Read 417 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 11 1 star:  392
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 417
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your money!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quite literally the WORST company I have ever worked with. They want you to pay hundreds for their service, but once they have your money they couldn't care less if you get the services you were promised. It took me 3 calls to get a serviceman to come look at my washer and once he finally came, they refused to order any necessary parts because they claimed it was the responsibility of the washer's brand. I finally have up and called my own service person from the washer's company to come out. My washer has been sitting broken for two weeks now and because I used this company, it won't get fixed for another two.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They suck!

    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My AC broke down last Tuesday. It was "repaired" until Friday we came home and it was 95 degrees in the house. This is Arizona - it is hot. Saturday morning they came and decided the compressor is out. American Home Shield was supposed to order the part...it was just ordered this morning...Wednesday...4 days later. Stay tuned...we'll see if it gets fixed at all. I have my doubts. American Home Shield sent Sure Temp to do the repairs...I have no complaints about them, they are working within the limits of American Home Shield.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    More of the same

    • Victoria, TX,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading all of the reviews, all I can say is don't rely on these people to care or help you. I've had NO A/C for 10 days! Average heat index 108 degrees. The contractor came out and diagnosed the problem on a Monday, then that Friday called to say they would be out on Monday to replace evap coil. GREAT NEWS! WRONG. Today (Monday) he calls me AT the scheduled appointment time to inform that they can't get the part until Friday. Called AHS, and had the same experience every other reviewer has had, BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE! Do not use AHS or Southern Comfort Heating and Air form El Campo, Texas.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    How can they be rated the "best"

    • Texas,
    • Aug 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used our coverage 3 times in about 16 months. The first time was a plumbing problem, and was resolved by a reputable service provider. Next we had an HVAC issue that still has not been resolved, 4 or 5 months later, we are still waiting, oh and 2 different service providers with the latest saying that they can't get here due to personal tragedy. Now another plumbing issue has come up and a very disreputable-looking unmarked van with very little equipment shows up. They did clear the line, however, they unplugged my deep freeze in the garage and forgot to plug it back in. Now everything is ruined in my deep freeze. Best Plumbing won't return my calls and American Home Shield quotes my contract to me. They are not responsible for the idiots they sent to my home and ruined my food. I'm on disability and have no idea how to feed the 2 grandbabies we are raising. That deep freeze was everything to our family.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Customer service failure

    • Texas,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have a leak in our AC unit. AHS sent out Texas Best AC repair and they told us nothing is wrong. We told him we added 4 lbs of freon 3 days ago; something IS wrong. AHS will not honor our request for a second opinion. Texas Best has poor ratings and the other company has great ratings. The other company said we have a leak that needs repair. They also said we would get the run around from our warranty company and that is exactly what happened. We were loyal for many years to AHS and it seems to be wasted money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT USE

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to waste time/money/effort trying to utilize your warranty, use AHS. They will take your money and reject service requests. Do NOT recommend. GO elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Incompetence meets dysfunctional, mixed in a bowl of apathy

    • Sanford, FL,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It takes a lot to get me riled. In fact, I like to write kind reviews, and hardly ever write bad ones. But my level of frustration with this company is beyond stuff of nightmares. Where do I start? Here are just a few highlights.

    1) I've had a non-functioning dryer for over 7 weeks. First call the tech didn't come out for a week. He then had to order parts, which of course needed "approval" back from AHS. No status updates online. When I called, of course I'm put on hold, transferred, disconnected, call back, then finally speak to some lady (in the Philippines?) who says the parts were approved, and now waiting on local appliance company to order. What?! Of course, there is no proactive communication. Be prepared to spend a lot of time on the phone, and on hold. Speaking of which...

    2) There are extended hold and wait times EVERY TIME you call. Just one call I was on hold for 40 minutes, and the total call length was over 1.5 hours. This is just one of 10 calls I made to AHS in the last month. Their default answer is "sorry to keep you holding so long". This response is absolutely robotic, it truly sounds like part of their script - never authentic. i.e. I was put on hold for 11 minutes, just so the rep could get me a phone number to their "appliance purchasing" dept. Really? No one cares about you, your issues or delays - or why you couldn't do laundry or be without a fridge for a month - or the number of hours you've spent on the phone with them in complete frustration and angst. Why would they? They pay below minimum wage for out-of-country workers, and clearly it's just about turning a profit.

    3) They ask you to repeat info every time you call. The auto-attendant asks you for info, then they ask you for the same info again when you speak to an agent, along with 3 other pieces of verification data. Their systems are antiquated, and customer no-service reps don't document notes properly, and again, are apathetic in their responses. You can tell they deal with this all day long, and are just numb to any type of customer complaints or frustrations.

