• 37 Customer Reviews
  • 24% Recommend This Company
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 21% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 64%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Great service every time I needed them

    • By Bill B.,
    • Lake Elsinore, CA,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    During the few years I've been a member, I've used the tow service a couple of times. Both times I was more than 50 miles from my house and had no major issues getting my car towed. Wait time was under an hour. Tow drivers were courteous and professional. I have 2 children that live out of state and I have the peace of mind that they won't be stranded with no means of getting a tow.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It works for me

    • By Barry R.,
    • Rome, GA,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had this service for several years and used it several times. It worked each time without fail. As a matter of fact, one of my vehicles actually broke down tonight and I will be contacting them in the morning. They will pick it up and deliver it to my mechanic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service

    • By John W.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received a letter that my membership was going to be automatically renewed, so I called the number provided and asked them to stop the auto renewal. So now when I need servicing, I find out that he canceled my membership as well as my renewal. They blamed me and would not do anything about it, and I had time left on my membership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Get AAA, not AutoVantage

    • By Bob M.,
    • Somers Point, NJ,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After a flat tire, we called for help and fully identified ourselves and verified the necessary account information. Then more questions, which tire is flat, how many miles on the car, what is your account number (three times we were asked for an account number), how many miles per day do you drive, what is your current location (asked twice), and then were asked if we were at another location because the phone number did not match the location we gave. I finally hung up and changed it myself. I got home and canceled and joined AAA.

    AAA gets right to it, no blathering baloney questions over and over.

    It was a disgrace, like we're calling in a phony flat tire.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waited For Roadside So long That My Membership Expired!

    • By Max S.,
    • California,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First time using the service. It expires in three months and the roadside assistance is way past the time frame that was given to me! No. Never renewing, referring anyone, or using auto AutoVantage again.

    I would rather break my own window next time or have the tweaker break into my car.

    I wish I could give a -5! 1 star is far too many,

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Signed up for three years, but got two and a half

    • By Mike L.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid for three years. Ha. In two and a half years my timing belt died in Log Beach. I called AutoVantage and they told me service was over (?). I told them the date I signed up. They told me that it was an introductory offer and it was only two years. Since I was on the road and did not have access to all the paperwork.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Towing package

    • By Mike Moffett,
    • Oak Hills, CA,
    • Mar 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had the towing package for ten years and they have been great. They are better than I could ask for, for a low monthly rate. They have been there every time I have needed my car towed, no matter how many miles, it is no charge. You could not ask for a better service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Was a good deal, but not now

    Overall Experience:

    I joined 24 months ago and got a good deal of 150 miles a tow. I used it twice with no problem. I called this morning at 4:30 am, but my car won't start. They have switched customer service to overseas. They can hardly understand English, and then they tell me my membership has expired three to four days ago, with NO notice or anything. And do I want to re-enroll? Well, it's 4:35 am so I say "yes" and they transfer me to sales.

    I'm on hold for 20 minutes, so I said screw it and hung up. I was going to call Uber and deal with the car later. Praise to glory, the car started, and I went home. I called customer service just now, and they said three calls and a $80 limit yearly. NO THANKS, and just for the fact that they left me hanging with no notice, I would never resign with them. They are full of crap, and $80 is about 10 miles maybe. What a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total lack of customer service

    • By Wendy,
    • California,
    • Jan 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I purchased roadside assistance for 28 months under a "special" that AutoVantage was offering. We never used the service BUT the company terminated our service after those 28 months without advising us or giving us the option to renew.

    When I called customer service, I was told that, because we were paying a "special" rate for our plan, that plan was no longer being offered and that is why we were not notified. All insurance companies that we have dealt with advise their clients when an insurance coverage is expiring. Evidently, AutoVantage cannot be bothered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Peace if mind

    • By Denise,
    • Burlington, NJ,
    • Aug 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have been members for years. We have used the service 2 to 3 times a year always with reasonable dependable service. One of the things I like best about their service is that all my children and my husband and I are covered. So no matter which car breaks down all of us can use the membership, not just one or two of us and not for specific vehicles. We pay 150.00 per year in a one time automatic payment withdraw with a email reminder prior to payment withdraw. That membership provides us with 3 service calls per year up to 80.00 each. Well worth it for this momma to have peace of mind for her family. Sometimes we do have to wait a bit for the call to be answered or for the tow company to respond, but longest customer service wait was 30 minutes, then call was answered with great and friendly customer service. One service call did take almost two hours for tow to respond but that's because they went to the wrong location. I would highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Was pleased, now wondering.

