• 45 Customer Reviews
  • 16% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 20% 1 star: 71%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Houses not REALLY for sale!

    • By Sarah,
    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Dec 4, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have only tried to buy one home on auction.com, but I don't believe they are actually selling the homes they list. First, I've noticed that the same house will go up for auction 2, 3, or even 4 times, this should have been a warning.

    We bid on a house that had previously been on MLS. We had tried to contact the realtor but she wouldn't return our calls. We had been by the house and knew that it was vacant and had even been winterized.

    We won the bid. The seller came back and wanted a higher offer -- not a counter offer -- just said "offer more or we'll reject it." We increased our offer and the auction.com guy said it was above the reserve so they should take it.

    We then got a call from the listing realtor ranting that we couldn't have bought the house because she had a buyer. Then she said she was going to "undo" our auction.com deal. THEN she offered us 5 thousand to flip the house to her if we DID get it!

    Apparently she was able to "undo" our deal with the bank, because they rejected it again saying that the house had recently become vacant so they wanted more for it. Not true! The people were evicted and the writ served more than 2 weeks before the auction.

    They have now put the house BACK on the website but we're through with trying to deal with them, except they won't return our earnest money. No reason -- just won't return our calls and won't contact the title company.

    I think auction.com is fishing for buyers and that neither the reserve price or the winning bids mean anything. It sounds like they're not really authorized to sell the house at all -- they're just getting offers from the bidders and presenting them to the banks and hoping maybe they'll take the offer. Don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad Business Tactics

    • By Disheartened,
    • Morganton, NC,
    • Nov 11, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm going to the closing table tomorrow, and I have to say, I'm not happy. They tacked on several fees that my attorney said they had never seen anyone add to the buyers fees. They only have communication with the buyer when they demand your earnest money and signatures on the contract. Then you won't hear from them again. They have bad customer service, and I believe use unlawful tactics such as requiring you to use their title company. They also so to great lengths to keep you out of the property until closing. I will never use them again. Period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Auction.com is a scam

    • By Jun Ma,
    • Indiana,
    • Apr 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can not believe that such practice even survived so long in the United States. I want to warn anybody who are thinking to buy from Auction.com. There are several things you need to pay attention to. First, when you bid online, the Auction.com will bid against to raise the price. If your bid does not meet the reserve, they will keep up bidding against you. If nobody wins the bid, they will post the property one day later. Second, Auction.com has terrible closing services. You need to be careful what you signed for. Usually, you will have to pay the closing cost for the seller. The closing agency they are using is called Service Link. Both Auction.com and Service Link have terrible services. They only want money. They do not want to do the work. Most important, you need to ask them whether they have the key to the property. Our experience is that we paid everything for the closing and waiting for the key. Auction.com told us that they do not have key to the property. You have to break the door to gain access.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraud

    • By Tammy,
    • Maryland,
    • Oct 11, 2015

    Do not bid on this property, The property is listed at 1,375 SF but is actually 850 SF. My realtor measured the entire first floor. She and I notified Auction.com and the listing agent that the listed SF was incorrect and they refuse to change it. At first I won the bid and it was listed as a 3-bedroom and 1 bath but the property only had 2 bedrooms and they refuse to except a lower bid. The property was relisted and I bid again. This has been going on for a month now.

    Auction.com told me that they put in bids for the seller to up the price so whenever you bid they are going to out bid you until they get what the want. NOW yesterday the bid was at 45K and I put in 83K. Then I received a call from Auction.com wanting me to put in a higher bid. When I refused to do it, they stop me from bidding and left my bid so people could bid higher. This is fraud.

    Property Details: (217 Mchenry Ave, Baltimore, MD 21208)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Probably not worth the effort

    • By Anonymous,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    I did make a good return using auction.com - once. Ever since then I've participated in numerous "auctions" that ended up this way:

    1) Properties were bid way beyond the price necessary for a reasonable risk-adjusted return.

    2) The auction did not expire when it was supposed to, instead being extended presumably (but not verifiably) to "reserve not met."

    3) Most interestingly, probably the majority of properties were relisted! So whomever won the bid actually did not get the property, supporting the suspicion that auction.com does not actually have seller involvement until they bring their final price to them for approval.