    4) The communication between AHS and their local "service providers" is a bad joke. Finger-pointing and denying requests is their modus operandi. After repeating the same info to 3 people, it still doesn't get interpreted properly by their local "partner" providers. So don't expect any level of even marginal service...and you will still be disappointed. Here are 2 more examples...

    5) Plumbing issues. I had a leaking toilet (from tank into bowl) and broken value on cold-water unit in the laundry room washing machine outlet. They refused to fix either. Mind you, I had already paid another $75 "deductible". For the toilet, the local plumber said: "overflow pipe was broken, and our AHS contract only allows us to repair cracked or rusty pipes - not ones broken all the way through." What??! Um, it's broken because the chlorine and rust ate through this 18-year-old PVC, and when I went to look at it myself to diagnose the issue to call it in, the remaining 10% of the pipe (hanging by a thread) snapped off. As for the cold-water turn-valve, it was stuck in the "open" position, and would not close, but apparently, because it's not leaking, it too was not covered. Are you kidding?! So as long I never have to remove the washer hose, I guess it's fine. Plumber said, well, they can replace it, but it would have to be the whole junction box, and AHS won't cover that - it would run $375. What??!

    6) AC issue. We didn't have proper airflow to 2 of the rooms. So local HVAC company checked the AC system and said it was okay, but the air ducts were probably clogged, compressed, or cut, thus losing airflow. He said if AHS would cover that cost if that were the case, but since he had to get into our attic to visually assess it, and the cost to do THAT was not covered. What?! (Again.) How can you cover a claim if you cannot properly assess or diagnose the claim? Unbelievable!

    The list goes on and on. One of the biggest problems is that AHS has extremely restrictive contracts with the local service providers. Like many insurance companies, these companies are taught to look for any reason to deny the claim - just refer to the examples above.

    Do yourself a favor - look elsewhere or just hire a qualified service contractor when needed. Stay FAR, FAR AWAY from this nightmare of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    BAD BAD SERVICE

    • Haughton, LA,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I turned a claim on my clothes dryer on 08/12/2019. They were going to have one of their service contractors contact me. On August 16th no one had contacted me. I sent them an email and also called them. The person I spoke to was overseas. I told them that I have not heard from anyone. They said they would take care of it. August 17th still no word. I called them again. I was talked to the same person overseas. I was promised once again that help would be contacting me. On August the 19th, I called again. A person from overseas answered the call. This time they assigned the repair to a different contractor. He came out an 8/20/19 and repaired my dryer. I am not happy with this kind of service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    This company stinks and is ripping people off

    • Florida,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield is a scam...almost every time I've called them for service it cost me more than the $75.00 service fee. It's oh there is a part that is not covered in your washer that is causing you a problem due to improper use so you will have to pay for that part $378.00 or we can get another company to come out for another $75.00 for a second opinion. I live alone and have very little wash. Last month my air went and of course, it was the Freon and they don't cover that because it isn't used anymore in the new air condition so that cost me $700 plus the $75. Then these companies drive you crazy wanting to sell you new stuff...saying no is not an option until you tell them to leave.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, unprofessional, tacky, nightmare!

    • Woodstock, IL,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I actually had an electrical fire in my home and it took them 3 months to deny it, hindering me from getting anyone else in to look at it. This company is such a joke! There is no continuity of care, or follow-up of any kind. I originally called in our issue with the electrical wiring in May. It is now August and the electrician came out to our house 3 times, didn't repair a thing and then the claim was denied due to some obscure code they quoted at me. I was never given any kind of itemized paperwork - which is what I need to submit a claim to the insurance company. I NEED THE NUMBERS. Each person that I spoke with promised to have someone follow up with me and call me back. I did not once get a call back from anyone until this final day today.

    Their phone system is tacky - before you ever speak with a live person there is an automated voice that is trying to collect payment for a service call that I ALREADY PAID FOR (each and every time you call in)! And after you finally make it through the labyrinth and are speaking with someone (you can barely understand), when they "put you on hold" to check with the technician - over half the time they "accidentally" hung up on me and they don't call you back. You have to call them back and start the whole process over again from scratch! Completely irritating, frustrating, horrible NIGHTMARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not choose AHS unless you are able to be at the mercy of the technician

    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had no choice in who the technician was. The technician that was chosen only worked 11-2 in my zip code, and that’s it. He wouldn’t give an appt time, even though he claims he has appts out here, and he said he only works during the week. I had already paid the $75 service fee because it makes me do that before I even know who the tech is. I called AHS, and they said I was stuck. They wouldn’t give me my money back to find a technician with flexible hours, and said it is up to the technician to set hours. I had to figure a way to be here or I could pay an additional $75 to get at random, another technician (which could be the exact same guy they gave me in the first place)! Don’t use AHS if you are a working person!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 417

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review