About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

185 Consumer Reviews for BarkBox

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 7 3 star: 6 2 star: 11 1 star:  85
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 185
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    A furry friend just signed up for BarkBox using a referral link. That meant that I was supposed to get two free extra months added to my subscription.

    I received an email from them now they are refusing to send it because the person used a Groupon. I feel like they sent the email and its their error which they should stand behind. All I got was "apologies" from the customer service.

    Boxes were cute and I would have continued to re-order but not now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Grand Prairie, TX,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I ordered my parents a Bark Box for their birthdays which are both in Aug. Three weeks later they had not received their "box". After emails, online chat and phone calls I was told that my elderly parents did not "redeem" their "code " properly online. After almost an hour of trying to get their box "redeemed" with the company. Finally they said they would sent it, in three more weeks. No apologies, no faster shipping, no consolations of any kind offered. Poor customer service I talked to 4 different people. I will never order from them again nor more importantly recommend them. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 8, 2014

      Darlene Morabito,

      I too have had a HORRIBLE experience with Bark Box. My dog's first one arrived last month and it was CRUSHED to smithereens. After contacting them THREE times and hearing nothing, I am disgusted and certainly will NOT renew when my subscription runs out. I always would NOT recommend them to anyone.

    • Jan 3, 2015

      Angie,

      They clearly state on the website that they send them out once a month around the 10th. I did a gift subscription once and since my parents are not very computer savvy, I went ahead and redeemed it when I ordered it for them so ensure no issues.

    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Damaged first shipment no response from company

    • Auburn, NY,
    • Sep 9, 2014

    We received our first shipment approximately three weeks ago. The box was crushed flat as a pancake. We had to throw away most of the treats because they were reduced to crumbs. All of the packaging was damaged for each individual item inside. After several attempts to contact the company with no response, we are disgusted with this brand and wouldn't recommend them to anyone. Still hoping I can get in touch with them, if for no other reason than to cancel my subscription once it runs out. I hear that they automatically renew without advising their customers, so I am very concerned. They are not reliable and their customer service is NON-EXISTENT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2014

      Anonymous,

      Their website does state the plan automatically renews.

    • Dec 1, 2014

      Anonymous,

      They ship in a nice box so if it is crushed, that is the postal service's problem.

    • Oct 24, 2015

      Nancy,

      Your response is just plain rude and doesn't help the situation.

    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    No, don't do this!

    • Grass Valley, CA,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Rip off! Don't do it because it's not worth two cents. All products are awful and made in China. I wouldn't give my dog any of this! It's impossible to reach BarkBox after a payment. I'm calling my bank & canceling payment. A big no!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2014

      Nicole,

      I've had subscriptions off and on the past 3 years and that is absolutely NOT true. None of it is from China. You can even read it on the treat packages and on the toys. Thinking the items are a rip-off does not mean they're from China.

    • Jan 3, 2015

      Angie,

      Nicole is right, I check everything I get and nothing comes from China. Most of it is made in the USA. I've had my subscription for over a year now.

    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    It was a Groupon Purchase, Bad Customer Service

    • Lubbock, Texas,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    Barkbox has found it, but the incompetence of customer service  people reign and they do not know how to take care of the Groupon without putting my credit card number on their site.

    Three months ago I purchased a Groupon. Paid in good faith for three months of BarkBox. Still haven't seen ANY items. Beware. I have been talking and emailing back and forth – spending way too much time on this issue that should be a non issue. Simple. Pay for items, items get sent out and smiles all around. Not for me, still isn't resolved. They now want my credit card to put on their site - what so I can pay twice? Not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 7, 2014

    I sent a box as a gift and still 1 month later it is not delivered. They did not answer my emails properly and I couldn't speak to anyone in person. They lost a good customer - and they don't even care.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 18, 2014

      Morgan,

      I was misled to believe that the free box I was offered via a friend's referral would be totally free, and it was not. I promise you, I NEVER clicked the final submit button, and yet my card was charged, and they have not answered my emails. The box isn't even supposed to ship for a month! Calling them today to get this resolved.

