• 520 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 94%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Beware

    • By John T.,
    • Turlock, CA,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Cheap replacements, work never completed, only willing to help after timeframe to charge another $100.

    Unintelligent customer service reps that do not understand basic common sense.

    Not always qualified repair people.

    Not recommended. Winter heater maintenance, did absolutely nothing, opened door, looked at the heater and said looks good here, 5 mins, cost $75.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SUCKS!

    • By Jessica W.,
    • Murfreesboro, TN,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have requested upon multiple attempts to get a copy of the recording from the sales agent and have not received anything from this company. They have a call center somewhere outside of the US that does everything in their power to not communicate with you. In October we purchased a Home Warranty because of a plumbing issue that we had to repair. Once the repair was made we then decided that we wanted an HW to protect us against any future unforeseeable problems. After a very detailed conversation that we had with the sales rep and her telling us the problem that we just had she said "it would have been covered", we opted for 2 plans. One plan for our personal home and one for our rental. Once the contracts came in, the items that we had inquired about stated that they were NOT covered. We then acted immediately to get some clarification about the phone call recording and as to what would be done to rectify the problem.

    Fast forward 2 months, 6 calls, 6 broken promises of returned phone calls after waiting on the line 2 hours each call for a supervisor and still have yet to have this problem resolved. I have since contacted my attorney and as of December 2nd, 2019 are still in limbo and even my attorney is waiting on hold.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Save your money

    • By John S.,
    • Ballwin, MO,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We paid them for over 7 years. When we really needed them for our air conditioner, they sent a representative and after about 5-7 minutes, he said we had to replace it ourselves. We actually only needed a repairman 3 other times during all those years. Not a good experience. If we had just saved our money, we could have just purchased a new one out of those funds. So when you hear them advertise that they will repair or replace your appliances and home items, don’t believe them. False advertising. We know. We experienced their bad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HORRIBLE COMPANY

    • By Mike A.,
    • Muncie, IN,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been requesting a refund on a service call on 11/4, and was told I would have it within 7-10 days. Well, 23 days later still no refund. I have talked to them numerous times and I get a different answer each time. Now they say 12/5 or so. DO NOT fall for their A+ rating from the BBB, as it not true. They have a B rating according to the TN BBB, and they have received over 10K complaints in the last 2 years. I have filed a complaint with the BBB and my state's attorney general. File complaints about this company as they are scammers and their corporate numbers go overseas not the US! DO NOT go with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Boiler problems and warranty company was crap

    • By Karen L.,
    • Michigan,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We switched protection plans from consumer energy to AHS warranty. Four months later our boiler furnace started leaking and misfiring. The warranty company sent out J&E Johnson Inc. They did repairs on the three leaks by replacing all the ball valves, and a list of other things that at meant nothing to the problem of misfiring but did fix the 3 leaks. They cleaned the burners but still misfired. Called them out a second time and they cleaned it and said they would order new burner tubes. Now the warranty company is refusing to cover the misfiring repair because they said we were over our annual limit of $1500.00. I was surprised to find out that all of the unnecessary work had put us over a limit that we didn't know we had. So, the warranty company says we have the ok to fix ourselves. So, we paid the $100 deductible, and our monthly payments, but now we have to pay to get the boiler fixed because it still misfires and is very dangerous. Worst warranty company ever. Will be going back to consumer's energy asap and not paying them another dime. The company that couldn't fix the misfire again was J&E Johnson Inc. What a joke. Also, the rude people that we had to talk to on the phone, were not fun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield isn’t worth it

    • By Mike B.,
    • Boise, ID,
    • Nov 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    AHS hires dishonest contractors who do not do repair work properly. When you discover the shoddy subpar work and report it to AHS, they don’t care. In fact, they won’t even let you speak with a manager to voice your concerns. I will not renew my contract with AHS. Plumbing contractor said he replaced the gas valve on my water heater but it was not done and the issue persists. Had a new plumber fix it but had to pay the service fee again! Ripoff!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this company!

