About BeenVerified

By HighYa Staff

BeenVerified claims to “give people easy and affordable access to public record information” by aggregating addresses, phone numbers, criminal histories, social media profiles, and more into one easy to read report. According to the company, they take the confusion out of accessing public records, and do so in a straightforward, ethical manner.

BeenVerified is based out of New York, NY, and has been featured in Inc., CNET, TechCrunch, and more. The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 60 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear to relate to billing issues, and the amount of information provided in their reports (see the Bottom Line section for additional details about this). With this said, it appears that the company does respond to complaints quickly.

Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing inaccurate/incomplete information and billing problems.

How BeenVerified Works

At its most basic, BeenVerified aggregates information obtained from public databases, and merges this information into a single, easy to understand report that can be purchased by members. According to the company’s website, BeenVerified can be used to help people find a long lost love, verify prospective roommates, verify information about someone they met online, locate a current address, verify online buyers, and more. However, BeenVerified is not intended to be used to uncover information related to public FCRA records, to screen tenants, to perform an employer background check, or to verify someone’s eligibility for a mortgage. If you have any questions about this, BeenVerified’s Do’s and Don’ts page provides a quick overview.

At this time, BeenVerified only provides records for U.S.-based individuals, although all searches are performed anonymously. In other words, the person you’re searching for will not be notified.

BeenVerified currently offers desktop, iPhone, Android, and mobile web versions of their site. In addition, in the event that the record you’re looking for isn’t available online, BeenVerified claims to be able to send people to the courthouse to manually gather information.

BeenVerified Pricing & Refund Policy

When signing up for BeenVerified, you’ll be presented with three different options, all of which include unlimited report requests during your subscription period:

  • Moderate User – Billed on a month-to-month basis: $19.62 per month.
  • Recommended – A 3-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $44.62.
  • Power Users – A 6-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $59.62.

Whichever option you choose, keep in mind that BeenVerified will automatically renew you membership once it expires. To opt out of this automatic renewal, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-579-5910 for their “no hassle, no haggle” cancellation.

Bottom Line: Is BeenVerified a Scam?

BeenVerified does not appear to be a scam, though we learned of several concerns during our research:

First, online data brokers such as BeenVerified simply aggregate information that can be found elsewhere online for free, put this information into a report, and then charge you for the service. This means that, with just a little digging on your part, you can probably locate much of the same information at no charge whatsoever.

Next, BeenVerified’s online reputation appears to be very poor. In fact, according to this article, “The worst [data broker] is BeenVerified. We get more complaints about BeenVerified than any other data broker, by a factor of five.” On top of this, we encountered numerous customer complaints during our research that cited inaccurate/incomplete information—so much so that it could rightly call into question the service provided by BeenVerified in the first place.

For example, countless users stated that they searched for individuals with known criminal records, only to have none of this information contained in the BeenVerified report. On the other hand, we read just as many consumer complaints stating that they ordered reports on themselves, which were riddled with incorrect/vastly outdate information—even criminal records that didn’t belong to them. Most billing problems appeared to be related to the company’s automatic membership renewal.

With this in mind, remember that Been Verified doesn’t verify any of the information contained in its reports, so it’s up to you as a consumer to do so. Also, while the company doesn’t provide a method of correcting false information, they do provide an easy way for you to have your record removed from their database altogether.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to find someone’s last physical address and phone number, BeenVerified seems to provide accurate information. However, if you’re looking for a detailed criminal history, the company has a reputation for being fairly inaccurate.

» See Also: The Problem with People Search Websites and How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 50 BeenVerified Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 50
Sort reviews by:

  • Rip off

    • California,
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The preliminary report showed a criminal matter. After paying for it - there were no criminal reports? Would not have gone through all the steps and paid for nothing. Would not recommend for any reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Surprised at all the negative comments

    • Washington,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using BeenVerified for many years now, and it has been a very handy tool for finding lost classmates so they could be invited to Class Reunions. It may help that I know of their parents also so I can narrow down the duplicate names of individuals in the U.S. I am surprised at how MANY people have the same name, even the same middle name. I have been very happy for the reasons above to subscribe to this service called BeenVerified.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 19, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Jan,

      We're happy to have you as a customer and to hear we could help you find lost classmates. Thank you for your time and for this great review! Please feel free to reach us at support@beenverified.com if you need any assistance.

