Read 466 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 8)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  438
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 78-88 of 466
Sort reviews by:

  • Incompetence meets dysfunctional, mixed in a bowl of apathy

    • By Kirk O.,
    • Sanford, FL,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It takes a lot to get me riled. In fact, I like to write kind reviews, and hardly ever write bad ones. But my level of frustration with this company is beyond stuff of nightmares. Where do I start? Here are just a few highlights.

    1) I've had a non-functioning dryer for over 7 weeks. First call the tech didn't come out for a week. He then had to order parts, which of course needed "approval" back from AHS. No status updates online. When I called, of course I'm put on hold, transferred, disconnected, call back, then finally speak to some lady (in the Philippines?) who says the parts were approved, and now waiting on local appliance company to order. What?! Of course, there is no proactive communication. Be prepared to spend a lot of time on the phone, and on hold. Speaking of which...

    2) There are extended hold and wait times EVERY TIME you call. Just one call I was on hold for 40 minutes, and the total call length was over 1.5 hours. This is just one of 10 calls I made to AHS in the last month. Their default answer is "sorry to keep you holding so long". This response is absolutely robotic, it truly sounds like part of their script - never authentic. i.e. I was put on hold for 11 minutes, just so the rep could get me a phone number to their "appliance purchasing" dept. Really? No one cares about you, your issues or delays - or why you couldn't do laundry or be without a fridge for a month - or the number of hours you've spent on the phone with them in complete frustration and angst. Why would they? They pay below minimum wage for out-of-country workers, and clearly it's just about turning a profit.

    3) They ask you to repeat info every time you call. The auto-attendant asks you for info, then they ask you for the same info again when you speak to an agent, along with 3 other pieces of verification data. Their systems are antiquated, and customer no-service reps don't document notes properly, and again, are apathetic in their responses. You can tell they deal with this all day long, and are just numb to any type of customer complaints or frustrations.

    4) The communication between AHS and their local "service providers" is a bad joke. Finger-pointing and denying requests is their modus operandi. After repeating the same info to 3 people, it still doesn't get interpreted properly by their local "partner" providers. So don't expect any level of even marginal service...and you will still be disappointed. Here are 2 more examples...

    5) Plumbing issues. I had a leaking toilet (from tank into bowl) and broken value on cold-water unit in the laundry room washing machine outlet. They refused to fix either. Mind you, I had already paid another $75 "deductible". For the toilet, the local plumber said: "overflow pipe was broken, and our AHS contract only allows us to repair cracked or rusty pipes - not ones broken all the way through." What??! Um, it's broken because the chlorine and rust ate through this 18-year-old PVC, and when I went to look at it myself to diagnose the issue to call it in, the remaining 10% of the pipe (hanging by a thread) snapped off. As for the cold-water turn-valve, it was stuck in the "open" position, and would not close, but apparently, because it's not leaking, it too was not covered. Are you kidding?! So as long I never have to remove the washer hose, I guess it's fine. Plumber said, well, they can replace it, but it would have to be the whole junction box, and AHS won't cover that - it would run $375. What??!

    6) AC issue. We didn't have proper airflow to 2 of the rooms. So local HVAC company checked the AC system and said it was okay, but the air ducts were probably clogged, compressed, or cut, thus losing airflow. He said if AHS would cover that cost if that were the case, but since he had to get into our attic to visually assess it, and the cost to do THAT was not covered. What?! (Again.) How can you cover a claim if you cannot properly assess or diagnose the claim? Unbelievable!

    The list goes on and on. One of the biggest problems is that AHS has extremely restrictive contracts with the local service providers. Like many insurance companies, these companies are taught to look for any reason to deny the claim - just refer to the examples above.

    Do yourself a favor - look elsewhere or just hire a qualified service contractor when needed. Stay FAR, FAR AWAY from this nightmare of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BAD BAD SERVICE

    • By Charles C.,
    • Haughton, LA,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I turned a claim on my clothes dryer on 08/12/2019. They were going to have one of their service contractors contact me. On August 16th no one had contacted me. I sent them an email and also called them. The person I spoke to was overseas. I told them that I have not heard from anyone. They said they would take care of it. August 17th still no word. I called them again. I was talked to the same person overseas. I was promised once again that help would be contacting me. On August the 19th, I called again. A person from overseas answered the call. This time they assigned the repair to a different contractor. He came out an 8/20/19 and repaired my dryer. I am not happy with this kind of service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company stinks and is ripping people off

    • By Judith B.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield is a scam...almost every time I've called them for service it cost me more than the $75.00 service fee. It's oh there is a part that is not covered in your washer that is causing you a problem due to improper use so you will have to pay for that part $378.00 or we can get another company to come out for another $75.00 for a second opinion. I live alone and have very little wash. Last month my air went and of course, it was the Freon and they don't cover that because it isn't used anymore in the new air condition so that cost me $700 plus the $75. Then these companies drive you crazy wanting to sell you new stuff...saying no is not an option until you tell them to leave.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible, unprofessional, tacky, nightmare!

