About AquaTru Countertop Water Filter

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Apr 23, 2018

AquaTru Countertop Water Filter is a patented, 4-stage reverse osmosis system that promises to remove (or substantially reduce) all of the toxic chemicals from your tap water, including lead, chromium-6, herbicides and pesticides, and many other dangerous cancer-causing contaminants — without installation or plumbing required. AquaTru also removes 15 times more contaminants than the best-selling water pitcher filter.

AquaTru even claims their Ultra Reverse Osmosis technology is identical to systems used by major bottled water brands, just smaller (and without the potential microplastic contamination). Unlike these commercial systems though, AquaTru fits on your countertop.

To use your AquaTru, simply fill the tank with a gallon of tap water, and you’ll have bottled-quality water in 12 to 15 minutes.

This way, whether you’re at work, at home, or on the go, AquaTru provided us with strong certification to support their claims that their countertop water purifier can help positively impact your health and that of your family, as well as potentially save you over a thousand dollars per year by not buying bottled water. Not to mention the positive environmental impact, considering over 40 billion plastic water bottles are discarded annually into our landfills and other dumping sites.

After browsing the AquaTru website, you might be wondering if it's just an updated version of those old-school filters that used to attach directly to your faucet, or those pitchers that took forever to do their job. We can tell you upfront that it’s quite different. But even if this countertop water filter works better, does it still mean it’s a solid buy? We’ll explore it all in this review.

AquaTru’s Tech Specs

Overall, the AquaTru Filter is 14″ tall x 14″ deep x 12″ wide and consists of the following parts:

4 Different Stages of Filtration (in 3 replaceable filters) :

  • Stage 1: Mechanical Pre-Filter
    The pre-filter removes sediment and cloudiness (turbidity) from the water.
  • Stage 2: Activated Carbon Pre-Filter
  • The carbon filter removes 99 percent of chlorine and chloramines.
  • Stage 3: Ultra Reverse Osmosis Filter
    Removes toxic inorganic contaminants, including lead, chromium-6, and drug residue. AquaTru claims this is the filter that does all the “heavy lifting.” We won’t go into detail, but this article can give you a basic primer on how reverse osmosis works.
  • Stage 4: Activated Coconut Shell Carbon VOC filter
    Removes toxic organic chemicals and ensures great tasting water.
  • A back water tank that holds tap water and contaminated wastewater after the unit has completed a filtering cycle (this wastewater is then discarded from the tank and refilled with tap water)
  • A front water tank that holds the clean, filtered water. Both tanks are manufactured from Tritan BPA and BPS-free, dishwasher safe plastic.
  • Base unit, where the electronics and filters are housed
  • Power cord (similar to what you’d have with a notebook computer)

How Does the AquaTru Water Filter Work?

Before using your AquaTru Filter, the manufacturer states you’ll need to wash each tank with warm, soapy water and dry.

First, plug your power cord into AquaTru. Then, after lifting the side cover away from the base, you'll thread each of the three filters into their specific color-coded receptacles. Replace the cover.

Next, place the filtered water tank into the front of the base, remove the back unfiltered water tank, fill it with tap water, and then put it back in place on the base.

At the back of your AquaTru base, you'll flip the red on/off switch, at which point the device will start filtering. The company notes that you might notice some bubbles and cloudiness when you turn it on for the first time, although this is simply the trapped air escaping from the three filters.

Over the course of the next 12-15 minutes, the gallon of water in the tap water tank will turn into 3 quarts of water inside the filtered tank. The control panel will show each filter doing its job as the water circulates through them.

Finally, you’ll just place your glass underneath the front of the filtered water tank, press the blue button, and water will dispense. The clean water tank can also be placed directly into the refrigerator for cold water at the touch of a button.

Important note: AquaTru advises that the first time you use the unit, you’ll need to cycle four tanks of water before you drink anything.

How Often Do AquaTru’s Filters Need to Be Replaced?

Back to those old-school filters: Remember how quickly they became clogged and needed to be replaced? Will you experience something similar with AquaTru?

AquaTru’s website tells us the pre-filter and the VOC filter will last 600 gallons (depending on water usage and local water quality), while the RO filter will last 1,200 gallons. The unit will tell you when it’s time to replace the filters.

Let’s quickly carry these thoughts over to the next section.

What’s the Difference Between Water Filtration & Purification?

