About AuraVie SkinCare

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 14, 2014

AuraVie SkinCare is a line of beauty products that are claimed to “contain a mix of clinically proven essential vitamins and peptides shown to reduce the signs of aging.” In addition, the products are claimed to help you “discover your fountain of youth,” and to keep “your skin healthy, moist, and hydrated.”

AuraVie SkinCare is based out of Van Nuys, CA, and while they are not rated with the Better Business Bureau, they do have more than 170 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear related to billing issues. Based on our research, online customer reviews regarding their products appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing failure to work, difficulty with the autoship program, and poor customer service.

How AuraVie SkinCare Works

Similar to Dellure Collagen, LifeCell, and Nuvie Skin Care, AuraVie SkinCare is a line of beauty products claimed to stimulate collagen production, which makes your skin appear firmer and more supple, while its antioxidants help prevent new wrinkles from forming. In fact, the company claims that AuraVie SkinCare can help take “more than 10 years off your skin.”

The primary active ingredient in AuraVie SkinCare products is Acetyl Hexapeptide-3, which has been “clinically proven to turn back the natural effects of the aging process at the cellular level.” As a self-proclaimed alternative to more intensive procedures such as Botox injections or laser treatments, the company claims that you’ll experience a “tremendous increase” in moisturization after just two days, and up to an 83% decrease in fine lines and wrinkles after 30 days.

The AuraVie SkinCare system is claimed to work over three steps:

  1. Apply the Purifying Cleansing Toner Gel, and rinse with warm water.
  2. Apply the Age Defying Serum to your “face, neck, and décolletage to nourish and revive” your skin.
  3. Apply the Day/Night Moisturizer, which uses NANO Time Release Technology to maximize moisture and provide protection while you sleep.

AuraVie SkinCare Pricing & Refund Policy

AuraVie SkinCare is available through Amazon.com and numerous other online retailers. However, if purchased directly through the manufacturer, you’ll be able to obtain a “free” 10-day trial by paying $4.95 to cover shipping and handling costs. After this time has passed, you’ll be charged $97.88 for the product, and will also be enrolled in the VIP Membership Program. This means you’ll continue receiving a 30-day supply of AuraVie SkinCare once per month, and your credit card will be charged accordingly.

In order to cancel your 10-day trial or to un-enroll from the autoship program, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-216-9336 or support@auravie.com. Keep in mind that you’ll be responsible for return shipping to the manufacturer if you cancel your trial.

Pros:

  • Claims to help increase moisturization and to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Claims to help take “more than 10 years off your skin.”
  • 10-day trial available for just $4.95 S&H.

Cons:

  • After the 10-day trial ends, AuraVie SkinCare comes with a very high price.
  • Automatic enrollment in the company’s autoship program.
  • Most common complaints cite failure to work, difficulty with the autoship program, and poor customer service.

Bottom Line

With all this information in mind, what’s the bottom line: Is AuraVie SkinCare a scam? While we don’t necessarily think the products are a scam, we did uncover several concerns during our research.

First, online customer reviews about AuraVie SkinCare appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing failure to work, difficulty with the autoship program, and poor customer service. In relation to this, the products are very expensive when compared to the competition, and the fact that you’ll be charged full price and enrolled in the autoship program after 10 days is only revealed in the fine print.

In addition, taking a look at the before and after pictures shown on the product’s home page, it’s fairly clear that they are Photoshopped, or at the very least, not true side-by-side comparisons (e.g. a “before” picture is taken without makeup, and the “after” picture is taken with makeup).

Next, the company claims that “the efficacy and safety of AuraVie SkinCare has been scientifically substantiated,” and while these studies are made available on the website, they may not be what you would traditionally think of as a clinical study. This is because, while the studies did include low and high echography to measure dermis thickness/volume, much of the results were subjective, as participants were required to fill out questionnaires based on how well they felt the products performed. With this in mind, it appears the only responses available to each question were “Very Pleasant” and “Pleasant.” In other words, there may not have been the opportunity for participants to rate their results any lower.

