58 Consumer Reviews for Aqua Stone - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 15 3 star: 6 2 star: 2 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 58
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Aqua Stone

    • Stowe, VT,
    • Nov 1, 2015

    Very disappointed. Had it on my desk at work. Looked great for about two weeks. Came in today and there is mold growing on the stone. Thankfully I did not spend a great deal of money on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Aqua Stone experience

    • San Antonio Texas ,
    • Nov 1, 2015

    I have two of these, one in my bedroom one in my living room. I find my allergies are less bothersome, my allergy meds are not used as frequently as before. The one in my living room developed mold. I bleached it and it's fine. I didn't get mold on the bedroom one. I am assuming that the mold is in the air, I use bottled water only. I am glad that the stone shows the mold. I then use my air purifier. So I feel that the aqua stone is well worth every penny I spent. I have recommended it to my friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2016

      Robert

      "I then use my air purifier". Yea... That would obviously be the explanation for why your allergies got better. Having a random stone lying around won't do anything for your allergies. But, I don't know, filtering the allergens out of the air probably will.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I got my today

    • Winston Salem, NC,
    • Oct 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I just bought one today for only 5.00 dollars at Max Way, and I only used it for a couple of hours and it feels a little different in my living room.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great Little Thing

    • Oct 23, 2015

    I got my small aqua stone at CVS for approximately $7. It's great for my 10' x 11' room. I measure humidity with a humidity measurer and the Stone's effect shows on the meter. Depending on environmental factors, I also know the Stone works because I can see that the water evaporates. Yes the same effect might be possible with an upside down clay pot, but I like the Stone's look. I used to use baby humidifiers, but their design always seemed disproportionately large compared to their effect. This rock is very easy to fit on a dresser, with no ugly cords or need for any power source. Plus, it feels good to the touch. The tray is smooth and the rock is a little rough, but smoother than some of Avon's porcelains. There is no odor, no plastic, and almost nothing to clean. I can tell when the tray is empty because the stone reverts to ghost white, from being a little beige when wet. Even if the room were larger, I would prefer a few of these, without the whirring and electric field of conventional humidifiers. And, if this one drips or spills there is only oneself to blame, since the design is simple. One can tell with almost no effort whether tampering has occurred, but with conventional humidifiers one must open them to find out if there residue from sissy's aromatherapy rosin. With this device, I don't have to take it to the kitchen to fill and never have to carry much water at a time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love This Product

    • Taylors, SC,
    • Sep 15, 2015

    I have to take allergy medicine at night that completely dry me out and in the middle of the night I'm coughing like crazy; the Aqua Stone has eliminated that for me. Ever since I've had the Aqua Stone I no longer cough at night and if I start coughing I go to get it and I am relived. I will be purchasing more to go in extra rooms. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Aunt loves it!

    • Freeport, IL,
    • Sep 8, 2015

    My aunt is now residing in a nursing home. Her room gets warm and dry feeling easily. The Aqua Stone keeps her more comfortable and fits easily and stylishly on one of her shelves!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Just fine if you know its limitations

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Picked one up for six bucks at CVS. I used half bottled water and half orange blossom water, and put it on my desk at work. I know it's working because I can constantly smell the orange blossom water coming into the air. It's quite nice. Will it fill a whole room? No. Will it do me some good sitting a foot and a half away from my face? Yes.

    As for mold, mixing a little tea tree oil into the water could prevent mold, or even just using a cap full of the stuff you put into humidifiers to prevent mold. A 32oz bottle of it costs $5.00 at Home Depot and you'd only need a couple drops in your aqua stone water for it to be effective.

    For the people expecting this to replace a real humidifier? Um. I don't know what to say...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    OMG - All These Mold Complaints.

    • Aug 12, 2015

    Listen, I just got the thing tonight and I literally just un-packaged it a few minutes ago. I have water in the bowl (filtered from my PUR water filter) and the stone is sitting in it. The only reason I'm here is because I was looking for reviews and the one pervasive complaint is mold. And I'm thinking that these people must have never, ever had a humidifier before.

    I have electric humidifiers all my life and the one annoying thing about them is the mold and mildew. If you so much as leave them unattended for a couple days, it's the same problem. Still water is going to lead to mold and mildew, period. If you took of a bathing suit and left it in a puddle of water for a few days straight, you're going to find mold.

    So, I found this and I hope it helps people get over the whole mold complaint. In short, the answer is vinegar or bleach; and vinegar works better on Porous surfaces like this clay: http://www.networx.com/article/bleach-vs-vinegar-mold-removal

    And if in the end this doesn't really work for you, get a small crock pot and just leave it on low all winter. I've done if for years. You have no mold or mildew problem as long as the water is at least on low heat around the clock and it's super easy to clean. No filters or small parts like humidifiers. However, you lose the aesthetics of a prettier solution.

    I can't be bothered with the work and consumables involved in owning regular humidifiers. For the moment, I'm sticking with the Aqua Stone for its size and portability and I will report back in approximately two weeks to let you know how I've used it and if I've seen any mold issues. I doubt I will have any.

    I plan to take the porous stone out during the day when I am out and about so that it can completely air dry. Then in the evening when I'm home again, just place it in a fresh bowl of water.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 27, 2015

      Angie

      Wow great tip. I plan to take mine out of the bowl when I'm gone too. Just bought mine from Bed Bath and Beyond and they waived the S&H. Love them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy.

    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I bought it and it started to make the paint on my walls peel. Even when I moved in away from the wall, it made the ceiling paint peel. My room is an open concept room and it has very high ceilings so it has to travel far for it to reach the ceiling. So I do not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 1, 2014

      Elana Hudson

      I guess that means it works! I could smell water in my air and it was evaporated by the next day. Really like it!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Mold is not healthy

    • Jul 31, 2015

    I bought the Aqua stone and used bottled water. However, the problem is that mold with black and pink specs forms. When I pick up the stone, it feels so slimy.

    I tried to wipe the stone with bleach and water using a rag and it took care of the mold but only for a short period of time.

    I ended up throwing it away. I want to breath in fresh air not mold

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Dummies in humid states.

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    All the bad reviews were from people in states that already have humidity. Bah. This Aqua Stone rocks. I live in the dry desert and I set it on the night stand. Boom. Humidity by the bedside. I feel great, look great and no mold. People in Washington state, are you kidding me with your gripe of mold? What were you doing trying to get humidity in a "rain state"? Aqua Stone serves it's purpose tremendously in naturally dry areas. I would buy 20 more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 1, 2015

      Cynthia Raufmann-Trewartha

      I live in Las Vegas and have been using this item for a while. It dries pretty fast, so I have been keeping it filled. It now has a mold ring around it! Yes, in this desert climate! I don't know what to do now.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 58

Write a Review for Aqua Stone!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review