    • By Kevin S.,
    • Carlsbad, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After 3 years of continuous service, we put in 2 service calls in the past week, and both were declined service.

    First, our furnace was turning on in the middle of the night and sounded like an explosion was going off. The rudest service technician came out and apparently smartphones diagnose HVAC issues as that is all he showed up and used in his 5 minutes in my home. Took some pictures, said it works, and said he couldn’t do anything and left before I could even ask any additional questions. It took them longer to process my payment than actually listen to the problem and look for a solution. When I called to complain, they said they would look into the matter and call me back. It’s been a week and no response.

    Then I just had them look at my garage door opener. There was a capacitor that had some charring and they immediately deemed it to be a power surge so they could not cover it. Although they cover the entire electrical system and the appliances connected to it, nothing is really covered.

    This company is a bunch of crooks and I can’t believe I have wasted thousands on them. I hope this helps at least one person to not use them so they do not have to go through what I am experiencing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS did not keep their word

    • By Jimmy D.,
    • Alabama,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In January 2019, I reported that my dryer was drying but was loud. I have had 6 visits and 2 technicians from Stephen Appliance come to my home. One technician came 4 times, the other 2 times. Many parts were replaced but after the last visit on 5/13/19 Marcus had the audacity to tell me it was a VENT problem and I would need to get a professional to come and clean it out...REALLY! What about the part "if we cannot fix it...we will replace it." The problem I have with this is the dryer was drying even though it was loud...but now I have to run it double time to dry the same amount of clothes from before. AHS even called and stood with Stephens Appliance. The amount I paid for a year was MORE than the cost of a new dryer...Do your research before going with AHS or Stephens Appliance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad

    • By Ryan C.,
    • Virginia,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    One star is too much for this company. I used their service for 5 years. After submitting my first claim for a leaking water heater over 8 days ago, still nothing has happened. I now have flooring damage and mold that AHS will not admit responsibility for. This will be my last year with this "service". If you are looking around for a company like this, I advise to look elsewhere. Don't put yourself through more of a headache by having to deal with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just...don't

    Overall Experience:

    Worst customer service EVER. This company is set up to profit, which means, they do not pay out, and will look for every excuse not to. Within two years, they "replaced" my evaporator coil twice, and when it broke the third time, again only offered replacement of the part, not to replace the 12-year-old unit. Instead, I opted for the cash out of $690, but ha, ya, umm...of course they every excuse not to pay this. Did I mention that every time they replaced the coil, I had to pay $600 out of pocket for freon, in addition to the $125 service call? Wicked scammers, this company. You are so much better off paying for repairs out of pocket. Save the premiums and bank them to cover repairs the right way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's a scam

    • By Chris R.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Zero stars. Water heater went out. Set up appointment. The plumber showed up the next day. Diagnosis: water heater shot, needs replacement. AHS leaves me a message saying it will be $465 in additional out of pocket cost due to additional plumbing ($100), expansion tank ($285), relief valve ($75). Asked for a cash-out but that really doesn't exist - you must provide a receipt for completed work and they will send a check ($432). I can have one installed by my own contractor for $750. I can buy one and install myself for $400. No matter how you work it, I will be out roughly $600 after my $120 deductible. The AHS contractor greatly marks up parts and labor to screw you as he knows you have no recourse. The expansion tank can be bought for $30 and the relief valve for $15. The contractor nails you for a hefty $350 profit for his inflated prices on all the extras. What a racket. Don't bother with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service issues

    • By Erika T.,
    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the third time I’ve used AHS, most of my experience has been good. My major issue is with customer service. Once your order is set up, the calls seem to only go to an overseas customer service center. My issue with this is though they understand English, they often don’t understand the context of your words. I purchased my home last year and have a room that has an old gas wall heater. Without it working the room is unusable in winter. I called, had a nice young man come out and turn it on but was unable to identify if it should have a thermostat on the wall or some other on-off switch. He left stating he’d do some research and get back to me. Instead I get a call from AHS saying they can’t fix it and that it’s missing a thermostat and they don’t do replacement of equipment. Not what tech advised, I’d like a second opinion. Here’s where the problems begin.

