Read 387 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  363
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 387
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    This shouldn't be legal

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called to get service after paying for 16 months and they assigned me to a contractor who caused a lot of damage at my neighbors home last year. I called to switch contractors (they said it would be no problem - just a few days wait), but they assigned me back to the same company.

    This dance continued for nearly a month until the last time I called someone put me on hold for 5 minutes to tell me that in my area there were no other contractors available.

    This contractor has not even called me to schedule an appointment.

    So I canceled my contract because I couldn't get my AC repaired and it's the middle of summer. Low and behold - they charge me a $40 cancellation fee which was never mentioned prior and maaaaybe it's mentioned in the contract as some kind of "admin fee", but it's unclear.

    Anyways, they say they can't take the fee off even though they couldn't provide service, the contractor didn't contact me to provide service, and because apparently, I should appreciate not having AC for 3+ weeks because they could have told me this on day 1.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst warranty company ever.

    • Plano, TX,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Paid 25 years but when water heater went out they asked me to pay $750 for items not covered. It is a scam. Also, when the AC unit went out they did not pay, got half the cost of repair and asked me to pay over $800 as code upgrade when the city code compliance officer wrote a letter saying they are wrong. It only hires crooked contractors to side with the company to not pay for items. Rude customer service, and if you complain they raise your rate on renewal to get rid of you and to not pay on items covered.

    Only a moron will contract with AHS. Don’t be a moron and an idiot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield - Shield Complete: Big name, poor delivery, horrible service.

    • Buffalo Grove, IL,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The service of American Home Shield is horrible and beyond. It has been over two weeks, our AC is down in peak summer. After diagnosis set up by American Home Shield, they claim that they have not received a response diagnosis report from third party contractor, while our family fries in the heat. After follow up every day in the week, the same message communicated without providing a firm date for fixing the issue. After several call attempts, I was asked not to call them, instead, they will call me to update, which has not happened in the last week. These behaviors clearly indicate the practice of dishonesty, low integrity, and poor customer service. In my opinion, this is just an excuse for not getting it done or any intention on fulfilling the promise as in the coverage. I am not going to continue with them and will not recommend anyone either. Big-name company, but poor delivery.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM! They denied coverage and kept deductible. Avoid them.

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I filed a claim because my garage door jammed. American Home Shield demanded $100 deductible to be paid before they would schedule a technician to come out. I paid it. Next day, the technician arrived but told me American Home Shield denied coverage because the "garage door opener" did not break. Instead, a wire came loose causing the door to tilt and jam. The door and springs, etc. are not covered; only the "opener." He said he could fix it for $99, which I paid and he fixed.

    American Home Shield refused to return my deductible, even though they denied coverage. This is unconscionable. Avoid doing business with this company. You will be sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I canceled my coverage, American Home Shield never refunded the balance.

    I paid for a year in advance. And canceled mid-contract. They owe me about $300. They credited me with $26, with no explanation, no spreadsheet, no computation of credits and deductions.

    I’ve called three times and so far have gotten no resolution, just broken promises. Each time I call, I spend 30-60 minutes on the phone, with people in a foreign call center who are not given the records or the authority to solve my problem. And the people who can solve my problem DON’T talk to me! They do quickly dispatch vendors to fix your house, but the often don’t have the tools or parts on their truck to solve your problem. Not to mention all of the policy exclusions they invoke so they don’t have to fix your problem. It was easier and cheaper for me to fix the problems myself!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No recourse for unprofessional contractors

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The contract company did not repair my appliance after 3 attempts and told me it was broken beyond repair, however, they marked the work "completed" with AHS. When I spoke to AHS, the only options available to me were 1) have the same company come out a 4th time or 2) pay another service fee for a different contractor to come out. When I asked about being refunded for my service call, of which the service was not completed, I was told that was not an option. When I asked about a replacement product for my broken one, I was told that is not an option. When I asked to elevate my case and speak with a supervisor, I was put on hold and then told to expect a call back in 1 hour (which I never received). I will not be renewing my warranty based on this experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    DON'T GET SCAMMED LIKE I DID

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam. We had our water heater go out and the first company they sent out couldn't do the job. They said they needed to send out another tech on that Friday. I took time off work to wait for the guy to fix the water heater and he just inspected it, told me he needed to go get some parts from the shop and never came back! I called the company and no one answered. I then called American Home Shield to see that they closed the ticket. THEY CLOSED THE TICKET WITH NO RESOLUTION! I was furious but told them the issue was not fixed so they offered to send another company. (The first company was the worst-rated plumbing company in our area. Their solution was to send the second-worst rated plumbing company out.) So now my wife and I have been 3 weeks without hot water.

