About BeenVerified

BeenVerified claims to “give people easy and affordable access to public record information” by aggregating addresses, phone numbers, criminal histories, social media profiles, and more into one easy to read report. According to the company, they take the confusion out of accessing public records, and do so in a straightforward, ethical manner.

BeenVerified is based out of New York, NY, and has been featured in Inc., CNET, TechCrunch, and more. The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 60 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear to relate to billing issues, and the amount of information provided in their reports (see the Bottom Line section for additional details about this). With this said, it appears that the company does respond to complaints quickly.

Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing inaccurate/incomplete information and billing problems.

How BeenVerified Works

At its most basic, BeenVerified aggregates information obtained from public databases, and merges this information into a single, easy to understand report that can be purchased by members. According to the company’s website, BeenVerified can be used to help people find a long lost love, verify prospective roommates, verify information about someone they met online, locate a current address, verify online buyers, and more. However, BeenVerified is not intended to be used to uncover information related to public FCRA records, to screen tenants, to perform an employer background check, or to verify someone’s eligibility for a mortgage. If you have any questions about this, BeenVerified’s Do’s and Don’ts page provides a quick overview.

At this time, BeenVerified only provides records for U.S.-based individuals, although all searches are performed anonymously. In other words, the person you’re searching for will not be notified.

BeenVerified currently offers desktop, iPhone, Android, and mobile web versions of their site. In addition, in the event that the record you’re looking for isn’t available online, BeenVerified claims to be able to send people to the courthouse to manually gather information.

BeenVerified Pricing & Refund Policy

When signing up for BeenVerified, you’ll be presented with three different options, all of which include unlimited report requests during your subscription period:

  • Moderate User – Billed on a month-to-month basis: $19.62 per month.
  • Recommended – A 3-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $44.62.
  • Power Users – A 6-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $59.62.

Whichever option you choose, keep in mind that BeenVerified will automatically renew you membership once it expires. To opt out of this automatic renewal, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-579-5910 for their “no hassle, no haggle” cancellation.

Bottom Line: Is BeenVerified a Scam?

BeenVerified does not appear to be a scam, though we learned of several concerns during our research:

First, online data brokers such as BeenVerified simply aggregate information that can be found elsewhere online for free, put this information into a report, and then charge you for the service. This means that, with just a little digging on your part, you can probably locate much of the same information at no charge whatsoever.

Next, BeenVerified’s online reputation appears to be very poor. In fact, according to this article, “The worst [data broker] is BeenVerified. We get more complaints about BeenVerified than any other data broker, by a factor of five.” On top of this, we encountered numerous customer complaints during our research that cited inaccurate/incomplete information—so much so that it could rightly call into question the service provided by BeenVerified in the first place.

For example, countless users stated that they searched for individuals with known criminal records, only to have none of this information contained in the BeenVerified report. On the other hand, we read just as many consumer complaints stating that they ordered reports on themselves, which were riddled with incorrect/vastly outdate information—even criminal records that didn’t belong to them. Most billing problems appeared to be related to the company’s automatic membership renewal.

With this in mind, remember that Been Verified doesn’t verify any of the information contained in its reports, so it’s up to you as a consumer to do so. Also, while the company doesn’t provide a method of correcting false information, they do provide an easy way for you to have your record removed from their database altogether.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to find someone’s last physical address and phone number, BeenVerified seems to provide accurate information. However, if you’re looking for a detailed criminal history, the company has a reputation for being fairly inaccurate.

SEE ALSO: The Problems with Online People Searches, & How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Consumer Reviews for BeenVerified

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • BeenVerified unethical

    This company acts as if they are building this incredible an incredible report for you. The entire process takes about 15 minutes of your time. Their site says "Search Any Name for Free! Billions of records at your fingertips. Just download our app." However, when you perform a search and then answer several questions, and then watch as it builds and builds, you are sent to a page with all of the information asterisked out. You are then told that you have to pay $22 to view the information. So yes, you can search for a name for free, however, if you want to see any of the details you have to pay. It would be like going to Google, and typing in your search query, and then being told that you have to pay to see that information.

