Read 457 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  429
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 457
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not what you expect

    • By Lena,
    • Canoga Park, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They have sketchy contractors who avoid doing their job just collecting their fees. They are like the stackable washer and dryer, and they will not separate to do their work. It's like you have to remove the bolts so a tire can be changed. They will do anything to avoid doing their job, saying the problem is NOT covered and trying to make you pay separate fees directly to the contractors.

    For example, Friant is NOT covered, and mold and mildew on the drum of washer NOT covered. The contractors seem to know exactly what is NOT covered and push you to pay for what is NOT covered separately. Good LUCK!

    Here's a recommendation: whatever company they send out, look up their review before agreeing for them to come out. Ask for another company. These are NOT reputable Contractors. Sketchy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Do not use this company!

    • By Max Harris,
    • Beavercreek, OH,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've got a water pipe that is leaking in my basement. The leak is from the kitchen sink and dishwasher line and it is leaking into the unfinished portion of the basement. When I first discovered the leak, I called American Home Sheild and told them I needed a duct person because it looked like the water was dripping from a duct. The duct guy came and let me know that water is coming from a water line that is running above the duct. For my untrained eye, I didn't know that.

    The duct guy calls American Home Shield and tells them to get a plumber out to the house. The plumber comes and says he needs the duct guy to come and take down the duct so he can repair it. Once it is repaired, the duct guy can hang the ducting back up. American Home Shield will not pay for the duct guy to come and remove the ducting, but they will pay if they had to tear down the drywall, concrete, or ceiling to get to leaking pipe!

    Someone please help me understand why they would pay to destroy building materials, but not temp remove a duct?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Hot water heater issue

    • By Mary Daniel,
    • Virginia,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are not a good company. They are rude and they send repair people out to patch up things which then stop working. They want you to keep paying service call fees of $75 for their mistakes.

    My hot water heater is not working, so I called them on the 12/20/2016. Someone came out on 12/21/2016 to fix the problem, but on 12/27/2016 the problem got worse. I still don't have hot water, and they're telling me that they didn't send the company that came to fix it. I called that company, and they assured me the American Home Shield sent them. Now they want me to pay $75 more to send someone else out.

    I don't think this is fair, and this company is horrible. They refuse to give you numbers to a supervisor or even give you their names. Something needs to be done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    The worst service I've ever had.

    Every single time you call them, it's at least over an hour! I'm literally on hold while I write this. This is the 6th time I've called. We have been trying to get our plumbing fixed for over six months now, and still, not a single person has come to our house. They send you to cheap contractors, and if you contact them, they say they never have a request or don't have time to service you. Don't waste time or money on this ridiculous warranty. Go ANYWHERE else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do not use American Home Shield

    • By Sam Quinn,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is always a long 20 to 30-minute wait to reach an overworked, rude customer service person. I was just on hold for 20 minutes and got a busy noise and a hang-up. The website does not work, for I tried to log on and it shows that I do not have a contract, even though I have been paying for one for over two years.

    Do not waste your time or money with this wart of a company. Also, be aware that the Consumer Affairs website showing reviews is American Home Shield's own site. I tried leaving a negative review on that site, and it was deleted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    • By Brian,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The $42-per-month fee seems like a deal for the peace of mind, but you're way better setting that money aside in savings and handling repairs using qualified professionals.

    I had the plan for almost a year when my oven broke. I called American Home Shield, and they sent a technician out (there is a 7-hour window, so I had to work from home that day) and when I explained the issue, he collected his "service fee," and then set about "inspecting" my oven. For 30 minutes he tried to get the oven door off and finally had to look it up online on his phone. He then left and said he'd be back with me in 3-5 days.

    Two weeks passed, and I didn't hear from anyone, so I called American Home Shield, and they told me that my repair has been denied. They told me that the repair guy reported that I was "missing a part" and when I called BS, they sent another technician out. When the second guy arrived, I told him the story, and he asked me if I happened to have a video of the stove breaking. WHAT?

    I invited him to leave my property immediately and set about the long voyage of trying to cancel this awful contract. I sat on hold for 45 minutes longer than the usual 45-60 minute call, to be connected to someone in their "retention" office. This woman's attitude was awful, and she took a clear satisfaction in trying to avert my cancellation by assessing me an early cancellation fee.

    This is a racket and a fleecing operation, to put it kindly. Stay far, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    A waste of money

    • By Dave,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After paying over a decade of premiums my heater broke. After three months of no heat, it became clear to me that they were just stringing me along and would not make the repair. Every time you call, be prepared to wait an incredibly long time on hold. I ended up buying the heater out of my pocket for $4,700. They never denied the coverage; they just string you along until you give up to avoid making a costly repair. I would never recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't deal with American Home Shield

    • By Jameson Myers,
    • Van Buren, Arkansas,
    • Mar 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield is a scam. I purchased a home warranty a year ago and opted to purchase a warranty with an upgraded coverage to cover the pool and hot tub because I had concerns about issues that might arise in the future with these items.

    At closing, I received a paper documenting the purchase of the warranty and a promise from American Home Shield to send me my full contract package in the coming days which would detail my coverage. That way, if I ever had an issue with any equipment or appliances with the house or pool or hot tub, I would know and understand my coverage.

    Here it is, two weeks before my warranty is to expire and I have an issue with my pool light (electrical). I called American Home Shield and submitted a service request, and the contractor came out and diagnosed the problem. He said that it should not be an issue at all for American Home Shield to cover it since they do these all the time for them. Later on that day, I received a voicemail from American Home Shield saying they denied the claim. I'm out a $75 service fee for the contractor for nothing.

    The contractor is irate with American Home Shield because they're saying the pool light is not a part of the pool. How absurd is that! Pool equipment it is a part of the pool. I called back to American Home Shield and asked to speak with a manager, and the lady said that an email request had to be submitted to have a manager give you a callback. I said, "no, I will speak to a manager, or I will not get off the phone." So finally, a lady named Portia got on the phone, and I'm almost positive she was not a legitimate manager because she was not professional and just kept saying there is nothing we can do, and that we did send you a contract on April 26th when we didn't even close on our house until after that date.

    The bottom line is that American Home Shield doesn't care if they send you a contract, they would prefer if you didn't know what is covered or not. They just want you to purchase the warranty, and then they start subjectively deciding whether they want to cover your appliance or home items or not. There is currently 7,990 complaints that have been closed by American Home Shield in the last three years. I say closed because who really knows if the customer was really satisfied with the result of their complaint.

    I will tell everyone I know to not ever purchase a home warranty from American Home Shield. It's very telling in business when you have to keep changing your name. American Home Shield has been known by at least five other names. Please save yourself time, energy, and money and don't deal with this scam of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A garbabel company

    • By Xin Li,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to waste your money, go ahead. They only work with cheap repair companies so that they can pay less money. These cheap companies will not do good repair. They just show up and pretend to repair it for you. After 30 days or an even shorter period, I guarantee that your faucet will leak again, and your refrigerator will break again.

    Don't waste your time and money. After two bad experiences with American Home Shield and their unprofessional repair company, I decide to take a chance without coverage and pay more money to fire a professional repair company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Company

    This company has been nothing but a headache since day 1. The seller purchased the warranty on our home and we had no say in the coverage chosen. When we learned that it was the bare minimum of coverage and wanted to pay to upgrade it, American Home Shield would not allow us to upgrade the service. They said our only option would be to refund the seller her $500 and for us to buy our own coverage for $680. We have had to use our warranty for our AC that was supposed to be under warranty but got to spend $300 on refrigerant because they don't cover that.

    After our contract is up with this terrible company, I will definitely be shopping around for a company that cares about customer satisfaction. American Home Shield is NOT the company to go with!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Canceled policy after claims

    • By Raymond Roman,
    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were canceled without stated reason, presumably because of claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 457

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review