Finally, keep in mind that it appears Dellure Collagen and AuraVie are manufactured by the same company.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 18 AuraVie SkinCare Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    • Macon, GA,
    • Jul 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I believe this "free trial" is a scam. These two products, for aging, do not work. Jar of cream was missing from the order. $93 was charged to my card every month. Missing product will not replace without charging me twice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Yanceyville, NC,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The ad for a free trial for only shipping is a true stretch of the truth. 14 days after trial order, billed more than the price o line and additional product not shipped for another 15 days. Priced very high and limited use in the two-week trial was nothing but disappointing. The only thing it did for me was make my skin dry and peeling. NO THANKS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Unethical; Zero Integrity.

    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like every other reviewer, my experience with this company was a good lesson in how to get scammed. Disgusting abuse of business practices, bordering on fraud. Surprised that these low-lives can sleep at night. Feel sorry for the woman, Jamali, aka Agent 402, on the other end of the phone, who had to pretend to be doing a good job. Sad that she has to accept money from such a disgraceful business just to put food on the table. Really hope that she can find a better job, refusing to work for losers such as the people who call themselves the owners. If she is the owner or affiliated in any way other, then as a customer service representative, God help her. I am still gobsmacked at this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Boynton Beach, FL,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a classic bait-and-hook scheme that offers you a "free 14-day trial just pay $5.95 for shipping and handling." Well apparently in those boxes you click that signify you are over 18 and agree to the "terms and conditions" where they sneak in the terms you must cancel your free TRIAL or they will charge you $93.79 for their supposed trial they sent you. Interestingly, it is listed for lower on their website if you wanted to buy the product than it is to have the subscription. You are better off signing up for a makeup subscription box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    FRAUD

    • Olympia, WA,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid the $4.95 shipping charge but didn't try the "FREE" product. Our entire family became sick with a virus and I did not notice that the next shipment was charged. When two charges...$97.83 and $97.79(?) for products I never received were charged to my account on 2/18/2019, I immediately called and was told that they would not refund the charges at all. Paid but no product sent...that is fraud! I would not recommend them to anyone for anything! Now, what do I do...besides never go for these things again! I still want my money back from 2/18/2019!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scammers and crooks! Read the find print, this is not free.

    • Augusta, AR,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sign up for this FREE SAMPLE, all you have to do is pay S&H. It took the cream three weeks to get to me, then two days later they charged my card $99. When you call them, the foreign talking woman tried to get me to purchase more at 35% off. Please don't be fooled by to this ad, they're nothing but crooks. And when you sign up for this free sample, you subscribe for them to charge your card $99 every two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    SCAM.

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wendy Mesley promoted, thought she was beyond a scam like this.

    No mention of a 14-day trial on the website I ordered from, and no follow up with terms and conditions by email after the order was placed. Shabby.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Free trial comes with auto-shipment at high prices. Fraudulent phone numbers.

    • Calgary, Canada,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the free trial through a Facebook ad. Paid the shipping only at about $6. Received the product. After trying to contact the company, I realized the phone number they provided didn't work. After doing some research, I realized there was an auto-shipment in the fine print. I ended up canceling my credit card because I couldn't find the right phone number.

    I ended up getting the right number later and called to cancel. I was lucky I was still within the 14-day trial period and hadn't been charged for the next shipment. They wanted to also charge me $29 for keeping the free trial product because I had opened it. They would not provide me a reason why the number they had given me would not work.

    Definitely a scam of a company that no one should deal with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam to charge your credit card

    • Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After placing an order for a "trial" in which you only pay for shipping, my credit card was recently charged for two transactions at $144.47 each. I tried to contact the company but they would not reverse the charges. Supposedly in the "fine print," you have agreed to these charges. Definitely a scam, DO NOT get caught like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sneaky auto shipment program.

    I would never have ordered a free trial had I seen the small print about auto ship. They have it hidden very well, thought I had read it all. I received two charges for $98.00 on checking account. Going to the bank to dispute charges, and have already ordered a new debit card. Wow...how sneaky can they be! As far as working, think I'll throw the rest away and stick to my Olay cream.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Thieves

    • Maine,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The ad advertises a sample for $10. Nope, not even close. I was charged $93 twice in the same day for a product that I haven't even received. I should have read the fine print but thought I could trust this company. I was wrong.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for AuraVie SkinCare!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review