• 501 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don’t do it!

    • By Tyler J.,
    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought the house warranty from American Home Shield 9 months ago. My air conditioning went out 14 days ago. The first day it went out, I called AHS to report it and they sent someone out and he declined a warranty because it had been "struck by lightning." The funny thing is, there was no rain for the past 10 days. They agreed to send someone else out, the guy was great and said he could fix it but we need approval from American Home Warranty. Long story short, American Home Warranty told us today after 14 days of my house being 94 degrees that they only cover anything that is normal wear and tear (which is exactly what it was)! They sent us the run around for two weeks and it’s 103 outside and my house is now 95 degrees. I would have hired someone to fix it two weeks ago if I knew they wouldn’t cover it. I called today to cancel my warranty and they told me there was a cancellation fee. Of course there is! Why would I expect anything else?!

    Bottom line, please don’t get taken advantage of like I did. They are crooks. I have talked to several people and they have told me the same stories from the crooked company. Don’t be taken advantage of. They are thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This shouldn't be legal

    • By Sherri G.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called to get service after paying for 16 months and they assigned me to a contractor who caused a lot of damage at my neighbors home last year. I called to switch contractors (they said it would be no problem - just a few days wait), but they assigned me back to the same company.

    This dance continued for nearly a month until the last time I called someone put me on hold for 5 minutes to tell me that in my area there were no other contractors available.

    This contractor has not even called me to schedule an appointment.

    So I canceled my contract because I couldn't get my AC repaired and it's the middle of summer. Low and behold - they charge me a $40 cancellation fee which was never mentioned prior and maaaaybe it's mentioned in the contract as some kind of "admin fee", but it's unclear.

    Anyways, they say they can't take the fee off even though they couldn't provide service, the contractor didn't contact me to provide service, and because apparently, I should appreciate not having AC for 3+ weeks because they could have told me this on day 1.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst warranty company ever.

    • By Mortie P.,
    • Plano, TX,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Paid 25 years but when water heater went out they asked me to pay $750 for items not covered. It is a scam. Also, when the AC unit went out they did not pay, got half the cost of repair and asked me to pay over $800 as code upgrade when the city code compliance officer wrote a letter saying they are wrong. It only hires crooked contractors to side with the company to not pay for items. Rude customer service, and if you complain they raise your rate on renewal to get rid of you and to not pay on items covered.

    Only a moron will contract with AHS. Don’t be a moron and an idiot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield - Shield Complete: Big name, poor delivery, horrible service.

    • By Rajesh R.,
    • Buffalo Grove, IL,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The service of American Home Shield is horrible and beyond. It has been over two weeks, our AC is down in peak summer. After diagnosis set up by American Home Shield, they claim that they have not received a response diagnosis report from third party contractor, while our family fries in the heat. After follow up every day in the week, the same message communicated without providing a firm date for fixing the issue. After several call attempts, I was asked not to call them, instead, they will call me to update, which has not happened in the last week. These behaviors clearly indicate the practice of dishonesty, low integrity, and poor customer service. In my opinion, this is just an excuse for not getting it done or any intention on fulfilling the promise as in the coverage. I am not going to continue with them and will not recommend anyone either. Big-name company, but poor delivery.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM! They denied coverage and kept deductible. Avoid them.

    • By Keith P.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I filed a claim because my garage door jammed. American Home Shield demanded $100 deductible to be paid before they would schedule a technician to come out. I paid it. Next day, the technician arrived but told me American Home Shield denied coverage because the "garage door opener" did not break. Instead, a wire came loose causing the door to tilt and jam. The door and springs, etc. are not covered; only the "opener." He said he could fix it for $99, which I paid and he fixed.

    American Home Shield refused to return my deductible, even though they denied coverage. This is unconscionable. Avoid doing business with this company. You will be sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible!

    • By KP B.,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I canceled my coverage, American Home Shield never refunded the balance.

    I paid for a year in advance. And canceled mid-contract. They owe me about $300. They credited me with $26, with no explanation, no spreadsheet, no computation of credits and deductions.

