About BarkBox

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 30, 2013

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys.

The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde.

Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be canceled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays.

However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month.

In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.

Read 200 BarkBox Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 75 4 star: 7 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  100
Bottom Line: 42% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 200
Sort reviews by:

  • Didn’t deliver box, then didn’t stand by what they promised to "make it up to me"

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a yearly subscription with BarkBox and they added this new feature with the additional toys called the "double deluxe box" and it started with the October box and I was super excited for it being a huge fan of Halloween and so I said sure, why not, I will pay the additional $20.38 to make it almost $50 for the month! It would be a fun little treat.

    The box was "shipped" and when I went to track it I saw that it was delivered to a completely different state! BarkBox could not find my box!

    Told me that they would send me another one that week, but never did. I kept asking when were they going to send me the box because October was almost over and I really wanted my box.

    Then they said they were going to send a November double deluxe box for free and said "double the fun" for the dog.

    Then I see an email at the beginning of November that says I agreed to the additional toys (which I did not!) and they were going to charge my card $20.38 on the 5th and then I also saw they were charging me for the box too! I was under the impression that was free when you say are giving me the November double deluxe box for free that means that I am NOT paying for the whole thing!

    I am pretty darn annoyed!

    Maybe 95% of their problem is the fact that they communicate exclusively via text/email and they don’t do it well!

    I know that I will NOT be renewing with them even though as someone who actually loves the toys and treats and actually was one of the very early customers that they had when they first started and left them for the same damn reason I am leaving now... customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They suck

    • West Virginia,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I signed up for BarkBox, I'm pretty sure it said $22 a month for Super Chewer, however, there is nothing listed in my account as far as the price and it was charged to my PayPal account but they charged me over $400 at once, which comes out to about $35 a month. So not what I was quoted. The first box I got had a squirt toy gun in it and my dog chewed/ate pieces off of it within minutes. They would replace that for free with another one but I didn't need another one that he could again chew/eat in minutes. I have a Husky and he is a big chewer and thought these toys would be durable enough but they aren't, and all BarkBox will do is replace it with the same thing, which defeats the purpose as he will have it chewed up in minutes. I tried to cancel seeing as how these toys aren't durable enough and they won't let me. There is fine print that states you cannot cancel (you can but they won't refund any money and will continue to send a box each month). When I did email them to cancel, I got several replies from a different person there each time and none of them read the last email I sent to them or the emails from their co-workers and I kept repeating myself until I got tired of it and just stopped replying to their emails. Their customer service is fast but not efficient at all. So I would not recommend them if you have a heavy chewer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • No non destructible dog toys

    • Cary, NC,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First box I received, cute theme, but my dogs had the toys chewed up within an hour so I contacted their customer service and was told about the Super Chewer box, so I switched to that box and they sent me replacement toys. So far, it sounded good. The replacement toys lasted about a week. The next month, I received a super chewer box, treats were good, toys lasted less than a week. Tried contacting them again via email, never heard back. They stated on their website they have a "Scout’s Honor" promise that your pack will love their BarkBox, and they would work with us to find the right plan, etc. I guess that only applies if you can get them to respond. Kept receiving the boxes for a few months, still toys only lasted a day to less than a week. So I tried to cancel the subscription, good luck navigating their web site to actually cancel the subscription. Finally located an old email from them and sent them an email to cancel, to which they responded that I needed to login to my account in order to cancel. Tried that, but after many efforts was finally able to cancel the subscription. I would not recommend this subscription service due to its inconsistent customer service, and website that is deliberately hard to cancel a subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very misleading company

    • Honolulu, HI,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unable to cancel a subscription even if you move or have travel plans that do not require the same address once given. This company was not accommodating and only tried to convince me to switch toys or put the YEAR long subscription on hold. WOW BarkBox, this was initially supposed to have been a fun treat for my dog, but has turned into a huge burden of payments for an entire year which I no longer have a need. DON'T SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. There are other dog services out there who have better flexibility policies and who actually donate to charity, whereas BarkBox does NOT actually give a portion to helping animals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • BarkBox SUCKS

    • Aurora, IL,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    BarkBox IS DISGUSTING. Customer support NEVER answers its phone calls or emails or even direct live messages. You are not allowed to cancel your membership even if you are unhappy with the product and service. NONE of the toys we received were anywhere close to being indestructible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • This company is a scam

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a 6-month subscription and prepaid for all 6 months. After 3 months, they have stopped sending a shipment. Tried to email them, text, Facebook messenger. None of them get replied. This company is a scam! Avoid at all costs!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They are a RIP off

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your time. I subscribed for thier big dog box and it was CRAP, the toys and treats are made for small dogs. I canceled my subscription with them and they kept charging me so I called them and was told that even though I didn't pay for a full year up front, I am not allowed to cancel my subscription even though they lie about their product. They are a scam, no doubt it. I filed a fraud alert with my bank to prevent them from billing me. Don't make the same mistake I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't subscribe, it will never end!

    • North Platte, NE,
    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got the big dog box because of our Lab. Even though my Lab is not rough on toys, he destroys these almost immediately. Neither one of my dogs likes the treats. It's disgusting when the entire box is in the garbage the same day it arrives. I've complained and was told that I would receive replacements, but never did! I've tried to cancel my subscription, but they keep coming AND I KEEP GETTING BILLED. They say that the boxes are valued at $40 when they are more like $15. I can't get them to stop billing me. DO NOT FALL FOR THEIR SCAM. If there ever is a class action suit against BarkBox, I will be at the front of the line.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam one month subscription

    • California,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After ordering a one-month subscription I decided it was overpriced for what you got so I emailed to cancel and manually canceled my order. This month I received an email charging me again. I shared my email canceling the order and the company is now saying that they did not receive my request. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD. You will never get out of the subscription even if it's just a one-time month subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    BarkBox sent duplicate items - no refunds, no returns.

    • Florida,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A little disappointed...received a duplicate box of toys. BarkBox doesn't accept returns, instead, they offer to send replacement toys that are clearance type - like Thanksgiving themed in March, and only will send two replacement toys for an order that was originally three toys. No refunds either...

    I liked the surprise themed boxes except for when the surprise is receiving a box that has already been received.

    I had a similar experience at Christmas time when first signing up for the promo that they were advertising. Received something totally different. They offered to send out the toys that were supposed to be in the box and the promotional antlers, instead sent a toy that they sent in the original box and another toy that was too small for my Great Dane (we have the large box).

    I couldn't find a place to leave reviews either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • St Louis, MO,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If at any time you are dissatisfied with your subscription or the customer service, you will not be allowed to cancel. No matter if the boxes are delayed by weeks, no matter if they refuse to respond to multiple emails, and then get back to you with canned responses that don't address any of your issues. No matter if they can't provide tracking on a shipment they assure you was sent.

    "Cancel anytime" is clearly misleading, especially if their service doesn't match what was promised. So this company can neglect their end of the deal with no consequence while customers have to hold up their end no matter what? Absurd.

    I will never in good conscience be able to support or recommend this company, even if they make it right at this point. Be more transparent about your policies, and let people make an informed decision.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 200

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review