About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

194 Consumer Reviews for BarkBox

Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 7 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  93
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 194
Sort reviews by:

  • Wouldn't recommend

    • New York,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to try BarkBox so I checked the "try 1 month" option thinking I would get 1 month's worth and then if I liked it I could subscribe monthly. I ordered on 3/1 and they took the money out then, the box came very fast. The toys lasted a few hours and my dog had them destroyed so I wasn't going to do another month. I was maybe going to try the super chewer box they offer. Well, on 3/11 they took out another months payment. I talked to a "Nancy" on the website who said they cannot refund me my money and I cannot return the BarkBox even though I just received one not even 10 days ago. Due to her lack of customer service skills, I will NOT be trying the super chew box and I do not recommend BarkBox unless you're looking for cheap dog toys.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Read Terms carefully

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally was happy with the boxes I was receiving. But after a year I decided to cancel as I was having too many treats and toys that my dogs didn’t care for. I went online and thought I had canceled. Nope. I initially signed up for a 12-month subscription not realizing it "auto-renews" into another 12-month long subscription that can’t be canceled. So I am now stuck paying for another 7 months. Just beware of this going into it and make sure you pay attention to when you need to cancel so that your subscription doesn’t auto-renew.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM! These people are dishonest.

    • Unlisted/None,
    • Mar 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, I signed up for the Super Chewer version of the BarkBox. I got two boxes in a row with stuffed animals and squeaky toys and treats. My dog destroyed the toys in minutes. I complained about the quality of those supposed Super Chewer Toys. I was assured there was a mix-up and I would receive more durable toys in the next box, along with two extra toys. Instead, this months box arrived, beat up and ugly, and contained the exact same, Viking themed items as were in the January box, but looked like it was pulled out of the recycling, didn't have a cute treasure map, and one of the squeaky toys had a broken squeaker.

    For $50, I expected better quality. BarkBox didn't hold up their end of the contract, lied to me, and then sent me crappy quality toys. New theme every month? NO! Quality toys? NO! Expensive for junk? YES! Dishonest con artists? YES!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Credit card fraud

    • New York,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    BarkBox will continue to charge you for subscriptions you don't purchase. I bought a one-month subscription as a gift and told them I only wanted one-month several times. I also only received a receipt for one month and they continued to charge me without my knowledge. They give me no receipt or information. In addition, they wouldn't cancel my subscription or give me a refund. Please be careful of this scam and protect yourself from fraudulent companies like BarkBox.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Heed other recent warnings - CS runaround as you try to cancel!

    • Dayton, OH,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unable to cancel as chat and text reps would just disappear and a new person would appear and see complaint and again would just end chat or disappear. I’m forced to dispute credit card charge at this point.

    Rep is also passive aggressive in response. Obviously some unhappy employees being forced to engage in shady, unethical business practice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Alabama,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT sign up for this subscription!

    It is a scam. They draw you in with a $5 first box and even when you cancel your subscription, they proceed to charge you $30 every month. It's impossible to talk to a real person to get this problem fixed, as they only provide you with a texting number and a Facebook Messenger link to communicate. All responses on these are automated and are not real humans talking to you. It is practically impossible to get your money back and remove your credit card number from their database.

    DO NOT FALL FOR THIS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Cute idea but too expensive for toys that don't last.

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three subscriptions - one super chewer, large, and medium and always received duplicates. Toys didn't last and they won't replace them. BarkBox will replace maybe five but after that, they won't. Their guarantee doesn't mean anything. A cute concept but too expensive for items that don't last. Their delivery takes way too long.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality, UNETHICAL business practices.

    • North Dakota,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dogs destroy these toys in 5 seconds flat. I was waiting out my initial 12-month subscription and was not planning on renewing. Unbeknownst to me, they renewed it without my consent. Then, they REFUSED to refund me when I complained. This is a very unethical business practice! They are continuing to give me the run-around. Do NOT use this service. You are much better off going to Target every month and putting a box together yourself!

    Looks like many others have had this same issue. I wish I had read these reviews beforehand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    • Wyoming,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed having a BarkBox for my dog and was happy for one year. But my dog ended up with too many similar toys and I didn't need to continue receiving it. I decided to wait until one year ended to end my subscription. I was told when I got it that I could end it at any time.

    Anyways, when I looked online, I saw that it would end in October, which is one year from when I started. I didn't realize that the year was set to one year later. They refuse to let me out of a full year membership. I am now stuck with getting the BarkBox every month. Every time I have talked to them they just tell me how I can have different things, instead of just ending my service.

    This company intentionally tricks people, and I will never recommend that they be used. Their service is good, but there are plenty of other companies out there that don't have to trick you to keep your service. This is a ploy, and you should NOT join this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Do not use this service!

    • California,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up and specified chewer, etc. I got the first box and it is full of stuff that would not work at all for a chewer, and it was Grinch-themed. Not my thing. No worries. I gave the box away and canceled the service. Here comes another one. Also, I give that one away and go on chat help to get it canceled for the second time. Hey, not allowed to cancel! But first, they refuse to tell me that and put me through 23 minutes of nonsense talk about changing the service. Finally, they tell me you cannot cancel once you have engaged, even if you stated immediately you do not like the box. Terrible customer service trained in denial and not listening. They take you hostage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Changed my subscription without my approval

    • North Dakota,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They offer a "tailored" option for people with picky pups, but they have often sent me treats with my toy order even though my dog often gets sick from their treats. They often would send me a replacement toy to make up for it. However, this past summer I was sent an email stating that my BarkBox was changing and that I'd have to get treats with my order instead of getting the four toys.

    Then now. They offered a "Black Friday" deal for their subscription, and the offer was you could save so much if you did a 12-month subscription. I signed up, not realizing it was a flat payment of $219. I simply just didn't have that amount to spend around the holidays. So I decided to cancel that option and I received an email confirming that the option was canceled and I'd be back on regular billing cycles. All seemed fine until I got charged for the $219 anyways. Now every time I contact customer service it seems they don't care and reply with a very generic response.

    I wouldn't recommend doing business with them. Their toys don't last very long anyway. The "tough toys" are too tough and don't appeal to my dog, and if by chance they do, they break quickly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 194

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review