      Many thanks,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time for no info

    • Denver, CO,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I wanted was to know who the phone number belonged to. BeenVerified proceeded to do a full background search taking 10+ minutes only to tell me it didn't have the name of who the number belonged too. What a waste of time! You should give the customer the option if they want the full background check instead of wasting their time with a search that provided absolutely nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 2, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Cody,

      Thank you for reaching out.

      We do offer our free mobile app that allows you to view basic contact information for free. You would then have the option to purchase full background reports.

      I hope that helps but if you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at support@beenverified.com.

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    So not worth my money

    • Ohio,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try this service to specifically find out criminal record information. The information I received was mainly contact information. I put the name of someone I knew had a criminal record and none of the information came up, so then I thought, I am not getting enough information on the other people. When I called BeenVerified they said they do not always get the information released. Well, I told them I found my information through public records through the court system. Now, unfortunately, I have to be my own detective and try to find any court records. I wish I would have read these reviews before I paid. Fortunately, it was a little over $20 and not more for the first month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 3, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Esther, We are sorry to hear that you were unable to locate the information you were looking for. While we put every effort into making our data as accurate as possible, we are dependent upon the criminal data made digitally available to us by the courts. There are some counties that make more criminal data digitally available to us than others (some include cases that date farther back, some counties provide arrests while others may only provide felony convictions), and there are still some counties that do not yet make their criminal data digitally available to us.

      Please be assured that your account was canceled and a full refund was issued.

      Thank You

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    BIG TIME SCAM

    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money. Big time scam.

    Cannot identify e-mail owner or even country. Lists Australia when owner is in England.

    Debit card get denies. They want a credit card number. Probably to re-sell for profit and fraud.

    As with everything online - be careful against phishing for your credit card info.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 11, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Brian,

      Thank you for reaching out.

      It sounds like you may have been using a different company. BeenVerifed does not offer information outside of the U.S. or international searches.

      Is it possible you were on a different website? Could you provide the email address you searched to support@beenverified.com so we can look into it?

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    This is a bogus search

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It only provided relatives and previous addresses, no current data, and didn’t show any public arrest records, which I know for a fact the person I looked up had because I was there for the arrest and found them on backgroundcheck.com as well. They don’t let you cancel the membership either - the only way was to email and ask, so this is probably a scam a fell for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 22, 2018

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Syeda,

      We show you were canceled and refunded on 11/18/18 per your email request. We don't show that you called to cancel as this is an option we offer. I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us.

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Just a run around!

    • Maryland,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So who knows what information they claim to compile. All I get is dozens of pages/screens of run around to eventually get nowhere, then constant requests to become a paying "member." I got nowhere, then decided I'm not playing their game anymore. I wasted cell phone data! False advertising to get you into their system.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 11, 2018

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Michael:

      Thanks for reaching out. The information in BeenVerified's reports is aggregated from public records and publicly available information. This public information is compiled through many public offices and agencies with the intent and for the purpose of it being made available to the public. There are many sources of public records, including telephone directories, public property records, utility bills, magazine subscriptions, voter registration, and more.

      BeenVerified's mission is to provide easy affordable access to public records, so people can use public data in their everyday lives. Our aim is to make the service as easy to use and affordable as we can. There are costs associated with obtaining the data and integrating that information into easy-to-read reports. Payment is required to sign-up for BeenVerified.

      If you're interested in trying out the service, you can access a special $1 trial offer here: https://www.beenverified.com/lp/32fc4f/5/subscribe, or you may want to check out our app for the iPhone or Android. The app is free to install (from the App Store and Google Play store). With our apps, you can run unlimited people searches to get contact info and more, for free and you have the option of upgrading with a subscription to unlock criminal records and more.

      I hope that helps, but if you have additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at support@beenverified.com

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Background checks - info is terrible to non-existent

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried BeenVerified's service as my young daughter was getting a lot of phone calls from new numbers she'd never called before. I used the offer where you can try it for three days (after providing credit card number and "subscribing" to the service). I canceled the service after one day.