    • By Paul Elam,
    • Pahrump, NV,
    • Dec 12, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used it once for a flat tire after signing up from a Walmart display of their pamphlets. Went to renew and they state they were not renewing this type of service but I could pay a larger amount of 11.99 per month. Sounds like bait and switch to me. Start you off cheap then raise the price. Back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Serious issues, don't use.

    • By John,
    • Jacksonville Fl,
    • Nov 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I had their policy as outline here. I did not need to use them for the year. I called today as I was locked out of my login and they said my account was closed? I got no bill but they said they sent me an email. What they did, is close my account to make me open another! Now they sell a Gold plan for $11.99 a month or $143.88 per year NOT what is shown at the homepage. This plan is the only they issue and only allows $80 credit for a tow. The 150 mile free tow with membership is gone. Also MUST pay monthly, will not accept a years payment? What king of business is that.

    They doubled their prices to AAA levels and severely cut benefits, way under AAA Plus benefits.

    I will not rejoin and I suggest you DO NOT do business with Auto Vantage. I think the company is in trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Billing Scam

    • By Kathleen Olish,
    • Floral Park, NY,
    • Nov 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    My Aunt was scammed by this company and CompleteHome and Great Fun. Three companies that preyed on an elderly woman and charged her $16.99 per month each for over 2 years without her knowledge or consent. I am filing a complaint with the DA's office first thing in the morning. I am pretty sure they have targeted many elderly people. My aunt doesn't drive or own a car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They will leave you for dead

    • By Chad Navarro,
    • East Windsor, CT,
    • Nov 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Ok, so my car broke down at about 1 PM so I called AutoVantage and talked to a guy and I told him my car broke down and that I need a tow truck. We were on the phone for about 20 minutes and that's ok, everything sounded great. He told me that it's going to be a 60-90 minute wait. I was fine with that because I was going to wait at my house either way.

    So now it's 4 PM and I'm wondering what the heck is going on. I obviously called AutoVantage again and a lady on the phone said the guy didn't submit the order to the towing company, so it will be another 30-45 minutes. I figured it's ok again.

    Well now it's 5:30 PM and no one came. I called them back and another guy on the phone told me the same thing, the towing company never got the order. Well at this point I'm pretty heated because I figured, ok fine, two times for this to happen is ok, but a third? He said it will be another 30-45 minute wait.

    I was with AAA for 10 years before switching over to AutoVantage and never did I have ot experience such service with them. I'm switching back to AAA and I don't care about saving money. Don't switch to AutoVantage otherwise you will regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad company

    • By H McWilliams,
    • Golden, Co.,
    • Nov 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a rip-off. I called them today after locking my keys in my car. I had just taken my daughter to the doctor and stopped for medicine, soup and some soda. I called the company and told them I was locked out. Their ad says Lockout "Assistance". They "assisted" by offering to call a locksmith for $79.95. I'm standing there with a sick child so I paid with a credit card over the phone. The first locksmith they set me up with was OUT OF BUSINESS! I found that out on my phone in the parking lot! Why didn't they know? The second locksmith came from the foothills and was unable to open my Jeep. In the process he bent my passenger side door. I called a close by used car lot and asked if they knew a good locksmith. They gave me a name and a number and within an hour I was back in my car, received 2 new spare keys at no charge and he charged $50. That's $30 less than Autovantage charged me. What a poor business this is. I'm going back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent roadside service from Autovantage

    • By Jing Chen,
    • Boyds, Maryland,
    • Nov 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    My car broke down due to failure of alternator in Rockville, Maryland late evening yesterday. I called Autovantage. The tow truck came in about 30 minutes. The services from Autovantage and the towing company are great. They are the heroes in helping me with broken car in darkness at midnight. I was skeptical about Autovantage before, but my yesterday's experience completely convinced me that Autovantage is a great company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Unauthorized charges to credit card

    • By Jim,
    • Atlanta, Ga.,
    • Oct 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    These lowlifes run the same scam that satellite TV companies were sued for. If you give them a credit card number they will add endless unauthorized charges. It would take a complete idiot to give these lowlifes a credit card number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lousy Service

    • By Kim K,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 23, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was with another popular roadside assistance company for over ten years. I thought I would give Autovantage a chance because they were cheaper. BIG MISTAKE. My car broke down one night when it was 6 degrees outside and I had my child and 65 year old mother in the car. It was over an hour and customer service still did not find me a tow. They said they could not get anyone to come. It wasn't until I demanded to speak to a manager that they finally found a tow company to tow us. They had to outsource the tow to another company. Ironically the one that I switched from. I placed a call at 9:30 PM. I did not get home until 1:00 AM (was only 20 minutes from my house) and if I did not keep calling them back demanding assistance I might still be sitting their waiting for my tow. I went back to my old roadside company the next day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The best thing ever.

