About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

157 Consumer Reviews for BarkBox

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 66 4 star: 6 3 star: 6 2 star: 9 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 47% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • BarkBox, we love them!

    • Boston, MA,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two super mega chewers who destroy Kong items in minutes. I was looking for something new for them to try and decided on BarkBox. VERY HAPPY! I look so forward to the box arriving! I can count on quality treats that my dogs love, every kind, flavor, and texture; they love them. The toys are all super tough. Well, one was destroyed pretty quickly, but I called BarkBox, and they replaced it with two toys, stating if they are not what you want/need, please donate. FABULOUS customer service.

    I could not be happier with the products, the themes, their customer service, and the price. Yes, you have to read the terms and conditions for what you are subscribing for, I chose a one-year term, and happy I did, and so are my dogs!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Washington,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am unhappy with this service and supposed dog inspired contents. As a trainer, breeder, and owner of show dogs, I felt a need to try their product in order to offer an informed opinion to clients and associates. Wow, am I ever glad I did so, not only will I not recommend their service, I will regularly use their contents to demonstrate the ridiculous products that represent the most undesirable toys available.

    My first box I guess was for my bigger dogs, the toys provided were totally unacceptable for any dog, let only large dogs with a desire to chew. While cute, I would not allow any dog to play with these toys. All are covered in synthetic fuzz, everyone a safety hazard. The next boxes I assumed were for my small dogs, these were even worse, not only do all treats need to be broken up for a small dog the toys are of the same size as the first ones I received. All toys were larger than my dogs, everyone a choking hazard, stuffed with who knows what.

    I would like to thank them for providing excellent examples of what NOT to purchase and use for pets you love!

    I have training classes three days a week, with several classes each day, I now use these toys for each class of 12 to 15 clients, as NO NO ITEMS, and they will NOT be allowed in my classes or my kennels!

    For a company claiming to care for pets, I cannot believe the carelessness with which these products are chosen, the absolute disregard for the size of the pet specified.

    Thank you, BarkBox, for enlightening me to yet another hazard for the unsuspecting casual, unknowing pet owner. Your product will be used regularly as a training aide of what not to own, buy or use for the responsible pet owner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • San Bernardino, CA,
    • May 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up because I was promised a free month. BarkBox charged me after a week. Since then, it's been nothing but issues. Treats are dry and my dog rarely eats them. Not worth the money. I was led to believe I could cancel at any time. Silly me, I thought the cancellation would be immediate. Of course not. Once you sign up, you're bound into a year-long subscription with this horrible scam. Never again will I order from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I love BarkBox

    I have been subscribed to BarkBox for over a year, and they are one of the best companies out there. Their customer service is top notch, and I will be a customer of theirs forever because of the service that I have experienced. My dog never liked toys before BarkBox. Now, he recognizes the box and is in love with the toys they send. I'm very thankful for BarkBox because I have seen a new side to my dog. This subscription is a must-have!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't give your money to this company!

    • Canada,
    • Apr 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a BarkBox as a gift for my friend and they never received it. I've been emailing their head office and no one will reply to me. Very unhappy. $40 down the drain. Don’t give your money to this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Best subscription box ever! My dog loves it.

    I have been using BarkBox for about a year now, and every month I am impressed by the quality of the treats and toys we receive. My dog goes through toys super quickly. It’s so worth the amount I pay every month to have such high-quality toys and treats. Plus he and I love seeing what new theme of the month the toys and treats will be!

    I guess people don’t read the “Terms and Conditions” before they sign up for a monthly subscription. It’s really too bad, and my advice is to actively read their terms and conditions so you know just how exactly this subscription box works so there aren’t any surprises.

    I have only had good experiences with BarkBox and their customer service team.

    I plan on continuing to be a loyal customer and can’t wait to add another box when we welcome our new puppy in the coming months!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Toys don’t hold up

    • Illinois,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a year's subscription of the super chewer box in November. The first couple of months were great. My dog loved the treats, and the toys were strong. She still has the toys from the first two boxes. After that, the toys sent weren’t as strong. She chewed through all the toys within 10 minutes of having them.

    Customer service was very helpful. They refunded me for the toys in the January box, and in February they sent out different replacement toys for the toys my dog chewed up.

    We just received our March box yesterday, and the toys are already destroyed. Although customer service has been helpful in replacing or refunding, I will be canceling my subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    I'm surprised about all these bad reviews! I actually looked it up as a joke thinking there wouldn't be any. Here is my experience so far:

    I have a 12 lb 3 yo Chiweenie who tears toys up! I ordered him the super chewer option at first. He loved 5 out of 6 items that month. I emailed them about the one he wouldn't touch, and they sent him a new one that next day to replace it after listening to what kinds he does like! (He likes to be able to sink his teeth in something, not the nylon hard toys). Anyway, she sent out a new toy no problem!

    The next month I decided to switch to a regular box with extra toys because my boy doesn't LOVE the hard rubber toys so much and I figure if he tears everything up fast, he will at least have fun doing it, and it still was worth it! I emailed asking to change after they had started putting together the new month's super chewer box. They sent me two extra "regular" toys in addition to my super chewer box for the month and asked that if my guy doesn't like them to donate them!

    I have had nothing but positivity and understanding from this company. Shipping is always unbelievably fast! Absolutely recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Customer service sucks!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought a BarkBox on the 25th last month, and they never sent it. I emailed them, and they took a couple of days to respond. Once they responded, they said the box wouldn’t come until the 26th of the following month. When on their website if you purchase one, it would be sent out right away. Once I informed them on how crappy their company is on customer service, they haven’t responded, and it’s been a week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Negative reviews? Definitely NOT my experience!

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Mar 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Frankly, I'm surprised there are negative reviews on here. In fact, I went and searched online for BarkBox to see if other people had similar experiences to me, that being unbelievable customer service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 18, 2018

      Faith

      Hi Lesley! I'm also from Alberta, Canada! I'm curious if you have a referral coupon? I'd like to try this out.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work for us

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The subscription CANNOT be canceled if you forget (like we did) to give them a call and request a cancellation before the trial period expires. Definitely our fault. So we're stuck with the subscription for a year.

    Regarding our box, we were not impressed with it at all. The treats they sent smelled awful and our dog, who absolutely loves treats, wouldn't even go near them. The two toys we got for her you could find in any dollar store bin. Hopefully the next box makes up for this flop we received.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 157

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review