• 45 Customer Reviews
  • 16% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 20% 1 star: 71%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Terrible customer service

    • By I C.,
    • Alabama,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This was my first purchase, so I really didn't know what I was getting into. This was a house in my hometown so I knew something about it but knew nothing about the process. The customer service was awful at Auction.com. I made several calls to get information after the bidding, and I was talked to like I was an idiot, spoken to in terms that I had no idea what they meant and when I asked for explanations I got nowhere. I felt like this was intentional on their part. They rushed me to send the deposit money, but once that was done, I was in the dark until they got ready to talk to me. Thankfully, in the end, it turned out ok, but I don't think I will use them again simply because of the poor customer service, which is important to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 17, 2018

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Thank you for your review. We would like to extend to your our most sincere apologies regarding your experience with Auction.com. Your feedback will help us to improve our customer experience and we hope to see you back on Auction.com in the future.


  • Difficult to deal with

    • By Michelle B.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The company isn't a scam but things are not quite as they seem, and they make very simple tasks very difficult. First, it is not a true auction, they will bid you up to the reserve price behind the scenes, but if you read the fine print they admit to this. The worst part though is the way they handle their business. They are so difficult to communicate with. Calls go to voicemail, emails are like sending them into the black hole. They simply do not respond. They ask for you to do your part, they get right on that, but if there is an issue, they do not respond.

    Example: I had my side in order, but the agreement they sent had the buyer (me) written incorrectly. They kept calling and emailing asking me why I wasn't signing or sending my deposit, I kept replying and calling people to rectify the contract, we just kept going around in circles. Once we got past that the seller accepted my offer and I was never notified or given next steps. Then I get a call that says I am supposed to have everything done for closing, but they never told me that or what to do. We had to delay closing. Ultimately the title did not pass with my attorney and the foreclosure would not stand up to case law, so had I not had my own attorney review it, I would have bought nothing. So the transaction was canceled, HOWEVER, 6 weeks after signing the termination agreement, I am still owed almost $6,000 in earnest money.

    Every step of the process you have to deal with a different person, and they just don't do their jobs very well. It's a shame that so many foreclosures are now going through this company. Again, I don't think it's a scam, but I do think they will happily steal your deposit money if given the chance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shady, buyer beware

    • By Sam,
    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Feb 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We located a property on Auction.com that is near our existing property. We have been trying to buy additional property in the area for our daughter and her family. This one would be perfect, and it is a 5-minute walk from our house.

    We consulted our realtor about her experience with the site, and she said that her husband purchased a house through them. It wasn't an easy process, but he was ultimately satisfied with the process.

    So far we have been through two rounds of bidding, being outbid by their shill bidding process. The reserve has not been met yet, and we suspect it is in excess of the value of the property.

    The biggest problems are:

    1. The picture they have is not the house for sale, it is the one next door.

    2. The house is a manufactured home, which is not mentioned anywhere.

    3. The map location is wrong.

    If the home wasn't a manufactured home, it would probably be worth whatever their reserve is but, but it's not. I have pointed out the above issues twice to Auction.com. We will start the third round of bidding on Monday, and there have been no corrections to the listing. I guess they hope that buyers don't do their due diligence.

    I also was told that because the home had FHA mortgage insurance, so ultimately the Feds will pay the bank the appraised value of the house if it doesn't sell, so they have no incentive to sell at a lower price.

    I believe it would be safer to wait and see if the Feds do buy it and put it on the market. Then we will deal with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not the best way to buy a house!

    • By James N.,
    • Oregon,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have purchased a few houses from Auction.com.

    I have been a successful "house flipper" for many years now.

    When I first dealt with Auction.com years ago, they were pretty decent. I felt they were on the up and up, but times have changed now...everyone and their brother are out trying to flip a house like they saw on TV. Well, Auction.com is not going to help you get rich...

    It doesn't matter what the starting bid price is because it's not selling for that.

    First check online or with a Realtor to see what the listed price is. I have found the reserve with Auction.com is usually around 5-8% less than that amount, but by the time you pay your auction fees and stuff, it works out to be pretty close to the same.

