• 37 Customer Reviews
  • 24% Recommend This Company
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 21% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 64%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Total scam company

    • By Brad ,
    • Idaho,
    • Mar 13, 2014

    This company uses morally wrong practice to get people roped into monthly club memberships that they never intended to purchase. The send out check under the guise of another company (IE BUDGET CAR RENTAL) that looks like a rebate and if you cash it you have joined there auto club. It is absolutely wrong to do so and needs to stop

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nobody Speaks English.

    • By John D,
    • Rockville, MD,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    The dumbest group of idiots on the planet. If the services were free it would not be worth the hassle. From dealing with a mishap to begin with, then having to endure the disrespectful nature of the Mexican cartel only serves to escalate the demeanor into one of rage. The aggravation is not worth any savings. Put towing on your insurance then call who you can trust; pay them and get reimbursed. Easy peasy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy

    • By S Nichols,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 3, 2015

    Had AAA for years and saw this AutoVantage ad offering 150 miles and other services that you have to pay premium fee for with AAA. I never really used AAA so I decided to switch. Big mistake. One very hot day in Texas I needed roadside assistance for a flat tire. I was told it would take four hours for assistance in a major city (Dallas). It actually took five. Canceled as soon as I got home and renewed AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service

    • By Michelle Rose,
    • Pensacola, FL,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    Switched from AAA, biggest mistake ever. Only utilized AutoVantage's service twice and long stories short the wait was horrible, customer service was horrible. They promised a callback to verify assistance it is never followed through on. None of this has ever been my experience with AAA. Cheaper service definitely means cheap service. Switching back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Serious issues, don't use.

    • By John,
    • Jacksonville Fl,
    • Nov 20, 2015

    I had their policy as outline here. I did not need to use them for the year. I called today as I was locked out of my login and they said my account was closed? I got no bill but they said they sent me an email. What they did, is close my account to make me open another! Now they sell a Gold plan for $11.99 a month or $143.88 per year NOT what is shown at the homepage. This plan is the only they issue and only allows $80 credit for a tow. The 150 mile free tow with membership is gone. Also MUST pay monthly, will not accept a years payment? What king of business is that.

    They doubled their prices to AAA levels and severely cut benefits, way under AAA Plus benefits.

    I will not rejoin and I suggest you DO NOT do business with Auto Vantage. I think the company is in trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Couldn't even get signed up.

    • By HeWroe,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Aug 20, 2014

    Tried to sign up for their service online, but their web site was not working, and they just didn't seem to be very concerned about it at all. Then when I tried to sign our daughter up and her kids as a gift to them, they wouldn't allow it. They said that she had to call herself which is strange since their promotional site says you can sign up others in your family even if they are not living with you. Anyway, a very disappointing experience, and very glad I looked up the reviews before I went any further with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Would Recommend

    • By Ralph Santiago,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Have had service for five years, I have three kids 18 to 23 and they all have used vehicles. Have use it six times between the whole family during that period and cannot complain. I am very curious to see if this favorable review is posted as it seems (Allstate Towing is clearly listed after all the negative reviews). Find that very interesting, wonder who posted this site.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Was pleased, now wondering.

    • By Paul Elam,
    • Pahrump, NV,
    • Dec 12, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used it once for a flat tire after signing up from a Walmart display of their pamphlets. Went to renew and they state they were not renewing this type of service but I could pay a larger amount of 11.99 per month. Sounds like bait and switch to me. Start you off cheap then raise the price. Back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Left out in the cold

    • By John LeVasseur,
    • Coon Rapids, MN,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I needed service on 1/6/15 for a dead battery. This is the letter I sent to AutoVantage.

    I requested assistance on the above date. My first request was made shortly after 3 AM CST. The person arrived 50 minutes later. He was equipped with a pick up truck and a set of jumper cables. He was not able to help start the vehicle. He seemed to have very little experience and he was not properly equipped. A second request for service was made. This time a tow truck was to be sent and either help with starting the car or tow it to the dealer in Coon Rapids MN. I was told at 5:30 AM the truck would arrive in 60 to 90 minutes. The truck never arrived. At 8:30 AM a local auto parts dealer opened and the employees of that shop helped me resolve my situation. You left me out in below zero conditions and never called back to check on my progress. If it had been my wife, she would not have been able to resolve the issue on her own. You advertise low prices, but you get nothing in the way of service.

