About BeenVerified

BeenVerified claims to “give people easy and affordable access to public record information” by aggregating addresses, phone numbers, criminal histories, social media profiles, and more into one easy to read report. According to the company, they take the confusion out of accessing public records, and do so in a straightforward, ethical manner.

BeenVerified is based out of New York, NY, and has been featured in Inc., CNET, TechCrunch, and more. The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 60 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear to relate to billing issues, and the amount of information provided in their reports (see the Bottom Line section for additional details about this). With this said, it appears that the company does respond to complaints quickly.

Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing inaccurate/incomplete information and billing problems.

How BeenVerified Works

At its most basic, BeenVerified aggregates information obtained from public databases, and merges this information into a single, easy to understand report that can be purchased by members. According to the company’s website, BeenVerified can be used to help people find a long lost love, verify prospective roommates, verify information about someone they met online, locate a current address, verify online buyers, and more. However, BeenVerified is not intended to be used to uncover information related to public FCRA records, to screen tenants, to perform an employer background check, or to verify someone’s eligibility for a mortgage. If you have any questions about this, BeenVerified’s Do’s and Don’ts page provides a quick overview.

At this time, BeenVerified only provides records for U.S.-based individuals, although all searches are performed anonymously. In other words, the person you’re searching for will not be notified.

BeenVerified currently offers desktop, iPhone, Android, and mobile web versions of their site. In addition, in the event that the record you’re looking for isn’t available online, BeenVerified claims to be able to send people to the courthouse to manually gather information.

BeenVerified Pricing & Refund Policy

When signing up for BeenVerified, you’ll be presented with three different options, all of which include unlimited report requests during your subscription period:

  • Moderate User – Billed on a month-to-month basis: $19.62 per month.
  • Recommended – A 3-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $44.62.
  • Power Users – A 6-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $59.62.

Whichever option you choose, keep in mind that BeenVerified will automatically renew you membership once it expires. To opt out of this automatic renewal, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-579-5910 for their “no hassle, no haggle” cancellation.

Bottom Line: Is BeenVerified a Scam?

BeenVerified does not appear to be a scam, though we learned of several concerns during our research:

First, online data brokers such as BeenVerified simply aggregate information that can be found elsewhere online for free, put this information into a report, and then charge you for the service. This means that, with just a little digging on your part, you can probably locate much of the same information at no charge whatsoever.

Next, BeenVerified’s online reputation appears to be very poor. In fact, according to this article, “The worst [data broker] is BeenVerified. We get more complaints about BeenVerified than any other data broker, by a factor of five.” On top of this, we encountered numerous customer complaints during our research that cited inaccurate/incomplete information—so much so that it could rightly call into question the service provided by BeenVerified in the first place.

For example, countless users stated that they searched for individuals with known criminal records, only to have none of this information contained in the BeenVerified report. On the other hand, we read just as many consumer complaints stating that they ordered reports on themselves, which were riddled with incorrect/vastly outdate information—even criminal records that didn’t belong to them. Most billing problems appeared to be related to the company’s automatic membership renewal.

With this in mind, remember that Been Verified doesn’t verify any of the information contained in its reports, so it’s up to you as a consumer to do so. Also, while the company doesn’t provide a method of correcting false information, they do provide an easy way for you to have your record removed from their database altogether.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to find someone’s last physical address and phone number, BeenVerified seems to provide accurate information. However, if you’re looking for a detailed criminal history, the company has a reputation for being fairly inaccurate.

SEE ALSO: The Problems with Online People Searches, & How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

42 Consumer Reviews for BeenVerified

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • Money pit of useless info

    • Somewhere,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site provided the most incomprehensible info of any so far. You can do a basic subscription, and it will pull up old phone numbers and addresses, but not necessarily the current one of your people search. They do give you relative names and NEIGHBORS INFO of the target of your search, but can't find the elephant in the room in court records. Even when I paid the premium search, they yielded nothing. Now they want a $20 or higher fee for a court runner search?! No thank you. $50 is plenty to spend on the ability to stalk someone and unsuspecting relatives or neighbors, but that's not what the majority of people are searching to discover. Forget this site. And be careful because even without someone searching for you specifically - your name, address, etc. might still be linked because of heredity or residence.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Totally FAKE

    • Washington,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Curious, I ran my own phone number. BeenVerified came up with a totally different person (name AND city) for a cell phone number that I have had for 20 years! What a joke. This company is obviously just stealing people's money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not honest

    • Texas,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a month and received two reports, then called and canceled on the third day. Three months later I’m still being charged for info anyone can obtain for free. This is hands down the worst search tool on the internet. Just plain dishonest, AND I have it on audio.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attempted to locate an address for a person. Initially went to ThatsThem.com, and to PIPL.com, where I was re-directed to BeenVerified.com.

    After waiting for almost 20 minutes, and going to multiple screens, and agreeing to utilize the information I receive for innocent purposes, I was advised, on the very last screen, that I must pay $14.00 OR $22.00 for the 'free' information that BeenVerified.com said that they had.

    This is the WORST company that I have ever tried to deal with. There are PLENTY of other places where I can get the information I need for FREE, or a VERY REDUCED PRICE, compared to BeenVerified.com. I cannot believe that ThatsThem.com and PIPL.COM will even populate information from BeenVerified.com, as it is clearly a scam.

    Shame on you, BeenVerified.com. If you want payment for free information, then be transparent with people! Don't lie to them, and tell them that there is no cost involved, as there clearly is.

    Potential users - don't even do a name search with BeenVerified.com! Your time is worth more, and the info that they provide is free information that you can find ANYWHERE on the internet, if you look hard enough. Don't do it. And whatever you do, don't pay them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your time or money. No relevant information, then they hit you up for more money (i.e. $2.99 for PDF report). Trying to cancel is a hassle. Fifteen minutes spent to get someone to give me a cancellation number. They make you wade through numerous offers, "press 1 to accept, press 2 to cancel," repeated three or four times. Then a salesperson comes on and repeats the whole process, plus requests email and phone number. All this to cancel a $1.00 trial membership that netted zero results. And I needed a cancellation verification number so they would not charge my credit card for $26.99 in four days. Avoid these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    BeenVerified steals money without authorization

    • Arvada, CO,
    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a ripoff. At first, it seems like a free service then after waiting 15 minutes for the reports they finally tell you there is a $25 fee. What they don't tell you is after you agree to pay the $25 fee that it automatically keeps billing you every month. Don't use them; it is a scam to start stealing money from you every month!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    BeenVerified unethical

    This company acts as if they are building this incredible an incredible report for you. The entire process takes about 15 minutes of your time. Their site says "Search Any Name for Free! Billions of records at your fingertips. Just download our app." However, when you perform a search and then answer several questions, and then watch as it builds and builds, you are sent to a page with all of the information asterisked out. You are then told that you have to pay $22 to view the information. So yes, you can search for a name for free, however, if you want to see any of the details you have to pay. It would be like going to Google, and typing in your search query, and then being told that you have to pay to see that information.

    Also, they make you fill in your name and email before allowing you to continue to see your report. Then the next page tells you that you have to pay. Very unethical practice. I'm sure my email will now be sold to millions of their advertising partners.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Deception

    I do not want anything and do not expect anything for free. But BeenVerified deceives you for money. I googled the name of a possible new hire and BeenVerified pops up and makes it look like this person is a member or on BeenVerified or whatever. They deceive those who aren’t familiar with the product, making you think that info is only a button away. Well after 20 minutes of BS acting, as if they are the FBI and making you promise to keep secrets, you finally get to the check out line having to pay to see anything. This says a lot about a company. Just be upfront and tell people this is what it cost and this is what you’ll get. I’ll just stick with Good Hire. And no, I do not work for them, but I used them without being deceived.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disreputable, scam, unable to reach customer service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The website is the first clue to the frustrating waste of time using this service. When calling their customer service number to cancel, instead you hear "you have been chosen to receive blah, blah, blah."

    All they do is create more frustration and waste your time hoping you will hang up and they can bill your credit card another $39.95 or $49.95.

    And where are the government regulatory agencies in all this? Nowhere to be found. They don't care that millions of dollars are taken by way of hidden charges once they have your credit card. Shame on BeenVerified and shame on our regulatory agencies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Finding my son before I die

    I joined for a $1.00 and then they want more money. I didn't find him, said my email was wrong, no place to put the number they gave me. You can call them but they never answer the phone. Just a rip-off, never again. Scam. I haven't seen my son in 11 years. I have Parkinson's and before I die I would like to find him. Good money down the drain. Monday I'm calling the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 1, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Laura,

      I'm sorry to hear that you had any trouble with accessing BeenVerified or locating the information you were looking for. I was unable to locate an account under your name but would like to assist you further. Can you please contact us at mperez@beenverified.com with the account number or email address that you used to sign up, and we would be happy to assist you further.

    • May 2, 2018

      Laura Taylor Motsinger

      That's funny, my name was just there with a code that you gave me Laura Taylor Motsinger. You sure knew my name when you wanted more money. I would never again want to go to your website, all you do is take peoples money. Go away, and leave me alone scammers.

    • May 8, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Laura,

      We are here if you change your mind and would like to contact us. You can reach us at mperez@beenverified.com, support@beenverified.com, or you can call 1-888-579-5910.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called and canceled my subscription three times, and they still keep taking money from my account, and they tell me I have not canceled my subscription! I will NEVER use this service again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 21, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Sandy,

      I'm sorry to hear that you've had difficulty canceling your account. I am unable to locate any account with the information you've provided. Please contact us at support@beenverified.com, include "Attn: Dana," and I will ensure that your account has been canceled and not billed again.

    • Apr 21, 2018

      Laura Taylor Motsinger

      You told me to sign up for a $1.00, and I did but it cost $2.99 more. Then, I put my information in and it pulls up the wrong person, I've called you all day and you can't get anyone on the phone. BBB, here I come because on Monday you ripped me off. Thanks a lot, it was important to find my son after 11 years. I'm sick in poor health. What a scam!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review