    You NEED TO KNOW this amount because that is the price where you actually have a chance to purchase the home. Auction.com will AUTO BID the price up repeatedly to get the house up to the reserve amount, so they have a chance to close the deal!

    If you don't believe me, then just try it on your own...

    I constantly bid on a house and was outbid every time within 20 minutes. I waited for the same house to come back on "auction" since it didn't sell or meet the reserve numerous times, and I learned it would be back on in one week, pretty much every Sunday and would end on Wednesday. I seriously watched the same property 10 times, and as I write this, I am waiting for the next round, hoping the reserve will be just a fuzz lower because I really want it! But what I did was wait once, I waited for 2 days, and there were NO BIDS, so I bid at 1 am and yup, I was outbid by 1:30 am. This just confirmed to me that I was bidding against a computer.

    Don't get me wrong, Auction.com will sell you a house, but you just won't get that smoking deal that you think you're going to. Be smart, and educate yourself on the property and what it's worth, and know your limits, AND STICK TO THEM! That's the hardest part. Especially with their auto bidding computer. They will make you think, "hmmm...it's only $1k more...I can do that." HA! Later you win and go over your budget by $10k.

    Like I said in the beginning, I HAVE PURCHASED a couple of houses from Auction.com and actually closed the deals. I have also lost hundreds of auctions as well, and I am perfectly fine with that!

    Good luck!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 16, 2018

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi James. Thank you for your review. We would like to hear more about the property you are tracking. Would you mind taking this conversation to email? You can reach us directly at connect@auction.com.


  • Everything looked fine and the owner was very behind on payments.

    • By Jeremy P.,
    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a JOKE. You can’t get ahold of anyone, LITERALLY, the auctioneers and reps know NOTHING. Buy from them or just light your money on fire, more satisfaction watching it burn than dealing with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Signed up to bid - put down $2500 deposit - then property shown as sold in the future

    • By Gregory L.,
    • California,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Seems like a bunch of scammers. I've registered to bid a few properties - they have hidden reserves and auto-bid against you. Then I traveled 250 miles to check out a property on the 9th of March that I was going to bid - and then find out they show it as sale pending when Auction was supposed to be on the 11th-13th of March. Why do they not inform registered bidders? Are they just a bunch of crooks - appears so.

    Buyer beware, plus, there are loads on most transactions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 18, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi Gregory. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. Would you like to take this conversation offline so I can look into this property for you? If so, please send an email to connect@auction.com.


  • A nightmare

    • By Barry L.,
    • California,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a house from Bank of America through Auction.com. I found that my house is half on someone else's property. ServiceLink, their associate, had full knowledge. Stay away!

    A nightmare. Keep getting danced around. I am going to escalate everyone keeps telling me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time

    • By Tammi V.,
    • Minot, ND,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I read the whole site, performed my research to my comfort level on a home we had no access to, in or out. We were the only bidder 3 times it went up for auction. The third time the auction canceled in the middle of the auction. No one redeemed the home, I live in the area. Appears Auction.com has no seller agreement to sell and takes an offer to the seller in hopes they will sell. I see why no one else bid, this is a complete waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 12, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Hi, Tammi. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with Auction.com. We would like to speak with you regarding your experience. Please email us with your contact information at customerservice@auction.com.


  • Lack of communication

    Overall Experience:

    I've been flipping houses for the past 30 years and this is the first time I'm attempting to purchase a property from Auction.com, and I assure you it will be the last.

    I won a bid on a property through Auction.com approximately 5 weeks ago. I was informed that closing was set for the 29th of October. By the 20th of October, I started making numerous calls and emails to Auction.com as well as their recommended title company, which by the way are extremely rude. I was told that the only thing they're waiting for to close is the township inspection for the final CO (smoke cert).

    By the 25th I took it upon myself to go to the township to see if the inspection was done. I was informed that the inspection was paid for but never ordered or scheduled.

