About BeenVerified

BeenVerified claims to “give people easy and affordable access to public record information” by aggregating addresses, phone numbers, criminal histories, social media profiles, and more into one easy to read report.

According to the company, they take the confusion out of accessing public records, and do so in a straightforward, ethical manner.

BeenVerified is based out of New York, NY, and has been featured in Inc., CNET, TechCrunch, and more.

The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 60 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear to relate to billing issues, and the amount of information provided in their reports (see the Bottom Line section for additional details about this). With this said, it appears that the company does respond to complaints quickly.

Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing inaccurate/incomplete information and billing problems.

How BeenVerified Works

At its most basic, BeenVerified aggregates information obtained from public databases, and merges this information into a single, easy to understand report that can be purchased by members.

According to the company’s website, BeenVerified can be used to help people find a long lost love, verify prospective roommates, verify information about someone they met online, locate a current address, verify online buyers, and more.

However, BeenVerified is not intended to be used to uncover information related to public FCRA records, to screen tenants, to perform an employer background check, or to verify someone’s eligibility for a mortgage.

If you have any questions about this, BeenVerified’s Do’s and Don’ts page provides a quick overview.

At this time, BeenVerified only provides records for U.S.-based individuals, although all searches are performed anonymously. In other words, the person you’re searching for will not be notified.

BeenVerified currently offers desktop, iPhone, Android, and mobile web versions of their site. In addition, in the event that the record you’re looking for isn’t available online, BeenVerified claims to be able to send people to the courthouse to manually gather information.

BeenVerified Pricing and Refund Policy

When signing up for BeenVerified, you’ll be presented with three different options, all of which include unlimited report requests during your subscription period:

  • Moderate User – Billed on a month-to-month basis: $19.62 per month.
  • Recommended – A 3-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $44.62.
  • Power Users – A 6-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $59.62.

Whichever option you choose, keep in mind that BeenVerified will automatically renew you membership once it expires. To opt out of this automatic renewal, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-579-5910 for their “no hassle, no haggle” cancellation.

Bottom Line: Is BeenVerified a Scam?

BeenVerified does not appear to be a scam, though we learned of several concerns during our research:

First, online data brokers such as BeenVerified simply aggregate information that can be found elsewhere online for free, put this information into a report, and then charge you for the service.

This means that, with just a little digging on your part, you can probably locate much of the same information at no charge whatsoever.

Next, BeenVerified’s online reputation appears to be very poor. In fact, according to this article, “The worst [data broker] is BeenVerified. We get more complaints about BeenVerified than any other data broker, by a factor of five.”

On top of this, we encountered numerous customer complaints during our research that cited inaccurate/incomplete information—so much so that it could rightly call into question the service provided by BeenVerified in the first place.

For example, countless users stated that they searched for individuals with known criminal records, only to have none of this information contained in the BeenVerified report.

On the other hand, we read just as many consumer complaints stating that they ordered reports on themselves, which were riddled with incorrect/vastly outdate information—even criminal records that didn’t belong to them.

Most billing problems appeared to be related to the company’s automatic membership renewal.

With this in mind, remember that Been Verified doesn’t verify any of the information contained in its reports, so it’s up to you as a consumer to do so.

Also, while the company doesn’t provide a method of correcting false information, they do provide an easy way for you to have your record removed from their database altogether.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to find someone’s last physical address and phone number, BeenVerified seems to provide accurate information. However, if you’re looking for a detailed criminal history, the company has a reputation for being fairly inaccurate.

» See Also: The Problem with People Search Websites and How You Can Find the Same Information for Free


Read 62 BeenVerified Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 6 1 star:  52
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • Useless

    • By Eric R.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before you sign up, it says unlimited report (you will think everything is included, but it doesn't tell you, if you want to see a value report you will need to pay premium data). After I signed in, all I can see is the useless information that you could see on other websites everywhere for free. Now I think if pay for the Premium data, will I get real information? I don't think so. I'm pretty sure if they trick and cheat you once, and they will do again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Costly waste of time!