    We have decided to no longer use auction.com because we need to invest our own time in due diligence on their listed properties, which takes time, but have a very low chance actually of obtaining them. The effort investment in using auction.com is therefore not worth its expected return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Read between the lines

    • By Lin,
    • Middouri,
    • Feb 26, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Auction.com identifies itself as a "Market Validation Program" (MVP). MVP is just a label to disguise a strategy to drive up the real estate market.

    This potentially benefits most everyone EXCEPT the buyer (although they hope to convince buyers it is to their benefit otherwise the strategy fails) and tax payers.

    It breaks down as follows;

    -Buyer's potentially loose the advantage of low competition by competing in a broader buyer base and are encouraged to bid against themselves. As for the MVP service's so called "definitive decision date", it as NOT a sale date but only a deadline for whether the offer will be approved by the lender.

    -Lender potential benefits: The MVP service provides a way to potentially inflate the selling price of short sale properties.

    -Agents potentially could be eligible for higher commissions.

    -Sellers may appreciate a quicker sale and a pause of any foreclosure action.

    -Community potential benefits: Potentially higher sales prices would lift the "fair market value" and the local tax base (thru increased taxes), which can benefit local schools and infrastructure within the community.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hurry Up And Wait

    • By Maria Carson,
    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Oct 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hurry up and wait has been my experience with Auction.com so far. I won the winning bid in the middle of July. The first thing they do is send you a very lengthy contract that you should be able to have a lawyer review but they only give you 2 hours to sign and return it or you lose the chance to buy the home. Then they give you 2 days to wire the earnest money and any other paperwork they send you must be taken care of right away.

    I was told that we could close on the house in 30 days since it is a cash deal. We were scheduled to close on August 15 but told a few days before that date that we would not be able to because the seller (bank) had not signed and returned the sale contract. I was then scheduled to close in another 30 days which did not happen because I was told that the seller (bank) has not returned the deed but on the extended contract, I could clearly see that the seller had signed the sales agreement in plenty of time to close on the first original date. I am on my fourth time having them extend the closing date which they say is due to them not receiving the deed back from the bank which frankly I don't believe because they have already lied to me once.

    Unfortunately, it is easy to believe they would lie because of the customer service. I have been given the name and number of a few contact people during different parts of this process and anytime I've tried to reach out to any of these special people I've always got an answering machine with a message that my call would be returned within 24 hours. My calls have not been returned once! It's a joke, I don't know why they bother to give you these numbers? So here I am waiting until they are good and ready to let me finish this deal. I will write again to up date on my progress.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bogus live auctions

    I wasted at least four days researching a property that was coming up for a live sale. I did a title search, drove by the property, and went ahead and got a cashiers check for 20 grand made out to Intercounty Judicial Sales Corp. I was ready to go and bid on a property live.

    Anyway, I called Auction.com to make sure the check was made out to the proper company and to verify the location of the auction. Well, to my surprise the address listed on their site hasn’t had an auction their for over a year. I called Auction.com to report the bad information, and they were extremely rude. On top of that, they lied to my face and told me the auction was being held at the public safety building at 400 W State Street. Again no auction being held. I then asked them for the company's phone number, which they declined to give me.

    Do yourself a favor and don’t waste your time with this deceitful company, they are definitely no good. Consumer beware. Because of this company’s shady tactics, I would never ever bid on one of their properties online. They are worse than any politician or sleazy used car salesman. Do not believe anything they tell you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 2, 2018

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with Auction.com. Auctions in your area are conducted by a third party and can be held wherever the trustee chooses, and information can change at any time, as noted by the Notice of Sale. As Auction.com does not conduct the sale, we are solely marketing this information on behalf of the trustee. Our website may not always accurately reflect the appropriate auction location. We recommend calling the additional contact(s) included at the bottom of the property details page before heading to auction.


