Read 457 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  429
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 457
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Repair time is too long.

    • By Rosie J.,
    • Rolling Fork, MS,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called for an oven and a dryer repair. States will take 2 weeks to get the oven part. Looked at washer for a leak. I needed to run a load of clothes to look for a leak. Ran part of load time then left soaking wet clothes in washer. Will take two weeks to get parts. The repair time is ridiculous. I can't bake or wash for two weeks. In the meantime, I have to go to the washateria and pay to wash. Two weeks of that and I will have bought the part and paid someone for one-day service. Looking for another company. They take your money readily and take their time doing their part.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • By Shawn W.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a 1893 Victorian, and with the house being that old, I thought this insurance would be a good idea to minimize future costs. Boy, was I wrong. I've been a customer since 2013.

    In my account, I can only see the last two years, but during that time I can see that I have had no requests for service that resulted in anyone actually visiting my home. In those two years, I've paid $1200 in monthly fees, and received no service.

    Fast forward to today, and I have now been without hot water for eight days, with no installation of a new tank scheduled. The plumber blames AHS and AHS blames the plumber. Nighttime temps are now dipping below freezing and we can't even wash our hands. Half a dozen calls (almost every day) to AHS and multiple texts to the plumber have resulted in nothing.

    Evidently, with AHS not even the squeaky wheel gets the grease!

    Long story short, I don't think it likely that you will ever come out ahead with this "insurance." And if by chance, you ever do have to use it, be ready for a ridiculously long wait for repairs. So long that you'd rather have never had AHS and could just call a plumber and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.

    At the end of the day, it would have cost me the same or less to not have AHS, and I'd be taking a warm shower right now...

    I strongly advise against this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I would give a negative star rating if that were possible

    • By Lynne G.,
    • California City, CA,
    • Oct 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have AHS warranties on several homes and didn't really have a complaint until this year.

    In the first instance, a plumber came out and said the electric water heater needed replacement. The replacement was approved by AHS, but the contractor wanted an additional $360 from me before he would replace the unit. I complained to AHS, and they basically said there was nothing they could do about it. They said these additional charges were for "upgrades" that weren't covered.

    I spoke to the plumber to ask exactly what the upgrades were and he said the additional charges were really due to the risk involved in replacing the water heater. He said that the company would hold him responsible for the water heater if anything happened during the installation, so he had to make it "worth his while" to make the repair.

    After I went along with it and approved the charges, a new water heater was installed. However, there was still no hot water. An electrician had to come out and replace the breaker because there was no power to the water heater.

    Apparently, the problem all along was the bad breaker, not the water heater. I had paid the plumber an upcharge for a new water heater that I never really needed.

    I complained to the plumber, but he said the water heater needed replacement because it leaked. That was not true. It never leaked, it had simply stopped heating the water. Apparently, the issue was electrical all along.

    AHS said that I would have to get a refund from the plumber, not them. They still use that vendor.

    Now, we are having a problem with a bad main breaker.

    The first electrician diagnosed the problem as a bad main breaker. He said that the part was in Van Nuys and no one had it locally. Days went by.

    I called the electrician and he said he would have someone out there ASAP. No one came.

    I called AHS, and the customer service person called the electrician. She called me back after and said that the electrician wouldn't be able to help me because he was having financial and staffing problems. The repairman he had sent out originally had quit. So, after almost two weeks with reduced electricity to the house, they sent a new electrician.

    This time, the new electrician wants $2,600 from me for an "upgrade" to make the electrical supply 200 amps instead of 100 amps. I would note here that 100 amps is standard for residential use.

    When I complained, AHS said that all I could do was try to get another opinion. If the new electrician agreed with the upgrade diagnosis, I would have to pay another $75.

    I asked AHS to call the original electrician with the personal problems and ask him for his diagnosis to save time.

    At my insistence, they did. He told them that I needed a new main breaker. There was no mention of an upgrade to 200 amps or an overload of any kind.

    The supervisor for AHS still insisted that I needed to wait for a second (really third) opinion. It's Friday afternoon, so that will be three weeks trying to get this problem fixed.

    I asked if they could expedite the request for service since this had gone on for so long already, but the supervisor refused.

    The problem, I think, is that they hire unqualified bottom feeders for contractors. When there's a problem, AHS doesn't stand up for their customers. They only want to rigidly follow some byzantine claim denial procedure specifically designed for you to get so disgusted with the whole process that you shut up and go away.

    The bottom line is that you are left holding the bag after having paid for this supposed warranty.

    SAVE YOUR MONEY. DON'T BUY AN AMERICAN HOME SHIELD WARRANTY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Run around on claim

    • By Bill B.,
    • Sun Lakes, AZ,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Water heat needs to be replaced. They sent a repair man immediately. Had to wait 1 day to get approval. Repair company then wanted an additional $365 for additional install. Took estimate to a different plumber who revealed that the new charge was the same an install, should not cost extra. American Home Shield said there was nothing they could. I then asked for a cash out to get my own heat and install...They said they would have a cash out price within 24-48 hours...Never happened. Asked for a supervisor and there was nobody available. Day three still waiting. Representatives were from India and could not be understood. Very frustrating to deal with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not happy with this company

    • By Irene M.,
    • Laguna Hills, CA,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve paid for 5 years now and never needed any service. Now that my washer almost caught on fire I finally put in a claim. They had an appliance company come and check out the problem! It’s been almost a week and still nothing. I called and asked for a manager and they claim no manager and no supervisor. I’m blond pissed. Go elsewhere for a reliable company. After my washer either gets replaced or fixed I’m going to another company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Never use

    • By Ray W.,
    • Canyon Lake, TX,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not sure if this will get posted but here goes. Two and a half years of trying to get the ice maker fixed, eight service calls still not fixed.

