Start your review of American Home Shield:
  • 478 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • It shouldn't be this hard...

    • By Anthony O.,
    • Wesley Chapel, FL,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The pool maintenance company I use said the filter for my pool was the wrong size...it was too small. Instead of paying them over $100 for the correct one, I called AHS to see if it was covered and it would only cost me the service call of $75. I asked the customer service agent at AHS if the pool filter was covered...she said "yes."

    They gave my appointment to a local pool repair company to service. That company reported to me that the filter cartridge was changed out and AHS charged me the $75. Shortly after that, the pool maintenance company told me that the old cartridge is still there. So, AHS charged me a fee for work I never received. I called them for a refund. They said they would refund me half (I pointed out it was their rep who should've gotten the proper info from me, they didn't care). They said they still have to charge me for sending out the pool repair company. I reluctantly agreed, but when the rep said to hold on so she can transfer me to the person who will handle the partial refund, the call dropped off. I called back and it dropped off again.

    I am now currently on hold again...15 minutes and counting. I finally got a live rep who assured me that my refund would come within two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Jim L.,
    • Roseville, CA,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    March 18, 2019: AHS contacted me and was willing to refund the service call. Because of their willingness to work with me and understand my side of the story, I have made this a 2-star review. I still do not like how they are not upfront, nor willing to work before hand with their customers to give them the best experience possible. I do not call them often, only when big problems arise, and it is a learning experience for everything. Do not expect them to diagnose problems, you need to be an educated consumer before calling them for service, and then only call them when you know what the problem for certain that it is covered by warranty. To do that, you must call and talk to a customer representative. That can take over an hour sometimes, so be prepared to spend the morning on the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Mar 16, 2019

    Deceptive coverage policy and charges

    You can't talk about American Home Shield without the word "fraud" coming up. In my latest go around with them, my torsion spring broke on my garage door. I have additional coverage for garage door openers. Thinking that since the spring was required for the garage door opener to operate that it would be covered, I called them to schedule a repair. They contacted service technicians and within 2 days they came out. The service tech called for authorization and was denied because the spring was part of the "door" and not the opener. Now being stuck with a non-operational door, I had to get it serviced. The technician told me how much the repair would be, and I paid the full amount. I later receive a charge for my trade service call from AHS, even though they denied coverage. When calling them to complain, they said that since I used them to contact a technician, I still owed them the fee. So this company will charge you even though they deny claims. FRAUD. FRAUD. FRAUD!

    (read moreread less...)

  • Substandard service, refused refund

    • By Robert N.,
    • Birmingham, AL,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a home warranty through American Home Shield (AHS). On March 31st I arranged a service visit for a clogged floor drain, a covered service under the contract, through AHS. They arranged for a contractor, to come to fix the clog. The company technician properly diagnosed that the drain was clogged and attempted to clear the clog through the floor drain. He could not clear it and left. We later received a notification from AHS that the contractor said we needed cleanouts installed to clear the clog and installation of such was not covered. We, in fact, already have two cleanouts installed, one inside and one out, but the contractor did not take the time to find and use them. Since AHS said we were not covered and we needed working drains we got another company to clear them. We requested a refund of our service call fee, $75, and AHS refused (2 and ½ hours of phone wait time) even though we believe the work performed was clearly negligent since the contractor did not take the time to find the clean outs, and mistakenly told AHS that we did not have the required clean outs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fridge/Freezer not working

    • By Roger B.,
    • Miami Beach, FL,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We've been covered by American Home Shield for many years. The good news is that repairs get taken care of. The bad news is that it may take a while. Currently, it's been eight days since our refrigerator/freezer has stopped cooling. The first contractor they sent didn't know how to fix it, so they just assigned it to another contractor, who can't come until next week. If it needs a part, that probably means another week. I'm sure they will eventually get it fixed, but 2-3 weeks without a refrigerator/freezer is a very long time for a family with kids!

    After waiting long periods of time on hold, I tried to explain this to their representative, but I was told it's up to the customer to work out timings with the vendors. I tried to explain that my contract is with AHS, so I asked if they could try to get the vendor to expedite the repair. They refused, even though my contract is with AHS, my payments go to AHS, and AHS at first sent an unqualified vendor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC leak

    • By Beatrice L.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Waiting impatiently for the assigned contractor to schedule repairs. Tech has been out and looked at my AC and no word back and tomorrow it will be 7 days! Unacceptable! Part of the ceiling had already collapsed in the hall due to the leak and that’s when I made the call to AHS. I have called the contractor - Sevier Climate Control - and got a runaround. Then I called AHS and another runaround - I need to get this fixed before the rest of my ceiling falls through due to a leak!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS did not keep their word

