Read 440 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  414
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 440
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't walk away, RUN

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From an engineer/union carpenter/manager/exec who has been building the big commercial stuff for 35 years - it's always the same old thing with AHS:

    1. Speaking with call centers located overseas, so a language barrier, and if they speak English, they don't understand sentence structure and thus true meaning of requests, etc. It's a total beating to get anywhere with overseas customer service.

    2. Always fighting to obtain quality contractors - only the weak contractors appear to work with AHS. Poor service and poor work in field, plus they attempt to inflate costs on any "add-ins" that may be required for code and so forth - it's called "gouging" in the construction industry, they have no idea of my background and are blatant about it - lot of people probably accept, but I won't tolerate it.

    3. The AHS reimbursement for equipment replacement is unreal - I was to receive 1/3 the REAL cost of a water heater replacement in cash ($500), OR, be gouged by the contractor they sent me for around $1k due to items not covered by AHS, when they were worth half. Lastly, the new water heater was a "no name" = cheap. No win...

    So AHS is terminated (and don't seem to care), and I'm on to the next company - Fixd, located right here in Dallas. If they don't perform, guess who's getting an in-person visit?

    There is no hope for AHS unless they address Large and Dominant issues such as above - no matter how highly rated on various sites, the company is horrible - stay FAR FAR away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Company does not provide competent service

    • Florida,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a claim in July because my AC was leaking.

    They sent out the first company they used 4 times and they did not repair the issue.

    I asked for a different company. The second company came out, did not repair the issue, and did not return multiple emails and phone calls trying to schedule another service. The second company also charged me for materials that I did not need.

    It's October now and my AC is still not fixed, and in the meantime, I have water damage and mold from the leak and AHS says they don't cover that despite the fact that they have not provided a competent service team over the several months this has been going on.

    Disgusted.

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY. They take ZERO responsibility for repairing problems nor for secondary issues that occur when they send out incompetent service people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's simply not worth it!

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company promises the moon and delivers nothing! Quick to charge you your check out fee then send a low-quality F-grade technician that tells you that you need a new house basically and none of it covered because AHS considers everything repairable and refuses to replace the items in need saying they can be repaired but won't send a tech that can repair them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad service from American Home Shield and their contractor

    • Montgomery, TX,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted AHS on a Sunday because my air conditioner was not cooling. First they emailed me that Air Dynasty would call between 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM. On Monday, Air Dynasty called and said the technician would call between 12:00 and 4:00pm (mind you temperature is very hot and humid in the Houston area). The technician took about 8 minutes to tell me I needed an evaporator box, and 10 lbs of freon. The cost would be $480 for freon and about $1040 for upgrades for a 7-year-old AC Unit. My cost with American Home Shield warranty would be over $1500. He adviced me that a contract would be submitted, and then sent to me for approval. By Wednesday, I hadn't received the contract, I logged in to my account and indicated that my problem had not been fixed. In the meantime, I read the reviews for Air Dynasty, bad news, no good reviews for them. It appears that AHS has had many complains with the BBB, yet they get a good grade. I called a company with excellent reviews, they came the same day, fixed my AC for less than what Air Dynasty was going to charge, and they said no upgrades were needed on my unit. I called AHS for a refund of my $75, they wouldn't do it. They had not heard from Air Dynasty, so that is why I hadn't gotten a contract for me to agree on, mind you, this was already Friday, six days after I had contacted AHS, and no AC. They apologized, but no refund, yet they keep using questionable contractors and laugh all the way to the bank. I do not recommend AHS or Air Dynasty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield - the epitome of a waste of time.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the complete misfortune of dealing with American Home Shield. They have non-existent customer service. They route you to a call center, obviously somewhere other than the USA as they have no command of the English language. AHS relies on the tactic of "Tell them the same thing over and over again," they want you to become frustrated and just give up on them and go elsewhere to resolve by paying out of pocket. They will not reimburse you! And they will not refund the policy to you so they are basically taking your money for no services rendered. I have had a non-working appliance which parts are not readily available as they are back-ordered. I have been told that I must wait 21 business days before they will explore other alternatives. Really, well over a month before even looking at other alternatives? Buyer beware! Go elsewhere for your warranty needs or just save your money altogether.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Chinks in the shield and the armor - the devolution of customer service skill.

    • Lithonia, GA,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What do you call a chaotic, unprofessional disorganization with no customer service abilities of any kind and a poor track record when it comes to providing properly vetted, skilled or simply adequate service professionals? I know them as American Home Shield (AHS). Why do I say this about AHS? My opinion of them has changed drastically over time.

