Read 325 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 8 1 star:  303
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 325
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Active leak not repaired - terrible contractor

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had an active leak coming thru my ceiling from inside upstairs plumbing since January 10th. The plumber they sent said he fixed it by replacing and reseating the upstairs toilet wax ring. Within a week the same leak started again. AHS sent the same plumber back on a recall. He verified that it was still leaking but could not find the cause. He wanted to open up the ceiling to see the pipes better (I have no problem with that) but needed AHS permission to do so.

    After a week of none returned calls to the plumber, I tried to contact AHS. Spent three calls and over two hours on hold to get the rudest, almost non-English speaking rep who said the work order was closed and the vendor said no "mechanical" problem found. I could get a second opinion but would need to pay a second service call fee. It's THE SAME unrepaired leak! I still have a leak coming thru the ceiling, and they are (AHS) supposed to call me back. I asked to speak to a supervisor but they wouldn't put me through. By the way, how do you replace a wax ring to a toilet and not even disturb the caulk seal around the toilet base? The vendor is a liar and AHS is a joke! I have been with them since 2010 and they have now gone down the tubes. Looking for a new company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This company lies through their teeth

    • Roswell, GA,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield claims that they are an A+ company, that is a bald-faced lie. If you check with the Better Business Bureau, they are listed as a B rated company with many complaints for dishonest business practices and accused of fraudulent behavior. If you love being the victim and love being ripped off, this is the company for you, otherwise, run.

    I was told by the serviceman American Home Shield sent out to repair my forced air heating unit that it could not be fixed and that I was covered to receive a new replacement unit. American Home shield did not call me the next day as promised so I called them and was informed that a new unit would have to have revisions made in order to hook up at a cost to me of $1500.00. They mentioned that if I want to install a unit that I could buy myself they would settle with me for $450.00 and I would have to pay for my own installation. Are they for real?

    I have reported American Home Shield to the AARP fraud protection line and to Consumers Pissed and will report them to the Better Business Bureau in the morning among other protection groups. Please be careful, stay away from this rip off organization and save a lot of grief. I will also check in with my congressman, companies like this should not be able to stay in business ripping off the public.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    They will find a way to not cover the item

    • Alabama,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Basically, if something breaks they will find a way around fixing it. It’s always something that they don’t cover. Had a contractor come out two different times to fix AC, ordered parts, and when they arrived to fix, decided it wasn’t covered. They wouldn’t cover because one of the technicians used zip ties to hold something up temporarily. And I said "yes, I know that and that’s because it’s broken and needs to be repaired."

    Basically, they are a waste of time and money. I won’t be renewing my contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    AVOID American Home Shield at all costs!

    • California,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from American Home Shield (AHS) at all costs. AHS is probably one of the worst companies with which I have done business. Indeed, if AHS does not solve my problem or return my money today, I will sue them.

    AHS sent a technician to my home on January 25th to repair a dishwasher, a refrigerator, and an oven. The technician called AHS for authorization to get the parts that were needed for the repair on January 25th, but there was no one at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. The repair company AHS sent to my home called AHS a number of times to get the needed authorization, but there was never anyone at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. I called AHS on numerous occasions, and could not get any information from AHS on the status of AHS's approval of the needed parts. Indeed, on most of my calls to AHS, I was put on hold for more than 30 minutes after which I was cut off.

    It is now February 14th, and neither I nor the repair company has been able to find someone at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. It is my personal, subjective opinion, belief, and interpretation that AHS disappears when expensive parts are required for a covered repair. I personally believe that I was ripped off by AHS. Therefore, it is my personal, subjective opinion, belief, and interpretation that AHS is dishonest and unethical. The foregoing review solely provides my personal, subjective opinions, beliefs, and interpretations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TERRIBLE SERVICE

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been freezing for over three weeks, it's February now. Our mini split wall unit went out, they sent four contractors who did not work on that type of unit - and after each one came, I called the company to tell them to put the correct info as I listed it - they changed it to a gas furnace every time. The fifth company came and he said it needed parts - that was three weeks ago through the coldest weather. I called two weeks ago, they said the part was ordered and should be here any time - a complete lie. I paid the service charge right after the last guy came, it's in my bank statement and they keep billing me and won't allow another request until I pay, so I sent them the copy showing it paid - twice. This is a joke. I am canceling immediately and seeking my service call back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    SCAM PROTECTION

    • Anoka, MN,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a home built in 1992. Was given AHS to use. First AC went out. Guys who smelled of pot said I needed more vents to cool house. Next microwave went out. Spent $600 on parts to fix a $190 microwave...had to wait for parts being it was discontinued. Then fridge making loud noise. Said that’s how they all sound. I canceled service and bought all new appliances and AC. I'm glad I have money. Most people do not. DO NOT use this company American Home Shield!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Company scam

    • Lynchburg, VA,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This issue was a fiasco from start, not finish, as I see no finish in sight.

