About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

246 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 7 1 star:  225
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 246
Sort reviews by:

  • Plumbing leak

    • Texas,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I called AHS to make a claim. We sat on hold for almost an hour before calling the sales department, which answered the phone immediately. After releasing my frustration of their lack of customer service, I finally got her to send someone out. The plumber came out and gave me an enormous bid on fixing the issue and said he will send it into AHS and that they would be in touch. That was three months ago, and I haven't heard from them yet. After checking my account online, I noticed they closed the claim, saying the status of the claim was complete, but yet no one has performed any work or made any follow-up calls. This company is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    AC woes

    • Mississippi,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with AHS since 2001. I've had a few MINOR repairs (dryer, dishwasher, freon) done since I purchased the warranty in 2001. When my A/C unit needed servicing in the spring of 2016, I contacted AHS. I waited for an extended period of time before someone answered the line. A vendor was sent to my resident only to inform me that they do not work on Apollo A/C units. Of course, the vendor collected the service fee. Another vendor came out only to tell me the exact same thing, they do not service Apollo systems. AHS provided me an authorization to purchase a window unit until the A/C was repaired. This went on until the fall of 2016 and my A/C unit was still not repaired.

    Once winter arrived and I was no longer using the air conditioner, I stopped calling AHS.

    In the spring of 2017, I contacted AHS again regarding the same A/C unit. I had to pay another service fee due to their 60/90 day time frame of no contact. Since the Spring of 2016 until today, my A/C unit is still not repaired. Approximately 8 different vendors have been to my residence, and not one of them works on Apollo A/C units.

    Finally, after contacting AHS numerous times venting my frustration, I was notified that I was approved to find an independent contractor because they have contacted all the vendors within their radius and could not locate anyone to repair my A/C. I informed them that I did not want to call/contact anyone because I purchased a home warranty so I would not have to worry about trying to find someone to do repairs. I was basically given an ultimatum, either find a contractor to repair my A/C or there is nothing further AHS could do.

    Please note, when contacting an independent contractor, the CUSTOMER is responsible for paying the service fee to the company, and the fee is NON-REFUNDABLE. Also, the CUSTOMER must pay for the repairs and AHS states that you will be reimbursed but only for a portion of the fee. So now, I've paid a service fee to AHS, and another service fee to another company and my A/C is still NOT repaired.

    As of today, the independent contractor that I contacted came to the residence and informed me that the A/C unit needed replacing. They provided AHS with the repair diagnosis and estimation to resolve this issue. The vendor is still awaiting authorization from AHS to complete the work.

    It has been two years in the deep south and I have been enduring the summer heat with A/C issues due to the poor service received from AHS. I am dissatisfied with this company and would advise anyone to not use them.

    AHS only collects service fees and neglects to provide adequate service to their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam artist American Home Shield

    • Midlothian, TX,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I filed a claim for toilet reservoir being cracked. I explained in detail to the plumber before he came what the problem was. The first thing he said was this won't be covered. This is after charging the $100 for coming and being explained. American Home Shield's response is "not covered." They take your money then find ways not to pay.

    Terrible experince. Terrible customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It shouldn't be this hard...

    • Wesley Chapel, FL,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The pool maintenance company I use said the filter for my pool was the wrong size...it was too small. Instead of paying them over $100 for the correct one, I called AHS to see if it was covered and it would only cost me the service call of $75. I asked the customer service agent at AHS if the pool filter was covered...she said "yes."

    They gave my appointment to a local pool repair company to service. That company reported to me that the filter cartridge was changed out and AHS charged me the $75. Shortly after that, the pool maintenance company told me that the old cartridge is still there. So, AHS charged me a fee for work I never received. I called them for a refund. They said they would refund me half (I pointed out it was their rep who should've gotten the proper info from me, they didn't care). They said they still have to charge me for sending out the pool repair company. I reluctantly agreed, but when the rep said to hold on so she can transfer me to the person who will handle the partial refund, the call dropped off. I called back and it dropped off again.

    I am now currently on hold again...15 minutes and counting. I finally got a live rep who assured me that my refund would come within two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Been fairly satisfied until today

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Today I came home to my smoke alarms going off. When I unplugged them to change the battery and reconnected the wiring back to the ceiling, the detectors still went off. Long story short, I spend 45 minutes on hold to make a service call. When I asked to speak to a supervisor to share my concern about the wait time, I was put on hold, and after approximately 20 minutes was disconnected.

    I made a second attempt and after 30+ minutes was finally answered and transferred to a supervisor again, only to be disconnected. After my third attempt and getting a supervisor, George, after hearing my crankiness, hung up on me. I WAS pretty cranky, but apologized for the mood, but wanted assurances that this will not be happening again. His solution was to go online to schedule a repair. I told him that if it was a dishwasher, I would have, but smoke detectors were a concern that I possibly needed urgent service for.

