• 483 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don't waste your money with this company

    • By Stephanie C.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Complete waste of money, then a waste of time once the company locates a service contractor to come to your home to actually "fix" the problem. First, you are lucky if your broken item is even covered. The list of excluded brands, parts, and issues is lengthy and almost ensures that the company won't be on the hook for any costly repairs. Then, once a technician arrives to your home, you are lucky if he/she can actually do the repair. I just needed a new hot water heater as mine was leaking all over the floor. The technician said he couldn't "order" a new one as it's a brand that he doesn't normally install. It's an AO Smith, one of the mostly widely installed hot water heaters in my area. In fact, every home in my development has one. Give me break...anyways, I was told I had to find my own plumber and that I would be reimbursed for a portion of the cost. Well, after submitting the invoice for the second time and numerous phone calls later, I still haven't received a refund. It goes without saying I won't renew my contract with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch

    • By Lynn S.,
    • Colorado,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Our washing machine broke so I went online and ordered service through AHS. Within 24 hours I was contacted for an appointment for the repair guy to come out. He came out a few days later. He came in, I showed him where the washing machine was, I told him that I didn't realize it wasn't working until I went to take the clothes out and they were wet even though the cycle was finished. He was here about 5 minutes or less told me it would be too much to fix, he would let them know. About a week later I receive a call from AHS informing me that his report was that I overloaded the washing machine or I put an object in it causing it to break and therefore, it would not be covered because it was not normal wear and tear.

    First of all, I have done laundry for 40 years. I have never "overloaded" a washing machine. I would never fraudulently put an object in it to break it. The home warranty was when something breaks they come out and fix it or replace it if it can't be fixed. Not only was my character attacked I was pretty much called a liar. I am a realtor and have recommended this warranty company to my clients for years. In fact, my client just bought one a few months ago. I WILL NEVER recommend them again. I feel like my character was attacked and I have never or would ever be fraudulent in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flooded my home; charged me for it

    • By Evan P.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A repairman sent by AHS did a faulty job on my washing machine which resulted in three rooms of my house flooding. I called AHS and all they tell us that they are "not responsible for water damage." The machine is NOT fixed and they had the audacity to charge me the $75 trade service fee. I still have a broken washing machine and now a partially flooded home. Horrible company. Horrible services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Company is a scam

    • By Sean S.,
    • Illinois,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a scam! It is day 12 of no heat during the deep freeze in Chicago. 12 days ago the contractor they sent ordered the part, AHS approves the part, tell me why the part was not received yet?! I called the contractor, he states it's ordered, he doesn't know what is going on. I contact AHS and every single non-fluent English speaking representative has their own story. When I demand to speak to a manager, they give me run around. Then when I log into my account to check the status of this claim and it states it's complete...hmmmm. How is it complete when I have no heat and no one will give me a straight answer! AHS states someone will call me back, but no one does! This is now the 2nd major issue I have had with AHS and they have handled the claims poorly from start to finish! I have caught them already on the first claim for hot water tank trying to scam me out of $500. I am a 3x homeowner and when you correct them with false information they are giving you, it's is pretty bad! I would give no stars for this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst company to deal with

    • By Susan R.,
    • Twentynine Palms, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I submitted a service request and had to follow-up with four phone calls over a month's time to find out what was going on because after the technician was here I never heard from them again. And the request was marked as COMPLETE on the AHS website.

    Making phone calls wasn't bad enough, each time I called, I waited on hold over 60 MINUTES before I could even speak to someone. That was after I requested a call back and being "1st in line." Now on the 4th call, they called the contractor once again (because no findings report was ever submitted) and lo and behold none of the required work is covered under the contract because the "technician knows if it's covered."

    So the last three phone calls to AHS and the storyline they told me about sending the request to their contractor authorization department for review because they take it very seriously when a contractor doesn't submit their findings in a timely fashion was just BS. They never submitted it to anyone! Each time I called, they tried to call the contractor.

    I would NEVER recommend AHS or T&J Investment LLC (supposedly an electrician) to anyone! When the electrician was here, he didn't want to do the work and basically said so. I understand when something is not covered under the contract, but it's so convenient that now after four calls, the work is not covered. How was that not reviewed or identified on any of the last three calls?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away from American Home Shield, FRAUDSTERS!

    • By Robert R.,
    • Colorado,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had American Home Shield for years, spent lots of money with them.

    Then years later, we moved and got a new contract for our 15-year-old home in Colorado. In October 2018 we had a home inspector checking all appliances, HVAC, and furnace prior to our purchase. Everything passed, and seemed to be in good working condition. Since the house has used appliances we decided to get them protected by American Home Shield.