    I’ve called three times and so far have gotten no resolution, just broken promises. Each time I call, I spend 30-60 minutes on the phone, with people in a foreign call center who are not given the records or the authority to solve my problem. And the people who can solve my problem DON’T talk to me! They do quickly dispatch vendors to fix your house, but the often don’t have the tools or parts on their truck to solve your problem. Not to mention all of the policy exclusions they invoke so they don’t have to fix your problem. It was easier and cheaper for me to fix the problems myself!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No recourse for unprofessional contractors

    • By Cory P.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The contract company did not repair my appliance after 3 attempts and told me it was broken beyond repair, however, they marked the work "completed" with AHS. When I spoke to AHS, the only options available to me were 1) have the same company come out a 4th time or 2) pay another service fee for a different contractor to come out. When I asked about being refunded for my service call, of which the service was not completed, I was told that was not an option. When I asked about a replacement product for my broken one, I was told that is not an option. When I asked to elevate my case and speak with a supervisor, I was put on hold and then told to expect a call back in 1 hour (which I never received). I will not be renewing my warranty based on this experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • DON'T GET SCAMMED LIKE I DID

    • By Ben D.,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a scam. We had our water heater go out and the first company they sent out couldn't do the job. They said they needed to send out another tech on that Friday. I took time off work to wait for the guy to fix the water heater and he just inspected it, told me he needed to go get some parts from the shop and never came back! I called the company and no one answered. I then called American Home Shield to see that they closed the ticket. THEY CLOSED THE TICKET WITH NO RESOLUTION! I was furious but told them the issue was not fixed so they offered to send another company. (The first company was the worst-rated plumbing company in our area. Their solution was to send the second-worst rated plumbing company out.) So now my wife and I have been 3 weeks without hot water.

    The second company comes out and tells us the unit needs to be replaced. He leaves an estimate with us and goes back to his shop. We wait to hear from American Home Shield if they are going to authorize the replacement. One week goes by and I call them to see the status of our claim. THEY CLOSED THE TICKET AGAIN! At this point, I am irate and I call to find out what happened. They give me the same canned BS deflecting their mistakes and they need to get a hold of the plumbing company to get an official notice. This goes on for 5 weeks. I call them daily and the excuse is always the same, the plumbing company hasn't answered their calls. I have three different representatives promise to call me back within 48 hours and not one time did they ever call me back. I had to chase them down. Finally they said they just needed a copy of the work estimate to release the funds in the form of a check to me. Well, they didn't know that I had a copy of that so I sent it to them. I call the next day only to find out that magically the rules have changed and that isn't enough. So I have done everything and they kept moving their "requirements." SO I had to go three months without hot water to find out that they just weren't going to do anything for me.

    This company is god awful and should be shut down. Don't be like me and be stuck with this awful BS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shady business practices

    • By Daniel L.,
    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save your money, this place is an absolute scam. Going on the second instance of no AC for OVER a month and a half in the middle of an Alabama summer for the same part. Weekend support (if you can call it that) could see the part on order, but had no arrival date. Monday the full-time support lied and said they just got the diagnosis from the subcontractor and just now ordered the PART. I have had a warranty now for over TEN years while they have continued to do patch job repairs on a 30-year-old AC! What's worse is I am in the military and rely on them to take care of my home while I am away, but all you do is take my money for the better part of a decade. I am still waiting on a "supervisor" to call me to get this resolved so I figured this might get your attention. Did you know there is a whole other page dedicated to people that hate your company!? I'd be super proud of that, great job AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Gloria M.,
    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jul 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order for my water heater and a leaking pipe. Service was denied because the water heater wasn't installed properly, which it wasn't that was on me. The pipe wasn't covered because it wasn't installed properly and the pipes were there when the house was built in the 1940s. They denied both claims and still charged me $100 for the service call. I thought the $100 deductible was for when a job was performed. How can they charge you for a deductible when no work was even done. I was pissed to the fullest. I will be canceling both my policies for my 2 properties. I'm going back to the old company that I was with for years. They went up on my deductible, but they all ways fixed everything with no questions. Don't waste your money with this company, you will be disappointed when you make a claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Overall experience

    • By Mike W.,
    • West Salem, WI,
    • Jul 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was a customer of American Home Shield from October 2009 until we sold our home in June 2019. For the first 5 years with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 3 stars. They did cover the replacement of a dishwasher during this time, however, we also had service calls for our central air conditioner that they would not pay. In October 2013 we transferred our policy to a new location. During this time, we had 3 problems with our central air unit, and 2 with our furnace that American Home Shield would not cover. Upon the sale of our home in June 2019, we purchased a one year warranty with American Home Shield for the new buyers of the home at their request. 30 days after the sale of the property, I receive a notice that they were sending me to collections because of a late payment for Administration Cancellations.

    For the last 5 years of our contract with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 1-2 stars. American Home Shield's business practices have greatly degraded over the last 5 years. Now I am putting the cost of the monthly policy into a savings account for future repairs. YouTube is a great tool for advice and instructions on many repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Air conditioning...YOU PAY!

    • By Johnny F.,
    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These crooks made me wait 2 weeks before telling me they won't honor the contract! A power surge blew my air conditioner and that's not covered! A freaking scam. They didn't even analyze the problem. Some guy took pictures for 5 minutes and that was it.

    NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Plumbing

    • By Michele G.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jul 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had a plumbing problem in our basement and they sent out the plumber. The floor had to be busted out because of a collapsed pipe. AHS said it was not covered and we paid $1800.00 out of our pocket.

    The plumber has been back twice and I read my contract and found out that is covered. This has been ongoing back and forth phone calls since February 2019. Finally, as of 6/15/2019, they called the plumber and now they told us we would be getting $1000.00 back. Today, 7/5/2019, I called to see where my check is and of course, I am put on hold for at least 20 minutes and the girl comes back and said it was denied. Now I have to wait until Monday to speak to a supervisor. This company has the worst customer service. NO ONE KNOWS THEIR JOB!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service and company does not uphold policy!

    • By Mel B.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Upon submitting a claim for our AC repair and paying $125 for service, we were linked with a horrible AC repair company who did not submit diagnostic paperwork to American Home Shield within 48 hours as per their policy. When calling to follow up we were hung up on 3 times, customer service representatives do not keep adequate notes in the account and do not return calls that they set up! Every time we called it was like we were starting all over again. The representatives have no answers, refuse to escalate call to supervisor and refused to assign another vendor to our case while insisting on waiting for the vendor to return their call (we called the vendor too and the voicemail was full)...Meanwhile, we have a three-week-old baby and heat advisories in Florida and it’s been over a week since we started the process. We still do not have a resolution, however, fought to get a $125 refund (still "processing"). Our AC is covered under our policy and we still do not have a repair or replacement or even just next steps from AHS. Seems like AHS is good for other services and appliances but not AC! Customer service is outsourced and the contractors AHS works with are not reputable or professional. Would not recommend at all - we have paid for a policy as consumers and the company is not fulfilling their portion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing experience; feeling robbed...twice.

    • By James M.,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am still dealing with a plumbing issue from March. The contractor just made a 4th visit and the shower is still not working. Yet to be seen if they will actually fix my shower or if I will need to have it done on my own. AHS does a poor job of managing the contractors that they send out.

    AC went out and AHS offered me $400 towards a new $9000 unit or to pay $1700 out of pocket. Contractor's sales team was rude and disrespectful. AHS seems to be concerned with premiums and not service. When I moved to cancel contract they sent me a bill for cancellation.

    At no point in the process was any emphasis placed on solving my two very major repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not waste money, time, or patience. AHS scam.

    • By J C.,
    • Arizona,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, it's actually been a very long time since I've been treated so badly by so many people at one company. I'm physically shaking and ILL while writing this. I've had AHS for 4 plus years. Paying every month and not needing them until yesterday. It was, and is, 115 degrees in the Arizona desert heat. I called because my HVAC capacitor went out. After 7 calls and being hung up on repeatedly, they told me to find my own HVAC company to make the repair and to call back with their diagnosis. After many calls to companies who refused to work with AHS, I finally found one, 24 hours later. Please keep in mind all without any Air Conditioning in 115 degrees. The HVAC tech came. We had to call 14 times. Not kidding. 14 times. Talking to rude people who would refuse to authorize a $200 repair. Sasha was a name I recieved of one rep...So 14 calls and this poor technician who was simply telling AHS what was broken was also being spoken to so rudely and being accused of being told what to say by me and I didn't say anything except my property address. Even though I pay every month for 4 years they refused to authorize a capacitor repair on my 14-year-old air conditioner.

