Read 457 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 40)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  429
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 430-440 of 457
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service! Beware.

    • By Khach Do,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • May 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought an investment property in October of 2016. My realtor bought the American Home Shield plan for 10/16 thru 10/17 and put it in the closing settlement with the amount of $495. I thought I'd need it, so I didn't dispute during closing.

    Then I called American Home Shield in December of 2016 to request the contract that they hadn't sent to me yet. The rep tried to upsell saying that if I decided to pay through October of 2018 with $485 more, I would have many more benefits including full coverage for everything in the house and having the service call fee waived. And that I would only pay the $75 trade fee just for an emergency service that occurs during the PM hours and would have it fixed within 24 hours.

    A couple of weeks ago, I ordered a service for the doorbell that stopped working. Had I known of the scam, I would not have called them. Their contractor came out without any communication with me as I expected and as we spoke on the phone not to deal with my tenant. However, he came and asked the tenant to let him in, and within five minutes he already left. He didn't call me the entire time. I thought he was still coming so I called him and found out he already did the service, and I had to pay for the part and the installation.

    Today, after two weeks, I got a notice from American Home Shield saying there was a delinquency on my account of $75. I demanded a cancellation. They demanded to bring the account up to date for them to proceed the cancellation. Then they did the calculation and said I would get back only $300 something out of the $980 that I paid. I said "the rep who tried to upgrade my plan in December of 2016 lied to me about all the benefits that I would get and that I compared the two contracts of the one-year and the two-year, they were identical page to page and word to word, so explain to me where are all the benefits that I was promised for the upgrade. Just show me the difference!"

    She indeed forced me into paying for an extra year with almost the same price. So I at least should get back the $485 because I have not started the 2018 contract yet plus the remaining of the $495 after the eight months in use of 2017. I threatened to go to court with them and ask the court to obtain the recording so that my lawyer would compare it to the two versions of the contract that I have in my hand. Also, their contract terms say that after 30 days, they must give back a pro-rated refund. Instead, they said whatever of 2017 which I still have left from May through October of 2017 is gone and they would deduct a $80 admin fee plus a contracted deduction of $485 from 2018 and I would get back only $300 something.

    I read them the refund terms and that they must give me back the remaining balance based on the prorate calculation so I should get back at least $600. After so much verbal fight with them, they put me on hold and came back saying they would give me back $635 as I expected. I am going to call my credit card company to stop the payment of the trade fee of $75 now.

    What a terrible company! I would never recommend American Home Shield to anyone of my circle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • By Maria Chacon,
    • Newark, Delaware,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We recently purchased a home and were guaranteed everything worked well by the seller. When the gas company came out to do a safety inspection on the gas and also turn on the heater's "flame," they placed a red sticker on it because they said a part was wrong with it and it needed to be repaired before it could be turned on.

    We reached out to American Home Shield and had to call about five times in between work and school before a representative got on the phone with us, plus their phone calls were very backed up and they had us on hold for over 20 minutes every single time. When I spoke with the representative, we were able to request two contractors to come out, one for the electricity and one for the heater. 24 hours after that we received a call from the heating company to schedule an appointment, and we were able to schedule it for the next business day, which was great.

    Today the contractor came out and inspected the heater and said he would order the part that needed repair, which we pointed to him because we were told which part it was by the gas company that came out to evaluate it previously, and who had alerted us of the issue. Within hours the contractor informed me American Home Shield had denied the coverage because they said the homeowners (us) were already informed of the damage before we purchased the coverage, and he referred me to American Home Shield for further insight.

    I reached out to their customer service and waited on hold for a period of 30 minutes before speaking with a representative (no surprise there). She informed me that the contractor/technician informed their department that we had prior knowledge of the damage before purchasing the coverage. I let her know the technician let me know that's what they had told HIM and I wanted to know where they had obtained the information to make that assumption, and the representative let me know it was the technician and that she couldn't provide me with further details. I reached back out to the technician, who informed me he had not told them that, that he had only mentioned that we had pointed out to him the damage and that there was already a red sticker on there signaling the damage.

    He said he did not know how to further help me and basically didn't provide any direction on how I could solve this situation. I asked that he reach back out to American Home Shield and let them know he did not say we knew about the damage before the purchase of the coverage. I am planning to reach back out tomorrow, so hopefully he will have clarified the issue by then.

    I am disappointed by the service we have been provided and am amazed by the miscommunication and lack of information the representatives of American Home Shield have shown. I do not understand how they can come to the conclusion of denying a claim and not provide me with the details, and instead ask me to reach out to other people. I am not sure how this will be resolved, but I do not recommend their services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Canceled policy after claims

    • By Raymond Roman,
    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were canceled without stated reason, presumably because of claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Amazing, saves us tons of money

    • By Kari,
    • Colorado,
    • Apr 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had this whole home warranty for almost one year. We have used it for ceiling fans, faucets, and a furnace. They always fix or replace what needs it. It has saved us THOUSANDS of dollars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Company

    This company has been nothing but a headache since day 1. The seller purchased the warranty on our home and we had no say in the coverage chosen. When we learned that it was the bare minimum of coverage and wanted to pay to upgrade it, American Home Shield would not allow us to upgrade the service. They said our only option would be to refund the seller her $500 and for us to buy our own coverage for $680. We have had to use our warranty for our AC that was supposed to be under warranty but got to spend $300 on refrigerant because they don't cover that.

