BeenVerified Review: What You Should Know

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jul 14, 2020

BeenVerified is a subscription-based people search website that lets you scope out publicly available information about yourself and others online through a variety of search features.

The site claims to act as a convenient background check service to search for people, public records, and cars so that you can make informed decisions.

This review will help you understand if this service delivers on its promises, and if it is right for you.

Pros
  • Streamlined reports save you time searching for information
  • Receive updates when reports change
  • Tools to monitor your own online data
Cons
  • Poor customer reviews
  • Information may be inaccurate
  • No trial available
  • Customer complaints of continuous billing after cancellation
  • Information is available for free elsewhere online

How People Search Websites Work

Services like BeenVerified are part of an industry of people search websites. These aggregate websites collect data that’s publicly available and present it to you in a streamlined form.

In other words, you aren’t paying for access; you’re paying for convenience.

These websites aren’t substitutes for traditional background checks. There’s no guarantee that what you see is accurate, and in most cases, it’s illegal to act on the information you find in any way that could be discriminatory.

This means you will need to purchase a legitimate background check to make hiring or renting decisions.

Features and Pricing

To sign up for an account with BeenVerified, you’ll first need to verify that you won’t use any of the information you find to make decisions about employment, insurance, tenant screening, consumer credit, or other purposes restricted by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Next, you’ll choose your membership level:

  • 1-month membership: $26.89/mo.
  • 3-month membership: $17.48/mo. ($52.44 total)

Your membership will renew each month unless you cancel before the start of the next billing cycle. You can cancel your membership by calling the company at (855) 904-6469 or emailing at support@beenverified.com.

Regarding refunds, the company handles requests on a case by case basis.

Signing up for membership gives you access to:

  • Unlimited background reports
  • Contact information
  • Phone, email, and address lookups
  • Criminal records
  • Notifications whenever a report you searched changes

For each person search, you can expect a range of information related to their contact information, address history, relatives, name origins, associates, neighbors, criminal and traffic reports, bankruptcies, jobs & education, social media, and other assets.

Many of these sections may be blank for some of your searches, depending on what information is available.

Beyond searching by name, you can also use BeenVerified to look up information by phone number, email, address, social media handles, or even by a business.

BeenVerified members also gain access to the following tools:

  • Identity Hub: Monitor your personal online identity and update any inaccuracies.
  • Recent Reports: View all your latest searches in one place with quick access to PDF report downloads.
  • Monitoring: Choose one or more reports that you want email updates on whenever changes are detected.
  • Neighborhood Watch: Monitor locations by address for a comprehensive report on nearby sex offenders.
  • Unclaimed Money: Search by name to see if you or anyone else qualifies for unclaimed money from the state or federal government.
  • Vehicle Search: Search for vehicles by VIN to learn their manufacturing history and more.
  • Dark Web Scan: Learn if there are any websites where you are at risk of having had your data compromised and turn on alerts for future updates.

My Experience with BeenVerified

I set up an account on BeenVerified within five minutes through a seamless signup process.

Once I did, I had the option to set up my accounts by adding my past and present emails, phone numbers, addresses, and social media handles (all of this info is optional, and I didn’t add any of it in an attempt to prevent my results from being skewed).

I also received an offer to invite one friend to create a free BeenVerified account. Their subscription would remain active for as long as my paid one did.

Personal Search

Now it was time to start searching. First up? Stalking myself. I searched myself by first name, last name, and current location for an instant match. My initial information was all accurate, including past known cities of residence and relatives.

A closer look at my full report revealed some inaccuracies. First, my “highest confidence” listed phone number was totally wrong, as was my second highest confidence email address.

Every address that I have lived at for more than three years was listed accurately. Interestingly, no marriage records came up for me, despite me being married for half a decade.

All of the education and professional information displayed from me was accurate but was clearly pulled directly from my LinkedIn profile. The property report from my house was reasonably accurate but overestimated my home’s bathrooms and square footage.

Overall, my report was reasonably accurate, but not all that exciting. The information it shared was relatively basic and seemingly pulled from my social media profiles.

I was surprised at the number of phone numbers and emails listed, many of which I hadn’t used in five-plus years.

Family Report

Next, I checked up on the reports of my immediate family members to gauge their accuracy. A few things were jumbled up.

For instance, my in-law’s email address was linked instead to my husband, and every other member had multiple incorrect email addresses linked to their accounts.

My husband’s educational and professional information was entirely inaccurate for the past three years and included lots of jobs he never held interspersed with real ones after that. It also listed him as the owner of a car we’ve never had.

In a few cases, the reports were missing traffic violation information associated with family members or had glaring absences related to past addresses and work history.

Again, none of the data pulled up seemed all that groundbreaking or difficult to find by other means. Strangely, my brother’s report was almost entirely empty.

The information that most people searching would likely care about, including contact information, criminal records, and even marriage records, were all missing, inaccurate, or incomplete for every family member I checked on.

Celebrity Search

Can a background check service like BeenVerified give you secret details about celebrities? I searched more than a dozen of the big names in pop culture to find out.

After coming up empty on most names I searched, I finally found a profile that seemed to be associated with Justin Bieber.

Sadly, the only information this background check pulled up for the singer is a Beverly Hills home address priced on Zillow for more than $10 million. Contact information, criminal records, and even social media handles all came up blank.

Key Takeaways:
Overall, I found the background checks available for BeenVerified disappointing.

They rarely contained much information that I couldn’t find through a quick Google search, and the data that might be harder to track down (like phone numbers) was often wholly inaccurate.

This makes it hard to know whether the details you are getting can actually be trusted—and I’d expect more verification than that for the monthly cost.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 60 customers have left reviews for BeenVerified on our website. These average 1.3 stars. Below, are the key takeaways:

Compliments:

  • Good value of information for the cost
  • Great way to track down people from your past
  • User-friendly site interface

Complaints:

  • Vague, inaccurate data available
  • Often had birth and death dates wrong for people
  • Many were charged months after they thought they had canceled their account
  • Slow website
  • Listed information was often out of date
  • Didn’t always find the right people
  • Site canceled some user’s accounts over inaccurate claims they were searching for information on tenants

Popular Alternatives to BeenVerified

BeenVerified Instant Checkmate TruthFinder SpyFly
Monthly Subscription Cost $26.89 $34.78 $27.78 $29.97
Trial Cost NA $1 for five days $1 for five days $2 for seven days
Average Rating (HighYa) 1.3-stars, 5% recommend (66 reviews) 3.4-stars, 62% recommend (536 reviews) 3.8-stars, 73% recommend (1,370 reviews) 2-stars, 31% recommend (42 reviews)
Sex Offender Information Possible to search for offenders by address or zip code Detailed reports include photos and current location Tells you if offenders are nearby Possible to search for offenders by address or zip code

Customer reviews vary between all four services, but BeenVerified comes in at the bottom. Most reviews aren’t happy with the quality of information they received from the site or struggled with the subscription and cancellation policy.

While the other three sites also received complaints about sharing only generic or inaccurate information, a more significant percentage of reviewers were happy with their purchase.

From personal experience, I found Instant Checkmate’s information to be the most accurate, up-to-date, and comprehensive. Beyond sharing a full picture of my education and professional history, it also had the fewest incorrect email addresses and phone numbers.

TruthFinder’s signup process was the most off-putting for me, as the site relies on scare tactics about the criminal information you are about to discover about yourself and the other people you plan to search. In most cases, these “criminal records” didn’t exist for the people I searched.

Regardless of the site you choose, keep in mind that they are all pulling information from the same sources. If the information you’re seeking isn’t already publicly available, there’s a slim chance you’ll find it after subscribing.

The Bottom Line

BeenVerified promises you’ll receive accurate, valuable data similar to what’s available in pricier background checks. Our experience indicates that this company seems to fall short on these promises in a few ways.

First, I found that the information in the reports I looked at wasn’t always accurate or interesting. Most of it seemed to be lifted off other sites that are easy to navigate for free (LinkedIn), and the data that was shared often wasn’t accurate.

Considering that competing services seem to offer the same breadth of data with more specificity and accuracy, you might be best off shopping around or spend some extra time searching to find the same information for free.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of BeenVerified:
  • 67 Customer Reviews
  • 4% Recommend This Service
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 2% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 83%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Rip off

    • By Kevin G.,
    • Cottonwood, CA,
    • Aug 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    BeenVerified offers a free two-week trial, and even though I did talk to them the same day at the start, that I explicitly told them I did not wish for a membership of any way, shape, or form, they still billed me for over three months.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Told them same first day - no membership, just wished for the free trial, they billed me anyway

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 17, 2020

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Kevin,

      Thank you for contacting us. BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through several different public resources. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service. I apologize for the confusion and inconvenience. We currently do not have a 2-week trial offer. We do offer a 5 or 7-day trial offer for $1.00. To assist you further in regards to your account please feel free to email us directly at support@beenverified.com.


  • BeenVerified

    • By Lundy N.,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Apr 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I found this site to be woefully incomplete and quite inaccurate. I received very little usable information. It didn't even have listed that my brother had died nearly 3 years ago. Then I did a search for his name, and it showed he was still alive at 72. He died when he was 69. Don't waste your money or time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 2, 2020

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Lundy,

      I want to offer our deepest condolences for your loss.

      We are sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through several different public resources. Sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. We continuously strive to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      You were issued a refund, details of the refund were emailed to the address associated with your account.

      If we can be of further assistance please contact support@beenverified.com

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Terrible experience

    • By Carrie F.,
    • Eugene, OR,
    • Mar 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please do not use this company. They continue charging your account months after cancellation. All their customer service numbers do NOT work. It does not matter if you change your card number as they have a feature to continue charging a card even when is changed. This has been a nightmare. It is interesting that the services this company does are aimed towards seen into a person's reputation as they lack professional integrity. If anyone from BeenVerified can read this, please write a number where either my bank or I can contact you. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2020

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Carrie,

      Our records do not indicate a previous request to cancel. On the sign up page we inform that you can call or email at any time to cancel and will not be billed prior to the next billing cycle.

      The payment method that was used at the time the account was created is the payment that will be billed for the recurring charges to use our services.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards and utility bills. We do not create this information, this information is obtained from several public record resources.

      Please be assured that your account was canceled, details of your refund were sent to the email address that was used to create your account.

      If we can be of further assistance please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com or 1-866-885-6480.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 75% to 25% it will be wrong, website very slow!

    • By Elsie J.,
    • Hogansville, GA,
    • Feb 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not many arrests show up, even people I know have been in jail several times. Information is old. Not many deaths show up. WEBSITE IS VERY SLOW TODAY! Sometimes I do find out something I didn't know!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 20, 2020

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hello Elsle,

      The Criminal Records section of the background report may include criminal records from county courts, department of corrections, Administration of the Courts, and other state legal agencies. Positive or false matches in criminal searches may not provide confirmation of an individual's criminal background. While we put every effort into making our data as accurate as possible, we are dependent upon the criminal data made digitally available to us by the courts.

      We do not have full death records in our reports, or access to death certificates. This information comes in part from the Social Security Death Index, which contains information on millions of deceased individuals whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration.

      If we can be of further assistance please contact support@beenverified.com

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Rip-off

    • By Dennis A.,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had to pay upfront to be told that they could not find a match. SUCKS. I received a message that there were 32 hits, but none were an exact match of my qualifier. Now I am trying to fulfill the 180-character count.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 19, 2020

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Dennis,

      I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble locating the person report.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. With public record data we may not have all of the information related to an individual in our records. If you have submitted your search with a specific city, middle name, or age and received no results, try removing some of that information and running the search again. You may find that we have a record for that individual in a different city than you were looking for them in, or we have a result for them, but it does not have an age attached.

      By adjusting the search parameters to be wider you may be able to find a record that was not showing up at first.

      Please be assured that your account was canceled and you were issued a refund of $22.86. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution.

      If we can be of further assistance please contact support@beenverified.com

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Useless

    • By Eric R.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Before you sign up, it says unlimited report (you will think everything is included, but it doesn't tell you, if you want to see a value report you will need to pay premium data). After I signed in, all I can see is the useless information that you could see on other websites everywhere for free. Now I think if pay for the Premium data, will I get real information? I don't think so. I'm pretty sure if they trick and cheat you once, and they will do again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 18, 2020

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hello Eric,

      We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the search results. BeenVerified's mission is to provide easy affordable access to public records, so people can use public data in their everyday lives.

      Our aim is to make the service as easy to use and affordable as we can. There are costs associated with obtaining the data and integrating that information into easy-to-read reports. Payment is required to sign-up for BeenVerified.

      Please be assured that your account was canceled and you were issued a refund of $24.29. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Costly waste of time!

    • By Joyce B.,
    • Fallon, NV,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for a month, received my membership ID number but every time I would try to sign in, I wasn't allowed to! Their page would just keep trying to load! Checked my computer but nothing was wrong as I could go to other sites which worked. I contacted customer service and they weren't any help at all, so I told them to cancel my membership. They did but also told me I could still use the remainder of my month (almost 4 weeks!) to use their website! What a joke! I never could log on to use it! Try another company...just don't use this scam one!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 18, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hello Joyce,

      We are sorry to hear you were having trouble accessing your account. You emailed us to inform you were not able to log in, we attempted to resolve the issue for you and your response was to cancel the account in which the request was granted.

      It is highly possible that if we were allowed to assist, you could have regained access to the account. Please know that you always have access to log back in and reactivate if you need our services again in the future.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Definitely a scam

    • By Ami B.,
    • Ann Arbor, MI,
    • Nov 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was searching for the history of owners of certain real estate. It appeared I will see the result as soon as I signed up. However, I never got the information I wanted except the present owner's name which I knew. So, I forgot about them. A month later they charged "membership." I canceled the membership, but they charged the next month. It is rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 30, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Aml,

      We have several options to expand your search. The subscription you had was limited to information upgrading the subscription would have unveiled more information. We received your request to cancel and processed the request for you the same day. However, the request was also received the same day your account was renewing, thus the reason for the charge. Nevertheless, we have processed a refund of $22.86. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Fake promo email

    • By Brian W.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for the $1 trial because I searched for an individual in Google and BeenVerified sent me a clever-looking email saying the report was ready for this person. When I logged into my trial account, that report for this person in the right city did not exist. I immediately emailed them to cancel and not charge me further. To their credit, they responded quickly and said the cancellation is "in process," whatever that means. Apparently a "report" exists for anyone before you pay. Once you pay and search for the information, no report exists. I also searched myself and my girlfriend just to see if it had accurate info. It does not. This app may be useful for some. But it wasn't for me. So it gets two stars, assuming their customer service has integrity and follows through on NOT charging me further.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 30, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Brian,

      I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble locating the information you're looking for.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      This means that sometimes we may not have all of the information related to an individual in our records. Sometimes we do not have an address available, or may be lacking a birthday for the person you're searching, however, that does not mean that we do not have a record with other information available for that person.

      If you've submitted your search with a specific city, middle name, or age and received no results try removing some of that information and running the search again. You may find that we have a record for that individual, but that it is in a different city than you were looking for them in, or we have a result for them, but it does not have an age attached.

      By adjusting the search parameters to be wider you may be able to find a record that was not showing up at first.

      I hope this helps to clarify and that you are able to find the record you're looking for. In addition, your account is canceled, as you requested.

      If you still have any paid time remaining in your plan, you still have access for the remainder of that time, however, you will not be billed going forward.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • They renewed me for years and I had no idea

    • By Char B.,
    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I joined and used the service for a year. Then I did not renew.

    When I went to the website to check out the pricing, I was renewed without my permission. I did not know I had been automatically renewed until several payments later. While they reimbursed me for the current months I was being charged for (after numerous calls and much determination on my part), they refused to refund the hundreds of dollars they owed me for the numerous charges. I will never use them again or recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 5, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Char,

      I'm sorry to hear this was your experience and for any confusion. Accounts can only be reactivated per our customer's request. We are happy to look into your account and offer further assistance regarding the charges, could you provide the email address you signed up with to support@beenverified.com?

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Support


  • Horrible!

    • By Sherry H.,
    • North Chesterfield, VA,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please don’t waste your time with this company. My paid service was canceled by them because I was checking criminal backgrounds in individuals before that entered my home. Their policies states you can’t use their information against a tenant. I do not have a tenant and should be able to look someone up for to verify where they have lived and criminal background FOR MY OWN SAFETY. I’m a single 61-year-old and have people stay here on occasion. I will tell everyone I know not to use this company. They definitely don’t care about anyone’s safety.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 30, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Sherry,

      Please be assured that your account was closed and you were issued a refund of $22.86. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution. Please note that as per our Terms of Service, you may not use BeenVerified to conduct Employment Background Checks, Tenant Screening or FCRA Related Background Checks. BeenVerified is not a consumer reporting agency as defined in the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"), and the information contained within our website has not been collected for the purpose of furnishing consumer reports, as defined in the FCRA. You may not use any of our information as a factor in establishing an individual's eligibility for personal credit, insurance or assessing risks associated with existing consumer credit obligations. You also may not use any of our data or results for other business transactions with another individual, such as leasing an apartment. Please feel free to review our Terms of Service at http://www.beenverified.com/consumer-terms-of-service. We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience that you may have experienced.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com.

      Kind Regards,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


Showing 1-11 of 67

Write a Review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BeenVerified Review