    • By Jena P.,
    • Woodstock, IL,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I actually had an electrical fire in my home and it took them 3 months to deny it, hindering me from getting anyone else in to look at it. This company is such a joke! There is no continuity of care, or follow-up of any kind. I originally called in our issue with the electrical wiring in May. It is now August and the electrician came out to our house 3 times, didn't repair a thing and then the claim was denied due to some obscure code they quoted at me. I was never given any kind of itemized paperwork - which is what I need to submit a claim to the insurance company. I NEED THE NUMBERS. Each person that I spoke with promised to have someone follow up with me and call me back. I did not once get a call back from anyone until this final day today.

    Their phone system is tacky - before you ever speak with a live person there is an automated voice that is trying to collect payment for a service call that I ALREADY PAID FOR (each and every time you call in)! And after you finally make it through the labyrinth and are speaking with someone (you can barely understand), when they "put you on hold" to check with the technician - over half the time they "accidentally" hung up on me and they don't call you back. You have to call them back and start the whole process over again from scratch! Completely irritating, frustrating, horrible NIGHTMARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not choose AHS unless you are able to be at the mercy of the technician

    • By Amber L.,
    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had no choice in who the technician was. The technician that was chosen only worked 11-2 in my zip code, and that’s it. He wouldn’t give an appt time, even though he claims he has appts out here, and he said he only works during the week. I had already paid the $75 service fee because it makes me do that before I even know who the tech is. I called AHS, and they said I was stuck. They wouldn’t give me my money back to find a technician with flexible hours, and said it is up to the technician to set hours. I had to figure a way to be here or I could pay an additional $75 to get at random, another technician (which could be the exact same guy they gave me in the first place)! Don’t use AHS if you are a working person!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful, just awful company

    • By Rebecca H.,
    • Taylorsville, KY,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    How does a company like this not get investigated and shut down? I’ve read there are thousands of complaints on BBB yearly. Thousands of disgruntled customers on FB. Run away from this sham of a company. I’ve been trying to get a working range for three months. Every call to customer service is a nightmare. Terrible company to deal with. Just don’t do it to yourself. I’m giving up, going to go buy a new range and chalking this experience up for a loss.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • About cancellation of policy I only had one month

    • By Ethel E.,
    • Durham, NC,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only been with this company for 1 month. I paid for the month of June. They were to send me statements in the mail after my first payment. I called about five times and each time talked with someone in the Philippines. I don't know if they understood what I was saying and they never followed through with mailing the statements, so I finally called on 8/7/2019 and canceled my American Home Shield warranty. I tried contacting the main company in Memphis, Tennessee by telephone and email and they can't be reached. I requested a refund of my money and I am being told that I owe them some type of contract fee of $62.07. No, the AHS company owes me $66.73, which is what I put down initially.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A big deceiving company

    • By Michal W.,
    • California,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never received a copy of the policy, though I called six or seven times to ask for it - they do not send it via email and mail never arrived.

    Sent a plumber who did nothing! Lied in the report, just showed up to get the service fee money.

    When I asked how much I will be reimbursed if I cancel the policy after 7 months, they said I have to pay them $30 on top of what I paid (all the premium upfront), because I had a claim and they paid the contractor who didn't do anything and lied in the report more than my service fee ($100), so they deduct it from my prorated amount (which is $145) and that's why I still owe them $30 for cancellation.

    I specifically asked how much I will be charged if I cancel, before I cancel, but they canceled anyway...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away

    • By Tim W.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is unbelievable...Been paying for 3 years and just made FIRST service request. Waited 24 hours for a call back to tell me it will be over a week before they can come. My fridge isn't working, a week is excessive. Other appliances I could deal with. I call them to see if they can get someone else sooner. She can barely speak English but we finally get somewhere and gives me a number that she called and they can come out. Called and they said they'd call me back, they have 24 hours to respond. Called AHS back 4 times to get someone I can somewhat understand. I have to wait another 24 hours for a call back and hope they have something available sooner. Tried talking to a supervisor twice but of course, they don't have any available. So obviously canceled this scam company and ended up buying a new fridge. Instead of getting another home "steal your money" warranty, just save that money in an account.