    • By Michael Lucy,
    • Delavan, WI,
    • Aug 13, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Used AutoVantage 3 times this year and they are fast and friendly. They called when they got here and when they got to the place where the car was going. Yes, will renew when it's over.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Slow operators

    • By L,
    • Aug 10, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We switched from AAA to AutoVantage. We had been with AAA for 20 years and switch to AutoVantage was a big mistake. It was the first time we have used them after switching. Now I know it is a false sense of Security.

     It was one degree outside and it took three separate 20 to 30 minute on hold time calls on my dying battery cell phone to get through to an Operator. They kept transferring me to different operators. We have never had a problem like this with AAA operators.

    The tow service used by AAA has been slow to arrive sometimes at times but their support was great But the AutoVantage operators make up the difference as they were very slow and seemed to have a bit of an attitude. I received a callback about 15 minutes after the three long hold times and the operator said she would call back and tell me who was coming because she did not know who they used for the towing service.

    I prefer the customer service from AAA because the tow driver always called us before he came out so we could go to a sanctuary like a local gas station or restaurant if it was bad weather out. We did not get a call from the other driver and I had to stay out in freezing cold weather for a long time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complaint

    Overall Experience:

    This place sucks. Originally got the plan over a year ago and gave my son and daughter a card each. Needed to use it for the first time last night and was told they had no record of account number but would send a tow truck for 80.00. I just called and got to explain this situation FOUR times as I was hung up by the second person and ended up with a refund. This is a sorry operation with nothing to offer but transferring calls, placing you on hold, and apologies. Be better off just to call 911 or a wrecker yourself. Or if you have time and money to waste, use this dump and let them call one for you after placing you on hold and transferring your call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lock out

    • By Martin Baer,
    • Hollywood, Florida,
    • Jul 29, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Today was my first time using AutoVantage. A polite man showed up with a great attitude, arrived about 45 minutes after I called.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Left stranded and needed to call back after speaking to a supervisor.

    • By Anonymous,
    • Pearl City, Hawaii,
    • Jul 24, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible, spoke to 3 people over 90 minutes and had so much difficulty to get a supervisor and service. Recommend all to seek another service like AAA. Unsatisfied customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service.

    • By Ira Ate,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Do not get this service. We switched from AAA to AutoVantage, biggest mistake ever. They might be cheaper and might promise more services, but the truth is they are never around when you need them. Takes almost 30 plus minutes to get a hold of someone during an emergency. Every time I have called for service they end up telling me to get my own service and they will reimburse me. It is absolute nonsense because they end up finding a reason not to reimburse you anyway. This company is a partnered with Road America who is based in Florida. They solely rely on their small list of local tow companies to provide service, and when that fails they send you on your merry way.

    Word of advice, stick with AAA, they might be more expensive, but at least they're there for you in a bind when you need them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No service and nothing but false promises

    • By Fabio,
    • Indio, CA,
    • Jul 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I'm to this nonsense company. I had AAA for over 20 years. They always provided great service. The biggest mistake I ever made was changing to AutoVantage. My 18 year daughter broke down in Banning, CA at 11 at night. This company has not been able to find a tow truck and my daughter and her friends have been stuck there all night. This company is nothing but a scam. Terrible service. Do not use AutoVantage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Had a dead battery

    • By Ulysses Robertson,
    • Port Arthur, TX,
    • Jul 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I called them and requested assistance for the dead battery. I was told that a truck would be there, coming from 16 miles away, Beaumont, TX. Didn't show, about two hours later I received a call and was told that company they called canceled, they said another was contacted and they should be there shortly, never happened. I pushed started my car and took it to get the problem solved. AAA has their own tow trucks, they aren't working with contractors when it comes to that, I went back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waited forever

    Overall Experience:

    I have used AutoVantage 3 times now and every time out is a hassle. It takes forever on the phone and then the last 2 times I had a car towed it took 4 hours for the tow company to show up. I live in Cleveland, plenty of tow company's that AutoVantage uses, but no they have to send a tow company from 50 miles away from my location. It's a bunch of crap. I will be going back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 37

Write a Review for AutoVantage!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
AutoVantage