    After our contract is up with this terrible company, I will definitely be shopping around for a company that cares about customer satisfaction. American Home Shield is NOT the company to go with!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A garbabel company

    • By Xin Li,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to waste your money, go ahead. They only work with cheap repair companies so that they can pay less money. These cheap companies will not do good repair. They just show up and pretend to repair it for you. After 30 days or an even shorter period, I guarantee that your faucet will leak again, and your refrigerator will break again.

    Don't waste your time and money. After two bad experiences with American Home Shield and their unprofessional repair company, I decide to take a chance without coverage and pay more money to fire a professional repair company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't deal with American Home Shield

    • By Jameson Myers,
    • Van Buren, Arkansas,
    • Mar 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield is a scam. I purchased a home warranty a year ago and opted to purchase a warranty with an upgraded coverage to cover the pool and hot tub because I had concerns about issues that might arise in the future with these items.

    At closing, I received a paper documenting the purchase of the warranty and a promise from American Home Shield to send me my full contract package in the coming days which would detail my coverage. That way, if I ever had an issue with any equipment or appliances with the house or pool or hot tub, I would know and understand my coverage.

    Here it is, two weeks before my warranty is to expire and I have an issue with my pool light (electrical). I called American Home Shield and submitted a service request, and the contractor came out and diagnosed the problem. He said that it should not be an issue at all for American Home Shield to cover it since they do these all the time for them. Later on that day, I received a voicemail from American Home Shield saying they denied the claim. I'm out a $75 service fee for the contractor for nothing.

    The contractor is irate with American Home Shield because they're saying the pool light is not a part of the pool. How absurd is that! Pool equipment it is a part of the pool. I called back to American Home Shield and asked to speak with a manager, and the lady said that an email request had to be submitted to have a manager give you a callback. I said, "no, I will speak to a manager, or I will not get off the phone." So finally, a lady named Portia got on the phone, and I'm almost positive she was not a legitimate manager because she was not professional and just kept saying there is nothing we can do, and that we did send you a contract on April 26th when we didn't even close on our house until after that date.

    The bottom line is that American Home Shield doesn't care if they send you a contract, they would prefer if you didn't know what is covered or not. They just want you to purchase the warranty, and then they start subjectively deciding whether they want to cover your appliance or home items or not. There is currently 7,990 complaints that have been closed by American Home Shield in the last three years. I say closed because who really knows if the customer was really satisfied with the result of their complaint.

    I will tell everyone I know to not ever purchase a home warranty from American Home Shield. It's very telling in business when you have to keep changing your name. American Home Shield has been known by at least five other names. Please save yourself time, energy, and money and don't deal with this scam of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    A waste of money

    • By Dave,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After paying over a decade of premiums my heater broke. After three months of no heat, it became clear to me that they were just stringing me along and would not make the repair. Every time you call, be prepared to wait an incredibly long time on hold. I ended up buying the heater out of my pocket for $4,700. They never denied the coverage; they just string you along until you give up to avoid making a costly repair. I would never recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    • By Brian,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The $42-per-month fee seems like a deal for the peace of mind, but you're way better setting that money aside in savings and handling repairs using qualified professionals.

    I had the plan for almost a year when my oven broke. I called American Home Shield, and they sent a technician out (there is a 7-hour window, so I had to work from home that day) and when I explained the issue, he collected his "service fee," and then set about "inspecting" my oven. For 30 minutes he tried to get the oven door off and finally had to look it up online on his phone. He then left and said he'd be back with me in 3-5 days.

    Two weeks passed, and I didn't hear from anyone, so I called American Home Shield, and they told me that my repair has been denied. They told me that the repair guy reported that I was "missing a part" and when I called BS, they sent another technician out. When the second guy arrived, I told him the story, and he asked me if I happened to have a video of the stove breaking. WHAT?

    I invited him to leave my property immediately and set about the long voyage of trying to cancel this awful contract. I sat on hold for 45 minutes longer than the usual 45-60 minute call, to be connected to someone in their "retention" office. This woman's attitude was awful, and she took a clear satisfaction in trying to avert my cancellation by assessing me an early cancellation fee.

    This is a racket and a fleecing operation, to put it kindly. Stay far, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do not use American Home Shield

    • By Sam Quinn,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is always a long 20 to 30-minute wait to reach an overworked, rude customer service person. I was just on hold for 20 minutes and got a busy noise and a hang-up. The website does not work, for I tried to log on and it shows that I do not have a contract, even though I have been paying for one for over two years.

    Do not waste your time or money with this wart of a company. Also, be aware that the Consumer Affairs website showing reviews is American Home Shield's own site. I tried leaving a negative review on that site, and it was deleted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Hot water heater issue

    • By Mary Daniel,
    • Virginia,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are not a good company. They are rude and they send repair people out to patch up things which then stop working. They want you to keep paying service call fees of $75 for their mistakes.

    My hot water heater is not working, so I called them on the 12/20/2016. Someone came out on 12/21/2016 to fix the problem, but on 12/27/2016 the problem got worse. I still don't have hot water, and they're telling me that they didn't send the company that came to fix it. I called that company, and they assured me the American Home Shield sent them. Now they want me to pay $75 more to send someone else out.

    I don't think this is fair, and this company is horrible. They refuse to give you numbers to a supervisor or even give you their names. Something needs to be done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 430-440 of 457

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review