    The repair was $200, the tech spent 4 hours talking to them and being hung up on. The capacitor took 5 minutes to replace. He was so incredible and AHS employees should truly feel ashamed at how disgraceful they treat people who need help. I paid $100 yesterday for a service call but they had ME find a company since oddly they couldn't or wouldn't telling me I'd be reimbursed. As long as the company was licensed insured...I could not believe how I was talked to or how the technician from the AC company who didn't even work for American Home Shield.

    Shame on American Home Shield and their belittling representatives who just yell degrade and hang up repeatedly...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • WOW! Third-world call centers.

    • By Bob C.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    WOW, if you call to renew your contract, you get a US-based person, but if you call with an issue, you get some third-world non-English speaking person with horrible customer service skill. Amazon Home is cheaper and has US-based call centers. I will not be renewing my AHS, if anything, I will use Amazon.

    BTW their contractors also (with the exception of Sears ) do not respond. I do not want to make a bunch of phone calls just to get service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Avoid this company at all cost!

    • By Dennis S.,
    • Redding, CA,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed my first service call in April 2019. They sent out a company called Service 1. They have been back three times and I still have no A/C. I will end my relationship with AHS as soon as I get my A/C fixed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service non existent

    • By Jerry H.,
    • Peoria, AZ,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    May 22nd our KA fridge alarms went off. Contacted KA, was told control board is dying. Called AHS on May 24th, they emailed me at least 3 or 4 contractors until one could come out the 25th. I am still without a fridge and have been on the phone almost daily with the 30-60 minute hold phone calls. AHS even closed the work order until I called and finally someone listened and put the work order back to open on my account. On two other calls 2 different supposedly supervisors said they would call back within an hour which never happened. The contractor says they closed the order AHS says they sent parts (keep in mind they told me this happened twice before with different dates same part?). I am guessing I will not get my fridge fixed by AHS or this contractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Directly lied to...

    • By M Joseph T.,
    • Mobile, AL,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Willow S. Fri, 06/14/19 11:42:23 am America/Chicago

    Hello. How may I help you?

    Are you still there?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:43:53 am

    hi yes

    I would like to cancel my insurance contract

    Willow S. 11:44:18 am

    Hi! I'm happy to assist! One moment please while I access your account.

    May I ask the reason you would like to cancel your warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:46:09 am

    We are cancelling because we weren't impressed with the services we received... also, the salesman who originally sold me the policy said that i could choose my own contractor but would have to be reimbursed. When the time came... I wasn't allowed to use a company of my choosing.

    Willow S. 11:47:53 am

    I apologize that were misinformed. The only time AHS will authorize an outside technician is when there are no AHS Network Contractors available to accept a given service request. I can offer a trade service fee coupon which can be redeemed on your next service request if you would like to retain the warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:49:21 am

    Also.. my wife and 5 year old son were hot for two weeks while waiting for the issue to be resolved. As for the above... it's not what i was originally told.. I was lied to. I would never have purchased the warrant had i known the truth. I would like to cancel.

    warranty*

    Willow S. 11:50:30 am

    I understand, one moment while I process you request.

    There is an Administration Fee of $53.82 due to process the cancellation. Would you like to use payment method we have on file for this transaction?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:52:50 am

    Your going to charge me a fee to cancel?? After hearing about my horrible experience with YOUR company!?!

    You need to get this fee waived before I post my experiences to all major social media, google reviews, BBB Etc...

    Willow S. 11:55:25 am

    The administration fee cannot be waived. If you are unwilling to pay the fee I can submit your request rather than process it now to our retentions team. They will reach out to you to discuss your cancellation within 3-5 business days and to process your cancellation request.

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:56:00 am

    Process it now.. Charge the fee.

    I hope all of the bad publicity is worth $53 to AHS

    Willow S. 11:56:50 am

    Your request has been processed and your warranty is now cancelled.

    Is there anything else I can assist you with at this time?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:57:00 am

    No

    Worst. Company. Ever.

