About BambooMagic Pillow

Bamboo Magic is claimed to be a revolutionary and uniquely designed pillow that’s guaranteed to give you the proper support, comfort, contour, and coolness you need for healthy, restful sleep. In order to accomplish this, the Bamboo Magic Pillow is claimed to be made using 3 distinct layers: a soft outer shell made of natural and viscose bamboo fibers, a thin layer of memory foam underneath, followed by memory foam chip (also known as “shredded” memory foam) filling that can provide neck and spine support and alignment.

Because of these benefits, Bamboo Magic is claimed to be the “perfect pillow for everyone,” regardless of whether you sleep on your side, stomach, or back. The pillow is claimed to be hypoallergenic and machine washable, and to draw heat away to keep you cool all throughout the night. In fact, Bamboo Magic is claimed to provide you with 90 nights of better sleep, or your money back.

In today’s fast-paced world, getting restful sleep is more important than ever, and you want to know if the Bamboo Magic pillow can work as well as it claims, and if it can help you maximize your sleep. But can it? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind:

Can Bamboo Magic Really Align Your Spine?

First, keep in mind that proper neck and spine alignment often has more to do with how you’re laying than it does the pillow you’re using. For example, in the side-by-side comparison featured on the Bamboo Magic website (see below), although the first picture appears to offer little support, this could quickly be addressed by bunching the pillow together so that it provides adequate support and alignment. In other words, any pillow has the potential to provide the necessary alignment if positioned properly.

A screenshot from Bamboo Magic website
A screenshot of side-by-side comparison featured on the Bamboo Magic website

But even if you start out the night in alignment, there doesn’t appear to be anything special about Bamboo Magic that would help keep you that way throughout the night. On top of this, you might find that being in alignment is uncomfortable to begin with.

Will Bamboo Magic Remain as Cool & Comfortable as it Claims?

Although memory foam mattresses and pillows have reputations for trapping heat, according to SleepLiketheDead.com, only about 8% of all memory foam customers claim that their mattresses are uncomfortably hot. This, in combination with the fact that Bamboo Magic is made from memory foam chips (versus whole memory foam) means that it’s fairly unlikely you’ll experience any heat issues unless you’re particularly susceptible.

However, keep in mind that memory foam chips will not provide the same level of support as a pillow made from whole memory foam.

What’s So “Magic” About the Bamboo Used in Bamboo Magic?

If you’re thinking about purchasing a Bamboo Magic pillow, keep in mind that the only part of the product made with bamboo is the outer shell, which is claimed to be comprised of natural and viscose bamboo fibers. According to Kongfi.com, natural bamboo fiber is made directly from the plant without the use of chemicals or additives, while viscose fibers are not, although both are naturally anti-bacterial and dissipate heat equally well.

Do You Have Options Other than Bamboo Magic?

Regardless of whether you’re talking about a 3-layer pillow stuffed with shredded memory foam or a bamboo fiber pillowcase, remember that these are not new types of products. In addition to similar products we’ve reviewed such as Miracle Bamboo Pillow and Bambillo Pillow, a quick online search will reveal dozens of options, some of which are less expensive than Bamboo Magic.

What Are Other Consumers Saying About Bamboo Magic?

Bamboo Magic is a very new product, so there were no online customer reviews available at the time of our research.

However, Bamboo Magic is manufactured by E. Mishan & Sons who also makes other As Seen on TV products such as Big Boss Slice-a-Roo and XHOSE. On average, HighYa readers rate these products with 1.5 stars, with common complaints revolving around poor quality products that don’t work as advertised and poor customer service (difficulty getting questions answered and refunds processed, etc.). While these issues aren’t necessarily something you’ll experience with Bamboo Magic, it’s something to keep in mind nonetheless.

Outside of this, the company holds a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 94 closed complaints ( as of 12/22/14), which is admittedly a lot less than many other As Seen on TV companies we’ve reviewed. Among these, the most common complaints appear to reference the same concerns noted above.

Bamboo Magic Pricing & Refund Policy

Two Bamboo Magic pillows are priced at $29.99 plus $11.98 S&H, bringing your total to $41.97. With your order, each pillow is claimed to include a free bonus case.

Bamboo Magic comes with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H. While this is positive, it also means that if you’re dissatisfied with your Bamboo Magic and decide to return it, you could lose upward of $20 in S&H charges.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-620-3699.

Will Bamboo Magic Be the Last Pillow You Ever Purchase?

Chopping to the Point: While Bamboo Magic may be able to provide you with the support and heat dissipation you need to sleep more soundly at night, there doesn’t appear to be anything revolutionary about its construction that couldn’t be found in something from a different manufacturer, or through a local retailer. And if you decide to go this route, you may even be able to save on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied and decide to return it.