    The township inspector was kind enough to call Rosie from Auction.com at 818-906-9738 to inform her that the buyer here and closing is set for the 29th, and at that point, she scheduled it for the 26th, the following day at 1 pm, and she would have one of the representatives there to let him in.

    I made a point to be present during the inspection and all went well and passed. The CO (smoke cert) was emailed to all parties involved to ensure that we could still close on the 29th.

    Immediately afterward, I called Auction.com, as well as the recommended title agency, informed them that we're all good and ready to go and we got the proper paperwork, and I took it upon myself to make sure it gets done and we can close on Monday the 29th.

    That evening, I got an email from PennyMac requesting for me to sign a 15-day extension. I immediately emailed her back to inform her of the update and her lack of communication and the extension will be denied since I took it upon myself to do their work and I have other prior arrangements and I will not be in town. That fell on deaf ears, and she emailed me two more times with the same request.

    It is now Sunday the 28th of October, and we're supposed to close tomorrow the 29th of October.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 6, 2018

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Dear Mr. Bekete,

      Auction.com is an online marketing and auction platform for assets in all stages of the foreclosure lifecycle. These assets are each unique and may be participating in government programs making them eligible to participate in the auction process. Due to the unique nature of these assets, there may be additional tasks and requirements to be fulfilled prior to closing than one may typically see in a standard traditional sale. We have checked our records, and it appears that Rosie is an employee for the third-party property management company and was responsible for coordinating the required smoke detector point of sale inspection. Additionally, we show that the agreed-upon terms in the Purchase and Sale Agreement put the agreed upon closing date as October 25, 2018. Due to the dates, an extension was requested to ensure all required documents would be on file prior to the file funding. We show that the transaction actually closed on October 31, 2018, and the seller is still in need of the executed extension document in order for the file to be complete. We would be happy to discuss this further and address any questions or concerns.


  • What a waste!

    • By Adam D.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Auction.com touts all this info and access to foreclosed properties, but if you have a cell phone or use VOIP instead of a landline, you cannot even register for an auction. I have been searching and found some good deals, but then can't even bid on them because they can't verify my phone number? This has NEVER HAPPENED with a single company I have ever done business with! WHAT A WASTE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      We’d appreciate a chance to speak with you regarding your experience. Please call 800-793-6107 Mon – Fri 7am to 7pm CST. Or email us with your contact information at customerservice@auction.com.


  • Auction.com in contempt of court?

    • By Ed V.,
    • California,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am presently in a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy in Federal Court since May of 2016 and Auction.Com keeps publishing that my home is up for auction every month. My wife, children, and 80-year-old parents have had enough and contacted Americans Against Foreclosures (AAF). They have now filed an Order to Show Cause (OSC) why Auction.Com should not be held in contempt of court for violating the Automatic Stay in the Bankruptcy. We continually get collection calls, realtors and brokers coming buy, people outside taking pictures and trespassing on our property all due to the published content on Auction.Com. This should be made illegal in all States in the US immediately.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They do what they say

    Overall Experience:

    I've bought foreclosure properties from Auction.com. Their staff is friendly and usually knowledgeable. They don't have the greatest terms and conditions on their website if bidding online, since the terms are mainly just to protect themselves. But, they do a great job in person.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Something's up

    • By Melissa B.,
    • Arizona,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been following a property to go up for auction in Flagstaff, AZ. It keeps changing dates to later and later, well I just looked on Craigslist and low and behold for sale. Investor's dream!

    Was going for $55K, on Craigslist for $245k, who's in your back pocket?

    Sounds like crooked business to me. Will dig further into this as well as others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      We’d appreciate a chance to speak with you regarding your experience. Please call 800-793-6107 Mon – Fri 7am to 7pm CST. Or email us with your contact information at customerservice@auction.com.