  • Looks like a scam

    • By Jessa,
    • Mississippi,
    • Feb 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried bidding on a house, and the auctioneer was the only one bidding against me. They want you to keep bidding even if you have already reached the seller's reserved price so that they can get more percentage. It should be illegal for the auctioneer to counterbid the real bidders.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rigged auction

    • By M K.,
    • Union, NY,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's not really an auction as you are bidding against their own site's computer. It automatically bids up and adds time at the end of the auction even if you are the only one bidding so as to get their reserve price. Why don't they just tell the minimum price needed than having the "auction" over and over until their price is met?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 17, 2018

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Thank you for your comment, but please allow us to clarify your comments as they are not entirely accurate. As disclosed in the Auction.com participation terms and property details page, Auction.com is permitted to bid on behalf of the seller up to, but shall not exceed the reserve price. Counter bidding on behalf of the seller extends the auction for assets that have not reached the reserve price and would otherwise end unsuccessfully. By extending the auction, it increases the likelihood that the auction may end successfully. This practice benefits the bidder by increasing the likelihood that the auction will produce an offer that the lender is willing to accept. Please let us know if you have questions.


  • Total scam!

    • By Lexi L.,
    • White Bear Lake, MN,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I won a bid on a house back in August 2018 only to find out months later that they gave FALSE INFORMATION (it was advertised as REO, meaning real estate owned). How is selling a house that isn't even YOURS YET legal?! Because of this misrepresentation, it took 3 months for them to get their information together for closing only to find out that they were trying to sell the house for MUCH MORE than what was owed on the property in the first place! Information that would have been NICE TO KNOW THREE MONTHS AGO when we were originally supposed to close! Only an idiot is going to sign themselves up to potentially lose thousands of dollars if the house is redeemed during the 6-month redemption period, which can often times happen!

    BUT WAIT, it gets WORSE. After all of the misrepresentation and lies, they threaten to keep the earnest money deposit of over $8k. On top of that, I see the house listed on Auction.com right now to be sold again, HAHAHAHA. And would you believe they are still hoarding our $8k earnest money deposit?! SCAMMERS. BEWARE.

    Also, if you are reading this and the same thing is happening to you, don't go down without a fight. I am hoping to take them to court. Best of luck Auction.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 30, 2018

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi Lexi. Would you mind sending us an email to connect@auction.com with the property address and the buyer's email address so I can look into this for you?


  • Auction.com bidding is rigged

    • By HCWHunter,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went to a live auction run by Auction.com today in Corona, CA. Out of 150 properties on the board, only 14 actually went up for auction, the rest were either canceled or postponed. Of the 14 that went to auction, around 8 to 10 were "won" by creditors and the auctioneer made that clear. I think there are shill bidders in the back of the room that bid against investors to get the price up to some pre-determined reserve.

    There are several helpers roaming the room trying to entice higher bids. I think banks use auction.com to try to sell less desirable foreclosure or REO properties sight unseen to unsuspecting buyers and investors. We had a budget and once the bidding got above our budget we stopped bidding so we didn't win the property.

    When I checked on a real estate sold online website later that day, the property that was supposedly "bought" by the creditor didn't show up on the list as sold. There may be some good deals to be had on auction.com but buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Another reason why Auction.com is bad

    • By Barry s.,
    • Irvine, CA,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading bad reviews about Auction.com, it's a wonder that they still operate, but then it's all in the numbers.

    A property in Mastic Beach, NY keeps getting listed on this website. The first auction brought in the highest amount of money but the bank said that it wasn't enough money (reserve NOT MET). Ok, I get that. The second auction came in at even less. I am not sure what the third auction did because I was not at my computer when it ended. I called Auction.com to get the final bid but was told that it was confidential. The bids are posted for everyone to see so that they can hopefully place the winning bid. I told the rep that if I was at my computer, I would have seen it.

    They are in the process of scheduling another auction. The trend was that every auction came in for less money. The sad part is that the bank should have taken the first auction because that was the highest amount.

    Whoever gets this house is in for some major surprises. One of the surprises could be the deal breaker, but the buyer won't find out until after the fact. See how easy it will be to evict a renter who is disabled.

    I never placed a bid because Auction.com has a contract that gives the buyer absolutely no rights.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your time!

    • By Tony Rangel,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly, you will waste your time going to most online house auctions. The price is never there.

