About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 193 BarkBox Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 75 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 12 1 star:  94
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 193
Sort reviews by:

  • 37 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest company!

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Mar 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their "you can cancel at any time," which is clearly written on the very front page of their website, is a complete lie. You can't cancel for 12 or 6 months (whatever you sign up for), EVEN IF you complete a cancellation form on their website and go through the fake formalities that they have set up. I did this and was still charged for February.

    I contacted their customer service, and they informed me that "you can cancel at any time" actually means "when your 12 months is up, you can choose to not renew the service, otherwise, it will be renewed for you." Really?

    It's FRAUD. They are literally scamming people left and right. This is my second negative encounter with them too (one time they charged me for a box and never shipped anything to me). Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Blaming others

    • New York,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Reading through these reviews is infuriating. It's pretty clear that when you sign up for a 6 or 12-month subscription, you're committing to the entire length. Why else would they give you a cheaper per month price? I don't understand how you all just assume you can get their cheapest price for absolutely nothing back on your end. They're a business trying to make money, so of COURSE they are going to have practices that benefit them. That's the entire point of their existence. I get that the "cancel at any time" line is a bit misleading, but worse than being misleading is not doing your research before signing up for something, or even worse, having absolutely no common sense and then blaming the company for your idiocy. Sorry, not sorry.

    As for the actual product, I love BarkBox. They save me a lot of time, effort, and money for my little weeny King. Their treats are enjoyed and healthy, and their toys are all great quality for my little destroyer (once I went on their free Tough Chewer option)! I love BarkBox, and I think they're doing a great service for us passionate pup parents. It goes without saying, but do your research before going into business with them! If you think it is right for you, though, I would wholeheartedly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    BarkBox is Not Worth the Money

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Sep 12, 2015

    I signed up for BarkBox on a three month trial with a free toy upgrade for a total of $72. My dog did enjoy some of the treats and a few of the toys, but for the most part BarkBox was not worth the money even with the free toy upgrade. The toys are not very strong and my 13-pound Jack Russell Terrier destroyed some of them in under 10 minutes.

    Also, some of the treat flavors were very odd. In August my dog received Watermelon flavored treats which he detests. The upgrade toy was always some weird, obscure toy that was clearly designed for humans and that no dog wants to play with like a cylindrical shaped toy that you are supposed to put carrots in or a frog shaped rubber toy that floats in water. My dog didn't really enjoy these toys even though he is very smart. They just didn't have enough pizzazz to spark his interest.

    Lastly, and probably the number one reason I don't think BarkBox is worth the money is because they automatically renew your subscription without any notice before it happens. Sure, their website says they do it, but for a company who sends you tons of e-mails you would think that you would receive a courtesy email telling you this is about to happen. I was charged $99 for another three months and they automatically included the toy upgrade. By the time I saw the charge on my credit card (which was done over Labor Day Weekend) on Tuesday, I was told that my September box had already shipped and that it cost $33 and they were only refunding me $66. It seems to me that BarkBox makes its money by offering you a discount or special perk and then automatically renews your subscription at full price in order to make money. The customer service representative that I chatted with still used that dog voice and misspelling of words which simply added to my ire.

    Simply put, BarkBox is not worth the money and the convenience in not having to go to the pet store does not outweigh the inconvenience, lack of quality, and actual cost of their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • OH,
    • Jul 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered the Bark Box for a small dog and was really disappointed with the items shipped. There was a strawberry shaped toy that you can put treats in. It took the small dog (6lbs) 15 minutes to chew pieces of the rubber strawberry off and attempt to ingest them. We immediately threw it away. The other toy was a very small butterfly which was pretty decent and probably worth 5-7 bucks. The treats were decent quality but quite honestly I thought this would be more geared toward toys than treats. The rawhide included was just cheap filler.

    In the end, I understand all things do not work for all dogs and that was the reason I did month to month. I canceled the day we opened the box and just discovered today they are continuing to charge me. This is the main reason I never do these services and unfortunately I trusted this was really month to month.

    Summary: I don't feel like the items included are worth anywhere near the price and the hassle is not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Beware of Subscription

    • Nevada,
    • Oct 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a one time Barkbox to take a look at the contents. I paid for the one month option. I was amazed to see another charge on my credit card for an additional Barkbox. My card was charged 5 days before I got an email indicating the Barkbox was shipped.

    I only wanted ONE evaluation box, but they took that to mean a subscription for the product, even though I paid the one-time price for the product.

    Frankly, the contents consisted of two cheap toys and some treats that my dog won't eat. You would do better to shop at your local pert store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Not Impressed

    • Sep 29, 2015

    I have a teacup chihuahua and they sent me toys big enough for a great dane -- they were extremely heavy and too large for my friend's cocker spaniel. I clicked "small dog" when I started my subscription so was very surprised. The worst part was that customer service was extremely rude and told me to "donate" the toys if I wasn't happy with them. That message was in response to me simply asking if they had sent me the wrong box. In this day and age, with so many other options available, they might want to think twice about the way they treat customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Products & Customer Service!

    • Loudonville, OH,
    • Aug 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Received our first BarkBox last month. Our Chihuahua loved the toys! He is a chewer, but they have held up great. He wasn't interested at all in the one type of treats they sent.

    I messaged Barkbox via Facebook and received an immediate response. They asked what type of treats our pup prefers and gave us a $15 credit and free shipping on anything in the Barkshop.

    I don't think there are any hidden/sneaky charges, just folks who aren't reading what is plainly stated when signing up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Not pleased

    • Florida,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order because it said cancel at any time. Well you can cancel your subscription anytime, but BarkBox will continue to send you boxes and charge you for them. How wonderfully underhanded of them. Subscribe at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Good luck getting a refund

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to call three times in order to get the amount they charged my PayPal account refunded to me. This is ridiculous, they can't hear you talking to them because they're screaming in the background and dogs are barking. It's a cute idea but way overpriced for what they actually send you and if you have a problem, well good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Damaged first shipment no response from company

    • Auburn, NY,
    • Sep 9, 2014

    We received our first shipment approximately three weeks ago. The box was crushed flat as a pancake. We had to throw away most of the treats because they were reduced to crumbs. All of the packaging was damaged for each individual item inside. After several attempts to contact the company with no response, we are disgusted with this brand and wouldn't recommend them to anyone. Still hoping I can get in touch with them, if for no other reason than to cancel my subscription once it runs out. I hear that they automatically renew without advising their customers, so I am very concerned. They are not reliable and their customer service is NON-EXISTENT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Worst company ever

    • New Milford, CT,
    • Sep 17, 2015

    I cannot get this company to respond to any of my emails. I ever received my back BarkBox.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 193

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review