• 37 Customer Reviews
  • 24% Recommend This Company
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 21% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 64%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Would Recommend

    • By Ralph Santiago,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Have had service for five years, I have three kids 18 to 23 and they all have used vehicles. Have use it six times between the whole family during that period and cannot complain. I am very curious to see if this favorable review is posted as it seems (Allstate Towing is clearly listed after all the negative reviews). Find that very interesting, wonder who posted this site.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it and have had it for years

    • By Jeremy R.,
    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I bought AutoVantage through BJs for 47.99 and got a year and a half of service for that price, auto canceled after, rejoined with the same price for the enhanced plan. It auto cancels each year unless I tell them to bill me again.

    The fastest service I have received was when I was quoted a 20 minute wait time but the guy showed up in five instead. The longest wait was a hour and 15 minutes when we had a blizzard come through.

    Always had a great experience with them and have recommended it to others. It's a life saver.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service

    • By Michelle Rose,
    • Pensacola, FL,
    • Jul 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Switched from AAA, biggest mistake ever. Only utilized AutoVantage's service twice and long stories short the wait was horrible, customer service was horrible. They promised a callback to verify assistance it is never followed through on. None of this has ever been my experience with AAA. Cheaper service definitely means cheap service. Switching back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy

    • By S Nichols,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 3, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Had AAA for years and saw this AutoVantage ad offering 150 miles and other services that you have to pay premium fee for with AAA. I never really used AAA so I decided to switch. Big mistake. One very hot day in Texas I needed roadside assistance for a flat tire. I was told it would take four hours for assistance in a major city (Dallas). It actually took five. Canceled as soon as I got home and renewed AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nobody Speaks English.

    • By John D,
    • Rockville, MD,
    • Jul 1, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The dumbest group of idiots on the planet. If the services were free it would not be worth the hassle. From dealing with a mishap to begin with, then having to endure the disrespectful nature of the Mexican cartel only serves to escalate the demeanor into one of rage. The aggravation is not worth any savings. Put towing on your insurance then call who you can trust; pay them and get reimbursed. Easy peasy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Left out in the cold

    • By John LeVasseur,
    • Coon Rapids, MN,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I needed service on 1/6/15 for a dead battery. This is the letter I sent to AutoVantage.

    I requested assistance on the above date. My first request was made shortly after 3 AM CST. The person arrived 50 minutes later. He was equipped with a pick up truck and a set of jumper cables. He was not able to help start the vehicle. He seemed to have very little experience and he was not properly equipped. A second request for service was made. This time a tow truck was to be sent and either help with starting the car or tow it to the dealer in Coon Rapids MN. I was told at 5:30 AM the truck would arrive in 60 to 90 minutes. The truck never arrived. At 8:30 AM a local auto parts dealer opened and the employees of that shop helped me resolve my situation. You left me out in below zero conditions and never called back to check on my progress. If it had been my wife, she would not have been able to resolve the issue on her own. You advertise low prices, but you get nothing in the way of service.

    I will be going back to AAA. They cost more, but the deliver on their promises. I want my membership canceled and my payment for that membership refunded. I will be giving my review of your services or lack there of, on any and all review sites I can access.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Left Stranded in Freezing Temps by AutoVantage

    Overall Experience:

    On 2/21/15, my car broke down in Boston, MA, about 45 miles from my home. I called AutoVantage and was told they would call me back within 15 minutes with the name and ETA of a tow truck. After 1/2 hour, when I received no call, I called again and was told they had not yet been able to locate a provider and could not give me an estimate of when someone would be available. I explained my car was at an intersection in Boston and the temperature was about 18 degrees. The rep was apologetic but could not find a tow truck yet. I asked if I was able to move my car to a safe location where I could get out of the cold, would this be an issue and they assured me it would not. I gave them an alternative address which they confirmed.

