Read 461 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 42)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  433
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 452-461 of 461
Sort reviews by:

  • Billed for work not completed

    • By Will,
    • Northern California,
    • Sep 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with American Home Shield for just over a year. I have called in repair requests with little to no problems until now. In November my pool pump went out. I called and requested a repair to be done. The contractor they sent out tried to fix the pump and limped it along for a short time. $100 dollars gone.

    A few months later the pump quit and I called them again. The same guy responded and replaced the pump and with that another $100 dollars. A few months passed and I began noticing the pump was making a lot of noise and was leaking badly. I called a third time in less than a year and due to it being out of their warranty time 88 days, I would have to pay an additional $100 dollars for a service call.

    I was very disappointed and stated I did not under any circumstance want the same company to come out and do the work. I was told he was the only pool contractor in my area. Obviously, I did not want to have this same guy come out and work on my equipment. AHS stated they would attempt to find someone else.

    A few days went by and I got a call from my new contractor. It was the same guy! I told him I did not want him responding due to his shabby work. The next thing I know I'm getting hit with a late notice for you guessed it, $100 dollars. Now I'm fuming. I called AHS and spoke with customer service who stated they could not reverse the charges even though he did not come to my house.

    He told them the appointment had been set and I canceled him when he could have taken on another job. I told my customer service rep that I live in a gated community and would be more than happy to give her a log of who came in the gate that day and her contractor was not one of them. This went back and forth until I finally told her to just cancel my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unresponsive Contractor

    • By Sandra Glover,
    • Upper Marlboro, MD,
    • Aug 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Placed a request through AHS for a leak (bath tub), contractor came out on a Tuesday, broke tub faucet because he couldn't figure out how to get it off, said he would be able to repair tomorrow (Wednesday), I didn't hear from him again.

    I telephoned AHS and was on hold for 22 minutes; hung up. Telephoned AHS a second time a couple of days later, spoke with Damon, who telephoned the contractor, voice message gave a second number, which was the office. Damon telephoned them and told me they were not familiar with my request, but Damon did see a note that contractor would be back to me home on Wednesday 8/10/16.

    I took off from work on 8/10/16, telephoned AHS that morning, only to have a rep call the contractor and he told her he would call me today and schedule to come out on Saturday. This is ridiculous and AHS is just so comfortable with this type of service. AHS does not seem to care that its customers are being inconvenienced and these contractors do as they please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS is a total rip off

    • By Sreelu,
    • May 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield never fix the issues at first step. They try to earn the money before they could fix. I was with AHS for 3 years now and my A/C had the issue and it took 3 years for them to actually fix it. Every time they send the technician, he fills it up with freon, which is good for 3 months, their warranty is 60 days. You pay for freon up to $100/lb and they pay $10/lb. You pay $75 service fee. Finally after a lot of debate, they accepted to fix the leakage. If I go through their contractor I need to pay $800, as they cover only the coil and they said it would cost them about $900 for the coil. When I asked about a buy-out option, the offered $501, saying that's what they give. I found someone who was able to do all the service for that money. (So far freon didn't leak.)

    Find an independent contractor, they give better and honest service and at a reasonable price. Don't believe AHS. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible Service

    • By Carla,
    • Fort Myers, Florida ,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you are approached by AHS, run as soon as you can. I like to state facts, so I will keep this one simple…

    FACT 1: Dishwasher leaking and request placed online 3/21/2016.

    FACT 2: Technician from GE arrives, turns on nozzle. States nothing was wrong with the dishwasher.

    FACT 3: Ran the dishwasher on 3/27/2016 leak turns into a flood.

    FACT 4: Placed another request over the phone on 3/27/2016. I was told that a technician would not arrive until the following week.

    FACT 5: On 3/28/2016 kitchen is completely flooded – Service request ticket now placed in “escalation” status by AHS.

    FACT 6: Technician #2 from different vendor arrives on 3/29/2016, says cost to repair too high, and the dishwasher should be replaced.

    FACT 7: Technician #2 turns nozzle on to dishwasher, cabinet and kitchen flooded again.

    FACT 8: Called American Home Shield on 3/31/2016, they have not received any information from the technician.

    FACT 9: On 4/1/2016 given another number from AHS to call to order a new dishwasher. Was told while I was at work that I MUST be home to provide them with the dimensions of the old dishwasher before they could order the new dishwasher. They stated that they could not use the dimension provided by the GE technician or the second vendor they sent out.

    FACT 10: Measured dishwasher, and was told my dimensions were incorrect. My dimensions were sent to another department and someone would call me back at a later time.

    FACT 11: Received a call on 4/4/2016 from a GE technician #2 that said he fixed my dishwasher. LOL!

    FACT 12: Received a call from technician #2 on 4/4/2016 stating that they had a replacement but could not give me a date or time for the install.

    FACT 13: After several emails, several phone calls, and several days missed of work, my dishwasher was finally installed on 4/5/2016.

    These are the steps AHS uses to repair your appliances. If you choose this company BEWARE. You will lose time from work, forced to make multiple phone calls, and send many emails before your issue is resolved. I have canceled my contract after one month of using this company, and switched to another company. Like the saying goes: “Cheaper is not always better.”

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Broken appliance since September 14.

    • By Jerome Marshall,
    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Jan 20, 2016

    I called for service around September 11. The repair guy came out and rigged the washing machine up to run. After he left it didn't work. Called them back (American Home Shield and Sure Tech) and they told me he can come back Wednesday, and I told them I was going to Las Vegas then Chicago followed up by San Diego and would not be back till October 2nd. When I got back I called the company back, the guy came out to my house, from Sure Tech I believe, or not. He was a loaded as a wolf, so after he ran a diagnostic test, Home Shield tells me it takes 5 weeks for the parts and they offered me some buying options for $500 and $44. So here it is October and my washer is still not fixed. Sure Tech called me the Monday before Christmas and told me that they would be there between 11 and 3 Wednesday before Christmas Eve. I explained to them that I had a house full of guests, about 11 people. They never showed up and they never called. I've been calling American Home Shield to no avail. I just spoke to the supervisor tonight, January 5th, and they just turn it over to somebody to find out why it doesn't work. This month it will be four months since I first called. I don't know what's up with you guys, you started out pretty well but now I feel like somebody's fumbling the ball.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • You're not allowed to pick

    • By Tracie,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    Overall if you own a home that's old, get this insurance.

    The good: Got my washing machine fixed, dish washer fixed, heater, air conditioner, some plumbing.

    The bad: When you call you don't get to pick which company comes out. It might take the company three weeks to come out. You can call Home Shield back but they will make you stay on the phone and have you confront the company not them If the company is bad you still have to pay them even if they didn't show and you have to pay the next company that comes out.

    They have some really bad companies and even if you had a bad experience and asked Home Shield not to call them they still pick them. If you state you don't want them you still have to pay and do another work, order and that same company will be picked. The companies excuse is its who ever is available and first on he list.

    The ugly: Water leaks flooding your floor is none emergency. No heat in 0 to 30 degree weather with a new baby is a none emergency.

    Took one company a month and a half to restore our heat in the middle of winter and Home Shield was part of that problem.

    So why three stars? Over all saved money. Customer service always there, though sometimes very hard to get through. Company would be fantastic if they listened more to customers. (Sorry for any typos, written from cell phone)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • AC/Heating Unit

    • By Lynette,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I have been a customer of American Home Shield for several years. For the last three years I have been calling in service calls to have my heating/ac unit fixed. They have replaced several parts that have went out causing all of my coolant to run out of the unit. Well, I am totally frustrated at this point because every time this happens, it costs me another $600/700 to fill back up the unit because AHS does not cover coolant. I understand the annual maintenance, but what about fixing the problem. If he coolant is running out because of a valve or something isn't putting the coolant back, then it should be fixed. The companies are putting a bandage on the problem as far as fixing and I have to suck up the biggest cost. Then I call back in to speak to a supervisor and the rep that I spoke to on the phone is completely rude and tells me that someone will call me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service

    • By Ann Ferraro Ferraro,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    After researching several home warranty companies, I chose American Home Shield. We have been with for over four years and I have decided the monthly rate is the best money I spend. They have always exceeded my expectations in service and use of qualified, experienced service venders. In fact, I have had several, separate plumbing problems and they sent the same national vender and the same service person. I have told several people of the quality I have experienced and they in turn have signed with American Home Shield.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service, reasonable price

    • By Patricia Bowman,
    • Ringgold, GA,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    I have been with AHS for four years. The first year was a "freebie" when I bought my home, but I decided to keep up the warranty after 2 HVAC calls during that initial year. The parts alone made the service fees worth it. I have since had multiple repairs on a washer and a plumbing issue.

    I have read reviews stating they don't use reputable contractors, but I have not had that problem in my area (north GA/SE TN). The contractors have all been very prompt, professional, explain the repairs to me and have not had to be recalled for the same repair. However, if you are looking for replacement appliances, that is not what this service is geared towards.

    Their place is to repair if at all possible, replacement is only after a prescribed set of breakdowns for the same problem. I was very, very uneasy about taking out a home warranty after reading horror stories online, but AHS has been easy to contact, responds quickly and has been a definite money saver for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Alan,
    • Woodstock GA,
    • Jun 16, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Called AHS about a main water line issue and was told by operator that most likely it was not a covered item. They asked me a few more questions and then talked to a supervisor who told them it 'might' be covered and to send a technician. I told them to NOT send a technician if they were pretty sure it would not be covered. When the tech arrived I told him the situation and he said it definitely would not be covered and that they should not have even sent him. He said he was NOT going to charge me for the visit. Later AHS billed me $75 for the tech visit. I sent them the invoice showing NO CHARGE but they still insist I pay them the $75 or my coverage will be terminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 452-461 of 461

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
American Home Shield