Read 453 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  425
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 453
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Pool pump

    • By Michael,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not sure where to start or exactly sure why a company like this is allowed to practice business. I have never filed a complaint or ever thought legal actions against a company and hope I never will. My initial request was for a pool filter issue, which is covered. American Home Shield contracted with a company called "Premium Contractors," which took over a month to resolve the issue, which included multiple visits from some of the rudest individuals/contractors I have met.

    The second request was to American Home Shield for my pool pump, which is covered and is 15 years old. They sent a contractor to the house who refused to call or text me after diagnosing it, since I wasn't present during his inspection. Later that night, I get a voice message from American Home Shield saying the contractor reported the pump motor stopped working because of secondary damage, leak, and rust, and he even took the liberty to tell them it wasn't due to wear and tear.

    After an hour with the American Home Shield authorization department trying to explain that I have never touched the pool pump, there was no leak or rust, and that it was working fine to the day before I called them when it started humming, but to no avail. I asked if the contractor had sent pictures of what he thought was the leak or rust, and I was told he hasn't because he sent a detailed diagnosis. When I asked for the detailed diagnosis, I was given the one liner I mentioned above. I also asked if he didn't take any pictures, wouldn't that raise concern to them that he made a concrete diagnosis which led them to deny the claim just on his word? I told her that I can send pictures to prove otherwise, and the reply was that it didn't matter and I quote, "at this point, it’s your word against his, and the claim has been denied, and there is nothing that can be done about it."

    Now, I am not naive enough to think that these contractors are hired for their ability to fix problems for consumers, or for their higher level of competency and moral aptitude. They work for the insurance company American Home Shield and their driver is to save them money by whatever means, so American Home Shield does not have to pay for things they should contractually be obligated to cover to secure future work orders.

    I requested a second look, which I'll need to pay the insurance for. I am still unsure why I am left in this position, trying to fight this in the first place. But this predatory behavior needs to be promptly addressed by the BBB. And while I do hope my issue gets resolved, I would plead with the BBB to PLEASE address this and HOLD this company liable/accountable for this behavior and similar ones, and not to overlook these consumer complaints.

    I work in the medical field, and if someone had used such manipulative and unethical practices and tactics, they would immediately lose their license and even be thrown in jail. Why is American Home Shield and similar companies not held to that standard and is able to prey on its customers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Bait and switch

    • By Lynn S.,
    • Colorado,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our washing machine broke so I went online and ordered service through AHS. Within 24 hours I was contacted for an appointment for the repair guy to come out. He came out a few days later. He came in, I showed him where the washing machine was, I told him that I didn't realize it wasn't working until I went to take the clothes out and they were wet even though the cycle was finished. He was here about 5 minutes or less told me it would be too much to fix, he would let them know. About a week later I receive a call from AHS informing me that his report was that I overloaded the washing machine or I put an object in it causing it to break and therefore, it would not be covered because it was not normal wear and tear.

    First of all, I have done laundry for 40 years. I have never "overloaded" a washing machine. I would never fraudulently put an object in it to break it. The home warranty was when something breaks they come out and fix it or replace it if it can't be fixed. Not only was my character attacked I was pretty much called a liar. I am a realtor and have recommended this warranty company to my clients for years. In fact, my client just bought one a few months ago. I WILL NEVER recommend them again. I feel like my character was attacked and I have never or would ever be fraudulent in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service for AC

    • By K I.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with AHS since June 2007 and in May of 2016 my AC stopped cooling the house. I finally get a chance to see if AHS will honor all they say they will about if they can’t fix something they will replace it.

    Long story short, my AC unit needed to be replaced and I was told they will only cover but I had to pay the contractor $1500 to repair the AC instead of replacing.

    I was furious. I told AHE to pay me the cost to replace the unit my self. They cut me a check for $297 after I provided a receipt that I had paid for a brand new AC unit out of pocket. So after being with them for 9 years and all I got was $297 towards AC replacement was a total rip off.

    Stay away from this company. They do not value long term customers or any customer from other reviews I read.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not what you expect

    • By Lena,
    • Canoga Park, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They have sketchy contractors who avoid doing their job just collecting their fees. They are like the stackable washer and dryer, and they will not separate to do their work. It's like you have to remove the bolts so a tire can be changed. They will do anything to avoid doing their job, saying the problem is NOT covered and trying to make you pay separate fees directly to the contractors.

    For example, Friant is NOT covered, and mold and mildew on the drum of washer NOT covered. The contractors seem to know exactly what is NOT covered and push you to pay for what is NOT covered separately. Good LUCK!

    Here's a recommendation: whatever company they send out, look up their review before agreeing for them to come out. Ask for another company. These are NOT reputable Contractors. Sketchy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    A waste of money

    • By Dave,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After paying over a decade of premiums my heater broke. After three months of no heat, it became clear to me that they were just stringing me along and would not make the repair. Every time you call, be prepared to wait an incredibly long time on hold. I ended up buying the heater out of my pocket for $4,700. They never denied the coverage; they just string you along until you give up to avoid making a costly repair. I would never recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • By Maria Chacon,
    • Newark, Delaware,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We recently purchased a home and were guaranteed everything worked well by the seller. When the gas company came out to do a safety inspection on the gas and also turn on the heater's "flame," they placed a red sticker on it because they said a part was wrong with it and it needed to be repaired before it could be turned on.

    We reached out to American Home Shield and had to call about five times in between work and school before a representative got on the phone with us, plus their phone calls were very backed up and they had us on hold for over 20 minutes every single time. When I spoke with the representative, we were able to request two contractors to come out, one for the electricity and one for the heater. 24 hours after that we received a call from the heating company to schedule an appointment, and we were able to schedule it for the next business day, which was great.

    Today the contractor came out and inspected the heater and said he would order the part that needed repair, which we pointed to him because we were told which part it was by the gas company that came out to evaluate it previously, and who had alerted us of the issue. Within hours the contractor informed me American Home Shield had denied the coverage because they said the homeowners (us) were already informed of the damage before we purchased the coverage, and he referred me to American Home Shield for further insight.

    I reached out to their customer service and waited on hold for a period of 30 minutes before speaking with a representative (no surprise there). She informed me that the contractor/technician informed their department that we had prior knowledge of the damage before purchasing the coverage. I let her know the technician let me know that's what they had told HIM and I wanted to know where they had obtained the information to make that assumption, and the representative let me know it was the technician and that she couldn't provide me with further details. I reached back out to the technician, who informed me he had not told them that, that he had only mentioned that we had pointed out to him the damage and that there was already a red sticker on there signaling the damage.

    He said he did not know how to further help me and basically didn't provide any direction on how I could solve this situation. I asked that he reach back out to American Home Shield and let them know he did not say we knew about the damage before the purchase of the coverage. I am planning to reach back out tomorrow, so hopefully he will have clarified the issue by then.

    I am disappointed by the service we have been provided and am amazed by the miscommunication and lack of information the representatives of American Home Shield have shown. I do not understand how they can come to the conclusion of denying a claim and not provide me with the details, and instead ask me to reach out to other people. I am not sure how this will be resolved, but I do not recommend their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total liars

    • By Frank Mularz,
    • Enterprise, AL,
    • May 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a customer for over eight years and in the last three weeks have been lied to three times. I was told no contractors were in my are, although I have had them before.

    Next, I was told that they would issue a check for the service so I could use someone locally. The check would arrive in 7 to 10 days. I called today and was told the check was never processed and it would be two more weeks to get it handled.

    It has now been four weeks.

    Stay away from these people. Their customer service can hardly be called that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Horrible and corrupt

    Never use American Home Shield!

    Once again, I have to pull up my contract and read to them the clause that shows I am covered! Every time I use AHS, it is a fight to get them to cover what the contract says they should cover. I have multiple contracts, and I have many properties. I have two other home warranty companies Choice Home Warranty and America's 1st Choice Home Warranty, and I never have this problem with either of these companies.

    Also, when the tech that AHS finally shows up (which is never when it is originally scheduled), they always claim that the repair isn't covered and will require me to pay an exorbitant amount of money. Yet when I refuse and request they send a second tech from a different company, it is approved by this tech, and I am told the first tech was lying!

    But don't take my word for it; on BBB they have 956 bad reviews out of 958 total reviews and 9223 BBB complaints!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    They avoid doing repairs at all costs

    • By Pebob b Baba,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a sham company. They will make up any excuse not to make valid repairs. Save yourself some money and just hire legit repair companies when you need repairs rather than invest money each year on a warranty company that charges you service visit fees but makes up any excuse imaginable to avoid spending money on replacement parts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Organized fraud!