    I will be going back to AAA. They cost more, but the deliver on their promises. I want my membership canceled and my payment for that membership refunded. I will be giving my review of your services or lack there of, on any and all review sites I can access.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad company

    • By H McWilliams,
    • Golden, Co.,
    • Nov 7, 2015

    This company is a rip-off. I called them today after locking my keys in my car. I had just taken my daughter to the doctor and stopped for medicine, soup and some soda. I called the company and told them I was locked out. Their ad says Lockout "Assistance". They "assisted" by offering to call a locksmith for $79.95. I'm standing there with a sick child so I paid with a credit card over the phone. The first locksmith they set me up with was OUT OF BUSINESS! I found that out on my phone in the parking lot! Why didn't they know? The second locksmith came from the foothills and was unable to open my Jeep. In the process he bent my passenger side door. I called a close by used car lot and asked if they knew a good locksmith. They gave me a name and a number and within an hour I was back in my car, received 2 new spare keys at no charge and he charged $50. That's $30 less than Autovantage charged me. What a poor business this is. I'm going back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Slow operators

    • By L,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    We switched from AAA to AutoVantage. We had been with AAA for 20 years and switch to AutoVantage was a big mistake. It was the first time we have used them after switching. Now I know it is a false sense of Security.

     It was one degree outside and it took three separate 20 to 30 minute on hold time calls on my dying battery cell phone to get through to an Operator. They kept transferring me to different operators. We have never had a problem like this with AAA operators.

    The tow service used by AAA has been slow to arrive sometimes at times but their support was great But the AutoVantage operators make up the difference as they were very slow and seemed to have a bit of an attitude. I received a callback about 15 minutes after the three long hold times and the operator said she would call back and tell me who was coming because she did not know who they used for the towing service.

    I prefer the customer service from AAA because the tow driver always called us before he came out so we could go to a sanctuary like a local gas station or restaurant if it was bad weather out. We did not get a call from the other driver and I had to stay out in freezing cold weather for a long time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They will leave you for dead

    • By Chad Navarro,
    • East Windsor, CT,
    • Nov 8, 2015

    Ok, so my car broke down at about 1 PM so I called AutoVantage and talked to a guy and I told him my car broke down and that I need a tow truck. We were on the phone for about 20 minutes and that's ok, everything sounded great. He told me that it's going to be a 60-90 minute wait. I was fine with that because I was going to wait at my house either way.

    So now it's 4 PM and I'm wondering what the heck is going on. I obviously called AutoVantage again and a lady on the phone said the guy didn't submit the order to the towing company, so it will be another 30-45 minutes. I figured it's ok again.

    Well now it's 5:30 PM and no one came. I called them back and another guy on the phone told me the same thing, the towing company never got the order. Well at this point I'm pretty heated because I figured, ok fine, two times for this to happen is ok, but a third? He said it will be another 30-45 minute wait.

    I was with AAA for 10 years before switching over to AutoVantage and never did I have ot experience such service with them. I'm switching back to AAA and I don't care about saving money. Don't switch to AutoVantage otherwise you will regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Billing Scam

    • By Kathleen Olish,
    • Floral Park, NY,
    • Nov 11, 2015

    My Aunt was scammed by this company and CompleteHome and Great Fun. Three companies that preyed on an elderly woman and charged her $16.99 per month each for over 2 years without her knowledge or consent. I am filing a complaint with the DA's office first thing in the morning. I am pretty sure they have targeted many elderly people. My aunt doesn't drive or own a car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it and have had it for years

    • By Jeremy R.,
    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I bought AutoVantage through BJs for 47.99 and got a year and a half of service for that price, auto canceled after, rejoined with the same price for the enhanced plan. It auto cancels each year unless I tell them to bill me again.

    The fastest service I have received was when I was quoted a 20 minute wait time but the guy showed up in five instead. The longest wait was a hour and 15 minutes when we had a blizzard come through.

    Always had a great experience with them and have recommended it to others. It's a life saver.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service.

    • By Ira Ate,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    Do not get this service. We switched from AAA to AutoVantage, biggest mistake ever. They might be cheaper and might promise more services, but the truth is they are never around when you need them. Takes almost 30 plus minutes to get a hold of someone during an emergency. Every time I have called for service they end up telling me to get my own service and they will reimburse me. It is absolute nonsense because they end up finding a reason not to reimburse you anyway. This company is a partnered with Road America who is based in Florida. They solely rely on their small list of local tow companies to provide service, and when that fails they send you on your merry way.

    Word of advice, stick with AAA, they might be more expensive, but at least they're there for you in a bind when you need them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unauthorized charges to credit card

    • By Jim,
    • Atlanta, Ga.,
    • Oct 13, 2015

    These lowlifes run the same scam that satellite TV companies were sued for. If you give them a credit card number they will add endless unauthorized charges. It would take a complete idiot to give these lowlifes a credit card number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No service and nothing but false promises

    • By Fabio,
    • Indio, CA,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    I'm to this nonsense company. I had AAA for over 20 years. They always provided great service. The biggest mistake I ever made was changing to AutoVantage. My 18 year daughter broke down in Banning, CA at 11 at night. This company has not been able to find a tow truck and my daughter and her friends have been stuck there all night. This company is nothing but a scam. Terrible service. Do not use AutoVantage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Left stranded and needed to call back after speaking to a supervisor.

    • By Anonymous,
    • Pearl City, Hawaii,
    • Jul 24, 2015

    Terrible, spoke to 3 people over 90 minutes and had so much difficulty to get a supervisor and service. Recommend all to seek another service like AAA. Unsatisfied customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Had a dead battery

    • By Ulysses Robertson,
    • Port Arthur, TX,
    • Jul 16, 2015

    I called them and requested assistance for the dead battery. I was told that a truck would be there, coming from 16 miles away, Beaumont, TX. Didn't show, about two hours later I received a call and was told that company they called canceled, they said another was contacted and they should be there shortly, never happened. I pushed started my car and took it to get the problem solved. AAA has their own tow trucks, they aren't working with contractors when it comes to that, I went back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Left Stranded in Freezing Temps by AutoVantage

    On 2/21/15, my car broke down in Boston, MA, about 45 miles from my home. I called AutoVantage and was told they would call me back within 15 minutes with the name and ETA of a tow truck. After 1/2 hour, when I received no call, I called again and was told they had not yet been able to locate a provider and could not give me an estimate of when someone would be available. I explained my car was at an intersection in Boston and the temperature was about 18 degrees. The rep was apologetic but could not find a tow truck yet. I asked if I was able to move my car to a safe location where I could get out of the cold, would this be an issue and they assured me it would not. I gave them an alternative address which they confirmed.

    I was lucky that I had a friend who lived nearby with a parking lot I could use for my car and a lobby I could wait in. However, having to drive the car further only caused more mechanical issues and the car died completely as I got into the driveway. I called AutoVantage again to verify my move only to have them tell me that they still could not accommodate me. At midnight, a "supervisor" called to say that there was no way they could get a tow truck out to me until the next day. I asked what they would have done if I hadn't had a safe place to go and, instead, had to wait in a dead vehicle in downtown Boston, in 18 degree temperatures. I got no response. He asked me to call again at 7AM.

    At 7AM I called as told. Guess what! Still no tow trucks available and no idea when one would be available. They would call me back in one hour. They did call me back, only to tell me the same thing. I called my husband who called the company from our home. The representative he spoke with told him that I had canceled the service the previous night - which was a complete fabrication. He also got the story about no tow trucks being available and no idea when one would be available.

    (The Boston area tow drivers were busy due to extreme weather and police calls. However, eastern Massachusetts is a compact and densely populated area. The state is only about 120 miles from east to west and about 60 miles north to south. I believe that somewhere in eastern Massachusetts, there was a flat bed that could have been called out - even it cost AutoVantage more than they like to budget for tows)

    At 10AM, I received a call from a representative to tell me that they were moving my call to a "hold status" as they could not continue to make calls to providers on my behalf. I pointed out that since we paid for their service, I thought she could continue to make those calls and she assured me she could not. I asked if my husband and I were able to find our own provider, would they reimburse us. I was told I could submit a receipt for "consideration" but she could not guarantee repayment.

    We were finally able to secure our own resource to come to Boston to get the car. I called AutoVantage to inform them that I had secured a tow truck and no longer needed their service. I told them to take my call out of their queue (assuming I was ever actually in one) so that another customer would not be left waiting for nothing. I was assured they would do this.