    Well months later, winter came and we needed to use the furnace, then we noticed it was having a hard time keeping the house warm. We placed a service request with AHS and a technician was sent after a few days. Diagnostics was the heating exchanger was struggling exhausting the air due to rust gradually reducing the air channels.

    After a week without hearing from AHS, I called them and they said it would cost me $5,500.00 to solve the issue. And could only pay $1,500 and I have to pay $4,000.00 out of my pocket, (it's defined in the fine prints of the contract).

    Well, since I was not aware they did not cover the entire repair cost, I decided to go for the option for cash out the $1,500.00 and choose a different contractor. I told them that cash out would be fine. Then another week passed by, and I never heard from them. I called them again and after 35 minutes on hold, the representative said my cash out was denied because they consider my issue a pre-existing. How could I know there was an internal rust issue slowing degrading the heating exchanger? The home inspector checked the unit during 70-degree weather and heater went up to 80 degrees without any problems, and the A/C went down to 60 without any issue.

    Anyway, they told me they could send me another contractor to get a second opinion about the issue, and if the diagnostics were the same, then I would have to pay another $100.00 and the claim would remain denied. Why did they send me the first contractor if they don't trust his opinion? Am I crazy or they are big crooks? I will let you make your decision based on my own honest review. Find a local small company to do business with, and stay away from these scammers.

    They served me well when I needed them 15 years ago, but now they are nothing but scammers. They rather spend tons of money paying for internet campaigns, but not taking care of their clients, which are the ones that bring more customers than any internet campaign. We are in 2019, businesses without a pro-consumer policy will not survive, and if they don’t change the way they treat customers, they will be out of business, it's just matter of time.

    I am not bashing them as revenge, but to prevent other people to fall for the same trap I did.

    I hope my review will help someone to choose better company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Laura F.,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jan 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I filed a service request on December 24th, then called to see if someone could come sooner because my only toilet and shower were blocked and unusable. The first appointment they offered was January 3, 2019. I advised it was my only bathroom and was told in so many words they don't have emergency plumbers. I called back on December 27th and got transferred to outside authorization, who allowed me to hire an emergency plumber who came December 28th. I followed all the instructions, turned in my invoice that same night, and to this day I still have not been reimbursed, and they refuse to give me a date to expect my refund. They claim they didn't get my invoice, but I have their confirmation email dated December 28th that it was received.

    I called again on January 21st and was asked to resubmit, which I did while on the phone. I was told my invoice would be processed right away since it was so old and they process by the date on the invoice. They were to call me back the next day, never happened, so I called again today, January 24th, and was told my invoice was received yesterday, 1/23/19, and that they apologize but they are behind and it will be worked in the order received. I now have to pay two months worth of interest on this charge. They are liars and don't care at all about their customers. The reviews posted on their website are, in my opinion, most likely all lies that they wrote themselves. This place is awful, don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Organized fraud!

    • By Reza M.,
    • California,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    FRAUD ALERT! American Home Shield and its network of service companies are conducting an organized fraud! My furnace made a sound suddenly Friday night and stopped blowing hot air! I called the American Home Shield as my home warranty and submit a service request the next day. They assigned me Metropolitan Heating and Air Conditioning to come and check, once they been assigned, I looked them up on Google and saw all the bad reviews! I got worried and I decided to call AHS first thing on Monday to ask for another company. But to my surprise, Metropolitan called the same day and said they had an opening and could come over to take a look at the furnace in an hour! I thought wow, that was fast and sounds great! Because it was really cold and I didn't want to spend the weekend with no heater! So I agreed and I thought maybe those couple of 5 stars are true!

    He came in, acted very friendly and nice, opened the closet door to furnace, took a picture, closed the door and wrote on a paper that the unit needs to be replaced and gave me a copy and said he will submit it to the warranty company and it might take 7-10 days for replacing the unit, and he left, the whole thing was under 5 minutes! He DID NOT EVEN TRY to turn on the unit and see if it was working or not or what was the problem! I got really worried, but then I fooled myself, maybe he is very experienced! And sure enough, as everybody else mentioned on those bad reviews, I got a call from AHS saying your claim was rejected because the technician believes the problem was pre-existing! WHAT? I asked, "Based on what evidence? Do you mean that we've been in freezing cold weather with no heater for months? NONSENSE!" She had no answer and simply said that this is what the technician reported and we will go with that! She then said we can send another company for a second opinion, but if they say the same thing, that there is another $100 service fee, I asked her who would be the other company because I want to Google them before having them come in, she gave me another name and when I searched, guess what? Same reviews! I asked for another company, the same thing!