In one of the videos on AquaTru’s website, we see Peter Spiegel (more about him in a second) talking about outdated pitcher filters and other devices that only filter out a few basic chemicals, and therefore make your water taste better. Comparatively, he tells us that AquaTru can filter out 128 toxic chemicals and gasses, while dropping the word “purifier” on at least one occasion.

The terms “filter” and “purify” might seem similar, but they’re not interchangeable, so it’s important you understand the difference. As you might guess, filtration is the physical act of filtering something; i.e., to prevent something from making it into the water supply. In the case of AquaTru, this task is handled in a 4-stage process using its three different filters.

On the other hand, purification isn’t necessarily a process like filtration; it’s an end result intended to remove unwanted substances. But purification doesn’t necessarily mean “pure.” For example, if your goal was to remove just a handful of unhealthy chemicals from water, you could then claim that it was purified.

What’s the takeaway? While AquaTru filters and purifies, so do many other devices on the market (more soon). Where AquaTru really differentiates itself is the number of contaminants it filters out of your water and the fact that it can be done with a unit that requires no plumbing or installation.

Important note: According to their website, AquaTru is “designed to filter municipal water. Although the RO membrane will filter out micro-organisms and pathogens, it is not recommended for lake, stream or well water.”

How Much Does AquaTru Cost?

Currently, AquaTru is priced at $349, plus $19.95 S&H.

An additional filtered water tank that can be left in the refrigerator can be purchased for $50, plus $6.95 S&H. Perfect Minerals (drops that turn your AquaTru water into naturally alkaline mineral water) cost $15, plus free S&H.

Although the company claims that AquaTru can save you anywhere from $100 to $2,800 over the course of 5 years, when compared to the cost of purchased bottled water, keep in mind you’ll have some minor ongoing costs. The pre-filter and the final carbon VOC filter cost about $20 each to replace, and the reverse osmosis filter costs about $40. If you choose, you can save money by purchasing one or two-year filter replacement bundles in advance through their website store.

Finally, AquaTru operates off a 120 volt AC wall plug and uses about $2.00 of electricity a year.

What’s AquaTru’s Refund Policy?

On their website, AquaTru offers a full 30-day money-back guarantee and a one-year limited warranty.

Have additional billing or refund questions? You can reach out to customer service at 800-220-6570 or cs@aquatruwater.com.

Enough with the details. Let’s find out what AquaTru’s customers are saying.

What We Learned From AquaTru Filter Reviews

On Amazon, 83 percent of customer ratings (more than 40 as of 4/2018) were either 4 or 5 stars (4-star average). Most compliments appeared to reference fast processing, quality manufacturing, great taste, and excellent customer support.

The relatively few complaints frequently related to high price and results that didn’t meet expectations.

We did also come across an AquaTru review on NaturalNews.com, which admittedly doesn’t exactly have a reputation for journalistic credibility. Nonetheless, they claimed to have tested the before and after results using clinical-grade equipment, so we thought it was important to highlight their results:

“To test AquaTru myself, I mixed up a concoction of extremely toxic heavy metals and chemicals in the lab. After analyzing the starting concentration of toxic elements via ICP-MS, I poured it into the AquaTru system and let it filter the water. (It filters very quickly; far faster than gravity water filters.)

I then took the resulting "post-filtered" water and tested it in my lab using an Agilent 7700X ICP-MS instrument, which is a top-of-the-line laboratory instrument used by the FDA, universities and private commercial labs. It's sensitive to single parts per billion concentrations of most elements.”

What did they find? Some pretty astonishing results. For example, 100% of cadmium, cesium, mercury, and uranium was removed; 99%+ of copper, arsenic, and lead; and 92% of aluminum.

At the time of our research, AquaTru Water LLC was not currently listed with the Better Business Bureau.

How Did Peter Spiegel Come Up with the Idea For AquaTru?

So, what about the man behind the company?

According to the AquaTru website, inventor Peter Siegel used an under-the-sink reverse osmosis filtration system for more than two decades. He enjoyed the quality it provided, but understood that it was much too bulky to purchase, install, and maintain for the average consumer.

Instead, he set out to build something that could be used right out of the box to provide pure drinking water, “without the financial expense or cost to the environment.” Over the course of 5 years, working with engineers and industrial designers, the AquaTru Countertop Water Filter was born.

Prior to founding AquaTru, Peter worked extensively within the direct response industry, having founded the Ideal Living group of companies, which manufactures products like Paint Zoom, Cebria, Prosvent, and more.

Before wrapping up, let’s find out if AquaTru has any competition.

AquaTru Water Filter vs. Berkey

If you’re in the market to achieve high-grade filtration and store your filtered water until it can be used, your two top choices are arguably AquaTru and Berkey. How do these compare?

One of the first things you’ll notice is that Berkey is a gravity fed water purifier that is good for emergency situations. It typically takes hours to filter a gallon of water from the Big Berkey (up to 6 gallons) while AquaTru (3 quarts) filters a similar amount of water to a higher degree of purification in under 15 minutes. Berkey’s lowest priced model (1.5 gallons) comes in at $228, compared to AquaTru’s $349.

Each of Berkey’s models also come with 2 or 4 Black Berkey filter elements, which work differently than AquaTru’s 3-filter (4 Stage Reverse Osmosis) system. However, even the smallest Berkey model is 19” high, so it probably wouldn’t be considered a countertop model like AquaTru.

Is an AquaTru Water Filtration System Right For You?

As Peter alluded on the AquaTru website, the basic idea behind this device’s 4-stage reverse osmosis system is nothing new, as it’s been used in under-the-counter systems for decades. As a matter of fact, I have one in my home that I’ve enjoyed for years.

But, if you’re in the market for something that’s portable, that can easily fit on a countertop, and with a pitcher that can fit nicely inside your fridge, the AquaTru Filter system really is the only game in town. While some Berkey models might hold more water, calling them “portable” might be a bit of a stretch—not to mention that you might look like you’re setting up for a banquet.

Is the AquaTru worth more than $350, though? Based on online feedback and reviews, it appears that the majority of those who have purchased Aquatru seem pleased by its performance and quality.

Yes, it is more expensive than those carbon-filter water pitchers, but if you want to remove the majority of contaminants (as certified by the IAMPO according to NSF standards) and achieve better-tasting water, an RO (reverse osmosis) system is frequently recommended by professionals.

But if you’re not interested in the cost and hassle of installing (and maintaining) a built-in RO system, this might be a good option to consider.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

28 Consumer Reviews for AquaTru Countertop Water Filter

Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 28
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    AquaTru filters made in China. Intentionally obscured info.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    AquaTru filters are made in China. Yes, China. Avoid if you care about your life. There's very little information about this, and the company goes into great effort in hiding this information publicly, unless you ask customer service SPECIFICALLY about the filters after you purchase the product.

    They initially will tell you that is was designed in California, etc. They will even go into lengths to mislead you to think it was manufactured here as well (circa 2016 when I purchased mine).

    They then give you a pre-canned response about the filters having Berkshire Hathaway components, etc. But in the end, it's made in China, so there's a pretty good chance that those Chinese companies mess with the filter components. This considering the vaccine and food scandals in China nowadays, be wary about this product as well.

    Customer service has done nothing but spew the same rhetoric. Shaken former customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Tom. AquaTru is not made in China. Just like an Apple product, AquaTru is designed in the USA and assembled in China using high-quality components from around the world. All components have been tested and certified to NSF standards by the US laboratory IAPMO. I'm sorry if someone gave you incorrect information. In the past few years that I have been answering questions about AquaTru, I have never seen anyone say that it is made in California. We have never had a policy of hiding where different components come from or where the final assembly is done for AquaTru. I have posted countless times online the list of components and from which countries they originate. If you were told otherwise, it was by someone who was misinformed or didn't understand the true situation correctly. We apologize for this miscommunication.

      We have 35 full-time people who work for us in China. We worked with a reputable factory to set up an entirely new facility with a clean room to assemble the product. We are purchasing the RO membranes from American suppliers. We keep our own quality control people in the factory. We control the supply chain from A-Z.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Works great, filters last a long time

    • Wisconsin,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We've had this for almost two years. We have great water here, but I've only had to change the filters once, and the one that needs changing the most still goes longer than the 6-8 months. They recommend it. It works well, is easy to clean and we are very happy with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Great to hear that you are happy with AquaTru.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Works great

    • Washington, DC,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I purchased three units. I am very impressed with the filtration process. I actually tested the quality of the water via several test procedures which included: Hardness, Lead, Bacteria, Chlorine, and Particulates. Part of my Navy training! Test the hell out of the water! LOL. The test samples where much better water quality than the tap water. I was even shocked that a major bottled water company's sample had a higher level of particulates than the AquaTru system. DC water has extremely high amounts of chlorine due to a much older water supply system. Now, the unit does not have a UV system, but I was glad overall that traces of bacteria was not an issue.

    I have not had any operational issues with the devices. I have read other reviews and I wonder if the reviewers are following the directions, especially cleaning the units out weekly. Overall I am impressed with the product and will recommend them to others. Strong work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this

    • California,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very disappointed in this unit. For this extremely high price, including the unit and the filters, this unit should work. I have had it just over a year, and it is completely dead. The first one they sent me was used. The bottom is rusted, and now, in the heat of the summer, it will not filter any water. Prior to failing completely, the water tasted chemical like. This price is just too high to justify this poor quality product. I just spent over $100 on filters a few months ago. Why are companies allowed to sell defective products like this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 13, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Barbara,

      Thank you for the post. We are sorry that your unit from May 2017 is no longer working. We reviewed your account and can see that your original unit was shipped with the filters installed as we had some customer state they were hard/tight to install so we did it for them! We are sorry that you felt it was used and that Customer Service did not explain this to you. We did send you a new unit and a return label at that time. You did email customer service on 7/9/18 and they asked you to call customer service. You did on 7/10 and after troubleshooting the unit, we are now sending you a new unit for just replacement s/p as a courtesy as you are past the one year warranty and emailed a label to return the old unit to us.

      The rust you are seeing in the tank is on the underside by the magnet that is at the bottom of the tank and not making contact with your water at all. We are glad we resolved this for you, and hope you have no issues with the replacement unit. If you do, please be sure to contact customer service immediately as we are here to help you!

    • Nov 16, 2018

      Barbara P.

      I just received my AquaTru today. I followed the steps to set it up but it will not turn on.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great when it works, but...

    • New Bern, NC,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My issues are similar to a few others. The unit worked great for the first few months I had it. Then it began to have issues. The filters, although newly installed, had to be unscrewed then reinstalled, reset button held, and turned on again. This happened a lot and two of the filters are not easy to remove.

    It got to the point that even this routine wouldn't help anymore. I have to say that even though my unit was just out of warranty, AquaTru Customer Service did send a new unit...the first time.

    Now the replacement unit is out of warranty, and the trouble begins again. The same issues as the first one but this time, even though I use it a lot and religiously clean it every week, I noticed a bit of green algae forming in the corners of the clean water tank.

    I removed the tanks and flushed with vinegar/water, dried them and put them back in place. I turned the unit on and got one click then nothing. No lights came on, no bubbles from the tank, just one click.

    I went through the entire troubleshooting guide, did more troubleshooting with customer service to no avail. I was told that the unit was now out of warranty and there was nothing they could do.

    I have four extra unopened filters which are now useless to me, so I called back to ask for a refund if I sent the filters back. I was told that since I had them since January (six months) I could not return them. I bought three of them as the "One Year Combo" pack. I now have four brand new unused filters valued at $80 (plus the shipping) which are of no use to me, and an expensive machine which died prematurely.

    While this filter does an awesome job when it works, it is not worth the money when you have to replace the entire unit every two years. I will go with an under-sink RO unit from another company from here on in. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 6, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Donna,

      Thanks for the message. We believe you might have some water in the handle of your front tank causing it to turn on and off, as there are unit components in the handle. It is salvageable for sure! Please do the following: clean out the handle by placing the clean water tank in the sink and let the cold water fill the tank and overflow for 5 minutes. Remove tank, empty it out and shake it vigorously for a couple of minutes holding the tank upside down and right-side up. Dry the outside of the clean tank and place it on the base. If this did not help, remove the tank and the lid, let it stand and dry at least 3 hours on the kitchen counter before reinstalling. Please email marmstrong@idealliving.com and if this does not work for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    "AquTrash"

    • New York City, NY,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This machine is complete garbage. If you want to throw money away, I recommend you go outside, build a little fire, and toss your money in it. At least you'll get some warmth from it.

    We purchased directly from the manufacturer after someone recommended it to us. We've had ours for five months when it stopped working. It will work for a couple of seconds and then completely stop filtering the water. We did call customer support and they agreed to send us a replacement base for $19.99 shipping. I rather have them fix our unit instead of having it end up in a landfill, but that seems like the final destination for this. DO NOT BUY!

    I left the above review on Amazon and a company representative sent a response that I think is a stock one cause I didn't mention that it's leaking, which it's not. It stopped filtering water which is its ONLY function and why we purchased this. How can they sell a product that stops working after a couple of months and not even fix the actual issues? I would have been more than happy to send our base back to get fixed instead of tossing it in the landfill, which is what they actually said to us when we called them to see if we can get it fixed.

    We are so unhappy with how wasteful this is, and their business model is completely unsustainable. They created a product that literally is just garbage. We are making sure we recommend to all the people we know NOT to buy this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 15, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Roxy,

      Thanks for the review. I found my response for your Amazon post and I am sorry that I was not clear. I wasn’t implying that the unit was leaking, I meant that the handle on the front tank may have gotten some water in it when you cleaned it, which is causing it to stop and start as there are components inside the handle. When you received the new base did this resolve your issues? I also posted the following "Please email marmstrong@idealliving.com with the name and zip code used when you bought it so she can review your account and make sure you are being taken care of." Did you email her so she can help you? We are here to help you and do not want you to discard the unit. If you do not wish us to help you, do not put the unit in a landfill, the base is E-waste. The tanks are recyclable but you will need to throw away the unit's filters. Again, we are an email away.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my system two years ago. While it has worked rather well during that time, it is now not functioning at all, along with the two filtered tanks that leak.

    After speaking with a representative, who was courteous and helpful, she eventually said she needed to check further with a supervisor, none of whom were available, but stated that someone would get back to me.

    After receiving a call the next day, I was told that because the system and tanks were no longer under warranty, the best they could offer was a new system for another $150 plus $19.95 for shipping.

    While that may seem like a bargain compared to the original price of $399, I don't feel I should have to pay for the supposedly quality system that only lasted for two years.

    To say that I am extremely disappointed and, quite frankly feeling cheated, is an understatement.

    I wouldn't advise buying a system costing $400 that only lasts a year.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Wanda,

      Thank you for the review. We are sorry that your unit is not working properly. First, the unit has a one year warranty. Your unit was purchased in April 2016. You have a few things going on. Your filters may need to be changed. Two years is 730 days, and approximately two tanks per day is about 1460 gallons. Your filters are to be changed per the following: VOC filter after approximately 600 gallons of use; filter 1/2, Pre-filter after approximately 1200 gallons of use; and your filter 3, RO filter, after approximately 1200 gallons of use. At one tank at day, your VOC filter needs to be changed.

      Per the notes in your account, you were gone for a month and left the unit on.

      Long-Term Storage/Vacation:

      If leaving on vacation start by switching the unit off. Next, wash both tanks with soap and water. Allow the tanks to dry thoroughly before reinstalling them. When you have returned from vacation purge the system of stagnant water by running four full tap water tanks through the system. Once the fourth tank has been filtered the unit is ready to use.

      About the front tank leaking; notes show that it is leaking from the spout. Have you recently washed out the front tank? If so, you may have water in the handle and it is running out from the bottom of the handle by the spout. You need to remove the tank, empty it out and shake it vigorously for a couple of minutes holding the tank upside down and right-side up. Dry the outside of the clean tank and place it on the base. If this did not help, remove the tank and the lid let it stand and dry, at least 3 hours on the kitchen counter before reinstalling. If that does not resolve it, you may have a what we call capillary action from having the tank filled all the time…water starts getting sucked into the handle. If this is the case, we can send you a new one. You can test this theory as you have an additional front tank.

      Please buy a new VOC filter and try these suggestions and give Customer Service another call if needed. We are here to help you!

    • Jul 2, 2018

      Wanda S.

      Per your response, I think there is a bit of a misunderstanding. First of all, while I was away, I did leave the unit plugged in, if that is what "on" means, because there was no water in the unfiltered nor filtered tank and the switch was not on. Additionally, there was no information in the accompanying owners' manual concerning vacations.

      As far as the front tanks are concerned, I had followed what you are now suggesting, but to no avail. They still leaked!

      I understand the unit had only a one year warranty but to completely stop functioning after exactly two years, leads me to believe they only last a year.

      I also understand that a filter may need replacing but it is not my desire to continue troubleshooting the unit at my expense on the chance that it may or not work.

      At this point, I will have to discard of it. So thank you for two years of filtered water and a system that crapped out after that time.

    • Jul 3, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Wanda,

      Did you try the other tank in the unit to see if the unit will leak with it in place? Sure, we can understand your concern about the expense of a filter, but you do need to maintain the unit for it to work properly, and you were over the threshold for the VOC. If a filter needs to be replaced the unit will not stop working but it will filter slower. If yours is not working AT ALL, then clearly something else is going on. We want you to be happy so we will send you a new unit but please maintain it. For the old unit, please recycle the tanks, waste the base and throw away the filters. We will place an order for you on Thursday as Customer Service will be closed on Wednesday for the holiday.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • California,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got an email with a discount code from Dr. Hykman and decided to check this out. I played with an idea of making three payments but changed my mind and erased all my information before closing the window. Instead of the promised $40+ my card got charged $93 and I have been trying to get my money back for the last 10 days. An honest company will never need to do these kinds of things. This type of managing business comes from desperation not desire to contribute.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 10, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Lana,

      Thank you for the review. Our records show that you purchased the unit on 5/24 for $249.00 plus $19.95 s/p on our 5 payment plan of $49.80 each, plus $19.95 s/p, and CA state sales tax. We charged the first payment, s/p and tax of $93.28 on 5/25/18. Our records show that you contacted us on 5/25 stating that you did not submit the order. Our records show that you were refunded in full on 5/27 of $93.28 to the Mastercard on file ending with 9810 and you were going to attempt to refuse delivery or call us back for a prepaid label. Per the notes, you stated: "…is going to post a negative review since she misunderstood billing and thought we had lied to her." The order was refused on 5/31 per UPS tracking, thank you.

      We are sorry for this inconvenience. The issue is not with the AquaTru unit itself but with understanding the billing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Slow start

    When I started using my AquaTru, I was emptying the tap water tank immediately and also letting the filtered water tank get empty. I was getting air bubbles in the tubing. Customer service guided me through releasing the air bubbles, but it wasn't until the second call that the staff told me not to empty the water until I was ready to refill the tank. It doesn't say this in the manual, but it makes sense. Keep water in both tanks at all times! Ever since then I have not had a problem with the unit working. I hope this information helps someone. I feel good knowing I am drinking clean water, plus it tastes so good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Awesome!

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Assembling the filtration system was easy. The machine runs very smartly and quiet. With the issues that we are having with our water, I started shopping for a system. I found that AquaTru met my requirements: RO system and portable. I would recommend this system and, so far, I am very pleased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Refunded

    They ended up refunding the full amount plus the shipping for the new base. So although it took a long time, I'm satisfied with the final outcome. However, that does not change my review at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 4, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Thank for the post. Ms. Donovan. Yes, the filters are tight as we do not want the unit to leak. We did send you a new base for just replacement shipping & processing of $19.95 in October under our warranty agreement. Since this time you contacted us and advised that the replacement base was leaking, and you were no longer were interested in the unit. We refunded you for the $19.95 s/p on the base in November as well as on the merchandise amount less shipping & processing of the initial unit from January 2017 as a courtesy and did not ask for the product back. We are sorry that the unit did not work out for you.

    • Jan 4, 2018

      Patricia Donovan

      Yes, Chris, I should have come back and amended my review but, even though you finally ended up refunding me, it would not change the 1-star review.

    • Apr 8, 2018

      Jack Gillis

      Nothing but trouble so far. First, I asked for the payment plan but they charged my card the full amount. Second, they shipped to the wrong address. Third, the filter openings were mislabeled. Fourth, one of the filters was defective. Fifth, now that I have a filter that will fit, the unit will not power on. Tomorrow I will call customer service again.

    • Apr 10, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Jack,

      Thank you for the comments. We are so sorry for all the issues that you’ve experienced ordering this unit. Yes, please call customer service if you are still having issues with the unit, and they will be happy to assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Nov 16, 2017

    Don't waste your money

    I bought this in February 2017, and it has been nothing but trouble.

    1. I am disabled with little strength in my hands, and the filters are nearly impossible to take on and off for me, leading to #2.

    2. It constantly airlocks and the only way to fix it is to remove and reset the filters.

    3. Customer service is unable to figure it out, so basically said it's my fault.

    4. The ON/OFF button broke so customer service did send me a new base (I HAD TO PAY SHIPPING).

    5. The new base has leaked constantly and today the new unit totally quit working. Customer service is very very hard to get hold of; they will not help you via email so I am waiting until they open but I've had it with them.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 28

Write a Review for AquaTru Countertop Water Filter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review