    What they do is to keep you bidding when you don't know, in must of the cases, of the reserved price. And on top of that, they can bid as well against you to raise the price, making you the sucker! Just like a scam.

    I will be happy the day a government agency regulates and penalizes this type of business that the only purpose is to scam the customers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists

    I won the bid and started going back and forth with them regarding the contract. They were taking their sweet time and not only that, but when we got their "purchase agreement" we saw that they could not even get the buyer properly listed on it. They are a group of completely incompetent individuals that care about nothing else other than enriching themselves, while hiding behind a long list of unscrupulous lawyers. When we finally got a corrected agreement, they insisted we get it fully signed and back to them in a couple of hours, otherwise the transaction will be canceled. But they took over a week to get us a corrected agreement.

    Also be careful with the settlement and title companies they use. The majority are their subsidiaries, their fees are exorbitant, compared with the rest of the industry, and their quality of work severely inferior.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraud!

    They list homes and say they're doing it for your lender, but your lender has no idea who these people are! It's illegal to advertise a home for sale for the lender before the Redemption period is over, and these people make it impossible for someone in Redemption to sell their house for a fair price because they claim to be able to sell it for way below market value, which is completely untrue. After the home is taken back through foreclosure it's listed with an agent, not with them because they don't have rights to sell it.

    This is a scam! Buyer beware. No wonder they have so many law suits!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's not an auction. Terrible.

    • By Randy H.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Auction.com is not an auction of foreclosed properties. Auction.com simply is the middle man to the lender with the goal to help the lender receive as much money as they can for any given property. Which presents a multitude of problems for buyers.

    Most if not all depending on your location, Auction.com homes do not have access to inspect prior to bidding. This should be unacceptable to all buyers.

    Shill bidding happens constantly. It's not an auction.

    Auction.com does not provide lien information, title search or allow for a title search after an "accepted bid". You buy it, you pay for liens.

    If you "win" you don't really own the property. Your bid gets presented to the lender then they decide if they'll sell it. Or if they'll relist it, change the reserve, change the terms or a multitude of other changes, which by the way if you disagree with and decide to back out, Auction.com keeps your deposit they required for you to bid!

    Auction.com phone staff are mostly unprofessional and could care less about the bidders financial well being or outcome.

    A real auction is, bidders review a piece of real estate inside and outside. Potential bidders get lien info and all other financial pertinent documents provided then decide if and how much to bid. If they're the highest bidder, they win and closing is scheduled with the lender. This is not how Auction.com operates. It's a 100% crapshoot for buyers from start to finish. Why anyone would commit their money to this Auction.com system is beyond my comprehension.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      We’d appreciate a chance to speak with you regarding your experience. Please call 800-793-6107 Mon – Fri 7am to 7pm CST. Or email us with your contact information at customerservice@auction.com.


  • It’s not worth it...my first experience.

    • By Jane S.,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used an auction to purchase a home eight years ago. The auction was in person and I experienced what I have now learned to be, shill bidding. The home I was bidding on was in fair condition and back then we were going through a recession so you could get a brand new foreclosed home for $99k. I went to the auction hoping to get a good deal, but once the bid went over $80k, I decided it was too much and let it go.

    While leaving out, I was approached by an Auction.com rep and told if I wanted the house, I could have it for the $75k I bid. Without question, I purchased the home and within the first few months I found out so much was wrong with the home. I ended up putting over $40k into the home, renovating kitchen, three bathrooms, all new flooring, siding, and two brand new AC units because both went out within the first month. I walked away a few years later with nothing because I ran out of funding to fix everything in the home. The foundation needed repair, a new roof and so much more.

    This was my first time using Auction.com so I learned to do my homework and FACTOR IN EVERYTHING that looks like a possible. This home was a foreclosure so my belief is the banks don’t care about the condition of the home, they only want the money the borrower owes them, and it’s Auction.com's job to do their best to get it to them. REMEMBER, Auction.com works for the seller, not in the interest of the buyer.

