About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 193 BarkBox Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 75 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 12 1 star:  94
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 193
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Sample Boxes for Dogs

    • Arlington Heights, IL,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    It is filled with tons of treats & goodies for your pup. All of the items are full size and high end not the cheap crap that you might find at the drug store etc.

    As a member you also receive the BarkPost newsletter full of funny and interesting articles and not just a sales pitch to get you to buy more. Its really worth the fee, since dogs can be particular I would suggest trying it for one month at $29.00 and if your dogs like it they have 3-month or 6-month plans available. You cancel anytime and shipping is free.

    I started out at one month and my two dogs love their monthly surprise so I upped the subscription to 6 months and I will renew for a year.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Unknown Treasures

    • Charlotte NC,
    • Jul 18, 2014

    What a wonderful box filled with USA made and sourced goodies. My Lab was so excited he couldn't stop wiggling. We received our first box and it included a large squeak stuffed fish, I must say extremely well made, and four treats all grain free and from the USA. I am so glad I subscribed. We will be looking forward to all future box deliveries and the wonderful treats we have never heard of. Looks to be better quality than we get from the local pet store. You also get an index card with the product info, retail cost and purchasing info.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great products and customer service

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Unlike some other reviews, I actually had a great experience with customer service. I moved right around the time the first box was sent out, and before I had a chance to change the address on my account, the box had been sent. It was lost in the mail. I contacted BarkBox and the person I spoke with extended my subscription by a month in case my box did not arrive. I (and, of course, my two dogs) have been very pleased with all the products. I love that most (all?) of the treats are gluten free because one of my dogs is sensitive to gluten. I recommend this subscription service and plan to renew.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Lovely gift

    • Toronto,
    • Sep 26, 2014

    Super fun and cute. A friend sent this to our dog as a gift. The parcel arrived with his name on it, how sweet is that? Our puppy loved the toys and treats. I think it makes a great gift and made everyone in the house feel loved!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great product. Highly recommend.

    • North Augusta, SC,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    Roxy got her first Barkbox today and loved it. She loved the toys and I have no doubt she will love all the treats as well. I was one of the skeptical ones, especially after reading some of the reviews on here. I am proud to say that I had a wonderful experience and have recommended it to all my dog loving friends. I posted pictures on my FB page and had many friends say they wanted to try it out and will be signing up soon. Roxy and I thank you for your creativity and for the products. Can't wait until the Nov box.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    We loved it

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    Bought one box with the extra toy just to try it out. It arrived quickly after the ship date of the 15th. My pointer loved everything in the box. He usually destroys his toys quickly, however these toys seem to hold up a bit better than ones at the local store. He was a happy boy the night it arrived. Reordering looks easy (I have not tried yet) and I had no issue getting customer service with their instant chat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great service!

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Customer service at Barkbox is the best. I had a question and they responded within a few hours, and it was on a Sunday.

    Our dogs loved nosing around in a box that was just for them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great box of toys and treats

    • Jul 9, 2015

    My Boston Terrier loved almost everything in each Barkbox. I had a 3 month subscription and it was loaded full of toys I probably would have never thought to buy and she absolutely enjoyed. I am in Canada and each box was received about a week after the 15th of the month and the box was always perfectly intact. I wish I didn't have to pay extra for shipping, that's the only thing that is keeping me from reordering.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Don't listen to the haters

    • Wisconsin,
    • Aug 15, 2015

    Fist and foremost, this is an amazing idea. My pup loves everything in the box and now thinks every package belongs to him.

    I have seen so many complaints about things that are so preventable, fixable, and not true. Here are the debunked complaints:

    - "I am upset and had no idea that if I chose the year package that I would have to pay for it all up front, now it is out of my credit card and there is nothing I can do.." Yeah, ok, first of all they wouldn't have tiered prices if they were all paid monthly because there is no promise that you will continue paying for it. Also before you check out, it tells you the total, multiple times. And you confirm it.

    - "they keep renewing my subscription, when I didn't tell them to." The website says, probably a trillion times that subscriptions automatically renew. If you don't want it to, press the cancel button. You will still receive the boxes already paid for and you won't be renewed.

    - "I ordered on the 6th and it's the 15th and I still haven't received my box" please learn how to read, yet again, it says on their site that boxes ship on the 15th. If shipping is free- it is probably going to take about a week to receive your box. And guess what... they also have this fancy invention called a tracking number on your account.

    - "my dog was allergic to this treat," "my dog didn't like a toy so I am canceling," "my dog is a heavy chewer and this seems unsatisfactory." if your dog is allergic to something, read the box and don't give it to them. Email Barkbox and tell them your dog has an allergy and they will send you something new or Email them before receiving you box to prevent getting something risky. Remember that these boxes aren't personalized to you dog based on anything other than size unless you email Barkbox. They fill thousands of boxes a month, and do not personally know your dog and exactly what it likes. It's also part of the surprise. If your dog doesn't like a toy or it isn't strong enough, talk to customer service.

    I have tried several boxes now and Barkbox has had the best customer service. You can contact them in a plethora of ways and I almost always get an immediate response. Remember that there are probably a couple thousand e-mails in their inbox alone every day. You cannot expect the world.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Money well spent

    • Virginia,
    • Aug 1, 2015

    I can't believe some of the reviews on here complaining about how their pet didn't like this or that. It would be no different if you went out and bought a toy or treat and they didn't like it. Every month i get a box with 1 or 2 new toys and a bunch of natural, healthy treats (majority are made in the USA). My boxer loves the toys. If he tears them up, at least he had fun doing it. Most of the treats he likes also. Some not as much. Those I give to my friends with dogs to see if they like them.

    Point is, I rarely have to buy him treats or toys because I know he's getting a new box every month. At 19$ a month, I'm saving money since toys cost anywhere from $5-15 each and treats are just as expensive.

    As for the complaints about the automatic subscriptions and other nonsense, it's all on the website. I knew when I ordered it that the six months was paid up front, and that it would automatically renew.

    Some people may not want to pay so much, but I love my dog and love how he gets excited when that box comes in the mail. He knows it's for him before I even open it.

    Oh yea, I've had BarkBox for over a year now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Source of my dog's favorite toys of all time.

    • Cupertino, CA,
    • Jan 20, 2015

    I signed up based on a discounted offer from my company. They ask for the size of your dog for which I indicated "small". The treats have been good but the toys have been universal hits which has not been the case with the toys I have picked out myself at the pet store! They mix toys and treats with other useful items, the highlight to date has been a super-absorbent drying towel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 193

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review