    • By Jimmy D.,
    • Alabama,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In January 2019, I reported that my dryer was drying but was loud. I have had 6 visits and 2 technicians from Stephen Appliance come to my home. One technician came 4 times, the other 2 times. Many parts were replaced but after the last visit on 5/13/19 Marcus had the audacity to tell me it was a VENT problem and I would need to get a professional to come and clean it out...REALLY! What about the part "if we cannot fix it...we will replace it." The problem I have with this is the dryer was drying even though it was loud...but now I have to run it double time to dry the same amount of clothes from before. AHS even called and stood with Stephens Appliance. The amount I paid for a year was MORE than the cost of a new dryer...Do your research before going with AHS or Stephens Appliance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor communication and customer support

    • By Lydia Q.,
    • Washington,
    • Jan 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had a problem with my plumbing for over three weeks now. I was sent a plumbing company that couldn't resolve the problem and obviously needed a camera to see where the blockage is, as per the first plumbing company's suggestion. I called AHS several times about the problem and my plumbing issue is still not resolved. A company was assigned and I was hoping that they will bring a camera, well, I was told by the second company it wasn't in their order and so they snake it anyway but it still didn't work. So here I am, I have three weeks of plumbing issue. So I called AHS again and tried to talk to a supervisor or customer support but no one is available. Of course that's what they will say. The second plumbing company stated AHS will not pay for a camera.

    I will complain to the Business Bureau if this is not resolved soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer service

    • By Susan T.,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • May 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had AHS for several years. Over the last few years the customer service has declined significantly. The representatives are polite but they are not invested in providing a service (let alone good service) to the customer. In fact, I am still waiting on a return call from AHS regarding a service issue. At this time, it has been 3 weeks since they agreed to call me back and I am still waiting.

    For the most part most of the companies that are sent by AHS to provide the service repair are professional and competent. I would not recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AC/Heating Unit

    • By Lynette,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer of American Home Shield for several years. For the last three years I have been calling in service calls to have my heating/ac unit fixed. They have replaced several parts that have went out causing all of my coolant to run out of the unit. Well, I am totally frustrated at this point because every time this happens, it costs me another $600/700 to fill back up the unit because AHS does not cover coolant. I understand the annual maintenance, but what about fixing the problem. If he coolant is running out because of a valve or something isn't putting the coolant back, then it should be fixed. The companies are putting a bandage on the problem as far as fixing and I have to suck up the biggest cost. Then I call back in to speak to a supervisor and the rep that I spoke to on the phone is completely rude and tells me that someone will call me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Alan,
    • Woodstock GA,
    • Jun 16, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Called AHS about a main water line issue and was told by operator that most likely it was not a covered item. They asked me a few more questions and then talked to a supervisor who told them it 'might' be covered and to send a technician. I told them to NOT send a technician if they were pretty sure it would not be covered. When the tech arrived I told him the situation and he said it definitely would not be covered and that they should not have even sent him. He said he was NOT going to charge me for the visit. Later AHS billed me $75 for the tech visit. I sent them the invoice showing NO CHARGE but they still insist I pay them the $75 or my coverage will be terminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible Service

    • By Carla,
    • Fort Myers, Florida ,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you are approached by AHS, run as soon as you can. I like to state facts, so I will keep this one simple…

    FACT 1: Dishwasher leaking and request placed online 3/21/2016.

    FACT 2: Technician from GE arrives, turns on nozzle. States nothing was wrong with the dishwasher.

    FACT 3: Ran the dishwasher on 3/27/2016 leak turns into a flood.

    FACT 4: Placed another request over the phone on 3/27/2016. I was told that a technician would not arrive until the following week.

    FACT 5: On 3/28/2016 kitchen is completely flooded – Service request ticket now placed in “escalation” status by AHS.

    FACT 6: Technician #2 from different vendor arrives on 3/29/2016, says cost to repair too high, and the dishwasher should be replaced.

    FACT 7: Technician #2 turns nozzle on to dishwasher, cabinet and kitchen flooded again.

    FACT 8: Called American Home Shield on 3/31/2016, they have not received any information from the technician.

    FACT 9: On 4/1/2016 given another number from AHS to call to order a new dishwasher. Was told while I was at work that I MUST be home to provide them with the dimensions of the old dishwasher before they could order the new dishwasher. They stated that they could not use the dimension provided by the GE technician or the second vendor they sent out.

    FACT 10: Measured dishwasher, and was told my dimensions were incorrect. My dimensions were sent to another department and someone would call me back at a later time.

    FACT 11: Received a call on 4/4/2016 from a GE technician #2 that said he fixed my dishwasher. LOL!

    FACT 12: Received a call from technician #2 on 4/4/2016 stating that they had a replacement but could not give me a date or time for the install.

    FACT 13: After several emails, several phone calls, and several days missed of work, my dishwasher was finally installed on 4/5/2016.

    These are the steps AHS uses to repair your appliances. If you choose this company BEWARE. You will lose time from work, forced to make multiple phone calls, and send many emails before your issue is resolved. I have canceled my contract after one month of using this company, and switched to another company. Like the saying goes: “Cheaper is not always better.”

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 478

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield