Read 452 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  424
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 452
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Just...don't

    Worst customer service EVER. This company is set up to profit, which means, they do not pay out, and will look for every excuse not to. Within two years, they "replaced" my evaporator coil twice, and when it broke the third time, again only offered replacement of the part, not to replace the 12-year-old unit. Instead, I opted for the cash out of $690, but ha, ya, umm...of course they every excuse not to pay this. Did I mention that every time they replaced the coil, I had to pay $600 out of pocket for freon, in addition to the $125 service call? Wicked scammers, this company. You are so much better off paying for repairs out of pocket. Save the premiums and bank them to cover repairs the right way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • By Chris R.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Zero stars. Water heater went out. Set up appointment. The plumber showed up the next day. Diagnosis: water heater shot, needs replacement. AHS leaves me a message saying it will be $465 in additional out of pocket cost due to additional plumbing ($100), expansion tank ($285), relief valve ($75). Asked for a cash-out but that really doesn't exist - you must provide a receipt for completed work and they will send a check ($432). I can have one installed by my own contractor for $750. I can buy one and install myself for $400. No matter how you work it, I will be out roughly $600 after my $120 deductible. The AHS contractor greatly marks up parts and labor to screw you as he knows you have no recourse. The expansion tank can be bought for $30 and the relief valve for $15. The contractor nails you for a hefty $350 profit for his inflated prices on all the extras. What a racket. Don't bother with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Customer service issues

    • By Erika T.,
    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the third time I’ve used AHS, most of my experience has been good. My major issue is with customer service. Once your order is set up, the calls seem to only go to an overseas customer service center. My issue with this is though they understand English, they often don’t understand the context of your words. I purchased my home last year and have a room that has an old gas wall heater. Without it working the room is unusable in winter. I called, had a nice young man come out and turn it on but was unable to identify if it should have a thermostat on the wall or some other on-off switch. He left stating he’d do some research and get back to me. Instead I get a call from AHS saying they can’t fix it and that it’s missing a thermostat and they don’t do replacement of equipment. Not what tech advised, I’d like a second opinion. Here’s where the problems begin.

    First they schedule the second opinion with the same company...I call them, of course they advise they don’t do a second opinion on their own work. Call AHS again, get out of country customer service...first person says the second opinion should have never been scheduled, attempts to cancel the order altogether. After speaking to several people to get this corrected, they schedule with another company. That company never called, never answered my calls, and had no voicemail. I wait expecting that maybe they’re busy as we’re entering heating season in Michigan. After 6 days I call, get someone out of the country again. I explain the contact issues with the company. He calls, has the same problem, then returns to tell me he will email them and for me to wait for a call. Of course at this point that is unacceptable. I ask for a supervisor. After being put on hold twice he tells me there are no supervisors and I must wait for the tech to respond by email. At this point, I call back multiple times until I finally get someone in the US. She apologized and acknowledged this was unreasonable. She scheduled my appointment and even called the company to ensure availability. I believe her name was Brandy. We will see how this next visit goes.

    Bottom line it shouldn’t take nearly 10 calls to get properly assisted. I realize at this point for business reasons companies will use out of country customer service but they should not be the ones that take calls when someone has a problem. They are typically very polite but are nearly never able to solve problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam company, not worth it

    • By Joel P.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not cover alot of things it promises...Scam company, shoty workers, very bad customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The scam of American Home Shield

    • By Peter B.,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Oct 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After discovering a water leak that was causing our kitchen tile to loosen and crack, we contacted American Home Shield and was informed that $75 fee must be paid before anything else could be started, once that was done a local plumber was dispatched in a few days. Once in my home, they found the leak and because I had tried to find it myself it was not covered because it was considered excessive force since cutting into drywall. Protecting your home and or property from further damage was considered excessive and they even tried to play me against the plumber standing right next to me. I then got the actual bill from the plumber which was $650. I had to this point never called American Home Shield for any claims, when I called to cancel my account they had to arrogance to try and charge me $46 fee to fire them, which was adamantly refused. With all of the years I paid my monthly premium, I could have paid for the plumber and even gotten material to lay a new floor. The customer service representative even tried to keep as a customer offering coupons and two months at a discounted premium after all of this was explained. I would love to score them with negative numbers if that was possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    AHS

    • By Eduard B.,
    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything you ask the company will lie that it's not covered, from the washer to dryer, they will say not used correctly, etc. This company is total fraud, scam. Phone is answered in the Philippines and they stonewall service, and if in the US they just rude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Repair time is too long.

    • By Rosie J.,
    • Rolling Fork, MS,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called for an oven and a dryer repair. States will take 2 weeks to get the oven part. Looked at washer for a leak. I needed to run a load of clothes to look for a leak. Ran part of load time then left soaking wet clothes in washer. Will take two weeks to get parts. The repair time is ridiculous. I can't bake or wash for two weeks. In the meantime, I have to go to the washateria and pay to wash. Two weeks of that and I will have bought the part and paid someone for one-day service. Looking for another company. They take your money readily and take their time doing their part.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • By Shawn W.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a 1893 Victorian, and with the house being that old, I thought this insurance would be a good idea to minimize future costs. Boy, was I wrong. I've been a customer since 2013.

    In my account, I can only see the last two years, but during that time I can see that I have had no requests for service that resulted in anyone actually visiting my home. In those two years, I've paid $1200 in monthly fees, and received no service.

    Fast forward to today, and I have now been without hot water for eight days, with no installation of a new tank scheduled. The plumber blames AHS and AHS blames the plumber. Nighttime temps are now dipping below freezing and we can't even wash our hands. Half a dozen calls (almost every day) to AHS and multiple texts to the plumber have resulted in nothing.

    Evidently, with AHS not even the squeaky wheel gets the grease!

    Long story short, I don't think it likely that you will ever come out ahead with this "insurance." And if by chance, you ever do have to use it, be ready for a ridiculously long wait for repairs. So long that you'd rather have never had AHS and could just call a plumber and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.

    At the end of the day, it would have cost me the same or less to not have AHS, and I'd be taking a warm shower right now...

    I strongly advise against this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I would give a negative star rating if that were possible

    • By Lynne G.,
    • California City, CA,
    • Oct 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have AHS warranties on several homes and didn't really have a complaint until this year.

    In the first instance, a plumber came out and said the electric water heater needed replacement. The replacement was approved by AHS, but the contractor wanted an additional $360 from me before he would replace the unit. I complained to AHS, and they basically said there was nothing they could do about it. They said these additional charges were for "upgrades" that weren't covered.

    I spoke to the plumber to ask exactly what the upgrades were and he said the additional charges were really due to the risk involved in replacing the water heater. He said that the company would hold him responsible for the water heater if anything happened during the installation, so he had to make it "worth his while" to make the repair.

    After I went along with it and approved the charges, a new water heater was installed. However, there was still no hot water. An electrician had to come out and replace the breaker because there was no power to the water heater.

    Apparently, the problem all along was the bad breaker, not the water heater. I had paid the plumber an upcharge for a new water heater that I never really needed.

    I complained to the plumber, but he said the water heater needed replacement because it leaked. That was not true. It never leaked, it had simply stopped heating the water. Apparently, the issue was electrical all along.

    AHS said that I would have to get a refund from the plumber, not them. They still use that vendor.

    Now, we are having a problem with a bad main breaker.

    The first electrician diagnosed the problem as a bad main breaker. He said that the part was in Van Nuys and no one had it locally. Days went by.

    I called the electrician and he said he would have someone out there ASAP. No one came.

    I called AHS, and the customer service person called the electrician. She called me back after and said that the electrician wouldn't be able to help me because he was having financial and staffing problems. The repairman he had sent out originally had quit. So, after almost two weeks with reduced electricity to the house, they sent a new electrician.

    This time, the new electrician wants $2,600 from me for an "upgrade" to make the electrical supply 200 amps instead of 100 amps. I would note here that 100 amps is standard for residential use.

    When I complained, AHS said that all I could do was try to get another opinion. If the new electrician agreed with the upgrade diagnosis, I would have to pay another $75.

    I asked AHS to call the original electrician with the personal problems and ask him for his diagnosis to save time.

    At my insistence, they did. He told them that I needed a new main breaker. There was no mention of an upgrade to 200 amps or an overload of any kind.

    The supervisor for AHS still insisted that I needed to wait for a second (really third) opinion. It's Friday afternoon, so that will be three weeks trying to get this problem fixed.

    I asked if they could expedite the request for service since this had gone on for so long already, but the supervisor refused.

    The problem, I think, is that they hire unqualified bottom feeders for contractors. When there's a problem, AHS doesn't stand up for their customers. They only want to rigidly follow some byzantine claim denial procedure specifically designed for you to get so disgusted with the whole process that you shut up and go away.

    The bottom line is that you are left holding the bag after having paid for this supposed warranty.

    SAVE YOUR MONEY. DON'T BUY AN AMERICAN HOME SHIELD WARRANTY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Run around on claim

    • By Bill B.,
    • Sun Lakes, AZ,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Water heat needs to be replaced. They sent a repair man immediately. Had to wait 1 day to get approval. Repair company then wanted an additional $365 for additional install. Took estimate to a different plumber who revealed that the new charge was the same an install, should not cost extra. American Home Shield said there was nothing they could. I then asked for a cash out to get my own heat and install...They said they would have a cash out price within 24-48 hours...Never happened. Asked for a supervisor and there was nobody available. Day three still waiting. Representatives were from India and could not be understood. Very frustrating to deal with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not happy with this company

    • By Irene M.,
    • Laguna Hills, CA,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve paid for 5 years now and never needed any service. Now that my washer almost caught on fire I finally put in a claim. They had an appliance company come and check out the problem! It’s been almost a week and still nothing. I called and asked for a manager and they claim no manager and no supervisor. I’m blond pissed. Go elsewhere for a reliable company. After my washer either gets replaced or fixed I’m going to another company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 452

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review