About Aqua Stone

Aqua Stone is a clay humidifier sold by Telebrands that claims to be an all-natural way to moisturize the air in any room of your house. They promise it uses no electricity or batteries; just fill the basin with water and they state it will absorb and disperse it automatically.

But is Aqua Stone Humidifier really as revolutionary as it sounds? Or is it just another product from Telebrands that on the surface seems cool, but…

How Aqua Stone Works

Aqua Stone Humidifier is a piece of round clay of unknown size and density that looks like an egg; it comes with its own black basin. To use Aqua Stone, they instruct you to pour cold or room temperature water over the Aqua Stone, filling the basin. They claim the clay will naturally and silently absorb the water and then the moist clay will release tiny water droplets into the air. Yay, science is fun!

Aqua Stone Humidifier promises it works in rooms of any and that you won’t have to constantly fill or clean it. They add Aqua Stone will naturally regulate the perfect amount of moisture into the air. They claim a humidifier is beneficial to the health, especially in the winter, when lips and skin get dry. They add humidifiers can help treat colds or flu as well as ease asthma and reduce static electricity in the air; however, they provide no source to back up these claims.

Aqua Stone Humidifier Pricing and Returns

Aqua Stone costs $12.99 plus $7.99 S&H for a total of $21.98. At checkout time you can order an additional Aqua Stone for another $7.99 in fees. These fees are non-refundable.

Telebrands offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on Aqua Stone Humidifier; however, you must include a written explanation as to why you are returning it, otherwise they could reject your request. They will keep your $7.99 shipping fee and you will also have to pay to send it back yourself.

Bottom Line: Is Aqua Stone Humidifier a Scam?

The science behind Aqua Stone is valid; clay can serve as a natural humidifier. But there are a few things we feel we should point out about Aqua Stone.

First, and perhaps most importantly, they don’t tell you how big it is. This will directly affect the size of the room/area it can moisturize. Without this info, it is difficult to tell if it will work in any room as indicated (Telebrands uses an automated ordering system and customer service cannot be reached without a purchase order number).

Second, this is an “As Seen On TV” Product – in fact, the manufacturers Telebrands invented the ubiquitous red-and-white logo now used by all other companies. These types of products advertised by infomercial may look like a great idea, but are usually cheaply made and consumers end up being disappointed with them upon arrival.

In addition, Telebrands does not have a good track record when it comes to consumer satisfaction. In 2014 they lost their accreditation with the BBB and their rating plunged to an F due to over 1700 complaints in the last 3 years about advertising, products, and billing issues.

If you are experiencing dryness from the cold winter months, there are a few easy remedies aside from buying Aqua Stone or any other humidifier. You can add some plants to the room, boil some water on the stove, or even use a plain terra cotta pot soaked in water. Here are a few more inexpensive ideas.

Let us know what you think of Aqua Stone Humidifier below. Did it moisturize your room or did it leave egg on your face?

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

58 Consumer Reviews for Aqua Stone

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 15 3 star: 6 2 star: 2 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 58
Sort reviews by:

  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    OMG - All These Mold Complaints.

    • Aug 12, 2015

    Listen, I just got the thing tonight and I literally just un-packaged it a few minutes ago. I have water in the bowl (filtered from my PUR water filter) and the stone is sitting in it. The only reason I'm here is because I was looking for reviews and the one pervasive complaint is mold. And I'm thinking that these people must have never, ever had a humidifier before.

    I have electric humidifiers all my life and the one annoying thing about them is the mold and mildew. If you so much as leave them unattended for a couple days, it's the same problem. Still water is going to lead to mold and mildew, period. If you took of a bathing suit and left it in a puddle of water for a few days straight, you're going to find mold.

    So, I found this and I hope it helps people get over the whole mold complaint. In short, the answer is vinegar or bleach; and vinegar works better on Porous surfaces like this clay: http://www.networx.com/article/bleach-vs-vinegar-mold-removal

    And if in the end this doesn't really work for you, get a small crock pot and just leave it on low all winter. I've done if for years. You have no mold or mildew problem as long as the water is at least on low heat around the clock and it's super easy to clean. No filters or small parts like humidifiers. However, you lose the aesthetics of a prettier solution.

    I can't be bothered with the work and consumables involved in owning regular humidifiers. For the moment, I'm sticking with the Aqua Stone for its size and portability and I will report back in approximately two weeks to let you know how I've used it and if I've seen any mold issues. I doubt I will have any.

    I plan to take the porous stone out during the day when I am out and about so that it can completely air dry. Then in the evening when I'm home again, just place it in a fresh bowl of water.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 27, 2015

      Angie,

      Wow great tip. I plan to take mine out of the bowl when I'm gone too. Just bought mine from Bed Bath and Beyond and they waived the S&H. Love them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Really like this product!

    • Overland Park Ks,
    • Oct 7, 2014

    Those of you who say you are having trouble getting it in the mail or contacting the company, do you have a CVS nearby? I bought mine directly from CVS.

    I put these two stones in our bedroom. I have always had trouble with the dry air. I'll wake up and my lips, skin, hair and throat are dry. We've used these for 3 nights now (heater is on), and LOVE it! My hair static is even gone when I get up.

    I will be buying more of these for Christmas gifts!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Great, once you know how to care for it

    • Feb 15, 2015

    After reading what everyone else has to say about this product, I had to add in my opinion, to hopefully help others! Both me and my mom have one of these, for about 2 months. The instructions in the box are not enough to let you know how to care for this item. First, I use only distilled water (some people seem to prefer filtered), but not plain tap. Change the water at least every other day, and once a week, rinse out the stone and bowl in hot water and leave it to dry out. Do NOT use soap or bleach, nothing but water. The way this works is that the stone absorbs whatever is on it, clay is highly absorbent, and if you put soap or bleach, that is what will be released back into the air and you will inhale it. It does tell you in the instructions not to use any cleansing agents. Also, every so often I add a drop or two of an essential oil that is anti fungal, this can help prevent mold growth as well. Basil, lemon, orange, are some good ones. I don’t add oil every time, because I don’t know if the stone should be always absorbing oil. Neither me or my mom has had any mold issues with the aqua stone. It does require some care, but not nearly as much as a plug in humidifier. It does work, but it is small and will only work in a smaller room. You could get more then one if you want it in a larger room. I feel that it replaces lost moisture, but i don’t think it adds much extra. if you really want intense humidity, you’d need something more powerful, but this is a great product for what it is!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Can't review without getting it...

    • Colorado,
    • Apr 6, 2014

    We ordered this item MONTHS ago and just recently received a notice that it's on backorder. This makes me think the company isn't legit. Maybe there aren't any reviews because no one has received theirs yet?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 18, 2014

      Diane,

      If you order them from Amazon.com you'll get them right away. They are packaged very well.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Don't order!

    • May 12, 2014

    Ordered in March 2014 1 stone. Never heard anything until in May when I received 5 boxes of these things. Tried to call customer service and cannot get a live person. Have declined with my credit card company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 21, 2014

      mimi,

      You can buy it anywhere now. Target, Walmart...

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy.

    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I bought it and it started to make the paint on my walls peel. Even when I moved in away from the wall, it made the ceiling paint peel. My room is an open concept room and it has very high ceilings so it has to travel far for it to reach the ceiling. So I do not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 1, 2014

      Elana Hudson,

      I guess that means it works! I could smell water in my air and it was evaporated by the next day. Really like it!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Dummies in humid states.

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    All the bad reviews were from people in states that already have humidity. Bah. This Aqua Stone rocks. I live in the dry desert and I set it on the night stand. Boom. Humidity by the bedside. I feel great, look great and no mold. People in Washington state, are you kidding me with your gripe of mold? What were you doing trying to get humidity in a "rain state"? Aqua Stone serves it's purpose tremendously in naturally dry areas. I would buy 20 more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 1, 2015

      Cynthia Raufmann-Trewartha

      I live in Las Vegas and have been using this item for a while. It dries pretty fast, so I have been keeping it filled. It now has a mold ring around it! Yes, in this desert climate! I don't know what to do now.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Mold on surface

    • Nov 5, 2014

    I thought the aqua stone worked seemed clever and attractive and then I began noticing mold spots on its surface. I had wondered if the stone was treated with something to prevent mold growth, but I guess not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Good for my Purpose

    • Clifton Park, NY,
    • Oct 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of the Aqua Stones for my Recording Studio. As a musician, I own quite a few guitars. Some very expensive. Guitars being wood, can naturally dry out and crack (not a good thing). They sell many small humidifiers made out of clay or a material that will "wick" the moisture into the air and regulate the humidity.

    But these are for guitars kept in their cases. I think guitars are a work of art and are meant to be displayed and played. I have used humidifiers, but in a recording environment, you can't have them running. Hence I found the Aqua Stone.

    I have had mine over two years and only use Distilled Water in them. I believe this has made a big difference. I even use it in humidifiers as well. Then you won't get that salt or calcium build. But now even mine has developed a quarter sized spot of Black Mold. It's very faint but did cause me to stop using them for the past 4-5 months.

    One person said that they "bleached" it and it went away. I might try that, or for the price, just throw them out and buy two more.

    If I can get two years out of them with distilled water, then they are worth the price. I use a digital temp/humid meter in the room, which also has solid red oak flooring and they need the moisture up here in upstate NY and the cold winters.

    My stones evaporate completely in less than 24 hours. So I fill them every day. I have recommended the aqua stones to other musicians and also to just about everyone we know because hardwood floors are very prevalent here.

    Unless I install a whole home humidifier onto my furnace (which I might) this is definitely the next best thing that I have found. They are esthetically pleasing as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Cute and interesting

    • Jacksonville, Arkansas ,
    • Sep 24, 2014

    I purchased the Aqua stone at Walgreens a few days ago. The design is simple, as were the instructions. Fill bowl 3/4 and then place porous stone, open end down, in bowl. I watched the stone absorb the water, there was a visibly water line that crept up the stone until it was saturated.

    My husband likes to sleep with the overhead fan on which causes my throat to get dry, so I place the Aqua Stone on my nightstand in hopes that it would help. I can't tell if it works just yet because the last two nights I've been woken up by my sick dog and I've kept her company in another room. I will say that I haven't woken up with a dry cough if that's any indication but I'll post back in the next few days with a better update.

    I'm check marking the box "yes, I would recommend this to a friend" box just because it's cute.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Works like a charm

    • Jul 8, 2015

    I placed mine in our bedroom because the air was so dry that I woke up choking one night, and my husband was snoring really loud. After filling the little dishes and placing them in our bedroom, I turned on the ceiling fan, and I closed the door. Since the first night, my husband stopped snoring and I am no longer choking. That tells me we are breathing better. These humidifiers are not electric, so they are quiet, eco-friendly, and very easy to use. Just fill the dish every two days and wash once a week, very simple. I highly recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 58

Write a Review for Aqua Stone!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review