    Second repairman stated that there was a known problem and he would recommend refrigerator replacement, didn't happen. Canceled the warranty, not even a call as to why we canceled. I hope this helps people make a choice not to use this service. You should take the word "American" out of the title of your company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't walk away, RUN

    • By Curtis C.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From an engineer/union carpenter/manager/exec who has been building the big commercial stuff for 35 years - it's always the same old thing with AHS:

    1. Speaking with call centers located overseas, so a language barrier, and if they speak English, they don't understand sentence structure and thus true meaning of requests, etc. It's a total beating to get anywhere with overseas customer service.

    2. Always fighting to obtain quality contractors - only the weak contractors appear to work with AHS. Poor service and poor work in field, plus they attempt to inflate costs on any "add-ins" that may be required for code and so forth - it's called "gouging" in the construction industry, they have no idea of my background and are blatant about it - lot of people probably accept, but I won't tolerate it.

    3. The AHS reimbursement for equipment replacement is unreal - I was to receive 1/3 the REAL cost of a water heater replacement in cash ($500), OR, be gouged by the contractor they sent me for around $1k due to items not covered by AHS, when they were worth half. Lastly, the new water heater was a "no name" = cheap. No win...

    So AHS is terminated (and don't seem to care), and I'm on to the next company - Fixd, located right here in Dallas. If they don't perform, guess who's getting an in-person visit?

    There is no hope for AHS unless they address Large and Dominant issues such as above - no matter how highly rated on various sites, the company is horrible - stay FAR FAR away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Company does not provide competent service

    • By Du M.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a claim in July because my AC was leaking.

    They sent out the first company they used 4 times and they did not repair the issue.

    I asked for a different company. The second company came out, did not repair the issue, and did not return multiple emails and phone calls trying to schedule another service. The second company also charged me for materials that I did not need.

    It's October now and my AC is still not fixed, and in the meantime, I have water damage and mold from the leak and AHS says they don't cover that despite the fact that they have not provided a competent service team over the several months this has been going on.

    Disgusted.

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY. They take ZERO responsibility for repairing problems nor for secondary issues that occur when they send out incompetent service people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's simply not worth it!

    • By Michael W.,
    • Maryland,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company promises the moon and delivers nothing! Quick to charge you your check out fee then send a low-quality F-grade technician that tells you that you need a new house basically and none of it covered because AHS considers everything repairable and refuses to replace the items in need saying they can be repaired but won't send a tech that can repair them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad service from American Home Shield and their contractor

    • By Jose A.,
    • Montgomery, TX,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted AHS on a Sunday because my air conditioner was not cooling. First they emailed me that Air Dynasty would call between 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM. On Monday, Air Dynasty called and said the technician would call between 12:00 and 4:00pm (mind you temperature is very hot and humid in the Houston area). The technician took about 8 minutes to tell me I needed an evaporator box, and 10 lbs of freon. The cost would be $480 for freon and about $1040 for upgrades for a 7-year-old AC Unit. My cost with American Home Shield warranty would be over $1500. He adviced me that a contract would be submitted, and then sent to me for approval. By Wednesday, I hadn't received the contract, I logged in to my account and indicated that my problem had not been fixed. In the meantime, I read the reviews for Air Dynasty, bad news, no good reviews for them. It appears that AHS has had many complains with the BBB, yet they get a good grade. I called a company with excellent reviews, they came the same day, fixed my AC for less than what Air Dynasty was going to charge, and they said no upgrades were needed on my unit. I called AHS for a refund of my $75, they wouldn't do it. They had not heard from Air Dynasty, so that is why I hadn't gotten a contract for me to agree on, mind you, this was already Friday, six days after I had contacted AHS, and no AC. They apologized, but no refund, yet they keep using questionable contractors and laugh all the way to the bank. I do not recommend AHS or Air Dynasty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield - the epitome of a waste of time.

    • By Craig G.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the complete misfortune of dealing with American Home Shield. They have non-existent customer service. They route you to a call center, obviously somewhere other than the USA as they have no command of the English language. AHS relies on the tactic of "Tell them the same thing over and over again," they want you to become frustrated and just give up on them and go elsewhere to resolve by paying out of pocket. They will not reimburse you! And they will not refund the policy to you so they are basically taking your money for no services rendered. I have had a non-working appliance which parts are not readily available as they are back-ordered. I have been told that I must wait 21 business days before they will explore other alternatives. Really, well over a month before even looking at other alternatives? Buyer beware! Go elsewhere for your warranty needs or just save your money altogether.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 457

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review