About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

286 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 7 1 star:  265
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 286
Sort reviews by:

  • Don't waste your money

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The repairman sent out to fix the washer, said he needed parts will order. The repairman never comes back. American Home Shield sends another repairman, he says the washer now is completely broken, initial repairman did not know what he was doing. Another month to offer a replacement or cash out amount. The replacement offered the cheapest available, now have to prove cost of machine destroyed by the American Home Shield repairman. Offered cash out for comparable washer, but will refuse to reimburse because I bought a new washer dryer set and they don't know the individual cost of washer. I am still trying to get cash out amount, it has been over three months. The torture never ends, waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible costumer service

    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The most non-existent and horrible customer service of any company that I have ever dealt with in my life. I see others have complained about contractors, I have not had that problem, as a matter of fact, if not for the contractor we would know absolutely nothing about what is going on. Please people, DO NOT spend your money with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Watch out cancel contract and they still charge

    • Florida,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had AHS contract for 17 years with minimal issues. We sold our home on 12/28/18. I called on 12/24/18 and told them I would need to cancel on 12/28/18 and was told to call back on 12/28 after closing. I did and canceled the contract. On 12/31 AHS charged my account again providing coverage until 1/27/19. WHY? I called AHS, spoke to two agents, asked for a supervisor, was told there was no one working, and I could not receive a refund. I have been a customer for the current property and a previous property for 20+ years. I will never do business with them again. I am still trying to get my money returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your money!

    • Conroe, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I just moved to Texas and for the first time purchased a home warranty. From the very first time we used them, it has been a complete disaster.

    - The first contractor came and asked us to pay him, so we did. We didn’t know better at the time. That was in June 2018. We just made phone call number five and were on hold for 2.25 hours, to try and get them to quit billing us for the $75. Every single time they say it will be taken care of and guess what, another bill comes. Every time we call, waiting forever on hold. Only last month, December, the bill went up to $150. Once again, tonight we were told it would be taken care of. We asked for a supervisor to please give us a call. I highly doubt that will happen.

    - In the meantime, we’ve needed to call them for the same problem with our septic and gave up because of the hold time. We have actually been on hold with them, called the plumber on another phone and the plumber got here before being able to speak to someone.

    I would not waste one cent of your money with this company. We’ve actually considered just paying the $75 to make them go away and never call them again, but then it really bothers us to think they are probably doing this to a lot of people. So we’re in for the long haul. This is the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with, and I’m 55. They have no idea what "customer service" is. Shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This company is a scam!

    • Strawberry, AZ,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We requested service for a burst water pipe in our kitchen in an inside wall. The representative over the phone gathered all necessary information and proceeded to collect a $125 service fee, which I thought was strange because in my past experience with other home warranty companies, that was not collected until the contractor showed up. A plumber was scheduled two days later, which was a Friday at 1 pm. The plumber calls us asking if he can come at 8 am instead. Unfortunately, we could not change time due to work schedule. The plumber shows up and states that it is a non-covered service.

    After reading my contract, I do not understand why this was not covered being that it was an interior wall and we had already pulled cabinets and sink away from the wall so he had easy access, and we already provided all the information to the rep on the phone when requesting service. We personally think being it was a Friday afternoon he did not want to do the job.

    We also requested service on our wall heater and for some reason, we were told by the rep on the phone that it is not covered because it is a wall heater. Again I reviewed my contract and it states wall heaters ARE covered, but in this instance at least we were told on the phone prior to collecting another $125 service fee just to be told by the contractor that it is not covered. I am done with this company!

    They are good at collecting your monthly premiums and a so-called "service fee" but not providing service when you really need it. I feel they are a scam! After explaining our experience to friends and neighbors (which a few are realtors), I am being told to stay far away from AHS. We are going back to Old Republic!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bottom rung contractors

    • Grass Valley, CA,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Impossible customer service with their own various departments unable to communicate coherently even amongst themselves. Sent me the absolute worst Yelp rated vendors to come and botch up my repairs. For instance, one contractor had 167 Yelp reviews generating a rating of 1 star. I canceled after a year of miserable results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Stay away; charging auto-pay for homes I sold, refuse to refund

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has shady business tactics. Refusing to refund me for overcharging. I relocated for a job selling two homes in Nevada and bought in Texas. My new home came with a one-year warranty by a realtor. So I canceled the policy on the two homes I sold and when it came to shop one year later...I find out American Home Shield has been charging my business account for two premiums on the homes I don't own for 12 months the now! Even after I threatened to call the authorities and file a formal complaint to the Dept of Insurance...they just did it again! I had to close out my business ex's account I've had for 25 years to stop it! Now I have to spend hours calling legit business and resetting up auto-pays for legit companies I do business with. These people are crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money and don’t buy this warranty. I tried to use them twice and all they did is deny the claim and get out of making the needed repairs. The service company they also sent over was very unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Extremely bad service

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For over one year, we had a problem with our cooktop. More than five times I took a day off and the contractor did not come, or brought a wrong part. I contacted AHS, talked to Tonya, who is one of the supervisors, seven weeks ago. She promised to change our cooktop and as of today, she has not contacted us. I talked to Moana, one of the customer service reps 10 days ago and again no responses. Extremely the worse possible service from AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfactory service

    • California,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Starting around December 4th, I requested plumbing assistance. Two days later a plumber showed up and said to call him back after line drained. The line never drained, so I had no satisfactory solution. The long and short of it was I emailed AHS and told them to cancel service. By December 6th, I see a charge of $75.00 appear on my bank statement. I have asked to have that refunded. I also asked to have my contract canceled and refunded.

    AHS service is not what it used to be. I was on hold for over two hours one day. When I do get someone, they talk too fast and are garbled, even my CapTel phone cannot understand. Wait time is totally unacceptable. I have notified my bank not to pay the $75.00 charge and questioned the three charges totaling $578.00 if the refund does not come through. I have had AHS for better than 10 years. I now consider them to be the worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company

    • Colorado,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible company. Allow me to count the ways in which they are terrible.

    1) Erroneous charges - they continue to attempt to bill us for services that were never rendered (side note, the services weren't rendered because their contractors never showed up as promised).

    2) Customer service and communications with clients are broken - answers to questions change depending on who you talk to in customer service. It seems they have outsourced their call center to people who are disconnected to what's actually happening on the ground.

    3) They rarely hit their promised service windows and attempt to reschedule.

    4) Poorly chosen contractors of low quality. The plumber they sent wasn't helpful at all; basically shared "tips" that you could Google on the internet. The oven repairman gave us wrong information that contradicted what the manufacturer recommended.

    5) Not much is covered by this "warranty" at the end of the day. Save yourself the headache and hire your contractors directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 286

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review