    She gave me 5 different names and they all had the same bad reviews about people paid the service fee for nothing! That is where I realized it's an organized fraud! They are just looking for the $100 service fee! $100 for 5 minutes doing basically NOTHING! That is good money! After that, I called Metropolitan to simply ask based on what he concluded that it was pre-existing? And sure enough, he did not answer and never returned my calls! I told the story to a friend of mine; he referred me to another technician that he knew, the guy came in and in 20 minutes fixed the furnace by replacing some wires for $180! My furnace is working even better than before now!

    I called them to cancel the contract, they give you a number to call to cancel and no one answers that phone!

    As the other reviewer suggested, I'm going to file with the state for this fraud as well! And I recommend everyone to do the same so we can stop these guys from rubbing people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    • By George L.,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called about no heat coming out the room registers from my heat pump. They sent out an incompetent repair person who claimed rodents had eaten part of the ductwork. AHS refused to replace the 25 feet of flex duct. I challenged them to come to my home and look anywhere and show me a sign of even a single rodent and they still refused. I am canceling my contract and will never do business with them again. Other reviews about poor repairs and inferior replacement items you see here are also true. They had to replace my dishwasher two years ago and put in the cheapest one they could find and not with comparable options my old dishwasher had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor service

    • By S B.,
    • Washington DC,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Their customer service is unreachable, and even if you get through after two hours, upon reaching an English speaking live body, you encounter someone who just wants to get rid of you and has no clue what needs to be done.

    After all of this, if you are successful, the technicians they provide are inept and unfamiliar with the job they are supposed to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    • By Linda J.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The repairman sent out to fix the washer, said he needed parts will order. The repairman never comes back. American Home Shield sends another repairman, he says the washer now is completely broken, initial repairman did not know what he was doing. Another month to offer a replacement or cash out amount. The replacement offered the cheapest available, now have to prove cost of machine destroyed by the American Home Shield repairman. Offered cash out for comparable washer, but will refuse to reimburse because I bought a new washer dryer set and they don't know the individual cost of washer. I am still trying to get cash out amount, it has been over three months. The torture never ends, waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible costumer service

    • By Jamie B.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The most non-existent and horrible customer service of any company that I have ever dealt with in my life. I see others have complained about contractors, I have not had that problem, as a matter of fact, if not for the contractor we would know absolutely nothing about what is going on. Please people, DO NOT spend your money with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Watch out cancel contract and they still charge

    • By Mark W.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had AHS contract for 17 years with minimal issues. We sold our home on 12/28/18. I called on 12/24/18 and told them I would need to cancel on 12/28/18 and was told to call back on 12/28 after closing. I did and canceled the contract. On 12/31 AHS charged my account again providing coverage until 1/27/19. WHY? I called AHS, spoke to two agents, asked for a supervisor, was told there was no one working, and I could not receive a refund. I have been a customer for the current property and a previous property for 20+ years. I will never do business with them again. I am still trying to get my money returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t waste your money!

    • By Dee A.,
    • Conroe, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I just moved to Texas and for the first time purchased a home warranty. From the very first time we used them, it has been a complete disaster.

    - The first contractor came and asked us to pay him, so we did. We didn’t know better at the time. That was in June 2018. We just made phone call number five and were on hold for 2.25 hours, to try and get them to quit billing us for the $75. Every single time they say it will be taken care of and guess what, another bill comes. Every time we call, waiting forever on hold. Only last month, December, the bill went up to $150. Once again, tonight we were told it would be taken care of. We asked for a supervisor to please give us a call. I highly doubt that will happen.

    - In the meantime, we’ve needed to call them for the same problem with our septic and gave up because of the hold time. We have actually been on hold with them, called the plumber on another phone and the plumber got here before being able to speak to someone.

    I would not waste one cent of your money with this company. We’ve actually considered just paying the $75 to make them go away and never call them again, but then it really bothers us to think they are probably doing this to a lot of people. So we’re in for the long haul. This is the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with, and I’m 55. They have no idea what "customer service" is. Shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company is a scam!

    • By Vince M.,
    • Strawberry, AZ,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We requested service for a burst water pipe in our kitchen in an inside wall. The representative over the phone gathered all necessary information and proceeded to collect a $125 service fee, which I thought was strange because in my past experience with other home warranty companies, that was not collected until the contractor showed up. A plumber was scheduled two days later, which was a Friday at 1 pm. The plumber calls us asking if he can come at 8 am instead. Unfortunately, we could not change time due to work schedule. The plumber shows up and states that it is a non-covered service.

    After reading my contract, I do not understand why this was not covered being that it was an interior wall and we had already pulled cabinets and sink away from the wall so he had easy access, and we already provided all the information to the rep on the phone when requesting service. We personally think being it was a Friday afternoon he did not want to do the job.

    We also requested service on our wall heater and for some reason, we were told by the rep on the phone that it is not covered because it is a wall heater. Again I reviewed my contract and it states wall heaters ARE covered, but in this instance at least we were told on the phone prior to collecting another $125 service fee just to be told by the contractor that it is not covered. I am done with this company!

    They are good at collecting your monthly premiums and a so-called "service fee" but not providing service when you really need it. I feel they are a scam! After explaining our experience to friends and neighbors (which a few are realtors), I am being told to stay far away from AHS. We are going back to Old Republic!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bottom rung contractors

    • By Mike H.,
    • Grass Valley, CA,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Impossible customer service with their own various departments unable to communicate coherently even amongst themselves. Sent me the absolute worst Yelp rated vendors to come and botch up my repairs. For instance, one contractor had 167 Yelp reviews generating a rating of 1 star. I canceled after a year of miserable results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away; charging auto-pay for homes I sold, refuse to refund

    • By Linda L.,
    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company has shady business tactics. Refusing to refund me for overcharging. I relocated for a job selling two homes in Nevada and bought in Texas. My new home came with a one-year warranty by a realtor. So I canceled the policy on the two homes I sold and when it came to shop one year later...I find out American Home Shield has been charging my business account for two premiums on the homes I don't own for 12 months the now! Even after I threatened to call the authorities and file a formal complaint to the Dept of Insurance...they just did it again! I had to close out my business ex's account I've had for 25 years to stop it! Now I have to spend hours calling legit business and resetting up auto-pays for legit companies I do business with. These people are crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Save your money

    • By Job J.,
    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save your money and don’t buy this warranty. I tried to use them twice and all they did is deny the claim and get out of making the needed repairs. The service company they also sent over was very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely bad service

    • By Bob N.,
    • Riverside, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    For over one year, we had a problem with our cooktop. More than five times I took a day off and the contractor did not come, or brought a wrong part. I contacted AHS, talked to Tonya, who is one of the supervisors, seven weeks ago. She promised to change our cooktop and as of today, she has not contacted us. I talked to Moana, one of the customer service reps 10 days ago and again no responses. Extremely the worse possible service from AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unsatisfactory service

    • By James C.,
    • California,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Starting around December 4th, I requested plumbing assistance. Two days later a plumber showed up and said to call him back after line drained. The line never drained, so I had no satisfactory solution. The long and short of it was I emailed AHS and told them to cancel service. By December 6th, I see a charge of $75.00 appear on my bank statement. I have asked to have that refunded. I also asked to have my contract canceled and refunded.

    AHS service is not what it used to be. I was on hold for over two hours one day. When I do get someone, they talk too fast and are garbled, even my CapTel phone cannot understand. Wait time is totally unacceptable. I have notified my bank not to pay the $75.00 charge and questioned the three charges totaling $578.00 if the refund does not come through. I have had AHS for better than 10 years. I now consider them to be the worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company

    • By Jesse J.,
    • Colorado,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible company. Allow me to count the ways in which they are terrible.

    1) Erroneous charges - they continue to attempt to bill us for services that were never rendered (side note, the services weren't rendered because their contractors never showed up as promised).

    2) Customer service and communications with clients are broken - answers to questions change depending on who you talk to in customer service. It seems they have outsourced their call center to people who are disconnected to what's actually happening on the ground.

    3) They rarely hit their promised service windows and attempt to reschedule.

    4) Poorly chosen contractors of low quality. The plumber they sent wasn't helpful at all; basically shared "tips" that you could Google on the internet. The oven repairman gave us wrong information that contradicted what the manufacturer recommended.

    5) Not much is covered by this "warranty" at the end of the day. Save yourself the headache and hire your contractors directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unexpected charges for non coverages

    • By Dave B.,
    • Modesto, CA,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called in for a repair request. Sat on hold for 45 minutes just to submit the request. The plumber came out the same day. I knew the water heater needed to be replaced because it was leaking. They covered the hot water heater, but I still get charged $1155 because the plumber stated that the current water lines wouldn’t match up with the new hot water heater. The only excuse AHS had was it was in the contract they don’t cover any modifications. Their commercials are very misleading. I used to feel confident having them as a relief if something would happen everything would be covered. I have the best plan they offer, and I’m still stuck with an $1155 bill. I wouldn’t recommend AHS to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tech didn't even pull tools and I still paid...