    I’m sure they will deny shill bidding took place since it’s illegal, but why would the winning bidder suddenly disappear? I hadn’t even walked 5 feet from my seat when I was approached and told I could have the property.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Changed my life

    • By Kevin Pellon,
    • Poughkeepsie, NY,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have bought two houses from Auction.com and don’t understand these awful reviews. Auction.com has changed my life.

    I bought my fist a two-family home for $96k and closed in 45 days. I spent about $70k fixing it up and five years later I am selling it for $650k. My second house two years later was bought for $38k, and I closed in two months. I put in about $42k to get it livable. I moved in with my wife and got it appraised for $174k.

    This last year I won a two-family home for $53k, but after doing a title search, I found out the former owner had not been served the court papers correctly and was living in the house. So I backed out of the deal.

    The key is to do your homework. Understand there is a risk in everything and be fearless.

    As I read the reviews I feel like these armchair flippers are too scared to do anything and will see the problem in anything.

    Customer service? You’re buying an old house that nobody wants, and banks think it’s too far gone so assume it has problems then imagine it has more. Be ready to cry. But after that, you’ll see how the trouble is worth it.

    In response to some comments:

    It’s clearly not s scam as it’s worked for me.

    The $2500 on a credit card is charged as a penalty if you can’t pay for your winning bid.

    You have to do a title search just to make sure the property is clear.

    We closed via FedEx and never used an attorney.

    Good luck to you all! I wish everyone could reach their dreams as this site allowed me to.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 25, 2018

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi Kevin. Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience with Auction.com!


  • Horrible experience

    • By Amy M.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jan 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I found a house on Auction.com in May. The bidding started, and before the auction was supposed to be over, the auction was canceled. Then fast forward to December, the same house went back up on auction. It started on 12/19 and we placed a bid. The auction was not supposed to end until 12/26. On 12/21, the auction was canceled. And then by our surprise, it went back up as an active auction. We then placed another bid, and we went back and forth and were the highest bidder at 9:30 am on 12/26 and the auction was supposed to end on 12/26 at 10:26 am. We were excited and kept looking and then at 10:01 am the auction was canceled, AGAIN!

    I don’t understand how this could have happened...twice! I don’t even know if this is a house that is in still actually in foreclosure. It seems pretty sketchy. Bottom line is, I would not recommend, and we had a horrible experience, not once, but twice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 7, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi Amy. Thank you for your review. Auction.com provides marketing services for trustee and foreclosure firms and advertises the times and dates where the foreclosure sale will occur. In the event that a defaulting borrower resolves their loan, Auction.com is notified by the foreclosure/trustee to remove these advertisements. Cancellation of a property auction may be due to a mutual agreement, bankruptcy, beneficiary's request, trustee's discretion, or operation of law for example. Please let us know if you have questions.


  • Lacking

    You can find good deals here but be prepared for your money to be tied up for an absurdly amount of time. I purchased a property, and it has taken two months to close. As a cash purchase with no contingencies, it shouldn't take even close to this long to close. Another thing to consider is finding your own company to close. I used theirs, and they charged me over $1500 on a $7500 purchase!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Use your own lawyer.

    • By Robert G.,
    • Tazewell, VA,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I could write a very long complaint about Auction.com, there were so many things that went wrong but let me just cut this short. The auction process was not bad. We had a good look at the property before Aucton.com got involved and we knew what we were willing to pay. So at the near close of the auction, we began to bit. We were the only bidder and were led to the reserve price, which was about half the tax value. We won! Within minutes we were contacted and asked to file out some online paperwork and basically told we really needed to use their escrow company. We were told we would get free title insurance if we did, so that is what we did. That was the Big Mistake. Too many problems to even go over on here. We had our own local attorney review everything and were happy we did.

    Bottom line, don't use their escrow company for closing, just get someone local to handle the closing and pay the coordination fee. Oh, and that free title insurance, they tried to say they never offered it, but we held them to it. Even after we had paid for the house, it took them a week to send us the code to the lock box to get in, and the code was still wrong. The final straw was it took about six weeks to get the deed. Yes, get you a deal at Auction.com, but get your own closing attorney.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 22, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi Robert. Thank you for your review. We are glad you were able to win the property, but we are sorry to hear you had difficulties at closing. Reviews like yours help us to learn and improve. If you would like to share more, please send us an email to connect@auction.com.