    • By Joyce B.,
    • Fallon, NV,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a month, received my membership ID number but every time I would try to sign in, I wasn't allowed to! Their page would just keep trying to load! Checked my computer but nothing was wrong as I could go to other sites which worked. I contacted customer service and they weren't any help at all, so I told them to cancel my membership. They did but also told me I could still use the remainder of my month (almost 4 weeks!) to use their website! What a joke! I never could log on to use it! Try another company...just don't use this scam one!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 18, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hello Joyce,

      We are sorry to hear you were having trouble accessing your account. You emailed us to inform you were not able to log in, we attempted to resolve the issue for you and your response was to cancel the account in which the request was granted.

      It is highly possible that if we were allowed to assist, you could have regained access to the account. Please know that you always have access to log back in and reactivate if you need our services again in the future.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Definitely a scam

    • By Ami B.,
    • Ann Arbor, MI,
    • Nov 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was searching for the history of owners of certain real estate. It appeared I will see the result as soon as I signed up. However, I never got the information I wanted except the present owner's name which I knew. So, I forgot about them. A month later they charged "membership." I canceled the membership, but they charged the next month. It is rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 30, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Aml,

      We have several options to expand your search. The subscription you had was limited to information upgrading the subscription would have unveiled more information. We received your request to cancel and processed the request for you the same day. However, the request was also received the same day your account was renewing, thus the reason for the charge. Nevertheless, we have processed a refund of $22.86. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fake promo email

    • By Brian W.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the $1 trial because I searched for an individual in Google and BeenVerified sent me a clever-looking email saying the report was ready for this person. When I logged into my trial account, that report for this person in the right city did not exist. I immediately emailed them to cancel and not charge me further. To their credit, they responded quickly and said the cancellation is "in process," whatever that means. Apparently a "report" exists for anyone before you pay. Once you pay and search for the information, no report exists. I also searched myself and my girlfriend just to see if it had accurate info. It does not. This app may be useful for some. But it wasn't for me. So it gets two stars, assuming their customer service has integrity and follows through on NOT charging me further.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 30, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Brian,

      I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble locating the information you're looking for.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      This means that sometimes we may not have all of the information related to an individual in our records. Sometimes we do not have an address available, or may be lacking a birthday for the person you're searching, however, that does not mean that we do not have a record with other information available for that person.

      If you've submitted your search with a specific city, middle name, or age and received no results try removing some of that information and running the search again. You may find that we have a record for that individual, but that it is in a different city than you were looking for them in, or we have a result for them, but it does not have an age attached.

      By adjusting the search parameters to be wider you may be able to find a record that was not showing up at first.

      I hope this helps to clarify and that you are able to find the record you're looking for. In addition, your account is canceled, as you requested.

      If you still have any paid time remaining in your plan, you still have access for the remainder of that time, however, you will not be billed going forward.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They renewed me for years and I had no idea

    • By Char B.,
    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined and used the service for a year. Then I did not renew.

    When I went to the website to check out the pricing, I was renewed without my permission. I did not know I had been automatically renewed until several payments later. While they reimbursed me for the current months I was being charged for (after numerous calls and much determination on my part), they refused to refund the hundreds of dollars they owed me for the numerous charges. I will never use them again or recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 5, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Char,

      I'm sorry to hear this was your experience and for any confusion. Accounts can only be reactivated per our customer's request. We are happy to look into your account and offer further assistance regarding the charges, could you provide the email address you signed up with to support@beenverified.com?