    You rated our customer service as bad

    11:57:19 am

    Willow S. 11:57:55 am

    Thank you for contacting AHS via chat! Have a great day! You may close the chat session at your convince.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service for AC

    • By K I.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was with AHS since June 2007 and in May of 2016 my AC stopped cooling the house. I finally get a chance to see if AHS will honor all they say they will about if they can’t fix something they will replace it.

    Long story short, my AC unit needed to be replaced and I was told they will only cover but I had to pay the contractor $1500 to repair the AC instead of replacing.

    I was furious. I told AHE to pay me the cost to replace the unit my self. They cut me a check for $297 after I provided a receipt that I had paid for a brand new AC unit out of pocket. So after being with them for 9 years and all I got was $297 towards AC replacement was a total rip off.

    Stay away from this company. They do not value long term customers or any customer from other reviews I read.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pool blues

    • By John K.,
    • Illinois,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like everyone else that has posted, WORST COMPANY EVER! I have been a customer for 4 years and they continue to decline to the point I will not renew with them but look elsewhere. Still waiting to have my pool plumbing repaired after 9 days and AHS sits on their butts making up excuses. The fake apologies both on the phone and what they post on this site are a joke. You call and if you are fortunate enough to understand the person you are speaking with, they tell you there are no notes in your file from the previous 3 phone calls. They then tell you, "I am placing notes in your file now, I understand how frustrating this must be." Lie! Call back and still no notes in your file and still waiting. Save your money and time, SHOP ANOTHER COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service

    • By Frank R.,
    • Creola, AL,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On May 3, 2019, A/C was blowing out hot air. Called for a service request.

    A service contractor was assigned and I was told they would contact in 24 hours. The next day I called the service contractor to see when they would be coming to check A/C. They told me it would be at least 5 to 6 days before they could come. I called AHS back and they said they would get someone else.

    On May 5 I called AHS and they told me to get an outside contractor to come and fix the problem. They told me when he got there to call them so they could talk to him about what was wrong.

    When he got there and found capacitor bad we called AHS to tell them. I gave the lady at AHS my information and told her the contractor would tell her the problem and charges. She told me that since they had told me to get an outside contractor that all I had to do was send in a receipt from the contractor to them.

    I stayed on the phone with her for 20 minutes telling her that they told me earlier they would need to talk to him. She kept saying no, just send a receipt in and gave me an email address.

    I sent in receipt like I was told to. I got an e-mail saying they received the invoices. A week later I get a letter in the mail saying AHS would not reimburse me because we did not call in.

    I called AHS and gave them the date and time I called in and they said they saw where I had called in and would listen to the recording and get back to me.

    Well, I have called for 4 weeks and still all they will say is someone is looking into it.

    I called today and am canceling my contract with them. They have got enough of my money.

    Product or Service Mentioned: American Home Shield Customer Care.

    Reason of review: Poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refrigerator

    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst company to do business with. I have made a claim about my refrigerator that stopped working on May 8, 2019. Today is June 6th and the issue has not been resolved. The technician who came to fix the refrigerator uploaded pictures of the condition of the refrigerator informing American Home Shield that the appliance is infested with mold; yet, American Home Shield refused to replace the refrigerator. I spoke to them this morning and they stated that they have ordered parts to fix the refrigerator, but refused to discuss how they will address the mold issue. This is a company that is collecting $100 monthly from my account. This is a total ripoff. Stay away from them. Why pay for service if you have to wait more than a month for repair. It would have been easier for me to buy a new refrigerator than to deal with the frustration that this company has caused me over the past month. Please do not buy any service contract from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Did not fix an item clearly mentioned as covered in contract

    • By Prashant W.,
    • Aliso Viejo, CA,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very shady company. They just want members to pay and would not respect their own terms. I called in and paid $100 service fee to resolve smelling issues from the 3 drainage points that my tenants complained about. They sent a plumber who just checked a few things and started asking for more money to do more tests. Whereas all that was needed was cleaning and flushing the 3 lines. Stay far away from this company. They actually made us lose 3 weeks in the process and did nothing, plus I lost $100 for the service which was never rendered.