    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Jun 11, 2015

    Ordered the box on the 8th. I emailed them two times after the 15th (takes that long to ship!) in order to get the tracking number which they explained was their policy. Two times the rep told me it shipped no problem its on its way. 10 days later, I called to talk with someone and lo and behold they had a "Snafu" and it hasn't even shipped yet. Not sure If we will ever get it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Collegic theme received for November 2014 Barkbox looks like Sept box

    • Maine,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    Disappointed that we received this box. Prior to ordering I thought, oh so glad I didn't order for this month and now I've received it anyway. Perhaps it would not be bad if it was the free box that I see offered on some three month subscriptions. After I've ordered that, if I had entered a certain code I would get the last months box free so 4 for the price of 3. That would have been cool with the Halloween box but the collegiate box I have also seen mix weak reviews and didn't find the pennant interesting at all.

    Two of the 3 treat items received weak interest from our puppy who is always hungry and he didn't care for the two items.  The only one he liked was the duck chew stick, which he disappeared in less that 15 minutes. The other two felt like he only took them to be polite since he is not polite regarding food. It really registered that he didn't care for either set of treats. Anyway, hopefully it will only get better from here but really wish this wasn't the first box we received.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap company

    • Canada,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I will start off by saying I would rate no stars if I could. I ordered one box to try. I decided I did not want to continue, seeing as the products are not worth it. After receiving another box, I thought maybe a mistake until I looked at my visa charges. They charged me again. Me being an annoyed costumer, phoned them and said cancel this subscription. After dealing with them for over ten minutes saying they couldn't find my account, finally they find it and say "since it is past shipment day you will receive this month's BarkBox and you can either keep it or send back for money back, this will be your last box".

    Here is the kicker, I got another charge and box this month so guess what BarkBox company, my credit card company will be taking to you today.

    Sincerely, a pissed off person.

    P.S. Bottom line, this company is crap and a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Infuriating company, no customer service

    • Texas ,
    • Aug 14, 2015

    If I could give them zero stars I would.

    Ordering: online I attempted to order one box. Put in cart, applied coupon, filled out form and hit submit. The screen didn't change. No 'congratulations' or 'we've received your order'. So I waited a few and hit send again. Still no screen change. So I opted to online chat for guidance. No one answered. 5 minutes later I finally found a phone number. These people do not want you to call. I called and got an out of office voicemail. Not what you want to hear just before the holidays when the item is a gift. I regretfully sent an email to address my concerns as by then my email confirmed several purchases.

    Shipping: first, I'd like you to know I ordered the box on the 15th December and it wasn't shipped until 23rd December 'expedited delivery'. Secondly, I had the box sent to a PO Box and found out only after the box was held and denied delivery that they ship FedEx who only ships to PO Boxes outside the US. Funny there was no mention of it on the site nor was it mentioned during the call I received regarding the system limitation order confirmation page to remove excess orders. I sat helplessly watching the tracking say 'delivery denied' as Christmas came and went. Mind you, their answering message changed to 'we are out for the howl-a-days.'

    The box was returned to BarkBox by FedEx. I was told by email that id receive a credit for the 'expedited delivery' with no credit to see on my credit card. Was told a new box would be sent out with no tracking email sent to me for follow up. They prefer one-way email communication rather than a one-and-done phone call. The mystery items in the boxes are probably manufacturer clearance/overstock/giveaways.

    I'm just over it.

    To Don't Listen To The Haters in WI - you're an obvious employee because all you did was post retorts to the many cons listed here and didn't offer your own subscription experience. And guess what, the cons outnumber you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money, and customer service is poor

    • Silver Spring, Maryland,
    • Jan 16, 2015

    I paid for 3 month subscription. After I saw how empty the first box was, I called to cancel. Of course, they don't answer the phone. They also did not call me back.

    Several weeks later I noticed in my spam there was a very curt email from two days ago. Then, I look on the site and my subscription was deactivated but it looks like they are saying I am owed 1 box. I don't know what is going on because no one wants to speak to me on the phone. Frustrating!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2017

      Dou Nut

      Please consider to review them on the Better Business Bureau. They have an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau right now because they only have four reviews (which all are negative). The more negative reviews they get the lower the rating, and it will save people a lot of hardship we went through.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 185

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review