About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 360 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  336
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 360
Sort reviews by:

  • No recourse for unprofessional contractors

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The contract company did not repair my appliance after 3 attempts and told me it was broken beyond repair, however, they marked the work "completed" with AHS. When I spoke to AHS, the only options available to me were 1) have the same company come out a 4th time or 2) pay another service fee for a different contractor to come out. When I asked about being refunded for my service call, of which the service was not completed, I was told that was not an option. When I asked about a replacement product for my broken one, I was told that is not an option. When I asked to elevate my case and speak with a supervisor, I was put on hold and then told to expect a call back in 1 hour (which I never received). I will not be renewing my warranty based on this experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • DON'T GET SCAMMED LIKE I DID

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam. We had our water heater go out and the first company they sent out couldn't do the job. They said they needed to send out another tech on that Friday. I took time off work to wait for the guy to fix the water heater and he just inspected it, told me he needed to go get some parts from the shop and never came back! I called the company and no one answered. I then called American Home Shield to see that they closed the ticket. THEY CLOSED THE TICKET WITH NO RESOLUTION! I was furious but told them the issue was not fixed so they offered to send another company. (The first company was the worst-rated plumbing company in our area. Their solution was to send the second-worst rated plumbing company out.) So now my wife and I have been 3 weeks without hot water.

    The second company comes out and tells us the unit needs to be replaced. He leaves an estimate with us and goes back to his shop. We wait to hear from American Home Shield if they are going to authorize the replacement. One week goes by and I call them to see the status of our claim. THEY CLOSED THE TICKET AGAIN! At this point, I am irate and I call to find out what happened. They give me the same canned BS deflecting their mistakes and they need to get a hold of the plumbing company to get an official notice. This goes on for 5 weeks. I call them daily and the excuse is always the same, the plumbing company hasn't answered their calls. I have three different representatives promise to call me back within 48 hours and not one time did they ever call me back. I had to chase them down. Finally they said they just needed a copy of the work estimate to release the funds in the form of a check to me. Well, they didn't know that I had a copy of that so I sent it to them. I call the next day only to find out that magically the rules have changed and that isn't enough. So I have done everything and they kept moving their "requirements." SO I had to go three months without hot water to find out that they just weren't going to do anything for me.

    This company is god awful and should be shut down. Don't be like me and be stuck with this awful BS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Shady business practices

    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money, this place is an absolute scam. Going on the second instance of no AC for OVER a month and a half in the middle of an Alabama summer for the same part. Weekend support (if you can call it that) could see the part on order, but had no arrival date. Monday the full-time support lied and said they just got the diagnosis from the subcontractor and just now ordered the PART. I have had a warranty now for over TEN years while they have continued to do patch job repairs on a 30-year-old AC! What's worse is I am in the military and rely on them to take care of my home while I am away, but all you do is take my money for the better part of a decade. I am still waiting on a "supervisor" to call me to get this resolved so I figured this might get your attention. Did you know there is a whole other page dedicated to people that hate your company!? I'd be super proud of that, great job AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jul 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order for my water heater and a leaking pipe. Service was denied because the water heater wasn't installed properly, which it wasn't that was on me. The pipe wasn't covered because it wasn't installed properly and the pipes were there when the house was built in the 1940s. They denied both claims and still charged me $100 for the service call. I thought the $100 deductible was for when a job was performed. How can they charge you for a deductible when no work was even done. I was pissed to the fullest. I will be canceling both my policies for my 2 properties. I'm going back to the old company that I was with for years. They went up on my deductible, but they all ways fixed everything with no questions. Don't waste your money with this company, you will be disappointed when you make a claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Overall experience

    • West Salem, WI,
    • Jul 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a customer of American Home Shield from October 2009 until we sold our home in June 2019. For the first 5 years with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 3 stars. They did cover the replacement of a dishwasher during this time, however, we also had service calls for our central air conditioner that they would not pay. In October 2013 we transferred our policy to a new location. During this time, we had 3 problems with our central air unit, and 2 with our furnace that American Home Shield would not cover. Upon the sale of our home in June 2019, we purchased a one year warranty with American Home Shield for the new buyers of the home at their request. 30 days after the sale of the property, I receive a notice that they were sending me to collections because of a late payment for Administration Cancellations.

    For the last 5 years of our contract with American Home Shield, I would rate them as 1-2 stars. American Home Shield's business practices have greatly degraded over the last 5 years. Now I am putting the cost of the monthly policy into a savings account for future repairs. YouTube is a great tool for advice and instructions on many repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Air conditioning...YOU PAY!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These crooks made me wait 2 weeks before telling me they won't honor the contract! A power surge blew my air conditioner and that's not covered! A freaking scam. They didn't even analyze the problem. Some guy took pictures for 5 minutes and that was it.

    NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Plumbing

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jul 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a plumbing problem in our basement and they sent out the plumber. The floor had to be busted out because of a collapsed pipe. AHS said it was not covered and we paid $1800.00 out of our pocket.

    The plumber has been back twice and I read my contract and found out that is covered. This has been ongoing back and forth phone calls since February 2019. Finally, as of 6/15/2019, they called the plumber and now they told us we would be getting $1000.00 back. Today, 7/5/2019, I called to see where my check is and of course, I am put on hold for at least 20 minutes and the girl comes back and said it was denied. Now I have to wait until Monday to speak to a supervisor. This company has the worst customer service. NO ONE KNOWS THEIR JOB!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service and company does not uphold policy!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon submitting a claim for our AC repair and paying $125 for service, we were linked with a horrible AC repair company who did not submit diagnostic paperwork to American Home Shield within 48 hours as per their policy. When calling to follow up we were hung up on 3 times, customer service representatives do not keep adequate notes in the account and do not return calls that they set up! Every time we called it was like we were starting all over again. The representatives have no answers, refuse to escalate call to supervisor and refused to assign another vendor to our case while insisting on waiting for the vendor to return their call (we called the vendor too and the voicemail was full)...Meanwhile, we have a three-week-old baby and heat advisories in Florida and it’s been over a week since we started the process. We still do not have a resolution, however, fought to get a $125 refund (still "processing"). Our AC is covered under our policy and we still do not have a repair or replacement or even just next steps from AHS. Seems like AHS is good for other services and appliances but not AC! Customer service is outsourced and the contractors AHS works with are not reputable or professional. Would not recommend at all - we have paid for a policy as consumers and the company is not fulfilling their portion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing experience; feeling robbed...twice.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am still dealing with a plumbing issue from March. The contractor just made a 4th visit and the shower is still not working. Yet to be seen if they will actually fix my shower or if I will need to have it done on my own. AHS does a poor job of managing the contractors that they send out.

    AC went out and AHS offered me $400 towards a new $9000 unit or to pay $1700 out of pocket. Contractor's sales team was rude and disrespectful. AHS seems to be concerned with premiums and not service. When I moved to cancel contract they sent me a bill for cancellation.

    At no point in the process was any emphasis placed on solving my two very major repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste money, time, or patience. AHS scam.

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, it's actually been a very long time since I've been treated so badly by so many people at one company. I'm physically shaking and ILL while writing this. I've had AHS for 4 plus years. Paying every month and not needing them until yesterday. It was, and is, 115 degrees in the Arizona desert heat. I called because my HVAC capacitor went out. After 7 calls and being hung up on repeatedly, they told me to find my own HVAC company to make the repair and to call back with their diagnosis. After many calls to companies who refused to work with AHS, I finally found one, 24 hours later. Please keep in mind all without any Air Conditioning in 115 degrees. The HVAC tech came. We had to call 14 times. Not kidding. 14 times. Talking to rude people who would refuse to authorize a $200 repair. Sasha was a name I recieved of one rep...So 14 calls and this poor technician who was simply telling AHS what was broken was also being spoken to so rudely and being accused of being told what to say by me and I didn't say anything except my property address. Even though I pay every month for 4 years they refused to authorize a capacitor repair on my 14-year-old air conditioner.

    The repair was $200, the tech spent 4 hours talking to them and being hung up on. The capacitor took 5 minutes to replace. He was so incredible and AHS employees should truly feel ashamed at how disgraceful they treat people who need help. I paid $100 yesterday for a service call but they had ME find a company since oddly they couldn't or wouldn't telling me I'd be reimbursed. As long as the company was licensed insured...I could not believe how I was talked to or how the technician from the AC company who didn't even work for American Home Shield.

    Shame on American Home Shield and their belittling representatives who just yell degrade and hang up repeatedly...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    WOW! Third-world call centers.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WOW, if you call to renew your contract, you get a US-based person, but if you call with an issue, you get some third-world non-English speaking person with horrible customer service skill. Amazon Home is cheaper and has US-based call centers. I will not be renewing my AHS, if anything, I will use Amazon.

    BTW their contractors also (with the exception of Sears ) do not respond. I do not want to make a bunch of phone calls just to get service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 360

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review