About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

300 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 7 1 star:  279
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 300
Sort reviews by:

  • AVOID American Home Shield at all costs!

    • California,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from American Home Shield (AHS) at all costs. AHS is probably one of the worst companies with which I have done business. Indeed, if AHS does not solve my problem or return my money today, I will sue them.

    AHS sent a technician to my home on January 25th to repair a dishwasher, a refrigerator, and an oven. The technician called AHS for authorization to get the parts that were needed for the repair on January 25th, but there was no one at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. The repair company AHS sent to my home called AHS a number of times to get the needed authorization, but there was never anyone at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. I called AHS on numerous occasions, and could not get any information from AHS on the status of AHS's approval of the needed parts. Indeed, on most of my calls to AHS, I was put on hold for more than 30 minutes after which I was cut off.

    It is now February 14th, and neither I nor the repair company has been able to find someone at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. It is my personal, subjective opinion, belief, and interpretation that AHS disappears when expensive parts are required for a covered repair. I personally believe that I was ripped off by AHS. Therefore, it is my personal, subjective opinion, belief, and interpretation that AHS is dishonest and unethical. The foregoing review solely provides my personal, subjective opinions, beliefs, and interpretations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • TERRIBLE SERVICE

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been freezing for over three weeks, it's February now. Our mini split wall unit went out, they sent four contractors who did not work on that type of unit - and after each one came, I called the company to tell them to put the correct info as I listed it - they changed it to a gas furnace every time. The fifth company came and he said it needed parts - that was three weeks ago through the coldest weather. I called two weeks ago, they said the part was ordered and should be here any time - a complete lie. I paid the service charge right after the last guy came, it's in my bank statement and they keep billing me and won't allow another request until I pay, so I sent them the copy showing it paid - twice. This is a joke. I am canceling immediately and seeking my service call back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    SCAM PROTECTION

    • Anoka, MN,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a home built in 1992. Was given AHS to use. First AC went out. Guys who smelled of pot said I needed more vents to cool house. Next microwave went out. Spent $600 on parts to fix a $190 microwave...had to wait for parts being it was discontinued. Then fridge making loud noise. Said that’s how they all sound. I canceled service and bought all new appliances and AC. I'm glad I have money. Most people do not. DO NOT use this company American Home Shield!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Company scam

    • Lynchburg, VA,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This issue was a fiasco from start, not finish, as I see no finish in sight.

    To start, my refrigerator went bad on December 15, 2018. I called AHS and it took 69 minutes to get someone on the line. When I did, it was a customer service rep who could barely speak English. I made my needs known and I was assigned a technician who came out the next day; it was clear he had no clue what was wrong with my fridge. He returned and put a switch on the fridge and that did not help. He came back again and said that the fridge needed a new compressor and it had to be ordered and would take five days.

    I waited the five days and never heard from him, called his office and was unable to reach a living person, just an answering machine. I was never called back after numerous calls to AHS and the contractor. Many times, after being placed on hold with AHS the call mysteriously disconnected with no return call from AHS. AHS customer service would say "I am sorry for your inconvenience" and follow that up with a call to the contractor. I insisted that they send a new contractor out to fix my fridge and they called in a new one that never showed for two appointments.

    I have called AHS approximately 15 times and spent hours waiting on customer service to answer. They are robotic and speak the same thing every time I call them. They will never allow you to speak with a manager.

    Finally, I got someone out to look at the fridge who said that the first contractor was wrong and I do not need a compressor, but I need a coil that will cost $500.00 and ASH will not pay for that. I have now been put in to "options," which means that they will offer me a new fridge if I pay most of the cost.

    This company is a sham. They take your money, use inferior contractors, and are not the least bit interested in taking care of their clients. I took this warranty out in good faith and I feel that they have let me down. Back when we had single digit weather, my insulin froze in the cooler, which rendered it ineffective. That was a $1000.00 down the drain. I made AHS aware and they offered me $75.00. It has been 53 days without a refrigerator and living out of a cooler, with no end in sight. When the technician left today, he said that AHS would call me soon. Fat chance! No one called!

