About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

204 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 0 3 star: 6 2 star: 3 1 star:  188
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 204
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The worst experience

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s the worst. I have a hot leak, and I've called them since May and they tell me that I don’t have a leak. I received a letter from the water company, I called again, and they sent a tech from another company, and he told me that I do have a leak. I called to let them know what happened and American Home Shield responded that we need a second opinion. We can't shower with hot water, only freezing water. Thank you for nothing, only for my receipt for the monthly payment for two years. I never called for anything, I only called for the leak, and nothing happens.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    AHS customer over 5 years; no more

    • Florida,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As other reviews, AHS has gone downhill this past year. Previously I had always had good service from them, and they used competent contractors. This seems not the case anymore. I have been without AC for over a month now, and it still isn't fixed. Two of their contractors have been out a total of 8 times, and now they want to replace the same TX valve a second time. Each time I sacrifice a day of work, and have to site in a 90 degree home waiting for them. I call and call, both AHS and the contractor, and no one seems concerned it is now 5 weeks without AC. When I ask if this is typical, more than one rep tells me she has had others waiting longer. I am giving up on AHS and will contract my own service companies from now on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Home A/C

    • Clovis, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Extremely poor service. My father-in-law called for service request for broken home A/C on 7/10/18. On 7/20/18, the tech finally arrived and diagnosed a bad compressor. ON 7/30/18, father-in-law calls and is told the phone lines were down and someone will call back. Of course, NO ONE does.

    On 8/4/18, I called AHS and was told she will look into it and will contact me by end of the day, but of course, she doesn’t. On 8/6/18, I spoke to Ronnie from the authorization dept who said the compressor was authorized but can not get a hold of the A/C contractor, Bill Paslay of Corona. Ronnie will email AHS’s contractor relations dept for another contractor to take over the job and will notify me within 24 hours. Again, no one does.

    On 8/7/18, I called AHS requesting to speak to a supervisor and am placed on hold for over an hour, becoming frustrated, I hung up. On 8/8/18, I called and spoke to two AHS reps and both time I was disconnected but not before one of them said the compressor was NOT authorized and Ronnie from authorization was not correct, and he didn’t know what he was talking about. FRUSTRATING!

    Then I remembered I had a number of the customer relations that was given to me because of past frustrating issues two years ago. I spoke to a rep who is trying to get an answer for me, but of course, I’ve been on hold for an hour now.

    I’ve been a member of AHS for 16 years, and because of the issue with my father-in-law, plus two of my own previous issues with AHS, I will be canceling my membership for sure. My bother was a member for 13 years and recently canceled his membership due to an issue that should have been covered by AHS that was corroborated by the tech that it should be covered but was denied by AHS. Appears to me, by reviews from other AHS clients with A/C issues, that either AHS contracts with low bid contractors or frustrates the hell out of clients that clients seek their own A/C contractors, obviously for AHS to get out of paying the contractors service.

    The CR rep told me she personally got the part to be ordered and will get this issue resolved ASAP. She said she will follow up with me tomorrow. Of course, I heard that before and we will see...I will follow up with a post review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Several friends have signed up

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not being handy, I researched home warranty companies through Consumer Reports and found American Home Shield. Most of the negative reviews I read about them, seemed to come from the people who either didn't want to follow the rules or wanted to rush the process.

    I moved into my first house and signed up with them. All calls to AHS ended in satisfaction. Our next home, as an incentive, the seller offered a one-year home warranty with a different co. It was awful, these people wiggled out of all repairs! We resigned with AHS and since have used electrician service when 1/2 the light switches and outlets in the house stopped working. Plumber when a pipe burst inside wall. Call for garbage disposal and another for kitchen faucet and sprayer. Both were replaced with BRAND NEW, TOP QUALITY BRANDS.

    These are my true experiences. Several friends have signed up because of our positive experiences with AHS.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 16, 2018

      Jeff B.

      "Didn't want to follow the rules or wanted to rush the process?" Really? Seven days to get a service person to arrive, and then three incompetent contractors sent who had no clue how to fix my AC unit is rushing the process? They use an offshore call center to save money staffed by people who don't know that Chicago is in Illinois. This company is a scam!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    AC broke, they refuse to cover

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a few service calls with them. It takes a few attempts to get their contractor to give you an appointment, then an unprofessional contractor shows up and "Mickey Mouse" the job, mostly they want to collect the $100 service fee and run. I had a couple of pipe leaks, the drywaller messed up the patch, I had to higher other and pay again to fix the mess. Recently our 18 years old AC broke, and they completely refuse due to rust in the condenser that is 18 years old. A waste of time and money, terrible company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Leaky pipe

    • Florida,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money. Don't bother with this company!

    I called for a leaky pipe; I cannot use the faucet in the kitchen for over a week now.