    First they schedule the second opinion with the same company...I call them, of course they advise they don’t do a second opinion on their own work. Call AHS again, get out of country customer service...first person says the second opinion should have never been scheduled, attempts to cancel the order altogether. After speaking to several people to get this corrected, they schedule with another company. That company never called, never answered my calls, and had no voicemail. I wait expecting that maybe they’re busy as we’re entering heating season in Michigan. After 6 days I call, get someone out of the country again. I explain the contact issues with the company. He calls, has the same problem, then returns to tell me he will email them and for me to wait for a call. Of course at this point that is unacceptable. I ask for a supervisor. After being put on hold twice he tells me there are no supervisors and I must wait for the tech to respond by email. At this point, I call back multiple times until I finally get someone in the US. She apologized and acknowledged this was unreasonable. She scheduled my appointment and even called the company to ensure availability. I believe her name was Brandy. We will see how this next visit goes.

    Bottom line it shouldn’t take nearly 10 calls to get properly assisted. I realize at this point for business reasons companies will use out of country customer service but they should not be the ones that take calls when someone has a problem. They are typically very polite but are nearly never able to solve problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam company, not worth it

    • By Joel P.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not cover alot of things it promises...Scam company, shoty workers, very bad customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The scam of American Home Shield

    • By Peter B.,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Oct 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After discovering a water leak that was causing our kitchen tile to loosen and crack, we contacted American Home Shield and was informed that $75 fee must be paid before anything else could be started, once that was done a local plumber was dispatched in a few days. Once in my home, they found the leak and because I had tried to find it myself it was not covered because it was considered excessive force since cutting into drywall. Protecting your home and or property from further damage was considered excessive and they even tried to play me against the plumber standing right next to me. I then got the actual bill from the plumber which was $650. I had to this point never called American Home Shield for any claims, when I called to cancel my account they had to arrogance to try and charge me $46 fee to fire them, which was adamantly refused. With all of the years I paid my monthly premium, I could have paid for the plumber and even gotten material to lay a new floor. The customer service representative even tried to keep as a customer offering coupons and two months at a discounted premium after all of this was explained. I would love to score them with negative numbers if that was possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS

    • By Eduard B.,
    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Everything you ask the company will lie that it's not covered, from the washer to dryer, they will say not used correctly, etc. This company is total fraud, scam. Phone is answered in the Philippines and they stonewall service, and if in the US they just rude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Repair time is too long.

    • By Rosie J.,
    • Rolling Fork, MS,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called for an oven and a dryer repair. States will take 2 weeks to get the oven part. Looked at washer for a leak. I needed to run a load of clothes to look for a leak. Ran part of load time then left soaking wet clothes in washer. Will take two weeks to get parts. The repair time is ridiculous. I can't bake or wash for two weeks. In the meantime, I have to go to the washateria and pay to wash. Two weeks of that and I will have bought the part and paid someone for one-day service. Looking for another company. They take your money readily and take their time doing their part.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    • By Shawn W.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a 1893 Victorian, and with the house being that old, I thought this insurance would be a good idea to minimize future costs. Boy, was I wrong. I've been a customer since 2013.

    In my account, I can only see the last two years, but during that time I can see that I have had no requests for service that resulted in anyone actually visiting my home. In those two years, I've paid $1200 in monthly fees, and received no service.

    Fast forward to today, and I have now been without hot water for eight days, with no installation of a new tank scheduled. The plumber blames AHS and AHS blames the plumber. Nighttime temps are now dipping below freezing and we can't even wash our hands. Half a dozen calls (almost every day) to AHS and multiple texts to the plumber have resulted in nothing.

    Evidently, with AHS not even the squeaky wheel gets the grease!

    Long story short, I don't think it likely that you will ever come out ahead with this "insurance." And if by chance, you ever do have to use it, be ready for a ridiculously long wait for repairs. So long that you'd rather have never had AHS and could just call a plumber and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.

    At the end of the day, it would have cost me the same or less to not have AHS, and I'd be taking a warm shower right now...