    When I first entered into contract with AHS, they were relatively good, providing a stream of quality field workers to address a variety of household issues. However, slowly over time, I not only noticed a drop in the quality of these field agents and their respective companies but also a decline in customer service dexterity and outreach from AHS as well. I have a growing list of companies that I informed AHS not to send to my home again due to shoddy work, unreliability or just sheer incompetence on their part. It's to the point now where I am wondering if AHS vets these companies at all. Due to my experiences, I am of the opinion that they don't really check. I mean, can anyone with a truck and a toolbox be a service provider for AHS, I wonder. When AHS chooses to use subcontractors of this type, that's what they are exposing you to.

    My latest case involves my intermittent refrigerator leak which occurred at unpredictable times over an indeterminate number of days. To reduce the amount of evidentiary wood damage from the leaks, I shut off the water. American Home Shield selected Amtec to handle the evaluation and repair. I explained all of this to the field technician during the visit. The tech replied, "I’m just going to replace everything in the ice-maker." I asked, wouldn’t a better approach be to find the cause of the leak? He said, "rather than trying to find out what was wrong, it’s easier to replace everything." I then asked, what happens if it starts leaking again? He assured me that it wouldn’t. Well, a few days later, the refrigerator began leaking and actually damaged my wooden kitchen floor. When I called AHS, the representative informed me that Amtec was going to send a "senior technician who would assess the damage" and respond appropriately. That was the spin, crafted and designed to get me off the phone. The reality was that this so-called "senior tech" turned out to be the same guy who missed the cause of the leak roughly 10 days ago during his first visit. He almost missed it again this time too because he spent about 6 minutes trying to convince me that the fridge was not leaking. Of course, evidence of a leak was on the flooring all around the refrigerator. The tech was about to leave as I was further explaining things to him but then decided to check again finally locating the problem. Of course, it was the refrigerator, duh. When I began discussing the floor damage, with this tech, he stated, and these are his own words, "I don't know anything about that, or being a senior technician, I just fix things."

    Over the last couple years, I can't tell you the number of times I have substandard, penny-ante operators stop by here to fix something only to leave me disappointed by some aspect of their visit ranging from an incomplete or botched job to charging a fee when none was warranted. As this relates to or reflects on AHS, I have noticed that even the simple act of trying to reach them by phone can be an exercise in futility. The phone just rings and rings. One time, I had to go online to request that service visit.

    All I can say is that if you are considering AHS, I'd strongly advise against it. In this competitive economy, there are more than a few alternatives. With a little bit of research and due diligence, I am sure you can do better than AHS. If you don't you run the risk of being exposed to some substandard subcontractor with the potential to make your situation a whole lot worse than it was before their visit. Take it from someone whose been there. My advice for everyone is to go online, do your research, and take the reviews of such referring organizations into account before signing up and subsequently allowing them to send some substandard subcontractor into your home who may make matters worse. Enough is enough. My contract comes due in February, at which time I will suspend all business dealing with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a combo plan over the phone and was talked into a specific plan at a specific rate, but a month later when my credit card was charged the fee was up 25% for no reason. Beware, the sales rep will tell you all sorts of lies to get you to sign in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    This company is a fraud

    • California,
    • Sep 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is nothing but FRAUD! I had my AC repaired on 9/20/19 which cost me over $800.00 to repair (which took 2 weeks to get them to come out because they were waiting for a part from AHS), and after all that it was still was not working. I called on 9/20/19 to AHS because the service tech said my Evaporator Coil needed to be repaired. The AHS lady I spoke to with the service tech said it was covered and he could repair it and did not need to change the original invoice. He needed to come back to repair as it was late. I got a call from his office stating when they called AHS they said it wasn't covered. So I called again and the person stated it wasn't covered. So on 9/21/19, I had to pay $550.00 for this repair. I had time on Sunday, 9/22/19, to review my contract and in both the heating and AC section is states the Evaporator Coil is covered.

    COVERED: Ducted electric wall air conditioning systems – Water evaporative cooler systems – Costs related to freon recapture – Ducted electric central air conditioning systems including: condenser; metering devices (i.e. thermal expansion valves); furnace transition; evaporator coils and drain lines; air handling unit; air handling transition; secondary drain pan and lines; and refrigerant lines are covered.

    So I called on 9/22/19 to AHS and spoke to a guy who agreed with me that it was covered and was going to talk to his supervisor and I would get a call on Monday 9/23/19. Of course, that never happened. I called today (Tuesday, 9/24/19) and was told it does say it is covered but not for any cleaning under section H.

    H. LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS

    7. AHS is not responsible or liable for repair of conditions or replacement caused by chemical or sedimentary build up, misuse or abuse, failure to clean or maintain, missing parts, structural changes, fire, freezing, electrical failure or surge, water damage, lightning, mud, earthquake, soil movement, storms, accidents, pet damage, pest damage, acts of God, or failure due to excessive or inadequate water pressure.

