About Basis by Elysium

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 24, 2016

If you’ve been a HighYa reader for long, you already recognize that there are a lot of products claiming to work at the cellular level, whether they’re supposed to help you look younger or improve your health. But in a lot of instances, these products fail to deliver on their promises. Is Basis by Elysium different, though?

According to Elysium, after decades of research by leading scientists and clinicians, this nutritional supplement was designed to repair cells damaged by the aging process and environmental toxins, while keeping healthy cells healthy. As a result, Basis could help you experience benefits not attainable through diet and exercise alone, such as “more consistent energy, better quality sleep, and sharper cognitive function.”

Basis accomplishes this by boosting your body’s production of a coenzyme called NAD+ (we’ll talk more about this soon), which is responsible for cellular energy production, damage repair, and more. All you have to do is take two capsules each morning, and with regular use, Basis could “optimize your health” for the long-term.

You’re here for one main reason: you want to know if Basis by Elysium is the real deal, and that’s exactly what we’ll help you find out in this review. To begin, let’s take a closer look at the role of NAD+ in the body.

Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide (NAD+) & Your Health

In the Complete Guide to Nicotinamide Riboside, we discussed this important coenzyme (a lesser-known version of vitamin B3), how it works within the human body, and many of its claimed benefits. So, if you’re looking to get an in-depth look at the situation, this is definitely worth a read.

In a nutshell though, nicotinamide riboside (NR) doesn’t directly cause any benefits in the body. Instead, as a coenzyme (a substance that enhances the action of an enzyme), it binds with protein molecules to create active enzymes. NR also boosts levels of another coenzyme called nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD+), which is essential for proper cellular function, but is something that begins declining in our 20s.

However, supplementation of nicotinamide riboside has been clinically shown to combat many side effects associated with this NAD+ reduction, including improving communication between your cells’ nuclei and their mitochondria, leading to improved cellular health, boosted cognitive function and synaptic plasticity, reduced likelihood of neurodegenerative diseases, and more. In order to provide these benefits, Basis only contains two ingredients: nicotinamide riboside and pterostilbene, a potent polyphenol and derivative of resveratrol found in blueberries that boosts sirtuin levels, another enzyme associated with slowed aging.

Here’s the thing though: Much of the current clinical research on these substances has been conducted on non-human subjects (often yeast or mice), which is something you can see for yourself by quickly browsing the citations on Elysium’s website. So, although much of this research is positive, it’s still far from “proven” that these substance will provide these same benefits in humans.

Where Does Elysium Obtain Their Nicotinamide Riboside From?

Over the past couple years, we’ve seen an explosion in the number of nicotinamide riboside supplements available on the market. Not just because of the positive research that continues to pile up, but because of a new way of obtaining NR in the first place.

You see, until recently, NR was manufactured using a labor-intensive 8-step process derived from tryptophan. Today though, a company named ChromaDex manufactures the “first and only commercially-available nicotinamide riboside (NR) with five patents issued and more pending,” which they sell as a standalone ingredient under the trade name Niagen. This is why you’ll find dozens of different Niagen supplements (such as one from Live Cell Research – more about this shortly) manufactured by completely different companies.

However, there wasn’t a nutritional label listed on the Elysium website, although there’s no indication on their website that Basis contains Niagen (or the amount), so it’s not clear if additional commercial sources of nicotinamide riboside are used.

Whether it goes by Niagen or another name, or it’s manufactured by Elysium or another company, what’s everyone saying about these NR supplements?

Do Nicotinamide Riboside Supplements Like Basis Really Work?

We already talked about the positive—yet preliminary—clinical research for nicotinamide riboside above, but what are real-world customers experiencing with these supplements?

Basis by Elysium has received a fair amount of high-level media attention recently, having been featured in MIT Technology Review, The Boston Globe, Scientific American, Fast Company, and more. Most of these were high-level reviews talking about the scientific credentials of many of the people behind the company (we’ll talk more about this in the following section), but not necessarily reviews about the supplement itself.

However, we did find one first-hand review on CorpsStrength.com, where the author concluded that they didn’t experience any noticeable results from taking Basis for an undisclosed period of time. On the upside, they didn’t claim to have experienced any side effects, either.

Here on HighYa, Live Cell Research’s Niagen supplement had a 3-star rating based on 73 reader reviews at the time of our research. As you might imagine with such an evenly split reputation, some customers claimed to have experienced boosted energy, improved mental clarity, and improved sleep; while others claimed to have experienced nothing at all.

Let’s talk more about Elysium’s power-packed team of scientific professionals next.

The Team Behind Basis by Elysium

Compared to most of the other nicotinamide riboside supplements out there, Elysium’s CEO Eric Marcotulli has assembled a “dream team” of 30+ industry innovators and science and medicine pioneers to create the Basis supplement. This includes Chief Scientist Lenny Guarente, who has “focused his research on what keeps us healthy as we age” for more than 35 years, and who also runs MIT’s Glenn Lab for the Science of Aging, as well as Nobel laureates Aaron Ciechanover, Eric Kandel, Martin Karplus, and more.

According to Eric, the market potential for something like Basis was ripe for development, as he was “overwhelmed with the response” after reaching out to these scientists. In the future, the company hopes to continue identifying “novel compounds to produce health products that can directly improve our health.”

Given the clinically studied ingredients and the scientific support behind Basis, how much will you pay for the supplement?

How Much Does Basis by Elysium Cost?

Basis is available through the following options:

  • One Bottle: $60
  • Monthly Subscription: $50 per bottle
  • Semi-Annual Subscription: $45 per bottle ($270 due at checkout)
  • Annual Subscription: $40 per bottle ($480 due at checkout)

All orders include free Ground shipping.

Important note: If you choose any of the subscription options, Elysium will continue sending you a fresh bottle of Basis once per month. If you’re on a monthly plan, these recurring shipments can be canceled at any time. However, semi-annual or annual subscriptions cannot be canceled mid-term.

In addition, keep in mind that after your Basis order has shipped, no refunds are available.

In order to speak with one of Elysium’s customer support representatives, you’ll need to call toll-free (888) 220-6436 or send an email to care@elysiumhealth.com.

Will Basis by Elysium Improve Your Health—or Your Life?

In classical mythology, Elysium was “the abode of the blessed after death.” But can the company’s first supplement, Basis, help you live a healthier, happier, and longer life in this world?

Based on the available clinical evidence and customer feedback for similar products, we’d recommend keeping your expectations realistic for Basis. In other words, could the NR contained in Basis really help improve cellular function? Considering the mounting clinical evidence, it certainly seems well within the realm of possibilities.

On the flip side, even if Basis’ ingredients work exactly like the company claims, you might not experience any noticeable exterior benefits. According to their FAQ:

“Basis is designed to work beneath the surface on the health of your cells, and its primary purpose is not to deliver surface-level results. Taking Basis is an investment in your long-term health, and you may not feel different despite the improvements happening inside your body. Everyone’s physiology is unique and results vary from person to person.”

Given this, if you don’t experience any “surface-level results” with Basis, how will you be able to tell the difference between it working and it not? How can you gauge whether or not your $60-per month investment is worthwhile? Ultimately, despite the clinical research and scientific credentials behind the supplement, you’ll have to decide whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

In our opinion, if you feel like giving Basis by Elysium a try, we’d recommend starting with a single bottle, since refunds aren’t available and you can’t cancel an annual or semi-annual subscription mid-term. Then, depending on your results, you make a more informed decision about how to proceed.

Did you give Basis by Elysium a try? How long did you take it? What kinds of benefits did you experience? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 42 Basis by Elysium Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 9 3 star: 5 2 star: 5 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 52% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Three week experience

    • Cypress, Texas,
    • Jul 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a male, 65 years old. I am over weight and have the usual problems that come with it. My experience after three weeks is interesting.

    1. I sleep a lot better.

    2. My dreams are more vivid and I remember them clearly.

    3. My thought processes is keener.

    4. I am starting to become more active. My base line for activity started out as a coach potato.

    Now for the record I am not jumping over tall buildings or running a marathon. I plan to continue with the program and see where it takes me. I will update my review if I feel there is anything I can add.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Feel good

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 65 year old man. I have been taking the product for a couple of months. I clearly have more energy and my memory and ability to focus is very much enhanced. Something is going on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Impressed!

    • California ,
    • Oct 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a healthy, active 54-year-old female at 5'4", 115lbs. I've been taking Basis for 10 days now and have noticed the following:

    1. More energy – I run, hike, or go to the gym almost every day and have noticed a significant burst of energy that lasts all day.
    2. Mental clarity – my thought process seems clearer. I am able to focus better on my tasks. I tend to be a little ADD and this seems to be helping.
    3. Sleep pattern hasn't changed
    4. Skin and hair seem to look better but not sure yet if it's something else I'm doing or if it's Basis.

    I take no other supplements at this time and eat a very healthy diet. I'm going to start Vitamin D 2000 every other day and see if I notice any difference. I only ordered one months supply of Basis but will continue to take it for six months and evaluate from there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Perceived benefits

    • Crystal River, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this product for over a year. I've read all the reviews, and the naysayers give advice about this product. My conclusion at this time is a positive experience concerning Elysium.

    I do feel I am able to concentrate and think clearer now, and my energy level is very good. At 65 and I'm still working full time and as a senior technician, my concentration and abilities to perform are very good. Many supplements we take don't show a result directly as we ingest them but over time reveal their results. I believe my use of this product helps me! As others have stated, when something reveals we are doing well, keep doing what you're doing to live healthier and think with clarity.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    From couch sitter, age 60 (heart attack) to athlete

    In 2016 I had a major heart attack (called the Widow Maker). Prior to that (5 years) I had my second major open heart surgery (valve replacement). At the age of 59, I was overweight (268 lbs) and trying to recover from the heart attack. I was on depression meds, cholesterol meds, blood pressure meds, and a plethora of other meds. My short term memory was like Swiss Cheese, my ability to walk up stairs was like running a marathon. Every joint hurt and I would have night sweats and cramping. To say I was a mess would be an understatement.

    So after 30 years of being sick, I started to research all the supplements that helped with memory and physical recovery, which led to researching aging. This, in turn, led to Basis, among other products. Of course, I understood that exercise was needed, but previously I had tried and failed over the last three decades. So I figured if I ate well, took supplements and tried a product like Basis that would be enough.

    I did start to take Basis and eventually started to exercise slowly. When exercising, I noticed after about eight weeks my pain was there, but my recovery was faster than in the past. Plus my memory seemed better. I slowly started to do strength training and after six months of exercise and Basis (and traditional supplements) felt pretty good. At that time I decided to stop taking Basis and for the following six months I continued to exercise. After about two weeks I noticed it was a little harder and took longer and longer to recover. In addition, my family started to make fun of memory issues (again). So I decided to order Basis again.

    This time though I increased the amount to double, and after three weeks I definitely noticed the change. My exercise routine was increased, along with the amount of weights. After eight months I entered into my first Powerlifting competition and after 30 years of little to no exercise, two open heart surgeries, a major heart attack, being severely overweight and being 61, I won the California State Powerlifting Championship and set two state records. I am now training for the USPA National Championship and will try to qualify for the IPF World Championships.

    Did Basis make me stronger? No. What it did do is somehow allow me to have the same degree of recovery as when I was in my 20's. I am stronger now and with clearer thinking than I was 25 years ago. Of course, there is no one single pill that will reverse aging, but if taking Basis and the proper supplements in conjunction with diet and strength training, is any proof of success then I am proof of that.

    By the way, my squat is 405 lbs, my deadlift if 500 lbs and my bench press is 260 lbs. You can look me up on Facebook in the group Strength Athlete Spirit.

    Frank Westall.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely, go for it!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Elysium basis for ten months now. I experienced an immediate change in my energy levels. No more crashing after 2 pm. After about 20 days I noticed my eyesight improving. I had been having trouble seeing from afar, and I noticed while driving that I could see clearly much further within a few days.

    Still skeptic and thinking that I was biased to 'notice things,' I continued to take the supplement for the second month. Having taken digestive enzymes before, I noticed a similar temporary 'side effect,' the skin on your hands and face becomes extremely dry and wrinkly while the body begins to get rid of accumulated toxins. I continued to moisturize to counteract the effects. That is why I knew something was happening at the cellular level.

    After about three months of taking the supplement, my short and long term memory improved greatly. I am studying part time while working full time and I began experiencing a hard time retaining what I read. Next, I saw my face and body muscles tightening and my skin glowing. I don't work out, and occasionally take 30 minutes walks around town.

    Overall I can say with certainty that this supplement reversed the functions of my body to the time I was on my 20's. I took this one step further and got blood work done to see what the supplement was doing at a cellular level. My bad cholesterol went down 36 points without me changing a thing about my diet or exercise routine. My glucose level in the blood lowered by 20%. Any health indicators of blood count and enzymes improved markedly compared to my previous lab tests two years ago.

    I am subscribed to a monthly order I am seriously considering buying this for my parents.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Give it a chance

    I take Basis because it has been proven in clinical trials to increase and sustain N.A.D. in my body. As we age, our levels decrease. I am betting on the science of anti-aging and investing now in my late 50's in several areas of anti-aging, including Basis. I have no plans to retire unless I become ill, and taking care of my body with a supplement like Basis is an opportunity that did not exist for my parents and grandparents. The company and science check out. If you can afford Basis, you should take it as prevention.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worth a try

    • Silver City, NM,
    • Mar 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    OK. From reading everyone's reviews, there is a very wide range of satisfaction with this product. I really think the reason for that is the huge variety in each person's response to the product. Remember that some people develop cancer, heart disease, and diabetes. Others do not. Some people are old in their early 60s while others are fairly strong and healthy in their 90s. We are all unique, and that includes their response to this product. I've only taken TWO doses of NAD+ and already noticed a huge increase in energy and decrease in joint stiffness. I'm 79, but that's how I'm responding. So, give it a try, but be aware of its limitations and also your own responses.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Has worked very well for me.

    • Vero Beach, FL,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When it first came out, I was intrigued. The science made sense to me, and at my age, I could feel myself start to slow down. After about three days, I felt a difference: more energy, less fog, didn't want to nap in the afternoon, etc.

    I then stopped for a few days, and before long I was back to my previous self. Repeated the process a few times. Every time I stopped, it felt like someone took out my batteries.

    That was years ago. A while back, I decided to double the dosage, and things got even better. This is the only supplement I take. I've given jars to my friends, mostly good, but didn't work for everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Use it, love it

    • New York, NY,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy to use, great results, feel significantly healthier in the first 60 days. Not a scientist, just an ordinary person, but this product works for me. Haven't gotten sick since I started using it, either - and I always get a winter cold around this time of year (February).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    I've been taking Basis daily for 6 months

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 46 and I've decided to try Basis for 1 year and then decide whether to continue.

    I can't say I feel any different or that I know that it is working. I can however say that I haven't been sick in that time (unusual for me) and I feel great.

    I have no evidence that I feel great because of Basis and Basis does not claim to boost immunity so my health is probably a coincidence.

    I have started running again and I do feel like I have more energy. Whether this is because I'm taking better care of myself or because of Basis, it is impossible to say.

    I do have to say their customer service is excellent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for Basis by Elysium!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review