Read 436 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  410
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 436
Sort reviews by:

  • AC leak

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waiting impatiently for the assigned contractor to schedule repairs. Tech has been out and looked at my AC and no word back and tomorrow it will be 7 days! Unacceptable! Part of the ceiling had already collapsed in the hall due to the leak and that’s when I made the call to AHS. I have called the contractor - Sevier Climate Control - and got a runaround. Then I called AHS and another runaround - I need to get this fixed before the rest of my ceiling falls through due to a leak!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Worst customer service EVER

    • Los Gatos, CA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a property manager and have had many interactions with AHS. Literally, the most frustrating company I have ever encountered. The amount of time lost mitigating their mistakes, staying on hold forever on the phone (upwards of 20 to 30 mins per call on hold), micromanaging their "bargain" vendors, and dealing with upset clients and tenants on my end would add up to a full week of paid vacation time off, I'm sure. The list goes on, I just want to warn consumers to stay away, there are much better options out there, I have no idea how these people stay in business or have even halfway decent reviews. The vendors they use are TERRIBLE, if they have any good vendors, they are always booked out and don't have time to take new work orders. Probably because they are good vendors who don't need a home warranty to stay in business. I really do not like to write negative reviews, but this home warranty has consistently made my job harder than it has to be. Our clients pay for this home warranty in good faith and they just don't receive the quality of service they thought they were paying for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam company, don’t cover anything

    • Rockville, MD,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was told no contract, can be canceled any time and if you need to get your appliances repaired and it is covered, provide the invoice from the tech and the company we will pay me back.

    I would not trust this company and they are not very friendly at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Water heater

    • King George, VA,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in a work order on 09/01/2019 and the plumbing company came out on 09/03/19. They told us we needed a replacement water heater. Then American Home Shield (AHS) came back and said we need to have a water tank expansion which was not covered under the warranty, which we tried to fight but finally gave in and paid $375 (on top of the $100 to bring them out). Then the plumbing company was to come out to fix our water heater on 09/07/2019. Then in the morning, I got a call from the plumbing company and AHS would not release the PO to get the water heater replaced. I called and they said they must get authorization from who they use to replace the water heater. So now we still have no hot water until at least 09/13/2019 before we can get the water heater but who knows when they can fix it. It is truly sad when the parts department is closed on Saturday and nothing can be done until next week. AHS has no issue taking our money but they don't want to fix stuff in your house. I should be happy it was not our heater or air conditioner broken, we would either be really hot or cold. AHS really doesn't care about standing behind a home warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    AHS is a scam. Do not buy. They have been giving me the runaround on a water heater repair request since June 2019. I have been a customer since 2011 but now that appliances start breaking down I don't get any service. First authorizations department sits on it. Now they say the contractor relations department has the request. No one to escalate this to, no number for contractor relations department to chase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Poor service

    • Maryland,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield does not follow through on repairs. It takes two or more weeks for them to send a contractor to come out and inspect the appliance/unit. It takes another three or four more weeks for the part to be purchased and another two weeks for the contractor to come back to perform service. Their service is deplorable. They do not hold themselves accountable for the repairs to be performed in a professional manner or a timely manner. Always giving me the same excuse that the contractor has not communicated with them. I pay for a service but all I get is excuses. Every time I call, I get a different customer representative who takes 10 minutes to read the notes related to my repair request. It's been over two months since I made a request (request made on June 27th) to repair my Kitchenaid refrigerator. I called every day to obtain a status update and spent more than 30 hours on the phone with American Home Shield over the last month. It's unacceptable to not have a working refrigerator. American Home Shield has not provided me with basic good customer service. They do not take action when the hired contractor is not doing their job. Instead, they ignore the problem and the repair gets dragged out for months with nothing getting done. Very poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Electrical service

    I had AHS since I bought this house, I called and wanted an electrician to see why my stove would not work when my dryer was on. Well, he came, did some juggling around, and didn't fix anything I had the same problem again, he came and said there was nothing wrong just to wash or cook but not at the same time. Later I called someone else, he came and had to replace the breaker box and add more breakers to the box. All the wires were bare and it could have caused a fire. My house would have burned with me in it. I would not recommend it to anyone. Besides, when I tried to contact them they gave me the runaround and never returned my calls or reimbursed me for the repairs that were done. So no, I give them 1 star only. Very unsatisfied with AHS. Back in 2009.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Be aware, American Home Shield paid to filter out bad reviews...

    • Nevada,
    • Sep 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a realtor, American Home Shield came to my old company every month to promote how good they are and I believed them. Even after I moved to another company, I still recommended American Home Shield to my buyers and have them for my new home as well. Our AC stopped working today, we called AHS, they told us they do not send contractors on weekends...On a day it is 110 F outside and rising swiftly inside to unbearable conditions, we must wait until 3-6 pm Monday - three full days from now for the AC company to evaluate the problem. It could be days after for the repair to be made. After reading the entire contract, there is no mention of a blackout of service on weekends. What the contract does state is "loss of cooling...is an emergency as defined by the Nevada Revised Statutes...service will commence not later than 24 hrs after the report of the claim."

    After years of referring AHS, I will never recommend American Home Shield to any clients in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your money!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quite literally the WORST company I have ever worked with. They want you to pay hundreds for their service, but once they have your money they couldn't care less if you get the services you were promised. It took me 3 calls to get a serviceman to come look at my washer and once he finally came, they refused to order any necessary parts because they claimed it was the responsibility of the washer's brand. I finally have up and called my own service person from the washer's company to come out. My washer has been sitting broken for two weeks now and because I used this company, it won't get fixed for another two.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They suck!

    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My AC broke down last Tuesday. It was "repaired" until Friday we came home and it was 95 degrees in the house. This is Arizona - it is hot. Saturday morning they came and decided the compressor is out. American Home Shield was supposed to order the part...it was just ordered this morning...Wednesday...4 days later. Stay tuned...we'll see if it gets fixed at all. I have my doubts. American Home Shield sent Sure Temp to do the repairs...I have no complaints about them, they are working within the limits of American Home Shield.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    More of the same

    • Victoria, TX,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading all of the reviews, all I can say is don't rely on these people to care or help you. I've had NO A/C for 10 days! Average heat index 108 degrees. The contractor came out and diagnosed the problem on a Monday, then that Friday called to say they would be out on Monday to replace evap coil. GREAT NEWS! WRONG. Today (Monday) he calls me AT the scheduled appointment time to inform that they can't get the part until Friday. Called AHS, and had the same experience every other reviewer has had, BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE! Do not use AHS or Southern Comfort Heating and Air form El Campo, Texas.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 436

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review