Read 454 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  426
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 454
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    BUYER BEWARE!

    • By Joseph K.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Dec 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has made our lives a living hell. They have made us call them over and over and over again. Giving us the runaround. Sending incompetent and unprofessional technicians. I am beyond devastated that this highly touted company would do this to active duty service members, or anyone for that matter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • By S K.,
    • Merced, CA,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wish I had read these reviews before. They increased my monthly premium after a year which I didn't notice for several months. When I called they said they will credit me, and transferred me to another representative (Jordan) who after 20 minutes of being on the call was trying to sell me to stay and charged me an administrative fee for cancellation. BIG SCAM, stay away from this company, or you will regret it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Cancellation when customer passes away.

    • By Jerry G.,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My father-in-law passed away the last week in September. I called American Home Shield the following week to cancel his agreement with them. Two months later they billed his credit card again. When I called back they said they had transferred the policy to me, which was a lie as they didn't even know any of my info. Then their rep said the bill was a cancellation fee, but the amount she quoted me did not match the amount charged on the credit card. The retention dept employee, Samantha, was totally unresponsive and couldn't explain any of their actions other than now they were charging a cancellation fee to a man that had passed away. This company is totally uncaring and bogus in the way they handled this cancellation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    DON'T DO IT!

    • By Janet A.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sixteen reviews on Yelp and the highest review is 2 stars...that says a lot. I've never done business with a company that's rated so low. Wish I would have seen these reviews before I contracted with American Home Shield. This company not only contracts out work to extremely unscrupulous contractors but they themselves are deceitful. I've only had them a few months and recently needed to request service for a steam boiler return leak - a fairly simple and straightforward repair. Yet it has been the most frustrating experience of my life having to deal with this company as well as the disreputable contractor that they assigned my service request to. Ultimately I opted to go with what they call a "cash out" for the service that was covered under my plan since my only options were to have to deal with the dreadful plumbing company that they assigned, or pay another deductible for them to reassign it to what I'm sure would just be a similarly shady company. I have no idea how this "cash out" is going to pan out since I have to sit and wait for them to call me with a value that they're willing to reimburse. And my understanding is that once they provide a value and I submit my receipt for the work that was completed the same day by the company that I hired on my own, it will take 14 to 21 days for me to receive a check in the mail. Needless to say, this contract will be terminated.

    For those thinking about contracting with this company, DON'T DO IT...YOU WILL REGRET IT! You're better off just putting some money aside every month and handling any unexpected repairs that way because this company will not help you in any way. They will just take your money and aggravate you when you try to get something repaired under your contract making the situation much, much worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • By John T.,
    • Turlock, CA,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Cheap replacements, work never completed, only willing to help after timeframe to charge another $100.

    Unintelligent customer service reps that do not understand basic common sense.

    Not always qualified repair people.

    Not recommended. Winter heater maintenance, did absolutely nothing, opened door, looked at the heater and said looks good here, 5 mins, cost $75.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SUCKS!

    • By Jessica W.,
    • Murfreesboro, TN,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have requested upon multiple attempts to get a copy of the recording from the sales agent and have not received anything from this company. They have a call center somewhere outside of the US that does everything in their power to not communicate with you. In October we purchased a Home Warranty because of a plumbing issue that we had to repair. Once the repair was made we then decided that we wanted an HW to protect us against any future unforeseeable problems. After a very detailed conversation that we had with the sales rep and her telling us the problem that we just had she said "it would have been covered", we opted for 2 plans. One plan for our personal home and one for our rental. Once the contracts came in, the items that we had inquired about stated that they were NOT covered. We then acted immediately to get some clarification about the phone call recording and as to what would be done to rectify the problem.

    Fast forward 2 months, 6 calls, 6 broken promises of returned phone calls after waiting on the line 2 hours each call for a supervisor and still have yet to have this problem resolved. I have since contacted my attorney and as of December 2nd, 2019 are still in limbo and even my attorney is waiting on hold.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • By John S.,
    • Ballwin, MO,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We paid them for over 7 years. When we really needed them for our air conditioner, they sent a representative and after about 5-7 minutes, he said we had to replace it ourselves. We actually only needed a repairman 3 other times during all those years. Not a good experience. If we had just saved our money, we could have just purchased a new one out of those funds. So when you hear them advertise that they will repair or replace your appliances and home items, don’t believe them. False advertising. We know. We experienced their bad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE COMPANY

    • By Mike A.,
    • Muncie, IN,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been requesting a refund on a service call on 11/4, and was told I would have it within 7-10 days. Well, 23 days later still no refund. I have talked to them numerous times and I get a different answer each time. Now they say 12/5 or so. DO NOT fall for their A+ rating from the BBB, as it not true. They have a B rating according to the TN BBB, and they have received over 10K complaints in the last 2 years. I have filed a complaint with the BBB and my state's attorney general. File complaints about this company as they are scammers and their corporate numbers go overseas not the US! DO NOT go with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Boiler problems and warranty company was crap

    • By Karen L.,
    • Michigan,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We switched protection plans from consumer energy to AHS warranty. Four months later our boiler furnace started leaking and misfiring. The warranty company sent out J&E Johnson Inc. They did repairs on the three leaks by replacing all the ball valves, and a list of other things that at meant nothing to the problem of misfiring but did fix the 3 leaks. They cleaned the burners but still misfired. Called them out a second time and they cleaned it and said they would order new burner tubes. Now the warranty company is refusing to cover the misfiring repair because they said we were over our annual limit of $1500.00. I was surprised to find out that all of the unnecessary work had put us over a limit that we didn't know we had. So, the warranty company says we have the ok to fix ourselves. So, we paid the $100 deductible, and our monthly payments, but now we have to pay to get the boiler fixed because it still misfires and is very dangerous. Worst warranty company ever. Will be going back to consumer's energy asap and not paying them another dime. The company that couldn't fix the misfire again was J&E Johnson Inc. What a joke. Also, the rude people that we had to talk to on the phone, were not fun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield isn’t worth it

    • By Mike B.,
    • Boise, ID,
    • Nov 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    AHS hires dishonest contractors who do not do repair work properly. When you discover the shoddy subpar work and report it to AHS, they don’t care. In fact, they won’t even let you speak with a manager to voice your concerns. I will not renew my contract with AHS. Plumbing contractor said he replaced the gas valve on my water heater but it was not done and the issue persists. Had a new plumber fix it but had to pay the service fee again! Ripoff!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not use this company!

    • By Kevin S.,
    • Carlsbad, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After 3 years of continuous service, we put in 2 service calls in the past week, and both were declined service.

    First, our furnace was turning on in the middle of the night and sounded like an explosion was going off. The rudest service technician came out and apparently smartphones diagnose HVAC issues as that is all he showed up and used in his 5 minutes in my home. Took some pictures, said it works, and said he couldn’t do anything and left before I could even ask any additional questions. It took them longer to process my payment than actually listen to the problem and look for a solution. When I called to complain, they said they would look into the matter and call me back. It’s been a week and no response.

    Then I just had them look at my garage door opener. There was a capacitor that had some charring and they immediately deemed it to be a power surge so they could not cover it. Although they cover the entire electrical system and the appliances connected to it, nothing is really covered.

    This company is a bunch of crooks and I can’t believe I have wasted thousands on them. I hope this helps at least one person to not use them so they do not have to go through what I am experiencing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 454

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review