    I strongly advise against this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would give a negative star rating if that were possible

    • By Lynne G.,
    • California City, CA,
    • Oct 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have AHS warranties on several homes and didn't really have a complaint until this year.

    In the first instance, a plumber came out and said the electric water heater needed replacement. The replacement was approved by AHS, but the contractor wanted an additional $360 from me before he would replace the unit. I complained to AHS, and they basically said there was nothing they could do about it. They said these additional charges were for "upgrades" that weren't covered.

    I spoke to the plumber to ask exactly what the upgrades were and he said the additional charges were really due to the risk involved in replacing the water heater. He said that the company would hold him responsible for the water heater if anything happened during the installation, so he had to make it "worth his while" to make the repair.

    After I went along with it and approved the charges, a new water heater was installed. However, there was still no hot water. An electrician had to come out and replace the breaker because there was no power to the water heater.

    Apparently, the problem all along was the bad breaker, not the water heater. I had paid the plumber an upcharge for a new water heater that I never really needed.

    I complained to the plumber, but he said the water heater needed replacement because it leaked. That was not true. It never leaked, it had simply stopped heating the water. Apparently, the issue was electrical all along.

    AHS said that I would have to get a refund from the plumber, not them. They still use that vendor.

    Now, we are having a problem with a bad main breaker.

    The first electrician diagnosed the problem as a bad main breaker. He said that the part was in Van Nuys and no one had it locally. Days went by.

    I called the electrician and he said he would have someone out there ASAP. No one came.

    I called AHS, and the customer service person called the electrician. She called me back after and said that the electrician wouldn't be able to help me because he was having financial and staffing problems. The repairman he had sent out originally had quit. So, after almost two weeks with reduced electricity to the house, they sent a new electrician.

    This time, the new electrician wants $2,600 from me for an "upgrade" to make the electrical supply 200 amps instead of 100 amps. I would note here that 100 amps is standard for residential use.

    When I complained, AHS said that all I could do was try to get another opinion. If the new electrician agreed with the upgrade diagnosis, I would have to pay another $75.

    I asked AHS to call the original electrician with the personal problems and ask him for his diagnosis to save time.

    At my insistence, they did. He told them that I needed a new main breaker. There was no mention of an upgrade to 200 amps or an overload of any kind.

    The supervisor for AHS still insisted that I needed to wait for a second (really third) opinion. It's Friday afternoon, so that will be three weeks trying to get this problem fixed.

    I asked if they could expedite the request for service since this had gone on for so long already, but the supervisor refused.

    The problem, I think, is that they hire unqualified bottom feeders for contractors. When there's a problem, AHS doesn't stand up for their customers. They only want to rigidly follow some byzantine claim denial procedure specifically designed for you to get so disgusted with the whole process that you shut up and go away.

    The bottom line is that you are left holding the bag after having paid for this supposed warranty.

    SAVE YOUR MONEY. DON'T BUY AN AMERICAN HOME SHIELD WARRANTY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run around on claim

    • By Bill B.,
    • Sun Lakes, AZ,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Water heat needs to be replaced. They sent a repair man immediately. Had to wait 1 day to get approval. Repair company then wanted an additional $365 for additional install. Took estimate to a different plumber who revealed that the new charge was the same an install, should not cost extra. American Home Shield said there was nothing they could. I then asked for a cash out to get my own heat and install...They said they would have a cash out price within 24-48 hours...Never happened. Asked for a supervisor and there was nobody available. Day three still waiting. Representatives were from India and could not be understood. Very frustrating to deal with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy with this company

    • By Irene M.,
    • Laguna Hills, CA,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I’ve paid for 5 years now and never needed any service. Now that my washer almost caught on fire I finally put in a claim. They had an appliance company come and check out the problem! It’s been almost a week and still nothing. I called and asked for a manager and they claim no manager and no supervisor. I’m blond pissed. Go elsewhere for a reliable company. After my washer either gets replaced or fixed I’m going to another company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use

    • By Ray W.,
    • Canyon Lake, TX,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not sure if this will get posted but here goes. Two and a half years of trying to get the ice maker fixed, eight service calls still not fixed.

