Read 400 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  376
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 400
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Overall experience

    • West Salem, WI,
    • Jul 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a customer of American Home Shield from October 2009 until we sold our home in June 2019. For the first 5 years with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 3 stars. They did cover the replacement of a dishwasher during this time, however, we also had service calls for our central air conditioner that they would not pay. In October 2013 we transferred our policy to a new location. During this time, we had 3 problems with our central air unit, and 2 with our furnace that American Home Shield would not cover. Upon the sale of our home in June 2019, we purchased a one year warranty with American Home Shield for the new buyers of the home at their request. 30 days after the sale of the property, I receive a notice that they were sending me to collections because of a late payment for Administration Cancellations.

    For the last 5 years of our contract with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 1-2 stars. American Home Shield's business practices have greatly degraded over the last 5 years. Now I am putting the cost of the monthly policy into a savings account for future repairs. YouTube is a great tool for advice and instructions on many repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Air conditioning...YOU PAY!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These crooks made me wait 2 weeks before telling me they won't honor the contract! A power surge blew my air conditioner and that's not covered! A freaking scam. They didn't even analyze the problem. Some guy took pictures for 5 minutes and that was it.

    NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Plumbing

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jul 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a plumbing problem in our basement and they sent out the plumber. The floor had to be busted out because of a collapsed pipe. AHS said it was not covered and we paid $1800.00 out of our pocket.

    The plumber has been back twice and I read my contract and found out that is covered. This has been ongoing back and forth phone calls since February 2019. Finally, as of 6/15/2019, they called the plumber and now they told us we would be getting $1000.00 back. Today, 7/5/2019, I called to see where my check is and of course, I am put on hold for at least 20 minutes and the girl comes back and said it was denied. Now I have to wait until Monday to speak to a supervisor. This company has the worst customer service. NO ONE KNOWS THEIR JOB!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service and company does not uphold policy!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon submitting a claim for our AC repair and paying $125 for service, we were linked with a horrible AC repair company who did not submit diagnostic paperwork to American Home Shield within 48 hours as per their policy. When calling to follow up we were hung up on 3 times, customer service representatives do not keep adequate notes in the account and do not return calls that they set up! Every time we called it was like we were starting all over again. The representatives have no answers, refuse to escalate call to supervisor and refused to assign another vendor to our case while insisting on waiting for the vendor to return their call (we called the vendor too and the voicemail was full)...Meanwhile, we have a three-week-old baby and heat advisories in Florida and it’s been over a week since we started the process. We still do not have a resolution, however, fought to get a $125 refund (still "processing"). Our AC is covered under our policy and we still do not have a repair or replacement or even just next steps from AHS. Seems like AHS is good for other services and appliances but not AC! Customer service is outsourced and the contractors AHS works with are not reputable or professional. Would not recommend at all - we have paid for a policy as consumers and the company is not fulfilling their portion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing experience; feeling robbed...twice.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am still dealing with a plumbing issue from March. The contractor just made a 4th visit and the shower is still not working. Yet to be seen if they will actually fix my shower or if I will need to have it done on my own. AHS does a poor job of managing the contractors that they send out.

    AC went out and AHS offered me $400 towards a new $9000 unit or to pay $1700 out of pocket. Contractor's sales team was rude and disrespectful. AHS seems to be concerned with premiums and not service. When I moved to cancel contract they sent me a bill for cancellation.

    At no point in the process was any emphasis placed on solving my two very major repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste money, time, or patience. AHS scam.

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, it's actually been a very long time since I've been treated so badly by so many people at one company. I'm physically shaking and ILL while writing this. I've had AHS for 4 plus years. Paying every month and not needing them until yesterday. It was, and is, 115 degrees in the Arizona desert heat. I called because my HVAC capacitor went out. After 7 calls and being hung up on repeatedly, they told me to find my own HVAC company to make the repair and to call back with their diagnosis. After many calls to companies who refused to work with AHS, I finally found one, 24 hours later. Please keep in mind all without any Air Conditioning in 115 degrees. The HVAC tech came. We had to call 14 times. Not kidding. 14 times. Talking to rude people who would refuse to authorize a $200 repair. Sasha was a name I recieved of one rep...So 14 calls and this poor technician who was simply telling AHS what was broken was also being spoken to so rudely and being accused of being told what to say by me and I didn't say anything except my property address. Even though I pay every month for 4 years they refused to authorize a capacitor repair on my 14-year-old air conditioner.

    The repair was $200, the tech spent 4 hours talking to them and being hung up on. The capacitor took 5 minutes to replace. He was so incredible and AHS employees should truly feel ashamed at how disgraceful they treat people who need help. I paid $100 yesterday for a service call but they had ME find a company since oddly they couldn't or wouldn't telling me I'd be reimbursed. As long as the company was licensed insured...I could not believe how I was talked to or how the technician from the AC company who didn't even work for American Home Shield.

    Shame on American Home Shield and their belittling representatives who just yell degrade and hang up repeatedly...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    WOW! Third-world call centers.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WOW, if you call to renew your contract, you get a US-based person, but if you call with an issue, you get some third-world non-English speaking person with horrible customer service skill. Amazon Home is cheaper and has US-based call centers. I will not be renewing my AHS, if anything, I will use Amazon.

    BTW their contractors also (with the exception of Sears ) do not respond. I do not want to make a bunch of phone calls just to get service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this company at all cost!

    • Redding, CA,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed my first service call in April 2019. They sent out a company called Service 1. They have been back three times and I still have no A/C. I will end my relationship with AHS as soon as I get my A/C fixed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Customer service non existent

    • Peoria, AZ,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    May 22nd our KA fridge alarms went off. Contacted KA, was told control board is dying. Called AHS on May 24th, they emailed me at least 3 or 4 contractors until one could come out the 25th. I am still without a fridge and have been on the phone almost daily with the 30-60 minute hold phone calls. AHS even closed the work order until I called and finally someone listened and put the work order back to open on my account. On two other calls 2 different supposedly supervisors said they would call back within an hour which never happened. The contractor says they closed the order AHS says they sent parts (keep in mind they told me this happened twice before with different dates same part?). I am guessing I will not get my fridge fixed by AHS or this contractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Directly lied to...

    • Mobile, AL,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Willow S. Fri, 06/14/19 11:42:23 am America/Chicago

    Hello. How may I help you?

    Are you still there?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:43:53 am

    hi yes

    I would like to cancel my insurance contract

    Willow S. 11:44:18 am

    Hi! I'm happy to assist! One moment please while I access your account.

    May I ask the reason you would like to cancel your warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:46:09 am

    We are cancelling because we weren't impressed with the services we received... also, the salesman who originally sold me the policy said that i could choose my own contractor but would have to be reimbursed. When the time came... I wasn't allowed to use a company of my choosing.

    Willow S. 11:47:53 am

    I apologize that were misinformed. The only time AHS will authorize an outside technician is when there are no AHS Network Contractors available to accept a given service request. I can offer a trade service fee coupon which can be redeemed on your next service request if you would like to retain the warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:49:21 am

    Also.. my wife and 5 year old son were hot for two weeks while waiting for the issue to be resolved. As for the above... it's not what i was originally told.. I was lied to. I would never have purchased the warrant had i known the truth. I would like to cancel.

    warranty*

    Willow S. 11:50:30 am

    I understand, one moment while I process you request.

    There is an Administration Fee of $53.82 due to process the cancellation. Would you like to use payment method we have on file for this transaction?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:52:50 am

    Your going to charge me a fee to cancel?? After hearing about my horrible experience with YOUR company!?!

    You need to get this fee waived before I post my experiences to all major social media, google reviews, BBB Etc...

    Willow S. 11:55:25 am

    The administration fee cannot be waived. If you are unwilling to pay the fee I can submit your request rather than process it now to our retentions team. They will reach out to you to discuss your cancellation within 3-5 business days and to process your cancellation request.

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:56:00 am

    Process it now.. Charge the fee.

    I hope all of the bad publicity is worth $53 to AHS

    Willow S. 11:56:50 am

    Your request has been processed and your warranty is now cancelled.

    Is there anything else I can assist you with at this time?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:57:00 am

    No

    Worst. Company. Ever.

    You rated our customer service as bad

    11:57:19 am

    Willow S. 11:57:55 am

    Thank you for contacting AHS via chat! Have a great day! You may close the chat session at your convince.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service for AC

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with AHS since June 2007 and in May of 2016 my AC stopped cooling the house. I finally get a chance to see if AHS will honor all they say they will about if they can’t fix something they will replace it.

    Long story short, my AC unit needed to be replaced and I was told they will only cover but I had to pay the contractor $1500 to repair the AC instead of replacing.

    I was furious. I told AHE to pay me the cost to replace the unit my self. They cut me a check for $297 after I provided a receipt that I had paid for a brand new AC unit out of pocket. So after being with them for 9 years and all I got was $297 towards AC replacement was a total rip off.

    Stay away from this company. They do not value long term customers or any customer from other reviews I read.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 45-55 of 400

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review