  • Auction.com is incompetent and unethical

    • By Steve K.,
    • Oakland, CA,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A copy of my complaint sent to Auction.com:

    This auctioned was scheduled for 9 am. I arrived at 845 and registered. There were several Auction.com employees present.

    I asked whether this auction was on or postponed, but they could not answer. In fact, I wasted several hours waiting for an answer. I did get an email at 1:12 stating the auction was postponed.

    Comments re this auction:

    1. The employee who read the usual legalese at 9 am mumbled and could barely read English. His discussion was barely understandable. Look into it and improve the presentation.

    2. I have been to many foreclosure sales not run by Auction.com. You show up at the sale time and you are told immediately whether the sale is on or postponed.

    Auction.com wastes the buyer's time. The excuse offered was "poor homeowner, give him a chance." The homeowner had almost 4 months to cure his default.

    3. I have purchased more than 5 properties through auction.com - several million dollars. In each sale, my treatment by Auction.com was a 3 on a scale of 1-10. Besides the typical incompetence of Auction.com, I absolutely object to your policy of allowing the seller in online auctions to bid up the price. It is unethical, and it is no longer an auction. In reviews of Auction.com, many others have objected to this policy. Because of this policy, I have not purchased any of your properties in the last few years.

    4. Your disregard for your clients, the buyers, have lost you my business. Without satisfied buyers, your sellers will go elsewhere, and your business is finished.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Auction.com is rigged.

    Auction.com is rigged. A lot of shill bidding. I tried Aucton.com for one month, even for the same property twice, I could not take on the shill bidding and ended up buying from a realtor for less than my max bids.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They sold me wrong house pictured on website

    • By Tim P.,
    • Georgia,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw a house on Auction.com. I went to see it and liked it and won the house. The house advertised was the wrong house picture and legal address. The not so nice of a house down the road was the right house with not the right address advertised. I went to inform the people I'm the new owner of the wrong house I thought I won. She said I called Auction.com and told them they have the wrong house on the website but they left it on. I called Auction.com and they said read the contract, we are not responsible if we sell you the wrong house with the wrong address and picture as long as the legal description is right. When you look even today and it says you won this house, but I did not. Do I have a case I don't know, but maybe just a learning experience. If they were not greedy, they would do what's right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Service is horrible. They only protect the buyer.

    I had the worst experience with this people. After going through the running and the stress of submitting the signed contract, the proof of funds, and the earnest money within a limited time. After almost two months they send a cancellation. Obviously, the seller was protected at all times according to the contract! All the time wasted, and the wire money was a total loss. Shame on them! At least they could return the earnest money. Be careful with them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst auction experience EVER - unethical - and should be illegal!

    • By Stan P.,
    • Puerto Rico,
    • Aug 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Today, 8/21/2019, I bid on a bank-owned property. Starting bid was identified as $35k. As soon as the auction started, Auctions.com bid $45k. That is correct - Auctions.com bid on behalf of the Seller. No other bidders, so with about 15 minutes left in the auction, I bid $55k. Within one minute, Auctions.com (again on behalf of the Seller) bid $65k. I then bid $75k. Once again Auctions.com bid taking the bid up to $85k. At this point, I stopped bidding because there were only two bidders - myself and the SELLER! Once the auction came within one minute of ending, Auctions.com bid again which extended the auction another 2 minutes. This happened again and again for another 15 minutes or more until Auctions.com (on behalf of the Seller) had artificially bid the price up to $100k. Remember there is a "Reserve Price" so until bids reach that amount the Seller is not required to sell. And the reserve price is rarely divulged. So I wasted several hours of research and at least an hour in bidding AGAINST THE SELLER. Now Auctions.com has re-scheduled this same property for auction one week from now. Make your own judgment, but I'll never use this unethical service again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 28, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi Stan. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with Auction.com. Would you like to speak with our Customer Care team? Please call 800-793-6107 Mon – Fri 7am to 7pm CST. Or email us with your contact information at customerservice@auction.com.


Showing 1-27 of 45

Write a Review for Auction.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Auction.com Reviews