    To start, my refrigerator went bad on December 15, 2018. I called AHS and it took 69 minutes to get someone on the line. When I did, it was a customer service rep who could barely speak English. I made my needs known and I was assigned a technician who came out the next day; it was clear he had no clue what was wrong with my fridge. He returned and put a switch on the fridge and that did not help. He came back again and said that the fridge needed a new compressor and it had to be ordered and would take five days.

    I waited the five days and never heard from him, called his office and was unable to reach a living person, just an answering machine. I was never called back after numerous calls to AHS and the contractor. Many times, after being placed on hold with AHS the call mysteriously disconnected with no return call from AHS. AHS customer service would say "I am sorry for your inconvenience" and follow that up with a call to the contractor. I insisted that they send a new contractor out to fix my fridge and they called in a new one that never showed for two appointments.

    I have called AHS approximately 15 times and spent hours waiting on customer service to answer. They are robotic and speak the same thing every time I call them. They will never allow you to speak with a manager.

    Finally, I got someone out to look at the fridge who said that the first contractor was wrong and I do not need a compressor, but I need a coil that will cost $500.00 and ASH will not pay for that. I have now been put in to "options," which means that they will offer me a new fridge if I pay most of the cost.

    This company is a sham. They take your money, use inferior contractors, and are not the least bit interested in taking care of their clients. I took this warranty out in good faith and I feel that they have let me down. Back when we had single digit weather, my insulin froze in the cooler, which rendered it ineffective. That was a $1000.00 down the drain. I made AHS aware and they offered me $75.00. It has been 53 days without a refrigerator and living out of a cooler, with no end in sight. When the technician left today, he said that AHS would call me soon. Fat chance! No one called!

    I am going to report this company to the BBB and any other consumer protection agency that I can find. Do not use this company. Their customer service sucks and they don’t care what happens beyond the service call money. I would never recommend them to a friend. Two of my friends and my sister were considering using American Home Shield, but after my experience, NOT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money with this company

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Complete waste of money, then a waste of time once the company locates a service contractor to come to your home to actually "fix" the problem. First, you are lucky if your broken item is even covered. The list of excluded brands, parts, and issues is lengthy and almost ensures that the company won't be on the hook for any costly repairs. Then, once a technician arrives to your home, you are lucky if he/she can actually do the repair. I just needed a new hot water heater as mine was leaking all over the floor. The technician said he couldn't "order" a new one as it's a brand that he doesn't normally install. It's an AO Smith, one of the mostly widely installed hot water heaters in my area. In fact, every home in my development has one. Give me break...anyways, I was told I had to find my own plumber and that I would be reimbursed for a portion of the cost. Well, after submitting the invoice for the second time and numerous phone calls later, I still haven't received a refund. It goes without saying I won't renew my contract with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Bait and switch

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our washing machine broke so I went online and ordered service through AHS. Within 24 hours I was contacted for an appointment for the repair guy to come out. He came out a few days later. He came in, I showed him where the washing machine was, I told him that I didn't realize it wasn't working until I went to take the clothes out and they were wet even though the cycle was finished. He was here about 5 minutes or less told me it would be too much to fix, he would let them know. About a week later I receive a call from AHS informing me that his report was that I overloaded the washing machine or I put an object in it causing it to break and therefore, it would not be covered because it was not normal wear and tear.

    First of all, I have done laundry for 40 years. I have never "overloaded" a washing machine. I would never fraudulently put an object in it to break it. The home warranty was when something breaks they come out and fix it or replace it if it can't be fixed. Not only was my character attacked I was pretty much called a liar. I am a realtor and have recommended this warranty company to my clients for years. In fact, my client just bought one a few months ago. I WILL NEVER recommend them again. I feel like my character was attacked and I have never or would ever be fraudulent in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Flooded my home; charged me for it

    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A repairman sent by AHS did a faulty job on my washing machine which resulted in three rooms of my house flooding. I called AHS and all they tell us that they are "not responsible for water damage." The machine is NOT fixed and they had the audacity to charge me the $75 trade service fee. I still have a broken washing machine and now a partially flooded home. Horrible company. Horrible services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Company is a scam

    • Illinois,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam! It is day 12 of no heat during the deep freeze in Chicago. 12 days ago the contractor they sent ordered the part, AHS approves the part, tell me why the part was not received yet?! I called the contractor, he states it's ordered, he doesn't know what is going on. I contact AHS and every single non-fluent English speaking representative has their own story. When I demand to speak to a manager, they give me run around. Then when I log into my account to check the status of this claim and it states it's complete...hmmmm. How is it complete when I have no heat and no one will give me a straight answer! AHS states someone will call me back, but no one does! This is now the 2nd major issue I have had with AHS and they have handled the claims poorly from start to finish! I have caught them already on the first claim for hot water tank trying to scam me out of $500. I am a 3x homeowner and when you correct them with false information they are giving you, it's is pretty bad! I would give no stars for this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 325

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review