Read 402 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  378
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 402
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    AHS is a total rip off

    • May 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield never fix the issues at first step. They try to earn the money before they could fix. I was with AHS for 3 years now and my A/C had the issue and it took 3 years for them to actually fix it. Every time they send the technician, he fills it up with freon, which is good for 3 months, their warranty is 60 days. You pay for freon up to $100/lb and they pay $10/lb. You pay $75 service fee. Finally after a lot of debate, they accepted to fix the leakage. If I go through their contractor I need to pay $800, as they cover only the coil and they said it would cost them about $900 for the coil. When I asked about a buy-out option, the offered $501, saying that's what they give. I found someone who was able to do all the service for that money. (So far freon didn't leak.)

    Find an independent contractor, they give better and honest service and at a reasonable price. Don't believe AHS. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Never use American Home Shield

    • California,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing but bad experiences with this company. My first service call last year was for a dishwasher that wouldn't clean. Tech said it was fine. I went out and finally bought a new dishwasher, and it works perfectly.

    Today is the icing on the cake. We have no hot water. I tried calling and was left on hold for 45 minutes and never did get to talk to a human. I then ordered a service request over the phone. The tech can't come out for two days. This is NOT okay! It is 104 degrees here, and nobody can shower, wash dishes, etc.

    Thanks AHS. And, just saying, my husband is a real estate broker, so you lost all of his referrals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Never use this company!

    Let me start out by saying that I had a home warranty on all our home appliances. I went through the home warranty company (which I would not recommend!), and they set up the service with this provider.

    The tech came out and I explained that my washer would not go into high spin. I had a high-end front load washer. He told me that he would look at it and told me to go ahead and do what I was doing around the house. Afterwards, he told me to look at the pic that he had taken. He stated that there are two reasons for my motor to be "blown and the wires to be fried." I either had a power surge (which was excluded under the warranty), or I overloaded my washer. I told him that I had this washer for over 7 years and that I knew how to load my washer.

    Well, after about 6 hours, I received a call from the warranty company. They told me that the tech, who was at my home, told them that "when he arrived at my house, my washer was overfilled with clothes" and therefore this is "abuse" and it isn't covered under my warranty.

    First off, I did NOT have any clothes in the washer when he came to my home. Secondly, he NEVER checked the bearings on the washer, which will cause a motor to burn up. He just showed me these pictures and said: "this wire is supposed to be here, this wire is supposed to there and the ground wire is on the floor." He again told me that the only two things that would cause this is a power surge or I overfilled my washer.

    Since the warranty company denied the claim as "abuse" and the power surge was excluded under the policy, I guess the tech and the business knew what was going to be excluded. The warranty company told me that I could not have my own tech come out for a second opinion. I had to use their "network" tech to do the second opinion.

    Needless to say, I canceled the home warranty, and I will not do business with this repair shop again as they lied about the repair. I would not recommend this shop, nor would I recommend a home warranty company. They find ways to get out of the warranty, and their "network" service people know that as well!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield is a joke!

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If anybody is thinking about getting this company to ensure their home, run far away. Their technicians are a joke and they only put bandaids on for temporary fixes. You can never get ahold of these people when you call them, and it’s just one excuse after another. They only want your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Apr 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a long list of reasons why this company is a problem. They sent a technician to fix an issue we were having with our heater. They changed a coil for the piping and left us with a heater that stopped working. The vendor would not come back to fix the heater that stopped working after he left the same day. I am a forgiving person, but I have an infant in the house, and we are experiencing winter temperatures here. They refused to come back.

    I called American Home Shield, and they were not at all sympathetic in any way. The customer service is as atrocious as the service techs they send out. They wanted to send a company with horrible reviews out to us the next day. Totally missing the fact that we have a baby and no heat. Mind you it was the early afternoon when everything was being reported.

    Fast forward to my conversations with other customer service people regarding the cancelation of our account, and they kept telling us that their supervisors were not around for us to talk to and that they'd be calling us back. No calls. I've been calling every day for three days to talk with a supervisor. i finally spoke with Retention, who canceled our account but had absolutely zero sympathies. He was talking over me the entire time and would not let me talk. It was a joke. More like Soviet Home Shield. I never thought that an American company could have such abysmal service. Do NOT give them your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Dallastown, PA,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield is nothing but a scam. I called weeks ago about my stove and dishwasher, and American Home Shield is refusing to do anything about it. It has been weeks, and every time I called all they give me are excuses for what the hold up is. I asked to get somebody else out then that can fix it, and they are now refusing to get anybody out here to make repairs that I have paid for. American Home Shield is nothing but a scam, don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Flooded my home; charged me for it

    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A repairman sent by AHS did a faulty job on my washing machine which resulted in three rooms of my house flooding. I called AHS and all they tell us that they are "not responsible for water damage." The machine is NOT fixed and they had the audacity to charge me the $75 trade service fee. I still have a broken washing machine and now a partially flooded home. Horrible company. Horrible services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • Creola, AL,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On May 3, 2019, A/C was blowing out hot air. Called for a service request.