    • By Reza M.,
    • California,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    FRAUD ALERT! American Home Shield and its network of service companies are conducting an organized fraud! My furnace made a sound suddenly Friday night and stopped blowing hot air! I called the American Home Shield as my home warranty and submit a service request the next day. They assigned me Metropolitan Heating and Air Conditioning to come and check, once they been assigned, I looked them up on Google and saw all the bad reviews! I got worried and I decided to call AHS first thing on Monday to ask for another company. But to my surprise, Metropolitan called the same day and said they had an opening and could come over to take a look at the furnace in an hour! I thought wow, that was fast and sounds great! Because it was really cold and I didn't want to spend the weekend with no heater! So I agreed and I thought maybe those couple of 5 stars are true!

    He came in, acted very friendly and nice, opened the closet door to furnace, took a picture, closed the door and wrote on a paper that the unit needs to be replaced and gave me a copy and said he will submit it to the warranty company and it might take 7-10 days for replacing the unit, and he left, the whole thing was under 5 minutes! He DID NOT EVEN TRY to turn on the unit and see if it was working or not or what was the problem! I got really worried, but then I fooled myself, maybe he is very experienced! And sure enough, as everybody else mentioned on those bad reviews, I got a call from AHS saying your claim was rejected because the technician believes the problem was pre-existing! WHAT? I asked, "Based on what evidence? Do you mean that we've been in freezing cold weather with no heater for months? NONSENSE!" She had no answer and simply said that this is what the technician reported and we will go with that! She then said we can send another company for a second opinion, but if they say the same thing, that there is another $100 service fee, I asked her who would be the other company because I want to Google them before having them come in, she gave me another name and when I searched, guess what? Same reviews! I asked for another company, the same thing!

    She gave me 5 different names and they all had the same bad reviews about people paid the service fee for nothing! That is where I realized it's an organized fraud! They are just looking for the $100 service fee! $100 for 5 minutes doing basically NOTHING! That is good money! After that, I called Metropolitan to simply ask based on what he concluded that it was pre-existing? And sure enough, he did not answer and never returned my calls! I told the story to a friend of mine; he referred me to another technician that he knew, the guy came in and in 20 minutes fixed the furnace by replacing some wires for $180! My furnace is working even better than before now!

    I called them to cancel the contract, they give you a number to call to cancel and no one answers that phone!

    As the other reviewer suggested, I'm going to file with the state for this fraud as well! And I recommend everyone to do the same so we can stop these guys from rubbing people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Directly lied to...

    • By M Joseph T.,
    • Mobile, AL,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Willow S. Fri, 06/14/19 11:42:23 am America/Chicago

    Hello. How may I help you?

    Are you still there?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:43:53 am

    hi yes

    I would like to cancel my insurance contract

    Willow S. 11:44:18 am

    Hi! I'm happy to assist! One moment please while I access your account.

    May I ask the reason you would like to cancel your warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:46:09 am

    We are cancelling because we weren't impressed with the services we received... also, the salesman who originally sold me the policy said that i could choose my own contractor but would have to be reimbursed. When the time came... I wasn't allowed to use a company of my choosing.

    Willow S. 11:47:53 am

    I apologize that were misinformed. The only time AHS will authorize an outside technician is when there are no AHS Network Contractors available to accept a given service request. I can offer a trade service fee coupon which can be redeemed on your next service request if you would like to retain the warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:49:21 am

    Also.. my wife and 5 year old son were hot for two weeks while waiting for the issue to be resolved. As for the above... it's not what i was originally told.. I was lied to. I would never have purchased the warrant had i known the truth. I would like to cancel.

    warranty*

    Willow S. 11:50:30 am

    I understand, one moment while I process you request.

    There is an Administration Fee of $53.82 due to process the cancellation. Would you like to use payment method we have on file for this transaction?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:52:50 am

    Your going to charge me a fee to cancel?? After hearing about my horrible experience with YOUR company!?!

    You need to get this fee waived before I post my experiences to all major social media, google reviews, BBB Etc...

    Willow S. 11:55:25 am

    The administration fee cannot be waived. If you are unwilling to pay the fee I can submit your request rather than process it now to our retentions team. They will reach out to you to discuss your cancellation within 3-5 business days and to process your cancellation request.

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:56:00 am

    Process it now.. Charge the fee.

    I hope all of the bad publicity is worth $53 to AHS

    Willow S. 11:56:50 am

    Your request has been processed and your warranty is now cancelled.

    Is there anything else I can assist you with at this time?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:57:00 am

    No

    Worst. Company. Ever.

    You rated our customer service as bad

    11:57:19 am

    Willow S. 11:57:55 am

    Thank you for contacting AHS via chat! Have a great day! You may close the chat session at your convince.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 453

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review