About Arctic Air Cooler

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Feb 20, 2018

Using Hydro-Chill technology, Arctic Air Cooler draws in dry, hot air, while the evaporative water filter instantly transforms it into humid, refreshing air and removes dust particles in the process.

All you have to do is pour water into the 750ml reservoir, plug the compact device into any standard outlet or USB port, and the whisper-quiet, two-speed fan will start blowing. From there, you can adjust the digital display to the temperature you like, change the direction of the air vents, set the programmable timer, and even use the built-in LED as a nightlight.

The company tells us Arctic Air will continue cooling, humidifying, and purifying any space for up to eight hours on just one fill-up, while its 350W motor only uses the power consumption of a small fan.

Although we didn’t test Arctic Air ourselves, its compact size certainly makes it seem portable, and its evaporative cooling functionality seems like it would be more eco-friendly than using a toxic coolant like Freon.

But once you’ve handed over your money, will you find that it really does deliver maximum comfort, as claimed on the website? Is it great for any room? Are there other portable evaporative coolers you should browse?

Let’s kick things off by taking a look at the underlying concept.

How Do Devices Like Arctic Air Cooler Work?

Regardless of their size, evaporative coolers (also referred to as ‘swamp coolers’ in some parts of the country) work based on a fairly simple law of nature. HowStuffWorks explains it this way:

“Liquid evaporates by shedding molecules into the air, changing from a liquid state to a gas. As they become suspended in the air, the molecules draw some of the heat from the hotter air, cooling it down as the water and air find equilibrium. The process also cools the remaining liquid, as hotter, faster-moving molecules are the most likely to escape into the air.”

To accomplish this, these coolers use a fan to draw in hot air and pass it over water, whether in a reservoir or a filter. After the molecules have become airborne and cool down, the same fan then blows them out the other side of the device.

While this can certainly represent an efficient and eco-friendly method of cooling, as mentioned in the Arctic Air commercial, HowStuffWorks emphasizes that evaporative units come with a couple of potential drawbacks.

First and foremost, because swamp coolers work by increasing humidity, they typically perform best in hot, dry climates, such as the American southwest (ideally between 30 and 60 percent humidity, according to the EPA). As a perfect example of this, HowStuffWorks indicates that as of 2001, “only three percent of U.S. households had swamp coolers, but in the states along the Rocky Mountain Range, they could be found in 26 percent of the homes.”

You’ll also have to replace the evaporative cooler’s filter on a regular basis (depending on how often it’s used), and if you live in an area with hard tap water, the minerals it contains could eventually clog the cooler. And it goes without saying that evaporative coolers are a more eco-friendly option than standard air conditioners, but they still use plenty of water.

Let’s find out how much you’ll pay for this evaporative cooling functionality when it comes to Arctic Air.

How Much Does the Arctic Air Cooler Cost?

Arctic Air is priced at two payments of $19.99, plus free shipping and a $1 web service fee, bringing your total to $40.98. You can purchase a second device during checkout for an additional $19.99 fee.

We contacted several OnTel Products Corp customer service reps at 844-260-1487 to find out if replacement filters were available (and if so, how much they cost), although none could provide any additional information beyond what was available on the website.

With this said, all Arctic Air Coolers come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H.

What Do We Know About Arctic Air Cooler’s Manufacturer?

OnTel Products Corp is no newbie to the As Seen on TV industry, having been in business since 1994 and creating hundreds of hits, including recent examples like Handy Heater, Miracle Teeth Whitener, Breathe Easy Humidifier, and the Air Hawk Compressor.

They held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 30 negative customer reviews and more than 380 closed complaints, as of 2/19/18. Most of these revolved around lower quality than expected and difficulty obtaining refunds, although a representative responded with a solution in each instance.

Are There Other Tabletop Indoor Evaporative Coolers Like Arctic Air?

When choosing an indoor cooling device, The Home Depot emphasizes that—outside of climate—one of the most important factors to consider isn’t watts, but cubic feet per minute (CFM), which represents the volume of air moved by a fan blower. How to know how much you need?

They note you’ll take the square footage of the space you want to cool, and multiply it by the height of your ceilings. Then, divide this number by two, and you’ll have the appropriate CFM rating.

For example, if you need to cool a 150 square foot room with nine-foot ceilings (150 x 9 = 1,350), this means you’d need an evaporative cooler that outputs at least 675 CFM (1,350 / 2 = 675).

With this important detail in mind, here’s how Arctic Air Cooler matched up to some of its close competitors (tabletop evaporative coolers priced under $200) compared at the time of our research:

Model Price CFM Special Features
Arctic Air Cooler $41 Unknown Uses power cord (any standard outlet or USB), timer, adjustable vents
Kool-Down Evaporative Cooler $22 Unknown 32 oz water tank, adjustable air vents, powered by four C batteries
Honeywell Indoor Portable Evaporative Cooler $139 - $199 300-470 CFM Detachable tank, activated carbon filter, 50-60 dBA, 3 fan speeds
Evapolar Personal Air Cooler + Humidifier $175 Unknown (can be used in areas up to 45 sq. ft.) 750ml water tank, refill cycle 6-8 hours, lighted front
Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier $90 Unknown (can be used in areas up to 500 sq. ft.) Electronic Automatic humidity control, 1-gallon tank, corded

The Home Depot reports other factors you should consider when purchasing an indoor evaporative cooler include construction material (galvanized steel might offer both ruggedness and rust-proof capability), along with maintenance requirements (How often do the filters need to be replaced? How much do they cost? How easy is it to remove the water reservoir and clean the entire unit?).

Also, does the company sell their evaporative cooler at a competitive price? Do they support it with at least a 30-day refund policy, with no restocking fees? Do customers have mostly positive things to say about the company and their products?

Let’s take everything we’ve learned in this article, add it up, and come to an informed conclusion about the Arctic Air Cooler.

Our Final Thoughts About the Arctic Air Cooler

In the end, we’re left with a lot of important unanswered questions about the Arctic Air Cooler, none of which customer service was able to assist with. For example:

  • What’s its CFM rating? Will this rating really allow it really to cool any space, as claimed on the website? How long would it reasonably take?
  • What is the device’s sound level?
  • We’re told that it’s powered by any standard outlet or USB port, but can it be used while unplugged? If so, how long will it last per charge? How long will it take to recharge fully?
  • What are the parameters of the timer (increments, total length, etc.)?
  • How often does the filter have to be replaced? How much do they cost? Can they be purchased through the manufacturer, or through a third party?

Despite this lack of information, as we can see above, Arctic Air is one of the least expensive tabletop evaporative coolers currently on the market, and the company stands behind it with a 60-day refund policy in case it doesn’t meet your needs.

With these positives in mind, it’s important to point out that you’ll be responsible for return shipping, and you’ll also lose any fees associated with the BOGO offer.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

41 Consumer Reviews for Arctic Air Cooler

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Air Cooler

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I got the "2fer" deal, ordered right before I left on vacation. They arrived while I was gone. What a waste of money. Total false advertising. The advertising says to fill it and it’s good for 8 hours, but it's more like 20 minutes. I would have rated this product a zero, but it was not an option.

    I had missed the 60-day return date, so they will be donated to the Goodwill instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Arctic Air - waste of money

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Arctic Air from Bed Bath & Beyond on August 6, 2018. From the beginning, the fan only produced cool air. After only three weeks it starting blinking and it stopped blowing cool air. I checked the filter and it was filled with mold. Instead of paying $17 for a replacement, I went back to Bed Bath & Beyond and purchased a fan.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this cheap Chinese piece of crap!

    • Frederick County, VA,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought it at my local Rite Aid closing sale. It cost $10.00. It cools well for about two days and then it needs to be cleaned. I have seen the very same unit selling for $39.99 at Walgreens. It lists for as high as $89.99 online, lol. I have no complaints because I paid only $10.00 for the darn thing, but it leaks so bad that I had to put it in a large Corning Ware Bowl to catch the water. Another example of fine Chinese craftsmanship. I don't care because we'll be at war with those slant eyes within a decade anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this product!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this online and was excited to receive it. I plugged it in and it would NOT stay ON! I tried a few more times and it kept turning off. My friend said it seems the SWITCH is FAULTY.

    I immediately packed it up and sent it back in the original box to the address on the box. I spent $9.90 for postage. The customer service folks first said that I was to take a video of the unit NOT WORKING. I explained I sent it back already and would like a FULL REFUND. They then asked for the RECEIPT, which I gladly provided. Now they are telling me that I sent it back to the wrong address. They are yanking me and their product sucks. It is made in China and is plastic. Their customer service is awful. Why would I pay for a FAULTY PRODUCT? I just want a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Thailand,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t waste your money. These things are useless unless you are 12 inches in front of it you won’t feel anything. They leak too. Selling and advertising these is just another scam, lots of different companies selling them at different prices. They don’t give you a plug, only a USB connection and some, even charge extra for the lights inside which are of no use anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Leaked from the get-go

    • California,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I waited almost a month to get this unit and when I finally get it and try to use it, the water is leaking down into the bottom of the unit. I didn't notice it until my niece saw the water build up. I immediately turned it off for safety reasons. Their customer service through the Exclusive Deal Shop was nonexistent and useless. Buyers beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Arctic Air

    • Newcastle, Staffordshire, England,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is not worth the money that I paid for. It blows cool air not cold air, and it smells after a short period of time. If it is moved the smallest amount, it leaks, which is what I had never bought.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It works but it's a mold magnet

    • Boston, MA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The unit works as described. It's not supposed to cool down an entire room, but I use it on my nightstand or coffee table to cool down air around it. It DOES cool it down because, you know, science. I haven't experienced leaking at all, but I have experienced mold growth in the filter. It DOES use water after all, so I was expecting this was going into it. I have been having health issues since so decided to find out what it was, and low and behold, a moldy filter. I drenched it in bleach and hoping to give it another go. Filling the reservoir with water and a tiny bit of bleach might protect against the mold. We'll see. For now, just know that the "moisture attracts mold" this might be best suited for extremely dry climates but here in Boston it's already humid, so the mold growth is amplified.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I became very ill

    • California,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, so it is recommended that the filters be changed every six months and to use distilled water in the units. Well, after buying them less than a month ago and using them only for one week, in one night's time I became very ill from black mold exposer and am still not well.

    Please do not waste your money or risk the health of yourself, loved ones or pets with any type of device that creates a humid environment. Black mold infection can be deadly for those of us with compromised immune systems. I will be in contact shortly with the corporate office if Arctic Air shortly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Concerned with the black mold

    • England,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve only had the unit for 6 weeks and the filter is already covered with black mold and mildew, and there is an awful smell from it. I’m concerned, this cannot be good for your health. I am hoping to send it back for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it.

    • Corbin, KY,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On June 13th, I ordered the Arctic Air. After ready the reviews I emailed and canceled the order. On June 3rd, the money was taken out of my account. When I emailed again to cancel, nothing happened, so I called them, they said package had gone out and I could refuse. The package has yet to arrive and I can't get my money back until I return it. Their reviews are really bad, talking about leaking, please check them out before you purchase. Tracking shows nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a Review for Arctic Air Cooler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review