  • Great house at great price

    • By Janis,
    • Clarkesville, GA,
    • Nov 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a home on auction.com 4 years ago. I am very happy with the home. I did get to go to an open house before bidding. I would never recommend buying anything unseen. I have been looking at some lately with someone else and some of them are in pretty bad shape. That is to be expected when they are repos. You never know what the tenant will do before they leave. But overall I got a great house at a great price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Auction.com listed home that was already sold privately

    Overall Experience:

    I recently listed and sold a home that was in the redemption period and sold on 9/26/19. My buyer sees her home show up on Auction.com and has people trying to peer in her windows.

    The photos they posted were from the spring which leads me to believe they wait for homes to go through sheriffs sale and list when the redemption period is up and don't bother doing their due diligence to see the actual status of the home. I called them and told them to remove it from Zillow stat! They said they couldn't do that. I reported this to Zillow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 13, 2019

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Zillow is a separate company than Auction.Com. If the property is also listed on Auction.Com, we would be happy to assist. Please call Customer Care at (800) 793-6107 or email CustomerCare@auction.com.


  • Buying foreclosure is risky

    • By Dave R.,
    • Federal Way, WA,
    • Dec 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have purchased 6 foreclosures. One through Auction.com, and the others at live auctions. In all cases, I was not able to get inside the property to do a thorough inspection. You can determine some things from the outside, but generally speaking, you should assume the house will need significant work, and that the previous owners knew they were going to lose the house, and stopped maintaining it and often sabotaging it upon eviction. This being the case, determine what the fair market value of the home would be based on comparables in the area, and bid at least 20% below that amount. Yes, the owner is trying to get as much as they can. This is true of all auctions. When the bid exceeds what you are willing to pay, stop bidding. Don't get mad. Stop bidding. It's business.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • You are not the most important part of Auction.com

    • By Eric W.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jan 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bid and met the reserve price. I went past the point of depositing $2,500 in an escrow account, there was a bank charge of $25.00 for the transfer on December 19th, 2019. As late as last evening I was told I had won the house. I transferred funds to the escrow as directed by Auction.com on the 19th, according to the escrow company in an internal email I was included on to a supervisor..."Can you check with the seller to see which contract they show is the one they are honoring? We have 2 separate contracts with 2 different buyers for the same property. Both with the same asset company." I'm out 3 weeks' time and a $25 wire transfer fee. On December 23..."The next step is closing, We will be in touch to assist you with the remainder of the process." LOL, I had to tell them that apparently it had been sold...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 14, 2020

      Company Response from Auction.com

      Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with Auction.Com. We would love a chance to discuss your experience by calling Customer Care 800-793-6107 or by emailing your contact information to CustomerCare@auction.com. Please be aware Auction.Com is a third-party platform for bank-owned properties; we do not own the properties but merely facilitate the sales at the seller’s request. By and large, the properties on our site are being offered exclusively through Auction.Com before they become available to the broader market. In rare instances, the property may be available through other retail platforms. As Auction.Com does not own the properties, we cannot prevent the seller from accepting other offers or influence the seller's decisions on how the conduct their sales.


  • Really BAD - REALTORS DON'T GET PAID

    • By Rose L.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I SHOWED a property listed thru a local realtor and on Auction.com. My buyer liked it and placed a bid. Refused two or three times. Auction.com has buyers, not realtors, place the bids on their site. Last bid accepted. The original realtor information put into bid was not carried thru to the last bid which was accepted by Auction.com days later and Wells Fargo won't pay the broker's commission. Don't waste your time. Besides other problems with these people (shills, etc.), this one takes the cake.

    BUYER wrote Wells Fargo and Auction that I initiated sale and worked on this about 2 months!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 11, 2020

      Company Response from Auction.com

      While an agent is not required to bid on Auction.com, agent partnerships are encouraged. You would need to check the property details page to see if a commission is offered. This is based on the seller's decision, not that of Auction.com directly. If one is not being offered by the seller, you can work out an agreement with your buyer to earn your commission. Please call our Customer Care team 800-793-6107 Mon - Fri, 7 am to 7 pm CST., or email us with your contact information at customerservice@auction.com.


Showing 28-45 of 45

Write a Review for Auction.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Auction.com Reviews