About BarkBox

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 30, 2013

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys.

The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde.

Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be canceled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays.

However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month.

In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 194 BarkBox Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 75 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 12 1 star:  95
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 194
Sort reviews by:

  • They are a RIP off

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your time. I subscribed for thier big dog box and it was CRAP, the toys and treats are made for small dogs. I canceled my subscription with them and they kept charging me so I called them and was told that even though I didn't pay for a full year up front, I am not allowed to cancel my subscription even though they lie about their product. They are a scam, no doubt it. I filed a fraud alert with my bank to prevent them from billing me. Don't make the same mistake I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't subscribe, it will never end!

    • North Platte, NE,
    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got the big dog box because of our Lab. Even though my Lab is not rough on toys, he destroys these almost immediately. Neither one of my dogs likes the treats. It's disgusting when the entire box is in the garbage the same day it arrives. I've complained and was told that I would receive replacements, but never did! I've tried to cancel my subscription, but they keep coming AND I KEEP GETTING BILLED. They say that the boxes are valued at $40 when they are more like $15. I can't get them to stop billing me. DO NOT FALL FOR THEIR SCAM. If there ever is a class action suit against BarkBox, I will be at the front of the line.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam one month subscription

    • California,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After ordering a one-month subscription I decided it was overpriced for what you got so I emailed to cancel and manually canceled my order. This month I received an email charging me again. I shared my email canceling the order and the company is now saying that they did not receive my request. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD. You will never get out of the subscription even if it's just a one-time month subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    BarkBox sent duplicate items - no refunds, no returns.

    • Florida,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A little disappointed...received a duplicate box of toys. BarkBox doesn't accept returns, instead, they offer to send replacement toys that are clearance type - like Thanksgiving themed in March, and only will send two replacement toys for an order that was originally three toys. No refunds either...

    I liked the surprise themed boxes except for when the surprise is receiving a box that has already been received.

    I had a similar experience at Christmas time when first signing up for the promo that they were advertising. Received something totally different. They offered to send out the toys that were supposed to be in the box and the promotional antlers, instead sent a toy that they sent in the original box and another toy that was too small for my Great Dane (we have the large box).

    I couldn't find a place to leave reviews either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • St Louis, MO,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If at any time you are dissatisfied with your subscription or the customer service, you will not be allowed to cancel. No matter if the boxes are delayed by weeks, no matter if they refuse to respond to multiple emails, and then get back to you with canned responses that don't address any of your issues. No matter if they can't provide tracking on a shipment they assure you was sent.

    "Cancel anytime" is clearly misleading, especially if their service doesn't match what was promised. So this company can neglect their end of the deal with no consequence while customers have to hold up their end no matter what? Absurd.

    I will never in good conscience be able to support or recommend this company, even if they make it right at this point. Be more transparent about your policies, and let people make an informed decision.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn't recommend

    • New York,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to try BarkBox so I checked the "try 1 month" option thinking I would get 1 month's worth and then if I liked it I could subscribe monthly. I ordered on 3/1 and they took the money out then, the box came very fast. The toys lasted a few hours and my dog had them destroyed so I wasn't going to do another month. I was maybe going to try the super chewer box they offer. Well, on 3/11 they took out another months payment. I talked to a "Nancy" on the website who said they cannot refund me my money and I cannot return the BarkBox even though I just received one not even 10 days ago. Due to her lack of customer service skills, I will NOT be trying the super chew box and I do not recommend BarkBox unless you're looking for cheap dog toys.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Read Terms carefully

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally was happy with the boxes I was receiving. But after a year I decided to cancel as I was having too many treats and toys that my dogs didn’t care for. I went online and thought I had canceled. Nope. I initially signed up for a 12-month subscription not realizing it "auto-renews" into another 12-month long subscription that can’t be canceled. So I am now stuck paying for another 7 months. Just beware of this going into it and make sure you pay attention to when you need to cancel so that your subscription doesn’t auto-renew.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM! These people are dishonest.

    • Unlisted/None,
    • Mar 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, I signed up for the Super Chewer version of the BarkBox. I got two boxes in a row with stuffed animals and squeaky toys and treats. My dog destroyed the toys in minutes. I complained about the quality of those supposed Super Chewer Toys. I was assured there was a mix-up and I would receive more durable toys in the next box, along with two extra toys. Instead, this months box arrived, beat up and ugly, and contained the exact same, Viking themed items as were in the January box, but looked like it was pulled out of the recycling, didn't have a cute treasure map, and one of the squeaky toys had a broken squeaker.

    For $50, I expected better quality. BarkBox didn't hold up their end of the contract, lied to me, and then sent me crappy quality toys. New theme every month? NO! Quality toys? NO! Expensive for junk? YES! Dishonest con artists? YES!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Credit card fraud

    • New York,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    BarkBox will continue to charge you for subscriptions you don't purchase. I bought a one-month subscription as a gift and told them I only wanted one-month several times. I also only received a receipt for one month and they continued to charge me without my knowledge. They give me no receipt or information. In addition, they wouldn't cancel my subscription or give me a refund. Please be careful of this scam and protect yourself from fraudulent companies like BarkBox.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Heed other recent warnings - CS runaround as you try to cancel!

    • Dayton, OH,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unable to cancel as chat and text reps would just disappear and a new person would appear and see complaint and again would just end chat or disappear. I’m forced to dispute credit card charge at this point.

    Rep is also passive aggressive in response. Obviously some unhappy employees being forced to engage in shady, unethical business practice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Alabama,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT sign up for this subscription!

    It is a scam. They draw you in with a $5 first box and even when you cancel your subscription, they proceed to charge you $30 every month. It's impossible to talk to a real person to get this problem fixed, as they only provide you with a texting number and a Facebook Messenger link to communicate. All responses on these are automated and are not real humans talking to you. It is practically impossible to get your money back and remove your credit card number from their database.

    DO NOT FALL FOR THIS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 194

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review