About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

263 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 7 1 star:  242
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 263
Sort reviews by:

  • American Home Shield - NOT CUSTOMER CENTRIC!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible. I had a water heater go out, it took two weeks to get someone out. The contractor added replacement parts and labor not needed, and of course, not part of the contact (I believe this was done by design and intent). It cost an extra $500.00. I had to do this or wait another week without hot water. I had another claim for a frig, paid the $100 for a contractor to come out, they did. This was in September, three months ago. Nothing was done, no follow-up, I called several times and had to wait 45 minutes before talking to someone who did not help at all. I will try again tomorrow, as the only remedy is to schedule and pay another $100. Terrible customer service, not an advocate for the homeowner, not American! Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • All is good until you need to speak to a representative

    • Florida,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Trying to speak with a representative twice, I connected to a representative and twice I was disconnected. Also, the company they referred me to couldn't get to my home. Mind you, after being on hold for 40 minutes to repair my central air until Friday, three days away, "hello, this is Florida, are you kidding"?

    Maybe if she hired some employees to answer the phone, I could get another company that AHS deals with, and get my central air repaired in a timely matter.

    Seriously questioning myself if it is worth it to have AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, I did not read these reviews before purchasing our insurance. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had in my life! Our water heater went out and began leaking and flooding our garage. I was away at work, so I was unable to help. My 8-month pregnant wife calls the service line and was told she would not be able to help for 48 hours and there was no one who could help her. When she explained she was PREGNANT and has suffered complications, therefore she would be unable to do anything physically, the representative responded "tough" and ended the call.

    After my wife explained the situation, I called back to get clarity as to why it would take 48 hours and to see if there was anything I could do to have it expedited as this is an emergency and a circumstance that requires immediate assistance. I explained my wife was pregnant and disabled due to pregnancy complications and asked politely could he direct me to a manager. He responded, "no." I explained to him maybe I was not conveying correctly the severity of the situation. Before I could finish my explanation, he cut me off and said: "Sir, I completely understand your situation, I've been there before and this is the best I can do." Baffled and insulted by his comment, I asked him his name (John) and gender (male) and how could he possibly be in my disabled 8-month pregnant wife's shoes and if he wasn't referring to her, he did not know our situation so how could he make such an insensitive comment. He responded "you gave me the highlights, I know what's going on and I won't help you any more than I have," and when I asked several times to speak to a manager, he hung up. This is the ABSOLUTE WORST experience I have ever had with any human being on this earth! The insincerity, lack of empathy, lack of emotional intelligence, and just plain rudeness of this is UNPARALLELED AND DISGRACEFUL.

    To add insult to injury, no one ever showed. Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this company or any of its affiliates. They clearly have no intent on helping their customers, they just take their money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Georgetown, TX,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    11/4/2018: Finally, Mariah D from AHS reached out to me. She said that she couldn't refund any portion of the premium paid but would look into reimbursing me for the service fees overcharged by AHS and the amount paid to a vendor we had to hire to fix the problem. She claimed that our repair was not covered.

    I thought I asked simple enough questions, but I guess not:

    D., Mariah

    To: DJ

    Oct 31 at 5:48 PM

    The initial service cost paid to American Home Shield.

    From: DJ

    Sent: Wednesday, October 31, 2018 5:31:42 PM

    To: D., Mariah

    What does that mean? How much will you refund? Where in the contract does it mention circuit breakers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 19, 2018

    The worst home warranty company around

    I provided details on my experience, the company's social media expert asked for more information (I don't know why social media either, I don't have a problem with their website, Facebook, etc., it's their actual service that's an issue).

    Anyway, we had a pool electric issue, the guy came out, fixed a portion of the problem and said he needed a light for some of it and we needed a regular electrical guy to fix the rest of it, and we had to put it another service request. He would be back in a week for the light. I found out that the pool light wasn't covered, which is fine, we would just pay the guy.

