing and were given a recommended locksmith. Upon moving into the property a couple of months later and going thru the warranty documents, we discovered the rekeying cost ($500+) was a "covered" item. Our filed claim was totally rejected due to not using American Home Warranty's chosen service contractor. We were not even reimbursed their usual and customary cost. NOTHING! A call to clarify the situation and try for some compromise was disconnected. Advertising to the contrary, they are NOT in the business of looking out for the buyer. We intend to report this to our real estate company and suggest they not mislead future buyers about the value of American Home Warranties.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Poor customer service and misleading

    • California,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    1. I wouldn't have thought it would take that long each time to get to customer service. Average calls in about a dozen calls I made worked out be at least 30 minutes and most agents did not call back if the call dropped or cut off. Understanding the English language also seemed to be a problem.

    2. They initially gave me a contractor who had so many bad reviews who just ruined my entire day to reschedule where I had to take additional time off. When I complained to AHS, they did nothing to ensure better service.

    3. MISLEADING - It took me a couple of calls to AHS before I committed to them. The customer service person also stated that if I recommended other people to join, both of us then would each get a $25 give card. Upon my recommendation, my neighbor joined and as requested by AHS over the phone, my neighbor gave my contract number to activate the gift card. It was over 6 weeks and today upon calling AHS, I was told that they would not be giving us the gift cards because somebody did not write in in the notes. No big deal as it was not worth my time to pursue a little gift card. They have the calls recorded...I might be making it up they say.

    4. In the first week of September, i.e. after the requested service was completed by the second contractor assigned, I get an email from AHS and then a call from the initial contractor that I moved away from stating that they would be coming on the 14th of August to fix my AC. I think both AHS and its bad rated contractor were daydreaming.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • AC leak

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waiting impatiently for the assigned contractor to schedule repairs. Tech has been out and looked at my AC and no word back and tomorrow it will be 7 days! Unacceptable! Part of the ceiling had already collapsed in the hall due to the leak and that’s when I made the call to AHS. I have called the contractor - Sevier Climate Control - and got a runaround. Then I called AHS and another runaround - I need to get this fixed before the rest of my ceiling falls through due to a leak!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Worst customer service EVER

    • Los Gatos, CA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a property manager and have had many interactions with AHS. Literally, the most frustrating company I have ever encountered. The amount of time lost mitigating their mistakes, staying on hold forever on the phone (upwards of 20 to 30 mins per call on hold), micromanaging their "bargain" vendors, and dealing with upset clients and tenants on my end would add up to a full week of paid vacation time off, I'm sure. The list goes on, I just want to warn consumers to stay away, there are much better options out there, I have no idea how these people stay in business or have even halfway decent reviews. The vendors they use are TERRIBLE, if they have any good vendors, they are always booked out and don't have time to take new work orders. Probably because they are good vendors who don't need a home warranty to stay in business. I really do not like to write negative reviews, but this home warranty has consistently made my job harder than it has to be. Our clients pay for this home warranty in good faith and they just don't receive the quality of service they thought they were paying for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam company, don’t cover anything

    • Rockville, MD,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was told no contract, can be canceled any time and if you need to get your appliances repaired and it is covered, provide the invoice from the tech and the company we will pay me back.

    I would not trust this company and they are not very friendly at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Water heater

    • King George, VA,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in a work order on 09/01/2019 and the plumbing company came out on 09/03/19. They told us we needed a replacement water heater. Then American Home Shield (AHS) came back and said we need to have a water tank expansion which was not covered under the warranty, which we tried to fight but finally gave in and paid $375 (on top of the $100 to bring them out). Then the plumbing company was to come out to fix our water heater on 09/07/2019. Then in the morning, I got a call from the plumbing company and AHS would not release the PO to get the water heater replaced. I called and they said they must get authorization from who they use to replace the water heater. So now we still have no hot water until at least 09/13/2019 before we can get the water heater but who knows when they can fix it. It is truly sad when the parts department is closed on Saturday and nothing can be done until next week. AHS has no issue taking our money but they don't want to fix stuff in your house. I should be happy it was not our heater or air conditioner broken, we would either be really hot or cold. AHS really doesn't care about standing behind a home warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    AHS is a scam. Do not buy. They have been giving me the runaround on a water heater repair request since June 2019. I have been a customer since 2011 but now that appliances start breaking down I don't get any service. First authorizations department sits on it. Now they say the contractor relations department has the request. No one to escalate this to, no number for contractor relations department to chase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Poor service

    • Maryland,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield does not follow through on repairs. It takes two or more weeks for them to send a contractor to come out and inspect the appliance/unit. It takes another three or four more weeks for the part to be purchased and another two weeks for the contractor to come back to perform service. Their service is deplorable. They do not hold themselves accountable for the repairs to be performed in a professional manner or a timely manner. Always giving me the same excuse that the contractor has not communicated with them. I pay for a service but all I get is excuses. Every time I call, I get a different customer representative who takes 10 minutes to read the notes related to my repair request. It's been over two months since I made a request (request made on June 27th) to repair my Kitchenaid refrigerator. I called every day to obtain a status update and spent more than 30 hours on the phone with American Home Shield over the last month. It's unacceptable to not have a working refrigerator. American Home Shield has not provided me with basic good customer service. They do not take action when the hired contractor is not doing their job. Instead, they ignore the problem and the repair gets dragged out for months with nothing getting done. Very poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Electrical service

    I had AHS since I bought this house, I called and wanted an electrician to see why my stove would not work when my dryer was on. Well, he came, did some juggling around, and didn't fix anything I had the same problem again, he came and said there was nothing wrong just to wash or cook but not at the same time. Later I called someone else, he came and had to replace the breaker box and add more breakers to the box. All the wires were bare and it could have caused a fire. My house would have burned with me in it. I would not recommend it to anyone. Besides, when I tried to contact them they gave me the runaround and never returned my calls or reimbursed me for the repairs that were done. So no, I give them 1 star only. Very unsatisfied with AHS. Back in 2009.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Be aware, American Home Shield paid to filter out bad reviews...

    • Nevada,
    • Sep 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a realtor, American Home Shield came to my old company every month to promote how good they are and I believed them. Even after I moved to another company, I still recommended American Home Shield to my buyers and have them for my new home as well. Our AC stopped working today, we called AHS, they told us they do not send contractors on weekends...On a day it is 110 F outside and rising swiftly inside to unbearable conditions, we must wait until 3-6 pm Monday - three full days from now for the AC company to evaluate the problem. It could be days after for the repair to be made. After reading the entire contract, there is no mention of a blackout of service on weekends. What the contract does state is "loss of cooling...is an emergency as defined by the Nevada Revised Statutes...service will commence not later than 24 hrs after the report of the claim."

    After years of referring AHS, I will never recommend American Home Shield to any clients in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 417

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review