    Second repairman stated that there was a known problem and he would recommend refrigerator replacement, didn't happen. Canceled the warranty, not even a call as to why we canceled. I hope this helps people make a choice not to use this service. You should take the word "American" out of the title of your company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't walk away, RUN

    • By Curtis C.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    From an engineer/union carpenter/manager/exec who has been building the big commercial stuff for 35 years - it's always the same old thing with AHS:

    1. Speaking with call centers located overseas, so a language barrier, and if they speak English, they don't understand sentence structure and thus true meaning of requests, etc. It's a total beating to get anywhere with overseas customer service.

    2. Always fighting to obtain quality contractors - only the weak contractors appear to work with AHS. Poor service and poor work in field, plus they attempt to inflate costs on any "add-ins" that may be required for code and so forth - it's called "gouging" in the construction industry, they have no idea of my background and are blatant about it - lot of people probably accept, but I won't tolerate it.

    3. The AHS reimbursement for equipment replacement is unreal - I was to receive 1/3 the REAL cost of a water heater replacement in cash ($500), OR, be gouged by the contractor they sent me for around $1k due to items not covered by AHS, when they were worth half. Lastly, the new water heater was a "no name" = cheap. No win...

    So AHS is terminated (and don't seem to care), and I'm on to the next company - Fixd, located right here in Dallas. If they don't perform, guess who's getting an in-person visit?

    There is no hope for AHS unless they address Large and Dominant issues such as above - no matter how highly rated on various sites, the company is horrible - stay FAR FAR away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Company does not provide competent service

    • By Du M.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I made a claim in July because my AC was leaking.

    They sent out the first company they used 4 times and they did not repair the issue.

    I asked for a different company. The second company came out, did not repair the issue, and did not return multiple emails and phone calls trying to schedule another service. The second company also charged me for materials that I did not need.

    It's October now and my AC is still not fixed, and in the meantime, I have water damage and mold from the leak and AHS says they don't cover that despite the fact that they have not provided a competent service team over the several months this has been going on.

    Disgusted.

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY. They take ZERO responsibility for repairing problems nor for secondary issues that occur when they send out incompetent service people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's simply not worth it!

    • By Michael W.,
    • Maryland,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company promises the moon and delivers nothing! Quick to charge you your check out fee then send a low-quality F-grade technician that tells you that you need a new house basically and none of it covered because AHS considers everything repairable and refuses to replace the items in need saying they can be repaired but won't send a tech that can repair them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad service from American Home Shield and their contractor

    • By Jose A.,
    • Montgomery, TX,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I contacted AHS on a Sunday because my air conditioner was not cooling. First they emailed me that Air Dynasty would call between 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM. On Monday, Air Dynasty called and said the technician would call between 12:00 and 4:00pm (mind you temperature is very hot and humid in the Houston area). The technician took about 8 minutes to tell me I needed an evaporator box, and 10 lbs of freon. The cost would be $480 for freon and about $1040 for upgrades for a 7-year-old AC Unit. My cost with American Home Shield warranty would be over $1500. He adviced me that a contract would be submitted, and then sent to me for approval. By Wednesday, I hadn't received the contract, I logged in to my account and indicated that my problem had not been fixed. In the meantime, I read the reviews for Air Dynasty, bad news, no good reviews for them. It appears that AHS has had many complains with the BBB, yet they get a good grade. I called a company with excellent reviews, they came the same day, fixed my AC for less than what Air Dynasty was going to charge, and they said no upgrades were needed on my unit. I called AHS for a refund of my $75, they wouldn't do it. They had not heard from Air Dynasty, so that is why I hadn't gotten a contract for me to agree on, mind you, this was already Friday, six days after I had contacted AHS, and no AC. They apologized, but no refund, yet they keep using questionable contractors and laugh all the way to the bank. I do not recommend AHS or Air Dynasty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield - the epitome of a waste of time.