    A week later, the pool guy shows up, asks us what he was supposed to do as it wasn't written down, we tell him pool light, and he says they don't replace pool lights. Did he not know that a week earlier? In the meantime, we put a service request in for the electrical issues. An electrician came out, said he didn't have the part needed and would come back (why would a company waste a service call and not reach out to the homeowner is beyond me). Also, AHS' website doesn't allow for comments about the issue, only to request a specific trade (plumbing, electrical, etc.).

    Days later no electrician came back or called, AND AHS charged us for the deductible for work not even started. We ended up getting a more reputable vendor as it was the only way to get the work done. Really, I'm not making this up! Now the dishwasher isn't working, which we think is related to the electrical issue that happened weeks ago. We are afraid to request service through AHS Warranty for fear of more deductible charges for work not completed and more unresolved issues. Honestly, I have never had to use a home warranty service so much on any home I've purchased, but sometimes you need to.

    At this point, it would be best to get a full refund of all deductible amounts paid and the premium fee and be done with all these issues. All companies will have customer service issues, what separates good companies from bad ones is how they handle the issues. I'll keep you posted as to what happens next. AHS, please respond with a name and number of a manager that can handle this. I don't have the patience to deal with their customer service reps any longer (see previous reviews on that issue).

    (read moreread less...)

  • A/C unit

    • Arizona,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called to set an appointment because my air conditioner was making weird sounds. AHS sent their rep and the problem was I needed a compressor. After rep left, they told me AHS will get ahold of me and let me know when the compressor would be ordered and what the charge would be for the freon. AHS only covers 10%. Which would end up costing $800. I called (no follow-up), was on hold for an hour, and the rep said AHS will get with the rep and get back with me 3 to 5 days later. Nine days later, I heard nothing, so I called. Total phone time was 3 hours. No part was ordered. They told me the price it would be and if I would like to dispute these charges (hinting like I should, or I wanted to). I told them let's get it done, I need it. So 9 days to fix my AC in Arizona with no, none, nothing, zippo, zilch communication or follow-up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't do it!

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money! Self-insure...this company will rob you!

    When I reported an AC unit issue on 10/13/18, a contractor came out and said that my issue was dirty coils. They said that the coil would need to be pulled out and cleaned and that it was too late to do it that afternoon of 10/13. They scheduled to come back out on 10/15 and they did. They came out, pulled out the coil, and cleaned it. After they left, my issue persisted. When I contacted AHS because the issue was not resolved, they said that they would come back out on 10/17/18. On 10/17/18 they never came and when I called to inquire as to why they did call, they THEN said that the coil was damaged that they would forward that issue to AHS. I contacted AHS that same day (10/17/18) and these guys said that they would send someone out for a second opinion.

    They came out and confirmed damage to the coils. The issue I have here is that my AC is still having issues and AHS doesn't want to repair it. Saying that the first and second opinion were the same and that the COIL was already damaged. The first opinion was that the coil was dirty. They took it out and cleaned it and said all was good. Heck, the first guy that came out said that my AC should last me another 10 years. Then when that didn't fix it, they changed their tune/story. As far as im concerned, the coil was fine and the contractor damaged it when they took it out to clean it.

    I paid AHS for 10 months ($42.99) + $100 for them to come out. The first time I needed help/service, they are denying it. Horrible company, DON'T DO IT. Self-insure. They are just taking peoples' hard-earned dollars. It's a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • American Home Shield is a nightmare company

    • Arizona,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield is the worst company I ever had dealt with. When my A/C broke in the middle of June's heat in Arizona, they left me and my family in brutal Arizona temperatures above 105 degrees, three day's waiting before they sent their "expert" A/C company. When their so-called "tech" arrived, first he made sure that he got his $125 service fee covered. Then, he hardly took time to check the A/C unit before telling me that he needs to order a part and it will take anywhere between 10 - 15 business days before he can come back with the part to install it and have the unit fixed. Of course, I told him that I did not want to have any business with him or with AHS anymore.

    My friendly advice to you is to do yourselves a favor and forget about American Home Shield and give your business elsewhere, to some serious professionals who will care about you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible service - contractors are not good

    • Connecticut,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just purchased a home and the seller purchased AHS for us so we can replace the furnace. The first contractor they sent did NOT do anything. The gas company said he didn't even clean the chambers or test anything, otherwise, he would have seen a gas leak.

    I called AHS again and requested to get a new furnace. They contacted the same CONTRACTORS after I said DO NOT contact them! Then the contractors said they ordered the parts WITHOUT my consent! I called AHS and they canceled the service request. They then contacted another contractor and the NEW contractor NEVER called us to set up an appointment.

    I called AHS, sat on hold for 3 hours! I asked for a supervisor, and they hung up on me. They will NOT cancel the service order. I am going to cancel it myself.

    This company is a SCAM, and I DO NOT RECOMMEND anyone getting this type of warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Insurance scam

    • Maggie Valley, NC,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    AHS is an insurance scam. They trick people with brochures that list appliances like self-contained ice makers as being covered but your real contract is only available online, and basically, nothing is covered that would cost them more than a few dollars. I paid them $813 to cover everything in the home we purchased and so far all they have done is refuse to pay for anything. We have three major problems with appliances that are supposed to be covered based on their original sales paperwork, but they have denied coverage for all. Don't waste your money. You have to pay a contractor $80 for each problem, and then AHS will refuse your claim saying the item is not covered or they will also use the Act of God excuse. They have many ways to cheat their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing!

    • Florida,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a disappointment. Being in the military, I was stationed all over the country, which I carried American Home Shield for many of the homes we lived in. I always paid my dues on time and never caused any issues. Now that I’m retired, after 23 years, a few months ago we moved to Florida and bought a home with a pool. The heater on my pool went out. I called AHS for service and paid my deductible. Turns out I need a full replacement, which is about 2 to 3 thousand dollars. They denied me because they said it was chemical related. which goes against the hazardous material clause on their contract. I told them of course it’s chemical related because it’s a pool and the water has chlorine. I guess chlorine falls under hazardous material. Then why allow me to add a pool to a warranty?

    The person they sent to check my pool crushed the pipes leading to the heater, and now I can’t operate my pool. AHS says it’s not their problem and the pool guy they sent won’t fix what he broke. I called several AHS reps and explained my situation. I told them I’m not only a loyal customer of many years, but I’m also a wartime Army Veteran with tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. They didn’t care and said they won’t help me.

    Now I’m out of options and have to not only fix the original problem, but also pay to fix the problem from the technician AHS sent. Customer care is big to me. The fact they used chlorine as an excuse for the hazardous material clause of the contract shows they’ll find loopholes to save from paying 2 to 3 thousand dollars. I’m sad for their lack of ethics and their lack of customer care.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Complete waste of money paying for American Home Shield warranty

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield has the absolute worst customer service. I called to get more information on a service call to check my gas furnace and air conditioner. I paid $125.00 for the tech to come out. He checked the AC and added Freon. I understood it was not covered. They also checked the furnace and found the drain pain had rusted and was leaking water. The HVAC system was working when they came out. Mr. Reid of K&W heating and air said he would return because he needed two people to replace the drain pan. He stated this would cost $695. I paid him and two men returned on Saturday and replaced the drain pan and installed a sediment trap door. The system stopped working and I called him back. He came out and said the circuit board in the furnace blew out. I have spoken to experts and they stated the power should've been turned off while they worked on the furnace. K&W didn't admit to shorting it out, but added the circuit board and I didn't find an additional charge.

    I called American Home Shield several times to ask if the labor was approved. Each time I called I had to wait at least 30 minutes in order to speak to a representative. I was told three times that they were waiting to get additional info from the tech. I couldn't believe it took two weeks to speak to the tech.

    I was finally told that none of the cost was approved. I understood the parts were not covered, but the last person I spoke with finally said the labor was not covered. Really? I'm canceling this rip-off, TODAY! Save your money and take care of your own expenses. This company WILL NOT take care of anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 263

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review