Read 386 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  362
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 386
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disgruntled long-time customer

    • Kansas,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had AHS for years. They used to be a good company, but they keep going downhill. In fact, my husband used to sell their product. Their customer service now is obviously overseas. Just today the girl hung up on me, and I wasn't rude. I think she didn't understand what I was telling her. Last month, my husband contacted AHS and asked for a supervisor because they couldn't find us a service provider for my refrigerator sooner than 12 days out. He waited on hold for 5 minutes and the call was disconnected. This now seems to be a common issue with AHS. The refrigerator incident was our last experience and it took us a month to get it running again. We view that as ridiculous. We canceled AHS and are now with Choice. They have better ratings, according to independent reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Really an awful and dishonest company...stay away

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Part of the contractor for AHS did not diagnose my AC correctly.

    In fact, they have put the wrong parts on the AC to make it worse. The first company from AHS INSURANCE to work on the units said nothing is wrong with the unit and did not recommend to have it replaced, even though the unit is 30 years old.

    The tech said to wait for 2 days before will get cold air. The unit blew and shut down after 15 minutes.

    I had the unit diagnosed by an independent company not associated with AHS Insurance who found issues such as a blown fuse, capacitors not secured to the panels, other capacitors actually had a shortage spot on the side of it, most likely hitting the contacts due to it not being secured, the one capacitor was the wrong size for the unit, condenser fan motor is not the OEM slim style motor.

    Yet they said nothing was wrong to side with the insurance company.

    They work with an unethical insurance company AHS and do nothing for customers.

    It is a shame. Should have their license revoked.

    Rose Heating Air Conditioning & Sheet Metal

    Heating & Air Conditioning/HVAC

    8/1/2019

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    • Georgetown, TX,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total let down. Needed help with a swimming pool, AHS took $100.00, I got nothing. AHS dropped the ball. I tried to follow up, put on hold twice the first call. They wanted to put blame on me. Second call I was so livid I tried to cancel, but could not get a definitive. I was told somebody would call me back within 24 hours. Just went back to the AHS website, my account, and there in a highlighted red box is payment due, $69.18 administration fee. AHS, you stink!

    I could not understand anybody I spoke to. Call Center, you stink! SHAME, shame, shame!

    My next correspondence is with BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company in cohorts with Coldwell Banker

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My real estate company strongly encouraged purchasing this home warranty. I later discovered there is some sort of financial tie between Coldwell Banker Burnett realty and American Home Shield. AHS is a total scam. I have been 4 weeks on repair of a washing machine, they use repair people that are completely inept. The last person could not open the washing machine. I googled the owner's manual for her and she refused to follow the directions and left saying she was behind. Then wrote a completely fictitious report saying the control board needs replacing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot even begin to tell you of my many negative experiences with this company. In fact, I cannot tell you: I am afraid to write my review because nowadays companies like this one will sue! Just check other reviews of this company or ask about them on your community Facebook or Nextdoor. Go on Yelp. You can decide for yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Criminal practice

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company should not exist. Their business is based on scamming people. This home warranty was included in the purchase of our house 18 months ago. Last week there was a problem with the AC evaporator (leaking). Called to file a claim and service tech came and diagnosed the issue. Four days later they call me to tell me that I have to pay $1,275 because in order to install the new unit, "modifications" have to be made! I naturally asked them what that means and the answer I’ve got made me cancel the contract immediately. By "modifications" they mean the new unit is different from the existing and because changes had to be made, they wouldn’t cover. When I asked them how would they honor the warranty and replace this part and if labor to do it is included, they said, "Yes, but modifications to make it fit would have to be paid by me." There are no modifications needed, they use this word entirely in their advantage in order get away with passing expense of installation on to me. I am not sure who regulates this industry, but someone should seriously look into the practices of this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • They're crooks and thieves!

    • California,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a subscriber since March 2018.

    This month, July, I placed a trouble request with AHS to repair our dishwasher. The service provider, NANA SERVICES INC, gave me a repair date with a time of "between 8:00 and Noon." And yes, they took a $100.00 fee before they scheduled with NANA.

    The Nana tech was a no-show. When I called to find out why I was told by Nana that none of their service technicians "took" my job. Seems the techs have the right to refuse an appointment if it doesn't "fit" into their schedule.

    Yep...

    AHS said sorry, we'll find another provider. That's when I said "no thanks, but I will cancel my contract with you right now."

    Two weeks later I finally have confirmation that my contract was canceled but they haven't/won't refund my $100.00.

    And of course, our dishwasher still doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Carlsbad, NM,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst and irrefutable service ever dealt with! Numerous requests have been called in and numerous messages have been sent, but no response from this company. They have not responded to refunding the fee for the service. The next step is to seek legal action against them! Do NOT waste your money on this shoddy service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Blames the consumer, won't pay for repairs

    • Pasadena, CA,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a service call on my (warranty-covered) washing machine. The technician from a local appliance repair company came out and identified a couple of parts that needed to be replaced, and said that this information would be forwarded to AHS.

    AHS then decided on their own that the machine had been abused/overloaded, and thus the repair was not covered by the warranty. Note that this was a determination made by AHS, not by a technician who physically inspected the machine.

    AHS thus refuses to pay for repairs to the machine. I'll do that myself, with the money I'll save from canceling the AHS warranty. I absolutely cannot recommend getting a warranty from them: You're betting all your warranty and service call costs on the chance that they will actually cover a repair...which is much less likely given that such decision is made by an office clerk who is probably graded on how many claims she/he refuses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don’t do it!

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the house warranty from American Home Shield 9 months ago. My air conditioning went out 14 days ago. The first day it went out, I called AHS to report it and they sent someone out and he declined a warranty because it had been "struck by lightning." The funny thing is, there was no rain for the past 10 days. They agreed to send someone else out, the guy was great and said he could fix it but we need approval from American Home Warranty. Long story short, American Home Warranty told us today after 14 days of my house being 94 degrees that they only cover anything that is normal wear and tear (which is exactly what it was)! They sent us the run around for two weeks and it’s 103 outside and my house is now 95 degrees. I would have hired someone to fix it two weeks ago if I knew they wouldn’t cover it. I called today to cancel my warranty and they told me there was a cancellation fee. Of course there is! Why would I expect anything else?!

    Bottom line, please don’t get taken advantage of like I did. They are crooks. I have talked to several people and they have told me the same stories from the crooked company. Don’t be taken advantage of. They are thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    This shouldn't be legal

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called to get service after paying for 16 months and they assigned me to a contractor who caused a lot of damage at my neighbors home last year. I called to switch contractors (they said it would be no problem - just a few days wait), but they assigned me back to the same company.

    This dance continued for nearly a month until the last time I called someone put me on hold for 5 minutes to tell me that in my area there were no other contractors available.

    This contractor has not even called me to schedule an appointment.

    So I canceled my contract because I couldn't get my AC repaired and it's the middle of summer. Low and behold - they charge me a $40 cancellation fee which was never mentioned prior and maaaaybe it's mentioned in the contract as some kind of "admin fee", but it's unclear.

    Anyways, they say they can't take the fee off even though they couldn't provide service, the contractor didn't contact me to provide service, and because apparently, I should appreciate not having AC for 3+ weeks because they could have told me this on day 1.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 386

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review