    American Home Shield had a plumber call me within 24 hours to set up an appointment, and the plumber tells me that they will be over at 7 in the morning. I work nights, so this is impossible. I asked if they can reschedule later on that day or perhaps a different day during the week and I was told no to both of those questions.

    So American Home Shield sends me another company! They make an appointment and come and look at the leaky faucet, for about 15 minutes staring at it! Tells me he has to leave and submit a work order form for approval, so that means I will have to wait between 3 and 4 days.

    I'm going on two weeks with no water in the kitchen! This is the same company they sent out to me 8 months ago because I had a stripped screw in the bathroom faucet that needed to come out, so they end up breaking the screw breaking the hot water cylinder and breaking the pipe in the bathroom. It had to break my wall in the closet to fix the pipe, which they replace would a PVC pipe. When the plumber left 20 minutes later the pipe exploded and I had a foot of water throughout my house and in my closet. They send someone back hours later and apologize. They said the person who fixed it from that company just started and he was a training (are you kidding me!).

    Not only that but the 2-foot by 2-foot hole they made in my closet, they never covered it up, they left. I had to call them back and tell them they have to leave it the way they found it and they came with a cutting board and glued it on my wall! This is unacceptable! Never ever have I ever dealt with a bunch of shyster con artist companies like the ones that American Home Shield sends out.

    Also, when you call American Home Shield, be prepared to stay on the phone between 15 and 45 minutes. And if you actually find someone who speaks English, and doesn't ask you to repeat your phone number 10 times, you're lucky! This is not a reputable company.

    They are in breach of their own contract! When things need to be replaced they put a band-aid on it for as long as possible, so, therefore, you're constantly calling about the same problem. Forget about the problem I had with the air conditioner, 7 times in one year and finally, they decided to change the piece that needed to be changed from the beginning. So do yourself a favor find a handyman, stay away from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Chico, CA,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. They make their money by collecting your insurance fee then making it so impossible to get repairs, that the customer has to call and pay someone else. AHS will refuse to reimburse you.

    My client was expected to go without hot water for 9 days till they could show up. She called someone else, AHS did not reimburse a penny, yet kept their premium. They should have paid for the water heater replacement. IT was covered.

    They make getting in touch with them so hard, like being on hold and listening to everything you don't want to know on voice mail for hours sometimes. The customers give up and call someone who answers their phone.

    The local rep's voicemail says it is full, you can't even leave a message.

    I have been on hold for a supervisor while writing this for a long time. I will hang up after this review is done. I have to work for a living, not sit on hold.

    NEVER.

    OK, done here, still on hold for the supervisor. NO one ever answered. I'm off to work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    AHS

    • Norfolk, VA,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam! The seller contracted with them for a home we purchased. We had plumbing leaks and slow drains. They charged us a $75 service fee and sent price right plumbing to fix the problem. They "fixed" the problem and left closing the work order. The leak was still there, and Price Right Plumbing came back and they said they wouldn’t fix it because it was caused by excessive force. AHS would not authorize the repair. Price Right was the last ones to work on the pipe. Yet they still refused to do the work and AHS refused to authorize it. They look for reasons not to fix the problem but are quick to hit you with the service call of $75.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service experience

    • Texas,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've just had the worst customer experience with any company or service to date. I called Saturday to submit a service issue for a non-working air conditioner. The service agent took my payment over the phone and told me it would be 24 hours before the service was scheduled. I received a text from a provider saying they would contact me in 24 hours.

    I did not receive anything and called American Home Shield. After being disconnected from their service line three times, I finally was able to speak to "Chet" who told me the service was transferred to another provider and it would be another 24 hours before anything was scheduled. I told him this needed to be escalated, as it is their mistake and he then changed his excuse. He then told me it would be another 24 hours because I called on a Saturday, which isn't a business day. When I didn't accept this excuse and asked to speak with another representative, he hung up on me.

    It has now been 48 hours in 100-degree heat with no air conditioning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Four legitimate claims and they paid for half of one. A waste of money. Scam. Insurance fraud at its worst. They refuse to pay for legitimate claims.

    This company is a rip-off and should be closed down by the Insurance Commission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield may not be a complete scam, but it is very misleading, and you have to be careful of the vendors they use. Our A/C wasn’t working at its best, but it was working, they sent out a company and they messed something up so it wouldn’t work at all! I called the company to tell them, and they got rude and wouldn’t come back out.

    They sent another company the next day, and they said the first company burned up our compressor. They would pay for the compressor but not the freon, and that would have been around $1000 with taxes. It was 106 outside and we could not stay at home, so we spent 4 nights in a hotel and it was going to be at least 4 more before they might get it fixed.

    We called someone out on our own and found out it was something in the attic and only cost $700. American Home Shield wouldn’t even pay and wouldn’t even help with the hotels we had to get because their vendor messed up the A/C and they were going to take around 8 days to get it fixed! We saved them money, and they wouldn’t even pay or help us out! This company is a joke, and I wouldn’t recommend them to my worst enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 204

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review