Read 432 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  406
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 432
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield a TOTAL SCAM

    • Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from American Home Shield (AHS 1 800-776-4663).

    I had my entire house insured with SEARS (excellent company) for the past 3 years, well, about 2 months ago I got an e-mail from AHS giving me an offer of $100 off if I join them...BIG MISTAKE!

    All these insurance companies after you join them always make you wait 30 days before the insurance starts...so I waited 30 days with AHS and then they charged my credit card on August 30th, 2019.

    Let me also mention that I have the worry-free plan from PSE&G.

    On September 14th, 2019 I noticed water underneath my water heater so I called PSE&G first. They determined that my water heater needed to be replaced. Soon after, I called AHS and placed the claim (I had to wait until Monday the 16th because they don’t work on weekends).

    I got a call from PHD Mechanical INC Monday morning and I was told that they will be at my house later during the day.

    The technician came (I was at work) and then left after about 20 minutes...

    I called PHD Mechanical to find out what was going to be done, but they told me that I had to call AHS, so I call AHS and they told me that I have to wait for the technician’s report (all this was at about 1 pm)...

    At about 4:30 pm I called PHD Mechanical again, they told me that the technician had already given his report to AHS, so, I called AHS...they told me that I had to call PHD Mechanical. At this point, I was getting very upset! So I demanded the person from AHS to tell me what was happening and I had no reason to call PHD Mechanical because my payments are done directly to AHS and not any other company.

    Let me also mention that my credit card had also been charged $106 as part of my deductible...per claim.

    Well, the guy from AHS told me that I had to pay for the repair because the part that I needed was not covered by their warranty (I needed a PRESSURE REGULATOR), so I said "I pay your company to have insurance." The guy from AHS told me that it would cost me $385 to get my water heater fixed and that I needed to contact PHD Mechanical (so $385 + $106 = $491 so far, a brand new unit at home depot is about $500).

    I demanded to speak with his manager, and mysteriously (!) I got disconnected.

    The next morning I get a call from PHD Mechanical telling me that my estimate was ready and that it would cost me $2,500 to replace the unit. I said, "WHAT!"

    Before I was ready to say something else, the lady from PHD Mechanical also said "oh, and AHS DENIED your claim."

    At this point I was FURIOUS! So I said to the lady from PHD Mechanical that AHS had told me that all I needed was the PRESSURE REGULATOR. The lady from PHD Mechanical then told me that it was not true.

    I then called AHS and they told me that they were not going to replace it because it was a pre-existing condition and that the water under the water heater had rust. I said to the lady "I don’t know exactly what do you mean by preexisting because I just noticed the leak for the first time last Saturday." If it was leaking before I never saw it, also even if it was a preexisting problem, #1 I would have not waited 2 months to put the claim and risking my basement from getting flooded, and #2, this is the purpose of having the insurance if something happens. And as far as the water looking brownish because of the rust (I said to the lady)...REALLY! That is what happens when water is in contact with metal...for years.

    The lady from AHS all had to say and keep repeating was that it was a preexisting condition and that they will not pay or replace it.

    Again...stay AWAY from AMERICAN HOME SHIELD (1 800-776-4663).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Two-month fridge repair, still not resolved

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Sep 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These past two months have been the worst customer experience I have ever received from a warrant company, especially after using them for over 15 years on multiple properties.

    Friday stopped working on July 25th. One unqualified repairman and 4 service calls, then Sears diagnosed to replace, yet AHS can't find that approval after Sears sent it multiple times, I am done.

    Customer service lied to me several times saying they saw authorization to approve, yet purchasing does not show anything, and another rep says still waiting on tech to send a status update.

    SCAM, SCAM, SCAM!

    Don't waste your money with them, plenty of other home warranty companies with a lot better customer service and better price plans.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    "AHS" scam

    • Bonney Lake, WA,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first time I used "AHS" to repair my tankless water heater they managed every excuse that it was installed wrong! My system was installed to code by a licensed plumbing company and correct building permits from the city, but it didn't comply with the manufacturer? So over a phone call from a 4th party, "AHS" wouldn't pay, a phone call from someone who never inspected the unit or even seen the installation! Just so they wouldn't have to pay! And it took 2 weeks and 3 times that "AHS" sent or scheduled the wrong type of contractors to show up and repair. What a waste and they are just scamming you, read the fine print and exactly what is covered because they have more loopholes than a ground squirrel colony.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    You CAN put them out of business

    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Sep 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had AHS for almost two years before I needed to file a claim. I'll spare you the details, because my story is no different from any other one-star review here.