    • By Eric F.,
    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm having an ongoing plumbing issue. I originally called out a plumber (NOT through AHS) who cleared the main sewer line. He explained that there was still a partial blockage. The toilet was fine for a few days then backed up again. He explained that further investigating (pipe camera) was needed along with a probably acidic cleaning and pressure wash.

    I experienced the issue again a few days later and contacted AHS. A plumber was dispatched a day and a half later. He came, flushed my toilet a few times and looked at the drain clean out. By this time the line had been sitting for a few days, so it softened up the toilet paper, so some things were able to get through. The toilet even backed up while he was there, but eventually flushed. He then proclaimed that since there wasn't a full blockage, there was nothing he could do. He didn't even pull his tools off the truck. I asked him to snake from the bottom toilet out. He said he didn't get paid to remove the toilet to access the line. He also reiterated that since there wasn't a full blockage, he couldn't do anything.

    I called AHS and told them that I wasn't going to pay the $75 deductible. I was told "too bad" and they weren't going to refund my money.

    Nothing but a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I don't think they even like their customers

    • By Michelle U.,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the AHS Home Warranty for many years and no one understands this company more than I do. This is really the worst financial decision I have ever made. I could tell you many stories about the pathetic customer service this company offers, but on this review, I will spare you.

    I feel like I am going to have a heart attack every time I have to call them. In my opinion, you make a huge mistake getting any home warranty. My advice is to put the cost of the warranty (i.e., $650+) in a separate home maintenance account and add one service call charge (i.e., an extra $75) year after year and in my estimation, 99% of the time you will always have enough in that account to pay for what may (probably not) have been a covered repair. And, in doing so, you would get the technician of your choice rather than one of their choosing.

    Anyway, I called last weekend and was on hold for 52 minutes. Finally had to hang up. Next day same thing so I hung up, called back and pushed the button for "sales." Shocker. They answered in five seconds. When I complained, they said that everyone has to wait these days for everything. Busy time of year and all that. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, she hung up on me.

    Anyway, they have plenty of people answering the phone for sales, but for a customer of over a decade? 52 minutes and no apology. Why would you pay $650 of your hard earned money for the privilege of holding on the line for almost an hour and then pay another $75+ for a service charge for something that may or may not be covered once the technician is out to your house?

    Oh, and they give you a five-hour window whereas if you had your own plumber or appliance guy or whatever, they would probably give you an appointed time or maybe a two-hour window. It's your money, but if you like to spend it wisely, please do your research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Save your money

    • By Kirk C.,
    • Alabama,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save your money. We have been "customers" of American Home Shield (AHS) three times now. Our first two experiences were just alright. We decided a year ago to sign up for a home warranty as we had some appliance issues and just wanted peace of mind. That peace of mind was quickly taken away when we filed a service request on our furnace.

    A contractor came to repair the unit and damaged it worse. A second contractor came out and we did not hear back from him for two weeks, so we called AHS. When calling into AHS, expect a hold time of 30 minutes to 2 hours depending on the day. The second contractor "ordered the part twice," but it never came in. We never heard back from AHS, so we filed a complaint with the BBB. We learned the part is on back order for 8 weeks. Eight weeks from when? And why did we have to find out in an official response from AHS and not on one of the many times I held on the phone for over an hour to get a status update? We have been chasing contractors and AHS for almost 6 weeks. We have not had heat since October 26th.

    Here is what we learned:

    1. AHS is not responsible for damage to anything done by a contractor, Section G.8. of your contract

    2. There is a maximum they will pay for the warranty of specific items. For HVAC it is $1,500, so if it can't be repaired, you foot the bill for the rest. Section E of the contract.

    3. You must agree to arbitration, and they choose the arbitrator. Section K2 of their contract.

    4. Their customer service center takes forever to answer the phone and was not able to resolve any calls we made. I was told on three separate occasions with "someone would call us back."

    5. All of the contractors that were sent have a rating of F on the BBB website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Danny A.,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It took them five tries to fix a dishwasher for a total of 6 weeks. They use sub-standard contractors and each time they have to wait one week for the part as opposed to driving to the appliance parts shop to pick it up. I would say save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Price increase

    • By Deborah W.,
    • Alabama,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The customer service sucks. They went up on my price, did not try to negotiate with me or anything, and I've been with them for over 4 years. Also, when I did have a problem, they canceled the order contract over the internet and did not notify me. The customer service people are rude, the keep you on the phone for over 35 minutes, and I recommended no one use them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 190-216 of 483

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield