What Is Atomic Beam SunBlast?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Sep 8, 2018

The solar-powered Atomic Beam SunBlast claims to use industrial-strength adhesive to stick to just about every surface, including stucco, stone, wood, and siding, making it easy to install wherever you need super-bright light—without hassling with wires or pliers.

Additional features advertised on the website include a state of the art 120-degree motion sensor that picks up movement from 25 feet away, with a wide-angle design that covers much more ground, including the sides and in the front.

We’re also told that its heavy-duty construction delivers weatherproof ability in the rain and snow, and that its built-in Lithium-Ion battery quickly recharges, even on a cloudy day, so you won't have to worry about replacing batteries or high electricity bills. Then, this battery powers two LED flat panels that the manufacturer reports are super bright and can last a lifetime without burning out.

Based on what we learned from the website and commercial, Atomic Beam SunBlast certainly seems to come with a lot of features. But is there any competition? And if so, how do they compare? From there, how can you choose the best option for your needs?

We’ll deliver all the relevant details in this quick article, starting with the price.

How Much Does Atomic Beam SunBlast Cost?

One SunBlast solar powered light is priced at $19.99, plus $7.99 S&H. During checkout, you can purchase a second unit for an additional $19.99 fee, as well as an Atomic Beam Flashlight for the same price.

Expedited handling is an extra $9.99. Note: The website emphasizes that since the product contains a Lithium-ion battery, it can’t be shipped to P.O. boxes.

The ordering page also offers the opportunity to purchase a Deluxe SunBlast version for an additional $5 per unit, which claims to “shine brighter, illuminating a larger area in front of your door or side of your house.”

We contacted multiple service representatives at 855-668-1655 looking for specifics (How much brighter does it shine? How much larger of an area will it illuminate?), although none were able to provide additional details.

All Atomic Beam SunBlast orders come with a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, less S&H, along with any fees associated with the additional products offered during checkout.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Atomic Beam SunBlast?

As the largest company in the As Seen on TV industry, Telebrands (as well as their BulbHead retail division) has released hundreds of products over their more than 30 years in business. In addition to Flashlight and SunBlast, other popular models in the Atomic lineup include Headlight, Glove, and Lighter, to name just a few.

Fairfield, NJ-based Telebrands held a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, as of 8/9/18. This was based on 27 customer reviews and more than 280 closed complaints, most of which revolved around ordering problems, lower quality than expected, and less-than-stellar customer service. A company representative responded in each instance.

Are There Other Stick-Up Solar Powered Lights Like Atomic Beam SunBlast?

After browsing popular online marketplaces like Amazon and Google Shopping, we didn’t encounter anything designed exactly like Atomic Beam SunBlast.

However, we did come across a handful of models promising many of the same core features, including stick-up installation, motion sensors with at least 25-foot sensing ranges, heavy-duty weatherproof construction, Lithium-ion batteries, LED chips built into panels, and super-bright illumination. Here were some of the more popular choices:

Brand Price Special Features
Atomic Beam SunBlast $27.98; $19.99 each additional light 270° wide-angle sensor, 25 ft detection range
Swiftly Done Bright Solar Power Outdoor LED Light $15, Amazon Dim light remains on when no motion, which activates once detected
SolarBlaze Super Bright LED Security Lighting $19, Amazon Includes optional mounting screws
Zookki 82 LED Outdoor Solar Motion Sensor Light $41 (two-pack), Amazon Up to 1640 lumens (20 LEDs on each side), off switch in back, extra large solar panel, IP65 waterproof capability, 125° detection angle, 270° lighting angle
LITOM 24 LED Outdoor Solar Light $32.99 (two-pack), Amazon 24 LEDs, 200 sq. ft. illumination range, remains on for 20 seconds once activated

Because this is just a small sampling of the potential competition, how can you choose which of these options will best meet your needs, before handing over your hard-earned money?

Houzz (writing as a contributor for Forbes) emphasizes that—ideally—you’ll want to use solar powered spotlights and floodlights near doors, in the driveway, and even in the garden. But, because of the weaker illumination, these lights tend to put out (about that of a 40-watt incandescent bulb), you might want to double or triple-up on them to provide sufficient illumination for your needs.

Along these same lines, they recommend at least eight hours of direct sun per day in any location where you're considering a solar-powered light. Otherwise, the cells might not fully charge the batteries, resulting in weak, short-lived illumination after the sun goes down.

As with any other product, the price is usually a factor when choosing an outdoor solar light. And we can see from the table above that, at about $30 for one unit, Atomic Beam SunBlast is the most expensive close competitor in our list. On the other hand, customers can purchase two of the LITOM versions for about $16.50, each.

Finally, make sure that any company you do business with comes with a mostly positive customer reputation, and stands behind their products with at least a 30-day refund policy.

Is Atomic Beam SunBlast the Right Solar Powered Outdoor Security Light for You?

The fact of the matter is that Atomic Beam SunBlast comes with a meaningfully higher price than many competitors, and customer support wasn’t able to provide additional insight into its essential specs (e.g., the number of lumens it emits, how long the light remains on after activation, the total square footage it will illuminate, etc.)

However, it also comes from a manufacturer with decades in the business and who has a mostly positive online customer reputation, as well as who offers a 30-day satisfaction guarantee on all purchases.

Just remember that if you’re not pleased with its lighting performance, you’ll immediately lose your original $7.99 shipping charge, as well as any fees associated with the BOGO or additional product offers—plus whatever it’ll cost you to ship your light(s) back to Telebrands.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Consumer Reviews for Atomic Beam SunBlast

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    What a SCAM product, no vendor support

    • Florida,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To date, I have bought a total of seven of these units (both for myself and some friends), all which have failed between 12 to 48 hours after initial use. Took the units off and tried them again in the house and still they were DEAD! Vendor will not do anything unless they are returned in their original packaging. These units are a piece of junk and the FALSE ADVERTISING on TV should be removed, period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this product!

    • California,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got it home, took it out of the package (brand new from Walmart).

    It does not work. Don't waste your money. Glad I got it from Walmart, now I can take it back to get my money.

    Wish there was zero stars option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Westfield, IN,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought two of them. One worked for five days, the other for one day. A total waste of my money! Seriously! Why are they even allowed to sell such a crappy product?! People rely on manufacturers and distributors to have the public's best interest; not with this product! Simply abhorrent!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this product

    • Adelaide, South Australia,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one of these lights in October. By December, it no longer worked. I bought from Australia Post Office, but they weren't interested in sorting out a warranty, just sent me to the wholesaler. The wholesaler said not interested, go back to the retailer. It's a scam. Do not buy this light. Just seen all these other reviews and they all confirm my opinion. I could have bought a cheap light for a third of the price and got the same service life from it. Do not buy an Atomic Blast solar light.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    What a scam!

    • Texas,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It worked for two weeks in the same location as my other solar powered lights, then they quit and have not turned on. A total waste of my money and time. DON'T BUY THIS JUNK. My other lights are still working but not the Atomic "BS" Beam. They are just taking up space and no functionality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Knoxville, IA,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like several of the reviews that I have seen (unfortunately after my purchase), this product worked for one night and that was it. I had it in full sunlight, so there was no excuse for not recharging. I purchased the light at a Walmart store as opposed to online.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    • Hopetoun, Victoria, Australia,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got two, both only lasted three days. The first only worked one night on the garage in the sunlight, the second went two days on the fence mounted on a bracket

    And in the sun all day. It will cost me a fortune to post it back. Certainly no help for a pensioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two lights and both worked for two nights, then nothing. I returned the product and they were replaced - one has worked for one night only, the other is still working (three nights). Very disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your money

    • Kearney, MO,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I installed the light at a good working location where it gets a lot of sun to charge the batteries, and it only worked a few times. I installed two lights at the same time and both do not work. Do not buy, they are junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    They only work once or twice

    • Maine,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The light only lit once. I called customer service and they asked where and how it was installed, was the switch on, was the unit clean, and was it in the sunlight. They sent me another light; I did not have to send the first light back. I got the second light and this light worked twice. I think (this is my opinion) the lights have dead batteries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one to see how good it works. It worked for one night. So I took it down and brought it in the house to see if it still worked. It did, so I put it back up. I bought two more and put them on my garage with the other one. I came home the next night and neither one worked. I think it's the on/off button on the back. It turned off when I put them up. They came on in the house. So maybe the button shouldn't be in the back. Either on the side or bottom. I'm taking them back for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for Atomic Beam SunBlast!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review