Start your review of American Home Shield:
  • 477 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY

    • By Garry P.,
    • Augusta, GA,
    • Mar 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    After paying this company for years and finally using them for a service, I now realize that they are a bunch of scam artists. I opened a claim for my hot water heater and they sent out a plumber to assess. The plumber said that the damage to my heater was due to high water pressure, which voided service through AHS. I ultimately had to pay more than $500 out of pocket to fix my water heater and to install a PRV. However, for about three months after that, I’ve had so little water pressure in my house that I couldn’t have to faucets running at the same time. I finally called AHS again when I start my sprinkler system for the first time since they installed this PRV and realized that there wasn’t enough water pressure to make one sprinkler head work.

    It took over three hours until I got a customer representative to help me, after two substandard customer reps hung up in my face, and one customer rep putting me on hold for about 30 mins. To make things worse, these reps went into my AHS account and changed my phone number, address, and email so that when I attempted to call through the AHS automated service, the service was unable to find my contract when I used my phone number and zip code for authentication. I had to go into my account twice and fix my personal information before the automated service could associate my personal information with my contract because these no good reps were deliberately changing it so I couldn’t use the telephonic service.

    It turned out that I already had a PRV on my system (at the main water valve) and my original water pressure was correct at 80 psi. When I asked AHS if they’d reimburse me for this screw-up, they said NO, and that I’d have to contact the plumbing service myself. When I began telling another rep how this was unfair and that I wanted to talk to her supervisor, she also hung up on me (third time). I closed my account with these scumbags and is now giving Choice Warranty a try. BEWARE OF AMERICAN HOME SHIELD!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service

    • By Jeannette H.,
    • Bedford, VA,
    • Mar 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    After 5 years of the monthly payment being increased, I never had a claim, I looked around for another company and found one. I contacted AHS to cancel my policy. I received the cancellation notice and was assured that I would not be billed any further. I was billed the next month. I contacted the company by phone and was told that it was a mistake and they would take care of it and call me back. Surprise, no call and no refund. I don't know what would have happened had I needed them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a rip off

    • By Samuel H.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Mar 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My boiler stopped working. They authorized J.A. Heating, South Hills, PA to come out. They came out and analyzed the problem wrong. They were to install a safety switch and call back. They never did. American Home Shield was supposed to authorize S&S Climate Systems, told me they would authorize payment. Nothing was entered into the record, they refused to pay. Customer service even hung up on the repairman from S&S Climate Systems. American Home Shield reps were disrespectful, lied, and refused to pay the repairman for S&S Climate. I have canceled the warranty for everything in my home. American Home Shield is not a reputable warranty company. Don't do business with American Home Shield, they will rip you off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refused to allow service provider to correctly fix issue

    • By Janine K.,
    • Elk Grove, CA,
    • Mar 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    The plumbing in my whole house drained slow; plus the toilets repeatedly were stoppage. AHS sent out a Budget Rooter plumber service who refused to do what was needed to fix the problem because they stated AHS would not pay them. The plumber came out 4 times and never truly fixed my issue. So I had to hire an outside plumber to come to fix the issue. Home Warranties limit what can actually be fixed so I believe they are a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience ever

    • By Susan K.,
    • Menifee, CA,
    • Feb 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased a home warranty from American Home Shield and had several disappointing experiences. Most of the technicians barely spoke English and had a heavy accent. One guy was here to repair our A/C and didn’t even bring a ladder to get up on the roof!

    When we tried to cancel our warranty, we were bumped from 1 representative to another trying to sell us different coverage. Finally we were told that it would cost us $39 to cancel!

    It’s a racket and NOT worth the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Washing Machine Repair

    • By Percy B.,
    • Oxford, AL,
    • Feb 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been trying for the last eight weeks to get our washing machine repaired. The first time it took over a week to get a serviceman. Then it took two weeks to get parts and another week to get the serviceman back. It worked for a week and then had the same problem. It took another week to get a serviceman. Then it took five days for them to send the wrong part. The serviceman asked them to overnight the correct part but they didn't. Four days later we call and were told it was under review, at that point the washer wouldn't work at all so we thought they were considering replacing the washer. Two days later (today) we call and what they were reviewing was sending the part. My conclusion is American Home Shield is not going to replace your washer. We are going to buy a new washer. We can't wait any longer to have a washing machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Billing department not very good

