About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

168 Consumer Reviews for BarkBox

Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 72 4 star: 6 3 star: 6 2 star: 11 1 star:  73
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 168
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Best customer service imaginable

    • Texas,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    BarkBox is not a cheap subscription service, so I was hesitant to participate. However, when health concerns meant I couldn't play with my pup and keep him as active as I wanted, I turned to BarkBox as an alternative. They are excellent. Each month has a "theme," which makes the boxes fun to us, with treat (allergen-friendly) and toy (heavy or super chewer) options. They even allow you to cut out treats completely if your pup doesn't need them. They are incredibly user-friendly, and complete customization is as easy as chatting within the app, which connects you to a live person within minutes. When I had to pause my subscription because health concerns meant I had less extra cash, they readily agreed, instead of making me jump through hoops, and gave me two months free as a courtesy. For a company with high costs, they go the extra mile, and that makes all the difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My Shorkies LOVE Bark Box !

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been getting Bark Box for my dogs for a few months now. Love the products. If the puppies don't like the treats I email them and they replace them with no trouble. I have even purchased Bark Box products from Target! I am definitely signing up for another year.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I never received any boxes!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for this service and it was a mess right from the very first month. They ship using USPS. Why would any reputable company use this shipping method? USPS is at best the most unreliable service there is. True to their reputation, the package is missing, and USPS says it is on the way after a week!

    I canceled due to horrible shipping! This company needs to stop using USPS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Liars

    • Marietta, GA,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I subscribed because the shelter where I volunteered urged me to as BarkBox would donate something to the shelter for every subscription. Even though I said I had a large dog who was a strong chewer when I signed up, I got the first box today that was utterly generic. Two soft toys which disintegrated immediately. ONE chew and two small bags of treats. Not worth it.

    When I tried their "super helpful" service to see if I could arrange for different sorts of toys, I was told that I wasn't eligible for that because I had paid my entire subscription in advance! I hope they made a big donation to the shelter because it certainly wasn't worth it to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I absolutely love BarkBox

    • Washington,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with BarkBox for over a year now. I got into some financial issues and BarkBox helped me continue the BarkBox subscription. When my dog was stolen and dumped in the woods I message them and told them about my dog situation, that I wanted to buy him something that was something special for him because he's been through so much. Instead of me buying it, they gave me a box of calming treats for him. I mean seriously, I couldn't have asked for such a wonderful company who really truly cares about dogs. I absolutely will recommend BarkBox.

    Now, I'm not saying that they'll give free stuff for to everybody, that wasn't the circumstances, but if you knew what my dog had been through, what he looks like, he's been abused, left abandoned in the woods and skinny. They left them there to die, they stole my dog and left him up there to die, an hour and a half away from me. Thank goodness a girl came along and found him and brought him back to her home and posted about him, and because I had been on every single website about him here in my state, when he was found, he's home with us. He's a little traumatized, but BarkBox realize this and they helped me out, so I totally recommend BarkBox. They are the top-notch company, and all my other dogs love their stuff too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Unhappy

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried BarkBox for at least six months. My dog would tear the toys apart in minutes. I kept upgrading to the stronger toys, but she ate them too. She was only one. Also, both my dogs were scratching and scratching when they were on the treats. As soon as I took them off, it stopped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 29, 2018

      Alan M.

      I came here looking for other people's experiences because so far, it's disappointing. It seems our lab either destroys the toys or ignores them. He likes the treats. It's not that much money and I like the concept but it's not working out as well as I would hope.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    We love BarkBox

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the first BarkBox we received, we loved it! There are always two HIGH-QUALITY toys that are made of heavy material. And the box is themed, which is such a neat idea. What a wonderful company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Misleading subscriptions

    • Angola, IN,
    • Jun 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a 6-month subscription, so I thought, and on the second month they told me that it's $25 a month for the box even though the email stated I would receive boxes for six months.

    I thought I was getting a deal, but those boxes were definitely not worth $25 each.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Phenomenal customer service!

    • Tennessee,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In January of 2016 I adopted two Greater Swiss Mt. Dog x Black lab pups, each one like their respective parent in looks and temperament. As young pups, they liked similar toys, and nothing lasted long in the onslaught of teething puppies! Very early on I heard about Chewy.com and had been getting treats and toys from them as well as their food - big fan of pet delivery services!

    As they got older they developed very different toy likes, with Arabella (GSMD) being a rope and Nylabone girl and Chauncey (BL) wanting balls, stuffed squeaked, and treat holders. I stumbled on Barkbox one day surfing Facebook offering a free extra toy with 6/12 month subscriptions. That was almost two years ago and it has been one of the best subscription services I've ever encountered.

    I cannot say enough about their customer service! Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, genuine concern for your pets, punny as heck, and fast. The very few issues we've had were handled so quickly and professionally, it's been amazing. Lots of toys are stuffed, and if your dogs are like my crack lab, they will meet their fluff spread demise pretty quickly, but there is usually a fairly durable heavy duty rope or nylon/rubber toy at least every other box.

    If your dog has jaws of steel, I'd recommend the Super Chewer box, which we get for our Boxer/moose mix Boudreaux who is chewing fool! The second subscription also came with an additional free toy for 6/12 month plans, AND we got a free box for our regular dogs! Our Trio of Terror always knows when the BarkBox has arrived and treat us to some pretty hysterical door dancing and tail-on-fire type wagging!

    I love that everything is made by BarkBox using humanely sourced products and right here in the USA. Just the right amount of treats to last for a month, and our kids love them! Between both boxes, it's $50.00 a month, but we get $90.00-$110.00 worth of goodies (6 toys, 4 bags of treats, 4 various chews/bully stix/jerky) and no hassle since it's delivered to your front door. We would give 10 stars if we could - 4 thumbs and 12 paws up!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I love this company

    • California,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    BarkBox is seriously my favorite company out there. I have been a member for a few years now and never hesitate to sign my dog up for another yearly subscription. My dog is a lab who loves to destroy any toy, but BarkBox has these awesome toys where even once the fabric has been ripped away your dog will be left with a fun squeaky ball to play with.

    Not only do I love to spoil my dog with their toys and treats but the customer service is phenomenal. Their website has a very handy chat feature that even works well on a mobile platform.

    They truly care about their customers. When my area was devastated by a natural disaster, they reached out via email asking if I needed to change my shipping address and even included two free months just as a kind gesture.

    If you have any issues with a toy or treat never hesitate to contact them and they will help you out with a free replacement.

    My dog and I love BarkBox!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable shipping and tracking

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The box and contents are fine (if overpriced), but BarkBox uses an unreliable shipping system that provides inaccurate shipping information or sometimes no tracking info at all. I tried contacting customer service once and received a canned response. The second agent I communicated with blamed this issue on USPS, but I do not have this issue with other USPS deliveries. This service is too expensive for sub-par customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 168

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review