    The second company comes out and tells us the unit needs to be replaced. He leaves an estimate with us and goes back to his shop. We wait to hear from American Home Shield if they are going to authorize the replacement. One week goes by and I call them to see the status of our claim. THEY CLOSED THE TICKET AGAIN! At this point, I am irate and I call to find out what happened. They give me the same canned BS deflecting their mistakes and they need to get a hold of the plumbing company to get an official notice. This goes on for 5 weeks. I call them daily and the excuse is always the same, the plumbing company hasn't answered their calls. I have three different representatives promise to call me back within 48 hours and not one time did they ever call me back. I had to chase them down. Finally they said they just needed a copy of the work estimate to release the funds in the form of a check to me. Well, they didn't know that I had a copy of that so I sent it to them. I call the next day only to find out that magically the rules have changed and that isn't enough. So I have done everything and they kept moving their "requirements." SO I had to go three months without hot water to find out that they just weren't going to do anything for me.

    This company is god awful and should be shut down. Don't be like me and be stuck with this awful BS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Shady business practices

    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money, this place is an absolute scam. Going on the second instance of no AC for OVER a month and a half in the middle of an Alabama summer for the same part. Weekend support (if you can call it that) could see the part on order, but had no arrival date. Monday the full-time support lied and said they just got the diagnosis from the subcontractor and just now ordered the PART. I have had a warranty now for over TEN years while they have continued to do patch job repairs on a 30-year-old AC! What's worse is I am in the military and rely on them to take care of my home while I am away, but all you do is take my money for the better part of a decade. I am still waiting on a "supervisor" to call me to get this resolved so I figured this might get your attention. Did you know there is a whole other page dedicated to people that hate your company!? I'd be super proud of that, great job AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jul 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order for my water heater and a leaking pipe. Service was denied because the water heater wasn't installed properly, which it wasn't that was on me. The pipe wasn't covered because it wasn't installed properly and the pipes were there when the house was built in the 1940s. They denied both claims and still charged me $100 for the service call. I thought the $100 deductible was for when a job was performed. How can they charge you for a deductible when no work was even done. I was pissed to the fullest. I will be canceling both my policies for my 2 properties. I'm going back to the old company that I was with for years. They went up on my deductible, but they all ways fixed everything with no questions. Don't waste your money with this company, you will be disappointed when you make a claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Overall experience

    • West Salem, WI,
    • Jul 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a customer of American Home Shield from October 2009 until we sold our home in June 2019. For the first 5 years with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 3 stars. They did cover the replacement of a dishwasher during this time, however, we also had service calls for our central air conditioner that they would not pay. In October 2013 we transferred our policy to a new location. During this time, we had 3 problems with our central air unit, and 2 with our furnace that American Home Shield would not cover. Upon the sale of our home in June 2019, we purchased a one year warranty with American Home Shield for the new buyers of the home at their request. 30 days after the sale of the property, I receive a notice that they were sending me to collections because of a late payment for Administration Cancellations.

    For the last 5 years of our contract with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 1-2 stars. American Home Shield's business practices have greatly degraded over the last 5 years. Now I am putting the cost of the monthly policy into a savings account for future repairs. YouTube is a great tool for advice and instructions on many repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Air conditioning...YOU PAY!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These crooks made me wait 2 weeks before telling me they won't honor the contract! A power surge blew my air conditioner and that's not covered! A freaking scam. They didn't even analyze the problem. Some guy took pictures for 5 minutes and that was it.

    NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 387

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review