    • By Craig G.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the complete misfortune of dealing with American Home Shield. They have non-existent customer service. They route you to a call center, obviously somewhere other than the USA as they have no command of the English language. AHS relies on the tactic of "Tell them the same thing over and over again," they want you to become frustrated and just give up on them and go elsewhere to resolve by paying out of pocket. They will not reimburse you! And they will not refund the policy to you so they are basically taking your money for no services rendered. I have had a non-working appliance which parts are not readily available as they are back-ordered. I have been told that I must wait 21 business days before they will explore other alternatives. Really, well over a month before even looking at other alternatives? Buyer beware! Go elsewhere for your warranty needs or just save your money altogether.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Chinks in the shield and the armor - the devolution of customer service skill.

    • By R. K.,
    • Lithonia, GA,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What do you call a chaotic, unprofessional disorganization with no customer service abilities of any kind and a poor track record when it comes to providing properly vetted, skilled or simply adequate service professionals? I know them as American Home Shield (AHS). Why do I say this about AHS? My opinion of them has changed drastically over time.

    When I first entered into contract with AHS, they were relatively good, providing a stream of quality field workers to address a variety of household issues. However, slowly over time, I not only noticed a drop in the quality of these field agents and their respective companies but also a decline in customer service dexterity and outreach from AHS as well. I have a growing list of companies that I informed AHS not to send to my home again due to shoddy work, unreliability or just sheer incompetence on their part. It's to the point now where I am wondering if AHS vets these companies at all. Due to my experiences, I am of the opinion that they don't really check. I mean, can anyone with a truck and a toolbox be a service provider for AHS, I wonder. When AHS chooses to use subcontractors of this type, that's what they are exposing you to.

    My latest case involves my intermittent refrigerator leak which occurred at unpredictable times over an indeterminate number of days. To reduce the amount of evidentiary wood damage from the leaks, I shut off the water. American Home Shield selected Amtec to handle the evaluation and repair. I explained all of this to the field technician during the visit. The tech replied, "I’m just going to replace everything in the ice-maker." I asked, wouldn’t a better approach be to find the cause of the leak? He said, "rather than trying to find out what was wrong, it’s easier to replace everything." I then asked, what happens if it starts leaking again? He assured me that it wouldn’t. Well, a few days later, the refrigerator began leaking and actually damaged my wooden kitchen floor. When I called AHS, the representative informed me that Amtec was going to send a "senior technician who would assess the damage" and respond appropriately. That was the spin, crafted and designed to get me off the phone. The reality was that this so-called "senior tech" turned out to be the same guy who missed the cause of the leak roughly 10 days ago during his first visit. He almost missed it again this time too because he spent about 6 minutes trying to convince me that the fridge was not leaking. Of course, evidence of a leak was on the flooring all around the refrigerator. The tech was about to leave as I was further explaining things to him but then decided to check again finally locating the problem. Of course, it was the refrigerator, duh. When I began discussing the floor damage, with this tech, he stated, and these are his own words, "I don't know anything about that, or being a senior technician, I just fix things."

    Over the last couple years, I can't tell you the number of times I have substandard, penny-ante operators stop by here to fix something only to leave me disappointed by some aspect of their visit ranging from an incomplete or botched job to charging a fee when none was warranted. As this relates to or reflects on AHS, I have noticed that even the simple act of trying to reach them by phone can be an exercise in futility. The phone just rings and rings. One time, I had to go online to request that service visit.

    All I can say is that if you are considering AHS, I'd strongly advise against it. In this competitive economy, there are more than a few alternatives. With a little bit of research and due diligence, I am sure you can do better than AHS. If you don't you run the risk of being exposed to some substandard subcontractor with the potential to make your situation a whole lot worse than it was before their visit. Take it from someone whose been there. My advice for everyone is to go online, do your research, and take the reviews of such referring organizations into account before signing up and subsequently allowing them to send some substandard subcontractor into your home who may make matters worse. Enough is enough. My contract comes due in February, at which time I will suspend all business dealing with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 82-108 of 520

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield