About Arctic Air Cooler

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Feb 20, 2018

Using Hydro-Chill technology, Arctic Air Cooler draws in dry, hot air, while the evaporative water filter instantly transforms it into humid, refreshing air and removes dust particles in the process.

All you have to do is pour water into the 750ml reservoir, plug the compact device into any standard outlet or USB port, and the whisper-quiet, two-speed fan will start blowing. From there, you can adjust the digital display to the temperature you like, change the direction of the air vents, set the programmable timer, and even use the built-in LED as a nightlight.

The company tells us Arctic Air will continue cooling, humidifying, and purifying any space for up to eight hours on just one fill-up, while its 350W motor only uses the power consumption of a small fan.

Although we didn’t test Arctic Air ourselves, its compact size certainly makes it seem portable, and its evaporative cooling functionality seems like it would be more eco-friendly than using a toxic coolant like Freon.

But once you’ve handed over your money, will you find that it really does deliver maximum comfort, as claimed on the website? Is it great for any room? Are there other portable evaporative coolers you should browse?

Let’s kick things off by taking a look at the underlying concept.

How Do Devices Like Arctic Air Cooler Work?

Regardless of their size, evaporative coolers (also referred to as ‘swamp coolers’ in some parts of the country) work based on a fairly simple law of nature. HowStuffWorks explains it this way:

“Liquid evaporates by shedding molecules into the air, changing from a liquid state to a gas. As they become suspended in the air, the molecules draw some of the heat from the hotter air, cooling it down as the water and air find equilibrium. The process also cools the remaining liquid, as hotter, faster-moving molecules are the most likely to escape into the air.”

To accomplish this, these coolers use a fan to draw in hot air and pass it over water, whether in a reservoir or a filter. After the molecules have become airborne and cool down, the same fan then blows them out the other side of the device.

While this can certainly represent an efficient and eco-friendly method of cooling, as mentioned in the Arctic Air commercial, HowStuffWorks emphasizes that evaporative units come with a couple of potential drawbacks.

First and foremost, because swamp coolers work by increasing humidity, they typically perform best in hot, dry climates, such as the American southwest (ideally between 30 and 60 percent humidity, according to the EPA). As a perfect example of this, HowStuffWorks indicates that as of 2001, “only three percent of U.S. households had swamp coolers, but in the states along the Rocky Mountain Range, they could be found in 26 percent of the homes.”

You’ll also have to replace the evaporative cooler’s filter on a regular basis (depending on how often it’s used), and if you live in an area with hard tap water, the minerals it contains could eventually clog the cooler. And it goes without saying that evaporative coolers are a more eco-friendly option than standard air conditioners, but they still use plenty of water.

Let’s find out how much you’ll pay for this evaporative cooling functionality when it comes to Arctic Air.

How Much Does the Arctic Air Cooler Cost?

Arctic Air is priced at two payments of $19.99, plus free shipping and a $1 web service fee, bringing your total to $40.98. You can purchase a second device during checkout for an additional $19.99 fee.

We contacted several OnTel Products Corp customer service reps at 844-260-1487 to find out if replacement filters were available (and if so, how much they cost), although none could provide any additional information beyond what was available on the website.

With this said, all Arctic Air Coolers come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H.

What Do We Know About Arctic Air Cooler’s Manufacturer?

OnTel Products Corp is no newbie to the As Seen on TV industry, having been in business since 1994 and creating hundreds of hits, including recent examples like Handy Heater, Miracle Teeth Whitener, Breathe Easy Humidifier, and the Air Hawk Compressor.

They held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 30 negative customer reviews and more than 380 closed complaints, as of 2/19/18. Most of these revolved around lower quality than expected and difficulty obtaining refunds, although a representative responded with a solution in each instance.

Are There Other Tabletop Indoor Evaporative Coolers Like Arctic Air?

When choosing an indoor cooling device, The Home Depot emphasizes that—outside of climate—one of the most important factors to consider isn’t watts, but cubic feet per minute (CFM), which represents the volume of air moved by a fan blower. How to know how much you need?

They note you’ll take the square footage of the space you want to cool, and multiply it by the height of your ceilings. Then, divide this number by two, and you’ll have the appropriate CFM rating.

For example, if you need to cool a 150 square foot room with nine-foot ceilings (150 x 9 = 1,350), this means you’d need an evaporative cooler that outputs at least 675 CFM (1,350 / 2 = 675).

With this important detail in mind, here’s how Arctic Air Cooler matched up to some of its close competitors (tabletop evaporative coolers priced under $200) compared at the time of our research:

Model Price CFM Special Features
Arctic Air Cooler $41 Unknown Uses power cord (any standard outlet or USB), timer, adjustable vents
Kool-Down Evaporative Cooler $22 Unknown 32 oz water tank, adjustable air vents, powered by four C batteries
Honeywell Indoor Portable Evaporative Cooler $139 - $199 300-470 CFM Detachable tank, activated carbon filter, 50-60 dBA, 3 fan speeds
Evapolar Personal Air Cooler + Humidifier $175 Unknown (can be used in areas up to 45 sq. ft.) 750ml water tank, refill cycle 6-8 hours, lighted front
Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier $90 Unknown (can be used in areas up to 500 sq. ft.) Electronic Automatic humidity control, 1-gallon tank, corded

The Home Depot reports other factors you should consider when purchasing an indoor evaporative cooler include construction material (galvanized steel might offer both ruggedness and rust-proof capability), along with maintenance requirements (How often do the filters need to be replaced? How much do they cost? How easy is it to remove the water reservoir and clean the entire unit?).

Also, does the company sell their evaporative cooler at a competitive price? Do they support it with at least a 30-day refund policy, with no restocking fees? Do customers have mostly positive things to say about the company and their products?

Let’s take everything we’ve learned in this article, add it up, and come to an informed conclusion about the Arctic Air Cooler.

Our Final Thoughts About the Arctic Air Cooler

In the end, we’re left with a lot of important unanswered questions about the Arctic Air Cooler, none of which customer service was able to assist with. For example:

  • What’s its CFM rating? Will this rating really allow it really to cool any space, as claimed on the website? How long would it reasonably take?
  • What is the device’s sound level?
  • We’re told that it’s powered by any standard outlet or USB port, but can it be used while unplugged? If so, how long will it last per charge? How long will it take to recharge fully?
  • What are the parameters of the timer (increments, total length, etc.)?
  • How often does the filter have to be replaced? How much do they cost? Can they be purchased through the manufacturer, or through a third party?

Despite this lack of information, as we can see above, Arctic Air is one of the least expensive tabletop evaporative coolers currently on the market, and the company stands behind it with a 60-day refund policy in case it doesn’t meet your needs.

With these positives in mind, it’s important to point out that you’ll be responsible for return shipping, and you’ll also lose any fees associated with the BOGO offer.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Arctic Air Cooler

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total rip-off!

    • California,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Arctic Air as a Father's Day gift for my father. I hooked it up and read directions on how to operate it. I was extremely disappointed with this item! I do not recommend anyone buying this item. It's false advertisement; it does not operate the way it says on TV! Do not waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off

    • Show Low, AZ,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two units from them on June 22nd and it is now July 7th and nothing. My order number was 25953716, and the cost was $80.97. The order confirmation was from a noreply@buyarticair.com. There was no way to get ahold of them to see about any shipping information. So when my credit card statement comes in, I will dispute the charge for what good it will do me.

    How can this company still be in business after all of the complaints I have read? I only wish that I had been aware of this before I placed the order. I am 81 years old and live on social security, so this really hurts. Please, I hope many people will read this before buying anything from this company, if it even is a company rather than just some thieves taking advantage of unsuspecting people like myself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Arctic Cooler

    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The instructions tell you to fill the water reservoir, then let it sit for three minutes. I did so, then turned it on. Seemed to work, doubt it would actually cool anything other than your face. I then shut it off to move it to a better location, when I was presented by a massive leak. All the water in the reservoir had leaked out. I bought it at ACE Hardware, taking it back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Too right, it's a scam!

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Particularly if you are a Canadian, do not buy this! I ended up paying $165 CDN (with two extra filters at $20 for both), and I had bought only one unit, would you believe? I agree with what other people wrote. You will just throw your money to the garbage!

    I am very disappointed. I should have read the numerous negative comments before buying Arctic Air that I should rename Africa Air and not being far from the very truth!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy!

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two, thought I would give it a try. Well, they sent four, and T DOES NOT WORK. It cost me $50.50 to send back, they would not reimburse me for postage, so now I am out $50.50. And I just want to warn everyone else how bad this company is to deal with, and their products don't even work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Arctic Air should be called out of all the stores and online because it works for one day then it gives up, and leaks water everywhere. They are made very cheap, this is the worst product I have ever bought, I am still waiting on my refund, money back guarantees. Lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A scam

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered using PayPal over four weeks ago, and I have still not received it in the mail.

    When I call their business phone number (1-800-400-0388), I always get a pre-recorded message saying they are closed.

    After reading the reviews here, I am feeling like I was a sucker. Never again will I make this mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    They are thieves

    • Apache Junction, AZ,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They say $39.95, no shipping, however, when I ordered it they charged me for six and expected me to pay $140.00. They do not give you a chance to cancel until you submit, then they show you the bill. Then you're screwed. I told them to cancel and they will not. I went to my bank and had to file fraud charges against them. Be careful people, they are thieves, out to get your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Company lies waste of money and time total rip off

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband bought me two units on Amazon Prime for $78.98 total. Much higher prices than $40.98 for two units (price fraud?).

    The first unit was flimsy; worked one day and failed, and won't start, even though I am doing everything correctly, it doesn't work anymore. Unit two out of the box was broken and the electric connection USB cord was not soldered properly. So much for the 60-day money back guarantee. The phone number doesn't work on the pamphlet. So I use Google and find the company phone number and they tell me to throw out defective units and two new units in route (lies).

    I call Amazon two weeks later, and they say no units are being shipped and I have to argue with them to get a refund. They agree to refund in 3-5 business days, reluctantly, and I got an email that my husband's account will be credited. I don't dare throw out defective units until a refund is on our credit card. I am holding on to the merchandise in case I have to go to the state attorney's office. I wish I never threw out the first box and the insert about operation guide and 60-day guarantee, I thought it would be ok. The unit just visually looks pleasing but does not work! Just a piece of plastic without a working motor or decent cord and connection.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Tennessee,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The filter molded after just two weeks. The machine shuts off on its own. You have to sit within 6 inches of it to feel it and then it just a light breeze. I have two I bought, and they both shut down on their own. I paid $40 a piece on Amazon for them and neather Amazon or the company will give me a refund, so I'm stuck with junk. So buy at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Does NOT live up to the hype!

    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Arctic Air fan motor is NOT quiet, bought two of these units and the 350W motor is noisy on medium and high, and softer at the low setting, however, it doesn't blow much cool air at low setting.

    This unit goes through water like you wouldn't believe. There is NO way this thing can go eight hours as advertised on one fill-up of water.

    Very disappointed consumer. I would not recommend this unit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Arctic Air Cooler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review