    Also, they make you fill in your name and email before allowing you to continue to see your report. Then the next page tells you that you have to pay. Very unethical practice. I'm sure my email will now be sold to millions of their advertising partners.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Deception

    I do not want anything and do not expect anything for free. But BeenVerified deceives you for money. I googled the name of a possible new hire and BeenVerified pops up and makes it look like this person is a member or on BeenVerified or whatever. They deceive those who aren’t familiar with the product, making you think that info is only a button away. Well after 20 minutes of BS acting, as if they are the FBI and making you promise to keep secrets, you finally get to the check out line having to pay to see anything. This says a lot about a company. Just be upfront and tell people this is what it cost and this is what you’ll get. I’ll just stick with Good Hire. And no, I do not work for them, but I used them without being deceived.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Disreputable, scam, unable to reach customer service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The website is the first clue to the frustrating waste of time using this service. When calling their customer service number to cancel, instead you hear "you have been chosen to receive blah, blah, blah."

    All they do is create more frustration and waste your time hoping you will hang up and they can bill your credit card another $39.95 or $49.95.

    And where are the government regulatory agencies in all this? Nowhere to be found. They don't care that millions of dollars are taken by way of hidden charges once they have your credit card. Shame on BeenVerified and shame on our regulatory agencies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Finding my son before I die

    I joined for a $1.00 and then they want more money. I didn't find him, said my email was wrong, no place to put the number they gave me. You can call them but they never answer the phone. Just a rip-off, never again. Scam. I haven't seen my son in 11 years. I have Parkinson's and before I die I would like to find him. Good money down the drain. Monday I'm calling the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 1, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Laura,

      I'm sorry to hear that you had any trouble with accessing BeenVerified or locating the information you were looking for. I was unable to locate an account under your name but would like to assist you further. Can you please contact us at mperez@beenverified.com with the account number or email address that you used to sign up, and we would be happy to assist you further.

    • May 2, 2018

      Laura Taylor Motsinger

      That's funny, my name was just there with a code that you gave me Laura Taylor Motsinger. You sure knew my name when you wanted more money. I would never again want to go to your website, all you do is take peoples money. Go away, and leave me alone scammers.

    • May 8, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Laura,

      We are here if you change your mind and would like to contact us. You can reach us at mperez@beenverified.com, support@beenverified.com, or you can call 1-888-579-5910.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called and canceled my subscription three times, and they still keep taking money from my account, and they tell me I have not canceled my subscription! I will NEVER use this service again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 21, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Sandy,

      I'm sorry to hear that you've had difficulty canceling your account. I am unable to locate any account with the information you've provided. Please contact us at support@beenverified.com, include "Attn: Dana," and I will ensure that your account has been canceled and not billed again.

    • Apr 21, 2018

      Laura Taylor Motsinger

      You told me to sign up for a $1.00, and I did but it cost $2.99 more. Then, I put my information in and it pulls up the wrong person, I've called you all day and you can't get anyone on the phone. BBB, here I come because on Monday you ripped me off. Thanks a lot, it was important to find my son after 11 years. I'm sick in poor health. What a scam!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    BeenVerified is a scam, they will steal your money with outdated information.

    • Florida,
    • Mar 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a 1-month only payment plan of $14.99. After the first month, I start getting billed month after month (for the services that I did not agree upon to continue) through my PayPal account being charged. It's a scam. All the information, most of it is outdated on most anybody you looked up. It's a fraud. I highly recommend staying away from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    This service sucks, they have so little criminal data, you could hire a felon and not know it.

    • Little Elm, TX,
    • Mar 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You just cannot trust their reports. I just paid $60.00 for three months, and the info I get is worthless. I would rather pay more for good info. I might as well have tossed my money in the trash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    Run away. All they do is entrap you to spending more and more money. They deliver very little real information. You can find out more for free. It's a trap and an expensive one. I'm not surprised they aren't members of the BBB.

    Save your money and don't get scammed. Google them first. I didn't. They are very smooth and it sounds so good. I want my money back. Ripped off.

    .

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Terry,

      I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble finding the information you were looking for. Our information comes from public data sources, so the information we have available varies from person to person based on what is available in the public records.

      While we're constantly working to expand our database, we understand it can be frustrating to not be able to locate what you were looking for.

      We do offer a satisfaction guarantee, so in order to get a refund all you would need to do is contact our support team at 1-888-579-5910, or support@beenverified.com to request one and we can assist you with that.

      If you have any further questions or need any more help please let us know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    BeenVerified sucks

    • Nov 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    What they have posted about me is a mixture of my information and that of other people I do not know and who are not connected to me, other than sharing the same name. BeenVerified's own letter admits that they do not verify the information they sell. When asked to remove incorrect data, they send the boilerplate letter many of us have received. Is it not a fraud to name a company "BeenVerified," when, in fact, the data they sell is not verified?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Horrible rip-off of a website

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This website strings a person along with a lengthy process, then they say they have multiple reports with info about the person you inquired about. After paying them, they did not have any reports with any info on the person they originally said they did have. What a RIP-OFF scam to get a person's money. This website is totally useless and a RIP-OFF.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi M,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you haven't already, we encourage you to check out the Monitoring feature, which you can activate on up to ten reports you have run. Once Monitoring is activated, you will be notified as soon as we receive any new information in that report, such as a new phone number, address or even court record.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com or 1-888-579-5910.

    • Oct 20, 2017

      M L

      This is so funny, a supposedly an official company representative on behalf of BeenVerified responded back to the people's ratings with the same form and content, saying the same thing no matter what the complaint was. This just proves more that they are not professional and do not have any real answers to right themselves. This company is a joke.

    • Nov 6, 2017

      Gary Biz

      When I looked up my name, I found that the data shown was a mix of my information, including other peoples information with the same name. When I wrote asking for a correction or so they remove my name entirely, I got the same boilerplate response as the person above.

      How can they get away with a name like "BeenVerifed" when the only verification that is done, is by those of us who have found that don't verify anything. All they do is collect information that is available elsewhere, not bothering to make sure they attach their "facts" to the correct person.

    • Jan 23, 2018

      Jessica Moore

      I need to know how to remove a portion of someone else's record that contains my contact information. I have gotten visits from the Sheriffs Department to serve papers, and harassing phone calls from lawyers trying to collect debt from Jessica Lee Parker in Ottawa, KS. This is my ex-wife now known as Jessica Lee Moore.

      My name is Jessica Lynn Moore and always has been. My phone number is in bold when you do a Google search of her maiden name and my Lawrence, KS address is listed for her also. This has caused a lot of stress and time to prove to the creditors and the law that this is mistaken identity. How do I fix this? Please help me remove my information! Thank you.

    • Jan 24, 2018

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Jessica,

      I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you're facing here. We would be happy to assist you with this issue. Please contact us at support@beenverified.com with links to the reports that you're seeing as inaccurate information. Let us know what phone number is being incorrectly displayed and we can assist with opting you out so that your information is no longer available. You can also reach us by phone at 1-888-579-5910.

    • Feb 17, 2018

      E Duncan

      Do NOT USE this website! Major rip-off. The data is inaccurate. The people are listed that are not connected in any way. My phone number came back with my sister's name. My data was totally either blank, spotty, or incomplete. I pulled a report on my nephew who is in jail for the third time and they COULD NOT even locatee him at all!

      I signed up for 3 months to be billed $14.86/month for 3 months. I was charged the MONTHLY fee of $14.86, and the full 3 months for $44.58 all at once.

      You think this will get you reports but if you want the FULL report they hit you up with more fees. If you want to email yourself the report they charge you another 2.99 for PDF viewing. GIANT RIP-OFF.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money - not a provider of relevant data - not a scam.

    • Florida,
    • Oct 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using this for a while. The information provided is usually out of date or not relevant. I did a search on myself and was surprised that I still resided at a location I haven't lived in for three years. Additional information that the site says it will provide is mostly non-existent. A waste of money and time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2017

      S Ribaudo, Customer Support

      Hi Ed,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you haven't already, we encourage you to check out the Monitoring feature, which you can activate on up to ten reports you have run. Once Monitoring is activated, you will be notified as soon as we receive any new information in that report, such as a new phone number, address or even court record.

      If you have any additional questions or need any more help with your account, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com or 1-888-579-5910.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review