Read 467 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  439
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 467
Sort reviews by:

  • Assurances are pretty but are not facts

    • By Maranda S.,
    • Clinton, TN,
    • Jan 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Assured multiple times from American Home Shield and realtor that yes they would most definitely cover and repair or replace any appliance necessary. $700 for a year (I was told a "special time offer") and $100 for each call out for service ($300 so far). So far $1000 shelled out. What I had repaired? A cheap thermostat and a wax ring for the toilet. Def nowhere near $1000 worth of service or work. Now for the third visit, my HVAC is out. Was assured once again before purchasing by American Home Shield and relator that yes they covered and would replace unit if necessary. The guy that came out was condescending and annoying. Said compressor needed to be replaced and that yes, American Home Shield would cover it and had to order a part.

    A few days later the same guy calls like a salesman on behalf of American Home Shield offering us a deal on behalf of American Home Shield. Says American Home Shield will give us $1000 down towards a new HVAC. (So basically they KNOW it needs to replaced but refuse to do so as promised.) We cannot afford a new HVAC, which is why we got this coverage to begin with upon the assurance (lies) that American Home Shield WOULD DEFINITELY cover or replace the unit. Obviously we turned them down. If we had money to replace everything we wouldn’t need them! Two weeks later American Home Shield contacts husband, says the part is in but that unit needs freon, which is $900 but will only cover $90. I am in the process of asking for a refund. So we could have gone into debt even further after going into debt for a new home, and had $1000 to assure our children had heat all winter, but instead we're assured broken promises by American Home Shield and basically threw away $1000.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paid for no service

    • By Eirleen B.,
    • Slidell, LA,
    • Jan 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been under contract for at least 3 years, paying every month. I asked them to fix my AC/heat pump; they made me pay $125 beforehand. Nothing was done, although the repairman came and left. I heard nothing about what was wrong so I called back, only to be told it was not covered. They said that even though they did NOTHING, because it was not covered, they refused to refund the $125, I REPEAT -NOTHING WAS DONE, NO DIAGNOSIS WAS MADE. No one asked me questions that might have made a difference. Furthermore, had I not called after a week, I would not have known anything because no one contacted me. I could have waited forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam!

    • By Terry S.,
    • Tustin, CA,
    • Jan 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for AHS last summer. I called them last week to check out my heat pump. The guy that came out said that the service valve was broken and that it was caused by somebody stepping on the line from the unit to the building. They denied my claim. I looked at the valve and the line and there was no damage. When they denied the claim they told me that I could use the guy that came out to fix it if I wanted and he would do it for $800. I called a reputable local AC company and they came out. The valve is fine, the line is fine, it was low on refrigerant and had a small leak somewhere in the system. There was no leak around the valve. He put in some sealer and refrigerant and said that should do it. Don't buy American Home Shield insurance. When you need them they will find a reason to deny your claim!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield has never properly fixed anything I've called on

    • By Dave S.,
    • Montgomery, TX,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Last year I was without AC in SE Texas for two weeks in August. When they finally fixed, the repair lasted two weeks. Getting ahold of someone to remedy was near impossible.

    Last Friday I reported a leaking washer. Tuesday someone came without parts. Wednesday they called to schedule coming back Thursday between 10-2 because they need more information before ordering the part. It's after 2 pm and nothing. Online AHS says the job is completed. I tried to update as not completed without success. My 2 years is up in February and I'll drop them like a lead balloon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor communication and customer support

    • By Lydia Q.,
    • Washington,
    • Jan 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had a problem with my plumbing for over three weeks now. I was sent a plumbing company that couldn't resolve the problem and obviously needed a camera to see where the blockage is, as per the first plumbing company's suggestion. I called AHS several times about the problem and my plumbing issue is still not resolved. A company was assigned and I was hoping that they will bring a camera, well, I was told by the second company it wasn't in their order and so they snake it anyway but it still didn't work. So here I am, I have three weeks of plumbing issue. So I called AHS again and tried to talk to a supervisor or customer support but no one is available. Of course that's what they will say. The second plumbing company stated AHS will not pay for a camera.

    I will complain to the Business Bureau if this is not resolved soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HVAC installation

    • By Gail B.,
    • Louisa, VA,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    First I would like to state that we will not be bullied by American Home Shield or A-Advanced Heating and Air. You have both stated that unless we allow A-Advanced to come back into our home, all warranties will be voided. I'm curious to know how a warranty can be voided when the work was not been completed satisfactorily and we have records of numerous calls to A-Advanced and scheduled appointments to fix the problem. Also, since the line set was the original problem according to Nick from A-Advanced, explain how you can void a warranty when the line set has never been replaced. After conversations with other HVAC companies, they are all in agreement when they say that an R-22 line set should NEVER be used with a 410 system. They warned that there could be major problems down the road and that there is no time frame for problems to come. So unless you both plan to be dishonest about the actual work done, I see no way your threats will hold up in court. As far as AHS suggesting that they will have the manufacturer come in to ensure all is proper, why don't you have them come in and bypass A-Advanced? Manny himself stated to Byron and I that they are unfamiliar with this type of unit, so why would we have an inexperienced repairman work on our unit again?

    We feel the problem is this: AHS has religiously taken our payment every month. We contacted them about a problem and they sent A-Advanced to our home. We were told the line set had holes and was leaking and that it didn't make sense to repair the line when R-22 would be unavailable after December 31, 2019. So we decided to replace the entire system. The repairman came and did so but stated no thermostat was sent. He noted that the old thermostat was incompatible with the new unit. I contacted Heather at A-Advanced and she said they would locate one and someone would be out. The first appointment for the thermostat, the repairman was a no show, no call. The second appointment, two men came and after attempting to install the thermostat for approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes, they said they could not make it work, and put the old thermostat back on. I contacted Heather again and explained the situation along with the fact that the repairmen had tracked mud on my dining room carpet. I did not realize at that time how much mud there was and I told her I would try to clean it myself.