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Support


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • By Sherry H.,
    • North Chesterfield, VA,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don’t waste your time with this company. My paid service was canceled by them because I was checking criminal backgrounds in individuals before that entered my home. Their policies states you can’t use their information against a tenant. I do not have a tenant and should be able to look someone up for to verify where they have lived and criminal background FOR MY OWN SAFETY. I’m a single 61-year-old and have people stay here on occasion. I will tell everyone I know not to use this company. They definitely don’t care about anyone’s safety.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 30, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Sherry,

      Please be assured that your account was closed and you were issued a refund of $22.86. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution. Please note that as per our Terms of Service, you may not use BeenVerified to conduct Employment Background Checks, Tenant Screening or FCRA Related Background Checks. BeenVerified is not a consumer reporting agency as defined in the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"), and the information contained within our website has not been collected for the purpose of furnishing consumer reports, as defined in the FCRA. You may not use any of our information as a factor in establishing an individual's eligibility for personal credit, insurance or assessing risks associated with existing consumer credit obligations. You also may not use any of our data or results for other business transactions with another individual, such as leasing an apartment. Please feel free to review our Terms of Service at http://www.beenverified.com/consumer-terms-of-service. We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience that you may have experienced.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com.

      Kind Regards,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No accurate information

    • By Gregory G.,
    • Franklinton, LA,
    • Sep 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The report was full of bad info, phone numbers, emails, and addresses that I have never used. It even had that I lived at a former boss's house from 15 years ago. I have never used these numbers or emails or addresses in my life, in any way, and don't know how they would be linked to my name.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 17, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Gregory,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      Please be assured that your account was canceled and you were issued a refund of $22.86. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com.

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not my info

    • By Laurie T.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up at BeenVerified to see what info was out there on me. All I got was information regarding my in-laws, who passed away some time ago. It showed their old address as mine, even though I never lived there and showed I owned an old Grand Cherokee vehicle, which was theirs, not mine. It was a total waste of money and I wouldn’t recommend that site to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 17, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Laurie,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any outdated information in your reports.

      BeenVerified's database contains information collected from public records and publicly available data, compiled from thousands of different sources.

      Your ability to locate specific information in our database can be dependent on a number of factors, such as the amount of information collected on that individual by various government and private agencies, and the laws regarding public information in the state where the individual resides.

      Please be assured that your account was canceled and you were issued a refund of $22.86. The refund was processed immediately on our end, however, please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com.

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    BeenVerified: continues billing credit card AFTER cancellation

    • By Rene H.,
    • California,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased three months of service from BeenVerified.com on Jan 31, 2019. Less than 30 days later, I canceled/closed the account via a phone call to 1-888-579-5910. However, my credit card continued to be billed two additional times (a credit card number is required to open an account with BeenVerified).

    When I called to explain the situation, they immediately said:

    "All phone calls are recorded and there is no record of your phone call. However, as a courtesy to you, we will refund one of the two additional charges".

    How quickly they wanted to put me "on the defensive" with the "record all calls" statement and then just as quickly offer to refund one charge. How many people agree to this just to put the issue to rest? A very lucrative "business practice", indeed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 5, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Rene,

      Thank you for reaching out.

      I apologize for any confusion. After reviewing your account, we do not show there was a previous cancellation request made before 08/28/19.

      However, we do show your account was refunded for $89.16 per your request on that same day 08/28/19. The refund was processed immediately on our end, but please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to reflect on your bank statement depending on your financial institution.

      If you need further assistance or have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at support@beenverified.com

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care Read less


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Phone numbers are a conglomerate of crazy numbers

    I hope to get to the bottom of the phone numbers that are listed under my own name that are absolutely baseless in origin. I put a phone call in and an email to find out where the phone number is listed under my name are, appearing to be baseless in origin, my goal is to find out where they are getting the colleague information, they appear to be people from my past that I was loosely associated with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 3, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Elisabeth,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you haven't already, we encourage you to check out the Monitoring feature, which you can activate on up to ten reports you have run. Once Monitoring is activated, you will be notified as soon as we receive any new information in that report, such as a new phone number, address or even court record.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us.

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Outdated information

    • By Jon D.,
    • Michigan,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The information they provide is not up to date. Nothing on a person in the last couple of years. Information provided was what I already knew. Save your money. I cannot recommend this site for accurate information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 24, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Jon,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      We show you canceled via our automated system. Please be assured we have now issued a refund of $22.86.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


Showing 1-11 of 62

Write a Review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review