    Here is the part in their contract that they clearly mentioned it is covered but then end up playing some game of dillying dallying -

    4. PLUMBING

    COVERED: Leaks and breaks of water, drain, gas, waste or vent lines - Toilets and related mechanisms, toilet wax ring seals, faucets, shower heads, shower arms, valves for shower, tub, and diverter, angle stops, risers and gate valves (similar features of finish and style used when replacement is necessary) - Hose bibs - Basket strainers - Permanently installed sump pumps (ground water only) - Built-in bathtub whirlpool motor, pump, and air switch assemblies - Pressure regulators - Expansion tanks - Sewage ejector pump (septic system sewage ejector pumps are not covered unless optional coverage H.4 is purchased) - Clearing of sink, bathtub, shower, and toilet stoppages - Clearing of mainline drain and sewer stoppages through an accessible cleanout up to 100 feet from access point - Clearing of lateral drain line stoppages up to 100 feet from access point including accessible cleanout, p-trap, drain or overflow access points.

    NOT COVERED: Stoppages caused by collapsed, damaged or broken drain, vent or sewer lines outside the home's main foundation - Lines broken, infiltrated or stopped by roots or foreign objects, even if within the home's main foundation - Bathtubs - Sinks - Showers - Shower enclosures and base pans - Toilet lids and seats - Jets - Caulking or grouting - Septic tanks - Water filtration/purification system - Holding or storage tanks - Saunas or steam rooms - Costs to locate or access cleanouts not found or inaccessible, or to install cleanouts - Access through roof vents.

    NOTE: Where covered repairs require access to plumbing, AHS will provide access to plumbing only through unobstructed walls, ceilings or floors, and will return access openings to a rough finish. If the plumbing is accessible only through a concrete floor, wall or ceiling, AHS will pay up to $1000 per contract term for access, diagnosis, repair, or replacement of such plumbing, including returning access openings to a rough finish. Customer is responsible for payment of any costs in excess of $1,000.

    It is 100% fraudulent company for sure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fridge/Freezer not working

    • By Roger B.,
    • Miami Beach, FL,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We've been covered by American Home Shield for many years. The good news is that repairs get taken care of. The bad news is that it may take a while. Currently, it's been eight days since our refrigerator/freezer has stopped cooling. The first contractor they sent didn't know how to fix it, so they just assigned it to another contractor, who can't come until next week. If it needs a part, that probably means another week. I'm sure they will eventually get it fixed, but 2-3 weeks without a refrigerator/freezer is a very long time for a family with kids!

    After waiting long periods of time on hold, I tried to explain this to their representative, but I was told it's up to the customer to work out timings with the vendors. I tried to explain that my contract is with AHS, so I asked if they could try to get the vendor to expedite the repair. They refused, even though my contract is with AHS, my payments go to AHS, and AHS at first sent an unqualified vendor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shady business practices

    • By Ismet M.,
    • Crofton, MD,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Let me share my experience with AHS:

    I used AHS for about two years for a rental property and everything was good up until I needed their services. I wanted to take advantage of the HVAC Tune-up ($75) and take care of an issue with the system ($100), so we scheduled a service from their website and a local reputable company that I used in the past was scheduled. So far so good.

    Then suddenly the appointment got switched to a different local not-so-reputable company. After 45 minutes on the phone, got it switched back. At this point, they have charged us the $75 deductible fee for the Tune-Up and a $100 for the HVAC issue. After 24 hours - same issue. The system had automatically switched again to a third company. This time we proceeded and scheduled the appointment. The technician never showed up. To our disbelief, we found out that the technician was stating that they had come to the property and left because nobody was home. Called AHS back to cancel with this company and reschedule. They said the service was complete since they had come to the property. So, at this point, we are down $175, and no service received. I got really frustrated and called to cancel my account. Apparently, there was also a $49.99 cancellation fee on top of this. I requested a refund since I had a proof that nobody had shown up to our property, but it has been well over 30 days and no refund received. Now, I am getting emails that I still owe the cancellation fee and I will be given to a collection agency. This is so ridiculous and such a shady business practice. Please stay away from this company!

    So, to sum up, if you don’t care who comes up and service your property you will be fine. AHS’ database is full of not-so-reputable companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 136-162 of 501

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield