About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 346 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  322
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 346
Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible service for AC

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with AHS since June 2007 and in May of 2016 my AC stopped cooling the house. I finally get a chance to see if AHS will honor all they say they will about if they can’t fix something they will replace it.

    Long story short, my AC unit needed to be replaced and I was told they will only cover but I had to pay the contractor $1500 to repair the AC instead of replacing.

    I was furious. I told AHE to pay me the cost to replace the unit my self. They cut me a check for $297 after I provided a receipt that I had paid for a brand new AC unit out of pocket. So after being with them for 9 years and all I got was $297 towards AC replacement was a total rip off.

    Stay away from this company. They do not value long term customers or any customer from other reviews I read.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Pool blues

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like everyone else that has posted, WORST COMPANY EVER! I have been a customer for 4 years and they continue to decline to the point I will not renew with them but look elsewhere. Still waiting to have my pool plumbing repaired after 9 days and AHS sits on their butts making up excuses. The fake apologies both on the phone and what they post on this site are a joke. You call and if you are fortunate enough to understand the person you are speaking with, they tell you there are no notes in your file from the previous 3 phone calls. They then tell you, "I am placing notes in your file now, I understand how frustrating this must be." Lie! Call back and still no notes in your file and still waiting. Save your money and time, SHOP ANOTHER COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • Creola, AL,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On May 3, 2019, A/C was blowing out hot air. Called for a service request.

    A service contractor was assigned and I was told they would contact in 24 hours. The next day I called the service contractor to see when they would be coming to check A/C. They told me it would be at least 5 to 6 days before they could come. I called AHS back and they said they would get someone else.

    On May 5 I called AHS and they told me to get an outside contractor to come and fix the problem. They told me when he got there to call them so they could talk to him about what was wrong.

    When he got there and found capacitor bad we called AHS to tell them. I gave the lady at AHS my information and told her the contractor would tell her the problem and charges. She told me that since they had told me to get an outside contractor that all I had to do was send in a receipt from the contractor to them.

    I stayed on the phone with her for 20 minutes telling her that they told me earlier they would need to talk to him. She kept saying no, just send a receipt in and gave me an email address.

    I sent in receipt like I was told to. I got an e-mail saying they received the invoices. A week later I get a letter in the mail saying AHS would not reimburse me because we did not call in.

    I called AHS and gave them the date and time I called in and they said they saw where I had called in and would listen to the recording and get back to me.

    Well, I have called for 4 weeks and still all they will say is someone is looking into it.

    I called today and am canceling my contract with them. They have got enough of my money.

    Product or Service Mentioned: American Home Shield Customer Care.

    Reason of review: Poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Refrigerator

    This is the worst company to do business with. I have made a claim about my refrigerator that stopped working on May 8, 2019. Today is June 6th and the issue has not been resolved. The technician who came to fix the refrigerator uploaded pictures of the condition of the refrigerator informing American Home Shield that the appliance is infested with mold; yet, American Home Shield refused to replace the refrigerator. I spoke to them this morning and they stated that they have ordered parts to fix the refrigerator, but refused to discuss how they will address the mold issue. This is a company that is collecting $100 monthly from my account. This is a total ripoff. Stay away from them. Why pay for service if you have to wait more than a month for repair. It would have been easier for me to buy a new refrigerator than to deal with the frustration that this company has caused me over the past month. Please do not buy any service contract from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Did not fix an item clearly mentioned as covered in contract

    • Aliso Viejo, CA,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very shady company. They just want members to pay and would not respect their own terms. I called in and paid $100 service fee to resolve smelling issues from the 3 drainage points that my tenants complained about. They sent a plumber who just checked a few things and started asking for more money to do more tests. Whereas all that was needed was cleaning and flushing the 3 lines. Stay far away from this company. They actually made us lose 3 weeks in the process and did nothing, plus I lost $100 for the service which was never rendered.

    Here is the part in their contract that they clearly mentioned it is covered but then end up playing some game of dillying dallying -

    4. PLUMBING

    COVERED: Leaks and breaks of water, drain, gas, waste or vent lines - Toilets and related mechanisms, toilet wax ring seals, faucets, shower heads, shower arms, valves for shower, tub, and diverter, angle stops, risers and gate valves (similar features of finish and style used when replacement is necessary) - Hose bibs - Basket strainers - Permanently installed sump pumps (ground water only) - Built-in bathtub whirlpool motor, pump, and air switch assemblies - Pressure regulators - Expansion tanks - Sewage ejector pump (septic system sewage ejector pumps are not covered unless optional coverage H.4 is purchased) - Clearing of sink, bathtub, shower, and toilet stoppages - Clearing of mainline drain and sewer stoppages through an accessible cleanout up to 100 feet from access point - Clearing of lateral drain line stoppages up to 100 feet from access point including accessible cleanout, p-trap, drain or overflow access points.

    NOT COVERED: Stoppages caused by collapsed, damaged or broken drain, vent or sewer lines outside the home's main foundation - Lines broken, infiltrated or stopped by roots or foreign objects, even if within the home's main foundation - Bathtubs - Sinks - Showers - Shower enclosures and base pans - Toilet lids and seats - Jets - Caulking or grouting - Septic tanks - Water filtration/purification system - Holding or storage tanks - Saunas or steam rooms - Costs to locate or access cleanouts not found or inaccessible, or to install cleanouts - Access through roof vents.

    NOTE: Where covered repairs require access to plumbing, AHS will provide access to plumbing only through unobstructed walls, ceilings or floors, and will return access openings to a rough finish. If the plumbing is accessible only through a concrete floor, wall or ceiling, AHS will pay up to $1000 per contract term for access, diagnosis, repair, or replacement of such plumbing, including returning access openings to a rough finish. Customer is responsible for payment of any costs in excess of $1,000.

    It is 100% fraudulent company for sure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Fridge/Freezer not working

    • Miami Beach, FL,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We've been covered by American Home Shield for many years. The good news is that repairs get taken care of. The bad news is that it may take a while. Currently, it's been eight days since our refrigerator/freezer has stopped cooling. The first contractor they sent didn't know how to fix it, so they just assigned it to another contractor, who can't come until next week. If it needs a part, that probably means another week. I'm sure they will eventually get it fixed, but 2-3 weeks without a refrigerator/freezer is a very long time for a family with kids!

    After waiting long periods of time on hold, I tried to explain this to their representative, but I was told it's up to the customer to work out timings with the vendors. I tried to explain that my contract is with AHS, so I asked if they could try to get the vendor to expedite the repair. They refused, even though my contract is with AHS, my payments go to AHS, and AHS at first sent an unqualified vendor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Shady business practices

    • Crofton, MD,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me share my experience with AHS:

    I used AHS for about two years for a rental property and everything was good up until I needed their services. I wanted to take advantage of the HVAC Tune-up ($75) and take care of an issue with the system ($100), so we scheduled a service from their website and a local reputable company that I used in the past was scheduled. So far so good.

    Then suddenly the appointment got switched to a different local not-so-reputable company. After 45 minutes on the phone, got it switched back. At this point, they have charged us the $75 deductible fee for the Tune-Up and a $100 for the HVAC issue. After 24 hours - same issue. The system had automatically switched again to a third company. This time we proceeded and scheduled the appointment. The technician never showed up. To our disbelief, we found out that the technician was stating that they had come to the property and left because nobody was home. Called AHS back to cancel with this company and reschedule. They said the service was complete since they had come to the property. So, at this point, we are down $175, and no service received. I got really frustrated and called to cancel my account. Apparently, there was also a $49.99 cancellation fee on top of this. I requested a refund since I had a proof that nobody had shown up to our property, but it has been well over 30 days and no refund received. Now, I am getting emails that I still owe the cancellation fee and I will be given to a collection agency. This is so ridiculous and such a shady business practice. Please stay away from this company!

    So, to sum up, if you don’t care who comes up and service your property you will be fine. AHS’ database is full of not-so-reputable companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield warranty is terrible - do not buy

    • Chesterfield, VA,
    • Jun 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife is disabled and we’ve paid for a comprehensive AHS warranty for over 2 years for our HVAC system. On May 26, 2019, our AC shuts down completely in over 90-degree weather.

    Again, my wife indicates to the AHS so I tell the Customer Service person that she is handicapped and needs emergency service to diagnose and fix the problem. The AHS person on the phone basically lies and tells her they can pass the job to a vendor and someone will contact us and be out within 24 hours. We get a text from someone that indicated nothing. We call AHS back to convey our discontentment at their lack of customer service and we’re told that AHS cannot find a responsive to come out for the next 72 hours while we are almost passing out in a 100-degree house.

    Now AHS has taken our money and told us thru several online marketing tools how great they are and we are left to die in a sweltering house without any AC in Chesterfield, VA.

    Do not buy American Home Shield Warranty.

    You will be subjected to numerous persons on the phone that will not forward you to a supervisor and you could literally die in your home while they irresponsibly take your money and fail to render service. AHS is not a trustworthy organization.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste you money

    • Broken Arrow, OK,
    • Jun 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield review.

    We came into our contract with American Home Shield with the purchase of our home in 2016. It was added as a stipulation due to the age of the AC on the property and the age of the property itself. For the first year we didn’t end up having to use the service. So we allowed it to renew. Which ended up being a major mistake on our part.

    Our first service call was a couple months into the new contract. I turned the water off in my shower, and the knob came off in my hand. Because as mentioned, the property is old. They were cheerful and helpful while they scheduled us with a contractor. The contractor was cheerful and helpful while they scheduled our visit. I was charged $75. The contractor they sent was a nice and friendly gentleman, who was physically unable to do his job. He and I worked around it and I did a lot of running up and down my stairs that day turning the water off and on. He assured me he’d be back as soon as the warranty company approved the part he needed. I waited. AHS called and informed me that my shower had broken not due to age, but do to the excessive force I put on it. What? I legitimately just tried to turn off the water. I asked the lady on the phone what it was that they were going to cover if they wanted to ignore the fact that these things were old. She actually chuckled and told me if I wanted things fixed I should have turned them in during the first year of my contract. I frustratedly talked with her about the fact that the faucet on the front porch had started leaking. She finally agreed to send the contractor back out to fix that without charging me another $75. The contractor proceeded to call me and let me know he was looking for the parts to fix the shower out of his own pocket and he would bring them with him and do the work for free when he returned to fix the outside faucet.

    The outside faucet was repaired. The shower never was because that part wasn’t available and it needed more work to bring it up to a modern standard. But I decided they had fixed something. They had worked with me on the service fee. I’d continue the contract. Then this winter during a brisk freeze the heater died. I turned it in and called to see what timeframe we were looking at. The lady who answered the phone was rude from the second she answered the phone. She basically told us it didn’t matter that we were freezing, our kids were freezing, and potentially our pipes would be freezing. She did, however, make sure I understood that if my pipes froze they would not be covering that. She finally acquiesced to put a rush on the order. We spent a couple days huddled around space heaters. AHS charged us $75. The contractor contacted us and came to our rescue. He was amazing. He got our heater up and running. He spent awhile talking to my husband, who had just returned from Afghanistan. He ended up giving the AC a look over and telling my husband that if we called in the AC come spring and had him sent out he would have it condemned because it was outdated, antiquated, and not worth trying to work on. I was extremely happy.

    Fast forward to late spring. The AC starts leaking. Here we go. I turned it in. The same contractor company called. I requested the same tech. They agreed. AHS charged me $75. During the wait, the AC quits cooling at all. The day of our appointment came. Our appointment time came and went. Three hours late a subcontractor showed up. He looked at the unit. Decided the inside unit needed a coil and a drip pan. And that the outside unit was missing some freon and was 17 years old. He told my husband that the age was the problem and he would get it all turned in. 24 hours later AHS called to let me know that due to the issues being caused by an undersized unit it would not be covered. Excuse me? Your technician just told us it was broken because it was old. Not too small. She assured me that if he had said it was due to age they would have been happy to replace it. And that if I wanted to dispute it I had the right to, but if the next contractor agreed with the first I would be out another $75. I filled the dispute.

    Another contractor contacted me and was scheduled. He came out on my birthday. He checked the freon and told me it was fine. He didn’t know why the first company had said it was low. He did tell me at that point that he often comes out behind the first contractor and that they don’t ever turn things in to be replaced. He looked at the outdoor unit. Agreed it was old. Said it really wasn’t small for the house. Did not check the inside unit at all. Said he would turn in the need for replacement due to “inefficient functioning due to age” and that it should be approved by the following day.

    The next day we heard nothing. The day after I logged in to check the status and it said my appointment was canceled to call the contractor to reschedule. I called the contractor, they agreed they had been out. They had sent their paperwork and were waiting for AHS approval. She suggested I call them. I called AHS and got a young woman who was having trouble communicating with me due to a language barrier. She didn’t see anything about a second visit. When was it? Who was it? After I gave her this she was "ooooh yes yes I see it now." So I waited. Two more days of nothing. I call AHS again. Get another young woman that is having difficulty communicating through a language barrier. She reads me the information about the second visit I gave the previous employee, and VERBATIM reads me the exact same report from the first contractor. I ask for a phone number to the decisions department. I speak to a gentleman there who seems genuinely confused when I tell him about the second visit and what I was told by the contractor. He puts me on hold to call the contractor. They don’t answer and he tells me they will call me back when they talk to them or if something changes. My online portal continues to reflect that I need to reschedule the appointment that did in fact happen. Almost a week later my husband and I call both the contractor and AHS again. The lady who answers the phone is professional. Reads off a report that says the second technician has reported my AC is under capacity, and that a 5-ton unit was recommended. Will come back to that in a moment. My husband asks again about being told that the unit was past its shelf life and she tells him since mechanically it functions it’s not broken due to age. We tell her it’s not mechanically functioning and hasn’t been since before the first tech arrived. Nope. It’s not covered due to lack of capacity. I canceled my policy at this point. My portal is still active. Showing an active work order that needs to be rescheduled. So I guess we see how this cancellation plays out.

    In the meantime, I have had a company that I trust come out and look at everything. The outside unit is an appropriate capacity. It is a 3.5 ton unit on a 2,100 square foot home. In our zone that is appropriate. Especially when taking into account the fact that our home is under 3 very large shade trees and the unit functioned without major issue for 17 years. The outside unit needs to be replaced, and the inside unit needs a coil and a drip pan due to normal wear and tear. A 5-ton unit would in fact be oversized on our home causing it to short cycle which could lead to humidity issues and faster wear and tear on the unit. My honest recommendation is to not get tangled up with this company. They will argue with you on repairs. Their customer service is very hit and miss on professionalism. The repairs they did authorize would have been considerably cheaper than the $1500+ I have spent on them so far. It is not worth your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    AC repairs

    • Calhoun, LA,
    • Jun 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a joke. Last year they worked on my AC and left me without a working AC for 3 weeks. This year same AC leaks from improper installation causing water damage. I'm currently going on 2 weeks with no AC again...AHS will tell you they are not responsible for the work their contractor completes, even though you pay AHS, not the contractor. TOTAL rip off. Don't waste your money...read the fine print. Will only pay $10 per pound of freon and the going rate is almost 10 times this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Dishwasher nightmare runaround

    • Ventura, CA,
    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company used to work well a few years ago. No more! I cannot tell you why they haven’t taken care of our dishwasher repair or replacement. It has been a mystery how this company contracts with ONE appliance company that gets terrible reviews to service a large population in Los Angeles and Ventura County. Hooo boy! They figured out how to get us on hold 3 times and sent 3 work orders that have been comical and yet a waste of money and time.

    And they don’t care! Better Business Bureau has so many complaints against them, their file is bursting.

    We get to buy our new dishwasher now. Without these chuckleheads!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 346

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review