About BeenVerified

BeenVerified claims to “give people easy and affordable access to public record information” by aggregating addresses, phone numbers, criminal histories, social media profiles, and more into one easy to read report. According to the company, they take the confusion out of accessing public records, and do so in a straightforward, ethical manner.

BeenVerified is based out of New York, NY, and has been featured in Inc., CNET, TechCrunch, and more. The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 60 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear to relate to billing issues, and the amount of information provided in their reports (see the Bottom Line section for additional details about this). With this said, it appears that the company does respond to complaints quickly.

Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing inaccurate/incomplete information and billing problems.

How BeenVerified Works

At its most basic, BeenVerified aggregates information obtained from public databases, and merges this information into a single, easy to understand report that can be purchased by members. According to the company’s website, BeenVerified can be used to help people find a long lost love, verify prospective roommates, verify information about someone they met online, locate a current address, verify online buyers, and more. However, BeenVerified is not intended to be used to uncover information related to public FCRA records, to screen tenants, to perform an employer background check, or to verify someone’s eligibility for a mortgage. If you have any questions about this, BeenVerified’s Do’s and Don’ts page provides a quick overview.

At this time, BeenVerified only provides records for U.S.-based individuals, although all searches are performed anonymously. In other words, the person you’re searching for will not be notified.

BeenVerified currently offers desktop, iPhone, Android, and mobile web versions of their site. In addition, in the event that the record you’re looking for isn’t available online, BeenVerified claims to be able to send people to the courthouse to manually gather information.

BeenVerified Pricing & Refund Policy

When signing up for BeenVerified, you’ll be presented with three different options, all of which include unlimited report requests during your subscription period:

  • Moderate User – Billed on a month-to-month basis: $19.62 per month.
  • Recommended – A 3-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $44.62.
  • Power Users – A 6-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $59.62.

Whichever option you choose, keep in mind that BeenVerified will automatically renew you membership once it expires. To opt out of this automatic renewal, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-579-5910 for their “no hassle, no haggle” cancellation.

Bottom Line: Is BeenVerified a Scam?

BeenVerified does not appear to be a scam, though we learned of several concerns during our research:

First, online data brokers such as BeenVerified simply aggregate information that can be found elsewhere online for free, put this information into a report, and then charge you for the service. This means that, with just a little digging on your part, you can probably locate much of the same information at no charge whatsoever.

Next, BeenVerified’s online reputation appears to be very poor. In fact, according to this article, “The worst [data broker] is BeenVerified. We get more complaints about BeenVerified than any other data broker, by a factor of five.” On top of this, we encountered numerous customer complaints during our research that cited inaccurate/incomplete information—so much so that it could rightly call into question the service provided by BeenVerified in the first place.

For example, countless users stated that they searched for individuals with known criminal records, only to have none of this information contained in the BeenVerified report. On the other hand, we read just as many consumer complaints stating that they ordered reports on themselves, which were riddled with incorrect/vastly outdate information—even criminal records that didn’t belong to them. Most billing problems appeared to be related to the company’s automatic membership renewal.

With this in mind, remember that Been Verified doesn’t verify any of the information contained in its reports, so it’s up to you as a consumer to do so. Also, while the company doesn’t provide a method of correcting false information, they do provide an easy way for you to have your record removed from their database altogether.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to find someone’s last physical address and phone number, BeenVerified seems to provide accurate information. However, if you’re looking for a detailed criminal history, the company has a reputation for being fairly inaccurate.

SEE ALSO: The Problems with Online People Searches, & How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

28 Consumer Reviews for BeenVerified

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 28
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    BeenVerified sucks

    • Nov 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    What they have posted about me is a mixture of my information and that of other people I do not know and who are not connected to me, other than sharing the same name. BeenVerified's own letter admits that they do not verify the information they sell. When asked to remove incorrect data, they send the boilerplate letter many of us have received. Is it not a fraud to name a company "BeenVerified," when, in fact, the data they sell is not verified?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible rip-off of a website

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This website strings a person along with a lengthy process, then they say they have multiple reports with info about the person you inquired about. After paying them, they did not have any reports with any info on the person they originally said they did have. What a RIP-OFF scam to get a person's money. This website is totally useless and a RIP-OFF.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Dana Curran,

      Hi M,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you haven't already, we encourage you to check out the Monitoring feature, which you can activate on up to ten reports you have run. Once Monitoring is activated, you will be notified as soon as we receive any new information in that report, such as a new phone number, address or even court record.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com or 1-888-579-5910.

    • Oct 20, 2017

      M L

      This is so funny, a supposedly an official company representative on behalf of BeenVerified responded back to the people's ratings with the same form and content, saying the same thing no matter what the complaint was. This just proves more that they are not professional and do not have any real answers to right themselves. This company is a joke.

    • Nov 6, 2017

      Gary Biz

      When I looked up my name, I found that the data shown was a mix of my information, including other peoples information with the same name. When I wrote asking for a correction or so they remove my name entirely, I got the same boilerplate response as the person above.

      How can they get away with a name like "BeenVerifed" when the only verification that is done, is by those of us who have found that don't verify anything. All they do is collect information that is available elsewhere, not bothering to make sure they attach their "facts" to the correct person.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money - not a provider of relevant data - not a scam.

    • Florida,
    • Oct 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using this for a while. The information provided is usually out of date or not relevant. I did a search on myself and was surprised that I still resided at a location I haven't lived in for three years. Additional information that the site says it will provide is mostly non-existent. A waste of money and time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2017

      Dana Curran,

      Hi Ed,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you haven't already, we encourage you to check out the Monitoring feature, which you can activate on up to ten reports you have run. Once Monitoring is activated, you will be notified as soon as we receive any new information in that report, such as a new phone number, address or even court record.

      If you have any additional questions or need any more help with your account, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com or 1-888-579-5910.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It sucks

    I was desperate and a little in a hurry. The reviews I read said it is in easy to read format. My frustration was that there was no way to search by phone number, name and address all at once. Every time I tried to drill down, I got kicked back out to a list of names that I had to guess which one had the phone number or address I was looking for. I seemed to get conflicting information. I called support for help and they were no help. I called to cancel, and I got a partial refund. They suck. I guess I got off light.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 13, 2017

      Dana Curran,

      Hi Edward,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate or missing information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      Typically, we are able to provide the name of the owner and his or her address, in the full phone report.

      If we are not showing some elements of this information in the results of your phone search, then we do not currently have that information for the number in our database. Please know that we are constantly updating and expanding our database to provide the most accurate and current information we possibly can.

      Thank you for your feedback on how you'd like to be able to drill down and run more complicated or advanced searches. We appreciate knowing how we can make our site and service better for our customers.

      If you have additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at support@beenverified.com or 1-888-579-5910.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    I searched for one person of interest. Only needed this one time. But, I was charged $222.86 a month for 14 months before I realized they were drawing it out of my bank account. Beware the buyer! Watch your bank account closer! Read what you commit to more thoroughly. In trying to obtain a refund they were kind enough to give me back one month charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 2, 2017

      Dana Curran,

      Hi William,

      I'm sorry you feel this way about your experience with BeenVerified. Our sign-up page shows that all of our plans automatically renew and the $22.86 subscription will be automatically charged each month until you elect to cancel. We provide our contact information for customer support in many areas of our website, and our toll-free number is on the billing descriptor of every charge. This is done so that you can easily contact us whenever you would like to cancel or with any billing questions.

      If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact customer support at 888-579-5910 or support@beenverified.com.

    • Aug 25, 2017

      RedRobert

      I tried BeenVerified and many of its twin sisters! Believe me, NONE of these websites give out useful information. Apartment managers cannot tell you a single thing about their tenants, whether it's past or present. They often give you street addresses of places where the person may or may not have lived years ago!

      I did learn that an old family friend's last address turned out to be the address of a home for Alzheimer's patients. That, sadly, is a very negative indicator. But this facility has been taken over by the state since the discovery. They were not able to tell me anything at all, whatsoever! It's now probably one of those state run "nightmare" facilities, fraught with abuse and neglect. I have no idea if any of Gordon's emails are still valid because all his phone numbers are null and void.

      Whatever happened to him must have happened fairly recently because at least a few of his email accounts were established not that long ago and the man is 81 years old! At that age, if you're still walking around (forget about driving) you're a lucky person. Instead of hanging out at the club or making your daily trip to the Starbucks down the road, you're happy just to be able to get your email at the end of the driveway!

