Read 466 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 9)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 13 1 star:  438
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 89-99 of 466
Sort reviews by:

  • Loophole happy...incompetent so AHS can claim no coverage

    • By Rob B.,
    • Orange, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    STAY AWAY! I've had multiple homes previously with AHS and had good experiences, not now! Whether pool, electrical, or any other service, AHS constantly looks for ways not to cover, claiming "not caused by normal wear and tear."

    Example: I paid for additional coverage for my saltwater pool. The heater developed a leak and died. The first technician said it was due to rodent damage. Denied coverage. Since the heater electrical was fine, and the heater is made of copper and aluminum, no way it was rodent damage. Called for a second opinion. Second technician said definitely not rodent repair, it was due to a leak that developed over time due to chemicals in the water. AHS said that is not normal wear and tear and since this was the second opinion, coverage denied and no further discussion.

    Seriously? The 2nd tech said that it was normal since the heater was 10 years old.

    Called in 3rd tech myself, paid myself for diagnosis - leak due to normal wear and tear.

    AHS will repair - cost: $3,500!

    AHS went round and round with explanations, including the heater was not designed for saltwater. Great, that is covered according to the contract. But, no, AHS states again, no normal wear and tear.

    Similar issue with an electrical problem in the house. Not covered. Got the second opinion, and they agreed to address.

    Total SCAM...buyer BEWARE! If you've used AHS in the past, it's not the same...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 12 weeks without A/C, AHS simply does not care about clients, just bottom line

    • By Joel B.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been AHS clients for over 10 years now and it is incredible to see how a company of this size has simply forgotten that its most important asset is its clients and not its shareholders or its bottom line; without clients there is no business.

    On July the 10th we called AHS to get our A/C fixed, a technician came to our house and fixed it on July the 12th, then again on July the 15th the same machine broke again so the technician came bak to our house at which time we were informed that a part needed to be ordered and that he could not fix the A/C right away. A week went by and on Tuesday, July 23rd we called AHS to see about the status of our repair, at that time we were informed that our claim was on hold because we had to approve some extra charges for the Freon and that without our approval, AHS was not allowed to even place the order for the missing part...this is one week after the technician actually visited our home (by the way, we live in Miami and the current temperature is above 95 degrees, so one week without A/C is not a small thing).

    So, on the 23rd we approved the estimated $550 extra charges for the Freon (a gas that needed to be added at the time of installation) so that they can go ahead and order the part. Another week went by and after another follow-up call on the 30th, we learned that the part had not been ordered yet and that it would take between 5 to 7 weeks to get it. I searched online for the part as I was talking to the customer service person, and in less than 5 seconds I was able to locate it from a distributor who could have it in Miami between 1 to 2 weeks; when I asked the person about this she informed me that AHS can only purchase parts directly from the manufacturer, not a distributor, even if that takes 5 to 7 weeks as opposed to 1 to 2 weeks, because it was cheaper...in other words, it is completely irrelevant that we the clients have been without A/C for over two weeks now because of their incompetence and their supplier's, but we now have to wait another 5 to 7 weeks to get the part just because AHS wants to save some bucks? The incompetence of the personnel working on the procurement side, summed with the fact that the customer support personnel barely speaks English and are simply reading from a script (I'm Hispanic and my English may not be at 100% so I can truly understand and accept some "English with an accent" but this was simply ridiculous and inefficient) and on top of this, the complete and utter disregard and lack of empathy for the client's needs is simply preposterous, we are not talking about a toaster or a washing machine that broke, not even the fridge, we are talking about the A/C in Miami, Florida; there should be some "rules of engagement" or special policy for critical appliances like an A/C in Miami or maybe a heater in Colorado during the winter. What happened to AHS' marketing promise "If we can't repair it we'll replace it"? I guess that they forgot to add that the will replace it whenever they feel comfortable with and only if the price is within their reach or is in line with their bottom line...I don't think that this policy makes anyone "be sure with the shield".

    We are glad to inform that after another follow-up call earlier today, we finally got a clear ETA for the A/C coil that we need, which will be arriving on or before September 30th, only 12 weeks since our A/C broke down for the second time...AHS expects us to be without A/C for 12 weeks in order to save some 300 bucks which I would have paid happily to pay if they would have given me the option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    • By Savanna W.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely horrible! Paid $75 for a service that would have cost us $20 to fix! Also, make sure the issue in your home doesn't cause a secondary issue, because they won't be responsible for it. Like a leak causing damage to the ceiling! They send out sketchy companies who try to tell you that your contract doesn't cover the issue and want you to pay out of pocket for an issue that never even got fixed!

    Don't waste your money with them. Luckily we didn't pay for the contract, it came with our house when we bought it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disgruntled long-time customer

    • By Kathy M.,
    • Kansas,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had AHS for years. They used to be a good company, but they keep going downhill. In fact, my husband used to sell their product. Their customer service now is obviously overseas. Just today the girl hung up on me, and I wasn't rude. I think she didn't understand what I was telling her. Last month, my husband contacted AHS and asked for a supervisor because they couldn't find us a service provider for my refrigerator sooner than 12 days out. He waited on hold for 5 minutes and the call was disconnected. This now seems to be a common issue with AHS. The refrigerator incident was our last experience and it took us a month to get it running again. We view that as ridiculous. We canceled AHS and are now with Choice. They have better ratings, according to independent reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really an awful and dishonest company...stay away

    • By Sashi S.,
    • Modesto, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Part of the contractor for AHS did not diagnose my AC correctly.

    In fact, they have put the wrong parts on the AC to make it worse. The first company from AHS INSURANCE to work on the units said nothing is wrong with the unit and did not recommend to have it replaced, even though the unit is 30 years old.

    The tech said to wait for 2 days before will get cold air. The unit blew and shut down after 15 minutes.

    I had the unit diagnosed by an independent company not associated with AHS Insurance who found issues such as a blown fuse, capacitors not secured to the panels, other capacitors actually had a shortage spot on the side of it, most likely hitting the contacts due to it not being secured, the one capacitor was the wrong size for the unit, condenser fan motor is not the OEM slim style motor.

    Yet they said nothing was wrong to side with the insurance company.

    They work with an unethical insurance company AHS and do nothing for customers.

    It is a shame. Should have their license revoked.

    Rose Heating Air Conditioning & Sheet Metal

    Heating & Air Conditioning/HVAC

    8/1/2019

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointment

    • By Steve I.,
    • Georgetown, TX,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total let down. Needed help with a swimming pool, AHS took $100.00, I got nothing. AHS dropped the ball. I tried to follow up, put on hold twice the first call. They wanted to put blame on me. Second call I was so livid I tried to cancel, but could not get a definitive. I was told somebody would call me back within 24 hours. Just went back to the AHS website, my account, and there in a highlighted red box is payment due, $69.18 administration fee. AHS, you stink!

    I could not understand anybody I spoke to. Call Center, you stink! SHAME, shame, shame!

    My next correspondence is with BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible company in cohorts with Coldwell Banker

    • By G M.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My real estate company strongly encouraged purchasing this home warranty. I later discovered there is some sort of financial tie between Coldwell Banker Burnett realty and American Home Shield. AHS is a total scam. I have been 4 weeks on repair of a washing machine, they use repair people that are completely inept. The last person could not open the washing machine. I googled the owner's manual for her and she refused to follow the directions and left saying she was behind. Then wrote a completely fictitious report saying the control board needs replacing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

    • By Eileen M.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot even begin to tell you of my many negative experiences with this company. In fact, I cannot tell you: I am afraid to write my review because nowadays companies like this one will sue! Just check other reviews of this company or ask about them on your community Facebook or Nextdoor. Go on Yelp. You can decide for yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Criminal practice

    • By Nesh L.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company should not exist. Their business is based on scamming people. This home warranty was included in the purchase of our house 18 months ago. Last week there was a problem with the AC evaporator (leaking). Called to file a claim and service tech came and diagnosed the issue. Four days later they call me to tell me that I have to pay $1,275 because in order to install the new unit, "modifications" have to be made! I naturally asked them what that means and the answer I’ve got made me cancel the contract immediately. By "modifications" they mean the new unit is different from the existing and because changes had to be made, they wouldn’t cover. When I asked them how would they honor the warranty and replace this part and if labor to do it is included, they said, "Yes, but modifications to make it fit would have to be paid by me." There are no modifications needed, they use this word entirely in their advantage in order get away with passing expense of installation on to me. I am not sure who regulates this industry, but someone should seriously look into the practices of this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They're crooks and thieves!

    • By Patrick P.,
    • California,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a subscriber since March 2018.

    This month, July, I placed a trouble request with AHS to repair our dishwasher. The service provider, NANA SERVICES INC, gave me a repair date with a time of "between 8:00 and Noon." And yes, they took a $100.00 fee before they scheduled with NANA.

    The Nana tech was a no-show. When I called to find out why I was told by Nana that none of their service technicians "took" my job. Seems the techs have the right to refuse an appointment if it doesn't "fit" into their schedule.

    Yep...

    AHS said sorry, we'll find another provider. That's when I said "no thanks, but I will cancel my contract with you right now."

    Two weeks later I finally have confirmation that my contract was canceled but they haven't/won't refund my $100.00.

    And of course, our dishwasher still doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Michael G.,
    • Carlsbad, NM,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst and irrefutable service ever dealt with! Numerous requests have been called in and numerous messages have been sent, but no response from this company. They have not responded to refunding the fee for the service. The next step is to seek legal action against them! Do NOT waste your money on this shoddy service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 89-99 of 466

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
American Home Shield