    Then they have the nerve to notify me I owe a cancellation fee since my contract auto-renewed last month. I called and talked to someone who explained all the options that they could have offered me with the service call issue...a little late now. But of course he couldn't remove the $40 fee...over 3 years of paying for the service that was never used and I only canceled because of the poor customer service and they don't even have the decency to remove that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A bloody nightmare that never ends

    • By William D.,
    • Palm Desert, CA,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst experience I’ve ever had. I’m not used to being so negative and normally do not write reviews. But this experience was awful!

    I joined AHS 4/19. I reported two leaking toilets and kitchen faucet leak on 5/13. AHS sent one of their contractors out after a week of us waiting. The contractor was an hour away, even though there are closer plumbers. He said he fixed everything. He left and I tried flushing one toilet, and now didn’t even flush. The kitchen sink still leaked. So, now we were worse off. I tried running after plumber down the street. He turned the corner, so, I called his business. A gal put me on hold to call the plumber. She got back to me and said he was too far away to return! That was a lie. It was 3:30-4pm and he wanted to miss the traffic (his words before he left).

    I spent the next TWO MONTHS, trying to get it resolved. We hired a plumber who we paid to fix leaking kitchen faucet and he verified the toilets needed replacing. So, I continued to call AHS daily, regarding the toilets. Every AHS associate I spoke with was difficult to understand because of their foreign accents. I kept records of every call (total of 15 calls) made with dates, times, associate names I spoke with and employee ID #’s when they were willing to give it to me. They kept saying they needed to talk to the contractor. I would be put on hold over 45 minutes (having to listen to the most hideous repetitious music) and then disconnected. Each call, they hold put me on hold to read the notes. I don’t know why, because they never seemed to understand the issues. I was lied to by AHS associates. I even spoke to two supervisors. One just put me on hold then disconnected me.

    Weeks went by, as I continued to call them getting results. We did not have a flushing toilet for over two months. I finally decided to stop payment on my monthly bill. Eventually, somebody did contact me about the stop payment. It was only then that somebody who spoke perfect English called me, Mr. Gates. By then I knew I wanted nothing else to do with AHS once we got this resolved and told Mr. Gates that. He was able to finally resolve the issue and we replaced both toilets. I was told I was canceled and apologized too, as well.

    Again, we were without a flushing toilet for two months. I am a senior citizen with high blood pressure. This did not help my blood pressure. The lack of service and the frustration they put me through, eventually made me sick. Once we were done with them, we wanted nothing else to do with AHS. It’s a scam! We thought we were done with them. However, in July I received a bill for $53.32. I sent an email back to a lady named Amy, because she was following up on payment, I guess. I explained everything to her and never heard back from her. Today I got that bill, again. I’ve made four phone calls this morning with similar results! Nothing! They gave me a telephone number for their "National Dispute Resolution Team" and nobody answers. So, I called an associate back and was told this was an admin fee for canceling their contract! I’ve asked if they would please waive that fee due to my bad experience with them and being on a limited income. On my final phone call with AHS, today, I was told they would refer this to some resolution department. Yeah, right! So, now I wait and risk them reporting this to a credit agency to affect my credit score.

    Again, I am a senior citizen on a limited income. I have a difficult time thinking anyone could give AHS a good review! Perhaps, AHS provides some good experiences for some people. But when they don’t, the experience could not get worse! So, despite my feeling about AHS, I’m still stuck dealing with them and I can’t get any resolution! Again, I was a brand new customer with AHS, and this is how I was treated. So, my nightmare with AHS continues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company is a SCAM

    • By Roy R.,
    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like everyone else on here and online is saying...STAY AWAY! American Home Shield finds any way they can to avoid covering the things that actually cost money. We’ve had "coverage" for 2 years and have called them out for minor things, such faucet and showerhead. BUT when you need them for what they ADVERTISE for, they hide!

    Our AC went out and they sent out a tech. He came and left within 2 minutes. Took a look at the unit, snapped some photos and said he recommends a new unit. Turns out, that’s not what he told AHS. They said since there was damage to the unit, not from normal wear, they rejected the claim. It’s a 20-year-old unit with obvious signs of age and wear!

    We ask for a 2nd opinion and send out a different tech. He says, "yeah most vendors avoid taking these types of warranty jobs because they don’t pay." EXACTLY. He then said he would do his best, NOPE. Same response and...rejected. After giving us the run around for a total of 2 weeks, they finally confirmed they will not be covering this. This is a true waste of money. I DON'T UNDERSTAND how they can stay in business without a class-action lawsuit when there are mostly negative reviews with very questionable and unethical business practices.

    Stay far away and just pay for your own major appliance repairs and get a discount shopping for your own contractor. With all the money you save not buying "home warranty", you’ll be better off.

    I wish I had searched for reviews first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 78-88 of 466

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
American Home Shield