    I was lucky that I had a friend who lived nearby with a parking lot I could use for my car and a lobby I could wait in. However, having to drive the car further only caused more mechanical issues and the car died completely as I got into the driveway. I called AutoVantage again to verify my move only to have them tell me that they still could not accommodate me. At midnight, a "supervisor" called to say that there was no way they could get a tow truck out to me until the next day. I asked what they would have done if I hadn't had a safe place to go and, instead, had to wait in a dead vehicle in downtown Boston, in 18 degree temperatures. I got no response. He asked me to call again at 7AM.

    At 7AM I called as told. Guess what! Still no tow trucks available and no idea when one would be available. They would call me back in one hour. They did call me back, only to tell me the same thing. I called my husband who called the company from our home. The representative he spoke with told him that I had canceled the service the previous night - which was a complete fabrication. He also got the story about no tow trucks being available and no idea when one would be available.

    (The Boston area tow drivers were busy due to extreme weather and police calls. However, eastern Massachusetts is a compact and densely populated area. The state is only about 120 miles from east to west and about 60 miles north to south. I believe that somewhere in eastern Massachusetts, there was a flat bed that could have been called out - even it cost AutoVantage more than they like to budget for tows)

    At 10AM, I received a call from a representative to tell me that they were moving my call to a "hold status" as they could not continue to make calls to providers on my behalf. I pointed out that since we paid for their service, I thought she could continue to make those calls and she assured me she could not. I asked if my husband and I were able to find our own provider, would they reimburse us. I was told I could submit a receipt for "consideration" but she could not guarantee repayment.

    We were finally able to secure our own resource to come to Boston to get the car. I called AutoVantage to inform them that I had secured a tow truck and no longer needed their service. I told them to take my call out of their queue (assuming I was ever actually in one) so that another customer would not be left waiting for nothing. I was assured they would do this.

    I finally got back home at 1:30 in the afternoon - 15 1/2 hours after placing my first call to AutoVantage. At 3:30, I received a call from a tow truck driver to confirm my location. They had not removed my name from the queue. At 3:40, I received a call asking for my feedback about the service I received. I provided the requested feedback. I can not speak to their "consideration" of my tow fees as I have not received my invoice yet. It will be part of the mechanic's final bill as he was the one able to secure the truck.

    I don't know what another company might have done but I remain appalled that this company was prepared to leave me stranded nearly 50 miles from home in subfreezing temperatures. There was no offer to help secure shelter or any other offer of help. I could have gotten a ride from a family member or friend but abandoning the car would have lead to it being vandalized or worse. The Boston Police have better things to do that babysit a car and would certainly have towed it to God knows where and we would have had astronomical impound fees to pay to retrieve the car. Needless to say, we will not be renewing our membership and would discourage others from changing from more reliable companies.

    An update to my review - the company has refused to reimburse us for our out of pocket expense of $200. We have sent the requested documentation only to have them demand a "certified" receipt. A complaint to the Better Business Bureau resulted in an unresolved case with the agent describing AutoVantage's response as unsatisfactory.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad customer service

    • By Dennis Castle,
    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jun 2, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was on the phone for 20 minutes with someone who could barely speak or understand English. Finally he just hung up on me. I had to call a tow truck myself and pay for it. I am cancelling my membership and going with triple A. Oh by the way, canceling is not that easy either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Couldn't even get signed up.

    • By HeWroe,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Aug 20, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Tried to sign up for their service online, but their web site was not working, and they just didn't seem to be very concerned about it at all. Then when I tried to sign our daughter up and her kids as a gift to them, they wouldn't allow it. They said that she had to call herself which is strange since their promotional site says you can sign up others in your family even if they are not living with you. Anyway, a very disappointing experience, and very glad I looked up the reviews before I went any further with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam company

    • By Brad ,
    • Idaho,
    • Mar 13, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    This company uses morally wrong practice to get people roped into monthly club memberships that they never intended to purchase. The send out check under the guise of another company (IE BUDGET CAR RENTAL) that looks like a rebate and if you cash it you have joined there auto club. It is absolutely wrong to do so and needs to stop

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-37 of 37

Write a Review for AutoVantage!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
AutoVantage