Read 193 BarkBox Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 75 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 12 1 star:  94
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 193
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality, UNETHICAL business practices.

    • North Dakota,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dogs destroy these toys in 5 seconds flat. I was waiting out my initial 12-month subscription and was not planning on renewing. Unbeknownst to me, they renewed it without my consent. Then, they REFUSED to refund me when I complained. This is a very unethical business practice! They are continuing to give me the run-around. Do NOT use this service. You are much better off going to Target every month and putting a box together yourself!

    Looks like many others have had this same issue. I wish I had read these reviews beforehand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    • Wyoming,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed having a BarkBox for my dog and was happy for one year. But my dog ended up with too many similar toys and I didn't need to continue receiving it. I decided to wait until one year ended to end my subscription. I was told when I got it that I could end it at any time.

    Anyways, when I looked online, I saw that it would end in October, which is one year from when I started. I didn't realize that the year was set to one year later. They refuse to let me out of a full year membership. I am now stuck with getting the BarkBox every month. Every time I have talked to them they just tell me how I can have different things, instead of just ending my service.

    This company intentionally tricks people, and I will never recommend that they be used. Their service is good, but there are plenty of other companies out there that don't have to trick you to keep your service. This is a ploy, and you should NOT join this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not use this service!

    • California,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up and specified chewer, etc. I got the first box and it is full of stuff that would not work at all for a chewer, and it was Grinch-themed. Not my thing. No worries. I gave the box away and canceled the service. Here comes another one. Also, I give that one away and go on chat help to get it canceled for the second time. Hey, not allowed to cancel! But first, they refuse to tell me that and put me through 23 minutes of nonsense talk about changing the service. Finally, they tell me you cannot cancel once you have engaged, even if you stated immediately you do not like the box. Terrible customer service trained in denial and not listening. They take you hostage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Changed my subscription without my approval

    • North Dakota,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They offer a "tailored" option for people with picky pups, but they have often sent me treats with my toy order even though my dog often gets sick from their treats. They often would send me a replacement toy to make up for it. However, this past summer I was sent an email stating that my BarkBox was changing and that I'd have to get treats with my order instead of getting the four toys.

    Then now. They offered a "Black Friday" deal for their subscription, and the offer was you could save so much if you did a 12-month subscription. I signed up, not realizing it was a flat payment of $219. I simply just didn't have that amount to spend around the holidays. So I decided to cancel that option and I received an email confirming that the option was canceled and I'd be back on regular billing cycles. All seemed fine until I got charged for the $219 anyways. Now every time I contact customer service it seems they don't care and reply with a very generic response.

    I wouldn't recommend doing business with them. Their toys don't last very long anyway. The "tough toys" are too tough and don't appeal to my dog, and if by chance they do, they break quickly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    July Box in October AND November

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They sent me the Croc Jaw, one of their worst reviewed toys because any dog can destroy the tail, which is made of plastic and your dog can swallow it in under 5 minutes no problem. I called to let them know I was really unhappy and they sent me a November BarkBox for free (they said they would do this in October and I still got the Toxic Critters box with the exact same treats and toys) and would give me a full refund because this wasn't a common occurrence. While I am happy about getting a refund and not having to deal with the service anymore, I am confused as to why this is happening, and it is disappointing because I really wanted to treat my puppy. Overall, at least they did right and gave me a refund, but I wish I hadn't wasted my time on this product and chose an alternative option over it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it

    • New Jersey,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The toys that we got were destroyed by our puppy. Good luck with them following through on replacements or tougher toys.

    Multiple attempts to remedy and they never follow through.

    When I tried to cancel they refused and became nasty and refused.

    Threatened me with their terms when I said I would call my credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never make a subscription through BarkBox ever again. All the packages I've gotten from them I've been getting them late. I called and tried chatting with different representatives. It takes them at least 20 minutes to get to you. I gave them a second chance because the first time I subscribed to them my card was taken off my account for no apparent reason. They asked if I wanted to keep getting boxes, I will need to update card information. I gave them a second chance. It's already been three weeks and still no box. After I receive this next box, I'm officially done with BarkBox.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Shipped fast

    • Hawaii,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hesitant at first about giving BarkBox a try. There are some pretty negative reviews out there, but I really believe you should experience things yourself and take people's opinions with a grain of salt. I subscribed to BarkBox on 9/16. I used a promo code to get my first box of $10.50. The box shipped incredibly fast! Things typically take longer than expected to get to me in Hawaii but I got my first box on 9/21. The theme is adorable, and the toys are fun. One of my dogs is more rough with toys, so we'll see how well they hold up, ha. I'm more excited about the high-quality treats! I usually spend more than $20 a month on my dogs, so this is a great deal for us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Ashland, NE,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My first order my dog tore apart toys within one hour. I called to cancel, and they won’t let me! They said I signed up for a year and I’m stuck. They keep shipping every month and charging my PayPal account. So I have a balance with PayPal, and I keep sending the boxes back unopened. Total scam! Now I can’t use my PayPal account or cancel it! Ugh! Don’t sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Never received order

    • Alabama,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the first box at the beginning of August and still haven't received it. All they do is give excuses about a warehouse problem. I don't understand how others that ordered after I did got theirs in a few days. It's a month later, and I still have nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointing

    • Mechanicsville, VA,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first time I ordered from BarkBox I had a bad experience. They lost my order, and I had to contact them several times to receive my order. I thought I would give them a second chance and I placed an order on 8/22 for my granddog's birthday on 8/29. I received an email stating the order would be received in 2-5 days. It is now the 29th, her birthday, and my order has not even left the warehouse yet! I will not be giving them a third try. From now on I will be ordering from Amazon. They are much more reliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 193

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review