About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

181 Consumer Reviews for BarkBox

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 7 3 star: 6 2 star: 11 1 star:  81
Bottom Line: 47% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 181
Sort reviews by:

  • Poor customer service

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never make a subscription through BarkBox ever again. All the packages I've gotten from them I've been getting them late. I called and tried chatting with different representatives. It takes them at least 20 minutes to get to you. I gave them a second chance because the first time I subscribed to them my card was taken off my account for no apparent reason. They asked if I wanted to keep getting boxes, I will need to update card information. I gave them a second chance. It's already been three weeks and still no box. After I receive this next box, I'm officially done with BarkBox.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Shipped fast

    • Hawaii,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hesitant at first about giving BarkBox a try. There are some pretty negative reviews out there, but I really believe you should experience things yourself and take people's opinions with a grain of salt. I subscribed to BarkBox on 9/16. I used a promo code to get my first box of $10.50. The box shipped incredibly fast! Things typically take longer than expected to get to me in Hawaii but I got my first box on 9/21. The theme is adorable, and the toys are fun. One of my dogs is more rough with toys, so we'll see how well they hold up, ha. I'm more excited about the high-quality treats! I usually spend more than $20 a month on my dogs, so this is a great deal for us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Ashland, NE,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My first order my dog tore apart toys within one hour. I called to cancel, and they won’t let me! They said I signed up for a year and I’m stuck. They keep shipping every month and charging my PayPal account. So I have a balance with PayPal, and I keep sending the boxes back unopened. Total scam! Now I can’t use my PayPal account or cancel it! Ugh! Don’t sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Never received order

    • Alabama,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the first box at the beginning of August and still haven't received it. All they do is give excuses about a warehouse problem. I don't understand how others that ordered after I did got theirs in a few days. It's a month later, and I still have nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointing

    • Mechanicsville, VA,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first time I ordered from BarkBox I had a bad experience. They lost my order, and I had to contact them several times to receive my order. I thought I would give them a second chance and I placed an order on 8/22 for my granddog's birthday on 8/29. I received an email stating the order would be received in 2-5 days. It is now the 29th, her birthday, and my order has not even left the warehouse yet! I will not be giving them a third try. From now on I will be ordering from Amazon. They are much more reliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My dog loves his box

    • Florida,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Every month has a different theme. My dog goes crazy when he sees the BarkBox. The toys are very durable, he still has some for six months ago. The people at BarkBox are wonderful. My dog didn't care for a bag of treats they sent. They sent a replacement within days. Great company! Great products!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not order

    • Redding, CA,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am the owner/operator of a Doggy DayCamp (daycare for dogs), and I was searching for unusual, but fun toys for two DayCampers having their one-year Birthday. I could have ordered the same toys via Amazon Prime but I decided that I wanted to see what BarkBox was all about. Huge mistake. They are the worst. They took my money and never shipped birthday gifts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Best decision ever made!

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Aug 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical with BarkBox at first because of the price and the "surprise" element. You're not sure what you're getting each month and is it really worth it?

    I have a large puppy. Let me tell you, he eats through anything. So, to say the least, I pick up cotton stuffing every day! I decided I was sick of buying new toys almost every week just to see them shredded in maybe 20 minutes. So I decided to order BarkBox heavy chewier.

    My first box arrived, and I was disappointed. He liked 1 out of the 2 treat bags they give you and the hard plastic toys he wouldn’t even touch. I contacted BarkBox to let them know so they could possibly fix his next box.

    This is where BarkBox blew me away with their customer service and their attention to detail regarding my specific needs. Within 30 minutes I got a response noting my concerns. One of there team members mailed out a new bag of treats for my dog to try free of charge! We also discussed that maybe my dog wasn’t a big chewer however cotton stuffed toys weren’t great either. She suggested I get a box with "durable fabric" toys instead. She also mailed out a sample toy for my dog to try. Free of charge. He loved it! They lowered my monthly subscription right away. They even followed up to make sure my dog was loving his new box and if I needed to tweak it any further.

    I have to say BarkBox has restored my faith in the meaning of great customer service. I’m very happy, and most importantly my dog's excitement to get his box every month is well worth the money. I highly recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off

    • Vancouver Island, Canada,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ended up canceling my subscription. I was guaranteed replacement toys for my pup, a free toy for his birthday month and July’s Barkbox, and somehow they lost all three packages. They assured they would replace them, then canceled them without telling me. I only found out because I asked two weeks after the last conversation. There are so many options out there, shop around and stick within your country!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Collierville, TN,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    NOTE: This service may not be the best for strong chewers. No toy can really hold up to strong chewers for too long (unless they are boring rubber). They do have an option for super chewers, but I still recommend you be realistic.

    My dog is not a strong chewer, and I love the box. The toys last about two months before they die (note that I use them all for tug often).

    The basic package contains two toys (three if you get their promotion), two bags of treats, and a chew.

    The toys are very good value. They are high quality and most importantly, very unique. I can't find any toys at the store like the ones they put in the box. BarkBox often uses a combination of crinkle paper, squeakers (tube/regular), and rope. The problem with store toys is they are usually only squeaker or only rope, etc. BarkBox will use crinkle paper and a tube squeaker in one toy and maybe even some rope. This is something that is small but seems like a big deal to my dog.

    The treats and chew are ok. They are nice, but my dog doesn't go crazy for them (he is super toy motivated and not so much food). All the treats I have gotten are grain-free. The bag is a decent size and if you treat correctly will last forever. I actually haven't finished one bag and tend to just throw it away randomly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Lackluster

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a gift for a friend's new dog. Neither my friend nor I received any information about the order in over two weeks: no tracking, no explanation for the delay, no updates within the order section of my account page, etc. My chats with the company went unanswered. The only acknowledgment of the order I received was the bill on my credit card. Disappointed and embarrassed to give such a crappy gift.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 181

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review