    My story is no different, but the outcome was NOT what AHS was expecting.

    I didn't bother writing an online review. I documented every phone call, the name of the CS rep I spoke with on each of four calls, the date, time and length of each call, and printed out hard copies of two email exchanges.

    I sent copies of everything to the Indiana Department of Insurance, along with my official complaint.

    Five days later, I received a phone call (showed "Memphis Call" on CID) from a guy who spoke perfect English with a slight southern drawl.

    "What's this complaint about? Of course we'll issue your complete refund! All you had to do was to ask! We'll send your check as soon as you withdraw your complaint."

    Uh-uh. Ain't gonna happen. I'm not withdrawing anything. YOU made those promises, YOU reneged on those promises and now you'll have to answer for denying me the coverage I paid for in good faith.

    I received my refund check, in the full amount, about a week later.

    Not only were they forced to return all of my money, they also had to pay a fine to the state, write a detailed response outlining how they would rectify my complaint and what policies they'll implement to prevent future complaints similar to mine.

    They also had their non-resident insurance license (to sell in Indiana) put into a probationary status for six months. That means the Indiana Department of Insurance will watch them like a hawk for a while to make sure their business practices comply with Indiana insurance laws. They also must file monthly reports during their probation, and that report must include ALL complaints they've received during that month, and what action AHS took to rectify those complaints.

    Writing online reviews might make you feel a little better, but AHS doesn't care about those reviews. People tend to believe the old adage, "If it wasn't true, they couldn't put it on television." Most folks believe what they see and hear on AHS commercials, and they don't write their complaints until their claim has been denied for some bogus reason.

    File your complaints with your state's department of insurance. Document everything - every call, every check you write to them, the names of the contractors and what they did (or failed to do) when they arrived, names of CS reps you've spoken with (along with the date and time of each call), EVERYTHING.

    When your state receives enough complaints about this company, they'll pull AHS's license to sell insurance in your state.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT waste your time or money!

    • Glenview, IL,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible. The service providers they send out seem trained to con you. Here is my story in September 2019 in detail for which AHS has told me they will not reimburse me for the $75 charge.

    Original problem: Both outside AC units AND inside fan are running BUT there is no air coming through the air vents in the house.

    We were given instructions to turn off the AC unit 24 hours prior to a visit from Rush Heating and Cooling and was given a window of service between 2 - 4 on Tuesday, September 10th.

    There was a problem with this service call from the beginning. Here is a summary of the issues that we faced on September 10th.

    1. Rush Heating and Air did not show at the appointed window of service nor did they communicate with me any issues concerning their tardiness.

    2. Therefore, I called Rush at 3:53 to ask when the service would be provided. I got an answering machine so left a message for them to call me as soon as possible. I followed up with a call to AHS too, but was told that the computers were down.

    3. I called Rush again at 4:41 and did get someone on the line who told me that there was a lot of traffic and that is why they were late.

    4. They finally arrived around 6, two hours after my window.

    5. They said the freon levels were at about 50% and needed approximately 2 pounds of freon gas which would cost $180

    6. They said that the unit was too small for the place and that was why the air was not circulating properly and a new unit was needed that could support the square footage of the building, yet the other 100+ townhomes in the community have the same unit.

    7. I was billed $75 for a service call which did not fix the problem.

    The AC unit was turned back on after the workers left. It did, in fact, cool the house and the airflow returned only to stop working again on Thursday, September 12th.

    As a result, I called in Azzo to assess the AC unit and here is what they found:

    1. There was ice built up around the pipes outside and that prevented the proper airflow through the house. This was due to a freon leak in the system.

    2. This would have been detected had Rush Heating and Air instructed me to turn on the AC unit one hour prior to their arrival.

    3. Freon was down by one pound, not two. Rush bold-faced lied.

    4. I was billed $100 by Azzo Air for the service call and freon, see attached.

    Thankfully, the unit is now working.

    It is my contention that due to the poor, dishonest and non-existent service offered by Rush Heating and Air, that I should not have been billed the $75 fee. Furthermore, That AHS should cover the costs of Azzo Air to fix the problem as part of the Warranty that is offered to new home buyers. After all, this is what the warranty and insurance are supposed to provide.

    I should be at a minimum refunded the $75 service charge and a check to cover my out-of-pocket expenses for Azzo Air for $100, which totals $175.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not really interested

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We recently bought a home that we were assured was "covered by a trusted home warranty." This was especially important because we were out of town buyers who would not occupy the property immediately. We were advised by our real estate agent to change the locks right after closing and were given a recommended locksmith. Upon moving into the property a couple of months later and going thru the warranty documents, we discovered the rekeying cost ($500+) was a "covered" item. Our filed claim was totally rejected due to not using American Home Warranty's chosen service contractor. We were not even reimbursed their usual and customary cost. NOTHING! A call to clarify the situation and try for some compromise was disconnected. Advertising to the contrary, they are NOT in the business of looking out for the buyer. We intend to report this to our real estate company and suggest they not mislead future buyers about the value of American Home Warranties.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Poor customer service and misleading

    • California,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    1. I wouldn't have thought it would take that long each time to get to customer service. Average calls in about a dozen calls I made worked out be at least 30 minutes and most agents did not call back if the call dropped or cut off. Understanding the English language also seemed to be a problem.

    2. They initially gave me a contractor who had so many bad reviews who just ruined my entire day to reschedule where I had to take additional time off. When I complained to AHS, they did nothing to ensure better service.

    3. MISLEADING - It took me a couple of calls to AHS before I committed to them. The customer service person also stated that if I recommended other people to join, both of us then would each get a $25 give card. Upon my recommendation, my neighbor joined and as requested by AHS over the phone, my neighbor gave my contract number to activate the gift card. It was over 6 weeks and today upon calling AHS, I was told that they would not be giving us the gift cards because somebody did not write in in the notes. No big deal as it was not worth my time to pursue a little gift card. They have the calls recorded...I might be making it up they say.

    4. In the first week of September, i.e. after the requested service was completed by the second contractor assigned, I get an email from AHS and then a call from the initial contractor that I moved away from stating that they would be coming on the 14th of August to fix my AC. I think both AHS and its bad rated contractor were daydreaming.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • AC leak

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waiting impatiently for the assigned contractor to schedule repairs. Tech has been out and looked at my AC and no word back and tomorrow it will be 7 days! Unacceptable! Part of the ceiling had already collapsed in the hall due to the leak and that’s when I made the call to AHS. I have called the contractor - Sevier Climate Control - and got a runaround. Then I called AHS and another runaround - I need to get this fixed before the rest of my ceiling falls through due to a leak!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Worst customer service EVER

    • Los Gatos, CA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a property manager and have had many interactions with AHS. Literally, the most frustrating company I have ever encountered. The amount of time lost mitigating their mistakes, staying on hold forever on the phone (upwards of 20 to 30 mins per call on hold), micromanaging their "bargain" vendors, and dealing with upset clients and tenants on my end would add up to a full week of paid vacation time off, I'm sure. The list goes on, I just want to warn consumers to stay away, there are much better options out there, I have no idea how these people stay in business or have even halfway decent reviews. The vendors they use are TERRIBLE, if they have any good vendors, they are always booked out and don't have time to take new work orders. Probably because they are good vendors who don't need a home warranty to stay in business. I really do not like to write negative reviews, but this home warranty has consistently made my job harder than it has to be. Our clients pay for this home warranty in good faith and they just don't receive the quality of service they thought they were paying for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam company, don’t cover anything

    • Rockville, MD,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was told no contract, can be canceled any time and if you need to get your appliances repaired and it is covered, provide the invoice from the tech and the company we will pay me back.

    I would not trust this company and they are not very friendly at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Water heater

    • King George, VA,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in a work order on 09/01/2019 and the plumbing company came out on 09/03/19. They told us we needed a replacement water heater. Then American Home Shield (AHS) came back and said we need to have a water tank expansion which was not covered under the warranty, which we tried to fight but finally gave in and paid $375 (on top of the $100 to bring them out). Then the plumbing company was to come out to fix our water heater on 09/07/2019. Then in the morning, I got a call from the plumbing company and AHS would not release the PO to get the water heater replaced. I called and they said they must get authorization from who they use to replace the water heater. So now we still have no hot water until at least 09/13/2019 before we can get the water heater but who knows when they can fix it. It is truly sad when the parts department is closed on Saturday and nothing can be done until next week. AHS has no issue taking our money but they don't want to fix stuff in your house. I should be happy it was not our heater or air conditioner broken, we would either be really hot or cold. AHS really doesn't care about standing behind a home warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 432

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review