    I am going to report this company to the BBB and any other consumer protection agency that I can find. Do not use this company. Their customer service sucks and they don’t care what happens beyond the service call money. I would never recommend them to a friend. Two of my friends and my sister were considering using American Home Shield, but after my experience, NOT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money with this company

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Complete waste of money, then a waste of time once the company locates a service contractor to come to your home to actually "fix" the problem. First, you are lucky if your broken item is even covered. The list of excluded brands, parts, and issues is lengthy and almost ensures that the company won't be on the hook for any costly repairs. Then, once a technician arrives to your home, you are lucky if he/she can actually do the repair. I just needed a new hot water heater as mine was leaking all over the floor. The technician said he couldn't "order" a new one as it's a brand that he doesn't normally install. It's an AO Smith, one of the mostly widely installed hot water heaters in my area. In fact, every home in my development has one. Give me break...anyways, I was told I had to find my own plumber and that I would be reimbursed for a portion of the cost. Well, after submitting the invoice for the second time and numerous phone calls later, I still haven't received a refund. It goes without saying I won't renew my contract with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bait and switch

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our washing machine broke so I went online and ordered service through AHS. Within 24 hours I was contacted for an appointment for the repair guy to come out. He came out a few days later. He came in, I showed him where the washing machine was, I told him that I didn't realize it wasn't working until I went to take the clothes out and they were wet even though the cycle was finished. He was here about 5 minutes or less told me it would be too much to fix, he would let them know. About a week later I receive a call from AHS informing me that his report was that I overloaded the washing machine or I put an object in it causing it to break and therefore, it would not be covered because it was not normal wear and tear.

    First of all, I have done laundry for 40 years. I have never "overloaded" a washing machine. I would never fraudulently put an object in it to break it. The home warranty was when something breaks they come out and fix it or replace it if it can't be fixed. Not only was my character attacked I was pretty much called a liar. I am a realtor and have recommended this warranty company to my clients for years. In fact, my client just bought one a few months ago. I WILL NEVER recommend them again. I feel like my character was attacked and I have never or would ever be fraudulent in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Flooded my home; charged me for it

    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A repairman sent by AHS did a faulty job on my washing machine which resulted in three rooms of my house flooding. I called AHS and all they tell us that they are "not responsible for water damage." The machine is NOT fixed and they had the audacity to charge me the $75 trade service fee. I still have a broken washing machine and now a partially flooded home. Horrible company. Horrible services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Company is a scam

    • Illinois,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam! It is day 12 of no heat during the deep freeze in Chicago. 12 days ago the contractor they sent ordered the part, AHS approves the part, tell me why the part was not received yet?! I called the contractor, he states it's ordered, he doesn't know what is going on. I contact AHS and every single non-fluent English speaking representative has their own story. When I demand to speak to a manager, they give me run around. Then when I log into my account to check the status of this claim and it states it's complete...hmmmm. How is it complete when I have no heat and no one will give me a straight answer! AHS states someone will call me back, but no one does! This is now the 2nd major issue I have had with AHS and they have handled the claims poorly from start to finish! I have caught them already on the first claim for hot water tank trying to scam me out of $500. I am a 3x homeowner and when you correct them with false information they are giving you, it's is pretty bad! I would give no stars for this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst company to deal with

    • Twentynine Palms, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I submitted a service request and had to follow-up with four phone calls over a month's time to find out what was going on because after the technician was here I never heard from them again. And the request was marked as COMPLETE on the AHS website.

    Making phone calls wasn't bad enough, each time I called, I waited on hold over 60 MINUTES before I could even speak to someone. That was after I requested a call back and being "1st in line." Now on the 4th call, they called the contractor once again (because no findings report was ever submitted) and lo and behold none of the required work is covered under the contract because the "technician knows if it's covered."

    So the last three phone calls to AHS and the storyline they told me about sending the request to their contractor authorization department for review because they take it very seriously when a contractor doesn't submit their findings in a timely fashion was just BS. They never submitted it to anyone! Each time I called, they tried to call the contractor.

    I would NEVER recommend AHS or T&J Investment LLC (supposedly an electrician) to anyone! When the electrician was here, he didn't want to do the work and basically said so. I understand when something is not covered under the contract, but it's so convenient that now after four calls, the work is not covered. How was that not reviewed or identified on any of the last three calls?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from American Home Shield, FRAUDSTERS!

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had American Home Shield for years, spent lots of money with them.

    Then years later, we moved and got a new contract for our 15-year-old home in Colorado. In October 2018 we had a home inspector checking all appliances, HVAC, and furnace prior to our purchase. Everything passed, and seemed to be in good working condition. Since the house has used appliances we decided to get them protected by American Home Shield.

    Well months later, winter came and we needed to use the furnace, then we noticed it was having a hard time keeping the house warm. We placed a service request with AHS and a technician was sent after a few days. Diagnostics was the heating exchanger was struggling exhausting the air due to rust gradually reducing the air channels.

    After a week without hearing from AHS, I called them and they said it would cost me $5,500.00 to solve the issue. And could only pay $1,500 and I have to pay $4,000.00 out of my pocket, (it's defined in the fine prints of the contract).

    Well, since I was not aware they did not cover the entire repair cost, I decided to go for the option for cash out the $1,500.00 and choose a different contractor. I told them that cash out would be fine. Then another week passed by, and I never heard from them. I called them again and after 35 minutes on hold, the representative said my cash out was denied because they consider my issue a pre-existing. How could I know there was an internal rust issue slowing degrading the heating exchanger? The home inspector checked the unit during 70-degree weather and heater went up to 80 degrees without any problems, and the A/C went down to 60 without any issue.

    Anyway, they told me they could send me another contractor to get a second opinion about the issue, and if the diagnostics were the same, then I would have to pay another $100.00 and the claim would remain denied. Why did they send me the first contractor if they don't trust his opinion? Am I crazy or they are big crooks? I will let you make your decision based on my own honest review. Find a local small company to do business with, and stay away from these scammers.

    They served me well when I needed them 15 years ago, but now they are nothing but scammers. They rather spend tons of money paying for internet campaigns, but not taking care of their clients, which are the ones that bring more customers than any internet campaign. We are in 2019, businesses without a pro-consumer policy will not survive, and if they don’t change the way they treat customers, they will be out of business, it's just matter of time.

    I am not bashing them as revenge, but to prevent other people to fall for the same trap I did.

    I hope my review will help someone to choose better company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jan 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I filed a service request on December 24th, then called to see if someone could come sooner because my only toilet and shower were blocked and unusable. The first appointment they offered was January 3, 2019. I advised it was my only bathroom and was told in so many words they don't have emergency plumbers. I called back on December 27th and got transferred to outside authorization, who allowed me to hire an emergency plumber who came December 28th. I followed all the instructions, turned in my invoice that same night, and to this day I still have not been reimbursed, and they refuse to give me a date to expect my refund. They claim they didn't get my invoice, but I have their confirmation email dated December 28th that it was received.

    I called again on January 21st and was asked to resubmit, which I did while on the phone. I was told my invoice would be processed right away since it was so old and they process by the date on the invoice. They were to call me back the next day, never happened, so I called again today, January 24th, and was told my invoice was received yesterday, 1/23/19, and that they apologize but they are behind and it will be worked in the order received. I now have to pay two months worth of interest on this charge. They are liars and don't care at all about their customers. The reviews posted on their website are, in my opinion, most likely all lies that they wrote themselves. This place is awful, don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 300

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review