    A service contractor was assigned and I was told they would contact in 24 hours. The next day I called the service contractor to see when they would be coming to check A/C. They told me it would be at least 5 to 6 days before they could come. I called AHS back and they said they would get someone else.

    On May 5 I called AHS and they told me to get an outside contractor to come and fix the problem. They told me when he got there to call them so they could talk to him about what was wrong.

    When he got there and found capacitor bad we called AHS to tell them. I gave the lady at AHS my information and told her the contractor would tell her the problem and charges. She told me that since they had told me to get an outside contractor that all I had to do was send in a receipt from the contractor to them.

    I stayed on the phone with her for 20 minutes telling her that they told me earlier they would need to talk to him. She kept saying no, just send a receipt in and gave me an email address.

    I sent in receipt like I was told to. I got an e-mail saying they received the invoices. A week later I get a letter in the mail saying AHS would not reimburse me because we did not call in.

    I called AHS and gave them the date and time I called in and they said they saw where I had called in and would listen to the recording and get back to me.

    Well, I have called for 4 weeks and still all they will say is someone is looking into it.

    I called today and am canceling my contract with them. They have got enough of my money.

    Product or Service Mentioned: American Home Shield Customer Care.

    Reason of review: Poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service! Beware.

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • May 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought an investment property in October of 2016. My realtor bought the American Home Shield plan for 10/16 thru 10/17 and put it in the closing settlement with the amount of $495. I thought I'd need it, so I didn't dispute during closing.

    Then I called American Home Shield in December of 2016 to request the contract that they hadn't sent to me yet. The rep tried to upsell saying that if I decided to pay through October of 2018 with $485 more, I would have many more benefits including full coverage for everything in the house and having the service call fee waived. And that I would only pay the $75 trade fee just for an emergency service that occurs during the PM hours and would have it fixed within 24 hours.

    A couple of weeks ago, I ordered a service for the doorbell that stopped working. Had I known of the scam, I would not have called them. Their contractor came out without any communication with me as I expected and as we spoke on the phone not to deal with my tenant. However, he came and asked the tenant to let him in, and within five minutes he already left. He didn't call me the entire time. I thought he was still coming so I called him and found out he already did the service, and I had to pay for the part and the installation.

    Today, after two weeks, I got a notice from American Home Shield saying there was a delinquency on my account of $75. I demanded a cancellation. They demanded to bring the account up to date for them to proceed the cancellation. Then they did the calculation and said I would get back only $300 something out of the $980 that I paid. I said "the rep who tried to upgrade my plan in December of 2016 lied to me about all the benefits that I would get and that I compared the two contracts of the one-year and the two-year, they were identical page to page and word to word, so explain to me where are all the benefits that I was promised for the upgrade. Just show me the difference!"

    She indeed forced me into paying for an extra year with almost the same price. So I at least should get back the $485 because I have not started the 2018 contract yet plus the remaining of the $495 after the eight months in use of 2017. I threatened to go to court with them and ask the court to obtain the recording so that my lawyer would compare it to the two versions of the contract that I have in my hand. Also, their contract terms say that after 30 days, they must give back a pro-rated refund. Instead, they said whatever of 2017 which I still have left from May through October of 2017 is gone and they would deduct a $80 admin fee plus a contracted deduction of $485 from 2018 and I would get back only $300 something.

    I read them the refund terms and that they must give me back the remaining balance based on the prorate calculation so I should get back at least $600. After so much verbal fight with them, they put me on hold and came back saying they would give me back $635 as I expected. I am going to call my credit card company to stop the payment of the trade fee of $75 now.

    What a terrible company! I would never recommend American Home Shield to anyone of my circle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    Buyer beware! Have your lawyer read the fine print because there is a lot that the warranties do NOT cover. We paid the service fee and then they wanted almost $500 more! Wow, nice warranty, right?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service

    • Birmingham, Alabama,
    • Jun 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a service done by AHS, and they did not tell me they changed their policy on paying the $100.00 for service. I paid the people cash and AHS still drafted my account and their incompetent customer service agent tried to tell me I checked the wrong box, which was not an option they give. They were trying something new, and it has been causing problems. I've been waiting almost a month to get my money back, and they have not processed my $46.99 refund either.

    Customer service has denied me to speak to management multiple times, and they can't tell me when I will get my money back, and they tried to draft my account again after I cancel service. DO NOT use this place, they are rude and do not know customer service at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 402

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review