See also: Top Pillow Picks For Each Position

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

37 Consumer Reviews for BambooMagic Pillow

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this!

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't even believe what I just found in my pillows! Not one but two SHARP objects that could have poked my eyes out Not to mention, plastic, cardboard, toxic melted materials, mold, and I'm still looking to see what else is in here. I've contacted the President of Emson (Edward Mishan), the distribution warehouse in Toronto, the materials handler at Emson, and National Geographic's advertising department to have them pull this Ad out immediately. This "magic pillow" is supposed to help me sleep better? This product/distributor is a scam in my opinion.

    Do not even attempt to order this if you value your health. If my calls are not returned, I will be hitting up every media network in Canada and the USA and I will be contacting my Lawyer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    BambooMagic Pillow

    • Lacombe AB Canada,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I bought the pillow for $50 in December, worst move ever. It is so hard and uncomfortable, of course the one they had on display was softer. I do not recommend this pillow, hate it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    The worst pillow I've ever had

    • Calgary Canada,
    • Sep 14, 2015

    For all its claims, the Bamboo Magic Pillow has to be the worst I've ever slept on. The instructions provided with the pillow say to pound it and soften it up before getting into bed. Even after doing this, after a few hours I woke up to a pillow rock hard and lumpy. I tried it for a week, and rather than spending the money on S&H returning it for a refund, it's now in the garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Pillow

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 2, 2015

    This pillow is overstuffed keeping your head way too high for sleeping. I ended up throwing it on the floor and using my old pillow. This was a total waste of money! Will think twice about buying anything promoted on TV again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    What have I bought?

    Seriously, this is the worst pillow I've ever had. I can't call it a pillow because it's not one. It's only a way to take money from honest people. So if you ask whether I would this pillow again, the answer would be no!

    Keep your money and go to the right place and buy a real comfortable pillow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money!

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 10, 2016

    I purchased one pillow after being harassed by a rep selling these in a Canadian Tire Store. I explained that I am a stomach/side sleeper and that I sleep on one pillow and crush another as I hug it all night. In the store, the pillow seemed acceptable and since I needed a new pillow I purchased one.

    The pillow sat in a spare bedroom for over a month while it ''aired''. The smell was overwhelming. Even now there's a slight smell, eight months later.

    I do not use the pillow at all. I found I would wake up in the night and have to reshape it as it hardened into a lump. Hugging it was impossible as it is too heavy and over stuffed.

    This is truly a waste of time, energy and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Very unsatisfied

    • Mar 9, 2015

    I'm disappointed that the product was made in China. It gives off a strong odor to the pillow and it felt like a slab of concrete when I slept on it. I had to go back to the original pillow the same night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2015

      Smithe373,

      Very well written article. It will be helpful to anyone who uses it, as well as yours truly.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Aug 17, 2015

    Do not waste your money, it is hard, lumpy, very uncomfortable, and too thick. One night was enough.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Pillow filled with "GARBAGE"

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Nov 4, 2015

    After waiting for almost three months for my pillow, when I did receive it, I was shocked and disgusted with what I found. There was literally garbage in the pillow! Pieces of cardboard, plastic, and hard pieces of who knows what. Last time I checked they didn't make landfills hypoallergenic. What makes them think a pillow made of garbage is actually good for your health?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Waiting for over two months on the order.

    • Canada,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    I placed my order back on January 21, 2015 and have not yet received my pillows. I called numerous times and got the same song and dance every time. First of all, they can never find my order right away. It takes at least 10 minutes to find the order in their records. Then I get the same story where they say, "we are still waiting for a new shipment, as we are receiving a high number of orders". I was sent a letter in the mail saying my pillows (BOGO) would be in the mail by March 31.

    I was finally able to check my order online today and it stated that because of high volume of orders, they are still waiting for a new shipment. If I wanted to keep my order, I had to click a link. If I didn't check this, I would never had known they were planning on canceling my order. Worst online purchase experience ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 12, 2016

      Carmen Taylor,

      The order was wrong, ended up with 3 boxes of pillows, when I only ordered 1, to get 1 free. So I called, which is a pain to get a hold of somebody. They also charged me $435 on my Visa. Nice of them. Now I have to send back the boxes which will cost me the S&H, which they should take care of, but no, they said we we have to send it on our own. Hopefully I will get my money back. We will see.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Very stiff pillow. I rate this pillow a 1 (from 1 to 10)

    • Creston, BC Canada,
    • Aug 23, 2015

    I order this BambooMagic Pillow and now I have it and I used. It is very hard and uncomfortable to sleep on. This pillow is not the same pillow that they show on TV. It is a fake, this is the worst pillow that I have ever slept on. I would rate this a 1.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for BambooMagic Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review