About BambooMagic Pillow

Bamboo Magic is claimed to be a revolutionary and uniquely designed pillow that’s guaranteed to give you the proper support, comfort, contour, and coolness you need for healthy, restful sleep. In order to accomplish this, the Bamboo Magic Pillow is claimed to be made using 3 distinct layers: a soft outer shell made of natural and viscose bamboo fibers, a thin layer of memory foam underneath, followed by memory foam chip (also known as “shredded” memory foam) filling that can provide neck and spine support and alignment.

Because of these benefits, Bamboo Magic is claimed to be the “perfect pillow for everyone,” regardless of whether you sleep on your side, stomach, or back. The pillow is claimed to be hypoallergenic and machine washable, and to draw heat away to keep you cool all throughout the night. In fact, Bamboo Magic is claimed to provide you with 90 nights of better sleep, or your money back.

In today’s fast-paced world, getting restful sleep is more important than ever, and you want to know if the Bamboo Magic pillow can work as well as it claims, and if it can help you maximize your sleep. But can it? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind:

Can Bamboo Magic Really Align Your Spine?

First, keep in mind that proper neck and spine alignment often has more to do with how you’re laying than it does the pillow you’re using. For example, in the side-by-side comparison featured on the Bamboo Magic website (see below), although the first picture appears to offer little support, this could quickly be addressed by bunching the pillow together so that it provides adequate support and alignment. In other words, any pillow has the potential to provide the necessary alignment if positioned properly.

A screenshot from Bamboo Magic website
A screenshot of side-by-side comparison featured on the Bamboo Magic website

But even if you start out the night in alignment, there doesn’t appear to be anything special about Bamboo Magic that would help keep you that way throughout the night. On top of this, you might find that being in alignment is uncomfortable to begin with.

Will Bamboo Magic Remain as Cool & Comfortable as it Claims?

Although memory foam mattresses and pillows have reputations for trapping heat, according to SleepLiketheDead.com, only about 8% of all memory foam customers claim that their mattresses are uncomfortably hot. This, in combination with the fact that Bamboo Magic is made from memory foam chips (versus whole memory foam) means that it’s fairly unlikely you’ll experience any heat issues unless you’re particularly susceptible.

However, keep in mind that memory foam chips will not provide the same level of support as a pillow made from whole memory foam.

What’s So “Magic” About the Bamboo Used in Bamboo Magic?

If you’re thinking about purchasing a Bamboo Magic pillow, keep in mind that the only part of the product made with bamboo is the outer shell, which is claimed to be comprised of natural and viscose bamboo fibers. According to Kongfi.com, natural bamboo fiber is made directly from the plant without the use of chemicals or additives, while viscose fibers are not, although both are naturally anti-bacterial and dissipate heat equally well.

Do You Have Options Other than Bamboo Magic?

Regardless of whether you’re talking about a 3-layer pillow stuffed with shredded memory foam or a bamboo fiber pillowcase, remember that these are not new types of products. In addition to similar products we’ve reviewed such as Miracle Bamboo Pillow and Bambillo Pillow, a quick online search will reveal dozens of options, some of which are less expensive than Bamboo Magic.

What Are Other Consumers Saying About Bamboo Magic?

Bamboo Magic is a very new product, so there were no online customer reviews available at the time of our research.

However, Bamboo Magic is manufactured by E. Mishan & Sons who also makes other As Seen on TV products such as Big Boss Slice-a-Roo and XHOSE. On average, HighYa readers rate these products with 1.5 stars, with common complaints revolving around poor quality products that don’t work as advertised and poor customer service (difficulty getting questions answered and refunds processed, etc.). While these issues aren’t necessarily something you’ll experience with Bamboo Magic, it’s something to keep in mind nonetheless.

Outside of this, the company holds a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 94 closed complaints ( as of 12/22/14), which is admittedly a lot less than many other As Seen on TV companies we’ve reviewed. Among these, the most common complaints appear to reference the same concerns noted above.

Bamboo Magic Pricing & Refund Policy

Two Bamboo Magic pillows are priced at $29.99 plus $11.98 S&H, bringing your total to $41.97. With your order, each pillow is claimed to include a free bonus case.

Bamboo Magic comes with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H. While this is positive, it also means that if you’re dissatisfied with your Bamboo Magic and decide to return it, you could lose upward of $20 in S&H charges.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-620-3699.

Will Bamboo Magic Be the Last Pillow You Ever Purchase?

Chopping to the Point: While Bamboo Magic may be able to provide you with the support and heat dissipation you need to sleep more soundly at night, there doesn’t appear to be anything revolutionary about its construction that couldn’t be found in something from a different manufacturer, or through a local retailer. And if you decide to go this route, you may even be able to save on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied and decide to return it.

See also: Top Pillow Picks For Each Position

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

37 Consumer Reviews for BambooMagic Pillow

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Want to sleep on a rock?

    • Denver CO,
    • Feb 17, 2015

    When I first bought the pillow about 4 months ago, I thought it was great. Within a month or so, it started to become hard, until it became a stone. Plus, the pillow retains heat, and unless you like your neck warmed, is uncomfortable. I talked to a distributor at a home show, and was told that you just throw it in your washer and dryer and everything goes back to normal, Yep it does, for about 2 days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Very unsatisfied

    • Mar 9, 2015

    I'm disappointed that the product was made in China. It gives off a strong odor to the pillow and it felt like a slab of concrete when I slept on it. I had to go back to the original pillow the same night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2015

      Smithe373,

      Very well written article. It will be helpful to anyone who uses it, as well as yours truly.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Waiting for over two months on the order.

    • Canada,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    I placed my order back on January 21, 2015 and have not yet received my pillows. I called numerous times and got the same song and dance every time. First of all, they can never find my order right away. It takes at least 10 minutes to find the order in their records. Then I get the same story where they say, "we are still waiting for a new shipment, as we are receiving a high number of orders". I was sent a letter in the mail saying my pillows (BOGO) would be in the mail by March 31.

    I was finally able to check my order online today and it stated that because of high volume of orders, they are still waiting for a new shipment. If I wanted to keep my order, I had to click a link. If I didn't check this, I would never had known they were planning on canceling my order. Worst online purchase experience ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 12, 2016

      Carmen Taylor,

      The order was wrong, ended up with 3 boxes of pillows, when I only ordered 1, to get 1 free. So I called, which is a pain to get a hold of somebody. They also charged me $435 on my Visa. Nice of them. Now I have to send back the boxes which will cost me the S&H, which they should take care of, but no, they said we we have to send it on our own. Hopefully I will get my money back. We will see.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worst Pillow Ever - Do Not Waste Your Money

    • Waterloo, Ontario,
    • Jun 13, 2015

    I honestly never write reviews. But given that this is the absolute worst pillow ever, I thought I had a duty. It smells terrible and has almost zero stuffing inside, so it's very flat and uncomfortable. The online ordering system is awful, provides zero size information until after you enter your credit card. We selected King Size, and still received the standard size pillow. The email order confirmation did not provide any info or confirmation on which size we ordered so we assumed we were receiving the correct pillow size. Glad we didn't get the king size and further waste money. Couldn't get a hold of anyone in customer service. Do not waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    BambooMagic Pillow

    • Jun 13, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Took forever to find a "human" to talk to. Was looking for the size of the pillow. Turned out the size advertised as 2 for 1 is about the size of a place mat. When I tried to place the order, something was wrong with the info they required (thank goodness) as the size I was looking for was twice as much as advertised and the S&H was more than twice as much.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    My pillow was filled with garbage

    • Calgary Alberta,
    • Jun 21, 2015

    I'm only giving one star because it won't let me give anything lower than that. Please don't waste your money! After waiting three months for my pillow to arrive, I was disgusted to find, for lack of a better word, garbage in my pillow. It smelled really bad and when I opened the casing I found shredded pieces of plastic, cardboard, and shredded pieces of hard melted plastic.

    The pictures may show clean white foam. Not a chance. Try disgusting shredded recycled who knows what. How is this supposed to be hypoallergenic? Don't make yourself sick by using this pillow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    RUN. Don't waste your time or money.

    • St. Albert, AB,
    • Jun 27, 2015

    Total BS ad. The pillow I received has a removable outer case. However, the "miracle foam" stuffing is loose in the pillow. The pillow is less than half full. If I combined the foam from 4 pillows, it would equal the pictures on the site. I called to get refund details and was told to ship it back at my expense and they'd process a refund. Total cost of pillows 29.99, cost to ship back 22.00. Lesson learned - priceless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother with this product

    • California,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I ordered on March 30th and it's now over two months later and still no pillow! Is it still on back order? I could have gone to China my self and got it faster.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this!

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't even believe what I just found in my pillows! Not one but two SHARP objects that could have poked my eyes out Not to mention, plastic, cardboard, toxic melted materials, mold, and I'm still looking to see what else is in here. I've contacted the President of Emson (Edward Mishan), the distribution warehouse in Toronto, the materials handler at Emson, and National Geographic's advertising department to have them pull this Ad out immediately. This "magic pillow" is supposed to help me sleep better? This product/distributor is a scam in my opinion.

    Do not even attempt to order this if you value your health. If my calls are not returned, I will be hitting up every media network in Canada and the USA and I will be contacting my Lawyer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    BambooMagic Pillow

    • Lacombe AB Canada,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I bought the pillow for $50 in December, worst move ever. It is so hard and uncomfortable, of course the one they had on display was softer. I do not recommend this pillow, hate it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Worst pillow ever

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered this pillow in March and received it July 9th. Not only is it uncomfortable but it also smells like rotten old garbage. Total waste of money. So disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for BambooMagic Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review