    I finally got back home at 1:30 in the afternoon - 15 1/2 hours after placing my first call to AutoVantage. At 3:30, I received a call from a tow truck driver to confirm my location. They had not removed my name from the queue. At 3:40, I received a call asking for my feedback about the service I received. I provided the requested feedback. I can not speak to their "consideration" of my tow fees as I have not received my invoice yet. It will be part of the mechanic's final bill as he was the one able to secure the truck.

    I don't know what another company might have done but I remain appalled that this company was prepared to leave me stranded nearly 50 miles from home in subfreezing temperatures. There was no offer to help secure shelter or any other offer of help. I could have gotten a ride from a family member or friend but abandoning the car would have lead to it being vandalized or worse. The Boston Police have better things to do that babysit a car and would certainly have towed it to God knows where and we would have had astronomical impound fees to pay to retrieve the car. Needless to say, we will not be renewing our membership and would discourage others from changing from more reliable companies.

    An update to my review - the company has refused to reimburse us for our out of pocket expense of $200. We have sent the requested documentation only to have them demand a "certified" receipt. A complaint to the Better Business Bureau resulted in an unresolved case with the agent describing AutoVantage's response as unsatisfactory.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lock out

    • By Martin Baer,
    • Hollywood, Florida,
    • Jul 29, 2015

    Today was my first time using AutoVantage. A polite man showed up with a great attitude, arrived about 45 minutes after I called.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Complaint

    This place sucks. Originally got the plan over a year ago and gave my son and daughter a card each. Needed to use it for the first time last night and was told they had no record of account number but would send a tow truck for 80.00. I just called and got to explain this situation FOUR times as I was hung up by the second person and ended up with a refund. This is a sorry operation with nothing to offer but transferring calls, placing you on hold, and apologies. Be better off just to call 911 or a wrecker yourself. Or if you have time and money to waste, use this dump and let them call one for you after placing you on hold and transferring your call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lousy Service

    • By Kim K,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 23, 2015

    I was with another popular roadside assistance company for over ten years. I thought I would give Autovantage a chance because they were cheaper. BIG MISTAKE. My car broke down one night when it was 6 degrees outside and I had my child and 65 year old mother in the car. It was over an hour and customer service still did not find me a tow. They said they could not get anyone to come. It wasn't until I demanded to speak to a manager that they finally found a tow company to tow us. They had to outsource the tow to another company. Ironically the one that I switched from. I placed a call at 9:30 PM. I did not get home until 1:00 AM (was only 20 minutes from my house) and if I did not keep calling them back demanding assistance I might still be sitting their waiting for my tow. I went back to my old roadside company the next day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent roadside service from Autovantage

    • By Jing Chen,
    • Boyds, Maryland,
    • Nov 6, 2015

    My car broke down due to failure of alternator in Rockville, Maryland late evening yesterday. I called Autovantage. The tow truck came in about 30 minutes. The services from Autovantage and the towing company are great. They are the heroes in helping me with broken car in darkness at midnight. I was skeptical about Autovantage before, but my yesterday's experience completely convinced me that Autovantage is a great company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Total lack of customer service

    • By Wendy,
    • California,
    • Jan 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I purchased roadside assistance for 28 months under a "special" that AutoVantage was offering. We never used the service BUT the company terminated our service after those 28 months without advising us or giving us the option to renew.

    When I called customer service, I was told that, because we were paying a "special" rate for our plan, that plan was no longer being offered and that is why we were not notified. All insurance companies that we have dealt with advise their clients when an insurance coverage is expiring. Evidently, AutoVantage cannot be bothered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waited forever

    I have used AutoVantage 3 times now and every time out is a hassle. It takes forever on the phone and then the last 2 times I had a car towed it took 4 hours for the tow company to show up. I live in Cleveland, plenty of tow company's that AutoVantage uses, but no they have to send a tow company from 50 miles away from my location. It's a bunch of crap. I will be going back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad customer service

    • By Dennis Castle,
    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jun 2, 2015

    I was on the phone for 20 minutes with someone who could barely speak or understand English. Finally he just hung up on me. I had to call a tow truck myself and pay for it. I am cancelling my membership and going with triple A. Oh by the way, canceling is not that easy either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 37

Write a Review for AutoVantage!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
AutoVantage