    I cannot clean this area, only a hired AC tech could. The tech cleaned and repaired this part.

    These contracts are misleading to the consumer and I plan on filing a consumer complaint against AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield a TOTAL SCAM

    • Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from American Home Shield (AHS 1 800-776-4663).

    I had my entire house insured with SEARS (excellent company) for the past 3 years, well, about 2 months ago I got an e-mail from AHS giving me an offer of $100 off if I join them...BIG MISTAKE!

    All these insurance companies after you join them always make you wait 30 days before the insurance starts...so I waited 30 days with AHS and then they charged my credit card on August 30th, 2019.

    Let me also mention that I have the worry-free plan from PSE&G.

    On September 14th, 2019 I noticed water underneath my water heater so I called PSE&G first. They determined that my water heater needed to be replaced. Soon after, I called AHS and placed the claim (I had to wait until Monday the 16th because they don’t work on weekends).

    I got a call from PHD Mechanical INC Monday morning and I was told that they will be at my house later during the day.

    The technician came (I was at work) and then left after about 20 minutes...

    I called PHD Mechanical to find out what was going to be done, but they told me that I had to call AHS, so I call AHS and they told me that I have to wait for the technician’s report (all this was at about 1 pm)...

    At about 4:30 pm I called PHD Mechanical again, they told me that the technician had already given his report to AHS, so, I called AHS...they told me that I had to call PHD Mechanical. At this point, I was getting very upset! So I demanded the person from AHS to tell me what was happening and I had no reason to call PHD Mechanical because my payments are done directly to AHS and not any other company.

    Let me also mention that my credit card had also been charged $106 as part of my deductible...per claim.

    Well, the guy from AHS told me that I had to pay for the repair because the part that I needed was not covered by their warranty (I needed a PRESSURE REGULATOR), so I said "I pay your company to have insurance." The guy from AHS told me that it would cost me $385 to get my water heater fixed and that I needed to contact PHD Mechanical (so $385 + $106 = $491 so far, a brand new unit at home depot is about $500).

    I demanded to speak with his manager, and mysteriously (!) I got disconnected.

    The next morning I get a call from PHD Mechanical telling me that my estimate was ready and that it would cost me $2,500 to replace the unit. I said, "WHAT!"

    Before I was ready to say something else, the lady from PHD Mechanical also said "oh, and AHS DENIED your claim."

    At this point I was FURIOUS! So I said to the lady from PHD Mechanical that AHS had told me that all I needed was the PRESSURE REGULATOR. The lady from PHD Mechanical then told me that it was not true.

    I then called AHS and they told me that they were not going to replace it because it was a pre-existing condition and that the water under the water heater had rust. I said to the lady "I don’t know exactly what do you mean by preexisting because I just noticed the leak for the first time last Saturday." If it was leaking before I never saw it, also even if it was a preexisting problem, #1 I would have not waited 2 months to put the claim and risking my basement from getting flooded, and #2, this is the purpose of having the insurance if something happens. And as far as the water looking brownish because of the rust (I said to the lady)...REALLY! That is what happens when water is in contact with metal...for years.

    The lady from AHS all had to say and keep repeating was that it was a preexisting condition and that they will not pay or replace it.

    Again...stay AWAY from AMERICAN HOME SHIELD (1 800-776-4663).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Two-month fridge repair, still not resolved

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Sep 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These past two months have been the worst customer experience I have ever received from a warrant company, especially after using them for over 15 years on multiple properties.

    Friday stopped working on July 25th. One unqualified repairman and 4 service calls, then Sears diagnosed to replace, yet AHS can't find that approval after Sears sent it multiple times, I am done.

    Customer service lied to me several times saying they saw authorization to approve, yet purchasing does not show anything, and another rep says still waiting on tech to send a status update.

    SCAM, SCAM, SCAM!

    Don't waste your money with them, plenty of other home warranty companies with a lot better customer service and better price plans.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    "AHS" scam

    • Bonney Lake, WA,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first time I used "AHS" to repair my tankless water heater they managed every excuse that it was installed wrong! My system was installed to code by a licensed plumbing company and correct building permits from the city, but it didn't comply with the manufacturer? So over a phone call from a 4th party, "AHS" wouldn't pay, a phone call from someone who never inspected the unit or even seen the installation! Just so they wouldn't have to pay! And it took 2 weeks and 3 times that "AHS" sent or scheduled the wrong type of contractors to show up and repair. What a waste and they are just scamming you, read the fine print and exactly what is covered because they have more loopholes than a ground squirrel colony.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 440

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review