    • By Joan E.,
    • Orange, CA,
    • Feb 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Joined December 2019, got the Pick 10 plan. A couple of weeks later I added electrical for a one-time payment of $24, they took out the payment of $24 four times, I wanted my credit back for $72! Account was overdrawn due to them taking out more money...they use part of the money for another payment and we’re gonna keep the money for all the payments and I want my $42.01 back. It’s taken three weeks now to get them to do it, to fill out the form. They lost my billing information, it’s ridiculous, so they had to put that back in and they’ve already billed me before now. They say it’s gonna be another seven days because they filled out another form so don’t plan on me staying with this company long.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Three service fee charges for 1 service call

    • By Billy C.,
    • Bowman, SC,
    • Feb 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My credit card has been charged 3 times for one service call on January 30th. The charges were at about 4:30 PM and 8:30 PM on January 30th. Another charge of $75.00 at about 10:30 PM on February 1st. Three charges for 1 service call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Linda P.,
    • Newcastle, WY,
    • Jan 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been with American Home Shield and our Whirlpool Washer had a Code come up on it. So we called American Home Shield to get it fixed. They could not find a technician in our area. So they told us to find a tech to come fix it. We could find no one in our area to come fix the washer. Troubleshooting the problem we bought the parts to replace what could be the cause. Our washer still was not working, after 7 months without a washer, we contacted American Home Shield and sent the list of parts used and the cost. They would not reimburse us for the parts. We told them we could not find a technician. We finally went and bought another washer, which they refused to reimburse us for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pay attention to all these negative reviews

    • By Paul G.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jan 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My hot water heater went out. They charged me $75.00 for the initial call. The contractor came out the next morning. After examining the heater he told me a wire in my thermostat was broken, "I can't prove it but I think he intentionally cut the wire", and told me I needed a new hot water heater. He then went to his van to contact AHS, after a few minutes he came back and told me their system was down. No explanation. Then he left with no word. I contacted AHS the next Monday. AHS told me that my hot water heater was full of sediment, and that my claim was denied. The contractor and AHS both boldface lied to me about what was wrong with my heater. At that time I called AHS again, yelled and screamed at them until my voice quit working. I ask for my money back and they flat out refused. After going up the chain of command I finally got to someone who could speak clear English, and in a so-called supervisory position. I explained my problem for the umpteenth time, to no avail. I specifically canceled my contract with them and asked for all my money back that I have been paying into them for several years. Of course they refused, but were generous enough to refund me $13.00. The one and only time that I ever called for service from them. The next month I checked my bank statement and found out they were still charging me their monthly fee. I called them back again and asked why they were still charging me their monthly fee, and they said I never canceled my contract. These people are LIARS, CHEATS, AND THIEVES. THIS A HUGE SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Assurances are pretty but are not facts

    • By Maranda S.,
    • Clinton, TN,
    • Jan 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Assured multiple times from American Home Shield and realtor that yes they would most definitely cover and repair or replace any appliance necessary. $700 for a year (I was told a "special time offer") and $100 for each call out for service ($300 so far). So far $1000 shelled out. What I had repaired? A cheap thermostat and a wax ring for the toilet. Def nowhere near $1000 worth of service or work. Now for the third visit, my HVAC is out. Was assured once again before purchasing by American Home Shield and relator that yes they covered and would replace unit if necessary. The guy that came out was condescending and annoying. Said compressor needed to be replaced and that yes, American Home Shield would cover it and had to order a part.

    A few days later the same guy calls like a salesman on behalf of American Home Shield offering us a deal on behalf of American Home Shield. Says American Home Shield will give us $1000 down towards a new HVAC. (So basically they KNOW it needs to replaced but refuse to do so as promised.) We cannot afford a new HVAC, which is why we got this coverage to begin with upon the assurance (lies) that American Home Shield WOULD DEFINITELY cover or replace the unit. Obviously we turned them down. If we had money to replace everything we wouldn’t need them! Two weeks later American Home Shield contacts husband, says the part is in but that unit needs freon, which is $900 but will only cover $90. I am in the process of asking for a refund. So we could have gone into debt even further after going into debt for a new home, and had $1000 to assure our children had heat all winter, but instead we're assured broken promises by American Home Shield and basically threw away $1000.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 477

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield