Read 436 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 6)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  410
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 56-66 of 436
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Texas,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is unbelievable...Been paying for 3 years and just made FIRST service request. Waited 24 hours for a call back to tell me it will be over a week before they can come. My fridge isn't working, a week is excessive. Other appliances I could deal with. I call them to see if they can get someone else sooner. She can barely speak English but we finally get somewhere and gives me a number that she called and they can come out. Called and they said they'd call me back, they have 24 hours to respond. Called AHS back 4 times to get someone I can somewhat understand. I have to wait another 24 hours for a call back and hope they have something available sooner. Tried talking to a supervisor twice but of course, they don't have any available. So obviously canceled this scam company and ended up buying a new fridge. Instead of getting another home "steal your money" warranty, just save that money in an account.

    Then they have the nerve to notify me I owe a cancellation fee since my contract auto-renewed last month. I called and talked to someone who explained all the options that they could have offered me with the service call issue...a little late now. But of course he couldn't remove the $40 fee...over 3 years of paying for the service that was never used and I only canceled because of the poor customer service and they don't even have the decency to remove that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A bloody nightmare that never ends

    • Palm Desert, CA,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst experience I’ve ever had. I’m not used to being so negative and normally do not write reviews. But this experience was awful!

    I joined AHS 4/19. I reported two leaking toilets and kitchen faucet leak on 5/13. AHS sent one of their contractors out after a week of us waiting. The contractor was an hour away, even though there are closer plumbers. He said he fixed everything. He left and I tried flushing one toilet, and now didn’t even flush. The kitchen sink still leaked. So, now we were worse off. I tried running after plumber down the street. He turned the corner, so, I called his business. A gal put me on hold to call the plumber. She got back to me and said he was too far away to return! That was a lie. It was 3:30-4pm and he wanted to miss the traffic (his words before he left).

    I spent the next TWO MONTHS, trying to get it resolved. We hired a plumber who we paid to fix leaking kitchen faucet and he verified the toilets needed replacing. So, I continued to call AHS daily, regarding the toilets. Every AHS associate I spoke with was difficult to understand because of their foreign accents. I kept records of every call (total of 15 calls) made with dates, times, associate names I spoke with and employee ID #’s when they were willing to give it to me. They kept saying they needed to talk to the contractor. I would be put on hold over 45 minutes (having to listen to the most hideous repetitious music) and then disconnected. Each call, they hold put me on hold to read the notes. I don’t know why, because they never seemed to understand the issues. I was lied to by AHS associates. I even spoke to two supervisors. One just put me on hold then disconnected me.

    Weeks went by, as I continued to call them getting results. We did not have a flushing toilet for over two months. I finally decided to stop payment on my monthly bill. Eventually, somebody did contact me about the stop payment. It was only then that somebody who spoke perfect English called me, Mr. Gates. By then I knew I wanted nothing else to do with AHS once we got this resolved and told Mr. Gates that. He was able to finally resolve the issue and we replaced both toilets. I was told I was canceled and apologized too, as well.

    Again, we were without a flushing toilet for two months. I am a senior citizen with high blood pressure. This did not help my blood pressure. The lack of service and the frustration they put me through, eventually made me sick. Once we were done with them, we wanted nothing else to do with AHS. It’s a scam! We thought we were done with them. However, in July I received a bill for $53.32. I sent an email back to a lady named Amy, because she was following up on payment, I guess. I explained everything to her and never heard back from her. Today I got that bill, again. I’ve made four phone calls this morning with similar results! Nothing! They gave me a telephone number for their "National Dispute Resolution Team" and nobody answers. So, I called an associate back and was told this was an admin fee for canceling their contract! I’ve asked if they would please waive that fee due to my bad experience with them and being on a limited income. On my final phone call with AHS, today, I was told they would refer this to some resolution department. Yeah, right! So, now I wait and risk them reporting this to a credit agency to affect my credit score.

    Again, I am a senior citizen on a limited income. I have a difficult time thinking anyone could give AHS a good review! Perhaps, AHS provides some good experiences for some people. But when they don’t, the experience could not get worse! So, despite my feeling about AHS, I’m still stuck dealing with them and I can’t get any resolution! Again, I was a brand new customer with AHS, and this is how I was treated. So, my nightmare with AHS continues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This company is a SCAM

    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like everyone else on here and online is saying...STAY AWAY! American Home Shield finds any way they can to avoid covering the things that actually cost money. We’ve had "coverage" for 2 years and have called them out for minor things, such faucet and showerhead. BUT when you need them for what they ADVERTISE for, they hide!

    Our AC went out and they sent out a tech. He came and left within 2 minutes. Took a look at the unit, snapped some photos and said he recommends a new unit. Turns out, that’s not what he told AHS. They said since there was damage to the unit, not from normal wear, they rejected the claim. It’s a 20-year-old unit with obvious signs of age and wear!

    We ask for a 2nd opinion and send out a different tech. He says, "yeah most vendors avoid taking these types of warranty jobs because they don’t pay." EXACTLY. He then said he would do his best, NOPE. Same response and...rejected. After giving us the run around for a total of 2 weeks, they finally confirmed they will not be covering this. This is a true waste of money. I DON'T UNDERSTAND how they can stay in business without a class-action lawsuit when there are mostly negative reviews with very questionable and unethical business practices.

    Stay far away and just pay for your own major appliance repairs and get a discount shopping for your own contractor. With all the money you save not buying "home warranty", you’ll be better off.

    I wish I had searched for reviews first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Loophole happy...incompetent so AHS can claim no coverage

    • Orange, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    STAY AWAY! I've had multiple homes previously with AHS and had good experiences, not now! Whether pool, electrical, or any other service, AHS constantly looks for ways not to cover, claiming "not caused by normal wear and tear."

    Example: I paid for additional coverage for my saltwater pool. The heater developed a leak and died. The first technician said it was due to rodent damage. Denied coverage. Since the heater electrical was fine, and the heater is made of copper and aluminum, no way it was rodent damage. Called for a second opinion. Second technician said definitely not rodent repair, it was due to a leak that developed over time due to chemicals in the water. AHS said that is not normal wear and tear and since this was the second opinion, coverage denied and no further discussion.

    Seriously? The 2nd tech said that it was normal since the heater was 10 years old.

    Called in 3rd tech myself, paid myself for diagnosis - leak due to normal wear and tear.

    AHS will repair - cost: $3,500!

    AHS went round and round with explanations, including the heater was not designed for saltwater. Great, that is covered according to the contract. But, no, AHS states again, no normal wear and tear.

    Similar issue with an electrical problem in the house. Not covered. Got the second opinion, and they agreed to address.

    Total SCAM...buyer BEWARE! If you've used AHS in the past, it's not the same...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    12 weeks without A/C, AHS simply does not care about clients, just bottom line

    • Miami, FL,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been AHS clients for over 10 years now and it is incredible to see how a company of this size has simply forgotten that its most important asset is its clients and not its shareholders or its bottom line; without clients there is no business.

    On July the 10th we called AHS to get our A/C fixed, a technician came to our house and fixed it on July the 12th, then again on July the 15th the same machine broke again so the technician came bak to our house at which time we were informed that a part needed to be ordered and that he could not fix the A/C right away. A week went by and on Tuesday, July 23rd we called AHS to see about the status of our repair, at that time we were informed that our claim was on hold because we had to approve some extra charges for the Freon and that without our approval, AHS was not allowed to even place the order for the missing part...this is one week after the technician actually visited our home (by the way, we live in Miami and the current temperature is above 95 degrees, so one week without A/C is not a small thing).

    So, on the 23rd we approved the estimated $550 extra charges for the Freon (a gas that needed to be added at the time of installation) so that they can go ahead and order the part. Another week went by and after another follow-up call on the 30th, we learned that the part had not been ordered yet and that it would take between 5 to 7 weeks to get it. I searched online for the part as I was talking to the customer service person, and in less than 5 seconds I was able to locate it from a distributor who could have it in Miami between 1 to 2 weeks; when I asked the person about this she informed me that AHS can only purchase parts directly from the manufacturer, not a distributor, even if that takes 5 to 7 weeks as opposed to 1 to 2 weeks, because it was cheaper...in other words, it is completely irrelevant that we the clients have been without A/C for over two weeks now because of their incompetence and their supplier's, but we now have to wait another 5 to 7 weeks to get the part just because AHS wants to save some bucks? The incompetence of the personnel working on the procurement side, summed with the fact that the customer support personnel barely speaks English and are simply reading from a script (I'm Hispanic and my English may not be at 100% so I can truly understand and accept some "English with an accent" but this was simply ridiculous and inefficient) and on top of this, the complete and utter disregard and lack of empathy for the client's needs is simply preposterous, we are not talking about a toaster or a washing machine that broke, not even the fridge, we are talking about the A/C in Miami, Florida; there should be some "rules of engagement" or special policy for critical appliances like an A/C in Miami or maybe a heater in Colorado during the winter. What happened to AHS' marketing promise "If we can't repair it we'll replace it"? I guess that they forgot to add that the will replace it whenever they feel comfortable with and only if the price is within their reach or is in line with their bottom line...I don't think that this policy makes anyone "be sure with the shield".

    We are glad to inform that after another follow-up call earlier today, we finally got a clear ETA for the A/C coil that we need, which will be arriving on or before September 30th, only 12 weeks since our A/C broke down for the second time...AHS expects us to be without A/C for 12 weeks in order to save some 300 bucks which I would have paid happily to pay if they would have given me the option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely horrible! Paid $75 for a service that would have cost us $20 to fix! Also, make sure the issue in your home doesn't cause a secondary issue, because they won't be responsible for it. Like a leak causing damage to the ceiling! They send out sketchy companies who try to tell you that your contract doesn't cover the issue and want you to pay out of pocket for an issue that never even got fixed!

    Don't waste your money with them. Luckily we didn't pay for the contract, it came with our house when we bought it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disgruntled long-time customer

    • Kansas,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had AHS for years. They used to be a good company, but they keep going downhill. In fact, my husband used to sell their product. Their customer service now is obviously overseas. Just today the girl hung up on me, and I wasn't rude. I think she didn't understand what I was telling her. Last month, my husband contacted AHS and asked for a supervisor because they couldn't find us a service provider for my refrigerator sooner than 12 days out. He waited on hold for 5 minutes and the call was disconnected. This now seems to be a common issue with AHS. The refrigerator incident was our last experience and it took us a month to get it running again. We view that as ridiculous. We canceled AHS and are now with Choice. They have better ratings, according to independent reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Really an awful and dishonest company...stay away

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Part of the contractor for AHS did not diagnose my AC correctly.

    In fact, they have put the wrong parts on the AC to make it worse. The first company from AHS INSURANCE to work on the units said nothing is wrong with the unit and did not recommend to have it replaced, even though the unit is 30 years old.

    The tech said to wait for 2 days before will get cold air. The unit blew and shut down after 15 minutes.

    I had the unit diagnosed by an independent company not associated with AHS Insurance who found issues such as a blown fuse, capacitors not secured to the panels, other capacitors actually had a shortage spot on the side of it, most likely hitting the contacts due to it not being secured, the one capacitor was the wrong size for the unit, condenser fan motor is not the OEM slim style motor.

    Yet they said nothing was wrong to side with the insurance company.

    They work with an unethical insurance company AHS and do nothing for customers.

    It is a shame. Should have their license revoked.

    Rose Heating Air Conditioning & Sheet Metal

    Heating & Air Conditioning/HVAC

    8/1/2019

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    • Georgetown, TX,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total let down. Needed help with a swimming pool, AHS took $100.00, I got nothing. AHS dropped the ball. I tried to follow up, put on hold twice the first call. They wanted to put blame on me. Second call I was so livid I tried to cancel, but could not get a definitive. I was told somebody would call me back within 24 hours. Just went back to the AHS website, my account, and there in a highlighted red box is payment due, $69.18 administration fee. AHS, you stink!

    I could not understand anybody I spoke to. Call Center, you stink! SHAME, shame, shame!

    My next correspondence is with BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company in cohorts with Coldwell Banker

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My real estate company strongly encouraged purchasing this home warranty. I later discovered there is some sort of financial tie between Coldwell Banker Burnett realty and American Home Shield. AHS is a total scam. I have been 4 weeks on repair of a washing machine, they use repair people that are completely inept. The last person could not open the washing machine. I googled the owner's manual for her and she refused to follow the directions and left saying she was behind. Then wrote a completely fictitious report saying the control board needs replacing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot even begin to tell you of my many negative experiences with this company. In fact, I cannot tell you: I am afraid to write my review because nowadays companies like this one will sue! Just check other reviews of this company or ask about them on your community Facebook or Nextdoor. Go on Yelp. You can decide for yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 56-66 of 436

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review