    The information provided by the site was mostly useless. I'd say maybe 40% to 50% got the name on the main account for the telephone number. It did not say who the user was. RARELY was an address shown. I don't know what methodology BeenVerified uses, but it doesn't work very well. NEVER did it ever provide anything close to "verifying" a person, i.e., do they have a criminal record, their age, marital status, etc. ALL of that information was missing for the 12 numbers (I used it as reverse lookup) I tried.

    I even tried to verify myself. I have an extensive history, including using my real name in public documents, my online social media, and more. I've been in the newspaper, I'm on several social media sites with a real name, I'm listed, I've had the same number for years, same address, I vote, I own property, everything. I put in my name: nothing. I tried to help it by providing age, location, etc. It couldn't even find ME. I'm not a public figure, but close enough. It could never find me, and never provided any details about me because it couldn't find me.

    The service was absolutely useless. It does not perform it's stated function, and barely functions at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 15, 2018

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Bri,

      I'm sorry to hear you had any trouble getting the information you need.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills. The results of a reverse phone search can contain caller id data, phone records data, deep web search and more. Typically, we are able to provide the name of the owner and his or her address, in the full phone report.

      If we are not showing some elements of this information in the results of your phone search, then we do not currently have that information for the number in our database. Please know that we are constantly updating and expanding our database to provide the most accurate and current information we possibly can.

      Please note a phone search only provides information connected to that phone number via public records. To view criminal history, social media, voters registration, and more about a person you would need to search by the person's name.

      If you did not try searching by name, please feel free to email me at mperez@beenverified.com and we would be happy to offer you another chance to try it out.

      I hope that helps, but if you have additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact us.

      BeenVerified Customer Support


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Money pit of useless info

    • Somewhere,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site provided the most incomprehensible info of any so far. You can do a basic subscription, and it will pull up old phone numbers and addresses, but not necessarily the current one of your people search. They do give you relative names and NEIGHBORS INFO of the target of your search, but can't find the elephant in the room in court records. Even when I paid the premium search, they yielded nothing. Now they want a $20 or higher fee for a court runner search?! No thank you. $50 is plenty to spend on the ability to stalk someone and unsuspecting relatives or neighbors, but that's not what the majority of people are searching to discover. Forget this site. And be careful because even without someone searching for you specifically - your name, address, etc. might still be linked because of heredity or residence.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2018

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Chelsea,

      The Criminal Records section of the background report may include criminal records from county courts, department of corrections, Administration of the Courts, and other state legal agencies. The types of offenses can include felonies, misdemeanors, and even traffic incidents in some cases. Positive or false matches in criminal searches may not provide confirmation of an individual's criminal background. It is important to use caution whenever reviewing this kind of information.

      While we put every effort into making our data as accurate as possible, we are dependent upon the criminal data made digitally available to us by the courts. There are some counties that make more criminal data digitally available to us than others (some include cases that date farther back, some counties provide arrests while others may only provide felony convictions), and there are still some counties that do not yet make their criminal data digitally available to us.

      Please also know that we are constantly working to expand and improve our database to provide you with the most current, accurate information we can. By activating the Monitoring feature on the report, you will be notified as soon as we receive any new information in this report, including a new criminal record.

      To offer further assistance with your account, please email us at support@BeenVerified.com.

      Thank you,

      Michelle Perez

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Totally FAKE

    • Washington,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Curious, I ran my own phone number. BeenVerified came up with a totally different person (name AND city) for a cell phone number that I have had for 20 years! What a joke. This company is obviously just stealing people's money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2018

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Sarina,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports. BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us by public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      Please contact us at 888-579-5911 or support@beenverified.com for further assistance with your account.

      Kind regards,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not honest

    • Texas,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a month and received two reports, then called and canceled on the third day. Three months later I’m still being charged for info anyone can obtain for free. This is hands down the worst search tool on the internet. Just plain dishonest, AND I have it on audio.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2018

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi David,

      I'm sorry to hear this has been your experience. To look into your account and those charges, please email me at mperez@beenverified.com with your member ID or the email address you used to create your account.

      We hope to hear from you soon.

      Michelle Perez

      Beenverified Customer Care


Showing 1-11 of 50

Write a Review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review