      His very old Volvo is probably still parked in a driveway covered with dust and resting on four flat tires. Maybe it got towed away and later auctioned off? Who knows? Due to the chickens, the State, and Federal laws, those at the nursing home could not and would not tell me if Gordon K. Reynolds was living in or had died at that facility. Gordon had no family. He once got married to the psychopath from hell! He had a daughter from her, but his daughter was raised to hate him. Other than that, he has had no children. There was no one to care about him. It looks like I was too late. Most of the phone numbers of Gordon's friends and acquaintances proved to be null and void. I don't know about their emails. I'm trying those now.

      I am not at all impressed with BeenVerified, E-Verify, PeopleSearch, or any of these highly questionable online agencies! The worst part of all is the fact that they have gone out onto the internet, and "confiscated" all the available information that could at least be used for free. Now they make people pay to get that information. Even worse, the information you receive is often old and outdated. All the information I received was sketchy at best! They couldn't tell me anything about people who have probably died. Death records are not included. I can only assume that my dad's other best friend Robert Allen is also dead.

      Neither BeenVerified or any of its twin sisters have found any evidence of the Robert Allen in Auberry, California. There is coincidentally a Robert Allen there, but it isn't the correct Robert Allen. This guy is way too young, and his relatives don't match. Again, I am NOT impressed.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Beware...

    • Iowa,
    • May 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I concur with another poster; they steal. They don't tell you when you sign up that they are going to keep your bank information and withdraw money whenever they choose.

    P.S. Their data is lacking as well. Other options are way more comprehensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 23, 2017

      Carla Shotwell, Director of Customer Support

      Hi Stan,

      I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We state on our sign-up page that all of our subscriptions automatically renew until you elect to cancel, and we provide our contact information for customer support in many areas of our website. So you may easily contact us whenever you would like to cancel. If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact customer support at 888-579-5910 or support@beenverified.com.

    • Oct 11, 2017

      Laura

      Yep. I read closely (obsessively) before I purchase anything even Amazon Prime purchases. It's been a year but I'm certain these crooks buried the "auto-renewal" information somewhere.

      It wasn't hard to cancel but even though the guy on the phone claimed it was, the email I was sent as confirmation doesn't have the confirmation number in it or its very-well hidden. Scam. Stay away.

      Hopefully, you're here before you purchase, and not after like me.

      And don't bother responding, Been Verified. It just makes you look more scammy and guilty.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    They steal

    • Burlington, NC,
    • Apr 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did a search and canceled a supposed account. Then for two months, they stole over $48 a month from my account. If you stand your ground with them, they will refund what they steal, but if you don't watch your account after going to their site, they will take money from you. It is not worth the hassle of having to watch your account if you give them payment info.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 10, 2017

      Edward Rogers

      They steal! They preyed on my desperation. The website will not give you detailed information in a readable format. Their customer service is useless and when you try to cancel, they will only give you a partial refund.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 12 people found this review helpful

    You get your money's worth

    You can get public record info quickly and concisely. OF COURSE, some info is outdated and you have to take a few minutes to read thru the data, but it delivers what is promised.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Great TV commercial, don't fall for it

    • Honolulu, Hawaii,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the television commercial about how easy it is to use and how you can control your life by checking the backgrounds of people you don't trust, like your kids' dates, etc. Because of how positive it sounds, and how gullible I am, I went on the website.

    I wanted to check my own record for starters. It said I could have a one-time use for $22.86, so I thought "what the heck," and I did it. There was little to nothing on me, but that's fine, I expected that.

    What got me was that I soon got an email saying that I signed up for monthly use and they would charge me $22.86 (an automatic monthly charge). But, in reality, I had signed up for a one-time use only. So I looked up how to cancel, which I found is not so easy. If you can't get through on the phone because of their hours, you can pay online, but it will cost another $35.00 to cancel.

    So I finally got through on phone, and it said I could speak to a customer rep, but only got recordings and punched numbers on my phone. It is so easy to hookup, but hard to cancel. This is a total SHAM and SCAM. Just Google yourself for free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 12, 2017

      Enzo Lentini

      They mention the membership. You not reading thoroughly is your fault.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    • Texas,
    • Feb 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've seen the advertisement in a commercial, and it also stated that you can even look up info on yourself. So already upset to hear about a website that invites you to pull people's personal info, I pulled up my own.

    I totally disagree that anyone other than who is required by law, or a landlord, school, a job, credit card company, etc. should have any access to just pull up things like that on someone. I mean what if someone is hiding away from a bad past person, and now they basically can find you and retrieve your number. Yes, I understand many have found past loved ones, but think about all the bad people's hands that can have this access not for good purposes, even on our children. Not cool at all, not cool.

    Whoever thought of this should think about stuff like this and the lives it can ruin, hurt, or destroy, and not only about the good things. No one has privacy with technology anymore, and more websites come out with things like this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 12, 2017

      Enzo Lentini

      They pull up public records, genius.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's ok, easy to use

    • PA,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have belonged to this website for almost 2 years now. I pay a monthly charge of about 20 some dollars a month. The reason why I have it is because I have rooms in my home that I rent out to people and sometimes, it can be a rotating door because I live in a tourist town which is very transit. I also have found that I could use it for other things as well. I am involved in dog rescue and a lot of the people I meet are online first because that's where dogs in dyer need get featured. I like to run a background check on everyone I meet before I meet them. Anyway, I am tired but I will write a pro and con list:

    Pro's:

    It's very easy to use.

    I trust them with my credit card information and always had accurate billing with my account.

    Unlike other users and their reviews, I have found the information to be very accurate (when it's the right person, see con's for further explanation). It's rather uncanny how accurate they can be.

    Provides many details about the person such as age, criminal background checks, address, phone numbers from very far back, email addresses, Facebook accounts, all kinds of other social media accounts, your family members and friends. Sometimes they even have who you work/worked for. I'm sure I am forgetting a thing or two, but it has A LOT of information.

    It's user-friendly. A big plus for me. It also doesn't seem scammy like other background checkers. It has a nice interface, again easy to use.

    You can search phone numbers and addresses.

    Con's:

    If you are looking up a common name, such as John Robertson, good luck on finding that person. (I usually can find the person, but it takes a lot of investigating. Once you are familiar with the website, you usually can find them but it will take a long while. A tip would be, having the accurate city and state will be very helpful but still can be very hard if it is a very common name.

    They have mixed up a lot of information of those with the same names. That has caused heartache and headaches for a lot of people. Big problems sometimes.

    The criminal background check (the most important feature for myself) is the one thing I would say is lacking. Say you DO have the right person, for example, my childhood old friend, who has an extensive criminal history, half of his charges that I know he has did not show up. The half that they did have were indeed correct, but they were missing so much. That caused concern for me.

    There is a big glitch in the criminal background portion of this website. Say it says a person has 10 charges. You click on it and it's actually only 5 but they duplicate every charge. It takes up a lot of time and reading to sort through it. This happens almost every time. It also makes the person seem like they have more charges/arrests than they actually do.

    Many of the criminal records are blank. Only showing that they were charged with SOMETHING. Well, gee thanks! That really helps (note sarcasm). I usually have to do more investigating to see what those charges were on different, free websites , such as the local government index in the city or county where they were charged.

    My consensus is, I still use this website. It's better than any other website I have used in the past and while the criminal background check needs a lot of work, it DOES provide me with a lot of information. It is useful and at the very least can point me in the right directions. Other than the criminal background check, all the other features are very accurate. They can name 50 of your relatives of friends, email accounts from 10 years ago, phone numbers, addresses also from over 10 years ago (if you existed that long, lol), everywhere you ever lived, every phone number you ever had. I have tested this and I am very confidant that those items are indeed very accurate. I wish they would make their criminal background portion as accurate as everything else.

    I trust them with my money. They never incorrectly charged me. They answer right away when you call (you might have to through one or two prompts at the most) and always helpful. I like that as well.

    It's a tool that I use. I know its good parts and I know its faults. I know how to work around most of those faults because they generally do point you in the right directions if all else fails. No website is perfect, but for the money and the information you get, I think it's pretty good. Hope this was helpful. If you try it, you will see what I mean.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 28

Write a Review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review