    The next appointment, Manny came and installed the thermostat and stated that this was a new system and they were unfamiliar with it. I showed him the carpet at that time and he stated that his guys don't always think, but that they have a carpet cleaning service they use for situations like this. No one from A-Advanced has bothered to contact us about our carpet being cleaned. The morning after Manny left, the temperature downstairs was 48 degrees. The unit was running but not heating. I turned on the emergency heat to try and heat up the house at 6:30 am. I forgot to turn it off when I left at 7:30 am and it ran all day. When Byron got home, the temperature was still 48 degrees and the unit was still running. He had to travel 15 miles that night to buy kerosene to use in our heater. We complained again and someone was supposed to come out on the Sunday before Christmas. At that time, Heather also mentioned that they needed to come out to replace the line set. It was not until then that we realized the line set had not been replaced when the new unit was installed. That means that the old line with R-22 was used on the new system, which is 410. On Sunday, the repairman did call to say he had car trouble and would not be able to come.

    No follow-up appointments were scheduled by A-Advanced. We were lied to about the line set obviously, since they used the old one with the new system. We have been lied to about the carpet being cleaned. We were lied to by AHS when one of the representatives told us on the Tuesday before Christmas that someone from the department that oversees the contractors would be getting in touch with us. To date, that has not happened. Now we are being told that no such department exists.

    We have no faith in this system at this point. Some days it heats fine, other days our downstairs is freezing. A resolution in our opinion would be to have this system removed and a new one installed with a new line set. We don't feel that A-Advanced has the experience with this type of system to satisfactorily install this unit. We also don't feel that AHS has represented itself in the best light. We are your customer yet you seem more interested in assuaging the feelings of A-Advanced than satisfying your customer.

    Again, we reiterate, we will not be bullied by either of you and we won't be giving you thirty (30) days to fix this problem. No satisfactory solution from you within 14 days will result in consultation with our attorney. We have already contacted the BBB about both companies and will contact any and everyone else we can think of to report your business practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BAD CONTRACTOR

    • By Carolyn G.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jan 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called on 12/16/19 to have my washing machine repaired. I called to set up a time with the repair person from Fast Tech. I came out on 12/16/19 at about 6 pm. He told me after diagnosing my washing machine that it needs a belt.

    I had to wait about 2 weeks for a part and then another 5 days before he would put the part on. He came on Saturday, December 28th around 6 pm again. After he put the part on now he said the washing machine needs another part and just walked out of the house mumbling something. This is a sham of a contractor and when I called AHS I told them I do not trust him and please send someone else out. I got yelled at by a supervisor, disconnected, and told that since he started I have to keep him. No one from the company has called to let me know anything. I have been a customer for over 2 years. Please help me get this resolved ASAP. I need my washing machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent home warranty company

    • By Robin C.,
    • Winder, GA,
    • Jan 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't speak highly enough about American Home Shield (AHS)! Our washing machine stopped going through all of the cycles. AHS sent a repair person out, they diagnosed the problem, ordered the part and instructed me to call once the part arrived. We scheduled an appointment once the part arrived. We had to be available from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm and took a day off from work to be available. They canceled the appointment at 6:30 pm. I was certainly displeased with A&E and contacted AHS. They immediately scheduled another technician with a different company to come out and install the part to the washing machine. Excellent service! They immediately scheduled for the initial issue and corrected the resulting issue as soon as possible. I'm certainly impressed with their follow-through and couldn't ask for more. They had no control over A&E canceling but the took corrective action with positive results. I strongly recommend AHS for all your home warranty needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money. Skip it!

    • By Angela C.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jan 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Another terrible home warranty company. I was with OneGuard prior to switching and decided to switch to AHS. When switching, I specifically asked if they covered refrigerator coolant as I knew OneGuard was going to stop covering it and an old AC unit was really the only thing I was looking to cover. Finally this AC unit went down. JJ’s Fire and Ice was my assigned contractor. I was told they needed a small part and would call me when they had it. Three weeks later I called them and was told they were still waiting on it. Two weeks after that I got an email from AHS stating that my "service was complete". Nothing had been done and nobody from JJ’s Fire and Ice had even attempted to contact me. I then called AHS, who told me they would look into it. Today, another two weeks later, I got an email from AHS stating that the part is in, but it would cost $770 for coolant.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    • By Lea L.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company should not be allowed a business license in Nevada.

    The WORST customer service. On hold for over an hour two times attempting to get service on my appliances. Terrible customer relations and they use companies that are equally as bad.

    I canceled my contract and would rather pay a specialist in my appliances to come out and avoid the aggravation.

    You can follow my advice or find out yourself how horrible this company operates.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Emergency service denied!

    • By Rosalie C.,
    • Independence, OR,
    • Dec 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a plumbing problem a few weeks ago that required immediate attention. They said they couldn’t have anybody out for 3 days even though I told them I had a disabled person in the home and driving her to a gas station several times a day was NOT an option! I ended up having to go through someone else and it cost me $500!

    Now a few more weeks later they denied me again for an electrical issue that should have been covered!

    I’m livid! Do NOT hire this HORRIBLE HORRIBLE company! It’s a complete ripoff!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 467

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
American Home Shield