    I will be happy to provide phone records to prove the time I spent waiting for a service that I pay too much for. Also, when there is a disconnect on the line, I don't understand why representatives don't call back. THAT would be good customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst home warranty service and customer care

    • Frisco, TX,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    1. The longest customer service call waiting time - about an hour to get someone to speak to.

    2. Charged for services that they haven't provided.

    3. Contracted with low experienced and unprofessional service subcontracting companies.

    4. Long wait time for services.

    5. Many follow-ups required for any service call.

    6. Terrible customer service.

    7. No details on payments charged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Never answer the phone

    • Texas,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was on hold for over one hour for an A/C issue multiple times, they never answer the phone. Don't waste your money on this company. It's a big scam. Whenever there is an issue, they will charge $100, plus the service agent will charge their amount too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No communication

    • Florida,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They will charge you with no problem but will not do the work. They will send someone to misdiagnose the issue and then disappear with your service fee. Do not trust this company as they are a huge scam. I have been trying to track them down for a month now, and they fail to answer my questions. Horrible company. Scam, run the other way!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    So, so angry. This company is a scam.

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had the worst experience of my life with this company. They do not care. I honestly don't know how they have four stars on this page - some reviews must be fake because we are out $5,000 and they have DONE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING but offer us $500, which doesn't even pay for the cost of our contract with them. Let me be clear: We are OUT $1,000 (contract monthly rate and freon costs) + $4,000 for a new A/C unit which is mandatory in North Carolina because the parts can't be mixed up under code. American Home Warranty, essentially, stole $5000 of our hard-earned money, not to mention our TRUST. We would be better off if we had never heard of them at all.

    Here's the whole story: My name is Briana M and I'm a local Apex resident. We paid American Home Shield $600 for a warranty to cover our appliances and A/C. We specifically chose them because they cover A/C issues and replacement and we were hoping to avoid any huge costs to our bottom line - in case anything went wrong, as we have two kids and lots of bills.

    This month, we had a problem with the A/C at our home and we were so thankful we had the home warranty. We immediately called them, and they sent contractors who told us we had to first pay for Freon to "see if there was a leak," in our HVAC system. We paid $100 for them to come out and $370 for the freon because they didn't cover this cost. Well, the freon leaked out within 24 hours.

    They returned to our house to try and see what the problem was. The contractors pointed to our coil and air handler and said they weren't working. My husband asked the contractor, "How much does a coil cost?" and he said, "Around $2000 to replace, but you'll need to replace the whole system because the state of NC requires that you have all parts to code."

    We talked to the company numerous times, spending hours out of our day on the phone with their agents. Their solution? They said the part cost $500, not $2000. They would only pay the contractors (who were their choice of contractors) $500. We talked to three contractors - they ALL quotes us between $4,000-$45000 minimum.

    We were left with a $4,500 option to pay on our own - after we had already spent over $1,000 to try and fulfill "their requirements."

    They say they don't put things up to North Carolina code. We say this is a terrible way to treat a consumer who has put their trust in your warranty. Their very own contractors said they have to get the money somewhere - so that $500 doesn't cover their ACTUAL cost of $2000 for the part plus the other $2500 we will pay because we cannot just replace the part, we have to replace the whole system under North Carolina law.

    Can you help us? This company is defrauding other consumers. The worst part is, we are out more money from buying this warranty than we would be if we had never bought the warranty at all. They have provided nothing to us - we would have been better off without it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Plumbing problem, ManaBloc leaking

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My ManaBloc has been leaking and needs to be replaced. It has been a week today, and the issue is still not fixed, and no one knows what is going on. I was sent three different vendors in the course of the week, and they all said it needed to be replaced. It's a simple fix - you unscrew it and put in the new one and connect the hoses, a ten-year-old could do it. Now after being without water for a week, they want me to pay $850.00 to replace it, and I can purchase a new one for $375.00. They told me it would be 7-10 days to get the ManaBloc, however, when I called the company, they told me they can build the exact model in 2 hours and ship it out overnight. What a JOKE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Absolute crooks. Don’t waste your money.

    American Home Shield and the contractors are absolute crooks. They wanted me to pay $1000.00 for an oversized evaporator coil because they wouldn’t get the one from Rheem because the part would be 42% more expensive because online orders cost more. We all know online orders are always cheaper. I would have gladly paid the extra 42% extra for the part rather then pay $1000 for them to butcher my unit.

    It’s so blatant that they wanted to rob me for $1000. AHS has the audacity to say "we don’t work like that."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 246

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review